Sonja Alexander Headquarters, Washington, DC (Phone: 202/358-1761) RELEASE 97-141

June 24, 1997

NASA ADMINISTRATOR'S FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED NASA recently announced the recipients of the 1997-98 AdministratorÕs Fellowship Program. The program is designed to enhance the professional development of mid-career science, mathematics and engineering faculty at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic-Serving Institutions and Tribal Colleges. The program also provides an opportunity for NASA employees to teach and conduct research at minority colleges and universities and to help the universities become better qualified to assist NASA in its research and development mission. The recipients are: Mariea C. Dunn, Southern University, Baton Rouge, LA Teresa D. Edwards, Spelman College, Atlanta, GA James T. Brown, Kennedy Space Center, FL Marla E. Perez-Davis, Lewis Research Center, Cleveland, OH Jon C. Goldsby, Lewis Research Center, Cleveland, OH Yolanda R. Hicks, Lewis Research Center, Cleveland, OH Mark D. Kankam, Lewis Research Center, Cleveland, OH Michael K. Ponton, Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA Ramona E. Pelletier-Travis, Stennis Space Center, Stennis, MS The Fellowship Program is a two-part competitive program with two fellowships being awarded this year to individuals from outside the Agency, and seven to NASA employees. Teresa Edwards, the recipient from Spelman College, is Associate Professor and Chairperson of the Mathematics Department, and Mariea Dunn is Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Southern University. They will conduct research at the Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA, and the Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, AL, respectively.

The seven NASA employees who were awarded fellowships will have the opportunity to serve as exchange scientists, engineers or managers at Florida A & M University, Tallahassee, FL; the University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez; Howard University, Washington, DC; Hampton University, Hampton, VA; and Xavier University, New Orleans, LA, for a period of six months to two academic years. They will share their knowledge of the AgencyÕs scientific and technical programs and lend real world experiences to the teaching process. Through the participation of the Fellowship awardees from both academia and NASA, the universities will have an opportunity to gain knowledge of the scientific and technical needs of NASA and be in a better position to participate in Agency-sponsored research and development programs. The program, scheduled to begin in September 1997 and run through May 1999, will be administered by the National Research Council. Information on the upcoming 1998-2000 competition can be obtained by contacting Lois Hobson in the Fellowship Office of the National Research Council, 2101 Constitution Ave., N.W., Washington, DC; 20418; tel. (202) 334-2872. The National Research Council is the principal operating agency of the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering. It is a private, non-profit institution that provides science and technology advice under a congressional charter. -end-