You are on page 1of 1

BAM Casting Notice:

Photo: Antony Sher, by Ellie Kurttz


Seeking Brooklyn residents for community chorus in
Royal Shakespeare Company’s King Lear

SATURDAY, MARCH 3
CASTING WORKSHOPS 1PM—2:30PM, 3PM— 4:30PM, 6PM—7:30PM
The Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) returns to BAM this April to present Shakespeare’s King Lear.
The RSC is looking to cast volunteers from the local community to comprise the production’s various
non-speaking roles. Non-actors are eligible. Equity members are not eligible.

SEEKING
Two (2) women, Sixteen (16) men between ages 18-60
RSC will be looking for enthusiastic, committed individuals, those that exhibit strong group and ensemble work
ethic. Applicants must be physically agile and able to lift and move props up to 50 lbs.

CASTING
The chorus will be cast from workshops conducted by the Royal Shakespeare Company.
Please wear comfortable clothes.

APPLY
To apply, please send an email to CommunityAffairs@BAM.org with your contact info, full body photo, age,
height, resume including performing experience, and two references. Please note which casting workshop
times work for you: 1pm, 3pm, or 6pm. If selected, Mar 31—Apr 7 schedule is required, no exceptions.
However, please note in your email if you are unavailable for any of the performances.
Deadline for Applications: February 25, 2018

WORKSHOP DATE & LOCATION NOTES


Saturday, March 3 Stipend will be offered
1pm­—2:30pm, 3pm—4:30pm, 6pm—7:30pm
BAM Peter Jay Sharp Building
116 St. Felix St. Brooklyn, NY
Subway: 2,3,4,5,Q,N,R, LIRR

Day Date Time/Description *Schedule subject to change

Saturday Mar 3 Community casting workshops, 3 groups 1pm, 3pm, or 6pm

Saturday Mar 31 Workshop with RSC 10pm—1pm, final selection of community chorus, those selected rehearse 2:30pm—6pm

Sunday Apr 1 Community Chorus workshop rehearsal, 6pm—9pm

Monday Apr 2 Community Chorus workshop rehearsal, 6pm—9pm

Tuesday Apr 3 Community Chorus workshop rehearsal, 6pm—9pm

Wednesday Apr 4 Community Chorus workshop rehearsal, 6pm—9pm

Thursday Apr 5 Tech, All day TBC

Friday Apr 6 Tech, All day TBC

Saturday Apr 7 All day, Performance #1 at 7:30pm

Sunday Apr 8 1:30pm—6:30pm, Performance #2 at 3pm

Tuesday Apr 10 6pm—11pm, Performance #3 at 7:30pm

Wednesday Apr 11 6pm—11pm, Performance #4 at 7:30pm

Thursday Apr 12 6pm—11pm, Performance #5 at 7:30pm

Friday Apr 13 6pm—11pm, Performance #6 at 7:30pm

Saturday Apr 14 6pm—11pm, Performance #7 at 7:30pm

Sunday Apr 15 1:30pm—6:30pm, Performance #8 at 3pm

Tuesday Apr 17 6pm—11pm, Performance #9 at 7:30pm

Wednesday Apr 18 6pm—11pm, Performance #10 at 7:30pm

Thursday Apr 19 6pm—11pm, Performance #11 at 7:30pm

Friday Apr 20 6pm—11pm, Performance #12 at 7:30pm

Saturday Apr 21 12pm—5pm, 6pm—11pm, Performance #13 at 1:30pm, Performance #14 at 7:30pm

Sunday Apr 22 1:30pm—6:30pm, Performance #15 at 3pm

Tuesday Apr 24 6pm—11pm, Performance #16 at 7:30pm

Wednesday Apr 25 6pm—11pm, Performance #17 at 7:30pm

Thursday Apr 26 6pm—11pm, Performance #18 at 7:30pm

Friday Apr 27 6pm—11pm, Performance #19 at 7:30pm

Saturday Apr 28 6pm—11pm, Performance #20 at 1:30pm, Performance #21 at 7:30pm

Sunday Apr 29 1:30pm—6:30pm, Performance #22 at 3pm