David E. Steitz Headquarters, Washington, D.C.

1993 (Phone: 202/358-1730) RELEASE: 93-177

October 4,

MINORITY CONTRACTORS OF THE YEAR AWARDS ANNOUNCED NASA Administrator Daniel S. Goldin announced today the recipients of the Minority Contractor and Subcontractor of the Year Awards in recognition of minority businesses that have made outstanding contributions to NASA. Hernandez Engineering, Inc., Houston, was named as Minority Contractor of the Year. AJT and Associates, Inc., Cape Canaveral, Fla. was named Minority Subcontractor of the Year. "As we continue to strive to meet our goals in minority subcontracting, all of NASA takes pride in seeing the excellence provided by Hernandez Engineering and AJT and Associates. We are also proud to announce this year's Exceptional Achievement medals to three NASA employees, nominated by their centers, for their participation in NASA's commitment to minority contracting," Goldin said. Hernandez Engineering, nominated by the Kennedy Space Center (KSC), was cited for providing outstanding and critical technical support in safety engineering, industrial engineering, and software support to the KSC Directorate of Safety, Reliability and Quality Assurance as part of the Space Shuttle Program. Hernandez was cited for creative problem solving techniques, strong management leadership and efficient resource utilization and cost control. Hernandez was nominated as a finalist for this award last year by the Johnson Space Center, Houston. Their president, Miguel A. Hernandez, Jr., is currently serving on NASA's minority

resources advisory committee. AJT and Associates was nominated by the USBI Facilities Group of the United Technologies Corp., a prime contractor at KSC, managed by the Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, Ala.. AJT's president, Alfredo J. Teran, is the founder and president of the Minority Business Enterprise Alliance of Florida. AJT provided high quality architect/engineering Services that assisted USBI in meeting and exceeding the prime contract statement of work. The award citation notes that AJT is an outstanding firm that has consistently provided excellent support to KSC for many years. - more -2Goldin also cited three NASA employees recognized for their significant achievements in fostering contracting with Small Disadvantaged Businesses at their respective centers. They are David E. Provost, Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.; N. Doris Roberson, KSC; and David E. Brock, Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, Ala. Goldin will present the awards on October 8 at the NASA Headquarters Auditorium, 300 E Street, S.W., Washington, at 1p.m. EDT. The ceremony will be open to the public with a reception following. - end -