You are on page 1of 8

1

2

3

4

5

 EXPEDITE  No Hearing Set HONORABLE CAROL MURPHY  Hearing is set: Date: July 14,
EXPEDITE
No Hearing Set
HONORABLE CAROL MURPHY
 Hearing is set:
Date: July 14, 2017
Time: 9:00 a.m.
Judge/Calendar: Carol Murphy/Civil
E-FILED
THURSTON COUNTY, WA
SUPERIOR COURT
July 13, 2017

Linda Myhre Enlow

Thurston County Clerk

6

7

8

9

10

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

11

IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF THURSTON

WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT

 

12

OF TRANSPORTATION,

No. 16-2-00980-34

13

Plaintiff,

(Consolidated with No. 16-2-04826-34 and

14

v.

No. 17-2-01504-34)

15

SEATTLE TUNNEL PARTNERS, a joint venture,

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON

16

 

Defendant.

17

18

SEATTLE TUNNEL PARTNERS, a joint venture,

19

 

Third Party Plaintiff,

20

 

v.

21

 

HITACHI ZOSEN U.S.A., LTD., a

22

Delaware corporation; HITACHI ZOSEN CORPORATION, a foreign corporation;

23

and HNTB CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

24

 

Third Party Defendants.

25

26

27

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON

20140 00001 gg129f170e

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750

1

HITACHI ZOSEN U.S.A., LTD., a Delaware corporation,

2

 

Fourth Party Plaintiff,

3

 

v.

4

 

WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT

5

OF TRANSPORTATION; FIDELITY AND DEPOSIT COMPANY OF

6

MARYLAND; ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY; LIBERTY

7

MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY; TRAVELERS CASUALTY AND

8

SURETY COMPANY OF AMERICA; FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY;

9

and SAFECO INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA,

10

 

Fourth Party Defendants.

11

12

HITACHI ZOSEN, U.S.A., LTD.,

13

Plaintiff,

14

v.

15

WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION and

16

SHANNON & WILSON, INC.,

17

Defendants.

18

 

SEATTLE TUNNEL PARTNERS, a joint

19

venture,

20

Plaintiff,

21

v.

22

SHANNON & WILSON, INC., a Washington corporation, and PARSONS

23

BRINCKERHOFF, INC., a New York corporation,

24

 

Defendants.

25

26

27

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON

20140 00001 gg129f170e

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750

1

KATIE DILLON declares as follows:

2

3

4

  • 1. I have been a legal secretary for 25+ years and a paralegal for the past 4 years. I am a competent legal secretary and paralegal. In my nearly 30 years of legal experience, I have never missed a court filing and have never not served a party with a filing.

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

  • 2. Cindy Bourne is the legal secretary that normally works on this matter. She is on vacation for two weeks, and I am covering in her absence. On July 6 th , Cindy sent me an email which included the current service distribution list. I opened the service distribution list, clicked “Save and Closed” and assumed it saved into my contacts because when I went back into my contacts, there was a WSDOT service distribution list and that was the list that I used to serve the parties on July 12 th . What I did not realize is that I had an old distribution list in my contacts with nearly the same name. The only difference was that the distribution list Cindy

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

sent me was titled “*WSDOT – STP – Great Lakes Global Service List (Thurston and

King) Updated 5-8-17” and the old distribution list previously saved in my contacts was

titled “*WSDOT – STP – Great Lakes Global Service List (Thurston and King)

1 KATIE DILLON declares as follows: 2 3 4 1. I have been a legal secretary

This is a screenshot of the distribution list I received in the above email which reflects that it

is “read only”.

1 KATIE DILLON declares as follows: 2 3 4 1. I have been a legal secretary

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON - 1

20140 00001 gg129f170e

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750

1

This is a screenshot of the distribution list in my contacts which made me think that when I

2 opened the distribution list and clicked “Save and Close” that it had saved to my
2
opened the distribution list and clicked “Save and Close” that it had saved to my contacts.
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
3.
I did not realize until late in the day on July 12 th was that the distribution list Cindy

10

11

12

forwarded to me was a “read only” list so it did not save to my contacts as I had thought it

had done. It was not until Ms. Dunnington’s email at 4:30 p.m. that I realized the

distribution list I thought I had saved to my contacts was not the most current, up-to-date

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

service list and that I had not served all of the parties.

  • 4. am making this declaration of my own free will to apologize to the Court and to the parties

I

for my mistake. There was nothing intentional or willful in my actions, it was a simple

mistake where I thought I was using the most current service list.

I

declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the

foregoing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

DATED at Seattle, Washington this 13th day of July, 2017.

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON - 2

20140 00001 gg129f170e

1 This is a screenshot of the distribution list in my contacts which made me think

Katie Dillon

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750

1

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

2

I hereby certify that on this day I caused a copy of the foregoing to be served upon the following counsel of record:

3

 

Daniel W. Galvin, WSBA #18334

(

)

By U. S. Mail

4

Assistant Attorney General

(X)

By E-mail agreement

Transportation and Public Construction

(

)

By Facsimile

5

Division 7141 Cleanwater Drive SW

(

)

By Messenger

6

PO Box 40113 Olympia WA 98504-0113

7

360-753-1626

danielg2@atg.wa.gov

8

 

Karl F. Oles, WSBA #16401

(

)

By U. S. Mail

9

David R. Goodnight, WSBA #20286

(X)

By E-mail agreement

Bart W. Reed, WSBA #45005

(

)

By Facsimile

10

Rachel L. Dunnington, WSBA #47021 Christopher N. Weiss, WSBA #14826

(

)

By Messenger

11

Stoel Rives LLP 600 University Street, Suite 3600

12

Seattle WA 98101 206-624-0900 (phone)

13

karl.oles@stoel.com

david.goodnight@stoel.com

14

bart.reed@stoel.com

rachel.dunnington@stoel.com

15

chris.weiss@stoel.com

16

Attorneys for Plaintiff/Fourth Party Defendant WSDOT

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON - 3

20140 00001 gg129f170e

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750

  • 1 Richard O. Prentke, WSBA #5786

(

)

By U. S. Mail

Andrew L. Greene, WSBA #35548

(X)

By E-mail agreement

  • 2 Brendan J. Peters, WSBA #34490

(

)

By Facsimile

 

V.L. Woolston, WSBA #9453

(

)

By Messenger

  • 3 Mica D. Simpson, WSBA #46596 Nicholas P. Gellert, WSBA #18041

 
  • 4 Jonathan P. Goddard, WSBA #49872 Todd W. Rosencrans, WSBA #26551

  • 5 Perkins Coie LLP 1201 Third Avenue, Suite 4900

  • 6 Seattle, WA 98101-3099

 

206-359-8000

  • 7 RPrentke@perkinscoie.com

 
 

AGreene@perkinscoie.com

  • 8 BPeters@perkinscoie.com

 
 

VWoolston@perkinscoie.com

  • 9 MSimpson@perkinscoie.com

 
 

NGellert@perkinscoie.com

10

JGoddard@perkinscoie.com

TRosencrans@perkinscoie.com

11

 

Attorneys for Third-Party/Fourth Party

12

Plaintiff Defendant Hitachi Zosen U.S.A., Ltd. and Hitachi Zosen Corporation

13

 

Allen W. Estes, WSBA #34526

(

)

By U. S. Mail

14

John V. Leary, WSBA #36345

(X)

By E-mail agreement

Petra N. Ambrose, WSBA #48924

(

)

By Facsimile

15

Bradley G. Taylor, WSBA #18611 Gordon & Rees LLP

(

)

By Messenger

16

701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2100 Seattle, WA 98104

17

206-695-5100

aestes@gordonrees.com

18

jleary@gordonrees.com

pambrose@gordonrees.com

19

btaylor@gordonrees.com

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON - 4

20140 00001 gg129f170e

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750

1

Christine E. Drage, pro hac vice

(

)

By U. S. Mail

Jenifer J. Brannen, pro hac vice

(X)

By E-mail agreement

2

Benjamin C. Bertch, pro hac vice

(

)

By Facsimile

S. Brad Hart, pro hac vice

(

)

By Messenger

3

Mark E. Petersen, pro hac vice Sheila K. McDonald, pro hac vice

4

Weil & Drage, APC 23212 Mill Creek Drive

5

Laguna Hills, CA 92653

949-837-8200

6

cdrage@weildrage.com

jbrannen@weildrage.com

7

bbertch@weildrage.com

bhart@weildrage.com

8

mpetersen@weildrage.com

smcdonald@weildrage.com

9

 

Attorneys for Third-Party Defendant

10

HNTB Corporation

11

Terence J. Scanlan, WSBA #19498

(

)

By U. S. Mail

Patricia A. Robert, WSBA #46716

(X)

By E-mail agreement

12

Rochelle Y. Nelson, WSBA #48175

(

)

By Facsimile

Alan D. Schuchman, WSBA #45979

(

)

By Messenger

13

Skellenger Bender PS

  • 1301 Fifth Avenue, Suite 3401

14

Seattle, WA 98101

206-623-6501

15

tscanlan@skellengerbender.com

probert@skellengerbender.com

16

rnelson@skellengerbender.com

aschuchman@skellengerbender.com

17

 

Attorneys for Fourth Party Defendant

18

Shannon & Wilson

19

Thomas K. Windus, WSBA #7779

(

)

By U. S. Mail

Diane C. Utz, WSBA #40008

(X)

By E-mail agreement

20

Watt, Tieder, Hoffar & Fitzgerald

(

)

By Facsimile

  • 1215 Fourth Avenue, Suite 2210

(

)

By Messenger

21

Seattle, Washington 98161

206-204-5800

22

twindus@watttieder.com

dutz@watttieder.com

23

 

Attorneys for Fourth Party Surety Defendants

24

25

26

27

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON - 5

20140 00001 gg129f170e

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750

1

David C. Groff, WSBA #4706

(

)

By U. S. Mail

Marissa M. Bavand, WSBA #27929

(X)

By E-mail agreement

2

Richard F. Shordt, WSBA #48950

(

)

By Facsimile

Groff Murphy PLLC

(

)

By Messenger

3

300 East Pine Street Seattle, Washington 98122

4

206-628-9600

dgroff@groffmurphy.com

5

mbavand@groffmurphy.com

rshordt@groffmurphy.com

6

 

Attorneys for Defendant

7

WSP USA, Inc. f/k/a Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc.

8

9

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

10

 

DATED this 13th day of July, 2017.

11

 

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

 

12

13

By

s/ John Parnass

 

John Parnass, WSBA # 18582

14

1191 Second Avenue, Suite 2100

15

Seattle, WA 98101 Telephone: (206) 245-1700

john.parnass@pacificalawgroup.com

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

DECLARATION OF KATIE DILLON - 6

20140 00001 gg129f170e

PACIFICA LAW GROUP LLP

1191 SECOND AVENUE SUITE 2000 SEATTLE, WASHINGTON 98101-3404 TELEPHONE: (206) 245-1700 FACSIMILE: (206) 245-1750