You are on page 1of 3

English 101 Fall 2018

Schedule

Week 1-

Wed Sept 5 Discuss: writing time, Introductions, syllabus

Fri Sept 7 Discuss: Engl 144: Book club groups and writing fellow

Week 2-

Mon Sept 10 Read: Shitty First Drafts (in readings on website) Discuss: Reading

Wed Sept 12 Read: Rhetorical Analysis Handout from Howe Center (In readings on website)
Discuss: Audience, Purpose, Rhetorical Appeals, reading journals, and Essay #1

Fri Sept 14 Discuss: Book Club Reading and Note Taking Prep.

Week 3-

Mon Sept 17 Due: Reading Journal Read: Malcolm X excerpt (in readings on website)
Discuss: reading, narrative

Wed Sept 19 Read: Steve Jobs Commencement Address (in readings on website) Discuss:
reflection, Thesis statements

Fri Sept 21 Writing Day: Class will not meet

Week 4-

Mon Sept 24 Due: Reading Journal Read: Richard Rodriguez “None of this is Fair” (in
readings on website) Discuss: reading and thesis statements

Wed Sept 26 Guest Workshop from Academic Coaching on communication.

Fri Sept 28 Due: Essay 1 for workshop (bring 2 copies printed out) Discuss: reading, Essay
#2 (preview)

Week 5-

Mon Oct 1 Due: Essay 1 Discuss:Guest Workshop from Academic Coaching on Time
Management

Wed Oct 3 Discuss:Core Curriculum and liberal art, essay #2, Guest Speaker Dean Miller.

Fri Oct 5 Due: Reading Journal Read: “My Fema People” (in reading section on website)
Discuss: Humanities, comparing and contrasting

Week 6-
Mon Oct 8 Columbus Day- No Class

Wed Oct 10 Monday Schedule of Classes. Wednesday Classes will not meet. Due: Reading
Journal Read: “Distribution of Toxic Trace Elements” (in readings on website) Discuss: Sciences

Fri Oct 12 Due: Reading Journal Read: “Planning for New Orleans” (in reading section on
website) Discuss: Social Sciences, midterm portfolio, conference sign up

Week 7-

Mon Oct 15 Discuss: thesis statement and Integrating quotes in writing

Wed Oct 17 Class cancelled for conferences and Essay #2 draft due

Fri Oct 19 Class cancelled for conferences and Essay #2 draft due

Week 8-

Mon Oct 22 Class cancelled for conferences and Essay #2 draft due

Wed Oct 24 Career Services Visit

Fri Oct 26 Mid Term Portfolios Due

Week 9-

Mon Oct 29 Due: Special Reading Journal (what did you learn from the Career Services
workshop? How might it help you?) Read: “9 Tips on Conducting Great Interview” (in readings
on website) Discuss: Interviewing, essay 3

Wed Oct 31 Read: Design Principles (in readings on website) Discuss: document design and
university catalogue

Fri Nov 2 Library Research Day. Meet at Reference Desk.

Week 10-

Mon Nov 5 Discuss: Citation and integrating quotes

Wed Nov 7 Guest workshop from Wellness Center and Academic Coaching

Fri Nov 9 Essay 3 Writing and Research Day. Class will not meet.

Week 11-

Mon Nov 12 Veteran’s Day- No Class


Wed Nov 14 Monday Class Schedule, Wed classes will not meet Due: Essay #3 for
workshop Discuss: Essay #4

Fri Nov 16 Due: Essay #3 and Audience Proposal Discuss: evaluating sources and small
group research meetings

Week 12- * Book Club books should be finished by this week

Mon Nov 19 Small group research meetings (those not meeting work on draft of essay)

Wed Nov 21 Small group research meetings (those not meeting work on draft of essay)

Fri Nov 23 No class Thanksgiving Break

Week 13-

Mon Nov 26 Due: Outlines and Reading Journal Read: Excerpt from Audacity of Hope (in
readings on website) Discuss: reading and drafting, Book Club Presentations

Wed Nov 28 Book Club Presentation Work Day.

Fri Nov 30 Book Club Presentation Work Day.

Week 14-

Mon Dec 3 Reading Journal Read: “When I grow up I want to Be...Childhood Dream” (in
readings on website) Discuss: reading and drafting, final portfolio

Wed Dec 5 Book Club Presentation Work Day

Fri Dec 7 Book club Presentation Dress Rehearsal

Week 15-

Mon Dec 10 MYS Book Club Presentations

Wed Dec 12 Due: Essay #4 for workshop. In class Conferences and Portfolio Writing Time

Final Exam: Due: Final Portfolio and In Class Final Exam

9:05 class Wed Dec 19 8:00-10:00

11:15 class Fri Dec 14 11:00-1:00