Government of

Mexico is a federal republic. It has 31 states and the Federal
District. The government consists of the legislative,
executive and judicial branch. The Senate used to consist of
64 members. There were 2 for each state and 2 represented
the Federal District. However, the Salinas government
doubled the senate to 128 members in 1993. Since 1986,
the Chamber of Deputies, which is part of Legislative branch
consists of 500 members. Lastly, in 1917, the Constitution of
1917, which they country still abides by today, guarantees
personal freedoms, civil liberties and establishes economic
and political principles for the country.

Executive Branch:
The president is elected through a majority vote through
registered voters. The government is required to be Mexican
citizens and also be the offspring of a Mexican citizen. The
president can’t be re-elected and there is no vice president.
Since the 1930’s, the president is also in office for a 6-year
term, which is known as Sexenio in Mexico. The President
has the titles of: Chief of State, Head of Government and
Commander in the Chief of the Armed Forces.

This is the
president of
Mexico. His
name is
Enrique Pena
Nieto. He has
Legislative Branch:
The Legislative Branch is Congress. There is an Upper
Chamber and a Lower Chamber. The Upper Chamber is
called the Senate or Camara de Senadores, in Spanish. The
Lower Chamber is called the Chamber of Deputies or Camara
de Diputados. Congress has the right to pass laws, impose
taxes, declare war, approve national budget, approve or
reject treaties and conventions made with foreign countries
and ratify diplomatic appointments. The Senate focuses on
all matters concerning foreign policy, approves international
agreement and confirms presidential appointments. The
Chamber of Deputies addresses
matters pertaining to the
government’s budget and public

Picture: This it what it looks
like when the Senate and
Chamber of Deputies come

Judicial Branch:
The Judicial branch is the federal and state systems. The
highest court is the Supreme Court of Justice in Mexico City.
The Supreme Court of Justice has 21 magistrates and 5
auxiliary judges appointed by the president. The Supreme
Court justices are appointed for life, but are subject to
impeachment by the Chamber of Deputies.

Health Care:
Federally subsidized medical care and hospital care is
available to all Mexican citizens. Government institutions like
Mexican Social Security Institute and the Security and Social
Services Institute for Government Workers operate hospitals.
However, the overall health care is poor and a lot of citizens
travel outside of the country for major surgeries and
Works Cited:
Mexico. (n.d.). Retrieved March 27, 2017, from

Mexico - Government Structure. (n.d.). Retrieved March 27, 2017, from