You are on page 1of 2

----~~===-:=;;;:=-: ...;Al:a s-k a ~elec.0.m~sse.c::i:at-io.

Dave Goggins 201 E. 55th Avenue, Suite 114 Christine O'Connor
President Anchorage, AK 99518 Executive Director
(907) 563-4000

May 18, 2018

The Honorable Bill Walker

3rct Floor, State Capitol
Juneau, AK 99811

Dear Governor Walker,

We are writing to assure you and all Alaskans that we are committed to the principles of net

We do not block websites.

We do not censor content.

We do not throttle, discriminate, or degrade network performance based on content.

These core tenets of Net Neutrality define our networks and the Internet access we offer Alaskans.

The internet has become essential to most Alaskans. And it's done so, for the most part, with very
few-but often changing-rules. Regulators under four different presidents have taken four
different approaches. Courts have overturned regulatory decisions. Regulators have reversed their
predecessors. This continual back and forth is especially difficult for Alaska's providers, many of
which are small businesses and cooperatives, who find themselves whipsawed by this parade of
regulatory regimes. They struggle to assess and meet ever-changing regulations, while continuing
to build and operate critical networks in some of the most challenging environments on Earth.

We join Alaska's Congressional delegation in calling for legislative action by Congress, which can
impose rules of net neutrality on all participants in the internet landscape. It is time for Congress to
end the debate once and for all, by writing new laws that govern the internet and protect
consumers. Legislation would not only ensure consumers' rights are protected, but it would
provide consistent rules of the road for all internet companies across all websites, content, devices
and applications.

Until Congress acts, be assured of the commitment of all Alaska Telecom Association members to
provide an open internet to Alaskans.


Christine O'Connor
Executive Director President, TelAlaska, Interior Telephone
Company & Mukluk Telephone Company

President, Alaska Telecom Association

Alaska Telecom As&ociation
Dave .Goggins 201 E. 56th Avenue, Suite 114 Christine O'Connor
President Anchorage, AK 99518 Executive Director
(907) 563-4000

CHO, Adak Eagle Enterprises
James Dunn
CEO, CopperV leyT lephone Cooperative

Leonard Steinberg Jeremiah Beckett

Senior Vice President, Legal, Regulatory & Cordova Telephone Cooperative
Government Affairs

.. ~~, /f f
/ / /'<.(1,.,411,, P?(;f;., r r.:/( Ron Duncan
/ CEO, GCI, United Utilities,
Mike Garrett Yukon Telephone Company
CEO, Alaska Power and Telephone Company,
( ( ,'
Bettles Telephone Company ' ·~ '.\ {' \-
North C:ountry Telephone Company \

I . ..., /

Ed Cushing
. I
( /,
l/ 11
i / /.(
. ·'
Division Manager, Ketchikan Public Utilities·
Telephone Division
' ' I) cfnl L~}~enlcks
/ Q\10, /Welle Slope Telephone Association
~ ·<'
Michael Burke
r'~-y~-' -...P-- ,~-:i__ - - ..
CEO, Matanuska Telephone Association

Shawn Uschmann
Director, AT&T External & Legislative Affairs
Bob Himschoot
~,..~ - ""-:7.~-- CEO, Nushagak Electric & Telephone
"-'"f''l/"4/ C- p c v' ~.-c.- Z.-/ Cooperative
//Jeff Fulton
CEO, Bristol Bay Telephone Cooperative
oJ.n/-C-1/'/;~A. (
Doug Neal
CEO, OTZ Teleph one/<_f~pc~~:l~~...
Larry Snipes
General Manager, Bush-tell, Inc. /(.•. .71/ ~:.'/}{tf
.(/ ;'>; ··- 1/ ifY/ -
R~ger Snoftstall
President, Summit Telephone & Telegraph