Terri Hudkins Headquarters, Washington, DC (Phone: 202/358-1977


November 15, 1994

RELEASE: 94-190 NASA AND INDUSTRY SIGN AGREEMENT TO SUPPORT EDUCATION Chief Executive Officers of the nation's 28 largest aerospace contractors have teamed up with NASA and the U.S. Department of Education in an ambitous plan to improve the nation's mathematics, science and technology education goals. "American industry understands that education is critical to our nation's future economic competitiveness," said NASA Administrator Daniel S. Goldin. "Nearly 30 CEOs of the nation's top aerospace companies today joined together to ensure that the students of today are the engineers, scientists and inventors who will keep American business at the top of the ladder tomorrow." To help meet this goal, Goldin, U.S. Department of Education Deputy Secretary Madeleine Kunin and the 28 CEOs signed a collaborative agreement during a ceremony today at NASA Headquarters. This new agreement establishes a mission to work cooperatively in areas of mutual interest and activities to help improve students' performance in science and mathematics, increase public scientific literacy, promote a strong teacher workforce, help prepare an adequate pipeline of scientific and technical professionals including underrepresented groups. During the signing ceremony, Kunin applauded this joint government and industry initiative to support GOALS 2000 and the nation's education reform efforts. Under the leadership of NASA, the NASA-Industry Education Initiative originated in 1991 as a voluntary cooperative effort to refine and align current and planned education

activities to support the nation's education reform strategies and to accomplish the national education goals. - more - 2 NASA-Industry Education Initiative Partners The 28 CEOs signing the NASA-Industry Education Initiative Memorandum of Understanding Agreement include: Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ Ÿ C. Michael Armstrong, Hughes Aircraft Co. Norman Augustine, Martin Marietta Corp. Donald R. Beall, Rockwell International Corp. Michael R. Bonsignore, Honeywell, Inc. Hugh Brown, BAMSI Inc. Daniel P. Burnham, AlliedSignal Aerospace Co. Renso Caporali, Grumman Corp. John Carlson, Cray Research Inc. Robert F. Daniell, United Technologies Corp. Jack A. Frohbieter, Fairchild Space & Defense Co. Joseph T. Gorman, TRW Inc. William R. Hoover, Computer Sciences Corp. George G. Houser, CAE-Link Corp. Jim Leto, PRC Inc. John F. McDonnell, McDonnell Douglas Corp. James F. McGovern, Teledyne Brown Engineering Inc. James R Mellor, General Dynamics Corp. Mitchell Rambler, NSI Technology Services Corp. Roger I. Ramseier, Aerojet Paul B. Roundy III, Johnson Controls World Services Bernard L. Schwartz, Loral Corp. Frank A. Shrontz, The Boeing Co. Daniel M. Tellep, Lockheed Corp. David W. Thompson, Orbital Sciences Corp. James A. Unruh, Unisys Dennie M. Welsh, IBM Corp. Jack D. Whitfield, Sverdrup Technology Inc. James R. Wilson, Thiokol Corp.

Goals 2000 President Clinton signed the Goals 2000: Educate America Act on March 31, 1994. The Act set in law the original six

National Education Goals concerning school readiness, school completion, student academic achievement, leadership in mathematics and science, adult literacy, and safe and drugfree schools. The law added two new goals related to parental participation and professional development. - end NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to domo@hq.nasa.gov. In the body of the message (not the subject line) users should type the words "subscribe pressrelease" (no quotes). The system will reply with a confirmation via E-mail of each subscription. A second automatic message will include additional information on the service. Questions should be directed to (202) 358-4043.