Kyle Herring/Debra Rahn Headquarters, Washington (Phone: 202/358-4504/1638) RELEASE: 01-206

Oct. 26, 2001

INTERNATIONAL SPACE STATION RECEIVES 2001 PRINCE OF ASTURIAS AWARD The International Space Station today was awarded the prestigious 2001 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation in Oviedo, Spain. W. Michael Hawes, Deputy Associate Administrator for Space Station, Office of Space Flight, NASA; Antonio Rodota, Director General, European Space Agency; William "Mac" Evans, President, Canadian Space Agency; Yuri N. Koptev, General Director, Russian Aviation and Space Agency; and Kaname Ikeda, Executive Director, National Space Development Agency of Japan received the award from His Royal Highness (HRH) the Prince of Asturias. The Prince of Asturias Foundation granted this award in recognition of the efforts made "to achieve international cooperation that have been necessary to turn this enormous orbiting laboratory for scientific research for a greater understanding of our planet into a reality." HRH the Prince of Asturias also congratulated the six astronauts currently on the station during a telephone call earlier this morning. Onboard the orbiting platform are Expedition Three Commander Frank Culbertson, Pilot Vladimir Dezhurov and Flight Engineer Mikhail Tyurin and Soyuz 3 taxi crew Commander Victor Afanasyev, Flight Engineer Konstantin Kozeev and European Space Agency Flight Engineer Claudie Haignere. The United States, Russia, Europe, Japan and Canada are partners in the largest and most complex civil, international, cooperative space project ever undertaken. Already an operational laboratory, the station eventually will be about the size of a football field, and have a mass of more than 450 tons. It will serve as a world-class research facility providing a unique and continuous microgravity platform for advances in biological and physical

sciences and technology 250 miles above the Earth. On-orbit construction began in 1998 and three crews of astronauts and cosmonauts have been living and working on board since November 2000. The Prince of Asturias Foundation, whose Honorary President is HRH the Prince of Asturias, is a nonprofit institution aimed at consolidating the ties between the Principality of Asturias and its Prince and promoting science, technology, art and literature. The Award for International Cooperation is given "to an individual, group or institution whose work has contributed in an exemplary and significant way to mutual understanding, progress and brotherhood among nations." Previous winners have included Nelson Mandela and F.W. de Klerk, Itzhak Rabin and Yasser Arafat, and Mikhail Gorbachev. Additional information about the Prince of Asturias Award is available on the Internet at: -end-