You are on page 1of 2

Explain the Maslows Heriechey Needs theory

Maslows Hierarchy Needs theory was developed by Abraham Maslow. Maslow hypothesized
that within every human being, there exists a hierarchy of five needs. Explain each of the needs.
(10 marks)

1. Physiological: Includes hunger, thirst, shelter etc.

2. Safety: Security and protection from physical and emotional harm.

3. Social: Affection, belongingness, acceptance and friendship.

4. Esteem: Internal factors such as self-respect, autonomy, achievement and external factors
such as status, recognition and attention.

5. Self-actualization: Drive to become what one is capable of becoming includes growth,

achieving ones potential and self-fulfillment. As each of this needs becomes substantially
satisfied, the next needs becomes dominant. Maslow divide this five needs into higher and
lower order needs.

Lower-order needs

Physiological, safety, and social needs.

Desires for physical and social well being.

Higher-order needs

Esteem and self-actualization needs.

Desire for psychological growth and development

Differentiate between Administration & Management (15 marks)