You are on page 1of 1

EDUC 330 California Physical Education Model Content Standards

A Brief Overview

The high school experience represents
the culmination of physical education.
From kindergarten through fifth grade,
the content is delivered incrementally to
best enable student learning at the
appropriate developmental level.

In sixth through eighth grade, the content
is consolidated and students’ skills are
refined, representing a natural
progression of skill sophistication. When
students reach ninth grade, they are
ready to integrate all that they know with
all that they can do. They become
capable of higher-order thinking and of
more skilled, competent performance.

Therefore, the five elementary and
middle school model content
standards have been combined into
the three high school model content
 Standards 1 & 2 to Standard 1
 Standards 3 & 4 to Standard 2
 Standard 5 to Standard 3

All standards address the needs of the
whole child and are developmentally
appropriate when offered through a
quality, deliberate, and sequential PE

In elementary school, the content standards emphasize the way in which students move through space and time in their environment,
the way in which the student and a partner move in space together, the continuity and change in movement, the manipulation of objects
in time and through space, and the manipulation of objects with accuracy and speed.

In middle school, the content standards emphasize working cooperatively to achieve a common goal, meeting challenges, making
decisions, and working as a team to solve problems.
 Standards 1 & 2 - Motor Skills & Movement Knowledge (psychomotor & cognitive domains)
 Standards 3 & 4 – Fitness Skills & Knowledge (psychomotor & cognitive domains)
 Standard 4 – Self & Others (psychomotor, cognitive, & affective domains)