You are on page 1of 3

PrakÎti piÙ×a includes 1) Earth with the five qualities of bone, flesh,

skin, veins and hair. 2) Water with the five qualities of saliva, sweat,
semen, blood, urine. 3) Fire with the five qualities of hunger, thirst,
dream, languor, idleness. 4) Air with the five qualities of running, swim-
ming, stretching, bending, disappointment. 5) Earth with the five qualities
of disease, hatred, fear, shame and delusion.

The antaÒkaraÙa is the inner complex carried from birth to rebirth.

1) The five qualities of manas (mind) are resolution, wavering, folly,
pidity, mentality. 2) The five qualities of buddhi (reason) are discrimi-
nation, dispassion, peace, contentment and patience. 3) The five quali-
ties of ahaÑkËra or ego are wishing to have contact, the feeling “this is
mine”, my happiness, my sorrow, this is mine. 4) The five qualities of
Citta or observation are pondering, constancy, memory, reflection, and
making one’s own. 5) The five qualities of Caitanya or full awareness
are reflectiveness, skill, steadiness, thoughtfulness, and indifference.
The five Kulas are 1) Sattva, with five qualities being compassion,
duty, mercy, devotion and faith. 2) Rajas with the five qualities of
giving, enjoyment, eroticism, possession, and having wealth. 3) Tamas
with the five qualities of argumentativeness, grief, quarrelsomeness,
bondage and fraud. 4) KËla or time has the five qualities of divisions,
periods, movement, measure, and lack of substance. 5) The jÌva or
embodied being has the five qualities of wake, dream, deep sleep, the
fourth, and that beyond the fourth.
The five Úaktis of manifestation (vyakti) are 1) IcchË, with her five
qualities of divine madness, desire, longing, reflection, and achieving
what is desired. 2) KriyË, with the five making love, effort, action,
steadiness, and adherence to one’s own Kula-cluster. 3) MËyË with her
five qualities of arrogance, envy, deceit, acting, and playfulness. 4)
PrakÎti with her five qualities of hope, thirst, eagerness, wishing, duplic-
ity. 5) VËk or DevÌ as speech with the five qualities supremacy, paÚyantÌ,
madhyamË, vaikharÌ and mËtÎkË.
The five guÙas of personal experience are 1) Karma, the five quali-
ties being good, evil, fame, dishonour, and looking to the results of
action. 2) KËma or sexuality with the five qualities of intercourse, lik-
ing, playfulness, desire and lust. 3) Moon with 16 kalËs or parts, and a
17th called nivÎtti. 4) Sun, with 12 kËlas and a 13th called shining by its
own light. 5) Fire with 10 kËlas, the 11th being light.
This is the bija mantra of KËlikË herself, formed from
the letters K+R+I+M plus the anusvara. According to
the bija dictionaries, the K represents KËlÌ, the r
represents Brahma, the letter Ì represents MahËmËyË
with nada meaning mother of the universe and bindu
the dispeller of sorrow.
16 Krim bija

One of the offensive bija mantras commonly found in

actions directed against others. The H stands for Éiva,
the Í represents the fearsome aspect of Éiva known as
Bhairava, nada is the supreme and bindu is the dispeller
of sorrow. The mantra HÍm is also known as the varma
or armour root syllable.
17 Hum bija

The H again represents Éiva, the r stands for PrakÎti or

Nature, the letter Ì represents the goddess in her form
as MahËmËyË, nada is the mother of the universe and
bindu represents the dispeller of sorrow. This bija
mantra is the one, par excellence of all DevÌs and is
commonly found in their mantras.
18 Hrim bija

This is the SarasvatÌ root syllable and also represents

the yoni. Ai stands for SarasvatÌ, bindu is the dispeller
of sorrow and nada is the whole universe. In her
alternative form as TËrË DevÌ, she takes the root
syllable HÍÑ (see above).

19 Aim bija
The letter Ka represents the Hindu god of love,
KËmadeva, who, some say, is also god KÎÛÙa. La refers
to the mighty Indra. The letter Ì here stands for
contentment while the bindu and nada represent that
which grants happiness and sorrow. This syllable is
known as the KËmabÌja. The goddess KlinnË represents
20 Klim bija the wet yoni.

This is the bÌja mantra of MahËlakÛmÌ, who gives great

wealth to her devotees. The É represents herself. The
letter r here denotes wealth. The letter Ì means
satisfaction, while nada represents lord Éiva. The bindu
stands for that which dispels sorrow, according to the
mantra dictionaries.
21 Shrim bija