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Step by Step Guide to using AdCommerce

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Contents

Your guide to marketing success with eBay AdCommerce
Overview........................................................................................ P 3 . Create.an.AdCommerce.Account................................................. P 4 . Create./.Edit.a.Campaign.............................................................. P 7 . . Create./.Edit.an.Ad.. ....................................................................... P 11. . . . Targeting........................................................................................ P . . 16 Manage.an.AdCommerce.Account.............................................. P . . 17 Account.Information./.General.questions................................... P . . 22 Glossary.......................................................................................... P . 24 Contact........................................................................................... P . . 25

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Overview

AdCommerce targets buyers, not browsers
AdCommerce.is.eBay‘s.pay.per.click.marketing.tool.that.allows.you.to.drive.more.traffic.to.your.business.and. increase.sales.on.eBay.

You Are in Control You.decide.what.you.are.willing.to.pay.for.each.click.and.you.are.in.full. control.of.your.total.advertising.budget..You.also.decide.on.your.targeting. options.(by.keyword.or.by.category).and.on.the.design.of.your.ads. Review & Respond Follow.your.own.detailed.ad.performance.reports.to.learn.what.attracts.the. right.buyers.and.adjust.accordingly.to.boost.performance. Only Pay for Results Your.text.ads.are.displayed.for.free..You.are.only.charged.when.someone. clicks.on.your.ad,.so.every.penny.of.your.budget.goes.towards.attracting. potential.buyers.

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Create an AdCommerce Account

How to create an AdCommerce Account
Before.you.can.create.an.AdCommerce.account,.you.need.an.eBay.seller.account.

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Go to www.adcommerce.com. Click Register Now and complete all details.

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Create an AdCommerce Account

Link your AdCommerce Account and your eBay account
After.you.have.registered,.you.will.receive.a.confirmation.email..Click.on.the.link.in.this.email.to.activate.your. account..You.will.be.asked.to.sign.in.with.your.eBay.user.ID.and.password.to.automatically.link.your.existing.eBay. account.to.your.new.AdCommerce.account.

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Type your eBay seller User ID and Password to login to AdCommerce.

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You can link additional eBay seller accounts with your AdCommerce account when you create an ad.

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Create an AdCommerce Account

How to link your AdCommerce Account and your PayPal account
To.start.using.your.AdCommerce.account.you.must.first.set.up.a.payment.method..For.example.you.can.link.your. new.AdCommerce.account.to.your.existing.PayPal.account..You.can.update.your.payment.information.at.any.time.. To.ensure.that.the.new.information.is.used.for.the.next.invoice.payment,.please.update.your.payment.information. before.the.end.of.the.month.

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INFO
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Click the My Account tab, and then click Payment Information. On the Payment Information page, click Add Payment Information. Select PayPal under Account Type and click Continue. Login to PayPal with your PayPal user ID and password. This will automatically link your AdCommerce account to your PayPal account. Our currently available payment options are as follows: • Credit/Debit Card (VISA, MasterCard) • Direct Debit • PayPal

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Create / Edit a Campaign

How to create your first Campaign with AdCommerce
Campaigns.enable.you.to.manage.groups.of.ads.with.common.characteristics.and.act.as.folders.in.order.to.organise. your.ads.in.the.best.possible.way..You.need.to.create.a.campaign.to.identify.the.start.and.end.dates.for.your.ads,. your.language.and.target.country,.and.your.budget..

To create a campaign:

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Do either one of the following: • Click the Campaigns tab, and then click Create Campaign. • Create a new ad. Next to the Campaign field, click Create New. On the Create Campaign page, fill in the following fields: Campaign Name, Campaign Description, Target Country, Language Start Date, Run Continuously, End Date and Maximum Daily Budget. To save the campaign: If you are creating a campaign from the Campaigns tab, click Save to save your campaign and return to the previous page, or click Continue to save your campaign and start creating an ad in the campaign. If you are creating a campaign while you are creating an ad, click Create.

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Create / Edit a Campaign

How to use the daily budget
Your.text.ads.are.displayed.for.free..You.are.only.charged.when.someone.clicks.on.your.ad,.so.every.penny.of.your. budget.goes.towards.attracting.potential.buyers.

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Choose a daily budget that is comfortable for you. Consider what you are spending on other advertising, and consider how much exposure you would like. Every time someone clicks your ad the cost of each click comes from your available Daily Budget. Our ad server will work to deliver as many qualified buyers to you as your budget allows. You can change the maximum cost per click (CPC) for an ad or for specific keywords at any time.

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You should set your max CPC to the highest amount you‘d be willing to pay for a click. If after a few days you see no impressions on the keyword, consider raising your max CPC bid.

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Create / Edit a Campaign

How to edit or modify a Campaign
Follow these steps to edit or modify a campaign at any time:

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Click the Campaigns tab. On the Campaigns tab, click the Edit icon in the row for the campaign you want to edit. On the Edit Campaign page, modify the following fields as required: Campaign Name, Campaign Description, Start Date, Run Continuously, End Date and Maximum Daily Budget. Click Save.

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Create / Edit a Campaign

How to develop my activities in different countries
You.can.target.specific.countries.with.your.ads.when.you.set.up.campaigns.on.the.Create Campaign.page..

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Select your Target Country from the drop down list.

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To increase global exposure, you can create as many campaigns in different target countries as you want. Select a new campaign for each country you choose to target.

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Create / Edit an Ad

How to choose between Custom and Ad Wizard
When.you.create.an.ad,.you.can.select.from.two.ad.types..Ad.types.enable.you.to.customise.your.ad.to.direct. shoppers.to.a.single.item,.a.group.of.items,.or.a.customised.location.you.choose..AdCommerce.offers.an.easy-. to-use.Ad Wizard.that.meets.most.users‘.advertising.needs..If.you.want.to.create.an.ad.from.scratch.and.have. the.ability.to.control.more.options,.create.a.Custom Ad.

To select an ad type, click one of the following ad types:

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Create an Ad using Wizard helps you create your ads by finding the keywords and images based on your listings. The wizard also creates the best landing page for your buyers based on the keywords that buyers search. Create a Custom Ad. This enables you to customise all the components of the ad (text, image, keywords or category, and landing page).

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You can edit your ads at any time but they will not appear live on eBay until all payment details have been entered.

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Create / Edit an Ad

How to create an effective ad
Creating effective ads is quick and very easy. To get started, follow these simple steps:

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Choose which eBay seller ID the campaign applies to. This enables the Ad Wizard to find which items it needs to generate keywords and find images for. Select whether you want to narrow the suggested keywords to only keywords that are relevant to your items in a specific eBay category. Headline - Your headline is the most important text in your ad. The headline appears at the top of the ad in bold text. Description - You can add two lines of descriptive text to your ad, each 35 characters long. The description lines should provide more details about the items you‘re selling, such as quality, price, selection, or shipping. Select a name for your ad. You should set your max CPC to the highest amount you‘d be willing to pay for a click.

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Be sure that your Ad text meets the following guidelines: • No irrelevant or misleading text • No incorrect spelling • No bad grammar • No excessive capitalisation • No repeated words, symbols, or punctuation • No URLs or phone numbers in ad text • No meaningless or objectionable phrases

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Create / Edit an Ad

How to edit and modify an ad
You.can.edit.or.modify.an.ad.at.any.time..The.options.you.see.on.the.Edit Ad.page.vary,.depending.on.whether. you.are.modifying.an.Ad Wizard Ad.or.a.Custom Ad.

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To start editing an ad, do one of the following: • Click the Ads tab. On the Ads tab, in the row for the ad you want to edit, click the Edit icon. • Click the Campaigns tab, and then click a Campaign Name. On the Campaign details page, in the row for the ad you want to edit, click the Edit icon. On the Edit Ad page, modify the text or other details as desired. Click Save.

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Create / Edit an Ad

How to choose, modify or delete your Keywords
When.you.create.or.edit.an.ad,.the.AdCommerce.system.checks.the.items.associated.with.your.specified.seller ID,. site,.and.categories,.and.suggests.popular.keywords.to.use.with.your.ad..You.can.add.or.delete.keywords.from. your.ad.or.modify.keyword.options.at.any.time. You.can.update.your.keyword.list.by.adding.new.keywords..The.procedure.for.adding.keywords.varies,.depending. on.whether.you.created.the.ad.using.the.Ad Wizard,.or.you.created.a.Custom Ad.

How to add keywords to an Ad Wizard ad:

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To edit an Ad Wizard ad, click Edit Keywords on the Edit Ad page. On the keyword editor, click Add Keywords. Enter the keyword you want to add in the Keyword field on the pop-up. Select the keyword‘s match type: Broad or Exact.

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Adding keywords to a Custom Ad: You will be able to type or paste a list of keywords with one keyword per line. Also you can choose whether to place keywords in quotation marks (exact) or without (broad). To permanently delete one or more keywords: • On the Edit Ad page, click Edit Keywords. • On the Ad details page, select the check box for the keywords you want to delete. Click Delete.

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Create / Edit an Ad

How to choose your picture
For.ads.created.using.the.Ad Wizard,.AdCommerce.automatically.inserts.the.image.for.an.item.you.are selling.into.your.ad..These.images.come.directly.from.your.item.listings.on.eBay..The.item.selected.is.the.one. AdCommerce.determines.is.the.best.match.for.the.keyword..However,.you.can.choose.to.change.the.image.to.the. image.from.one.of.your.other.listings.if.you.prefer. For.Custom Ads,.you.can.upload.your.own.image..The.image.may.be.a.photo.or.non-photo.representation.of. your.product,.but.keep.in.mind.any.image.you.submit.will.be.scaled.down.to.a.72.x.72.pixel.limit.

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To add an image to a Custom Ad, do the following:

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Uploading an image does not necessarily mean that AdCommerce will always include the image when your ad displays on eBay. In some page locations and contexts, ads do not include images. When selecting an image, remember: • No irrelevant or misleading images • No URLs or phone numbers in ad images • No meaningless or objectionable images Note: These guidelines may not cover all cases where eBay could deem an ad inappropriate for display on AdCommerce. eBay reserves the right to remove advertising at its discretion.

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Click Upload Image. Select the image you want to upload from your computer.

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Targeting

The difference between Category and Keyword targeting
The.user.experience.and.the.efficiency.of.your.campaigns.can.be.greatly.improved.if.you.target.keywords.or. categories.that.are.relevant.to.your.ad. If.you.choose.to.narrow.by.category,.AdCommerce.will.generate.keywords.only.from.the.listings.in.the.categories. you.specify,.otherwise.it.will.generate.keywords.from.your.listings.in.all.eBay.categories.

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Select Keyword or Category.

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To create more successful campaigns, please make sure that your keyword selections reflect the categories of your shop.

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Manage an AdCommerce Account

How to use reports
Use.reports.to.track.metrics.related.to.your.ads,.campaigns,.and.keywords.over.time..The.chart.displays.two. metrics.on.the.same.graph,.so.you.can.easily.compare.the.results..The.data.in.the.report.table.changes.when.you. run.a.report.

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Click the Reports tab. In the Report Type list, select the type of data you want to view. View by: Day, Campaign, Ad or Keyword. In the Date Range list, select the date range. View by: Today, Yesterday, Last Month, Current Month, Last 6 Months or Custom. In the graph options, select the data you want to view in either list, or both lists. All data is limited to the date range you specified in Step 3: Available metrics include Total Cost, Avg Position, Avg CPC, Impressions, Clicks and CTR (%).

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Manage an AdCommerce Account

Understanding key metrics
Actual.cost.per.click.(CPC).is.the.actual.amount.you.pay.for.an.ad.click.in.AdCommerce..Actual.CPC.is.the.amount. of.a.winning.bid.for.ad.display. Click-through.rate.(CTR).is.an.online.marketing.term.that.represents.the.number.of.clicks.per.the.number.of.ad. impressions..CTR.tells.you.how.often.potential.customers.are.clicking.your.ads.when.they.see.them..Thus,.it.is.a. straightforward.indicator.of.the.effectiveness.of.your.ad.

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CPC and CTR information can be seen on the dashboard.

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Manage an AdCommerce Account

How to optimise CTR
Your.keyword.selection.and.keyword-level.settings.play.a.large.role.in.determining.when.your.ad.will.be.shown.. For.this.reason,.it.is.important.to.understand.how.your.keywords.are.performing.and.make.periodic.adjustments. to.ensure.that.you.are.getting.maximum.performance. Here.are.suggestions.on.how.to.improve.your.ads’.relevance: R egularly.view.your.ads.report.and.compare.impressions,.clicks,.CTR,.and.Average CPC.across.ads.as.well.as. viewing.how.these.metrics.change.over.time..These.metrics.indicate.the.performance.of.your.ads. I dentify.keywords.that.receive.fewer.impressions.or.lower.CTR.than.others..Try.some.of.the.following.strategies. to.improve.the.performance.of.these.keywords. C hange.your.image.so.that.it.includes.a.high.quality.photo.of.a.relevant.product.or.store.logo. I mprove.your.ad.text.by.including.relevant.keywords. . T ry.using.keyword.insertion. E nsure.that.the.products.that.you.are.selling.on.the.destination.URL.are.related.to.the.keywords.that.you.are. bidding.on..For.example,.if.you.have.bought.the.keyword.“ipod” ,.your.destination.URL.should.contain.products. related.to.iPods. I f.you.are.bidding.on.categories,.ensure.that.they.accurately.reflect.your.product.and.ad.text..It.may.make.sense. to.buy.more.specific.categories.if.your.products.are.focused.on.a.specific.category. M ake.sure.that.you.fill.out.all.lines.of.the.ad.text..Try.including.product.information.in.the.ad.text.. . M ention.price.or.discounts.such.as.free.shipping.in.your.ad.text.

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Manage an AdCommerce Account

How to optimise ROI
ROI.stands.for.Return.on.Investment..It.is.used.to.determine.how.effective.your.advertising.is.by.measuring.the. number.of.bids.or.items.sold.that.result.from.clicks.on.your.AdCommerce.ads..ROI.information.is.only.available. when.your.ad.directs.users.to.an.eBay.site.

U sing ROI reporting to help manage AdCommerce campaigns . ROI.reporting.gives.you.insight.into.what’s.working.for.you.and.what.isn’t..It.helps.you.make.decisions.about.. how.to.most.effectively.focus.your.advertising.spending..This.gives.you.the.insight.you.need.to.spend.more.on. keywords.that.work.and.cut.out.the.keywords.that.aren’t.profitable.

R OI metrics . T . here.are.four.measurements.captured.on.the.Reports.tab.in.AdCommerce:.#.Bid/BIN,.Items.Sold,.Sales. Amount,.and.Sales/Cost..“#.Bid/BIN”.is.the.number.of.bids.or.immediate.purchases.that.came.from.users.who. clicked.on.your.ad..Similarly,.“Items.Sold”.is.the.quantity.of.items.sold.as.a.result.of.clicks.on.your.ad..“Sales. Amount”.is.the.total.dollar.value.of.items.sold.as.a.result.of.clicks.on.your.ad..“Sales/Cost”.is.the.total.amount. of.sales.divided.by.the.total.amount.spent.on.advertising..This.number.tells.you.how.much.you.made.in.sales. for.every.pound.you.spent.on.advertising..Use.this.to.help.understand.the.efficiency.of.your.campaigns.

W hy does the BID/BIN column matter for ROI? . B . ID.means.the.number.of.bids.generated.on.your.auctions...BIN.means.the.number.of.times.an.ad.click.led.. a.user.to.click.“Buy.It.Now”.and.complete.a.sale...While.BIN.activity.is.easily.measured.(it’s.the.sales.price. received.as.a.result.of.the.ad.click),.the.BID.number.is.not.as.easily.assigned.a.value..Both.BID/BIN.together. illustrate.how.effectively.your.advertising.is.working.for.you..Driving.ad.clicks.to.your.auctions.means.more. bids.and.a.higher.closing.price...You’re.exposing.your.auctions.to.users.who.may.not.have.otherwise.found.them. –.thereby.driving.up.demand.

The visibility of results over time . D . ata.reporting.lags.by.a.few.hours,.so.you.won’t.see.results.immediately..The.window.of.time.sales.events.may. be.associated.to.a.click.is.referred.to.as.latency..Our.ROI.latency.is.the.industry.standard.of.30.days..For. example,.if.a.user.clicked.on.an.ad.on.Tuesday.9.March.and.then.made.a.purchase.from.you.on.8.April,.that.sale. would.be.counted.toward.the.click.on.9.March..This.is.why.it’s.important.to.take.a.30+.day.historical.view.of. your.account;.all.of.a.day’s.sales.won’t.be.reported.until.30.days.later..AdCommerce.ROI.data.is.available.for.a. period.of.six.months.into.the.past.

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Manage an AdCommerce Account

How to know, understand and optimise CPC and daily budget
Another.major.component.of.deciding.when.to.show.your.ad.is.related.to.your.CPC.bid.and.Daily Budget.. Use.the.following.tips.to.get.maximum.exposure..Use.the.ads.report.to.monitor.the.average.box.position.(Avg Pos). of.your.ads..An.Avg Pos.of.1.means.you’re.showing.up.in.the.first.spot.of.the.box..If.any.ads.are.in.poor.positions,. the.easiest.way.to.improve.Avg Pos.is.by.increasing.your.Max CPC Bid..You.can.change.the.Maximum Cost-per-Click (CPC).for.an.ad,.or.for.specific.keywords..

To change the max CPC for a keyword:

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Click Edit Keywords on the Edit Ad page. Click the value you want to change in the Max CPC column. Change the Max CPC to the amount you want, and click Save.

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If you want to change the CPC for all of an ad’s keywords at the same time, you can click on CPC on the ad page, edit it, and CPC for all keywords for that ad will be changed. Also, make sure that your daily budget is high enough to receive a sufficient amount of clicks for your ads.

Repeat.this.process.to.change.the Max CPC for.additional.keywords.

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Account Information / General questions

How to change Payment Information
You.can.update.your.Payment Information.at.any.time..To.ensure.that.the.new.information.is.used.for.the.next. invoice.payment,.please.update.your.Payment Information.before.the.end.of.the.month.

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Click the My Account tab, and then click Payment Information. On the Payment Information page, click Add Payment Information. In the User Information dialogue box, type your AdCommerce account password in the Confirm Password box.

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Account Information / General questions

Personal and business settings
To change your Personal Settings or Business Information in the AdCommerce system:

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For personal settings, click Personal Settings on the My Account tab. Change any of the following settings: Password, User Settings and Message Settings. Click Update to save. For business information click Business Information on the My Account tab. Change any of the following settings: Business Address or Business Information. Click Update to save.

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Glossary

A guide to useful terminology and concepts
The.following.is.a.list.of.key.terms.and.concepts.that.are.frequently.encountered.when.using.AdCommerce.. If.you‘re.ever.in.doubt,.remember.to.check.here.for.clarification.

Standard Metrics
Average Click-Through-Rate (Avg. CTR).The number of times an ad has been seen against the number of times it has been clicked on. Avg. CTR%=(Clicks/Impressions)*100. For example: 100 Clicks / 1,000 Imp. = 10.0% CTR. . Average Cost-Per-Click (Avg. CPC) The average amount it costs each time a user clicks on an ad. Avg. CPC=Cost/Clicks. For example: Cost £2.00 / 40 Clicks = £0.05 CPC. . Average Position (Avg Pos) The average position of the ad in the rankings under the Sponsored eBay Results (the section has 4 positions). Cost Total cost of the ad/campaign through clicks. (Note: for EU users, total cost does not include VAT). . Daily Budget/Daily Cap.The amount an advertiser is willing to spend on a specific Ad Campaign per day. When the Daily Budget runs out, the ads will stop showing. This can also be used to manage a monthly budget by simply multiplying the daily budget by 31 to get the monthly budget. For example: Daily budget is £10.00, Avg. CPC £0.10 -> after 100 Clicks the budget runs out. Impression When a Keyword or Category is searched on eBay, the number of times the ad is displayed in the ‘Sponsored eBay Results’ section is logged as an ‘Impression’ – there is no charge for this.. Maximum Cost-per-Click (CPC) Bid Highest amount per Click an advertiser is willing to pay for a click on their ad. The maximum CPC can be set at Keyword or Ad level. The bidding system works on an auction, where AdCommerce automatically charges the advertiser only a penny more than the Max CPC bid of the advertiser below. For example: On the left, there are 4 advertisers with Max CPC Bids and on the right-hand side the avg. CPC they pay through the auction system. Ad 1 - 60p Ad 2 - 35p Ad 3 - 20p Ad 4 - 8p Max CPC Bid Max CPC Bid Max CPC Bid Max CPC Bid -> -> -> -> Ad 1 - 36p. Avg. CPC Ad 2 - 21p. Avg. CPC Ad 3 - 9p. Avg. CPC Ad 4 - 8p. Avg. CPC

Pay Per Click (PPC).Method of online advertising where the advertiser only pays when their ad is clicked on. On the eBay website, these ads are found in the ‘Sponsored eBay Results’ section.

ROI Metrics
Return on Investment (ROI) Metric identifying activity in a user‘s eBay shop as a result of clicks on an ad. # BID/BIN Items that went into auction bidding (BID) or items sold under Buy it Now (BIN). # Items Sold Total number of items sold (BID or BIN). Sales Amount Total value of the items sold. Sales/Cost The sales amount divided by the total cost for the day, ad, campaign, or keyword (for every £ invested, how much the user makes in return).

Campaigns and Keywords Options and Settings
Broad Match The ad is eligible to appear when the search query is a similar phrase or a relevant variation of the keyword. For example: keyword ‘toys’ is set to broad match and a user searches for ‘soft toys’ -> the ad is likely to appear. Display URL The URL displayed on the ad. Users clicking on an ad know where they’ll be taken when they click on that ad. Two options can be displayed: the eBay User ID or the Shop Home Page. To change the Display URL to the name of a shop, send the ad to the Shop Home Page. Destination URL The exact URL within the advertiser’s eBay Shop that the users will be sent to after clicking on an ad. It can direct people to a specific Category or product listing. Exact Match The ad will only appear if a user’s search query matches the keyword exactly. This option is useful for niche products and very targeted advertising. For example: keyword ‘soft toys’ is set to exact match and a user searches for ‘toys’ -> the ad will not appear. If the user searches for ‘soft toys’, the ad is likely to appear.

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Contact

Contact
If.you.have.any.questions.or.would.like.further.information.please.contact.us.at.the.email.address.below: .

adcommerce.feedback@ebay.com

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