You are on page 1of 2

3/20/2018 Syndrome differentiation according to organs (zang- fu


Home > Examination and Diagnosis > Principles of TCM Diagnosis
> Organs (zang-fu)

Organs : I. Heart & small intestine | II.Liver & gall bladder | III Spleen & stomach |
IV. Lung & large intestine | IV. Kidney & bladder

Syndrome differentiation according to the organs (zang- fu)
In western medicine, the body's organs are explained in terms of their anatomical
structure and physiological functions. However, in Traditional Chinese Medicine
(TCM), the approach is quite different. Organs are considered functional units of the
body. Therefore, what is typically thought of as an organ has a much broader meaning
and application in TCM. An organ's anatomical structure is not as important as its yin
yang properties or relationships with other organs. Chinese medicine recognizes five
yin organs (heart, liver, spleen, lung & kidney) and six yang organs (gall bladder,
stomach, small intestine, large intestine, bladder and triple burner), also known as
"zang" and "fu" organs respectively. See article on "Understanding the Body's
Organ from a TCM Perspective."

Zang-organs & Fu-organs

According to the TCM theory, disorders in organs may be due to organs themselves,
or it may result by a broken relationship between the organs. Therefore, the health of
the organs is identified according to their unique physiological functions. Problems
arising in the five "yin" or "zang" organs tend to be more serious. The above is a brief
description of the main syndromes attributed to each of the organs.

TOP 1/2

com/eng/exam/diagnosis_organ.html 2/2 .3/20/2018 Syndrome differentiation according to organs (zang.fu) http://www.shen-nong.