Imperial Valley College

Division of Nursing Education and Health Technologies
Fall 2010

Vocational Nursing 110
Class Schedule

Instructor: B. Sue Higgins Instructor: Craig Luoma

Office # 2134 Office # 2132
(760)355-6549 (760)355-6422
sue.higgins@imperial.edu craig.luoma@imperial.edu

*SUBJECT TO CHANGE
DATE DAY TIME ROOM DESCRIPTION INSTRUCTOR ASSIGNMENT
8/23/10 Mon 08:00- TBA General Orientation TBA The Student Handbook
12:00 Orientation to VN110 Higgins
Orientation to NLC Luoma
NLC Staff

13:00- Lab 2 Module A (Lab): Medical HIGGINS Kozier: Ch. 29, 31
15:30 Asepsis & Vital Signs
Lynn: Ch.1 pp.6-38
Ch.4 (Skill 4-1, 4-2,
4-6 & 4-7)
8/24/10 Tues 08:00- Lab 2 Module B (Lab) Skin Integrity LUOMA Kozier: Ch. 33;
12:00 Ch.48, pp1289-1301
Ch. 49, pp1336-1338
13:00-
15:30 Lynn: Ch.7, Ch. 12,pp 631-
648
8/25/10 Wed 8:00- 2135 Module A (Theory) HIGGINS Kozier: Ch 1; Ch 3;
12:25 Overview of the Health-Illness Ch 5; pp 80-90;
Continuum Ch 6;
Ch 16-19
Tabers: pp 2582-2609
8/26/10 Thurs 08:00- 2135 Module C: (Theory) Standard HIGGINS Lynn : Ch. 4
12:25 Precautions
Kozier: Ch. 31
Taber’s:pp 2561-2574
_____________________

Module C: (Lab) Application of HIGGINS Lynn: pp 438-440,453-458
Hot & Cold Kozier: Ch.36, pp.931-935
8/30/10 Mon 08:00- Lab 2 Module G: (Lab) Non- LUOMA Kozier: Ch.35
12:00 Injectable Meds Lynn: Ch. 5, pp 151 -197 ,
pp236-291

13:00-
15:30 LUOMA
Module H: (Lab), Injectable
Meds

pp 1108- 1111.pp 731-737 12:00 Mechanics Ch. Lab 2 Module E ( Lab) HIGGINS Lynn: pp 524-539 12:00 Bandages & Binders Kozier: Ch. 36. ATI CRITICAL THINKING TBA 9/2/10 Thurs 08:00. 2135 Quiz # 2 –MOD: B (Theory) HIGGINS 12:25 MOD: C (Theory LUOMA & Lab) LUOMA Mod E (Theory) Cont. pp 804-827 Collection 9/8/10 Wed 08:00. Lab 2 Module D (Lab) Body LUOMA Kozier: Ch.MOD: B (Lab) LUOMA Kozier: Ch. To LUOMA Roth: Ch. 1127-1161 13:00- 15:30 Lynn: Ch. 37. pp 1105-1127 Review “Activity & Exercise Module D: (Theory) Activity & HIGGINS Patterns with Related Nursing Rest Diagnosis” 9/6/10 Mon 08:00. 2135 Quiz # 1. 10-14 12:25 Diet Therapy Kozier: Ch 45 . 44. pp 951-953 13:00- 15:30 Module F (Lab) Specimen LUOMA Kozier: Ch. 44.10-15 12:25 Nursing Process Doenges: Reading Assign. Lab 2 Simulation /Skills Practice HIGGINS 12:00 LUOMA 13:00- 15:30 9/15/10 Wed 08:00. 2135 Module G (Theory) Intro. 45 & 46 12:25 Rest & Sleep Lynn: Ch: 10 9/9/10 Thurs 08:00.8/31/10 Tues 08:00. 2135 Module B: (Theory) LUOMA Kozier: Ch. Lab 2 Simulation/ Skills Practice HIGGINS 12:00 LUOMA 13:00- 15:30 9/14/10 Tues 08:00. 34. 32.3 & 9 Practice previous skills 9/1/10 Wed 08:00. 9/13/10 Mon 08:00. pp 928-930 Ch. 2135 Module E (Theory) Comfort LUOMA Kozier: Ch.MOD: A (Theory & HIGGINS Philosophy paper due!!!! 12:25 Lab). Lab 2 HOLIDAY 12:00 13:00- 15:30 9/7/10 Tues 08:00.

47 Module F (Theory) Basic Nutrition 9/20/10 Mon 08:00.MOD: G & H (Lab) Kozier: Ch. Lab 2 Module G & H (Lab) √ off HIGGINS 12:00 (Non-Injectable / Injection ) LUOMA 13:00- 15:30 9/29/10 Wed 08:00. 2135 Module I (Theory) Helping HIGGINS Kozier: Ch 5. TBA CLINICAL/FACILITY TBA HIGGINS 12:00 LUOMA 13:00- 15:30 9/22/10 Wed 08:00. TBA B/P’s @ Senior Citizen’s HIGGINS 12:00 Centers LUOMA 13:00- 15:30 Lab 2 CLINICAL/ CLINICAL SIMULATIONS 9/28/10 Tues 08:00. 2135 Quiz # 5 – MOD : F (Theory) HIGGINS 12:25 MOD: G (Theory LUOMA Kozier: Ch 20-24 Module H (Theory) Common Growth and Development Disruptions HIGGINS Assessment Form from Student Handbook . pp 472- 12:25 Relationship 474. Ch 25 9/23/10 Thurs 08:00. 2135 Quiz # 3. 1-9 HIGGINS Kozier: Ch. 45 & 46 12:25 MOD: D (Theory Lynn: Ch: 10 & Lab) Roth: Ch. 2135 Quiz # 4 –MOD: E (Theory & HIGGINS 12:25 Lab) LUOMA MOD : F (Lab) HIGGINS Kozier: Ch 26 Module J ( Theory) Communications 9/27/10 Mon 08:00. Ch 26.9/16/10 Thurs 08:00. TBA CLINICAL/FACILITY TBA HIGGINS 12:00 LUOMA 13:00- 15:30 9/21/10 Tues 08:00. 2135 Module K: (Theory) Charting LUOMA Kozier: Ch 15 12:25 9/30/10 Thurs 08:00.

Lab 2 ORIENTATION TO PMH HIGGINS 12:00 LUOMA 13:00. 2135 FINAL-COMPREHENSIVE HIGGINS 12:25 LUOMA . Lab 2 Cont. TBA Communication Skills /Facility 12:00 TBA HIGGINS REFER TO 13:00. HOSP: STAFF 15:30 10/13/10 Wed 08:00. 2135 Quiz # 6: MOD: H (Lec) HIGGINS 12:25 MOD: I (Lec) LUOMA MOD: J ( Lec) 10/11/10 Mon 08:00. Lab 2 CLINICAL SKILLS/SIMS HIGGINS ALL SKILLS MUST BE 12:00 LUOMA CHECKED OFF BY THIS DATE! 13:00- 15:30 10/12/10 Tues 08:00.10/04/10 Mon 08:00. Lab 2 CLINICAL SKILLS/ SIMS LUOMA 12:00 13:00- 15:30 10/06/10 Wed 08:00. Module G & H (Lab)√ LUOMA SUPPLEMENTAL SKILLS- 15:30 off CHECK LIST SKILLS/CHECK-OFF (SIMULATIONS) 10/05/10 Tues 08:00. 2135 COMPREHENSIVE 12:25 REVIEW 10/07/10 Thurs 08:00. 2135 TOTAL PROGRAM EVALS HIGGINS 12:25 LUOMA Orientation to VN 112 10/14/10 Thurs 08:00.