You are on page 1of 2

Moreno, Sarah

Module #506
January 31, 2017
Common Core Responses

Title: Common Core State Standards for ELA

1. In Grades 6-12, the Standards are divided into 2 sections. What are the 2
sections and why are they broken into 2 sections? (Intro p. 4)
The grades 612 standards are divided into two sections, one for ELA and the other for
history/social studies, science, and technical subjects. This division reflects the
unique, time-honored place of ELA teachers in developing students literacy
skills while at the same time recognizing that teachers in other areas must have
a role in this development as well( CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.4).

2. Why is there greater attention on: 1) reading informational text and 2)

writing to persuade and to explain in the Common Core ELA Standards?
(Intro p. 5)
In accord with NAEPs growing emphasis on informational texts in the higher grades, the
Standards demand that a significant amount of reading of informational texts take place in and
outside the ELA classroom. Fulfilling the Standards for 612 ELA requires much greater
attention to a specific category of informational textliterary nonfictionthan has been
traditional. Because the ELA classroom must focus on literature (stories, drama, and poetry) as
well as literary nonfiction, a great deal of informational reading in grades 612 must take place
in other classes if the NAEP assessment framework is to be matched instructionally.1 To measure
students growth toward college and career readiness, assessments aligned with the Standards
should adhere to the distribution of texts across grades cited in the NAEP
framework( CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.5).

3. What should we expect to see in college and career ready students in

Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Language? (Intro p. 7)
They can demonstrate independence, have the ability to build strong content knowledge,
respond to varying demands of audience, task, purpose and discipline, They can comprehend as
well as critique, they value evidence, they have the capability to use technology, and they have
the ability to understand and respect other cultures.(CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.7)

4. What are the 4 Key Features of the Standards? (Intro p. 8)

The four key features are: reading, writing, speaking and Language. (CCSSI_ELA
Standards.indd, p.8)

5. a) What are the 3 areas within the Reading Standards? What is the
difference between the 3 areas?
The three areas within the reading standards are: literature, foundational and informational text.
Literature can be both fiction and nonfiction. Informational text is more facts based or historical
(non-fiction). And Foundational is based on skills necessary for reading comprehension such as
phonological awareness, phonics and word recognition, fluency, and print concept.
b) What are the 4 College and Career Ready (CCR) Anchor Standards for
Reading (K-5)?
The four College and Career ready Anchor Standards for reading are: Key Ideas and details,
Craft and Structure, Integration of knowledge and ideas, and Range of reading and level of text
complexity.( CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.10)

6. What are the 4 CCR Anchor Standards for Writing (K-

The four CCR Anchor Standards for Writing are: text types and purpose, production and
distribution of writing, research to build and present knowledge, and research writing.
(CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.18)

7. What are the 2 CCR Anchor Standards for Speaking &

Listening (K-5)?
The two CCR Anchor Standards for Speaking are: comprehension and collaboration, and
Presentation of knowledge of ideas. (CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.22)

8. What are the 3 CCR Anchor Standards for Language (K-5)?

The three CCR Anchor standards for language are: Conventions of Standard English, Knowledge
of Language, Vocabulary acquisition and use. (CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.25)

9. What is the difference between Literature and Informational Text? Give 1

example of literature and 1 example of informational text for your grade
level. Pp. 31-32
The difference between Literature and informational text is, that literature is composed of stories
drama and poetry which can consist of fictional ideas or concepts. Were as Informational text is
non-fiction based and can be more historical facts based reading.
Some examples of the two different text for kindergarten can be: Over in the Meadow by John
Langstaff (literature) and Amazing Whales! by Sarah L. Thomson (Informational text).
(CCSSI_ELA Standards.indd, p.32)


Common Core State Standards for English Language arts ... (n.d.). Retrieved January 30, 2017.