Sonja Alexander Headquarters, Washington (Phone: 202/358-1761) RELEASE: 02-030

February 15, 2002

MINORITY CONTRACTORS TAKE HOME NASA HONORS NASA will honor three minority contractors for their innovative and outstanding contributions to the agency's mission. The recipients will be presented their awards at NASA's annual Minority Business advocates Award Ceremony on February 20, 2002 at 2:30 p.m. ET, at NASA Headquarters in Washington. Taking the NASA Minority Contractor of the Year award is Gilcrest Electric & Supply Company, Inc. Headquartered in Elyria, Ohio, Gilcrest is a prime contractor to NASA's Glenn Research Center (GRC), Cleveland. Gilcrest supports GRC's Facilities and Test Engineering Division. Muniz Engineering, Inc. is headquartered in Houston, Texas and took home the award for Minority Subcontractor of the Year. Muniz provides structural mechanical design and analysis, thermal and environment control systems, and systems engineering services to The Boeing Company, a prime contractor at NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston. SA Technologies, Inc. received the award for the Women Owned Business of the Year. The company, headquartered in Marietta, Ga., provides situational awareness research, decision-making and automation in aircraft, air traffic control and aviation maintenance services to NASA's Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif. NASA is also recognizing outstanding advocates for their contributions and innovative approaches to utilizing minority and women owned businesses. Mr. David Brock (Small Business), Mr. Emil Posey (Procurement), both from NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, Ala. and Dr. Grigory Adamovsky (Technical), from GRC will all receive NASA's Exceptional Achievement Medal. In addition, three Special Recognition Awards will be conferred to individuals for specific outstanding accomplishments: Mr. Charles Harper, Chairman of the Board, Sierra Monolithics, Redondo Beach, Calif., Mr. Ramen Singh, President, Dynacs Engineering, Inc., Palm Harbour, Fla., Mr. Carl Eichenlaub, Procurement Analyst, Office of

Procurement, NASA Headquarters. Finally, eight NASA field Centers will be recognized for meeting or exceeding all of their negotiated socio-economic business goals for Fiscal Year 2000. They are Dryden Flight Research Center, Goddard Space Flight Center, GRC, Langley Research Center, Johnson Space Center, Marshall Space Flight Center, Kennedy Space Center, and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. All recipient awards will be conferred by Administrator Sean O'Keefe who will also provide the "State of Small Business at NASA Address" at the ceremony. The event will air live on NASA Television. NASA TV is broadcast on the GE-2 satellite, Transponder 9C, at 85 degrees West longitude, with vertical polarization, frequency 3880.0 MHz, audio 6.8 MHz. -end-