You are on page 1of 3

Paul Wiedefeld

Metro General Manager and Chief Executive Officer
600 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
Dear Mr. Wiedefeld:
We, the undersigned officials from Montgomery & Prince George's counties, write to express our opposition
to extending the elimination of late night Metro hours through July 2020. Many of us wrote to you in 2016,
when this proposal was first announced, and we cited numerous concerns: hardship for service workers,
increased drunk driving, a loss in ridership, and negative impacts on local businesses. We recognize the
significant ongoing maintenance needs for Metro, but we believe addressing these needs does not require
systemwide service reductions as we have experienced over the past several years.
Our residents and businesses have now made sacrifices for two years, in order to provide ample time for
track maintenance. It is now time to try and win back riders with a restoration of service hours, and hopefully
a reduction of headways. We want Metro to be both safe and convenient, and we believe the suspension of
late night service should end on schedule in July 2019. That does not mean there will not be some late night
closures of specific segments or lines for necessary projects, but those should be scheduled and planned.
We thank you for your work in prioritizing safety improvements, and we hope you will now work with us to
similarly prioritize improving Metrorail reliability and convenience.
We will also share our concerns with the Maryland Governor's Office, Maryland Secretary of Transportation,
and Maryland Board Members, as we recognize that they are our liaisons to you.
Thank you for considering our renewed concerns.
Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich
Gaithersburg Mayor Jud Ashman
Greenbelt Mayor Emmett Jordan
Rockville Mayor Bridget Donnell Newton
Takoma Park Mayor Kate Stewart
Senator Joanne Benson
Senator Cheryl Kagan
Senator Susan Lee
Senator Paul Pinsky
Senator Jim Rosapepe
Senator Will Smith
Senator-elect Ben Kramer
Senator-elect Jeff Waldstreicher

Delegate Darryl Barnes
Delegate Erek Barron
Delegate Al Carr
Delegate Kathleen Dumais
Delegate Tawanna Gaines
Delegate Anne Healey
Delegate Ariana Kelly
Delegate Marc Korman
Delegate Jazz Lewis
Delegate Eric Luedtke
Delegate David Moon
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk
Delegate Pam Queen
Delegate Kirill Reznik
Delegate Kris Valderrama
Delegate Alonzo Washington
Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins
Delegate-elect Gabe Acevero
Delegate-elect Lorig Charkoudian
Delegate-elect Charlotte Crutchfield
Delegate-elect Julian Ivey
Delegate-elect Mary Lehman
Delegate-elect Lesley Lopez
Delegate-elect Sara Love
Delegate-elect Julie Palakovich Carr
Delegate-elect Lily Qi
Delegate-elect Emily Shetty
Delegate-elect Jared Solomon
Delegate-elect Vaughn Stewart

Montgomery County Councilmember Gabe Albornoz
Montgomery County Councilmember Andrew Friedson
Montgomery County Councilmember Evan Glass
Montgomery County Councilmember Tom Hucker
Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando
Montgomery County Councilmember Nancy Navarro
Montgomery County Councilmember Craig Rice
Montgomery County Councilmember Hans Riemer

Prince George's County Councilmember Tom Dernoga
Prince George's County Councilmember Mel Franklin
Prince George's County Councilmember Jolene Ivey
Prince George's County Councilmember Deni Taveras

College Park City Councilmember Robert Day
College Park City Councilmember Fazlul Kabir
College Park City Councilmember Denise Mitchell
College Park City Councilmember John Rigg
Gaithersburg City Councilmember Laurie-Anne Sayles
Gaithersburg City Councilmember Michael Sesma
Gaithersburg City Councilmember Ryan Spiegel
Gaithersburg City Councilmember Robert Wu
Greenbelt Mayor Pro Tem Judith F. Davis
Greenbelt City Councilmember Colin Byrd
Rockville City Councilmember Beryl L. Feinberg
Takoma Park City Councilmember Kacy Kostiuk
Takoma Park City Councilmember Peter Kovar
Takoma Park City Councilmember Terry Seamens
Takoma Park City Councilmember Talisha Searcy
Takoma Park City Councilmember Jarrett Smith