You are on page 1of 4

Tomi Malm to Release Debut Solo Album Walkin' On Air, October 15, 2017, on

Contante & Sonante Records

Contante & Sonante Records is thrilled and proud to announce the highly-anticipated debut album
by Finnish producer, arranger & songwriter Tomi Malm, scheduled to release on October 15. The
album features vocal performances by Jason Scheff, Frank Adahl, Clif Magness, Jeff Pescetto, Jerry
Lopez, Julian Thomas, Shem von Schroeck, Ashton Moran, Zosia & Warren Wiebe, and includes
legendary players such as Vinnie Colaiuta, Simon Phillips, Alex Al, Brandon Fields, Luis Conte and

Madrid, Spain, October 05, 2017 --( "Tomi's album is the real thing, reminiscent of the golden
age of music, the 80's; great songs, soulful vocals, and such musical productions with beautiful harmonic
language." -Jeremy Lubbock

Contante & Sonante proudly presents Walkin' On Air, the debut solo album from Tomi Malm. The
renowned Spanish independent music label invites worldwide music lovers to enjoy another exciting
chapter in its string of quality music collections.

Tomi Malm hails from Finland and has been a respected figure for the past twenty-plus years on the
North-European music scene. Malm works as a composer, arranger, orchestrator and producer on a
multitude of successful records, TV themes and multimedia scores. In 2009, Malm rose to international
attention with the now-classic release of Fly Away: The Songs Of David Foster, also on the Contante &
Sonante label. Malm arranged and produced a number of David Foster's classics on Fly Away. Malm
showed such creativity and freshness on these recordings that he gained high praise and blessings from
The Hitman David Foster himself. That project took the West Coast/quality pop music scene by storm,
and in the past few years it has become a landmark for musicians and fans of the genre on every corner of
the planet.

Today, Tomi Malm returns with Walkin' On Air, his debut solo album, another stunning ride on pop
music's most elegant grooves. On this collection of winning tracks, the Finnish wizard wrote or co-wrote
all but two of the songs. The track list presents a variety of styles, from jazz-infused pop gems to refined
ballads, smooth funky jams and pristine fusion instrumentals. Malm's inventive arrangements and
top-notch production is brought to life thanks to the usual ace session roster that includes legends like
Vinnie Colaiuta (Sting, Zappa, Herbie Hancock), John JR Robinson (Michael Jackson, Aretha Franklin,
Quincy Jones) and Simon Phillips (Toto, The Corrs, Peter Gabriel) on drums, Dan Warner (Madonna,
Timbaland, Barry Gibb) and James Harrah (Aaron Neville, Herbie Hancock, Chris Botti) on guitars, Neil
Stubenhaus (Roberta Flack, Joe Cocker, Michael McDonald) and Alex Al (Michael Jackson, Al Jarreau,
George Duke) on bass, Robbie Buchanan (Whitney Houston, Barbra Streisand, Chaka Khan) on
keyboards plus Luis Conte (James Taylor, Phil Collins, Eric Clapton) on percussion. The horn department
is also stellar, with aces like Eric Marienthal (Chick Corea, Barbra Streisand, Elton John) and Brandon
Fields (Tower of Power, The Rippingtons, George Benson) on sax, and a guest appearance from the
smoking Santa Fe & The Fat City Horns.

Page 1/4 Press Release Distribution Terms of Use
From the first track, an evocative instrumental called Kuwakaribisha, listeners will be enraptured by a
musical world of astounding beauty. All the compositions are spectacular, but we'd like to mention in
particular the title track; a jazzy mid-tempo composition featuring former Chicago singer Jason Scheff on
vocals and bass. Walking On Air seems destined to become a classic in West Coast/Pop circles thanks
to epic performances by Colaiuta and Marienthal. Another stand-out track is Favor, with vocals
courtesy of the insanely talented Frank Adahl. Favor has echoes of the best Phil Collins' work of the
eighties with stunning horn arrangements and a fantastic groove provided by Simon Phillips on drums.

Malm shows his genius on a series of ballads that range in style from jazzy to pop and AOR.

Show Me A Sign is written by Hank Easton and features a heart-wrenching performance by the late
Warren Wiebe (July 18, 1953 to October 25, 1998). Malm built the instrumental track around Wiebe's
vocals and the result is a killer ballad with a strong, pulsating feeling. The ultra-talented ZoSia from
Poland joins Wiebe and their mingling voices are pure ear candy.

Another highlight is Perfect Imperfection sung by Jeff Pescetto. Malm, on this smooth, soul/pop ballad,
exposes his inner Burt Bacharach to create a magical tune that could easily belong in the legendary
composer's songbook. "You Belong To Me" is another spectacular track which offers an outstanding
vocal performance, this time by Grammy Award-Winner Clif Magness. Fans of Magness/Planet 3's work
will find echoes of it in this beautiful arrangement which flows amazingly with a great, driving guitar
work courtesy of Dan Warner.

Reason To Smile is an unreleased gem written by the amazing Jeremy Lubbock (Michael Jackson,
Quincy Jones, Barbra Streisand). Malm treated this rarefied melody with respect and the result is a work
of art: a delicate, jazz-infused track sung by Julian Thomas backed up by just a Rhodes played by Eirik
Berge, with Malm on keyboards. The grace and allure of Reason To Smile proudly stands alongside
previous Lubbock masterpieces including Not Like This, written for Al Jarreau, and Goodbye Love,
sung by The Manhattan Transfer.

On Wouldn't It Be Kinder, we are presented with another emotional and intimate arrangement,
featuring profound lyrics by Cecily Gardner. This amazing ballad showcases a stellar vocal performance
by Shem Von Schroeck, Kenny Loggins' longtime collaborator/musical director and current bassist for
the legendary group Toto, enhanced by the superior guitar work of session great James Harrah.

Finally, let's mention a few other goodies on Walkin' On Air. The haunting instrumental titled Still Life
is quite close to Pat Metheny's territory with its cinematic power. The soulful mid-tempo titled Let's Get
To It is co-written and sung by the extraordinary Jerry Lopez, leader of the famed Santa Fe & Fat City
Horns. This light-funk jam is a catchy and exciting number in the best tradition of soul giants Earth, Wind
& Fire.

Tomi Malm's Walkin' On Air will be available as physical CD and digital download on October 15, 2017.

Visit for more information.

Page 2/4 Press Release Distribution Terms of Use
Walkin' On Air Track Listing:
01. Kuwakaribisha (Tomi Malm)
02. Favor Featuring Frank Adahl (Tomi Malm / Frank Adahl)
03. When You're Gone Featuring Julian Thomas (Tomi Malm / Cecily Gardner)
04. Walkin' On Air Featuring Jason Scheff (Tomi Malm / Jackie Kavan)
05. Show Me A Sign Featuring Warren Wiebe & ZoSia (Hank Easton)
06. Perfect Imperfection Featuring Jeff Pescetto (Tomi Malm / Jackie Kavan)
07. Still Life (Tomi Malm)
08. Wouldn't It Be Kinder Featuring Shem (Tomi Malm / Cecily Gardner)
09. Let's Get To It Featuring Jerry Lopez (Tomi Malm / Jerry Lopez)
10. A Reason To Smile Featuring Julian Thomas (Jeremy Lubbock)
11. You Belong To Me Featuring Clif Magness (Tomi Malm / Jeri Lynne)
12. Today (Tomi Malm / Jyrki Manninen)

Total Playing Time: 49:43

Contante & Sonante Records

Apdo. 3163
Madrid 28003 Spain
tel: +34 914 51 14 60
fax: +34 914 51 14 63

Official website:

Page 3/4 Press Release Distribution Terms of Use
Contact Information:
Contante & Sonante
Ramn Diaz
Contact via Email

Online Version of Press Release:

You can read the online version of this press release at:

News Image:

Page 4/4 Press Release Distribution Terms of Use