You are on page 1of 1

About ACU:

Asian Clearing Union (ACU) is a payment arrangement whereby the participants settle payments for
intra-regional transactions among the participating central banks on a net multilateral basis. The main
objectives of the clearing union are to facilitate payments among member countries for eligible
transactions, thereby economizing on the use of foreign exchange reserves and transfer costs, as well as
promoting trade and banking relations among the participating countries.

Headquarters: Tehran, Iran (Est. December, 1974)

Member States:

Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Srilanka

Eligible transactions

The monetary transactions eligible to be settled through the Asian Clearing Union includes the

 Payments from the resident in the territory of one participant to a resident in the territory
of another participant.
 Payment for current international transactions as defined by the Articles of Agreement of
the International Monetary Fund.
 Payment permitted by the country in which the payer resides.
 Payment which are in compliance with FEMA 1999, rules, regulations, orders or directions
issued there-under and the specific provisions of the Memorandum ACM.
 Payment for exports and / or import transactions between ACU member countries on
deferred payment terms.