You are on page 1of 3

Sarah Keegan Headquarters, Washington, DC (Phone: 202/358-1902)

RELEASE: 01-96

May 18, 2001


NASA has chartered the First Flight Centennial Federal Advisory Board to advise the U.S. Centennial of Flight Commission. The Advisory Board will offer counsel to the Commission as the Commission develops support for activities involving the public in the celebration of the 100th anniversary of powered flight, December 17, 2003.

The Board is composed of 19 members, five whose positions are included by statute and 14 other U.S. citizens meeting various statutory criteria, six of whom are appointed by the President of the United States, four by the Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate and four by the Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives. Board membership is listed below.

The Board, chartered under the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, will meet in open sessions and report its findings and recommendations to the Commission. Dr. Tom Crouch of the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum in Washington, DC, will serve as Board Chair.

The US Centennial of Flight Commission was set up by Congress to provide recommendations and advice to the President, Congress and Federal agencies on the most effective ways to encourage and promote national and international commemoration of the centennial of powered flight. Its six members represent the First Flight Centennial Foundation of North Carolina; Inventing Flight: Dayton 2003 of Ohio; aeronautical societies, foundations and organizations outside of Ohio and North Carolina, represented by the President of the Experimental Aircraft Association; the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum; the Federal Aviation Administration; and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. More information on the Commission and its activities can be found at:

Statutory Members


The Honorable Gale Norton, Secretary of the Interior

2. Dr. James H. Billington, The Librarian of Congress

3. The Honorable Lawrence J. Delaney, Secretary of the Air

Force (Acting)

4. The Honorable Robert R. Pirie, Secretary of the Navy


5. The Honorable Norman Y. Minetta, Secretary of


Appointees of the President of the United States

6. Ms. Patty Wagstaff, Patty Wagstaff Airshows, Inc., St.

Augustine, FL

7. Dr. Tom Crouch, Advisory Board Chair, National Air &

Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC

8. Mr. Todd M. Hamilton, CAMP Systems International,

Ronkonkoma, NY

9. Ms. Martha King, King Schools, Inc., San Diego, CA

10. Dr. John Howard Morrow Jr., University of Georgia,

Athens, GA

11. Dr. Kathryn Sullivan, Center of Science and Industry

(COSI), Columbus, OH

Appointees of the Speaker of the House

12. Mr. Terry Kohler, Windway Capital Corp., Sheboygan, WI

13. Mr. Kurt Russell, Pacific Palisades, CA

14. Ms. Mary Matthews, Carillon Historical Park, Dayton, OH

15. Dr. Neil Armstrong, Lebanon, OH

Appointees of the Majority Leader of the Senate

16. Dr. Peggy Baty Chabrian, Women in Aviation International,

Temple Terrace, FL

17. The Honorable Lauch Faircloth, Clinton, NC

18. Dr. Sylvia Stewart, DVM, Jackson, MS

19. Mr. Robert R. Ferguson III, Midway Airlines Corp.,

Morrisville, NC