You are on page 1of 6

59th Liberal International Congress

Rotterdam, 24-27 April

Public version – 11 April 2014

Wednesday, 23 April 2014

All day Arrival of Bureau members

Optional dinner of international officers

Thursday, 24 April 2014

All day Arrival of LI delegates

Delegation meetings (Van Beuningen Room)
Please reserve this room via

08:30 – 12:30 Registration open

09:00 - 10:00 LI Bureau Meeting (by invitation only)

10:00 – 10:45 Interactive report of the Secretary-General

10:45 – 12:00 Collection of Votes, Registration desk

10:45 – 12:00 Presentation of new applicants for LI membership

12:00 – 13:30 Executive committee (for delegates only)

13:30 – 15:00 Lunch break (at own initiative)
Suggested venue: Manhattan
Limited seats available. Please make a reservation before Thursday

15:00 – 16:30 ELF: Pooling and Sharing
Moderated by Giovanni Faleg (Associate research fellow CEPS) (tbc)
Minister of Defense Jeanine Hennis Plasschaert (Netherlands)
Former Minister of Defense Nick Harvey (UK)
Former Minister of Defense Stefan Wallin (Finland)

17:00 - 19:30 Presentation of the Rotterdam Harbour
Boat tour, presentations and cocktail reception

20:00 Dinner at own initiative

20.30 LGBT Panel discussion at outside location,
COC Rotterdam, Schiedamsesingel 175
22.15 LGBT Drinks at various bars
Starting from bar ‘Strano’, Oldenbarneveltstraat 154

Friday, 25 April 2014

All day Arrival of LI delegates

Conference venue: De Doelen

08:00 – 09:30 Registration open
Collection of Votes

08:30 – 09:15 Orientation meeting for “newbees 2 congress"
Presented by: Mila Segervall, Centerpartiet (Sweden)

09:30 - 10:30 Congress Opening Ceremony
Ankie Brouwers-Knol (Chair), Speaker of the Eerste Kamer

Hans van Baalen, LI President
Halbe Zijlstra, leader of VVD in the Tweede Kamer
Roxana Baldetti, Vice-President of Guatemala
Henriette Diabaté, Grand Chancelière of Côte d’Ivoire\
Mohand Laenser, Minister of the Interior of Morocco
Graham Watson, President of the ALDE Party

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee Break

10:30 – 12:00 Registration open

11:00 - 12:30 ALDE Theme Plenary VIP debate

Free trade: a liberal perspective
LI Theme Rapporteur Karel De Gucht,
European Commissioner for Trade

Lousewies van der Laan (chair), Vice-President of the ALDE Party

Sigmundur Davið Gunnlaugsson, Prime Minister of Iceland
Ben Verwaayen, former CEO Alcatel-Lucent
Gomolemo Motswaledi, President of BMD, Botswana

12:30 - 13:30 1. Lunch break
2. ALDE MEP/MP networking lunch (by invitation only)

13:30 – 15:00 Registration open

13:30 - 15:00 Theme-related Fringe Meetings (contact LI secretariat)

1. Liberal Democrats/ Africa Liberal Network (ALN)
Aimee Franklin (chair), ALN Coordinator

Olivier Kamitatu Etsu,
ALN President and President of ARC, DR Congo
Cellou Dalein Diallo,
President of UFDG, former Prime Minister of Guinea
Gomolemo Motswaledi, ALN Vice-President and President of the
Botswana Movement for Democracy, Botswana
Baroness Kishwer Faulkner,
LibDem Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs, House of Lords, UK

2. IFLRY Sport and politics: a global trade-off
Boris van der Ham (chair), former MP for D66, Netherlands)

Anna Halavina, youth activist from Belarus
Isa Yusibov, Musavat Party, Azerbaijan
Pia Dijkstra MP, D66, Netherlands (tbc)
Elsemieke Havenga, gold medalist in hockey, TV news presenter (tbc)
Olga Radayeva, Yabloko, Russia (tbc)

3. Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)
Open Europe Panel

Marietje Schaake MEP, D66, Netherlands (tbc)
Representative of EcoRys, Netherlands (tbc)
Doris Fiala MP, FDP Switzerland (tbc)
Timothy Reed, LPC Canada (tbc)

4. NIMD: Trade, democracy and peace: The Virtuous Circle
Netherlands Institute for Multiparty Democracy (NIMD) & IDEA

Heleen Schrooyen,
NIMD Senior Policy Officer Central America
Helena Bjuremalm,
IDEA Senior program Manager Democracy & Development IDEA

15:00 - 15:15 Coffee Break

15:15 - 16:30 Working Groups on Resolutions

1. World Today Resolution (in plenary)
2. Theme resolution: Enhancing global trade
3. Other Resolutions

17:00 – 18:30 Network Reception with snacks
hosted by Rotterdam Mayor Mr. Ahmed Aboutaleb
Rotterdam City Hall

18:40 – 19:00 Press conference (tbc – by invitation only)
19:30 Gala Dinner (De Doelen)
hosted by
Prime Minister of the Netherlands and VVD Leader Mark Rutte

20:30 Keynote speech:
Mark Rutte, Prime Minister of the Netherlands

Word of thanks:
Sigmundur D. Gunnlaugsson, Prime Minister of Iceland

21:30 Recognition of presence of candidates for LI Bureau

22:00 End of Gala Dinner

Saturday, 26 April 2014

Conference venue: De Doelen

08:00 – 09:00 Collection of Votes at Registration desk

09:00 - 11:00 Congress Administrative Session
Membership issues, Bureau election and others (for delegates only)

09:00 – 10:30 Fringe meetings
1. LYMEC Youth unemployment and global trade
2. International Network for Liberal Women GA (tbc)
3. EOM Roundtable hosted by Ard Van Der Steur (VVD)
4. Open space for member parties & other initiatives

10:45 - 11:15 Coffee Break

11:15 - 12:30 Fringe meetings

1. ‘Happy Marriage or Bad Romance? – Liberals in Coalition’
Hosted by the LibDems, UK, with supporting partners JOVD, FNF

Iain Gill, Liberal Democrats, UK
Jelle van Nuland, JOVD.

Daniel Kaddik (chair), Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty

Sigmundur Davíð Gunnlaugsson, Prime Minister of Iceland
Baroness Kishwer Falkner, Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs in the
House of Lords, LibDems, UK
Tamara van Ark MP, Vice-chairperson of VVD, Netherlands
Khatuna Samnidze, Chairperson of the Republican Party, Georgia

2. Middle East and North Africa
Hans van Baalen MEP (chair), LI President
Koert Debeuf, Special ALDE Representative in the Middle East (tbc)
Amr Soliman, Free Egyptians Party (tbc)
Representative of the Future Movement, Lebanon (tbc)
Representative of Union Consitutionelle, Morocco (tbc)

3. LI HRC Political Panel “Business, Global trade and human rights”
Markus Löning (chair), LI Vice-President, FDP, Germany

Dr Chee Soon Juan, leader of SDP, Singapore
Dr Hakima El Haité, minister for the Environment, MP, Morocco
Gerard Oonk, Director of the India Committee, Netherlands

4. FNF: Venezuela
Welcome by Dr Hans H. Stein, Director International Political
Dialogue, Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom, Brussels

Roger Albinyana i Saigí (chair),
Secretary of Foreign and European Affairs, Catalonia

Dr. Gustavo Villasmil, CEDICE, Venezuela
Dr. Eduardo Gómez Sigala MP, Mesa de la Unidad, Venezuela
Ricardo López-Murphy, President of RELIAL, Argentina

12:30 - 13:30 Lunch Break
Hosted by Hans van Baalen MEP & Jan Mulder MEP, VVD
Topic: ‘Rotterdam Harbour: A Best Practice for European Trade and

13:30 – 15:00 ELF - VVD Ralf Dahrendorf Roundtable: On Ukraine
Adam Nathan (UK) or Han ten Broeke MP (Netherlands)

Sergei Mitrokhin, leader of Yabloko, Russia
Alexander Horin, Ambassador of Ukraine to the Netherlands
Khatuna Samnidze, Chairperson of Republican Party, Georgia
Kenneth Wallack, Director of NDI, USA
Adam Nathan, Deputy Director of British Influence, UK,
or Han ten Broeke MP, VVD, Netherlands

15:00 – 16:00 Congress Meetings
Plenary presentations by LI Cooperating regional members
Chair (tbc)

Sam Rainsy, leader of CNRP, Cambodia
Salaheddine Mezouar, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Morocco
Olivier Kamitatu Etsu, President of ALN, DR Congo (tbc)
Ricardo Lopez-Murphy, President of RELIAL, Argentina
15:00 – 16:00 Parallel session:
LI Human Rights Committee/LI LGBT Rights Working Group,
Administrative Session

Markus Löning (chair), LI Vice-President, FDP, Germany
Frank van Dalen, Chair of the LI LGBT Rights Working Group

16:00 – 16:30 Coffee Break

16:30 - 18:00 Congress Plenary Session
Adoption of Resolutions

18:00 - 18:30 Congress Closing Ceremony
Speech by LI President elect

18:30 - 20:00 Reception
Manhattan Hotel “Rotterdam Room”

Sunday, 27 April 2014

Departure day