You are on page 1of 1

Timetable - 2017

BSc PALS - PALS2006: Research Design and Experimental Methods


Lecturers: Leonardo Cohen, Kiki Leutner, Alana Loewenberger
Teaching Assistants: Roser Caigueral, Tina Huang, Katie Parker
8 Lectures: Mondays 3-4pm, 25 Gordon Street, Room E28, Harrie Massey LT
8 Practicals: Mondays 4-6pm, Foster Court B29
3 Revisions: Fridays 13/Oct, 3/Nov and 8/Dec, 11am-1pm, Chandler House
3 Assessments: 1 qualitative report (15%) + 1 mid-term exam (15%) + 1 final exam (70%)
Book: Andy Field, Discovering Statistics Using SPSS, 4th Edition

Mon 2 Oct Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Qualitative analysis lecture


Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 with Kiki Leutner
Mon 9 Oct Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Revision, Experimental designs,
Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 One-way ANOVA (Field, Chapter 11)
Fri 13 Oct Revision 11am-1pm Qualitative analysis revision session
Chandler House G10 with Alana Loewenberger

Mon 16 Oct Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Between-subjects ANOVA


Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 (Field, Chapter 13)
Mon 23 Oct Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Within-subjects ANOVA
Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 (Field, Chapter 14)
Mon 30 Oct Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Mixed-design ANOVA
Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 (Field, Chapter 15)
Fri 3 Nov Revision 11am-1pm Revision for mid-term test
Chandler House B02 (ANOVA)
Fri 3 Nov Deadline for Qualitative Report submission (15% of final grade)
Reading Week
Mon 13 Nov MID-TERM EXAM 4-6pm Experimental designs + ANOVA
Foster Court B29 (15% of final grade)
Mon 20 Nov Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Multiple linear regressions
Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 (Field, Chapter 8)
Mon 27 Nov Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Binary (logistic) regressions
Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 (Field, Chapter 19)
Mon 4 Dec Lecture 3-4pm, 25 Gordon E28 Chi-square (2) categorical contingency
Practical 4-6pm, Foster Ct B29 tables (Field, Chapter 18)

Fri 8 Dec Revision 11am-1pm Revision for final exam


Chandler House B02
Mon 11 Dec FINAL EXAM 2-6pm 2x2 ANOVA + 2 + regressions
Christopher Ingold G20 (70% of final grade)