You are on page 1of 2

Archipelago: Reference Sheet “Special Cases” EN 1.

Terms used on this sheet:
“Round”: One cycle of the six phases.
“Turn”: Single move of one player during the action phase.

 Players who run out of action discs early during the action phase
(e.g. because of wonder construction) may still use an evolution card
Action discs and a market or port during their remaining turns.
 At the end of the round, all action discs are returned to their owners, including those
spent on wonder cards. Citizens, however, remain on the wonder cards.
“Construction”  A constructed building may already be used during the same round it was built,
action even during the same turn.
 A player may choose to discard a legally placeable region tile instead of placing it.
“Exploration” In that case, the player doesn’t receive an exploration token or a free resource cube.
action  No need to search for huts on new region tiles: The number of huts is always
5-[number of resource icons], except on the volcano region.
 Citizens may migrate into a building on an adjacent region tile.
 Ship convoy: Ships may perform an infinite number of convoys during the same turn,
even in different directions.
Also a legal move: [convoi(s)  ship migration  convoi(s)].
Convoys are only legal during a migration action (not during exploration etc.).
Explorer tokens  These are converted into resource cubes at the bank, and only when needed.
 When using another player’s card:
All monetary costs are paid to the card owner, resource cubes are paid to the bank.
 “Head Hunter” and “Researcher”:
When revealing five cards from the stack, red crises are ignored.
Only if the sixth card shows a red crisis, it must be resolved immediately.
Evolution cards  Construction of wonders:
Counts as use of an evolution card, not as a “construction” action. A player may still
perform a regular action and use a market or port during the same turn.
 Events and evolution card effects (e.g. Emigration, Great Lighthouse etc.):
The number of surplus workers, the rebellion marker, or the like, are adjusted
corresponding to the number of controlled buildings of the given type.
 An active citizen in a town controlling a temple still becomes a rebel during a crisis.
He must be stood up “by hand” to be able to use the temple’s effect (to stand up the
other citizens on the region tile).
Controlling a  Rebellious citizens of other players may be cast out of buildings at the end of phase 4,
building if they are on the same region tile as a town that you control.
 Citizens in towns (active or rebellious) can never be cast out (in the base game).
 If a citizen in a town becomes a rebel, he loses control over the other buildings in the
same region tile. Other players may then take them over with a migration action.
 Red crises must be resolved immediately, and only once.
Regular crises might need to be resolved again in phase 4 of the following rounds.
Crises  When spending resource cubes to resolve a crisis, a player must stand up the
corresponding number of citizens.
 Temples: Any number of citizens may be stood up.
 Trend card “Benefactor”: Place 1f for each time one or more resource cubes are spent,
and for each construction of a temple. Not 1f for each resource cube spent.
 Trend card “Citizens”: Only active citizens count. Rebels don’t.
Objective cards
 Victory conditions “Buildings”: Only controlled buildings count.
 End-of-game condition “Citizens”: All citizens count, including rebels.
 End-of-game conditions “Buildings”: All buildings count, controlled or vacant.
Units and “engagement”

Action “engages” Can be performed by an

Action Unit needed
the unit? engaged unit?

Use of market / port YES (Restriction: Each market /

Citizen / Ship YES
(not an “action”) port only once per round)

Harvest Citizen / Ship YES NO

Construction: Buildings Citizen / Ship (port only) YES NO

Construction: Ship Citizen NO NO

Exploration Citizen / Ship NO NO

Migration Citizen / Ship NO NO

Recruitment Citizen / Ship NO YES

Taxes Misc. NO YES

2 citizens on
Reproduction NO YES
the same “land region” each

Transaction - - -

Important notice:
This reference sheet is based on the rulebook version 2, available for download at
Also, the designer has responded to FAQ by the community (PDF available at Because of this, some rules clarifications might contradict the
wording of the first rulebook provided with the earlier editions of the game.

Compiled by user Matschmensch on BoardGameGeek -

Version 1.2, 02/26/2015

Thanks to:
The BoardGameGeek community, for their helpfulness in all rules-related questions and for their enthusiasm for the hobby.
In particular the users Jonniosaurus, Zolos, lealuna, Cyberian, garyjames, Myszaq36, and altaripa for their excellent player aids and rules summaries.
The users Bernhard Vierthaler and Picon for their feedback on earlier versions of this document.
Christophe Bœlinger, for creating this excellent game, and for his ongoing commitment to his audience.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Related Interests