You are on page 1of 1

thein Sein (Burmese: ; IPA: [ s]; born 20 April 1945) is a former Burmese politician

and retired general in the Myanmar Army who served as the 8th President of Myanmar from
2011 to 2016. He previously served as Prime Minister from 2007 to 2011, and is considered by
many in and outside Myanmar as a moderate and reformist in the post-junta government.[1]

His government undertook a series of political reforms including some deregulation of the
country's censored media, releasing many political prisoners and halting the country's
controversial large Chinese-led hydro-power project. The developments that followed included
Myanmar's appointment to chair ASEAN in 2014, improved relations with the US, the release of
Aung San Suu Kyi from house arrest, and the reinstatement of major opposition party National
League for Democracy (NLD) in the by-election held on 1 April 2012.[2]