You are on page 1of 1

SP Holds First Session

By: Kathleene R. Benzon

The 9th Sanggunian of the Provincial Government of Cagayan officially opened on July
5, 2016 as it conducted its maiden session at SP Session Hall, Capitol Hills,
Tuguegarao City.

In attendance to the said session were the duly elected Vice Governor and members of
the Board who shall sit in the legislative leg of the provincial government in the next
three years.

New members of the Board are Hon. Cristopher T. Barcena and Hon. Jean Alphonse D.
Ponce in the first district, Hon. Jesus Florencio A. Vargas and Hon. Arnold T. Layus, Jr.
in the second district, and Hon. Perla C. Tumaliuan, Hon. Rosauro Rodrigo G. Resuello
and Hon. Rodrigo C. de Asis in the third district.

Other members who successfully won in their reelection bid were Hon. Maria Olivia B.
Pascual in the first district, Hon. Vilmer V. Viloria in the second district and Hon. Karen
Kaye T. Turingan in the third district.

Meanwhile, the ex-officio members are Hon. Napoleon Sacramed and Hon. Hilario Larry
S. Ting who represent the Philippine Councilors’ League (PCL) Cagayan Chapter and
Association of Barangay Captains (ABC) Provincial Federation, respectively. They shall
continue to hold their posts until replaced in the coming PCL and ABC elections.

“This new leadership in the legislative department is a challenge. With a combination of
new and re-electionist members, I look forward to a harmonious working relationship
with each of them and I know we can come up with good legislative measures for the
welfare of our constituents,” said the Hon. Vice Governor Melvin “Boy” K. Vargas, Jr.