JULY 2010 / MMLR

Massachusetts Medical Law Report is pleased to announce the winners of our 3rd Annual Rx for Excellence Awards.
Kathy Berry, RN Director of Performance Improvement Marlborough Hospital Corey E. Collins, DO, FAAP Director of Pediatric Anesthesiology Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Rushika Fernandopulle, MD Co-Founder Renaissance Health Michele M. Garvin, Esq., Partner, Ropes & Gray and Joel Abrams, CEO, Dorchester House Bethany M. Gilboard Director of Health Technologies Massachusetts Technology Collaborative Ellen Hafer, MBA, MTS Executive Vice President and COO Massachusetts League of Community Health Centers Soheil A. Hanjani, MD Supervising Obstetrician-Gynecologist Brockton Neighborhood Health Center Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology Caritas Good Samaritan Medical Center David Harlow, Esq. Principal The Harlow Group Ellen L. Janos, Esq. Mintz Levin John LaRossa, MD Endocrinologist/Diabetologist Newton-Wellesley Hospital Inga T. Lennes, MD Director of Clinical Quality Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center Alejandro“Danny”Mendoza, MD Medical Director, Senior Behavioral Health Center, Jordan Hospital Chief, Division of Psychiatry, South Shore Hospital Deanne C. Munroe, MS, APN-BC Nurse Practitioner, Massachusetts General Hospital Clinical Instructor, Simmons College Rebecca Onie Co-Founder and CEO Project HEALTH Ilonna J. Rimm, MD, PhD SeniorVice President, Director of Physician Consultation Services Lazard Capital Markets Joyce A. Sackey, MD Dean for Multicultural Affairs and Global Health Tufts University School of Medicine Richard Serrao, MD Internist Veterans Affairs Hospital, West Roxbury Paul W. Shaw, Esq. Partner K&L Gates Willie Stephens, DDS Dental Specialty Partners of New England Kathleen Pfeifer Spurling, RN, JD Senior Claims Representative ProMutual Group Robert J. Suchecki CEO Hampden County Physician Associates

Platinum Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

In Partnership with

MMLR / JULY 2010


Ronald A. Arky, MD Professor of Medicine and Medical Education Harvard Medical School Senior Physician Brigham and Women’s Hospital Mara G. Aspinall President and CEO On-Q-ity Karen Bell, MD, MMS Chair Certification Commission for Health Information Technology (CCHIT) Evan M. Benjamin, MD, FACP Vice President/Chief Quality Officer Baystate Health System Amy Boutwell, MD Content Director Institute for Healthcare Improvement Elizabeth Capstick Deputy State Auditor Office of the State Auditor Jack Evjy, MD Medical Affairs Advisor Massachusetts Medical Society Len Fishman President & CEO Hebrew Senior Life Kilbyanne Garabedian, JD, RN Deputy General Counsel UMass Memorial Health Care Larry Garber, MD Medical Director for Informatics Fallon Clinic

Michael P. Hirsh, MD, Division Chief of Pediatric Surgery and Trauma and Mariann M. Manno, MD, Director of Pediatric Emergency Medicine UMass Memorial Children’s Medical Center Sarah Iselin President Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Foundation Rebecca L. Johnson, MD Chair, Department of Pathology & Clinical Laboratories Berkshire Health Systems Bruce Karlin, MD Internist Worcester, Mass. Sharon Lane, RN, MSN Senior Director of Patient Safety Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Jeffrey H. Liebman, MBA, DMD CEO Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center-Needham B. Dale Magee, MD Obstetrician-Gynecologist Shrewsbury, Mass. Eugenia Marcus, MD Pediatric Health Care at Newton-Wellesley

Philip E. McCarthy, MD General surgeon Norwood, Mass. Dolores L. Mitchell Executive Director Group Insurance Commission Senate President Therese Murray Massachusetts Senate Jeffrey Samet, MD Professor of Medicine and Chief of General Internal Medicine Boston University School of Medicine Kenneth E. Sands, MD, MPH Senior Vice President and Medical Director of Health Care Quality Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Gordon D. Schiff, MD Associate Director, Center for Patient Safety Research and Practice Brigham and Women’s Hospital Thomas J. Sommer President MassMEDIC Thomas E. Sullivan, MD Cardiologist Danvers, Mass. David C. Turner President and CEO Masonic Health System of Massachusetts Gordon C. Vineyard, MD Chairman of the Board Emeritus Massachusetts Health Data Consortium

Save the Date
To buy tickets or for more information, contact Melissa Mitchell at or 617-218-8213. For sponsorship opportunities, contact Charlene Smith at or 617-218-8211.

Awards Ceremony & Breakfast
September 24, 2010 TheWestin Copley Place 7:30-9:30am