Anjelina Mayjoffo

Art 133

Unit paper 3

February 28, 2017

Unit Paper 3

When using the big idea as “vulnerability,” “Pink (2012) explains that we can develop a

whole new mind in this era by using the six high-concept, high-touch senses.” The six senses are

design, story, symphony, empathy, play, and meaning. These six senses are to guide you through

out your life and the more you understand them, the more you will develop a whole new mind.

Pink uses Stories and Meaning towards vulnerability. “Stories provide context enriched by

emotion, a deeper understanding of how we fit in and why it matters. We are each the authors to

our own lives” (Pink, 2012, p. 115). He also talks about meaning as well, but he uses a maze and

a labyrinth as an example for meaning. A maze has confusing paths which lead to no-where and

when you enter the maze, your goal is to escape. A labyrinth is a circle and when you enter, your

goal is to find the center and then find your way back. The point of this is, when we look at a

maze, we see ourselves getting lost but in a labyrinth, you can lose yourself. “The circle is an

archetype for wholeness or unity. So, when people walk into the labyrinth, they begin to see their

whole life” (Pink, 2012, p. 230). Life is like walking a labyrinth, the purpose of it is to enjoy the

journey of it.

Students should start to think for themselves and start asking lots of questions. They can

learn a lot from themselves and the questions they ask. Also, listening carefully and finding out
why the student asks the questions he or she asks. Being able to let students speak their ow mind

and doing what makes them think is right.

Pink, Daniel H. A Whole New Mind: Why Right-brainers Will Rule the Future. New York:
Riverhead, 2012. Print.