September 15 – October 24, 2010

SPECIAL PRESENTATION
Dr. Amir Hussain Oct. 16-17
9am-3:30pm, Sat., Oct. 16 • Workshop: Many Paths: Religious Diversity 2010 As a Muslim scholar and teacher, Amir enables us to explore the interfaith journey 10:30am, Sunday Worship, Oct. 17 • Amir will co-lead worship on Sunday morning Dr. Amir Hussain is Professor of Theological studies at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, where he teaches world religion.

HINDUISM S
Sept. 15-19
7pm, Wed., Sept. 15 • An evening with Pandit Prameya Chaitanya from the Shree Maha Lakshmi Temple 7pm, Fri., Sept. 17 • In conjunction with Reel Spirituality, “Earth,” a film from a Hindu perspective with context by a Hindu guest 10:30am, Worship Sunday, Sept. 19 • Sermon drawing on themes of the Hindu tradition, “They Refuse to Know Me”

BUDDHISM
Sept. 22-26
7pm, Wed., Sept. 22 • An evening with Eshin John Godfry, Abbott of the Vancouver Zen Centre 7pm, Fri., Sept. 24 • In conjunction with Reel Spirituality, “Enlightenment Guaranteed,” a film from a Buddhist perspective with context by a Buddhist guest 10:30am, Worship Sunday, Sept. 26 • Sermon drawing on themes of the Buddhist tradition, “Letting Go”

Sept. 29-Oct. 3
7pm, Wed., Sept. 29 • An Evening with Sukvinda Vinning, active in developing the Sikh community provincially and, as Vice-President of the Vancouver MultiFaith Action Society, in promoting dialogue 7pm, Fri., Oct. 1 • In conjunction with Reel Spirituality, “TBA,” a film from a Sikh perspective with context by a Sikh guest 10:30am, Worship Sunday, Oct. 3 • Sermon drawing on themes of the Sikh tradition, “Food for Everyone”

SIKHISM

JUDAISM
Oct. 6-10
7pm, Wed., Oct. 6 • An Evening with Rabbi Laura Duhan Kaplan from the Or Shalom Synagogue 7pm, Fri., Oct. 8 • In conjunction with Reel Spirituality, “Ushpizin,” a film from a Jewish perspective with context by a Jewish guest 10:30am, Worship Sunday, Oct. 10 • Sermon drawing on themes of the Jewish tradition, “Do Not Forget”

Oct. 13-17
7pm, Wed., Oct. 13 • An Evening with David Ali and Farida Bono Ali at the Masjid AlSalaam Mosque, 5060 Canada Way, Burnaby (transportation options to be co-ordinated by St. Andrew’s 7pm, Fri., Oct. 15 • In conjunction with Reel Spirituality, “Le Grande Voyage,” a film from a Muslim perspective with context offered by Amir Hussain, our weekend guest from Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles 10:30am, Worship Sunday, Oct. 17 • Sermon with Gary Paterson and Amir Hussain drawing on themes of the Muslim tradition, “A Chosen People”

ISLAM

CHRISTIANITY
Oct. 20-24
7pm, Wed., Oct. 20 • An Evening with Rev. Donald Grayston, Anglican Priest and Co-Director of the Pacific Jubilee Program in Spritual Direction 7pm, Fri., Oct. 22 • In conjunction with Reel Spirituality, “Babette’s Feast,”a film from a Christian perspective with context by a Christian guest 10:30am, Worship Sunday, Oct. 24 • Sermon drawing on themes of the Christian tradition, “Doing the Faith”

WORLD RELIGIONS MUSIC CELEBRATION
Featuring Sacred Music of Many Faith Traditions
7pm, Sat., Oct. 23 • In St. Andrew’s-Wesley United Church. For more information, including a listing of performances, please visit our website

Registration is not required for any event. Suggested donations are $5 for lectures and $2 for films. For more information, please contact the church office or visit our website. Co-sponsored by

Burrard & Nelson, Vancouver (604) 683-4574 www.standrewswesleychurch.bc.ca Underground parking off alley

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful