You are on page 1of 2

Epicenter- the point on the earth's surface vertically above the focus of an


The 2012 Visayas earthquake occurred on February 6 at 11:49 PST with a moment magnitude of
6.7 and a maximum intensity of VII (Destructive) off the coast of Negros Oriental, Philippines. The
epicenter of the undersea blind thrust earthquake was approximately 72 kilometres (45 mi) north of
Dumaguete, Negros Oriental.

What is the difference between Magnitude and Intensity?

Intensity: The severity of earthquake shaking is assessed using a descriptive scale the Modified Mercalli
Intensity Scale.

It was developed in 1931 by the American seismologists Harry Wood and Frank Neumann. This scale,
composed of increasing levels of intensity that range from imperceptible shaking to catastrophic
destruction, is designated by Roman numerals

Intenisty- ang sukat ng lakas ng pagyanig ng lupa dulot ng lindol. Kadalasan itong
lumiliit habang papalayo sa epicenter. Katulad ng isang malaks na pagsigaw,
habang lumalayo ay humihina.

Hinalintulad ng mga taga Philvocs ang differences ng magnitude at intensity sa

kamao ni Manny Pacquiao ayon sa kanila, yung lakas ng suntok ni many pacquiao
ay ang magnitude, at ang effect sa kalaban ay ang tinatawag na intensity.
Magnitude: Earthquake size is a quantitative measure of the size of the earthquake at its source. The Richter
Magnitude Scale measures the amount of seismic energy released by an earthquake.

When an earthquake occurs, its magnitude can be given a single numerical value on the Richter Magnitude Scale.
However the intensity is variable over the area affected by the earthquake, with high intensities near the epicentre
and lower values further away. These are allocated a value depending on the effects of the shaking according to
the Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale.

In an example, Magnitude can be likened to the power of radio or television waves sent out from a broadcasting
station. Intensity is how well you receive the signal, which can depend on your distance from the energy source, the
local conditions, and the pathway the signal has to take to reach you.

Magnitude- ito ay ginagamit ng mga scientist para ilarawan ang lakas ng lindol sa
epicenter o mismong pinangyarihan nito. Ito ay isang sukat ng enerhiya na
inilalabas ng lindol.

The RossiForel scale was one of the first seismic scales to reflect earthquake intensities. Developed by Michele
Stefano Conte de Rossi of Italy and Franois-Alphonse Forel of Switzerland in the late 19th century, it was used for
about two decades until the introduction of the Mercalli intensity scale in 1902.

What is the Richter Scale

The Richter magnitude scale (often shortened to Richter scale) is the most common standard of
measurement for earthquakes. It was invented in 1935 by Charles F. Richter of the California Institute
of Technology as a mathematical device to compare the size of earthquakes. The Richter scale is used
to rate the magnitude of an earthquake, that is the amount of energy released during an earthquake.

Tagalog:Ito ay nagdedesigna ng isang numero na nagbibigay sukat sa intensidad ng lindol.

What is Moment Scale

The moment magnitude scale (abbreviated as MMS; denoted as MW or M) is used by seismologists to measure the
size of earthquakes in terms of the energy