You are on page 1of 5

A Bhairavi Meditation

This short meditation has been extracted from the work of the Ganna
Chakra, a London-based group of magicians exploring Tantric magic.

"I bow to that Devi who is red like the splendour of a thousand rising
suns. She is garlanded with skull, rosy breasted, her hands held in the
gestures of granting boons and dispelling fear. The crescent moon rests
on her forehead. Three-eyed, she dwells in the heart of the sun.

I bow to that Bhairavi from whom emanate the fearful thunderous

sounds of dissolution, and who is surrounded by the white ashes of the
cremation ground; she wears garlands of skulls on her breasts and in her
ears. She is Narayani, who helps us go beyond. She is Gauri, the
quencher of all sorrows."

"Softly smiling, you shine with a crimson glow that may be compared to
a thousand newly risen suns. You wear a silken veil a garland of skulls.
Blood smears your breast. Three voluptuous eyes adorn your lotus face;
the moon is your diadem. Your lotus hands show the gestures of victory,
of wisdom, the granting of boons, and the allaying of fear."

For this meditation, Bhairavi is identified with the Dakini of the


Seat yourself in a lotus-circle of four petals, within which there is a

yellow square. Muladhara means "root-support" - meditate upon the root
- who planted it, how does it grow, what might it grow into? What does it
support? Meditate upon the principle of solidity. Of the Earth. Of being
rooted. Of being Supported. What do these things mean to us?

Try and relate the body-zone of the chakra to feelings, thoughts,

sensations. You may find it useful to vibrate the Bija (seed) mantra LAM.
When you feel ready, turn your attention to venerating the Shatki - the
'power' the mysterious mistress of the chakra. Call her by the names you
know her. Offer her litanies (see those given above as examples) and
give her offerings that you think will please her. If she is pleased with
your offerings she may be willing to interact with you in some way. If she
does so, thank her and breathe her and the chakra into yourself to close
the meditation.

This is a simple astral sequence which may go towards establishing

some kind of personal rapport with Bhairavi. Note that this meditation
leaves it entirely open as to how Bhairavi will manifest for you - will she
appear before you (within the chakra), in your body, above you, etc - this
is open, as is the manner in which she may communicate with you. Feel
free to elaborate this as you will.

Comments & feedback are welcome.

A Bhairavi Puja

A Ganna Chakra working

Bhairavi Yantra composed of:

4 Gates
8 Petals
9 Triangles

4 Gates - possibly install Rudra, Ugra etc as terrible guardians Open with
Shakti Banishing or Dattatreya Rite.

A large Bhairavi Yantra
Red Paste for installing the shaktis
Bhairavi Image
Flowers, flame etc.

8 Petals - 8 aspects of Bhairavi

Pita Bhairavi Yellow Mercury Thought

Rakta Bhairavi Red Mars Vigour

Harina Bhairavi Green Venus Love

Malini Bhairavi Blue Jupiter Wealth

Asita Bhairavi Black Saturn Restriction

Aruna Bhairavi Magenta Neptune Imagination

Silver Uranus Control

Nila Bhairavi Violet Pluto Detachment

These aspects of Bhairavi are based on the 8 planetary shaktis as given

in Tantra Magick. Each will be given their own description, for meditation
[read out in turn].


Pita Bhairavi [Mercury]
She is slim, her eyes darting left and right, naked and smeared with a
yellow powder, she holds in her right hand a book, and in her her left, a
mirror. She removes delusion in thought and speech.

Rakta Bhairavi [Mars]

She is red and slender, narrow-hipped with small breasts; with the body
of a warrior-queen. She is naked, with a fearsome expression. With three
eyes, she holds in her right hand a knife dripping blood, and in her left, a
small shield. The embodiment of vigour, she severs that-which-binds.

Harina Bhairavi [Venus]

A beautiful mature woman; naked, of rounded form and slender waist;
fair-haired, full-breasted and sweetly smiling. In her right hand she holds
a flower, and with her left hand gives the gesture of granting boons. The
embodiment of Love, she reveals the doctrine of Selflessness.

Malini Bhairavi [Jupiter]

A beautiful girl wearing the best kind of gold and jewels. Naked, with
tongue outstretched and touching her lower lip. With three eyes, her
right hand showers gold upon her devotee; her left hand offers a bowl of
choice food. The embodiment of expansion, she destroys the distractions
of attachment.

Asita Bhairavi [Saturn]

An old woman, of resentful expression and dishevelled hair. Naked, with
roughened body and pendulous breasts. Smeared in black dust and very
melancholy. With her right hand she holds a cord by which she restrains,
and in her left hand, she offers a skull filled with offal. The embodiment
of restriction, she removes all restrictions.

Aruna Bhairavi [Neptune]

Naked, with long dark hair and three gazelle-like eyes. The dream-girl of
smoky hue who wears gems of opals. In her right hand she offers a bowl
of smoking hot blood, and in her left hand, a skrying crystal. The
embodiment of imagination, she reveals the secrets of Reality.

Karbura Bhairavi [Uranus]

A naked lady of haughty disposition, smeared with blue dust and
wearing a necklace of crystal. In her right hand she holds up a stick, in a
threatening manner. In her left hand she cups a child to her breast. The
embodiment of control, she holds the keys to spontaneous bliss.

Nila Bhairavi [Pluto]

Naked, of violet hue, almost invisible because of her darkness, wearing
gems of black jet. In her right hand she holds a bowl full of shattered
glass, and in her left hand, a mask. She is the embodiment of
detachment. She destroys the delusion of attainment.


The basic idea is that the 9 triangles can be thought of as firepits or

yonis, into which may be cast kleshas, or for that matter, desires.

The Triangles can be installed by placing the three Shaktis - Jnana-Kriya-

Iccha, at the points of the outermost. This can be done by having 1
person reading the meditations out.

In the centre of the ninth and final triangle is the bija-point wherein
Bhairavi is cojoined with Bhairava in the fiery bliss of union.



Here, we identify the 9 firepits [i.e. triangles] which each of the
planetary shaktis:
Pita Bhairavi Mercury Thought

Rakta Bhairavi Mars Vigour

Harina Bhairavi Venus Love

Malini Bhairavi Jupiter Wealth

Asita Bhairavi Saturn Restriction

Aruna Bhairavi Neptune Imagination

Uranus Control

Nila Bhairavi Pluto Detachment

The meditation may be repeated - this time with the Shakti emerging out
of the flames. The idea here is that each person may offer up a sacrifice,
or ask a boon of each Shakti.

The 9th Triangle is the firepit which joins/feeds the flame of Bhairavi-
Bhairava cojoined in bliss. The sacrifice is Ego.
The Triangles are Yonis or Firepits. Into each of the 8 firepits in turn, we
can cast an obstacle related to each of the above, the ninth being ego.
The Triangular firepit is created by the installation of Jnana-Shakti (Sun),
Kriya-Shakti (Moon) and Iccha-Shakti (Fire). Litanies for these shatkis are
given in Tantra Magic.

Exit as in flame-meditation in Dattatreya Rite.