Sonja Alexander Headquarters, Washington, DC (Phone: 202-358-1761) RELEASE: 00-148

September 25, 2000

NASA TO HONOR MINORITY BUSINESSES NASA Administrator Daniel S. Goldin will present awards to three minority contractors for their outstanding contributions to the nation's space program. The three firms will be honored at the agency's annual Minority Business and Advocates Awards Ceremony on September 26, 2000 at 2:30 p.m. EDT, at NASA Headquarters, Washington, DC. NASA named RS Information Systems, Inc., Minority Contractor of the Year, Rigging and Welding Specialists, Inc., Minority Subcontractor of the Year, and Pace and Waite, Inc., Women-Owned Business of the Year. RS Information Services (RSIS) is headquartered in McLean, VA and provides a full range of information technology and engineering services to NASA's Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, OH. RSIS is an 8(a) contractor that was started in 1992 and has rapidly grown to over 600 hundred employees. Rigging and Welding Specialists, Inc., a Native American-owned 8(a) contractor with sixteen employees, is headquartered in Highlands, TX, and provides specialized transportation services to the Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX. Most notably, they are responsible for transporting critical and sensitive space flight articles in support of various Space Shuttle and International Space Station Programs. Pace and Waite, Inc., headquartered in Huntsville, AL, provides prime contract and subcontract services to Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC), Huntsville, AL. This woman-owned firm is the prime contractor for Configuration Management Services at MSFC and provides high-end engineering support on subcontracts to Boeing, Teledyne, and Sverdrup Corporations. The firm was started in 1984 and has 160 employees. NASA also is recognizing outstanding advocates for their contributions and innovative approaches to utilizing minority and women-owned businesses. Mr. Ken Martindale, Johnson Space Center,

(Small Business), Mr. Rodney J. Etchberger, Johnson Space Center (Procurement) and Dr. Shantaram S. Pai, Glenn Research Center (Technical) will receive NASA's Exceptional Achievement Medal. In addition, five Special Recognition Awards will be given to individuals for specific outstanding accomplishments: Mr. Harry Lectora, President of Caribbean Pictometry, San Juan, PR, Mr. Yong Kim, President of UTA, Inc., Arlington, VA, Dr. Edward Stone, Director, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, Dr. Calvin Lowe, President, Bowie State University, Bowie, MD, and Ms. Peggy Shreve, President, Frontier Electronic Systems Corporation, Stillwater, OK. Finally, three NASA field Centers will be recognized for meeting or exceeding all of their socio-economic business goals for Fiscal Year 1999. They are Stennis Space Center, Stennis, MS, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, and Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, AL. -end-