You are on page 1of 208

"'Bvs1 NES~ b \~T. "'Lu><fWllt BUR<;, Wl.

S ,

1 '

t) '

A collection of
Family and Business Histories

We dedicate this book to our grandparents who

left their mother country for a foreign land with a
few meager possessions and a lot of courage. They
carved homes and farms out of the virgin forests,
conquering the wilderness with hard work and de-
termination. Their faith in God helped them triumph
over many hardships, dangers and heartaches. We
owe them a d ebt of gratitude that can n ever fully be
repaid. In this book we hope to have their memories
linger on for future generations to appreciate.

Compiled by
Carol Jean Simonar

Edited by
Carol J Simonar and Neoma Michalski

Copyrighted 1983 by
Luxemburg Diamond Jubilee
an d Historical Committee


l o<• !f
, . . . !lot,

.... ,._.,..,.
•a .._A"Cllll•(lt C:-e l""""·'! H ~
J°"'4•"'°"• 1t-1'•qir
J"""':I~... ~. ,

G•l l' o r u:>e

C'.N'-i et u'""""'a

+ ,,,>0#.,..,... ...,,., • s.a"-

· 0~ 1

· ~··
~~-- ,
fl ,..,,,
ko\1 1 C:fl • lf'I " '"'' ' ",..:
P• d•• "CI"" C-'ll•lf'I ' " •
H C...0 1" "
V• •b.,•f11"91\1• 1Ae
S U.~"ll ••t •O• cl
8 ... , ,
C.l" T-'"" 0. .. ,
-r '''e''"9e
' "'''''"
·u e"'"'?
( •1-t"'lt• -
"• •'•h
$ p0el' •l'f

~""Ot>v' e •l
/1 ~ d"'""'J
\ 1C"'"'O
f''UO• • P.•'<·'l'lir

• • J 3.f, . ..611• •

'-'\ U.t~\
Cll l • •tw-. S• -•""t "'- ' ,._,..,...
s,.• ....,.• ..o

C-•• • ' "" '" • •"'<.e G"I tolf-•tur•
• ••••
\ 111'
OtH U"""QOll
GoM M""'1ttu<c (>,o4'
n••.,. "'*" G-'' ""V·~I

Jl'!'•~l · < "' •""'•"•· ·•l-

' ""1~· ~ .. ....
( 4'.1••,U oQl'I
... PO", ......
l lil<"°'" ' " VI r ')•t lO
"''°"'' 5(."°°'
r 11•0'"' P0'l

ll lol•tt lolClf lf!IU•0"'"""'' ''"'"'

A1o1,•11,.lll lh1•0 l1tl'lt1+1+tlO
fet11• •1• '"''11•• •1•0"' Oll•t•
......<...l•ll~flllh••••lf '""""
, . .......u .....
AJbi;,d ~ S•· ".i1111quc
11:u I••"'• W1\\t>•S·• •
w ... . , .• _,
..•'""-". ........ ..
~ ,H,
"""'"' s,. .....

In 1506 Luxembourg became Spa nish property,
but remained a part of the Holy Roman Empire.
The peace of Utrecht of 1713, at the encl of the Wa r
of Spanish Succession, gave the duchy to Austria.
France gained control in 1795.
The Congress of Vienna made Luxembou rg a
grand duchy in 1815. It gave Luxembourg to Willia m
I of the Netherlands in exchange for his estates of
Nassau, which went to Prussia.
In 1830 attempts were made to include all Luxem-
bourg in the new kingdom of Belgium. Nine years
later the western part was given to Belgium a nd is
still a province of that country. But the eastern part,
which is the present country of Luxembourg. re-
mained an independent country under the Nether-
lands king.
The Treaty of London in 1867 made Luxembourg
DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG a neutral. unarmed territory. The country w as ruled
by the kings of the N etherlands until 1890. In that
It is one of the smallest and oldest independent year William III died and was succeeded by his
countries in Europe and covers an area that is daughter, Wilhelmina. Luxembourg the n broke away
smaller than Rhode Island. The chief products are from the Netherlands because its laws did not then
agriculture, cattle, grapes, potatoes, wheat, beer, ce- permit a female ruler. Duke Adolph of Nassau
ramics, fertilizer, leather and wine. Luxemburg is (1817-1905) became ruler of Luxemburg as grand
one of the world's great steel producers, with more duke. He was followed by his son William Alexis.
than five million tons of steel produced annually. After William's death the throne passed to his eldest
The City of Luxembourg, which has almost 80,000 daughter, Marie Ade laide. At the outbreak of WW I,
persons is the capital of the country with twisting the Germans overran the country. Luxembourg re-
cobblestone side streets, tall narrow houses with mained under German control until the end of the
steep gabled roofs. The city boasts of 80 bridges war. In 1919 Marie Adelaide abdica ted in favor of
over deep gorges cut by the Alzette and Petrusse her sister, Charlotte. Luxembourg made a treaty with
Rivers. There is one university and few private Belgium in 1922 which abolished most taxes and
schools and technical colleges in the city. Over 130 customs between the two countries.
ancient castles dot the landscape of this beautiful During WW II Luxembourg was invad ed by Ger-
country. man troops in 1940. The Grand Duchess Charlotte
The flag has horizonta l red , white and blue and her government went into exile in London and
stripes (top to bottom). The colors come from the Montreal. Luxembourg became an important battle-
coat of arms of Luxembourg adopted in 1845. The ground a t the end of 1944-1945, when the Battle of
unit of money is the franc. the Bulge was fought in the n orthern part of the
The people are a mixture of nationalities. This is country. Grand Duchess Charlotte returned after the
because of intermarriages with the people of nearby war and the country became a charter member of
countries that once ruled the grand duchy. As a re- the United Nations in 1945. In 1961 Charlotte's son
sult, many persons are partly of French, Belgian, Prince Jean was given executive powers in her be-
Dutch or German origin. The people speak French half. She abdicated in 1964 in his favor.
and German (the official languages) and Lutzenbur- During 1845 to 1857 crops failed and a depression
gesch an unwritten folk dialect. settled over the land causing about 20,000 Luxem-
Luxembourg's geographic position has exposed the bourgers to flee their country. Also many young
country to many battles. The country originally was men were facing military service and did not want
called Lucilinburhuc (little castle). It was one of the to go to war again. Some of them settled in Wiscon-
minor principalities of the Holy Roman Empire. It sin while others se ttled in other states.
became prominent in 1308 when Count Henry IV of
Luxembourg became Henry VII, Holy Roman Em- ACHIEVING ST ATEHOOD
peror. Henry's grandson. Emperor, Charles IV,
raised Luxembourg to the rank of a duchy. He gave Wisconsin achieved statehood as the nation was
it to his half brother, Wenceslas, whose family held generating a new head of economic steam following
it until 1443. Then it was owned by Burgundy and the Depression of 1837 and the end of the Mexican
Austria. War.

A flood of Belgians, Hollanders, Scandinavians cob Brown, Commander-in-Chief of the U S Army
and Irish came in 1840. What is now Wisconsin had and one of the few successful American Com-
only 18,139 inhabitants, mostly native born Ameri- manders in the War of 1812.
cans from the eastern seaboard. By 1846 the popula- Milwaukee County was set off from Brown and
tion had risen to 155,277 and by 1847 to 210,546. the western boundary of the latter was enlarged in
The census of 1850 pushed the total to 305,309, most 1834 to extend to the Wisconsin River. In 1836 the
of whom were of European origin. entire counties of Sheboygan, Fond du Lac, Man-
A bill enabling Wisconsin to become a state was itowoc and Marquette, likewise the townships of
introduced in Congress on January 9, 1846, by Mor- Washington, Dodge and Portage were taken from
gan L. Martin, the territorial delegate. Passing Con- Brown.
gress, it was approved by the President on August Between the years of 1840 and 1850 Winnebago
10, 1846. and Calumet counties were erected from a portion
The second constitutional conven tion assembled in of Brown and Marquette, Portage and Manitowoc
Madison on December 15, 1847 with Morgan L. counties enlarged from the same source. In 1851
Martin of Brown County as president. The territory Oconto was pared off from the parent stem and that
now boasted of a population of 210,546 and the de- same year Door and Kewaunee counties were also
sire for statehood had become all but universal. On carved out of Brown .
May 29, 1848, President Polk approved a new act of Kewaunee County was created by Chapter 363 of
Congress, based upon the accepte d co nstitution, the Laws of Wisconsin by the legislature on April
whereby Wisconsin was admitted to the sisterhood 16, 1852 and approved by Governor Leonard j. Far-
of states. The first election was h eld in 1848. we 11. The act created one town in the county,
Kewaunee, and attached the county to Manitowoc
for all judicial purposes. The seat of justice was lo-
cated in the village of Kewaunee and the first town
meeting to elect officers was held at the residence
of John Volk near Kewaunee on the first Tuesday of
The first record of any happenings in the county
were in November of 1855, when a census was tak-
en and 1109 people were found within its limits.
The first general election was h eld in 1856.

Edward Decker found his way across from Mena-
sha to Casco in 1855 and being an enterprising
young man immediately conceived the idea of or-
ganizing a town and township. Casco was founded
as a township April of 1857 an d included the pre-
Wisco11si11 111 1536
sent limits of the town of Luxemburg. Mr. Decker
came from Casco, Maine and the New Englander
gave the name of his home town to the new settle-
FORMATION OF COUNTIES Luxemburg, after detachment from Casco in 1883,
was named for the people who first settled here.
In 1816 Wisconsin was part of Illinois Territory They came from the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.
but was shifted to Michigan Territory when Illin ois The Arendt's, Colle's, Kaut's and Merens families.
b ecame a state in 1818. One of the first acts of The geographic location of Luxemburg Township
Michigan Governor Lewis Cass was to divide the is in the northwest part of Kewaunee County, Town
area between Lake Michigan and the Mississippi 24 North, Range 23 East. It was founded 100 years
into three counties. What is n ow the Upper Penin- ago in 1883. Following is a list of the township offi-
sula became Michilimachinac County, while Wis- cials. Some years a complete list was not recorded
consin was split down the midd le, the area west of and on e year no record was found.
the lin e being designated Crawford. Everything east
was Brown County, in honor of Major General )a-

1883 J. B. Vanclenhouten. Su1>crvisor Fred Lohf. Assessor
john Arendt Michael Ley, Justice Peace
john Bower. Chairman August Radue. Clerk Charles Pinchart
Peter Arend t. Supervisor Charles Cruder, T reasurer john Luebeck. Constable
Fred Lohr Fred Lohf. Assessor Felix Marsell
Mir.hae l Ley. Clerk Frank Bertrnnd
Nick Ka ut, Treasurer 1891 Gustnv Dcrtrand
August Struc k. Assesso r
Joseph Fi tz. Ju stice of Peace Mich~iel Peo t. Chnirrm1n 1898
Joseph Petitjean I. B. Vand e nh ou te n. Supe rvisor
George Krcrna joh n Are ndt Desire Coll e. C hairman
August Radue, Ir. August Rad ue. C le rk An to n Kollross. Supervisor
Frank Bertrand. Constab le Charles Cruder. Treasurer Nick Daul
John Luebeck. Jr Freel Lohf. Assessor Frank Ricki, C lerk
Joseph Hardinger Wenzel Seidl. Treasurer
1892 J. B. Vandenhouten. Assessor
188~ Michael Ley. justice Peace
Michael Ley. Chairman Charles Pinchart
john Bower, Chairman joseph Seidl. Supervisor John Lueheck, Constable
Peter Arendt. Supervisor j. B. Va ndenhouten Frank Bertrand
Fred Lohf Michael Arendt. C lerk Gustav Bertrand
Michae l Ley. Cle rk Charl es C rud er. Treasurer
Nick Kaut . Treasure r Fred Lohf. Assessor 1899
August S truc k. Assessor M ichae l Ley. justice Peace
Louis Swcedle r. justice Peace j. B. Va ncle n houten Desire Coll e. Choirm an
August Radue C harles Vorpahl , Supervisor
Joseph Hartinger. Constable t893 Consta nt jandrain
John Luebeck Frank Ricki. Clerk
Frank Bertrand Mich;ie l Ley. Chairman Wenzel Seidl. Treasurer
j. 0. Vanden houten. Supervisor Charles Sell. Assessor
1885 Peter Arend t J. B. Vandenhouten. Justice Peace
Michael Arendt. Clerk Albert Nuhlicek
John Dower. Chairman joseph Weinfurter. Treasurer
Joseph Weinfurter. Supervisor Fred Lohf. Assessor 1900
i\ugust Radue Joseph Petitjean. justice Pe;1ce
Michael Lev. Clerk Des ire Colle. Chairma n
Chnrles C ni eder. Trcnsurer Charl es Vorpah l, Supe rviso r
August Struc k, Assessor Gus tav Be rt rand
Joseph Pe titj ean. justice Peace Michael Lev, Cha irm a n Frank Ric ki. Cle rk
joseph HrHtinger. Constable 1:
Pe te r SeicJ Sup1)rv isor Wenzel Se id l. Treasu rer
John Luebec k Lnuis Frie x J. B. Vnndcnhoute n. Assessor
joseph Ha evers Cha rles j. S1~ll. Clerk Christ Drury. justica Peace
Joseph Wei nfurter. Tnmsmcr Frank Radu e
1886 j. B. Va ndenhouten. Assessor
Michael Ley. justice Peace 1901
Simon Thibodeau, Chairma n j. B. Vandenhouten
Eugene C ravillion. Supervisor john Luebeck. Constable Desire Colle. Chairman
Joseph H11rtinger Feli x Marsell john Linzmeier, Supervisor
Joseph Filz. Clerk Peter Boucher
Chnrles Pinchart, Treas ure r Hl95 Frank Ricki. Clerk
Joseph Delci in, Assesso r Wenzp, J Seid l, Treas urer
Mich Ae l Ltly, jus tice Pence Mic hn nl Are ndt, Cha innun Charles Sell, Assessor
John Enas Pnte r Seid I. Supe rvisor Christ Drury, justice Peace
J. Haeve rs Lou is Frif!x J. B. Vand e nhout e n
C hnrlc~s j. Sell, C le rk Albert Nuhlicek
1887 Joseph \Neinfm·ter, Trnasurcr George Elfner, Constable
Fred Lohf. Assessor Fe lix Marsell
S imon Thibodea u. Chairma n Michne l Ley. Justice Peace An ton Grasse!
Peter Arendt. Supervisor joseph Petitjea n
Joseph Hartinger John Luebeck. Constable 1902
Joseph Fitz, Clerk F<!liX Marcelle
Charles Pinchart, Treasurer Michael Arendt, Chairman
William Lohf. Assessor 189G John Linzme ier. Supervisor
Mic ha P. I Ley. justice Peace Gustav Jandrain
John Enas Michael Arendt. Chn irm an Fronk Ricki, Clerk
J. Haevers Ioseph Frie x. Supervisor Peter Seidl. T reasurer
joseph Li eb l Fred Lohf. Assessor
1888 Michae l Ley. Cl1irk Desire Colle. justice Peace
josep h Wei nfurt e r. Trensu rr.r Christ Drury
Herman Ulrich. Chairma n j. 13. Vanhoute n. Assessor FP. lix Marce ll e. Constable
Michael Peot, Supervisor C harles Pinchart, Justice Pence George Baierl
Peter ]onet J. B. Vanclen houten H ermon Meade
Michael 1.ey. Clerk Jules Petry
Charles Pin.chart. Treasurer 1903
Charles Grueder. Assessor 1897
Michael Arendt. Chairman
1889 missing Michael Arendt. Chairman Joseph Liebl. Supervisor
Joseph Li ebl. Supervisor Joseph Friex
1890 joseph Friex Charles Se ll. C lerk
Charles Sell. Cle rk Pete r Se idl. Tre<1surer
Michoel Peot. Chai rma n· We nze l Seidl. Tre asu rer Fre d Lohr. Assessor

A lbert Nuhlicck. juslice Peace
An ton Kollross 1909 Michael Arendt, Chn irman
J. ll Vandenh outcrn Eugtm c~ Marcelle. Supervisor
Fr. lix Marcelle, Cons table Anton Kollross. Choirmn n Charles Tillard
Gr.orge Baierl Joseph Ja din , Su pr.rviso r Frank Ricki. C lerk
Herman Meade Joseph Liebl Anton Kollross. Treasurer
Charles Sell. Clerk Victor Laurent. Assessor
19{)4 john j. Peol, T reasurer Jonet. Assessor 1916
Michae l Arendt. Chairman August Radrn~. Justi cf! Peace
Joscph Liebl. Supe rvisor C us t Meade Mi chael Are ndt, ChAirrnan
Joseµh Friex Lou is Haevers Eugene Marcelle, Supervisor
Cha rles S ell, Clerk Charles Sell George Dorner
Peter Seidl. Treasurer Gust Bertrand. Constable Frank Ricki. Clerk
Fred Lohr. Assessor Felix Marcelle L. Vandenhouten. Treasurer
Fran k Rickl, Justice Peace M ike Schroeder Victor Laurent. Assessor
Desire Colle
Fe li x Marsell e, Con.~tflble 1910 19'!7 ond 19Hl
O liver DeBauch
Mike Salentine An to n Koll ross, Chi1irman Mike Arendt. Chairman
Joseph Jadin, Supervisor Joseph Friex. Supervisor
1905 Joseph Liebl Eugene Marcelle
Cha rles Sell. Cle rk Fronk Ric ki. Clerk
August Radue. Cha irman john J. Peal, Treasure r L. V<i nd1~nhouten, Treasurer
Jose ph Liebl. Su1)ervisor Joseph Jone\. Assesso r Pe te r Seidl. Assesso r
Josr. ph Friex Louis Haevers, Justi ce Peace Josaph DuBois, justi ce Peace
John L. Mill e r. Clerk Frank Ricki Pete r ·rhill
Peter Seidl, Treasurer August Radue Gus Bertrand. Constable
J. 0. Vandenhoutcn, Assessor Gust Meade Nick Daul
Nick Spitzer. Just ice Peace Felix Marsell. Const<lble
J. B. Vand enhouten George Linzmeier
Fnink Ricki Gust Bertrand
Ocsirr. Colle Mic hae l Arendt, Cha irman
Nick Sch roeder. Consta ble 1911 Josep h Friex, Supervisor
Felix Marsell Eugene Marcelle
George Li nzmder Michael Arendt. Chairman Joseph Baierl. fr. Clerk
Joseph Jadin, Supervisor Joseph Aschenbrenner. Treosurer
1!106 Joseph Liebl Peter Seidl, Assessor
Frnnk Ricki. C l1:: rk jos DuBois, justice Pence
August Radue. C hn irm;111 Jo hn J. Peat, T reasu rer Pete r Thill
Jose ph Lieb l. Supervisor Pe tr.r Seid l. Assesso r Gus Be rtrand . Const;1ble
Joseph Friex G ust Meade, justice Peace Nick Daul
Albert Liebl. Clerk Louis Friex
Peter Seidl. Treasurer Charles R. Seidl 1920
J. B. Vn ndenhouten. Assessor Felix lvlarcelle. Constable
Dr.sire Colle, Justice Peace Gus Bertrand Mi chael Arendt. Chairman
Fra nk Ric kl Gt:orge Linzm e ie r loseph Friex, Superv iso r
Nick Spitzer Euge ne Marcelle
19'12 Joseph Boierl. Jr. Clerk
1907 jos Aschenbrenner. Treasu rer
Michael Arendt, Chairman Peter Seidl. Assessor
August Radue. C h<1irman Joseph Friex Martin Haevers, Justi ce Peac e
Henry Ha rtinge r. Supervisor Joseph Gus Bertrand. Constab le
Jose ph Lie bl Frnnk Ricki, CIP.rk Nick Daul
J\ lbe rl Li ebl. C la rk john j. Peot. T reas ure r
Peter Seidl. Treris11 rer Peter Seidl. Assessor 1921
J. B. Va ndenhouten. Assessor Gust Meade. justice Peace
John Miller. Justice Peace Lou is Friex Michael Arendt. Chairman
J. B. Vandenhouten Charles R. Seidl Eugene lvlarcelle. Supe rvisor
Joseµh fonet Felix Marcelle, Cons table l o~eph Friex
Gnrhnrt Nendl e. Constable Gus Bertrand foseph B;1ierl, Jr, C le rk
loscph Fnrne rec George Linzme ier fos Asche nbrenn e r, Tre asurer
Art Bazle n Victor La ure nt. Assessor
Oliver DeBauch 1913 Martin Haevers. justice Pence
Gus Dertnrnd. Constabla
1!)08 M ic hael Arendt, Chairman N ick Daul
Louis Friex. Superviso r
August Radue. Chairman Joseph ]. Jon e t 1922
l os(~ph fri ex. Supe rvisor Frn nk Ricki, Cle rk
Joseph Li ebl Anton Kollross. Treflsurer Mic hael Arendt, Cha irman
Albert Lieb l. Clerk Peter Seidl, Assessor Eugene lvlarcelle. Supervisor
Peter Liebl. Clerk Joseph Friex
Peter Seidl. Treasurer 1914 Joseph Baierl. fr. Clerk
I. B. Vanden houten, Assessor Jos Aschenbrenn er. Treasurer
l.ouis l·lflevers. Justice Peace Micha e l Ar1::ndl. Chairman Victor Laurent, Assessor
C harles Se ll C ha rl es Tillard, Suparv iso r Ma rtin 1-loevers. justi ce Peace
Jo hn M iller Hcm y Alsteen Gus Be rtrand , Cnnst nble
j. B. Vandenhout en Frank Ricki, Clerk Nick Daul
Gus Bertrand. Constable Anton Kollross. Treasurer
Oliver DeBauch Victor Laurent. Assessor 1923
Felix tvfo rcelle
l9't5 MichAel Arendt. Chnirman
1lenry Seidl. Supervisor Mnrtin Haevers. fuslice Peace
Joseph Friex George Frisque fos. j. Joner. Chairman
Joseph B;iierl, Jr, Clerk H. Bredael. Constablt:i r.eorge Dorner. Supervisor
L. Va ndenhouten, Treasurer Geo. Vandenhoulen August Darl
Vklor La m enl, Assessor Jose ph 8;1ierl. jr, Clerk
Frnnk Nova k. jl', justice Peace 1930 An ion Kollross, Trc:11smur
Mnrtin 1lnevers L. Vnndrrnhoutnn, /\ssc:ssnr
Nick Daul. Constable Jos. J. jonet. Chairman Quentin Veeser. J11slicc Pence~
George Bertrand Michae l Pnnkl'nlz, Supt!rvisur Felix Bunker
1lenrv P. Seidl jos. Linzmeier. Conslable
192-1 Joseph Bnierl. fr. Clerk Ray Rerzlaff
Frank Meisle r. Jr, Trensurcr
lvfich;iel 1\rendt, Chairman L. Va ndenhoute n. Assesso r 1937
fosep h Friex. Supervisor M<il'lin Haevers. juslice Peace
Henrv Siedl Cqorgc Frisque [os. j. fonet. Chnirman
Joseph Baierl. Clerk Peter Kollross, Conslflble A11g11sl Dari, S11pc! rvisor
L. Vnndenhouten. Trnnsurcr Ari LeLo u Geo rge Dorner
Svlvirn LiJCourt. Assessor Quentin Veeser, Clerk
F;·ank Novak. Jr. justice Peace 1931 Anion Kollross. Trnasurcr
Nick 011111. Constable L. Vandenhouten. Assessor
George Oertrand jos. J. Jonel, Chairman Felix Bunker. Jusr ice Peace
Michael Pankratz, Supervisor Ceil Vandevelde
'1925 I lonrv P. Seidl jos. Linzmei1;r, ConslablC!
joscph Baierl. Jr. Cle rk Ra y Retzlaff
Michue l Arendt. Chairman Victor Laurent. Treasurer
Eugene Ma rcelle. Supervisor L. V<1 ndenhou1en. Assessor
Hanrv Seidl joseph Dorner, fuslice Pe11ce
Joseph Baierl, Jr. Clerk Martin Haevers Michael Pankratz, Chai rman
L. Vandenhouten. Treasurer Perer Kollross. Constable Augusl Dari. Su11ervisor
Svlvirn LaCourt. Assessor Ari LeLou Leo Haen
Frank Novn k. Jr, juslice Peace Quent in Veeser. Clerk
Nick Daul, Consta ble 1932 An ton Kollross, Treasurer
George Bertrand L. Vanden houl r.n. ;\sscssor
jos. J. jonel, Chnirman John 1-Jnlh=? I. Juslice Peace!
1926 /1r1 LeLou, Supervisor Ceil Va ndeve lde
lienrv P. Seidl Jos. Linzmeier. Con st nb l1~
Jos. J. Jonel. Chairman Joseph Baierl. Jr. Clark R. Rerzlaff
Eugene l\larcelle. Supervisor Viclor Lau rent, Treilsurer
Henn• Seidl L. Vandenhoulen. Assessor 1939 and 19~0
Joseph Baierl. Jr. Clerk Andrew Bragger. justice Peilce
Friln k Meisler. Treasurer lvlilrlin Haevers Michael Pankral?.. Chairman
L. Vandenhouten. Assessor Perer Kollross. Conslable A11g11s1 Dari. Supervisor
lvlarlin H<1eve rs. justice Peace Geo rge Salentine Leo Haen
lvlichne l Pankratz Quenlin Veeser, Clc!rk
Nick Daul. Constable 1933 Anion Ko ll ross. Treasure r
J.P. Seidl L. Va ndenhoulen. Assessor
Jos. j . Jonet. Chairman George N. Rueck!. J11s1ice Peace
1927 Art Lr.Lou. Supervisor jos. Weini nge r. Jr.
Henrv P. Seidl Rav Rerzlaff. Consrnlile
Jos. J. jonet. Chairman Joseph Baierl. jr. Clerk Jos'. Linzmeier
Eugene Marcelle. Supervisor Anton Kollross, Treasurer
Henn· Seidl L. Vn nde nhouten. Assesso r t!l41 and 1942
joseph Baierl. jr. Clerk H. Zietler. justice Paace
Frank Meisler. Jr. Treasurer 1- zmeier. Conslable Michael Pankrnrz. Chairman
L. Vande nhouten. Assessor Geo rge Salenl ine Leo J Jaen. Supervisor
Joseph Dorner. Justice Peace Eli Cravillion
l\ lnrtin l laevers 1 93~ Quenlin Veeser. Clerk
Englebert Behring. Constable An ton Kollross. Treasurer
Julius Ret?.laff jos. j. Jone!. Chairmnn L. Vandenhouren. Assessor
Ari LeLou. Supervisor George N. Rueck!. f11s1irn Peace
1928 Henn· P. Seidl jos. Weininger. fr.
Joseph Baierl. Jr. Clerk Ruv Retzlaff. Conslnble
jos. 1- jonet. Chairman Anion Kollross. Treasurer jos'. Linzmeier
Michae l Pankralz. Supervisor L. Vonde nhouten. Assessor
l lenrv Seidl Ant hony Dhuey. Justice Pence 1943
joscph Baierl. Jr. Clerk H. 7.ieller
Frank l'\ leisler. Jr. Treasurer Rav Retzlaff. Constab le Michil1~ I Pankral?.. Chairman
L. Vandenhouten. Assessor George Salentine Fred Wunsch. Su1>crvisor
joseph Dorner. Justice Peace Eli Cravillion
Martin Haevers 1935 Quentin Veeser. Clerk
Englebert Behring. Conslable Anion Kollross. Treasurer
Geo rge Salentine Jos. j. Jone!. Chairman L.. Va nclenhour en. Assessor
George Dorner. Supervisor
1929 August Dilrt 19·14
joseph Baierl. Jr. Clerk
Jos. J. Jonet. Chairm an Anton Kollross, Treasurer Michnel Pankratz. Chairrm1n
Michael Pankralz. Supervisor L. Vande nhoulen, Assessor Eli Cravillion. Supervisor
Henrv P. Seidl Felix Bunker. Justice Peace Fred Wunsch
Joseph Baierl. Jr. Clerk fos. Linzmeier. Constable Quentin Veeser. Clerk
Frnnk Meisler. Jr. Treasurer Ray Relzlaff Ben Koss. Treasurer
L. Vandenhouten. Assessor L. Vandenho111nn. Assesso r
Eli Cravillion. Supervisor
1945 Fred Wunsch 1964
Clarence Blahn ik. Clerk
Q uentin Veeser. Chairman Clarence Seidl. Treasurer Albert De lcore. Chairma n
Eli Cravillion, Supervisor Henry Sell, Assessor Joseph Beirl. Supe rvisor
Fred Wunsch R. Hanamann
Clnrence Novak.. Clerk 1!l57 Clanrnce Bla hn ik. Cle rk
Ben Koss. Treasurer Fabian Tebon. Jr. Treasurer
L. Va ndenhoulen. Assessor Clarence Seidl. Chairman Quen ti n Veeser. Assessor
Joseph Beilr, Supervisor
'194{) Wilfred Massart 1965 and 1966
Clarence Blahnik, Clerk
Qucnlin Veeser. Chairman Fabian Te bon, j r'. Treasurer Albert Deleon~. Chairman
Eli Cravillion, Supervisor Henry Sell. Assessor Joseph Beirl. Supervisor
Fred Wunsch George Deprey. justice Peace R. Hanamann
Clrr rence Novak, Clerk Clarence Blahnik, Clerk
Bc:m Koss. Treasurer 1958 F. Tebon. Jr. Treasurer
L. Vandenhoulen . Assessor Quentin Veeser, Assessor
Clare nce Seidl. Chairman Wm. Nimmer. juslice Peace
1947-1948-1949 Joseph Beirl, Superviso r George Stahl, Conslable
Wilfred Massart Richard S imonar
Quentin Veeser, Chairman Clarence Blahnik. Clerk Robert Daul. Just ice Peace
Eli Crnvillion. Superv isor Fa bia n Tebon. Jr, Treasure r Andrew Alsteen, C 0
Ed Ha nnman He niy Sell. Assessor
C larence Seidl. Clerk George Oep .. ey, Justice Peace 1967
Ben Koss, Treasurer
L. Va nclenhouten. Assessor 1959 Albert Delcon::e. Chai rman
Robert Daul. Supervisor
1950 Clarence Seidl. Chairma n R. Hanamann
Wilfred Massart. Supervisor Clarence Blahnik. Clerk
Robert Bertrand, Chairman Joseph Beirl Fabian Tebon. Jr, Treasurer
Eli Cravillion. Supervisor Cla rence Blahnik. Clerk Robert Weidner, Assessor
F.d Hanamann Fa bian Tebon, Jr. Treasurer George Stahl. Constable
C larence Seidl. Clerk Henry Bertrand, Assessor Richard Simonar
Jaco b ). Dorner, Jr, Treasurer George Deprey, Justice Peace Wm. Nimmer, Justice Peace
Geo. M. Arendt. Assessor Andrew Alstee n. C D
195'1 1968
Alberl Delcore. Chairman
Ben Koss. Chairman Robert Daul. Supervisor Albert Delcore. Chairman
Eli Cravillion. Supervisor H arold Recke lberg Robert Da ul. Supervisor
Fred Wun sch Cla rence Seidl. Clerk R. H anamann
Clarence Seidl, Clerk Fa bian Tebon, Jr, Treasm er Clarence Blahn ik, Clerk
Jacob j. Dorner, Jr. Treasurer Robert Weidner. Assessor Fabian Ta bon. Jr. Treasurer
Joseph Gaier\, Sr. Assessor George Stahl. Consta ble Robert Weicln A1'. Assessor
Donald Salenline. justice Peace Pe ter Kollross G1~oi·ge Stahl. Constable
W;irren Meisler, Constable Richard S imona r
Lloyd Salentine 1961 Andrew Alsteen. C D
1952 and 1953 Albert Delcore, Chairman 1969
R. Ha namann , Supervisor
Oen Koss, Chairman joseph Beirl Albert DelcortJ. Chairman
Eli Crovillion, Supervisor C larence Blahnik. Clerk Robert Daul, Supervisor
Freel Wunsch Fa bian Tebon, Treas ure r Harold Reckelbe rE
C lnrence Seidl. Clerk Quentin Veeser. Assessor Clarence Seid l. C erk
Jaco b J. Dorn er. Jr. T reasu rer Robert Daul. justice Peace Fabian Te bon. Jr, Treasurer
Joseph Baierl. Sr. Assessor George Stah l, Co nstable Robert Weidner. Assessor
Donald Salentine. Juslicc Peace Peter Kollross George Stahl. Constable
Lloyd Salentine, Constable Peter Kollross
Warren Meisler 1962 Andrew Alsteen. C D
1954 Albert Delcore. Chai rman 1970
R. Hanamann, Supervisor
Ben Koss, Chairman Jose ph Bierl Albert Delcorc, Chti irrnan
Eli Crn villion. Supe rvisor C larence Blahnik. Clerk Robert Daul. Supervisor
f.recl Wunsch Fa binn Tebo n, Jr, Treasurer Harold Reckelber~
Clarence Seid l. Clerk Richard Stodola. Assessor Clarence Seidl. C erk
Jacob J. Dorner. Jr. Treasurer Robert Daul, justice Peace Fabian Tebon, Jr. Treasurer
joseph Baierl, Sr. Asses.50r George Stahl. Constable Robert Weidner. Assessor
Peter Kollross George Stahl. Constable
'1955 Peter Kollross
Hl63 Andrew Alsteen, C D
Oen Koss, Chairman
Ell C rovillion, Supervisor Albert Delcore. Cha irman 1971 and 1972
F'recl Wunsch R. Hanamann. Supervisor
Clarence Blahnik. C lerk Joseph Bie rl Albert Delcore. Chairman
Clarence Seidl. Treasurer Clarence Blahnik. Clerk Robert Daul, Supervisor
Henry Sell. Assessor Fabian Tebon, Jr. T reasurer Harold Recke lberg
Quentin Veeser. Assessor David Barrell. Clerk
1956 George Deprey, justice Peace Fa bian Tebon. Jr. Treasurer
An d rew Alsteen. C ivil Defense Robert Weidner. Assesso r
Ben Koss. Chairman
George Stahl. Constable Harold Recke lberg. Chairman Millon Salentine. Constab le
Peter Kollross Robert Daul, Su1:>ervisor George Stahl. Sr
los. C. Beirl Andrew Alsleen. C D
1973 and 1974 Dnvid Barrell. Cle rk
Ron Zehren. Treasurer °1980
Albe rt Oelcore, Cha irma n Sanford Demoulin. Assessor
Robe rt Diiul. Supe rvisor Rubert Daul. Co ns ta ble H<ll'uld Rec ke lh erg. Chairman
Harold Reckelberg M illon Sa le n ti1w Robe rt Daul. Su pervisor
David Barre ll. Clerk Andre w Als teen, C D Donald Beye r
Fab iirn Tebon. )r, Treasu re r David Ba rrell, Cle rk
Cla re nce Seidl. Assessor 1078 Run Ze hre n. Treas u re r
George Sta h l, Constable San ford Demo11lin, Assessor
Peter Kollross I lnrold Rec ke lbc rg, C ha irmnn M ilton Salentine, Constable
Robert Bredael Robm·t Daul. Supe rvisor George Stahl
Andrew Alsleen. C D )us. G. Bie rl
David Barrett. Clerk 1981 and 1962
1975 and 1976 Ron Zehren. Trensurer
Snnford Demoulin. Assessor Harold Reckelberg. Chairman
Harold Reckelberg, Chairman Millon Salentine. Constable Robert Daul. Supervisor
Robert Daul. Supervisor George Stahl. Sr Donald Bever
jos. G. Beirl Andrew Als teen. C 0 David Bar~ett. Clerk
Da vid 8Arrelt, Clerk Ron Ze hre n. Treasurer
Fabian T e bon. Jr. T reasure r 1979 Sanford De rn ouli n. As:;essor
Ron Zchrcn, Assessor Milt on Sale n tin c. Constable
George Stahl. Sr, Constable I laro ld Recke lbe rg. Ch nirman Geo rge Stah l. Sr
Pete r Kollross Ro lw rl Da ul. Su pe rviso r Andrew Alsteen. C D
Robert 8 redael Dona ld Be,·er
Andrew J\lsteen, C D Oav id Barrett. Cle rk
Ron Zehre n. Treasurer
1977 Sa nford Demoulin. Assessor

1st Se triers of Luxemburg from. Bohemia. Austriu 1st ro11· L to R. Joe Weinfurter Sr.. Corl Rank. Franz Ricki. George Rueck/ Sr.. foe
Dax Sr.. Thomas Christoff Sr.. Lmvrencr. Koh/heck. Peter Seidl 2nd row. 1\nton Kollross, fohn Seidl. Louis Rueck/. George Dorner. A/ois
Stahl, fos. Roierl. Wenzel Seid/, George Linzmeier. :trd row. Anton Kollross, George Ronk. fos l.iebl. Clwrles Linzmeier. Anton Grosse/.
George Rueck/ S r., Frank Christoff. Top row. Tony G rasse/. George Ko h/beck fr .. Andrew Dax. Curl Oberhofer. foe Kollross. Franz
Kollross. Charles zmeie r.

LUXEMBURG COMMUNITY ages of 7 a nd 14-37 boys and 46 girls. Also during
1913 several pieces of property were improved by
(1855-1983} fill from the hill going to South Luxemburg. John
Merens and Reinhold Okrush had the lot between
th em fill ed in. The dump grounds between M ain
Luxemburg is situated in Ke waunee County in the Street and the stock yards w ere improved with fill.
cente r of Luxemburg Township, a busy agricultural The church yard of St. M ary's and the back of the
area. The population consists of a Belgian, Bohe- Imple ment Company also received added soil.
mian and German mixture. During 1915 the Luxemburg News reported, "Mar-
We can be proud of the progress achieved in the s h a 11 Wm Meisler entertained two 'Chimn ey
past 128 years by the first pioneer fa milies who set- Sweeps' in the village lockup Monday evening.
tled h ere, tilled the soil and put their skills to work They arrived in town during morning and proceed-
to start a village. Luxemburg con tains a variety of ed to solicite work. While at work a t Schwab shoe
business establishments that have a varied and in- store they managed to get their hands on a fine pair
teresting history. of shoes and departed later without even extending
At first there were just farms, the Arendts and their thanks to the owner. Later the shoes were sold
Colles lived on the north end of town and Merens to Wm Moede for 75¢ a t the N J Spitzer place.
and Kaut families on the south e nd. Mr. Colle and Arousing Nick's suspicions, he called Mr. Schwab to
Mr. Kaut p latted their property. sold lots and invited id entify the shoes, who in turn called the village
new business and industury to the area. At times marshall."
Nick Kaut a lmost gave his land away in hopes of In 1916 the ice house which had been erected se-
getting a village started. The fi rst business was es- veral years ago a t Second Street crossing, by Rahr
tablished in 1892 by H ector Bench er, called the Brewery, was torn down. On July 22, 1917 the
Wisconsin H ouse. The first real building boom came Kewaunee Racing Association made arrangements
about 1902, homes and stores were constructed, a for races to be held at the local track.
train and freight depot were constructed by the rail- Luxemburg advertised a dandy crop of eligible
road compa ny, and the bank w as established giving batchelors in 1916, amoung those named were: Dr. E
the town a firm foundation for progression. P Ha ppel, Julius Cahn, Julius Retzlaff, John
In 1909 the Luxemburg Guard was organized and Schneider, George Liebl, George Loberger, Walter
under the command of Nick Drexler. John Kleiman Breggar, Joseph Baierl. Frank Hoppe, Engleb e rt
of Green Bay opened a photography studio in the Behring, Louis Rueck!, Jr a nd Anton Santroch.
village. he only stayed a short time. A John Jacobs During 1920 a new bridge w as built between
also opened a studio, staying only a few months. In Casco and Luxemburg. It was 12 feet long with 14
1912 several homes were under quarentine as a re- foot roadway and contain ed 519 yards of concrete,
sult of Sacrlet Fever. That same year the New Store 44, 150 lbs of iron and 750 barrels of cement, and
ball team, under manage r Nick Drexler gave the was completed on August 15, 1920 at a cost of $10,
Regul a r Luxemburg Aggregation a pretty warm 900.
c:hase with a victory on the local ball diamond, Work was started on the electric line from Green
holding them to a 1 to 1 score until the eight inning Bay to Sturgeon Bay in 1921, with the electricity be-
when the New Store team permitted the Regulars to ing turned April 5th of tha t year. Street lights w ere
bring in 3 runs. In the 9th the Store Team brought installed on poles along side Main Street. Ten years
in a run bringing the score to 2-4 in favor of the later suspension center lighting was installed.
Regulars. · During 1922 the new baseball managers to replace
The New Store Team consisted of Albert Retzlaff, Alvah Arpin and F W H annon were Ole Evenson
Michael Ley, Eddie Linzmeie r, Eddie N ejedlo, Glen and Dr. Moreaux.
M ohr, Walter Bencher, Milton Baye, Ray Elfner and In 1924 Wisconsin Public Service installed a sub-
Clarence Nimmer. sta tion at Daul's farm south of Luxemburg. A new
The Regulars were, Raymond Arend t, Jack fire siren was installed tha t same year. The year
Joerger, George Lohrey, Henry Seidl, Otto Kaye, pre vious fire threatened the village. It originated in
Wm Yaeger, Mike Merens, Ed Arendt, Wm Will- a large barn owned by Peter Merens. Destroyed
man.-ball game from Luxemburg News article. were Frank Christoff's horse barn, G H Moede's ga -
During 1912 eggs were 28<t: dozen; bushel spring rage. Steve Libal's warehouse was damaged to the
wheat 88¢; scotch peas $3.00 bushel; rye 8411:; oats extent of $2,000. H omes ignited with slight damages
45¢; barley $1.10 bushel; and bailed hay $16.50 ton. were, G H Moede, C L Peters, Victor Bonjean , Mrs.
In 1913 new Ford Touring cars were purchased J. Mornard, John J DeBaker, H ector Boncher, Ca-
by Peter Colle, Henry Goetsch a nd Ed Zeitler. In mille Stage, Oliver Nellis and Mike Arendt. The
the school census there were 173 pupils between the Luxemburg Furniture store and Meisler garage were

also ignited by sparks. other buildings on the land purchased.
President, Charles Peters proclaimed "Clean up In 1939 horseshoe courts ond an outside basket-
Week" in spring of 1928. Every household was de- ball court were constructed in the park.
signated to cooperate in cleaning their yard and April of 1939- from Lux News- "The Luxemburg
basements.- "Clean homes and yards are good ad- Village Jail, which hasn't had an occupant since
vertisement for the village." Also in 1928 Clara Bow goodness knows when has been 'condemned' as un-
was a "WOW" in her latest picture, "IT" at the op- suitable and termed 'obsolel:e' by Miss Blanch Mur-
era House. phy, state inspector who said it should be replaced
During 1929 a serious orchard pest was discovered by a modern structure. Luxemburg folks are scratch-
"Buffalo Tree Hopper" did damage in apple orchards ing their heads and are asking themselves just what
in the vicinity. Also that same year many complaints the jail is unsuitable for seeing as it isn't being
were received by people in the village relative to the used. Once in a blue moon police chief Bill Martin
discharge of fire arms within the village limits. In a allows some transient to sleep there overn ight. The
number of instances residents fel t themselves in much villagers certainly don't want to put up the expense
danger when bullets whistled about their premises. of putting up a new building."
Property has been destroyed at the fairgrounds, win- The old stockyards located near the Green Bay
dows broken in unoccupied buildings and many dep- and Western Railroad tracks was dismantled. It was
redations committed. Shooting within the village limits constructed when shipping was clone by rail. The
was therefore prohibited. lumber was purchased by Emil Legois.
In 1931 the newly reorganized basketball team In 1943 a complete sewer and water system was
opened the new season at Okrush hall De:cember begun. A new pumping station was built on the
1st. The married men played the single men. The edge of town near a 500' deep well that serves as
married m e n 's team consisted of Frank Hoppe, the source of supply. Lights were also added to the
George Conard, Peter Colle, J Minor Bergen, Her- ball diamond and the Luxemburg Invitational Tour-
man Kratz, Peter Baye, Charles L Peters, C F nament was started which attracted tea ms from as
Schmiling, Elmer Barbiaux. Dr. E P Happel, Louis far south as Menasha.
Cravillion and son "Curly," V\lencil Gasche, Al- In 1952 an old land mark was razed . The old beer
phonse U llsperger, Emil Ullsperger, Roy Kaye, Bert house used for storing beer and beverages by Sy
Theys and Edmund Rueckl. Nellis, the distributor for Rahr Brewing, was dis-
The single men candidates were, George Gregor. mantl ed by Jerry Libal. The lumber will be used for
Ralph Colle, Andrew Bragger, Leon Laurent, Art his cottage at Dyckesville.
Rueck], Joe Nellis, Ralph Schmiling, George Koll- The d ial system was installed in 1962 by General
ross, Walter Guillette, "Tween" Marcelle and Fritz Telephone Company. A swimming pool project was
Seidl. initiated in 1969 but never really got off the ground,
Two good lineups will be picked out of these h'llo and the idea was dropped. During 1966 natural gas
squads. It is doubtful if Elmer Barbiaux will be in a was piped into the area.
suit due to his popular demand in coaching his A low rent housing project was built across from
bowling team. While Doc Happel stubbed his toe, the IGA store in 1975. Elderly people are able to
the injury is coming along nicely. Postmaster Albert rent at a reduced rate. The project was very suc-
Albert Liebl will handle the rul es and regulations cessful and another housing unit was built in 1981.
assuring fans and team fair decisions.-basketball On July 2, 1975 the village board was accorded a
story from Luxemburg News article. pleasant surprise upon opening bids on property for
Several hundred trees were planted in the village the water tower. Through the generosity of William
by a crew of men in 1932. That same year Michael Belter and Mrs. Edward Kratz, owners of the two
Pankratz laid sidewalks in the village and up the lots directly east of the village hall, the property was
hill to South Luxemburg. In 1933 Luxemburg cele- given as a gift to the village. The parcel of land is
brated its Silver Jubille on July 30th. the highest elevation in the village and well suited
Peter W Seidl sold a quarter of an acre located for the water tower.
north of the village for use as dumping grounds. The Luxemburg Waste Water Treatment System
The previous site was Zellner's gravel pit south of was put into operation in 1979. It is designed to
the village. A special meeting of the village board serve a village population of 2,000 people plus an
was called to place an order for an electric siren for industrial equivalent of approximately 4,000 people.
fire warnings at a cost of $600. Un ique features of the aerated lagoon treatment sys-
During 1936 work progressed on 14 lots purchased tem with stainless steel non-clog diffusers, and a
by the village for a park. The property was used as submerged rock filter for algae removal.
a dumping ground and was in need of landscaping.
Houses were sold and moved elsewhere as were
This is a brief history of Luxemburg from its be- 1\)'13
Cha rles Pete rs, Pres
ginning until 1983. A 75th anniversary celebration is
planned for July 3 and 4th. jos Gots t.e in. Desire Co lle. Wm Quade. H ermill1 Nim me r. Da n
Daul , George Rueck! , T rus tees
There are small communities which lie close to
Luxemburg in the township and a brief history of Geo rge Elfn e r. C le rk
Art C Bazle n. T rens
each follows the list of village officials. Fred Lo hr, Assesso r
Hector Bonche r, Su prv
Joh n Mille r. I P
Wm Si nkl e r
Wm Mies le r. Cons t
VILLAGE OFFICIALS 1908-1982 '1914
C ha rl es Pete rs, Pres
Pe te r Bouche. Presiden t H ector Boncher. Geo rge Ley. Geo rge Ru ec k!. jos Gots te in, Des ire
Co ll e, Wm Q u;ide. Trust c~es
Louis Liebl, Danie l Daul, Ja mes San lroc h. Lawrence Ru ec k! ,
Pe ter Me rens. O live r DeBauch. T rus tees George Eirne r. Cle rk
Art Bnzle n. T reas
A I Ville rs, C le rk Fred Lohf. Assesso r
A J Salm on. Treas Hec lo r Bonche r. Suprv
Fred Lohf. Assessor joh n Mi ll e r. I P
Hecto r Bonche r. Suprv Wm S in kle r
George Elfn e r. Const O le Evenso n. Po li ce
Jos vVe in fu rler. I p Wrn Miesle r, Const
Joh n Miller
Willia m Meisle r. Po lice ·19l5 mi ssing

1909 '19'1£l
Peter Bouche. Pres Cha rles Pe te rs. Pres

Louis Liebl, Da niel Dau l. Ja mes Sa nl roch. los Gots te in. Hecto r Frun k Paal. A Peot. jos Hosl ct. Hecto r Bonc:he r. George Ley,
S meester. H Nimmer. Trustees George Ruec k!. Trustees

Charles Teske. Cle rk Geo rge Elfne r. C le rk

A j Salm on. T reas jos Gotste in. Tre as
Fred Lohf. Assessor Pe te r Mornard. Assessor
Hector Bonc her. Su prv Hector Bonc he r. Suprv
Camille S tage. Const joh n Mille r. I P
john L Mille r. I P Wm !Vliesle r. Co nsl
Wm IVliesler. Police
1910 Cha rles Pete rs. Pres
Peter Bouche, Pres
joh n Ne llis, Frank Pan l. Anton Pcot. jos Hoslet, Hector Bonche r.
Da n Da ul. H S meeste r. H Nim mer. L Liebl. Jam es Sa ntroch. I George Ru ec k!. Trustees
Gotste in. T rustees
C le m Rass. Clerk
Marlyn Bac on. Cle rk Jos Hos le!. T reasure r
Geo Rueckl. T reas Pete r Mornard. Assessor
F red Lohf. Assessor Hector Bencher, Su prv
H ector Boncher. Su prv john Mi ller, I P
N ick Drex le r. Const Fra n k Hoppe
los Wei nfurte r, I P \•\ Im Mies le r. Co nst

191 1 '19-W
Cha rles Se ll, Pres Cha rles Pe te rs, Pres

jos Gotst ein. Desire Colle. Wm Quade, Dan Da ul. Hector Fra n k Hoppe. Joh n Ne llis. Frank Paa l. Anton Peo l. Hector
Smees ter. H N immer. Trnslees Boncher. Ed Ke llihe r. Trustees
George El fner. Clerk Cle m Rass. Cle rk
Ol iver De Ba uch, Treas jos Hos le!, Treas
Fred Lohf. Assesso r Pe te r Mo rn a rd. Assesso r
Heclor Be nche r, S u prv Hecto r Bencher, S u prv
Wm Meisle r. Cons t Olio Kaye. J P
I L Miller. I P Joh n Mille r
Gus Retzla ff. Sir Com m Wm Miesle r, Const
191 2 1919
Cha rl es Se ll. Pres Chn rl es Pele rs. Pres
Jos Gotste in, Desire Coll e. G Rueck], Wm QuadH. Da n Daul. 1-1 Anton Peot. Lou is Rueck!. Cha rles Hoe breckx Jr. Frank Hoppe,
Nimmer T rustees Hector Boncher. Ed Ke ll ihe r. T rustees
George Elfne r, Clerk Cle m Rass. C le rk
Oli ve r De Bauch. Treas jos Hoslet. T reas
F red Lohf, Assessor Pe te r Mo rn ard. Assesso r
H ector Boncher, Suprv Hecto r Boncher, Su p rv
Wm Mi esle r, Cons! O tlo Kaye, I P
Wm Sinkle r. I P lu li us C<i hn. Po lice
Gus Re tzla ff. Str Comm Wm Mi es le r. Cons t

'1920 '1927 ·1935 a nd 1936
Cha rl es Pelers. Pres Charles Peters. Pres Cha rles Peters. Pres
Frank Hoppe. Herman Kra tz. Michae l Frank Hoppe. John Mcrens, Ceoq,:c Peler Mornord. Louis Rueck! Jr. Ed
Merens. Anion Peol. Louis Rueck!. C Rueck! Jr, Anton Grasse!. Victor Lnu rcnt. Jacques. Frank Hoppe, John J Peot. Ralph
Hoebreckx Jr. Trustees Xnvier Mornard. Trustees Colle. Trustees
Clem Rass. Clerk Clem Rass. Clerk Clem Rass. Clerk
jos Hosle!, Treas jos Hoslet. Assessor E P Hnppel. Treas
George Rueck! Sr. Assessor Hector Boncher, Suprv john De lwiche. Assessor
Hector Boncher. Supiv Clnylon Kaye. I P l-leclor Bonche r, Suprv
john Miller. I P Julius Cairn. Po lic1~ l-l nrold Peters, J P
Otto Kave Wm Ma rlin, Consl Julius Cohn , Polico
Wm Miesler, Consl Wm Mri rtin. Const
1921 Charl es Peters. Pres '1937
Charles Pelers. Pres Frank Hoppe, [o hn J Peot. Ralph Colle. Charl es Pelc rs. Pres
Anton Peot. Peler Morn ard, J B Victor Lau rent. Xavier Morna rd . Anion Ed Jacqu es. Louis Ru eck! Jr, John I Peot.
Weinfurter. George Ru eck! Sr. Frank Crnssel fr. Trustees Ralph Colle. Fran k I loppe. Peter
Hoppe. Herman Kratz. Trustees Clem Ross. Clerk Mornard. Truslees
Clem Rass. Clerk E P Happel. Treas Clem Rass. Clerk
Otto Kaye. Treas Jos Hoslet, Assessor E P Happel. Treas
los Hoslel. Assessor Hector Boncher. Suprv john Delwich. Assesso r
Hector Boncher. Suprv Claylon Kaye, J P Hector Boncher. Suprv
John Miller. J P Julius Cahn. Police john Miller. J P
fran k Hannon Wm Martin. Const Juli us C;ihn. Police
Julius Cahn, Police Wm Marti n, Const
Wm Miesler, Const 1929
Cha rl es Peters. Pres 1936
1922 An ton Grasse) Jr. Vic tor Luurcn t. Xavier Cha rl es Peters. Pres
Charl es Peters. Pres Mornard. Frank Hoppe. John Peot. Ralph Ed lacques. Peter Mornnrd. Louis Rueck!
!vlichael Merens. George Rueck! Jr. Colle, Trnslees Jr. Ralph Colle. Frank Hoppe. Herman
Anton Peot. Peter Morna rd. ) B Clem Rass. Clerk Kralz. Trustees
Weinfurter, Fran k Hoppe. Trustees E P Happel. Treas Clem Rass. Clerk
Clem Rass. Clerk Clem Oepas, Assessor E P Happel. Trens
Olio Kave. Treas Hector Boncher. Suprv Clem Oepas. Assessor
Jos Hosle!. Assessor Clem Depas. I P Albert Liebl. Suprv
Hector Boncher. Suprv Julius Cahn. Police John Miller. P J
lohn Miller. J P \.\I m Ma rlin. Const Julius Cairn. Police
Wm Miesler. Const Wm 1Vla rt in. Consl
Juli us Cahn. Police 1930 and ·1931
Chnrles Peters. Pres 1939
19 23 and ·1924 ;\nlon Grasse! Ir. Victor La urnnl. Xnvier Charles Pelers. Pres
Charles Peters. Pres Mo rn ard. Frank Hoppe. john Pcot. Rnlph Ed lacq ucs. P(!tOr Mo rna rd. Louis Rueck]
Peter Morna rcl. Anton Peot. J B Colle. Truslees Jr. R11l ph Colle. Frank Hoppe, Herm an
Wei nfurter. Fra nk Hoppe. Michae l Clem Rnss. Clerk Kratz. T rustees
Merens, Geo rge Ru eckl Jr. Trustees E P Happel. Treas Clem Rass. Cle rk
Clem Rass. Cferk Clem Oepas. Assessor E P Hnp pel. Trc<ts
Otto Kave. Treas Hector Boncher. Suprv Clem Oepas. Assessor
Jos Hosiet. Assessor Roy Kaye. J P Albert Liebl. Suprv
Hector Boncher. Suprv fulius Cahn. Police Joh n Miller. I P
Clem OePas. J P Wm Martin, Const Julius Cahn. Police
John Miller Wm Ma rti n. Const
Julius Cahn. Police 1932
Wm Jvliesler. Const Charles Pele rs, Pres 1 940
john Peot, Frank Hoppe. Ralph Colle. Charl es Peters. Pres
1925 Xavier Mo rn ard. Anton Grasse!, Victor Ed Jacques. john Mo rnard. Louis Rueck)
Charles Peters. Pres Lauren!, Trnstees Jr. Frank Hoppe. Herman Kratz. Ra lph
Anton Grasse!. Victor Laurent. Peter Clem Ross. Clerk Colic. Trustees
Morna r<l, Frank Hoppe, George Rueck!. E P Happel. Treas Clem Rass. Clerk
john Merens. Trustees john De lwiche. Assessor E P Happel. T rcns
Clem Rass, Clerk Hecror Boncher, Suprv Clem De p;1s. Assessor
E P Happe l, Treas Ha rold Peters. J P Albert Liebl. Suprv
Jos Haslet. Assessor Julius Cahn. Police lohn Miller. I P
Hector Boncher. Suprv Wm Marlin, Const Julius C<1hn. Police
John Miller. I P Wm Martin. Const
Julius Cahn. l>olice 1933 and 1934
Wm Mieslcr. Consl Charles Peters. Pres '1941
Victor Laurent. Peter Mornnrd. Louis Chnrles P1!ters. Pres
1926 Rueck! fr. lohn J Peot, Frank Mopp1), Ed lacq ues. john Morna rd, Louis Rueck!
Charles Peters, Pres Ra lph Colle, Trnstees Jr, Elroy I loppe, Leo Seidl, Charles R
Frank Hoppe. John Merens, George Clem Rnss, Clerk Seid l. Truslecs
Rueck! Ir. Anion Grossel. Victo1· Laurent. E P Ha ppel, Treas Clem Rn ss. Cl<:1 rk
Peter Mornard. Trustees Clem Oepns. Assessor E P Happel. Treas
Clem Rass, Clerk l-lec:lor Boncher. Suprv C l1~m 0<:1pns. Assessor
E P Happel. Treas J-lornld Peters. J P Al bert Liebl, Suprv
Jos Boslet, Assessor fuli us Cahn. Police John Miller. J P
Hector Bonchcr. Suprv Wm Mnrtin, Const Julius Cairn. Polic:o
Clayton Kaye. P f Wm Ma rl in, Const
Julius Cohn. Police
J B Wein furter. Const

1942 a nd 1943 t950 ·t95\J a nd 1%0
Ch11rles Pete rs. Pres E J Dewnn e. Pres Ric ha rd C mey la. Pres
Ed Jacq ues. Jo hn M orn a rd . Anton F legel. Pr. te r Mom a rd , Rube Gerondn lf~. Ha rry Art Peot. Anton Flege l, Geo rge N Ru ec k!.
Elroy Hoppe, Leo Seidl, Cha rl es R Se idl. Bou la nge r, Anton F lege l. He mrnn Kra tz. En rl Wngnc r, J-l;Hold Peters, George
Trustees Ed Goetsch. T rustees S e idl. T rnstces
Cle m Rass, Cle rk Cle m R<•ss. Cle rk R<1v L i c~bl. C le rk
E P Ha p pel, Treas Pe te r Co lle. Treas Pete r Co lle. Tn~as
C lem Depas. Assessor Cle m Depas, Assesso r Ric hurd Stodo lt1, Ass1~sso r
Albert Lie bl. Suprv Jo hn Sch wab. Su prv Lc:<ona rd Seid l, Suprv
Joh n Mille r. I P Elroy Hoppe. J P Ed Goetsch. Mnrsh
Julius Ca hn , Police M<llt Ledv ina. Co nst
Wm Ma rti n. Const 1%'1 rgc~ Seidl. Sr ·1951 a nd 1952 Ri chnrcl Cmeyla, Pres
E J Dewa ne. Pres Art Peo t. Anton Fl1::gel. George St!id l.
1944 Art Peot, Rube Gero nd a le. Harry Huro ld Pele rs. Eil rl Wng ner. Geo rge N
Cha rles Peters, Pres Boula nger. An ton Flege l. H1mnan Kra tz. Rueckl. Trustrms
Ed Jacques, Pe ter Morn a rd, Anton Flege l, Ed Goetsch, T rustees Rav Lieb l C le rk
Elroy H o ppe, Cha rles R Seidl. Leo Seidl. C le m Rass. C le rk Peicr Col ie. T reas
" T rus tees Peter Co lle. T rens Ri c hill'd S todola. Assesso r
Clem Rass, Cle rk Cle m Depas. t\ ssesso1· Elrn11 Hoppe. S u prv
E P Ha ppe l. T reas los Baie rl Jr: Su p rv Ed Goetsch. Marsh
C le m De pas. Assesso r Elroy Hoppe. J P
Albert Lie bl, Su prv Mall Leclv in a, Const ·19u2
lohn M ille r, J P Ric hard Cmeyla. Pres
Juli us Ca hn. Police 1953 J\ rt Peot, Anton F lege l. Geo rge Seid l.
George Seidl. Cons t Richard Cmeyla, Pres Harold Peters. George N Ruec kl. Ernest
Anton Flegel, Ed Goetsch. Art Peo t. Ru be Thib;1udeou. T rustees
1945 Ge ronda le. Harry Boula nger. George Ray Lie bl. Cle rk
C ha rles Pete rs. Pres Ruec k! Jr, T rus tees Pete r Co lle. Treas
Elroy H op pe, Charles R Seidl. An ton Rav Lieb l. Cle rk Richard Stodoln. Assessor
Flegel. H e rman Kratz. E W U llspe rger. Peier Colle. Treas Elroy Hoppe. Sup rv
Pete r Morna rd. Trustees C le m De!Jns. Assessor Eel Goetsc h. Mn rs h
Clem Rass. Clerk Jos Baie r Ir. Sup rv
Pete r Colle. T reas H J Kollross. Const 1963 and 't964
Clem Depas. Assessor Richnrd Cmeyla. Pres
Albe rt Liebl. S u prv 1954 I-lnro lcl Lemcms. J\nton Flega l. Hnro ld
John M iller. I P Ric ha rd Cmeyla. Pres Behnke. 1-forolcl Pete rs. Ern est
Ju li us Cuh n. Po lice Art Peot. Ru be Cerondnl e. Harry T hi baudea u. Georg<~ N Ru eck!. Trustees
George Seidl. Sr. Co nst Boulanger. An ton Flegel. George N Rav Li e bl. C lerk
Rueck!. Ed Goetsch. Trustees Peie r Colle. T rens
1946 Rav Liebl. C lerk Riclt<H'd Stodola. Assessor
Charles Pe te rs. Pres Pe ie r Co lle. Treas Elroy Hoppe. S u prv
P J Morn arcl, Elroy Hoppe, Charles R Clem De pas. Assesso r Eel Goe tsch. Ma rsh
Se id l. An ton Flege l. Herma n Kra tz. Ed Jos Baierl Jr. S up rv Orv ill e Kruege r. Civ il Defense
Goetsch. T rustees H J Ko llross. Const
C le m Rass. C lerk ·1955
Pete r Colle. T reas 1955 anti 1956 Richa rd Cmevla. Pres
C le m Oepas. Assesso r Richard Cmevla. Pres Ha rold Pe te rs. George N Ru ec k!. Ernnst
A lbert Liebl, Su prv Ari Peo t. Ha1:old Peters. Harry Boulange r. Thibaudem1. Ha rold Le me ns. Llovd
Joh n Miller. / P Anto n Flegel. Geo rge N Rueck!. Len Wi n k. Jim Vand risse. Trustees ·
Julius Calin. Police Ya nda. T rustees Rilv Liebl. Clerk
George SeidL S r. Const Ray Li e bl. Clerk Pe ic r Colic. Treas
Peter Colle. Tre11s Ric l111rcl Stodo l<1. Assessor
1947 Riclrnrd Stodola. Assessor Elroy Hoppe. Suprv
Cha rles Peters. Pres Jos Baie rl Ir. Suprv C le m Barbiaux. Police
Peter Mornarcl. Elroy Hoppe. Cln1rles R H J Kollross. Const Paul Ma hli k. Ma rsh
Seidl. i\nlon Flegel. H e rman Kra tz. Eel
Goe tsch. T rustees 1957 1966
Clem Rass. Cle rk Rich11 rd Cmevla. Pres Richn rd Cmevln. Pres
Peter Colle. Treas Ari Peot. Ha1:old Pete rs. 1\nton Flege l. john Rue ck!. 'George N Ru ec kl. Ernest
Clem Depas. Assessor Harry Boulanger. Len Ya nda. George N Thibaudeau. Harold Le me ns. Lloyd
Albe rt Liebl, Su prv Rueck!. Trustees Wink. lim Vundrisse. Trustees
John Miller. I P Rav Lie bl. C le rk Rav Li ebl. Clerk
J1Jlius Cahn. Po lice Peie r Coll e. T reas Peter Colle. Trens
Algernon Deprez, Const Ri cha rd S todola. Assessor R ichtll'd Stodol;1. t\ssessor
Leona rd Seidl. Su prv El roy Hoppe. Suprv
1948 and 1949 Ed Goetsch. Ma rsh Clem Bnrbiaux. Police
Charles Peters. Pres P1n1l lvlci hlik. M<lrsh
Peter Morn arcl. Elroy Hoppe. Charles R 1958 Orville Kru eger. C D
Seid l. An ton Flegel. Herman Kra tz. Ed Richa rd Cmevla. Pres
Goetsch. Trustees 1\rt Peol. Anton Flege l. Harold Peters. 1!JG7
Clem Rass, Clerk Earl Wagne r. George N Rue ck!. Le n Richard Crnevla. Pres
Peter Colle. Treas Yanda. T ru stees John Ru ec k!. 'George N Ru eck!. Ern est
Clem Depas. Assesso r Rav Liebl. C lerk Th ibauden u. Haro ld Le rn ens. Jack Arpin.
Albert Liebl. Suprv Pe te r Co lle. Trnas Pnu l Mahlik. T rust ees
John Mille r. J P Ric hard Stodola. Assessor Constant Thif\'. Clerk
Ju lius Ca h n. Polirn Leonard Seid l. Suprv Pe te r Coll e. l 'reils
Alge ron Deprey. Const Ed Goetsch. Marsh Richard Stocloln. Assessor
Elroy Ho\>pe. Suprv
Ha rold T 1evs. Marsh
Allen G il so11. C D

1968 1973 ·1973
Richard Cmevla, Pres Harold Lemens. Pres Harold Le me ns, Pres
Jim T lachac, George N Ru eck!, Caro l R<1lph Kline. George N R1wck l. Roger Erwin De pas, Ralph Kline. Chris Bouche.
Seidl, Harold Lernens. jack Arpin, Paul Lf~e. Wnlte r 1-lannnmiln , Erwin Depi1s. Lloyd Wink. John Paider. Paul Mahlik,
Mahlik, Trustees Llovd Wink. Trustees Trustees
Bernadine Mathu, Clerk Be1:nadine Ma thu , C lw·k Bernadine Mathu, Clerk
Peter Colle. Treas Ke n Moore. Treasure r joa nn e Kollross, Treas (Appointed)
Richard Stodola. Assessor Dnvid Pnq u e, Assesso r Sandy Nimmer, Assessor
Elroy Hoppe, Suprv Ken Tebon. Marsh Gary· Reynen, Marsh
Constant Thiry, Marsh Allen G ilson. C D All en G ilson. C D
Allen Gilson. C D
1974 1979
'1969 Haro ld Le me ns, Pres Harold Le mens, Pres
Richard Cmevla, Pres Ralph Klin e . Haro ld Bc~ hnke. Roge r Lee. E:rwin Depns. Ralph Kline, Chris Bouche.
jim Tlac hac. George N Rueck!. Ca rol W<i lter Hnnnaman. Erwin Oepas. Lloyd Lloyd Wi nk. Paul Mahlik. john Paider.
Seidl. Harold Lernens, jack Arpin. Lloyd Wink. T rustees Trustees
Wi nk. Trustees Be rnadine Mathu. C le rk 8ern<1dine Mathu. Cl-Tr
Bernadine Mathu. Clerk Ke n Moore . Treas Sa ndv Nimmer. Assessor
Peter Colle. Treas Constant Thiry, Marsh Ga ry" Reynen , Marsh
Richard Stodola. Assessor David Paque. Assessor All e n Gi lson. C D
Elroy Hoppe. Suprv Andrew Alsteen. C D
Constant Thiry, Marsh 1980
Allen Gilson. C D 1975 Haro ld Le me ns. Pres
Haro ld Le me ns. Pres Erwin De pas. Ralph Klin e, Chris Bouche.
1970 Ralph Klin e. Haro ld Be hnk e . Roge r Lee. Lloyd \!Vink. loh n Paider. Lloyd Vincent.
Richard Cmevla. Pres lohn Pn ider. Erwin De pas. Lloyd Wi nk . Trustees
Harold Lernens. jim Metzle r. George N Trustees Be rnadin e Ma thu. Cl-Tr
Rueck!. Carol Seidl, Jack Arpin. Lloyd Be rnadin e !vli1thu. C le rk Sa ndv Ni mm e r. Assessor
·w ink. Trustees Ke n Moore . Trens Ke n L '! Fevre. Police
Be rnadine Ma thu. Cle rk D;ivid Paqu e. Assessor Allen Gilso n, C D
Marion Koehler. Treas Constnnt Thiry, Marsh
Richard Stodola. Assessor Al le n Gi lson. C D 1981
El roy Hoppe. Suprv Harold Le mens. Pres
Ke n Tebon. Marsh 1976 Erw in De pas. Ralph Klin e. David Olson.
A llen Gilson, C 0 Harold Le me ns. Pres Lloyd Wink. Ruth Aprin. Lloyd Vincent.
loh n Paide r. Erwin De1n1s. Ll oyd Wink. Trustees
1971 Rnlph Klin e . Pa ul Mahlik. Roge r T e k- Bernadin e Mathu. Cl-Tr
Ha rold Lemens. Pres ulve. Trust ees Ke n Lefevre. Police
jim Metzler. Geo rge N Rueckl. Ca rol Be rnadin e Mnthu. C le rk Sandy Nimnrnr. Assessor
Seidl. v\lalter Hnnnaman. jack Arpin . Gloria Oepas. Treas All e n Gilson. C D
Lloyd Wink, Trustees Ted Nimm e r, Assessor
Be1:nadine Mathu, Clerk Gary Rey ne n. Mrsh 'J91l2
Marion Koehler. Treas All e n Gilson. C 0 Harold Lem e ns. Pres
Richa rd Stodola. Assessor Erwin Depas. Ralph Kline. Chris Bouche,
Ken Tebon, tvlarsh 1977 Lloyd Wi n k. Ruth Arpin. Lloyd Vincent.
A llen Gilson. C D Harold Le me ns. Pres Truslt~es
loh n Pa id e r. E:rwin De pns, Ll oyd Wink, Bernadine Mathu. Cl-Tr
1972 Ralph Klin e , Paul M<ihi lk. Roge r T e k- Sandy Nimmer, Assessor
Harold Lemens. Pres ulve, Trustees Ke n Lefevre. Police
George N Rueck], Ralph Kli ne, Roger Be rn adi n e Mnthu. C lerk A llen G ilson. C 0
Lee , Walter Hannaman, Erwin Depas, George Ru r.ckl. Trens
jack .A.rpin, Trustees 8<111dy Nimmer. Assessor
Bemadine Mathu. Clerk Garv Reyn e n. M;1rsh
Mnrion Koehler. Treas All en C i'tson, c D
Richard Stodola. Assessor
Ken Tebon. Marsh
Allen Gilson. C D

Old Village /-loll and Fire /-louse

'/'Ile village offers sucll services as
st r ee t m a int ena n ce. garbage
pickup. street cleaning ond police
protec tion. Marv in lloppe served
th1~ village os Sanito r}' Enginee r
for 30 }'ears rf)liring in June of
1979. T he job is toe/a}' done by
Ge r ald Mot /HJ , Ed T loc hoc. a nd
Haymond Brecloel.


£Q-- -1
\ I
I !


3 ~

\ 1
_/ I

NEUREN In July of 1877 Slauson, Grimmer and Company,
of which Joe Duvall was one of the partners, dis-
Neuren was named after An ton Grasse), Sr. who solved. George Grimmer got the Scarboro Mill and
was born in Neuren, Germany. He came to Amer- Joe Duvall the company store in Kewaunee. During
ica, married in Algoma and came to the town of 1882 Grimmer sold the mill to Alex Trudell and
Luxemburg settling in Section 33. The little settle- Charles Kalhoefer.
ment was also called Sharp Corners. In 1885 Anton The second step in the development of this little
was postmaster and storekeeper. He later built a settlement was the erection of a grist mill. In July
cheese factory and sa loon. A stage coach passed 1884 a large custom flour mill was erected by Alex
through bringing mail to the area from Green Bay. Trudell. Power provided by the dam ran both the
The business was later sold to John Hruska family. saw mill and grist mill. Flour was ground there, in-
(See Hruska/Rendezvous) cluding rye flour. Farmers grew rye in those days
and Joseph Thibaudeau won a prize for hauling the
largest load, 248 bushes.
Bernard (Barney) Duescher had a blacksmith shop
just north of the grist mill. He served not only the
mills but neighboring farmers as well. It was not
until about 1900 that new busin ess came to Scar-
In 1899 Martin Kumbera bought a house and
made cigars for resale. H e purchased another build-
ing, a saloon and the next year he purchased two
more build ings, a saloon and store, with his daugh-
ter Christina managing the store. In 1901 Martin
built a cheese fac tory across the road and a larger
store just to the east by the Scarboro Creek. In 1906
Martin moved to Oconto and Fred Gaedtke pur-
chased the store with Frank Novak acquiring the sa-
These buildings in Neuren (Sharp Corne rs] occupied the north- loon a few years later. Frank remodled the building
cusl co rne r of !he intersection. dirnctly ucross th e road from the and added a dance hall. During 1914 Edward Sticka
present Re ndezvous. The tavern on the corner, the store behind
became the owner of the store selling to Roy Hrabik
it, und the f(lrmers' impleme nt sto re (topped by <1 windmill) oil
belonged to An ton Grosse! until obout J!IOR when he entered who also owned the cheese factory.
business in Luxemburg. None of the buildings is still standing nor In the 1880's log cabins near the mills housed the
was anyone able lo identify me mbers of the Dorner crew. workers giving way to frame houses. The first house
in Scarboro was built by Felix Bunker, Sr. Later
SCARBORO Alex Trudell bought the house from Felix and built
a stone wall fronting the property. To the south was
The name Scarboro apparently came from Scar- a house occupied by Kalhoefer, the miller. Still
boro, Maine and Edward Decker seems to be the further south, a home well hidden by apple trees,
man responsible for the transfer when he became was an English family. Just beyond these houses
part of the westward movement and left Casco, was the home of Henry Veeser. [Today Herman
Maine for Wisconsin. Heurkens house stands across the road from the
Scarboro is in a locality around which much of mill site on what once was Trudell's property.) The
the early history of the county is cen tered. People children from these homes and surrounding area at-
traveling CTH "A" may well wonder that it merits a tended the Hawthorne School.
name at all. Si mon, Maxium and John Thibaudeau arrived
As near as can be determined a mill was erected from Canada in 1851. From Prussia came the Peot
on Scarboro Creek shortly after the middle of the and Luebeck families. Louis Bastian, Frank Vanouse,
1800's by a firm known as Slauson, Grimmer and and the Bunker's also came from Canada, arriving
Company. In 1871 a dam was built to hold the wa- about 1864. Barney and Mike Wahl, as well as John
ters of Scarboro Mill Pond which furnished the and Nicholas Salentine arrived from the Duchy of
needed power. The sawmill was a busy place in Luxemburg. Alex Trudell from Ireland, the Novak
those days, one operation was the making of shin- family from Bohemia, Joe and John Zigamo along
gles. In March of 1872 Mr. Grimmer reported that with the Seidl's from Austria. Adolph Ebel came
eight million feet of logs were gotten out on the from France, H enry Fischer from Germany and
Scarboro, three million on School Creek, and two Robert Clementz, John Henis, Ned Smith and Frank
million on the main river. Smetana from Bohemia.

One must not think of Scarboro residents as in- low. Mrs. Gae dtke's summer kitchen was swept
dulging in all work a nd no play, for it was a center away as was the bridge. Swirling waters, almost
for horse racing. Frank Novak had built a track east waist deep, fille d the roadway between the tavern,
of Scarboro. In October of 1916 a number of racing cheese factory and store. tearing out hitching posts
enthusiasts improved the track, a circular half-mile, in front of Novak's tavern, and necessitating people
and built a large barn divided into stalls for the en- to cling to each other as they made their way to
trants. Racing events were front page news and at- higher ground .
tracted many spectators, as reported by the Luxem- In 1913 the dam was rebuilt and for some years
burg News and other local papers. sawing was still in progress, but with the cutting of
the forests, one of the sawmills closed. Although no
part of the mill remains, remnants of the dam are
still visible. Frank Novak had just completed his

.. s· C.i:1 r b
o t- c
dance hall addition a month before the flood. The
supports under his hall were undermined and the
building threatened. The hall became a popular
place in the 1920's. Frank Novak sold the business
to William Miller of Algoma, and he later turned
the tavern and hall over to Harold DeKeyser and
Rube Lemerond. In 1953 fire completely destroyed
the dance hall and tavern, called the Scarboro Val-
ley Inn. Today the only buildings left are the cheese
factory, owned by Irma Drew which was turned into
a tavern by Tom Kinj erski and the store built by
Martin Kumbera and until recently operated by the
Peronto family.
During 1929 the road at Scarboro was straightened
out and the hill lowered. Six years before the old
bridge was replaced by a concrete one at a cost of
Sacred Heart Church (Little French Church)
"Scarboro was ,,,without a doubt the liveliest spot Not-too-clear deeds indicate that Simon Thibau-
in Kewaunee County last Sunday Aftern oon. The deau and Felix Bunker gave land for church pur-
horse race scheduled to take place on the mill pond poses and the cemetery. It was called many names,
was witnessed by 1,000 persons. Lady Sprague, an Little French Church, Peot Church, Casco Junction
Algoma horse driven by Wm Trudell won 3 heats Church and Bunker Hill Church, but officially the
out of 4 with Rose B Rite, own ed by Otto Boness name was Sacred Heart.
taking second money. Uncas Lad, owned by Art C It was located 2 miles east of Luxemburg on CTH
Bazlen was third while Ben M owned by Otto Ne- "A" and established by Father Dames O.S.C. The
metz was fourth." first mass was offered in Simon Thibaudeau's home
The price of admission was 25¢. Nova k-Kalhoefer by Father Dames. There was a sprinkling of Ger-
Milling had erected an ice house and supplied ice man, Bohemian and Irish families. At one time 50
to creameries, taverns and meat markets. When ice families belonged to the congregation . When the
harvest was not in progress, throngs of spectators parish at Luxemburg was established the church
enjoyed the sport of horse racing on the ice. was phased out of existence. In 1910 the building
As time went on a series of tragedies erased most was sold at auction to Mike Pankratz who razed it
of Scarboro. By 1910 Mr. Trudell had sold his inter- to build his house in South Luxemburg. The first
est in the mills to John Novak Jr, and the business burial was that of 2 yea r old Alex Thibaudeau in
was then operated under the name Novak-Kalhoefer 1863 and the last burial was in 1916, Mrs. Simon
Milling Company. In 1911 Mr. Kalhoefer left the (Adele) Thibaudeau. Markers bearing such names as
company because of he was unable to cope with the Bunker, Clemence, Harvey, Korinek, Krcma, Kum-
dust in the mill. In October of that year the flum e bera, Larkin, Smith, Smetana, Newton, Tuma, and
went out, due to pressure on weakened parts, a loss Thibaudeau dot the cemetery. In recent years the
of $1600. On Friday July 12, 1912, the grist mill was trees which had overgrown the land were cut down
struck by lightening, and completely destroyed the and the grass cut. A marker will be erected with all
structure. Four days later h eavy r ains destroye d the names of the deceased. In all it was a resting
much property in Kewaunee County and the da m place for 62 persons, 24 children under the age of
broke, spilling Scarboro Mill Pond on the valley be- 18.

Today, if you are a fisherman, you may come to From time to time Scarboro has had "Oil Fever."
Scarboro to fish the cool trout streams which are As far back as 1907 Henry Veeser was digging a
famous in this area. or try for bass in the Kewaunee sewer and discovered some shiny particles on water
River. If you are a hunter, you may come to the val- which proved to be oil. He was interviewed by a
ley to hunt for deer or rabbit in the wood fi elds. representative of John D Rockefeller and turned
Part of the land is now owned by the government down an offer of $10,000 because he felt he could
and set aside as a natural habitat, which allows get a better offer, but nothing materialized. Again in
hunting of pheasants and other game birds. The 1920 promoters following a geologists report suc-
train still runs on the same tracks as in 1892, but it ceeded in getting interested citizens to appoint a
now carries only freight. Gone is the turn table that committee to raise money for development, with the
switched trains around at Casco Junction, the large same results. During 1973 the talk of oil broke into
water tanks to fill the engines and the depot. -from the news. Mission Hills Oil Company began to drill
Luxemburg News in the Scarboro area on George Treml's farm. As in
those earlier ventures nothing materialized.

F'runk Novak's /·loll and saloon al Scarboro. Scarboro tuve rn w/1en Kumbero fomily owned the property. Left
10 right Mory, Anno, Mortin, George, Rose one! F'ronces Kum-
bt~ ro. The tavern was luter sole.I to Frank Novak.

TO NET and a little house was built and in 1962 tha t little
house grew. On e group that lived there was a group
At one tim e the little hamlet was called Martins- of emigrant workers from M exico. They had a name
ville after the church, St. Martins. Ton et really got for these e migrants that fit lo their work, they were
its n ame from a post office mista ke. Someone in the called 'Wheat Beaters' because they harvested a 11
department mistook their " J" for a "T" and sent the the differe nt kinds of whea t, plus sugar beets, sw eet
mail to Ton e t. corn a nd grain. At one tim e my grandfather was of-
Most of the early s ettlers w ere of Belgian desce nt fered $95 for the house. A manufacturing company
and owned farms. The settleme nt consisted of a w a nted the white pin e logs tha t we re used lo con-
c hurch , tavern and dance hall, ch eese factory and struct the house."
There were two taverns as far back as people can
The Tonet Cheese factory was built before 1912 remember. Charles Ma lcore owned the tavern and
when Frank Vandenhouten sold the business to dance h all which Frank and Ceil Vanderveld later
purch ased . Ceil w a s born across the street and at-
Prosper DuBois. Desire, his son was the cheese
tended grade school in Walhain.
make r for many years. Louis Vandenhouten was one
The other dance hall and ta ve rn was owned by
of the directors. In 1938 Julian Romuald was the
manager and helped to install a new refrigeration Louis Friex, Sr and late r by John Nic koli, Clayton
w1it and 150 boxes, 32x18x9" which they re n ted out Friex and Louis H igue t. The building burn ed a few
at a sma ll fee. At the presen t time Laure l Ettienn e years late r. A small conc re te s truc ture was built in
the sa me place and opera ted by Howard Kaste r.
is the ch eese maker.
Prosper DuBois purchased the store a t the same (Today called the Stovewood).
Th e ch eese factory was r un by th e Gosin fa m ily
time he acquired the cheese factory a nd ran the
store for a few years before selling it to Victor Pa - and c losed about 1913. Over the years many of the
que. After Victor retired his son Quintel took over build in gs have been destroyed by fire. The only
on es still s ta nding are the gen eral store run by the
and operated the business for 38 years. About 1976
Quintel retired and turned the store over to Con- Leroy fa mily and St. Amand's Church. Frank a nd
stant Johnson who ran it for a short time before Eu- Cei l's place burned in 1980 with Carol Conard as
gene Wagner became the owne r. The Wagner fam- the owner.
ily operated the business for 6 years before closing
the doors permanently in 1982.
It was years ago tha t the Belgian settlers, thankful
for a plentiful harvest, revived their great homeland
WALHAIN festiva l, " The Kermiss. " T he present day Ke rmiss is
by no means the festival tha t it was half a century
Early settlers in this settlement came from Bel- ago.
gium and Germany, the Strechma n fa mily, followed Six young men were chosen for each ha ll and it
by Pe te r Friex who lived across from St. Amand's w as their responsibility to hire a nd pay a band a nd
Church. Later settlers were the Gosin and Loberger take care of other expenses. If they m ade a profit it
families. There was a cheese factory, dance hall, was theirs but usua lly it was promptly spent in a
tavern, hotel postoffice and a store built here. The celebration of their own.
hotel was called "The Half-Way House" because it These young men were recognized by the r ibbon
vvas half way between Green Bay and Algoma. worn across th eir chest. Their work started a fter
Many a weary traveler rested here in his way to Saturday evening chores. First duty was to fire a
and from business transactions. or to visit a fri end. canon, signaling the start of the Kermiss. Sunday
Following from an article w ritten by Diane Cravil- morning festivities began with a 10 o'clock m ass.
lion- Luxemburg News. Du ring the mass the brass band occupied the choir
"When we built our house in 1962 we found a lot loft a nd would play severa l numbers. The custom of
of bricks and horse shoes and a ll sorts of pieces of firing the canon was discontinued. but m a ny of the
metal under the ground. By ta lking to some of the o ld ideas have been carried to the present, for ex-
neighbors we found there had been a blacksmith ample, Belgian pie and jutt. Immediately after mass
shop h ere. It was built a bout 80 years ago by Louis the group of six, carrying the flag would lead the
Friex and located on a 9-acre lot. They made all the band to the hall. Because Walhain had two halls
h orseshoes and fitted them. They also made the they h ad two groups of s ix men a nd two ba nds,
wagon w heels and all the other metal things the Mahlik's Brass Band of Pilsen and Rio Creek Brass
people needed. It later burned, a boul' 30 years ago, Band. Everyone ate, danced and mad e m e rry. Ce le -

brating was not confined to the dance halls alone, Each community had a special week end set aside
bountiful din ners were served by the people of the for their Kermiss. If you followed them all one
community. The demand for kermiss preparation could spend two months of week ends having a
called into existence the numerous Belgian ovens.- good time.
written by Anna Wunsch.

The Gosin family owned o cheese foctory ond store ot Wolhain in 19011. The building at the extreme right wus o W(Jrehouse for the store.
Most of the people hove been ident.ified: 1. Fronk Touschek; 2. "Chofel'' Dolebroux; 3. Henry Legois: 4. Louis Friex; 5. Toe Spangler; 6.
Tules Friex; 7. Fabian Gosin; 8. unknown; 9. Louis Deterville; 10. George Friex; 11. Felix Bonjeon; 12. Clem Friex: 13. Joseph Wery.
cheesemaker; 14. foseph Rovet; 15. Art fandrain; 16. Frank Bredoel; 17. Harvey Bredael; 18. foe Moreau; 19. George Loritz; 20. un-
known .

.:- - -__ - ...



Mr. and !'vlrs. Orton DeterviJ/e. nP.1vlyweds. wern r<?l urning (rom Green Bay wh r. rn they had hod wedding picrun: tulwn wlwn
the ir horse developed shoe trnuhlc. They had Louis Friex. the Wu l/1uin blacksmith, fix th e shoe. l!nhind tlwm is tlw l.011is FrilJX luvo rn
und dance hull. built about 1875. To the left is an ice house. The blucksmith shop wus uc; ross rlw road. The (lbovu buildings wi?rc lure r
known as the l lolf-W(ly House (half way between Green !:lay und /\/gom(lj.

RAILROAD COMPANY gressed on schedule . As many as 50 men or more

formed a crew and often as many as 20 teams were
As early as 1889 there was talk of a railroad from engaged in the proj ect at the same time.
Green Bay to Sturgeon Bay and through the influ- Following the hand-work of pre parin g the
ence of Mr. Fetzer, the line passed through Forest- roadbed, came other workers laying the ties and
ville. His mill was operating at peak of capacity and rails. By the middle of the summer of '.1892 the rni l
a railroad was needed for shipping flour from his line reached Ahnapee. The first full car of freight
mill to markets farther away, as well as to bring in came over the new line to Ahnapee in September
freight and supplies not only for his business but for of 1892.
the village. It took more than three days to make a By December of 1892 the grade for the rail lin e
trip from Sturgeon Bay to G reen Bay and return by was completed as far as the Door-Kewaunee County
vehicle. whereas by train the trip could be made line. Winter was at hand and most of the work was
within a matter of hours. suspended until the spring of 1893. As soon as
It was the late Edward Decker, who conceived wea ther permitted, work was resumed and by the
the idea of connecting Green Bay and Sturgeon Bay later part of summer of 1893 the last spike was driv-
with a rail line. He was able to provide most of th e en into the ties. Sturgeon Bay and Green Bay were
capita l and through his efforts the Ahna pee & Wes- connected by two ribbons of steel.
tern Railway company was formed. A charter was It was a day of excitement w hen the first run was
granted and construction was started in 1891. First made to Sturgeon Bay. People watched with awe as
came the surveyors to chart out the route. It fol- the iron horse came around the bend belching forth
lowed that a course would include. New Franken, smoke and steam as it made its first stop at Forest-
Luxemburg, Casco. Rio Creek, Ahnapee, Forestville. vill e. Children, especially, lived in anticipation of
Ma plewood. and end in Sturgeon Bay. The right-of- their first ride on the coaches. Railroad fare was 3¢
way was 100 feet wide. It passed through wooded a mile and for 40¢ a passenger was able to enjoy a
areas, and "swampers" cleared the brush and fell ed ride from Forestville to Ahnapee and return.
the trees. Any laborer handy with pick and shovel The d e pot and freight house were built in 1892
was able to secure work sin ce it was all hand don e. with a Mr. Patterson as the first railroad agent. O le
Hand labor received from $1.00 to $1.25 for a 10- Evenson took over as station agent next and contin-
hour day. A farme r with team and scraper received ued until April 1924 when he left to seek employ-
$3.00 per day. It was difficult work, but it pro- ment in Milwaukee.

The railroad had its share of problems. In 1912 a The new table replaced the old one installed a
number of passengers received slight injuries when number of yeal's before when only the smaller type
a passenger train coming from Sturgeon Bay col- engines were used. Sunday train service and return
lided with the Kewaunee train at Casco Jct. The pi- from Green Bay was 60¢.
lot of both engines was demolished and the Stur- About 1923 the Casco Junction station and equip-
geon Bay engine was thrown from the track. Some ment was abandoned and the Green Bay and Wes-
time later a west bound passenger train was delayed tern decided to connect at Luxembmg.
two hours d ue to a box car being thrown off the Leonard Leischow came to Luxemburg in 1923 to
track at Forestville. During 1918, for several weeks. succeed Frank Legois as sta tion agen t and retired in
the tracks were blocked with snow and followed by 1941. His son George Leischow began his employ-
warm weather which caused the snow to melt at a ment at the railroad in 1941 and his younger brother
rapid rate that the trains were again late because of Leonard Jr followed after him .
washouts. There also was the cattle problem, many Emil Legois retired as railroad section forema n for
cows and farm animals were killed when they wan- 34 years of service and Alvin Rohr succeeded him .
dered onto the tracks. A few cars were known to do In 1958 the depot was closed and 6 years later
the same thing. was dismantled. John Kinnard served as d epot agent
In 1911 the Kewaunee branch of the Green Bay for a short time and in the last few years Curtis
and Western Railroad constructed a new turn table Johnson and Ken Junie were the agents.
at Casco Jct to handle the new Mogul locomotive.

This view of the Lu xemburg depot erec ted in 1892 was token from the east. The first depor agent wcis o Mr. Paterson. Victor Kaye was
in cl10rge of the W.W. Cargill e levator at that lime. Loter the elevato r was moved two blocks to rh o west of this location.

ADAMS In 1931 Carl moved from Kewaunee to Luxem-
burg where he joined the Bank of Luxemburg as ca-
JULIUS JOHANNA VANDENHOUTEN shier. He was a former Register of Deeds for
1833-1921 1843-1924 Kewaunee County. and also worked for the war
Married cause during WWII with the Red Cross and Ameri-
fohn 8-Sedonia Smith can Legion. The Andres built a house on Maria
George-Mary Ettienne Street and lived here until Carl died.
Frank-Catherine Cravillion
Henry-Louise Papelian
Peter-Adele Jonet ARENDT
Harriette-Frank Henry
Louis-Adell Vanness Michael Anna Maria Dieskies
Julius purchased land about 1872 in Section 5 and 1828-1878 1839-1886
9 and farmed all his life passing the farm down to Catherine-Hector Boncher
his son Louis. Peter and his brother George also John R.-Margaret Denk
farmed the town of Luxemburg. Joseph-
Mary- + infant
ADAMS Margaret- + infant
Michael-Anna Gengler
LOUIS ADELE VANNESS Daniel- Theresa Loberger
1880-1962 1887-1976 Lucy-C. J. Parks
Married Peter P.-Bertha Gengler
Elmer-Mayme DuBois Nicholas- + infant
Ida-Elmer Conard Margaret-Nick Filz
Norman-Madeline Paul The Arendt family was one of the first four fam-
The homestead is today being run by Elmer and ilies to settle in this area. They came from Luxem-
his wife Mayme. The farm consists of about 120 bourg, Europe in 1856 and settled in Kewaunee
acres. County, purchasing 80 acres of land from the go-
vernment in Section 17, 126 years ago.
The family endured many hardships during those
ALSTEEN early years. They cleared the land with only the
barest of tools, a job that took many weeks before a
HENRY MARY ETTIENNE crop could be planted. They rose and went to bed
1874-1948 1882-1961 with the sun . Luxemburg High School and Elmer
Married Vandrisse's house now occupy the land.
Margaret-Raymond Frisque i\/lichael Arendt homestead. Children standing fohn , Michael.
Anna-George Frisque Daniel and Pete r. seated, Katherine Lucy, and Ma rgaret. Chil-
Andrew-Irene VanLeishout dren far left corner not identified.
Frank-Eva VanLeishout
Richard-Marion Marchant
William-Virginia Ettienne
The Alsteens lived on a farm all their lives pass·
ing it down to their sons. The land is in Section 4
and today owned by Emerson Vandenhouten.

Joan-Max Potter

John Margaret Denk Peter P. Bertha Gengler
1859-1931 1860-1924 1873-1936 1879-1955
Married Oct. 1879 Married October 1901,
Peter J.-Elizabeth Rueck] Helen-Sr. Mary Edwin
Mary-Louis Leibl Matthew-Beatrice Ferry
Edward- 1894-1952 Clara-Harvey Ferry
Alois-Martha Dorner Margaret-John Kugel
Hildegarde- Marie-
Margaret-Richard Rueck! Paul-Madeline DeGrand
Raymond- Delores-James Reidy
Francisca-1889 + Peter and Bertha farmed in Section 15, 105 acres
John-1892 + which grew to 260 acres at the time of Peter's death.
John owned a farm near Luxemburg which he The farm was divided between Matthew and Paul
passed on to his son Alois. Margaret was born in and lies just outside the village.
Seewiesen, Austria and at the age of 16 came to
America w ith her parents. Thomas and Anna Denk, The Wedding of Peter P J\rendr und 13errho H. Gengler Ocrober
22. '1901. Grunvillr.. Wis.
who settled near Luxemburg.
Son Peter at age 16 helped his father haul stones
from their gravel quarry for the Arpin. Dishmaker
and Peters homes in the village. They had to break
the stones to size by hand and mason them to form
the foundations. Son Edward served his country
from 1917 to 1919 in the 20th Engr. Forestry Div.,
and Raymond served in the F354 Inf.

Michael Anna Gengler
1864-1936 1873-1947
Married January 1890
No Children
Michael was elected Chairman of the Town of
Luxemburg in 1911, a position he held for 25 yea rs.
He also served 13 years as a member of the County
Highway Committee, for 15 years was a member of'
the County Board and served as bank d irector 17

Daniel Theresa Loberger
1869-1975 1880-1956
Married February 1897
Ben-Minnie Miesler
George- 1899-1977
Milton-Anna Daul
Joseph-Betty Fameree
Lillian-Dan Gengler
Lucy-John Lichterman
Daniel operated a farm one mile east of Luxem-
burg, and today is owned by son Joseph. Daniel and
Theresa raised a family of eight children. Most of
the children still live in the Luxemburg area.

Peter Catherine Salentine
1841-1909 1843-1921
Anna-August Fraipont
Catherine-Paul Gonion
Christian Peters
Mary- Charles Colle
Nicholas-Lena Seidl
Od elia- +1873
John P. Regina Rank
Joseph- Catherine Rank
Josephine Sigl
Michael-Philomene Brice
Peter was the son of Michael Arendt, a farmer
and dealer in horses. He received limited education,
was drafted into the army, in which he served for
three years and at the age of 21 deserted and came
to America. His brother furnished him the money
and after landing in New York he made his way to
Milwaukee, where he was employed for six months.
Peter then came to Luxemburg and worked as a
lumberman for a few months. He entered the war
as a substitute and became a member of Company
After his marriage he purchased 80 acres of tim-
ber land and erected a log house 16x20 feet. and
later increased his acreage by 50 acres. Peter Arendt Co 1\ 27th Wis lnfont r}'
Arendt Homestead

ARPIN The Aschenbrenner family came to America in
1872 a nd settled in Section 28 on an 80-acre farm ,
Alfred Katherine Kieweg which in later years was sold to Joseph Zellner.
1857- 1867- During the early 1900's Aschenbren ne r's and Wein-
Married M ay, 1885 furter's had a threshing outfit which traveled
Alvah-Stella Miller throughout the country helping farmers to thresh
Quentin- their grain. Carl and Frances spent their retirement
Leslie-Hazel Mayer years in a house in South Luxemburg which was
Celia-Daniel Boncher later sold to Anton Seiner. Today the farm is owned
Rose- Joseph Prakash by Frances Degrave. Carl and his wife died eight
Mabel- Lee Metzner days apart.
Alfred and two of his brothers fought in European
wars and d ecid ed to go to Canada, where the broth-
ers separated, Alfred coming to Two Rivers area. ASHENBRENNER
He worked in lumber camps in Northern Wisconsin
for 12 years and the pioneer firm of Dean & Taylor Joseph CAROLINE DORNER
in 1889, which operated the pier, store and cheese 1875-1960 1878-1960
factory. Alf red was a cheesemaker for 18 years and Married April 1899
learned how to make cheese without pin holes from Pete r- Leona Daul,
Joe Linzmeier, a cheesemaker from Green Bay. Mabel Basten, Vaness
In 1903 the firm expanded to Luxemburg and Al- Killian-
fred moved his fam ily h ere. The business was Edward F.- Magdalena Benz
known as Bach-Kieweg Company when it started Charles- +infant
and later Kieweg-Peters. In 1940 Alfred retired Caroline-Edward Seidl
after working 60 years for the company. Johanna-Anton Seiner
Alvah was the only son who remained in Luxem- George-1909-1916
burg, although his sister Rose was a school teacher Charles- 1911 +
in the area for years, and Mabel moved to Casco Frieda- + 1918
after her marriage. Alvah served his country in WW Ervin- +1918
I as a Sergent in the Aero Construction Squadron. Philomine-James Quigley
He married Stella, the daughter of John L. Miller, a Adeline-
schoolteacher. John wanted his daughter to be a Joseph owned a farm in Section 33, 160 acres
teacher, but after a short stay at Normal School she which today belongs to Merrill Rank. Joe purchased
decided to go to business college where she took a a portable sawmill to cut timber from Paul Mahlik
secretarial course, a nd later went to work in the of Pilsen.
Bank of Luxemburg for five years, being the first P<!lt1r. K ii/ion. Ed onc/ Gu roline Aschenbrenner
woman to be hired. Stella is a descendant of Nicho-
las Kaut another of the first four pioneer families in

1854-1932 1853-1932
Joseph-Caroline Dorner
John-Caroline Schaefer. Blanker
Christina-William Haen
Katrina-Karl Linzmeier
Felix-Theresa Rank
Frances-Andrew Loberger
Anna-George Rank
Anton-Christina Leiterman
Rose- 1897+

AURIE Charles-Mary LaCourt
Mary-Louis Nejedlo
1857-1945 1865-1953 Joseph-Ma ry Christoff
Married 1887 Anna-Edwin P. Happel
Albert-Mariam Brey Frances- Emmet Fitzgerald
Eva-Mike Oalebroux Clara-Raymond Daul
Henry- Irene LeCaptain Clara I, Alois and Theresa died in in fancy
Gerald-Mary Jadin Hammern, Austria is the town in Europe wh ere
Mary- Art Johnson the Ba ierl family originated. Mary Linzmeier was
Julia-George Fauncy born in Wingal, Austria a near by town and ma rried
Margaret- August Faneuf Joseph there before they immigrated to America in
Ceil- Joseph Cravillion 1882, with their young son Jacob. They settled on a
Leona- Elgie Craig farm near Luxemburg, later passed down to son Jo-
Rose-Prosper Renier seph and today owned by great grandson James and
The Aurie fa mily settled in Sections 8 and 9 of wife Shirley.
the town before 1876. The farm was p assed down to Beside farming Joseph also own ed and operated
son Albert who farm ed for many years. Today the the Luxemburg Lime Works, known as "The White
land is owned by Ray J. Estel fami ly. Pulverized Limestone Works". In July of 1920 h e
purchased a limestone pulverizer and crusher. He
manufactured lime which he sold in large quantities
BACH throughout the area.
It's not everyday that a bowling team consists of
HERMAN BARBARA (SALENTINE) Father a nd sons. In the 1940's Joseph Sr., and 4
1862-1954 N UHLICEK 1875-1956 sons. Clarence, Joseph Jr.. Roland and Arnold all
Married 1911 bowled for the same team at Bredaels Bowling Al·
Harold- Charlotte Krum ery ley.
Dorothy- Gordon Hazelbauer
Barbara married Alfred Nuhlicek and after he
died she married Herman. In 1908 Herman started JOSEPH BAIERL'S LIME KILN
the Inland Knitting factory with two fem ale employ-
ees. After six years in Luxemburg h e moved to T he Lime kiln was located about' l/4 mile east of
Green Bay. H e also operated a mill in Appleton. the farm house. Dynamite was used to loosen the
rock needed to produce lime. It took 4 to 5 men one
BAIERL day to fill the kiln. They laid the limestone in layers
to be broken up. It took 48 h ours to burn the stone
JOSEPH MARY LINZMEIER which was fired by large pieces of pine stumps. Lat-
1854-1928 1860-1935 er Joseph purchased a stone crusher to spread the
Married in 1879 lim estone on the land. The lime was sold throughout
Jacob-Mary Cibulka the area as fertilizer for growing better crops.

Fruni:es Baier/ Fitzgerald. Charles Baierl. Mury lluicr/ Nejedlo. /ucob Raierl. Rose Boierl
Shoofs. foseph Buierl, fr., l\nno Baierl 1-/oppe /. Front: foseph Hoier/, Sr.. Clara Boierl Dou/.
Mury r Haier/. r'\bout 1905-10

1889-1955 1895-1958
Married Nove m ber '1916
Jose ph- Madeline Burkart
Clarence- Doris Charlier
Roland-Ellen Baenen
Arnold-Delores Aubiss
Patricia -Fred Dale broux
Earl- Judy Bredae l
Mary Ann- John Berger
Joseph was born in the town of Luxemburg and
Mary was born in the town of Montpelier, the
daughter of Thomas a nd Anna Christoff. In 1922 he
took over his father's farm and lim eston e works, and
served Kewaun ee County as treasurer for several
years. He was town clerk for 20 years a nd held the
office of assessor for 5 years.
In 1930 a fire on the farm caused $2500 damage
from a short circuit in a car that was not in good
working cond ition. The fire destroyed three ma-
chine-storage sheds, a gran ery with 800 bushels of
'/'his picture wos used on the I.o p of John's cigar boxes.
grain and pine stumps ready for the lime kile.
Sugar beet worke rs working in one of th e fi elds
near the barn in 1939 found a t least $100 in gold BALZA
piec es. The money was b el ieved to have b een
cached there by the Kirschner fa mily from whom h e WILLIAM CLARISSA ARENDT
purchased the property. It w as discovered in the 1909-1980 1917-
founda tion of an old residence. Married
Edmund-Janet Guillette
Raymond-Lin da Prevost
BALZA William and Clara took over the farm of Peter
JOHN ANNA FISCHER Arendt in Section 10. They farmed the land un ti l
1872-1940 1868-1940 their sons Raymond a nd Michael took over. Son Ed-
Married mund operates a farm in Section 22.
Florence-Ed Weisne r
Chester-Anna De rnbach
Earl- Myrtle Phote nauer BARBIAUX
Clarence-Amanda Pan hke
Cecila-Isadore Vandermuss CAMILLE MARY JA UQU ET
Genevieve- Harvey Verheyden 1874-1945 1873-1963
Margaret-Everet Ward Married in 1896
Gladys-Earl Ki ng Joseph -Marj McCrea
The John Balza fomily cam e from Germany and Madeline-Cyril Conard,
first settled in Dale, Wis. They lived in Luxemburg Herman VandenElzen
fo r several years before moving to Green Bay. Son Lloyd-Frances Edwards,
Earl was the first editor and manager o f the Luxem- Julia Schroeder
burg News for many yea rs. In 1937 h e took a posi- Clement (Blah)- Mae Simons
tion with Wheeler Cheese in Green Bay. john lived Clarence- Avis Ohlbreck
in the house now occupied by Herma n's grocery on Camille was born in Thiry Da mes and was em-
Main Street, he was a cigar make r. In 1915 he was ployed at lumbe r camps in upper Michigan for a
awarded a $5.00 first prize for making the best cigar number of years before purchasing a farm at Forest-
when he entered a competition with other manufac- ville. In 1920 Camille purchased t he W iscon sin
turers all over the Un ited States for production of H ouse and moved his family to Luxemburg, a busi-
the best $30 cigar. ness which h e ran for 25 years.

Clem stayed in Luxemburg where he worked for
Kieweg Peters, fixing wash machines and selling
them. In 1938 he worked for Maytag company at LOUIS EMILIE
Chilton and in 1939 he opened his own business. 1850- 1845-
The house he owns today at 431 Main street was Marriec!
built by Peter Bouche in 1896. Fred Belter owned it Lora-
next from 1911 to 1916. Dr. Doherty rented the Joseph-
house (he was a veterinarian) until it was sold to Jo- Henry-Delinda Thibaudeau
seph Hoslet. January of 1917 Anton Grasse] pur- Alphonse-Peter Vanouse
chased it and in 1918 Desire Mornard lived there Emilie-
until April of 1943 when Clem purchased the house. Adelaide-
The appliance store was sold to Hank Kollross in Lena-
1972. Louise-
The Bastian family lived in Scarboro area until
1918, and owned land in Section 35. They moved
BARBIAUX away in the early 1900's. Andrew Dax was the own-
er for a few years and at the present time Kenneth
ELMER C DOROTHY KOHLBECK Peot owns the property.
1899-1939 1900-1973
Married May 1921 BAYE
Donald-Rita Petrick LOUIS NORA SERVAIS
Anthony- 1844-1901 1849-'1919
Maurice- 1925-1942 Married
Jonas-Lucille Lemens Clementine- Hubert Frisque
Dorothy-Lawrence Heim Hubert- Minnie Alsteen
Marilyn-Thomas Melchior Joseph-Mary
Bonnie-Jerry Seiler Mary.,._Anton Frisque
Lucy- John Lemens
Elmer was the son of Sylvan and Josephine (Hoe- Margaret- Frisque
breckx) Barbiaux. born at Tonet and after his mar- Henry-1876-1933
riage to Dorothy lived in Green Bay and Casco. He Peter-Jennie Bertrand
worked for the Rahr Brewing Company and later Louise-
purchased Peter Joerger's meat market at 631 Main Louis and Nora farmed in Section 4 and were
Street. He ran the business for about 14 years, until also shoemakers. a trade learned in Belgium. Peter
his death in 1939. Improvements were made in 1929 lived in the village near the playground. He held
by removing the old ice box and replacing it with a the office of Weed Commissioner and pound master
new modern cooling system. plus adding a new after William Martin died.
front to enhance the appearance of the building.
From an article in the Luxemburg News of 1929: BAZLEN
"Elmer Barbiaux stepped on the gas a little too ARTHUR MILDRED O'NEIL
much coming home from South Luxemburg Monday 1885-1921
afternoon and just at a time when the County Motor Married 1910
Cop happened to be in the village. Officer William Arthur-Margaret Daly
Yauger presented Elmer with a tag which cost him Robert-Georgianna Kerst
$15. 'Twenty seven miles per is a little too fast,' Art was born at Brillion and came to Luxemburg
Elmer stated" at age 20. He worked for the bank when it was lo-
Today the building is used as a residence with cated at the south end of the Wisconsin House, and
Charles and Tony occupying the second floor apart- continued in Luxemburg Bank until his d eath.
ment. Son Jonas also lives in the village and is a Mildred was the daught e r of I ohn and Ida
carpenter. Anthony is an architect working from his (Schwedler) O'Neil. In 1919 they purchased three
home. lots and built a house at 307 Ma in St. The house is
owned by Mrs. Clem Rass today. After Arthur died
Mildred married Oliver Waldschmidt in 1923 and
they had a child Oliver.

The Beirl's came from Bohemia/ Austria in 1872.
BEHRING They settled in Section 32 on a 40 acre tract oJ land.
FREDERICK CATHERINE (KAUT) SEIDL George later purchased land in the next section, 80
1.849-1938 acres. The farm was passed down to his son George,
Married June 1876 Jr.
Maria-1877 +
Henry-1878 + BEIRL
Catherine- Schultz
Englebert- 1874-1935 1.881.-1957
Anna Marie-J. Hilton Married 1904
Fred Behring owned ten acres of land just west of Joseph-Irene Ne jedlo
the Catholic Church. Catherine was three years old Eleanore-+1932
when her parents, John and Catherine Kaut moved George-Dorothy Stahl
to Luxemburg from Granville, Wis. She married Loretta-Carl Fischer
Wenzel Seidl in 1870 and he died in 1873. She then
married Frederick and raised a family of eight chil- George and Catherine farmed a 120 acre farm
dren, some of them died in infancy of diptheria. near Luxemburg. When they retired the homestead
She also had a son from her first marriage, John was turned over to son Ioseph and Irene. After
Seidl. farming the land Joseph and his wife built a new
Son Englebert was an avid hunter and went deer house, selling the land to David Barrett.
hunting with his friends near Westboro, Wis. In
1930 he was injured when a gun discharged while
'hunting. Granddaughter Irene Schultz was the last
member of the Kaut-Behring family in this area and BELTER
she died in 1979.
1871-1952 1876-1941.
Married April 1901
Selma -
2nd wife Kathryn Gruetzmacher
The Belter family farmed in Section 26, what is
today the Milton Salentine farm. He was director of
the Kewaunee County Fair Association since its be-
ginning. William was born in the town of Montpe-
lier and was a farmer most of his life moving to the
village after his retirement. His daughter was a
Behring House torn down in 1982 school teacher and did not marry.

1831-1877 1838-1926 1832-1903 1840-1.919
Married Married
Margaret-Charles Rank Stephanie- Peter Zellner, Sr
Anna-Joseph Dax Wilhelm- Katherine Haen
Jacob- Louis-
Joseph- Johanna-Lon Zentmeyer
George- Catherine Rank Katherine-Fred Reinschmidt
HERMAN ULRICH-Marr 1878 Bertha-Michael Maus
1820-1907 Sophie-Arthur Beth

Alois and his wife came to America from Eber- BERTRAND
stein, Germany in 1869. He purchased the farm
about 1877 after having "taken care" of it for a few GUSTAVE MATHILDA PIRLOT
years. (When the pioneers first came to this country 1851-1925 1862-1935
they settled on land which they cultivated or "took Married October 1880
care of" and later were able to purchase the land William-
for a small fee per acre or in some instances were Virginia-John Legener
given the land.] The fa rm was passed down to Wil- Louise-George Dennis
helm. Joseph-Louise Smeester
Anna-john Legener
Marie-Arthur Kosnar
Jennie-Anton Grasse!
Matilda/Tilly- Louis Thiry
BENZ Caroline-Raymond Deprey
George-Anna Delveaux
1864-1935 1870-1915 The Gustave Bertrands lived on a farm in Section
Married September 1892 4 upon arriving from Antwerp, Belgium on the ship
Joseph-Anna Velicer Lizzca Maria in 1857. During their retirement years
Stephanie- they lived in the village.
Carl-Emma Heineke
Henry-Gertrude Beck BERTRAND
Leonard-Elizabeth Blohowiak
Peter-Sybilla Wipperfurth 1872-1918 1866-1903
Bernard-Regina Daul Married
Bertha-+1902 Henry-Laura Debeck
Alois-Hazel Gregare Peter was killed by a train. H enry was raised by
Norbert-Dolores Schaul his grandfather Vandenhouten. He worked for the
Elizabeth-Clarence Kratz Luxemburg Milling Company until his retirement.
Lena-Ed Aschenbrenner
Ignatius-Edna Bruss BERTRAND
Wilhelm and Katherine were ma rried at St. 1882-1921 1880-19
Mary's Catholic Church in Luxemburg. They operat- Married 1906
ed the homestead for many years before the ir son Anna-Sister Louis
Joseph took over. The farm is located in Section 34 Robert-Angeline Heim
and is presently owned by Joseph's son Ronald and Mildred- Paul Bartholomie
wife Phyllis. Roy- Evelyn Schafer
The Bertrand family first lived around the Tonet
Henz fomily: L ta R. Bernurd. Srephonie. Sophie. Leno. Pe!e r.
Henry. Corl. Elizoberh. Katherine, /oseph. Alais. William and area. Robert purchased his uncle's farm, Paul Keln-
bobr .r\nn. hofer, in Section 29. Today the farm is run by his
son Gerald and wife Arletta.
In 1938 Robert must have had good seed, right
growing conditions and maybe some magic to grow
a potato that weighed 2 1/4 pounds.

Anna-Thomas Dru1y
Mary-John Karl
Edward-Ella Drury
Francis- Joseph Nemetz

Anton and Barbara came to Luxemburg township BONESS
about 1855 and purchased land in Section 13 where
they carved a farm out of the wildern ess. Anton OTTO
died and the fa rm was then operated by his son Ed- 1884-1955
ward and wife Ella who cultivated the land until re- Married
tirement age. They had no child ren so the farm was Dorothy- Walter H eppert
then passed down to Anna's daughter and son- in- Gladys-
law. Walter and Anita Boncher. Earl-
Gordon -
BON CHER Otto was the son of August Boness and was a ton-
sorial artist in th e Wisconsin House for many years
HECTOR CATHERINE ARENDT before moving to Brown Deer. He was well-known
1864-1937 1866-1936 in the racing circuits of Northeastern Wisconsin,
Married October 1887 having owned a few race horses which he entered
Walter-Anita Drury in many races. Otto and his pace horse "The Limit-
Michael-Vivian Nava rre ed" and "Elmo" the trick pony made various fairs
Hector, Jr.- throughout Wisconsin.
Wilfred- In 1914 Mrs. Boness received severe burns when
John - Harriet Malon ey sh e emptied the remaining contents of a box of gun
John I, 1892+, Lily 1894+, powder into the kitchen range.
Maria 1902 +. died in infancy Otto, along with his barbering trad e, sold Christ-
H ector was born at Humboldt, the son of John B. mas trees along side his shop. He received the trees
and Mary (Tracey] Boncher who came to America from John Martin's woods and as payment John and
from Belgium. He was a blacksmith be fore coming his sons got free hair cuts for one year.
to Luxemburg in 1892. Hector was a member of the
Board of Supervisors since 1908 when the village BONJEAN
was incorporated and remain ed in office for 35 VICTOR ELIZABETH MASSEY
years, and served 13 years as Chairman of Coun ty Married 1892
Board of Supervisors. As a young lad he worked in Odile- Harvey Meetz
lumber camps in Northern Wisconsin. Hector built Emma-Lester Bazlen
the Wisconsin house. the first busin f!SS in Luxem- Stepson
burg, which was run by his w ife as a hotel and Louis Ettien- Virginia LaCourt
store. The first two boarders were surveyors for the The Bonj eans were farm ers fro m the country of
railroad. During th e war years h e was an active per- Belgium, they came to America in the 1850's. The
son lending a hand wh ere needed. He also was a farm was passed down to step-son Louis Ettien. To-
shipper of hay, straw, potatoes and other farm pro- day the farm is owned by Mrs. Dorothy Lardinois in
duce from a small office next to the grain elevator Sec 19.
when it was located on Ma in Street.
After the elevator was moved his offi ce building BOWER
was taken to Casco and turned into a dwelling. CHARLIE
Hector is credited in taking the lead to provide this 1855-1920
coun ty with a complete system of concrete high- Charlie was a photographer, a heavy set man wi th
ways. He built a house in 1915 on Main Street a thick mustache, who lived upstairs from his photo-
which Doctor Richard Jandrain later occupied. Son graph studio, which was built off the ground a few
John was manag e r o f the Luxemburg Fu rniture feet to keep him dry when the spring thaw arrived.
Company for two yea rs (about 1933]. Hector sold the He was located close to Charles Linzmeier's tavern
Wisconsin House to Camille Barbiaux. in South Luxemburg.
Dinner for him was a little gran ite pail of beer
and a loaf of Mrs. Linzmeier's delicious rye bread
that she baked in her outdoor oven, and som e of
// ec;ror IJoncher Kohlbeck's tasty sausage . In 1919 Charlie lost his
eyesight and moved to Sheboygan where he died in
1920. He also gave music lessons along with photo-
graphing the local people.
Before he arrived in Luxemburg a j. F. Jacobson
was the local photographer in 1908.

BOWER Victory Medal with five battle clasps, the Army of
Occupation Bay, and The Ame rican Legion Service
JOHN ELIZABETH ROUGE Bar. His father was one of the Kewaunee volunteers
1825-1917 1838-1900 who answered the call to the colors in the War of
Married the Rebellion, as were his uncles.
Catherine-Fred Wunsch After returning home from war he entered barber
Christian- Mary Wunsch college and in 1928 entered the employ of Colle
Henry- Barber Shop where he remain ed until 1932 when he
Anna- opened his own shop at Rio Creek and New Fran-
Maria-1880+ ken.
Fred-Anna Colle Edward was a fireman in the Navy. he served on
John owned 1and in Sec. 28 in 1876 which he lat- USS T anamo and was d ischarged April 1919.
er turned over to his son Christian.

Wu lti:r IJrogur- Rose Dorner Wedding. May 24. 1920. Left to

BOWER righl. Co raline l.inzmeier. Andrew Brager. Wolter and Rose,
CHRISTIAN Frirz l.inzu111uit1 r und Hele n Brager.
1874-1948 1873-1934
Married March 1894
John-Caroline Klabechek
Elsie-William M ueller
Leonard- +1908
Martha- Robert Wilson
The Bowers farmed in this area until 1926 when
the family departed for Milwaukee and sold their
farm to John Seidl. which is tod ay owned by
Frances and wife Pat DeGrave.

1844-1928 1856-1941
Married April 1889
Elizabeth- BREDAEL
Gilbert- 1840- 1846-1920
Henry- Married June
The Bragger family came from Ireland to Scar- Desire-Johanna VanBeveren
boro area when this state was first being settled. Mary- Felix Vandeveld
H enry was a teamster and was employed in the Nettie- Victor Paque
grain elevator here. H e fought in the Civil War and Elizabeth-Gilbert Vanclerveld
three of his sons. Andrew, Edward and Joseph Frank- Josephine Gauthier
served their country in war also. Margre tha was an George- Mary Friex
active member of the American Legion Auxilary. Henry-Jennie Paque
Andrew was a buttermaker at Luxemburg Cream- Louis-Genevieve Friex
ery and an agent for the Rahr Brewing Company The Bredael family owned land in Section 5,
before entering service in 1917. He was a veteran of where Anton's father purchased 162 acres of land
many battles fought at Boccaret, Toule. Champaign. from the government in 1856, after arriving from
Marne, Aisne, St. Michie!, Meuse, Argonne, and Belgium. Anton was a farm er all his liie. Today
was discharged May of 1919 at Camp Zachary Tay- farm is owned by Robert Alsteen.
lor. Andrew died from a lingering illness caused by George ran a soft drink parlor and meat market
his being gassed during WW I. He was awarded the on Main Street in Luxemburg for a few years.

1875-1944 1880-1940 JULIUS
Married 1901
Harvey-Viola Joppe Luegde, Provinc e of Westpha li a, Ge rmany is
Libbie-Frank Lukes where Julius was born and grew up. He was one of
Otto- a family of five children and became a n a pprentice
Wilfred- in a general store. Six years later he entered a
Robert- wholesale firm in Essen, Germany and went on the
August-Gladys Urban ek road to sell wearing apparel. Children would often
Lorraine- come into the store to ask Julius to address enve-
Virgil-Mike Nej edlo lopes to friends and relatives in America . He was
Marie-Albert Cisler curious about that new country and at the age of 22
Frank and his wife we re born in Walhain and came to America. H e went directly to Milwaukee
married at St. Amand's Church. He was a cheese- where he had a half-brother. Upon making the ac-
maker at Farmer's Cheese, Tonet and a farmer be- quaintenance o.f an optician who traveled and was
fore purchasing the tavern in South Luxemburg in in need of a helper, Julius accompanied him. He
1938. Frank also worked for South Luxemburg served an apprenticeship of six years and then be-
Creamery for a few years. gan selling on his own in 1905. Shortly thereafter,
Today the tavern is operated by sons Wilfred and on one of the trips up north, he was asked to help
Robert. with the inventory of the Ellisville General Store.
After three months he decided he liked the area
and stayed. Julius continued to sell glasses until 1915
BUNKER when he became involved with real estate and
joined in partnership with Ole Evenson.
PHILLIP ELLA COLLARD When the fair was in its infancy in 1918 Julius
1870-1930 1876-1930 became involved and watched it grow into a strong
Married October 1897 community institution. No mon ey was available to
Emma-Frank Houdek conduct the fair that year so Julius went out and
Felix-Rose Kollross sold the ads for the premium book. more than had
ever been sold.
The original name was Verboncoeur, it was short- August Spitzer took the lead in clearing the land
ened to Bunker when the family lived in the Scar- and building the race track. The next big job was to
boro area. They came from Canada in 1855 and get the book printed. Arrangements had been made
purchased land in Section 25. Phillip was born in with the local printing firm, but they were unable to
Scarboro and spent most of his life on the home- go through with the job. Julius went to Milwaukee
stead, consisting of 118 acres. and found a prin t shop and got the job done.
Ella was born in Menomin ee Michigan and mar- Camille Stage had made arrangements for a mer-
ried Phillip there. He donated a piece of his land ry-go-round to be moved from the Brown County
for the Little French Cemetery located on CTH "A" Fairgrounds to Luxemburg. The fair was to open on
just outside of Luxemburg. Tuesday, Saturday they telephoned that the equip-
ment was mired down and could not be moved. Ju-
BUNKER lius learned that a Clarence Nelson of Sturgeon Bay
had part ownership in an idle me ny-go-round. Mr.
FELIX ROSE KOLLROSS Nelson wasn 't home and the other partner was at
1900-1954 1901- odds with him. After much argument he agreed to
Married 1923 sell his rights for $100, then on Sunday the partner
Revella-Lester Page l called that the deal was off. After more negotiations
Lucille- Edwin Momaerts a deal was again made. The next clay, Labo!' day,
Violetta-David Lischka the machinery still had to be loaded. A Mr. Hoch
Lloyd-Jeanne LeRoy promised to have it loaded and h e re by Monday
afternoon. Jack and Mike M erens hauled it from his
Felix farmed the homestead that his father pur- truck on a hayrack to the fairgrounds, piece by
chased. He later moved to Green Bay and sold the piece.
farm to the Treml family. Leo Treml owns the land Julius was also active in other community affairs
at the present time . and served the Fair for 30 yea rs.

1880-1953 1883-
Married 1864-1953 1872-1948
Raymond- Married August 1892
Theresa- Constant Vandervelt
Roy was born in Eureka, Wis and moved to Lux-
Anna- Sister Henrika
emburg in 1918 where he served Luxemburg as ru-
Mary- Joseph Baierl
ral mail carrier until 1940. In 1919 he built a new
Frank- Mabel Frisque
house on Third Street with Bert Paider the contrac-
George-Adela Wessel
tor. Today Janice Deprez and family live in the
Caroline-Herbert Rueck)
Louise-Fred Garver
Thomas and Anna were of German descent and
JULE STELLA JORGENSEN were raised in Montpelier township. He was a
1901-1979 1900- farmer of medium build with black hair and grey
Married 1924 eyes, born at Neuren. Austria. The Christoffs came
Betty-James Anthony to America on the ship Caleir in 1882. Thomas pur-
Carol-James Bell chased the Schwedler farm. eventually passing it
Janice-James Cummer down to his son George.
Gene-Virginia Lindgren

Jule was born near Duvall, the son of Louis Char-

lier. He learned the jeweler trade in Denmark and CHRISTOFF
came to Luxemburg in 1923 purchasing Elm e r
Fiedler's stock. He operated the store until his death GEORGE ADELLA WESSEL
in 1979. About 1937 he built a house on Maple 1898-1960 1902-1982
Street, where his wife still lives today. Married Februa iy 1924
Walter-Rita Arendt
CHERNEY Christine-Edwa rd Eckert
Married 1917 Joan-Gerald Soquet
Clara-Blondie, Reiss, Grall Donald-Blanche Johnson
Herbert- George and Adella were married at St. Marys,
Agatha-Harry Ledvina Luxemburg and ran the homestead until his death .
Reinhold Seiler Today the farm contains about 1.60 acres in Sections
Mildred- Clarence Gerstner 11 and 14 and is under the ownership of Elmer and
Raymond-Jane Sudinski Verna. Son Walter is also a farmer and in 1982 pur-
Peter-Corrine Preusa chased the Luxemburg Milling Company.
Christine-Ervin Vogel Adella was a school teacher at U S Grant school
Lawrence was the son of Martin Cherney and op- in 1924.
erated a farm in Section 31 for a few years. The
farm was later sold to Henry Veeser. The children
all moved from the area when they married.

J\llurlin C herney, Joe

Weininge r, '/'lw resu, Mrs. George Christoff
Mrs. Mc1rtin C he r-
n ey. Fril% und
Mory. //l e nry
V eese r fa rm/

chased 80 acres of land from h is father for $400 and
CHRISTOPH the young couple bega n their domestic li fe in a log
house Desire built. During th e succeed ing two years
Married M ay 1892 he engaged in the nursery busin ess, but return ed l:o
Anna-1892-1906 the farm which he cultivated un ti'I the ra ilroad was
T heresia built. He was employed on railroad constr uction at
Frank operated a tavern in Luxemburg for years. $4 .00 a day. Later he again took up fa rming until
He purch ased the establishment in 1915 and operat- 1894, at which time h e erected a 30x60 foot build ing
ed it for about ten years selling to James Jand a. and engaged in the saloon business. He bu ilt a
house on Ma in Street which was la ter used as the
Post Office, and where his orchurd stood the new
bank build ing was erected.
In 1915 Desire purchased Charles F. Sell farm
and son M ichael settled there after h is marriage.
COLLE Desire Colle's descendants still live on the land
he purchased fro m the government in 1855. Tom
PIERRE/ PETER CATHERINE ROGE and Linda Rueck! live in the house that h er great-
1821-1891 1824- grandfather bu ilt in '!915, and their son Je ff lives in
Married on e of the houses first built when the land fo r the
Mary-1858-1937 village was platted.
Desire- Mary Toucher Son Peter and wife Elizabeth purch ased the tav-
Elizabeth- Joseph Liebl ern and dance hall in 1931 from Peter Thill and ran
Charles-Mary Arendt the busin ess until 1938 when they sold it to Joseph
Anna-Fred Bauer Hoffman (actually traded for a 140 acre farm) . T hey
The Colle's came fro m Molstroff, Luxembourg, on s pent their retirement yea rs in a house across from
the ship A n tartic when Pierre was 33 years old. He St. Mary's Church. Today the house is being torn
purchased 160 acres from the government in Section down to enlarge the cemetery.
22 in 1855 and carved a fa rm out of the wilderness. Michael and wife Katherin e farmed on the
His first crop was fall wheat, the seed for which acreage purchased in 1915. The farm today consists
he carried on h is sh oulder from Green Bay. After of about 175 acres.
sowing two bushels. h e later harvested a crop of 48
bushels. During the first six years his grain was
thresh ed by hand with a flail. The rails which he
used in making his fences came from trees he
hewed down and carried on his back to the place
where they were needed. In 1872 Peter was no
longer able to carry the work load because of ill
health and his son and wife took over.

l)1: sire a nd Mury (Toucher/ Colle
1862-1924 1865-1942
Married October 1886
Peter-Elizabeth Haen
Michael-Katherine Dax COLLE
Eli zabeth- George Vand risse CHARLES MARY ARENDT
Desire was one of Kewaunee County's native sons '1866-1909 1870-1963
born in Luxemburg township. When only ten he Married 1893
was obliged to operate the farm for his father, and Ralph- 1896-1971
at the age of 24 married M arv, who was born in Peter J.- Helen Hopp
Austria and came to America at age 18. Desire pur- Raymond-1899-1956

Anton-Eleanor Rueck] CRAVILLION
Edgar-Marj Kopaczewski
Katherin e-Edward Ouradnik ANTOINE AMANDA MASSEY
Adeline-Lome Phillips 1866-1961 1872-1934
Herbert- +infant Married 1887
Charles was a farmer who was killed by a train John-Lena Vincen t
in 1909 making it necessary for his wife to occupy Odile-Desire DuBois
the role of fa ther and mother to her children. She Jule-Mamie Lemens
lived all her life in the 104 year-old Colle home Adele-Victor Malcore
where she raised her fa mily. Mary was born on Lucy-Ernest Laurent
what is now the David and Garv Arendt farm, the H enry-Helen Schauer
daughter of P eter and Catherine· Arendt. Mary was Eli-Ella Cayemberg
active in gardening and caring for her flock of Fred-Philomine Arendt
chickens in her retirement years. Sons Peter and Mary-Henry [Ed) Legois
Ralph served their country in WWI. In 1902 they Elmer-Julia La rdinois
purchased the bowling alleys and ran the establish- Vivian -+12 yea rs
ment for a few years.
Peter J. Colle worked hard and long years in the Antoine purchased 80 acres of land in Section 8,
interest of Luxemburg. He was Village Treasurer for 1855. He came to America with his two brothers
27 years and Secretary-Treasurer of the volunteer Charles and Louis. After farming the land for many
Fire Department 37 years. He was also the local his- years Antoine retired a nd spent his remaining years
torian with dozens of tales to tell of the passage of with his daughter Mary. Today the land is owned
local history. by Donald Lemens.
" I'll never forget the barn that started to burn
down right next to our old bank" he said, "Let's see, CRAVILLION
that was about 1907 and th e wh ole village came out
to help with bucket brigade. My dad started to rush LOUIS OCTAVIA ORDE
into the barn to pull out a buggy that was in there. 1874-1955 1833-1975
It belonged to Joe, my cousin. Joe called to my Dad, M arried
'leave it in there. Uncle, if it burns up, Pa will have An na-Mike Frisque
to buy me a new one.' The bank was saved and so Louise-H enry Lemens
was the buggy." Eugene-Stella Vandenhouten
Peter also recalls his own tragic loss, remarkable
for the attending coincidence. "My grandpa was Louis and Octavia were farmers in Section 8.
killed by a train and four months later my father, Their son Eugene became a barber, serving an ap-
Charles was killed by the same train driven by the prenticesh ip with Otto Boness. T he house that Eu-
same engineer. a fellow by the name of Slaughtery." gene and Stella purchased was owned by Herma n
Bach and at one time was the telephone office. Eu-
Cllorles Colle wed Mury Arendt 1893
gene ("Curly") operated his own barber shop from
his home for 37 years.

1842-1932 1849-1924
Married 1870
Mary-Joseph Vandeveld
Josephine-John Loberger
Joseph-Ceil Aurie
Julia-Frank Duquaine
Charles-Emma Woodward
Katherine-Frank Adams
Ferdinand-Josephine Frisque
Lucy-Jule Duquain e
Dora-Victor Hallet
Victor- M argaret LaCourt

The Cravillion fa m ily came to America about Odile-Eugene Vandenhouten
1856. They settled in Section 9 where they proceed- john-Louise Jadin
ed to make a living from their farm. T he land was Jule- Odile Motqin
sold to William Dart and is today under the owner- Louise-Charles Matheys
ship of the Alsteen family. Mary-Victor Laurent
The Cravillion family came from Tourinnes, Bel- Wilbert-Alice Dalebroux
gium in 1855. Charles-Catherine Jadin
William-Margaret Jadin

CRAVILLION Eugene purchased land in the Town of Luxem -

burg where he farmed until his son Iohn purchased
CHAR LES LUCY ETTIENNE the land. August ran a farm in Section 8. Eli Dart's
1863-1941 1865-1941 farm was in Section 7. Jule moved to Sawyer, Wis-
Married November 1883 consin. Charles lived in Section 6 and William
Joseph-Constant Challe moved to the town of Red River. Today the home
Mary-Martin Ferry farm is owned by Clifford and Calvin Abts.
Louise-Felix Vandeveld
Julia- Dan Friex Eugene ond Ku1hcri111: Durl Fornily. 1-:li. 1\11gust. Desimo. Odi/n.
John- Ida Dray /ohn. /ule. Louise. Mury, Wilber!. Gho rlit! und William.

Charles and Lucy operated a farm in Sections 8

a nd 9. The farm was passed down to son John who
ran the farm for many years. Today the land is
owned by Gordon Cravillion.

Lorra ine-Emmet Dewane

Edward was born at Thiry Dames the son of Flor·

ian and Arleen (Bowen) Dalebroux, Belgian immi-
grants who came to Wisconsin about 1855. Ed's par-
ents were farmers and he farmed for a few years
before moving to Luxemburg in 1930 where he be-
gan working for the Farmer's Trading Company. He DAUL
sold the farm to Victor Laurent. Ed was the man-
ager of Farmer's Trading for 35 years. The house *MAX OTTILA WAD
they lived in at one time belonged to Dr. Moraux. 1818-1901 1827-1911
In 1951 Ed won first prize in a sales contest with Married
the prize a new Nash car. Lorenz-Mary Salentine
Ed's brother Alex also worked at the Farmer's Margaret Rothleder
Trading Company for 25 years after he retired from Bernard-Ann Margaret Theis
farming in 1953. Alex and Louise occupy the house William-Anna K Wunsch
built by Nick Kaut, the oldest home in the village. Sophia-Joseph Burkenmeier

Max and Babitch, a niece Albertina and a neph-

DART ew Henry Daul, (Albertina and Henry were the
EUGENE JOSEPHINE HERMANS children of Carl and Theresa (Joerger) Daul,) came
1845-1924 1851-1930 to America after Lawrence had worked and saved
Married enough money for them to leave Baden, Baden Ger-
Eli- Edith Laurent many in 1854. The land they purchased was in Sec-
August-Lena Jadin tion 34, and today is owned by Anton Daul.
Desirea-Louis Vandenhouten (* Brothers)

DAUL Pauline-Louis Rogers
Roy Dixon
1851-1896 1851-1888 Kate-Jos Swoboda
Married April 1878
Louise-+1881 William married Anna Wunsch the daughter of
Theresa Sophie-1883-1907 Theodore and Caroline Wunsch. He owned a farm
Nick-1885-1943 in Section 34 which he worked all his life. The farm
Maria 1887-1888 was later operated by son Lawrence and eventually
2nd wife MARGARET ROTHLEDER sold to his sister and her husband Joseph "Bud"
Marr. 1889 1853-1928 Swoboda.
Mary-Lawrence Knipp
Margaret's children from
first marriage
Pauline- Andrew Wunsch
1830-1884 1841-1901
Nicholas- Barbara Kohlbeck
Lorenz was the son of Max and Ottila and owned
Magdal ena-George Treml
land, which he farmed all his life, in the same area
Angelina-Gustav Retzlaff
as his father's farm. Mary was the daughter of Gre-
Mary-Henry Hartinger
gory and Anna (Wahl) Salentine.
John-Caroline Kreilkamp
DAUL Anna Maria-1881+
Anna J Maria-
Michael- Maria Gengler
1854-1906 Louise- Bernard Kreilkamp
Married 1884 Daniel- Wilhelmina Lempereur
Maria Anna - George- 1879-1926
Max- Lawrence-
Matthias-+1890 Theresa- Thomas Matheys
Henry- Katie- Henry VandenBush
John-+1870 Mary- August Meintz
Bernard-+1892 Daniel was the brother of Max and Lawrence
Anna M- Daul who came to America in 1854. He purchased
Bernard- land, 320 acres in Section 21, which he farmed and
Mary M- later sold parcels to other individuals.
Sophie- +1901 His son Daniel was the loca l agent for the Hage-
meister Brewing Company He e rected a warehouse
We do not have much information on this family for beer, 2 carloads, in back of John Aschenbren-
other than the fact that they did live in this area, as ner's tavern. From an article in the Luxemburg
most of their children were born and are buried in News-1912-"A team of horses owned by Dan Daul
Luxemburg. indulged in a spurt of speed for a short distance,
DAUL after colliding with an iron hitching post and a tele-
phone pole, they wrecked the delivery wagon and
WILLIAM ANNA K WUNSCH came to a stop on Main Street."
1860-1950 1864-1907 Daniel, Jr owned land to the west of the village in
Married 1888 Section 21 where he operated his beer warehouse in
Carl-1888-1966 later years.
Mary-Nick Salentine
Margaret- George Salentine
Bernard- 1893-1940 DAUL
Tillie-Grover Gordon
Caroline-Ray Marshall 1833-1886 1840-1912
Lawrence- 1899-1971 Married 1859
Peter- Martha DeGroot Lena- John P Peot

Mary- john Kraemer An ton - Evelyn Hoffman
Anton Kacerovsky Anna Marie- 1911+
John-Barbara Filz Clarence-1912+
Albertine- Frank Trudell Hildegarde-H erbert Geier
Lawrence-Lena Kreilka mp
Ludwig-Catherin e Kreilkamp Barba ra was born in Chicago and came to Luxem-
Frances-Anton Bultman burg with her parents the Joseph Filz's who were
Ann a- + 6 years pion eer settlers of the town of Luxemburg.
Mary L- 1888+ john was a lifelong resident of Luxemburg, a
Louise-+ charter member of the Kewaun ee Fair Associati on
Nick- fo rmed in 1917 and served the Fair Association as a
d irector for 25 years.
Economic cond itions, crop fai lure in 1854, and re- They started their married live on a farm inherit-
ligious strife were a few of the reasons Lawrence ed from john's parents. (Each of Lawrence's sons
Daul and his sister, Monica and their brother Daniel was given a farm as their inheritance) John had a
d ecid ed to come to America. Their parents were de- partnership in a race horse and owned a Brisco, one
ceased and they wanted a better life. In 1854 they of the first cars. Today the farm is owned by john's
decided to leave Baden, Germany and sail to Amer- gra ndson Dean Daul.
ica . Most of John and Barbara's sons remained in the
Fortun ately they had not anticipated the problems area . Joseph L was in WW I, a carpenter, who
they would encou nter. The boat froze in at Rotter- moved away but returned to spend his retirement
dam and their voyage took 120 days. years in Luxemburg. Raymond ran the Luxemburg
After the passengers disembarked at Buffalo, New Motor Company for many years and operated a cold
York, Monica and Anton were married and the storage locker. Walter moved to Kewaunee and An-
fa m ily jou rn eyed to Wa tertown where Law rence ton operates a farm across the road from the home-
worked as a day laborer. When he earned enough stead. Alfred ran the homestead before his son
mon ey he sent for the rest of his family. His two Dean took over.
brothers Max and Babitch, a niece Albertina and Swnding: Peter Lanser. Ms. Lanser. Nick Fi/z, /\/berlino D<1UI
nephew Henry. S<!ulutl: Ms. Lunser. John Dou/, Rorbora Fili Daul. Lowrencr:
They lived for 6 years in Watertown and then /Juul / 1'.
moved to Luxemburg where he purchased 80 acres
of land from which he began to clear the heavy
grow th of timber.
Lawrence married Katerine Saltentine, the daugh-
ter of Gregory and Anna [Wahl) Salentine, and they
began their domestic life in a little log cabin after
first clearing the land. Each me mber of the family
worked hard, there was much to be done, for at one
time Lawrence owned 11.40 acres of land and did
an extensive lumber business. He was also Town
Board Chairm an for three years.

1869-1953 1872-1939
Married 1893
Joseph L- Mabel Hein DAUL
Leonora- +1895
Leona-Peter Aschenbrenner LAWRENCE LENA KREILKAMP
Edward-Lillian Woll er 1873-1951 1869-1904
Florence Godin Married October 1896
Raymond-Clara Baierl Rose-Leo Vorpahl
Anton L- 1901 + Leo Szymoniak
Walter- Ruth Se idl Peter- Mary Ze llner
Alfred - Bessie Novotny Herbe rt-1900+

Regina-Bernard Benz DAX
Helen- William Seymour
Helen VanMeerbeck 1865-1925 1867-1947
Married August 1889
Lawrence married Lena Kreilkamp of Montpelier Ann a-Charles B. Zellner
Township and they farmed in Section 34. He was Catherin e-Michael Colle
the son of Lorenz and Catherine (Salentin e) Daul. Rose-Fe lix VanDrisse
They cleared the land, a few acres at a time, and Joseph- 1894+
developed a fin e farm. Today the land is owned by Hildega rde-Adolph Blaha
Anton Daul the son of John and Barbara Daul. Joseph H-Esther Friex
Edmund- Pearl Bunda
Raymond-Theresa Treml
Herman-Mabel Michalek
DAUL And rew-Jennie Hoffman
Andrew lived in Section 26, he was a man of me-
LUDWIG CATHERINE KREILKAMP dium build with grey eyes, a fa rmer. His son Joseph
1876-1947 1877-1949 purchased an 80 acre farm from Clayton Friex in
Married April 1899 1934 at Walhain and farmed there for many years
Arthur- Helen Hafeman before retiring to Casco to live. The original Dax
Josephine- 1900-1911 fa rm is today owned by Anton J. Treml. Raymond
Adeline-William Moreau fa rmed in the town of Red River. George purchased
Martha-1905+ the Diestelhorst store in South Luxemburg in 1920
Eleanor-J oseph Glaser and ran the store fo r one year. H erman moved to
Herbert- Margaret Paul Kewaunee and Andr ew to Rockwell.
Martha- Emil Bruscy
Milos Schimanek
Ervin- Mabel Phohar
Hilary- Emma )oniaux DEBAUCH
Mildred- 1912+
Mild red-Edwin Kinsetter
1869-1929 1875-1968
Sylvan- 1913+
Married 1897
Alice-George Rueck!, Sr.
Ludwig was the son of Lorenz and Catherine
Laura-Leonard LaPlant
Daul. H e owned a parcel of land near his father's
farm which he cultivated until he retired. The land
Joseph- Ruth Johnson
was later sold to John Seidl and is owned by his
Oliver was a hotel keeper in the early 1900's. A
son Clarence Seidl.
man 5'9", 200 pounds with brown and blue eyes,
partly bald. He came from Belgium in 1882 sailing
from the port of Antwerp on the White Cross Line.
In 1915 Oliver sold his house to Albert Schley
DAX and purchased the store and residence of Herman
Nimmer, the local furn iture dealer. He ran the fur-
JOSEPH BARBARA DANCHETZ niture store and funeral parlor for six years. His
1835-1921 1836-1917 casket storage building was on the corner of Main
Married and Oak, where today stands the Chevrolet garage.
Andrew- Katherine Oberhofer Oliver sold the business in 1921 and moved to
Ignatz- Green Bay.
Joseph-Anna Baierl His daughter Laura operated a millinery parlor
The fam ily first settled at Menominee a nd came with the help of Miss Louise Comer, who worked
to this area in the early 1900's. Originally they came with Laura for three months in 1917. Alice is the
from Austria, Port of New York in 1882. Andrew only surviving member of the family. She lives in a
stayed on the fa rm and Joseph lived in Menominee. n ursing home in Green Bay. However, Oliver's tal-
ents have been passed down to his great grand son,
Thomas Rueck!, who is a licensed embalmer and
pa rt owner of McMahon's furniture store.

1886-1971 :1892-1968 1904-1954 1910-
Married Ma rried
Albert-Mildred Conard Myron (T)-Janice Mleziva
Myrtle-Norbert Dantinne Myra (Tl-Donald Schimmels
Milan- + youth
Eugene and Adeline were of Belgian descent. Debbie- Rick Albright
They settled in Section 7. The farm purchased by Algie was the son of Louis and Antoinette Deprez.
their son Albert today is owned by Da le Dart. born in the town of Red River. He worked for the
Kewaunee County Highway Department until his
death. The house they live in is one of the older
DELWICH homes in the village, John Radue used to own it.
1899-1953 1900-
Married Novembe r 1923 FLORIAN MARY
Pearl-Clarence Hruska. Jr. 1863-1916 1866-1942
John was the son of Charles and Josephine Del- Married April 1883
wich of Rosiere, attended Normal School in Algoma Mary- George Linzmeier
and taught for one year at Tone!. H e attended me- Ellen - Jule Friex
chanic school in St. Louis and worked in a garage John Kelnhofer
in Brussels. William-Anna Rank
While employed at Miesler's Garage in 1936, John Louis-
ran in to the d itch and called the wrecker from his Fann ie-George Loritz
place of employmen t. While he was operating the Rose- Joseph Tilot
hoist it slipped from his icy glove striking him on Caroline-
the right side of the face inflicting a deep gash re- Madeline-Wm Vandenhouten
quiring several stitches. Alice-Alex Parins
John purchased the Commodore Bar in 1938 from Bernadine-Frances Kernen
Alvin Krause and added living qua rters that year. Evelyn- Leo Roznoski
He con tinued in the tavern business for 15 years The Deterville fa mily came from Belgium about
un til his d eath. Before purchasing the Commodore 1882 and settled in the Walhain area. A farm was
Bar he operated the Stock Yard Bar near the fair- purchased by Florian in Section 19 which is owned
grounds and the tavern operated by Len Burdick to- by Alvin Linzmeier at the present time.
day. Louis owned a farm in Section 18 which is today
owned by William Deterville.
1873-1958 1882-1960 1892-1977 1894-
Married February 1900 Married February 1918
Phoebe-Charles Williams Bertha-Tony LeLutheran
Myrtle-Walter Reynen Marina-Lawrence Gerstner
Rose- Emil Lohrey Ervin-Delores Dart
Norman-Alice Boucher Leroy-Mary Jane Kollross
Clem was born in Champion and operated a Richard-Laverne Vaness
blacksmith shop at Oyckesville for 21 years before Marcella-Mitchell Pieschek
moving to Luxemburg in 1921. occupying the Oliver Armella- Clifford Vandermuese
DeBauch apartment while he worked for the Anton Donald- Lillian Mancheski
Swoboda Furniture Company. He operated the var- Donna-John Koss
iety store on Main Street from 1924 to 1931 purchas- Harold -Carol Cravillion
ing the building from Felix Vanclrisse and selling William farmed and ran the tavern and dance
the same to Ed Jacques. Clem served the village as hall in Walhain for many years. In 1938 they had a
assessor for 20 yea rs. Son Norm a n worked for fire which almost totally destroyed the building,
Kewaunee and Luxemburg Manufacturing Compan- causing $3,000 damage. They retired and built a
ies until his retirement. house on the former Louis Deterville farm.

Joseph and his wife Katherine farmed the home-
DISHMAKER stead until their retire me nt. Katherine was the
daughter of Joseph and Mary Kelnhofer of Luxem-
burg. Today the land in Luxemburg township is
owned by sons Clem, Norbert, and Roman.
Married 1896
In January of 1934 Joe Dorner and Louis Liebl ran
a one-mile foot race, the result of a bet. The mile
~as covered in 6 minutes flat, despite the icy condi-
!Jons of the highway, with Joe having a slight edge
Charles was born in the Kewaunee area and
over Louie.
came to Luxemburg when Bach-Kieweg Co. operat-
ed their store in Luxemburg. He lived here from
1903 until 1920 when the store changed hands a nd
he moved to Algoma.
DORNER 1882-1967 1888-1980
Married July 1907
1854-1928 1889-1930 Regina- John Kunesh
Married 1875 Mary- George Perkins
Frances-Frank Rickl Laura- Tom Kirby
Caroline-Joseph Aschenbrenner Phillip-Esther Steinhorst
Joseph-Katherine Kelnhofer Agnes-Peter Rank
George Jr-Barbara Baierl Caroline-Henry Burkart
Thomas-Catherine Zellner George Jr- Julia Ledvina
facob-Fran ces Rank Frances-1919-39
Anna- Leo- Louise Petrowski
Peter- Monica Altman Raymond-1923-27
Melchoir- Donald-Elaine Rebitz
Anna Marie- Norbert Fin nel
The Dorner family came from Hammern. Austria
in 1873. They purchased land in Section 32, and George was the son of Joseph Dorner and was
farmed until their retirement. George and Anna ce- raised in the Luxemburg area. He purchased the
lebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary. The fa rm Wenzel Steuber farm where he cultivated the land
was passed down to son Joseph. George Jr pur- until the farm was turned over to their son Donald,
chased the Steuber farm in Section 29 and Thomas who is the present owner.
bought a farm in the Town of Montpe lier. Jacob op-
erated a farm in Section 30 a nd Peter also pur-
chased a farm in the Town of Montpelier.
Dorner-Buierl Wedding- L to R Anno Dorner. He nry P Seidl.
Barbaro Baierl. George Dorne r. Cloro Pauli, Tom Dorner

1870-1963 1883-1955
Married October 1904
Martha-Alois Arendt
Verna-Anton Zellner
Margaret- Milton Thibaudeau
Joseph Jr- Olive Dantin ne
Anna-Leo Seidl
Urban- Marie Heim
Clem-Geraldine Frosch
Norbert- Marian Kust
Roman-Anna Worche k
DORNER They retired in South Luxemburg where both Ja-
cob Sr and his son were janitors a t St. Mary's
JACOB FRANCIS RANK Catholic Church and school for many years. They
1886-1951 1892-1982 got up early in the morning to ri ng the church bells
Married October 1913 before mass and at 6 in the evening.
Esther- )oe Linzmeier
Ed Newmes DUBOIS
Michael- Leone Burkart
Anna Mae-Joseph Schefchik 1859-1943 -1927
Laura-Arnold Hessel Married 1881
Robert-Elaine Kust Desire-Odile Cravillion
Jacob (T)-Mary Sacotte Joseph-Victoria Vaness
George (T)-Geraldine VandenLangenberg H enry-Phoebe Jadin
Rosella-(T)-Orville Gillis Louis- Elsie Herman
Rita- (T)-Wilmer Nighorn Victoria DeBeck
Theresa-Charles Trofka Adele-Wm Lardinois
Marie- Donald Kassner Agnes-Thomas Dennis
Anthony-Lois Rass Mary-Emil Lembo
Irene-Ernest Vaness
Jacob purchased land from Jacob Rank and oper- Clemence- William Nellis
ated his farm in Section 30, Town of Luxemburg. Celina-Louis Collins
When Jacob and Francis retired from farming the
land was turned over to their son Robert, who owns Prosper was the son of Leonard Dubois who came
the property today. to America from Belgium. His father purchased 40
acres of land from the government in Section 8.
. ~ .· ~~b Do:mir family. Boc k row. Anthony. Morie, Louro, Es1/1er.
When Prosper retired the farm was taken over by
. · M ike. Iii/du. Therese. Anno Moe. Bob. Geo rge. Rita, Jacob, his son Henry. Desire was a farmer a nd cheese
Frances. Hose. Joke maker for Tenet Cheese factory.

Prosper ond Julio /)ullois 1!J21i

DORNER 1885-'.1961
Married 1914
1883-1960 1885-1951 Anna- Walter Zahn
Jacob Jr- Helen (Neuser] Albrecht Frances-Earl De Villers

Joseph and Victoria operated a farm in Section 17

Jacob and Clara ovvned land near Sharp Corners,
which was passed down to their son Charles. Th~
Section 32, where they farmed many years eventual-
land today is under the ownership of Hubert jau -
ly selling the land to George Vandrisse. quet.
DUBOIS In 1913 Charles worked for A. M. Hoppe Store
and lived in the Loberger building on Main Street.
HENRY PHOEBE JADIN He later worked for The New Store and in 1925 left
-1975 1907-1982 to work in Milwaukee.
Married 1928
Richard-Ann Peer
Marie-Mathew Schweiner ELFNER
Carol-Dan Ratajczak
James-Nancy Dillenberg 1863-1930 1863-1949
Gerald-1943+ Married 1888
Linda- Edward- Julia Bellin
Henry, Jr-+3 years Laura-Arthur Robinson
Mathilda-Sylvan Vandrisse
Henry and Phoebe operated the homestead until Lena-Lloyd Laplant
they retired and their son James took over the farm. Raymond-
The land is located in Sections 8 a nd 17, and today Laura-
covers 120 acres. George came from the province of Ontario, Can-
ada in 1866 by railroad. He was a man 6 feet tall
about 200 pounds with brown hair and blue eyes.
DUCHATEAU He had a crippled index finger on the right hand.
JOHN LAURA DUPONT George ran the American House and the "OK
1892-1964 1896-1971 Sample Room and Bowling Alleys" in Luxemburg.
Married 1915 He served as village clerk for a few years and also
Marie-1916-1974 operated a barber shop. Daughter Lena worked as
Bess-Richard Cmeyla sales lady at Bach-Kieweg Store in 1916. The family
John- Joan Pelican moved away about 1917. George and his wife re-
Joseph-Anita Sell turned in 1928 when his wife's health failed, movirig
Ronald-1934-1944 in with his daughter Mathilda. He then operated a
John was born and raised on a farm in the town- shoe repair business from the Vandrisse home.
ship of Red River, the son of Frank and Emma
[Wery) DuChateau. He was a rural mail carrier and ESTEL
Postmaster from 1935 to 1943. John purchased Xavi-
er Mornard's house on Main Street in 1935 and later JOHN CATHERINE TA USCHEK
purchased the old Vandrisse building, which had 1848-1929 1842-1927
housed the Luxemburg News, in 1942. It had been Married January 1883
turned into a beauty shop which Mrs. Ty Perry op- John-
erated [they departed for Sturgeon Bay) and his Benedict-Mary Pauli
daughter Marie took over the business. In recent Joseph-
years the building was sold to Harley Greatens and The above are john's children from a first marriage,
Marie moved her beauty shop into a small building no other information available
which had been a garage converted to living quar- Peter-Caroline Pauli
ters just in back of her father's house. Mary-
Son John carried on where his father left off, he Minnie-Casper Loberger
became a mail carrier in 1949 after serving in
WWII, retiring in 1979 from the post office. John was of Czech/Austrian Heritage, he came to
Joe did not stay in the Luxemburg area after col- America with his parents in 1876. The Estel home-
lege he married and moved to Milwaukee. stead is located west of St. Mary's church about 1
1/2 miles. Today it is owned by Peter J. Estel.
Married 1913 at Green Bay BENEDICT MARY PAULI
Valery-Clayton J. Kaye 1879-1945 1885-1949
Mamie-Jessie Dietz Married June 1906
Agatha-Anton Dishmaker Rosalie-+infant

Ben was born in the town of Luxemburg on the EVENSON
farm where he spent his active years working the
homestead. Since he had no children the farm was OLE M. FRANCES STAHL
sold to his newphew Peter Estel. They spent their 1883-1933 1884-1955
retirement years in a house in South Luxemburg. Married July 1905
Valeria-Irvin Lomeyer
Helena-Clarence Kempter
Belme-Joseph Rutowski
ESTEL Mildred-Frances Farley
1884-1957 1894-1961 Roland-
Married November 1913 Ole was of Norwegian desc ent and marrie d
Raymond- Elizabeth Rollin Frances the daughter of Alois and Catherine Stahl.
Eleanor- Jacob Wachal He was the depot agent and had a real estate busi-
Anastasia- Frank Krines ness in partnership with Julius Cahn who eventually
Peter, Jr- Alice H endricks took over when the Evensons moved to Milwaukee.
Mildred-Eben Vandeveld They lived in the house next to the railroad tracks
Hildegarde-Norman Janet today owned by Gerald Marcelle family.
Benedict- Elaine Shefchik
Robert- Marcelina Denis
Elizabeth-Donald Ledvina FAMEREE
Peter purchased the Alfred Rueck! farm of 154 FRANK ERNESTINE THIRY
acres in 1916. He and Carolin e farmed the land un- 1883-1942 1887-1977
til their son Ben edict took over. Today Ben and ms Married June 1905
sons work the land in Section 20. Ernest-Emma Delain
Mary-Wilfred Pierre
J\ lrs. Caro line Pauli. Jl e n and Mo r>' Es tel /o hn Estel farm Elsie-+ infant
Nora I-Evangeline Guillette
Evelyn-Lawrence Prakash

Frank was born in the town of Red River, the son

of Honora Fameree. He owned a farm in the town
of Casco which was taken over by his son Ernest
and then purchased Hillside Palace which he oper-
ated until his death. The establishment was sold to
Howard Laurent.

1877-1955 1883-1977
Married February 1900
Nora-Ella Delwiche
George-Agnes Barrette
John Jr-
Clifford-Min erva Jertle

John was the son of Honora and Mary Fameree,

Belgian immigrants who settled in the Town of Red
He worked for Platten Liquor Company of Green
Bay as liquor salesman before going into the tavern

business in Luxemburg. H e owned the building Joseph was born in the Rhine Province. Germany,
which housed the Luxemburg News and managed the son of Nicholas and Catherin Filz, farmers.
the paper at on e time. His partner in the tavern was Here he learned the ca rpenter trade at age 14. Six
Sylvan Vandrisse, (today Outsider's Inn). John built years later he sailed to America from Antwerp, a
a house on Colle Street in 1909, which Jonas Bar- voyage which took 11 weeks, to try his fortune in
biaux owns today. Two years later the Fameree America. He came to Chiacgo whe re he found his
family purchased a farm in Section 11 (John Martin carpentry skills in demand following the fire of
owns the farm at the present time). During 1928 1871. Two years later they came to Luxemburg and
John purchased another farm near Lincoln. purchased 80 acres of "wild land", cleared some
One time John butchered a hog for Jos Arendt acreage and erected a farm home in which they
that weighed 700 pounds and converted it into pork lived until 1883. He then engaged in merchandising
sausage. The animal produced 150 pounds of lard. as a member of the Dendovan, Filz and Ley Co.
Two years later he bought out his partners and con-
tinued the enterprise alone. Along with the store he
fohn Fomree house- frazie ond /ohn wilh children. George und conducted a saloon (called "Old Luxemburg Home")
No ru standing on porch with /ohn. fr. be tween his parents. and operated a cheese factory.
Joseph served as Town Clerk for 4 years and was
Luxemburg's first postmaster from 1893 to 1896 (now
Aldred Linzmeier's property). In 1890 he was elect-
ed to the state legislature from Kewaunee County
and re-elected in 1892. The family moved to St. Na-
zianz in 1897.

1831-1911 1829-1910
Herman-Rosalena Nohr
August-Emile Spude
Emile- August Fischer
The Fischer family came to America about 1869.
FENENDAEL They purchased land in Section 35 and fa rmed all
their lives turning the homestead over to their son
ELI JENNIE THAYSE Herman . Over 100 years ago the land was pur-
1885-1931 1889-1973 chased at $80 for 80 acres.
Goldie-Catherine Laurent FISCHER
Clifford-Frances Knipp
Vivian-Harvey Johnson HERMAN ROSALENA NOHR
The Fenendael's are of Belgian descent. Eli pur- 1862-1933 1865-1923
chased an 80 acre farm of August Meintz, which to- Married May 1882
day is occupied by Northbrook Country Club. Eli Minnie-Oscar Bernhart
and Jennie ran the farm eventually turning it over Anna-William Bernhart
to their son Clifford, who sold it to Northbrook. Louise-William Bernhart
Esther-Helmuth Hussong
Hilda-Kenneth Tegan
FILZ Emma-Earl Prust
Herman-Illia Mae Pechman
JOSEPH ANNA LANSER Herman was born in Germany coming to America
1848-1920 1845-1922 with his parents at the age of seven. He married
Married 1870 Rosalena at Morrison, farmed all his !ife and turned
Barbara- John Daul the farm over to his son Herman who ran the farm
Nicholas- +infant until it was sold to Marvin Rollins in 1968. Daughter
Nicholas II-Mary Arendt Louise died after a year of marriage and her hus-
Theresa Spruell band married Anna.

Anna-Charles Zellner
Fred Wunsch
ANTON MABEL RAVET Margaret-Sylvan LaCourt
1898-1978 1904- Gladys-Emmet Cain
Married 1924 Esther- Joseph Dax
Donna-Marvin Bins Louis-Julia Anderle
Robert-Gertrude Hoida Adeline-Louis Vincent
Mary Ann- Richard Tatosky Louis and his wife operated a tavern in Walhain
Anton was born in East Krok. the son of Albert and a blacksmith.
Flegel. He served in WWI as Seaman 2nd Cl. 1918-
19'19. He stayed at Camille Barbiaux's while working
for Miesler Garage. After 12 years he operated his
own station at the corner of Maple and Main Street.
Anton managed the Red Owl store for 29 years
and before that the Cash Way Store in the Louis
Liebl Building for six years. Anton was a member of
the village board for a few years.
In 1922 an electrical storm played havoc to the
lights at Colle Dance Hall in South Luxemburg. An-
ton went d own to the large transformer in search of
the trouble. He was carrying a small fl ashlight and
the current jumped across the terminal of a line
carrying about 600 volts to the flashlight. Anton was
knocked down unconscious and his clothes began to
burn. The fire was extinguished by Walter Salmon I. In H, Anno, Adeline, George. l,ouis. Murgrette, Esther, Gladys
who had accompanied him. and rushed to the hos- Frio;.:.
pital. He received burns about his hands, feet and
body. H e wanted to replace a fuse which he be-
lieved had blown out at the large transformer. FRIEX
FRI EX 1877-1918 1886-1931
1862-1943 1862-1927 Clayton-Doris Nicholai
Married Beatrice-Clarence Rogers
Clem -Laura DeBaker Pearl-Willard Hendricks
William-Mary Dantine Viola-Robert Alsteen
Dan - Julia Cravillion JOHN KELNHOFER 2nd husband
Mamie-Killiam Simons Married May 1922
Julian-Barbara Zellner Jule was a farmer and served his country in
Henry- Rose Barta WWI, he farmed the homestead and sold it to his
Mable-Louis Paul son in law Joseph Dax. Jule, Joseph and Louis were
Walter-Josie Paul the sons of Peter and Julie (Legois) Friex.
Ceil-Frank Vandeveld
Clem rented the Michael Arendt farm for a few
years. Joseph owned a farm near Walha in which to- FRISQUE
day is under the ownership of Larry Dax. Jule and
Henry served in WW I. Walter leased William De-
1869-1943 1873-1942
tervill e dance hall and tavern for a few years.
Married August 1894
H enry-Angeline Thayse
Louise-George Tombal
FRI EX Michael-Anna Cravillion
1866-1922 1871-1953 The homestead in Section 4 was purchased by
Married Pierre in 1856 after arriving from Belgium. The farm
George-Frances Linzmeier today is owned by Henry and Alvin Frisque.

1900- 1903-1927 1832-1916 1829-1913
Married 1924
Married 1881
Roman-Arena Baker George Dorner, Sr-Anna Schaetz
2nd marriage CATHERINE STADE Son from Franciska's first marriage
Francisca- An ton Treml
Michael, Jr- Joseph- Anna Schaetz
Magdalena-Henry Dunning
Joseph purchased land in Section 32 in 1876 and
James-Kathy Malcore operated a farm during his life time. Joseph was
John-Rose Kust born in Hammern, Austria/Bohemia and came to
Dorothy-Marvin Bertrand
America in 1882 with his wife and her 17 year old
Michael worked for the Railroad. retiring 14 years
son. The farm today is owned by Roman Dorner.
ago. He purchased his home at 330 Ash from Mrs.
Son Joseph purchased a farm in the town of Mont-
Charles Rank. the house was built by Santroch
Brothers about 80 years ago.

1870-1950 1877-1964 1831-1912 1853-1921
Married Married May 1874
Daniel-+1928 Joseph- Louisa Gautheir
Carl P- Mary- Charlie Cravillion
Peter A-'- Louis Balza
Gertrude- Jos Gisler Victor purchased land in Sections 1 and 2 where
Viola-Carl Smet he farmed all his life passing the farm down to his
son Joseph. The Godshoul's came from Belgium.
The Genglers owned a farm in Section 11 which
they operated for many years. They purchased a
home in the village where they spent retirement GODSHOUL
years. At the present time George Sigmund owns
the farm. The family came from Luxembourg. JOSEPH LOUISA GAUTHIER
1880-1958 1882-1945
GERONDALE Married June 1906
Gladys-Henry Sconzert
RUPERT IDA DALEBROUX Joseph operated the homestead until his daughter
1907- 1908- Gladys and son in law Henry joined the farming
Married 1931 operations. Today the farm is owned by Norman
Niles-Pearl Englebert and Annabelle (Sconzert) Dier.
Gary-Elaine Lauerblat

Both Rube and Ida are of Belgian descent. Ida is GOETSCH

the daughter of Jule Dalebroux and was raised in
Thiry Dames. Rube's family came from Brussels EDWARD MAE SISELY
area. 1905- 1906-
They moved from Thiry Dames to run a tavern Married
previously owned by Charles Malcore. After run- Edward W, Jr-Vivian Kuehl
ning the business for a few years he sold the tavern William-Sondra Rassmussen
to Felix Vandeveld. (Today Burdick's Bar) James- Micky Brown
Rube also was a mail carrier and after selling the Beverly- Mark Jonet
tavern he operated a gas station just down the
street. In addition to the gas station he managed the Ed was born in the town of Montpelier, the son
bulk plant and drove the gas truck that delivered of William and Emilie Goetsch. He came to Luxem-
gas to customers. About 1954 the family moved to burg in 1920 and worked for Libal Sheet Metal and
Green Bay where they purchased a furniture store. Plumbing shop.

In 1935 he entered the police force of Kewaunee
County. During the sum mer months motorcycles
were used to patrol the county and in winter he AUGUST ANNA DAVIES
rode with the snow plows. During the winter of 1852-1923 1853-1920
1940-as reported by Luxemburg News; "Ed Married 1876
Goetsch, county traffic officer has lost all confidence Selina-1879-1880
in his friend Ed Jacques as a result of a plowing in- Clara-Oliver Gauthier
cident. Goetsch was aboard a snow plow, plowing Edward- 1882-1901
out a space on the athletic fi eld to dump snow from Donnie-1820-1872
the village street a nd Jacques was giving him direc- Susan-1886 +
tions on where to turn and how. 'Turn her sharp Bernadette-Eugene Miessier
now' Jacques shouted. 'OK, watch this.· said Fabian-
Goetsch. and the next minute the plow had struck a The Gosins came rrom Belgium and settled in
culvert and the traffic officer had only his feet stick- Walhain area in the early 1870's in Section 17. Son
ing out of the snow bank. 'I guess maybe I made a Fabian became a doctor and in 1914 served his in-
mistake' Jacques apologized. 'That's a good joke on ternship at St. Vincent's Hospital.
me,' Goetsch sa id.
Ed se rv e d under s uch sheriffs as Thomas
O'Konski, John Wocos, Bill Brusky, Hogan Kuehl, GOSIN
Darwin Legois and Jos Horak.
Before phones h e stopped a 1· every store, garage
a nd gas sta tion to see if there were any messages.
Married February 1880
Cliff H ershfield and Ed handled the whole county,
Juliette-Louis Haevers
Ed had the north half and Cliff the south. They also
Jennie-Xavier Mornard
alternated as Chief. Ed retired after serving 35 years
John and his wife conducted the store and hotel
on the force.
at Walhain known as "Half-Way House " which lat-
er burned. The properly was sold to Andrew Lo-
l·:dwurd Gor.tsd1
berger. In 1912 people wanted to reopen the Gosin
Cheese Factory which had been closed for three

1859-1924 1873-1926
Married 1885
Edward-Regina Zellner
Anton, Jr-Jennie Bertrand
Anna-Omer Servais
Margaret-George Liebl
Helen-Martin H eim
Catherine-Charles Barker
Louise-Mike Hussin
Anton came to America in 1883, built a general
store, post office, ch eese ractory, and sa loon at
Neuren, in addition, he owned several fine farms in
the coun ty. Anton also built an implement business
and co-operative store in Luxemburg. His daughter
Louise helped out in the store in Neuren, her hus-
band was the local h orse trainer.

In 1914 Anton purchased the Inland knitting fac- Michael was born in Prussia and Mary was born
tory. The farm he owned in Luxemburg township, in Alsace, Lorraine. Mary came to Pennsylvania at
Section 33 was sold to Anton Zellner and today the age of 9 with her parents and Michael arrived
owned by Norbert Dorner. in America 1848. The family migrated to Wisconsin
in '1859 with brother Barney, sisters and brother in
laws, Barney and Anna Wahl, Henry and Barbara
GRASSEL Hahn. Left behind were Peter, William, Eva, Con-
ANTON, JR JENNIE BERTRAND stantine and Mary. Michael purchased land in Sec-
1888-1967 1882-1960 tions 34 and 35. The farm in Section 34 was passed
Married August 1909 down to son Michael and the one in Section 35
owned by son Henry. Henry and John moved to
Anton joined his father in business during 1917 Sturgeon Bay.
and in 1924 operated a garage and Implement busi- HAEN
ness until 1930. He then moved to Lena for a few
years returning to Luxemburg to operate a tavern on MICHAEL ELIZABETH STEINHORST
Main Street now called Outsiders Inn 1861-1943 1877-1967
February 1898
Leo-Caroline Ricki
GOTSTEIN Norbert-Evelyn Pardowski
Regina-Chester Hoffman
JOSEPH B MARY LEY Frances-Arnold Prill
1873- 1879-1961 Michael was a lifelong resident of the town of
Married 1900 Luxemburg where he farmed the land that is today
Annette-Adam Brusky owned by Lloyd Haen. In 1919 he purchased the
Beatrice-Edward Hlinak Ralph Thibaudeau farm and turned it over to his
Ervin-Viola Hollub son Leo.
Norma- Wallace Kashik Leo was named Master Farmer in 1949. H e was
Alphonse-Sylvia Sinkula an active member of the community, town supervi-
Olive- sor 1938-1943; Farm Bureau member five years; Di-
Rosemary-H Burmeister rector of Town of Luxemburg two years; President
Loyal- of Farm Bureau, a leader in testing, breeding, Bangs
Control and helped in membership drives for Farm
Joseph was born in Bohemia/ Austria and married Bureau.
Mary, the daughter of Michael and Anna Ley. He HAEN
operated a foundry at Luxemburg until 1918 when
he moved to Casco and became affiliated with Dvo- BERNARD M* LUCY WENNER
rak, Gayner and Gots tein Gara ge . He sold the 1830-1915 1846-1926
foundry to Peter Liebl and Melchoir Poet. Married 1869
Bernard- Mathilda Joergers
Catherine-William Benz
HAEN Elizabeth- Peter Colle
Joseph-Theresa Steinhorst
MICHAEL* MARY WENNER William- Christina Aschenbrenner
1829-1898 1832-1917 Lena- John Kons
Married in Pennsylvania 1858 Mary-Henry Dernbach
Barbara- Peter Haubreck Barbara-+1896
John Berkheimer Bernard was born in Prussia and accompanied his
Michael- Eliza beth Steinhorst parents to America, settling in Pennsylvania. After
Anna-Peter Merens ten years they migrated to Wisconsin with his
Bernard-Bertha Strande} brother Michael and two sisters. The Haen family
Mary-+ youth purchased land in Section 35 wruch is still in the
Lena- family today. There was an enormous amount of
Peter-Catherine Trudell work to be done by hand in the pioneer days for
Nicholas- + infant every member of the family. The acreage increased
Henry- Susan Grovogel over the years and was divided when the sons mar-
John-Mary May ried.

Bernard Hoen fa mily: l.cno. lle rnunJ. Williom. Mo ry. /oscp h.
"Th e death of Mr. Haevers removes one who
Lucy. £ fo.ubeth played a consp icuous part in the annal s of
Kewaunee County for more than forty years, and
ends, as well, a most romantic and eventful life, a
life so strange in some of its features as to read like
Mr. Haevers has frequently related to th e writer
that he h ad no knowledge of his parentage, but that
he believed himself to be connected with the nobil-
ity, if not with the royal family of his native land. It
is certain that his early childhood was fraught with
ma ny strange circumstances.
His first recollection of life was when he was in
some Catholic institution near the city of Brussels, in
charge of an order of sisters. One day h e recalls
that the sister who had him in charge took him to a
la rge cemetery, and pointing to a great tomb, told
him that his mother was laid in there. The n ext
known by him, h e was aboard a ship which landed
him at New Orleans. Those who had him in ch arge
HAEN on the ship abandoned him and at a very tender
age found himself a waif on the streets of a great
city. For years he made a living as best he could
1875-1963 1886-1972
until the war of the rebellion broke out. He enlisted
Married May 1905
as a private in the Confederate Army, serving in the
Verna-Richard Bennett
14th Louisiana Infantry, known as the 'Louisiana Ti -
Delores-John Lancelle
gers,' until the close of the war.
Luella-Ernest Christiansen
He took an active part in all of the operations of
Muriel- William Koss
Lee's army in Virgin ia serving under 'Stonewall'
Margaret-Robert Adrains
Jackson during the career of that able commander.
Mary-John Koss
He was taken prisoner at the battle of New Market,
Bernard P-Angelin e Jerovetz
his captors being the 23rd Ohio, commanded by
Claire-Robert Kratky
Ma jor McKinley, afterwards President McKinley. It
After their marriage they took over the old H aen
was at the time of his capture that the incident of
Homestead, which they operated until their retire-
Mr. H aevers shooting at McKinley, often related in
ment. Bernard and Mathilda celebra ted their 50th
the press, occurred. Mr. Haevers own version of the
Wedding Anniversary in 1955. Th e land today is
affair was as follows.
owned by Bernard a nd Angeline and their sons.
McKinl ey w as in command of the imme dia te
operations in that part of the field which was near
the building of the Virginia Military School and
HAEVERS mounted amoung a group of officers upon a con-
spicuous horse. Haevers, with oth ers of his regiment,
FERDINAND PHILOMENE was concealed in some shrubbery behind a fence.
1842-1909 1848-1928 He saw the officer on the horse, apparently in com-
Married mand of the enemy, and he determined to shoot
Philebert-Nettie Dalebroux him. To get a better aim at his intended victim he
Elizabeth-Felix Petitjean stepped out into the open and took deliberate aim at
Amos-Pinky Fredericks the offi cer. He was so near to McKinley that the act
Josephine-Eugene Legois seemed more like deliberate murder than like war
Mary- and his courage sank at the thought. Remembering
Louis-Juliette Gosin the words or his commander, 'Stone Wall' Jackson,
Virginia-Henry Massey that a 'dismounted cavalryman was as good as a
Agnes-Victor Hannon dead cavalryman.' he suddenly changed his aim and
Martin-Nathalie Vancaster killed the horse instead of the man. A few minutes
Angeline-Fran k Houdek afterwards a detachment of Un ion soldiers came
Albertine-Peter Duerr around th e Institute Build ing, and taking the squad
William-Isabelle Baker or Confederates in the rear, captured them and

marched them along by the group of Union officers Lydia-John Sigmund
still standing where McKinley lost his horse. As they Herman Lohrey
passed by, an officer turned to McKinley and said,
'Mac there's the man that shot your horse, I saw William, Carl and Ferdinand, three brothers, came
him when he stepped out to take aim.' Mckinley from Prussia in 1868. William farmed on the proper-
turned to Haevers and said, 'are you the man who ty now owned by August Zimmer. Carl lived in Sec-
shot my horse?' Havers replied, 'I don't know, my tion 2, Town of Casco, and Ferdinand moved to the
friend, but if I am you may thank God it was not Chelsea, Wisconsin area.
yourself.' McKinley retorte d, 'Yes, but it was a
d good horse.'
After his capture Mr. Haevers was confined in
Union prison at Columbus, Ohio until the close of
the war. Not desiring to return south, he went to
Chicago, secured employment upon a steamer run-
ning to Green Bay. Finding in that city many coun-
1846-1913 1858-1942
trymen of his own who spoke his language, he set- Married 1877
tled there and later located in Luxemburg." - From
Minnie-Herman Lavrenz
Kewaunee Enterprise Article of 1909
William-Wilhelmina Zuege
Ferdinand purchased land in Section 6 which he
Bertha-Henry Abraham
farmed until he turned the land over to his son
Ida-Frank Miesler, Jr
Amanda-Robert Scott
HAE VE RS Edgar Roebke
Bernard- Florence Garbright
Alma Wehausen
1879-1939 1880-1939
Esther-Walter Hackbarth
Fred-Uneeda Nault
Mary-William Janet
Carl was born in Pommerland, St. Greifenburg,
John Renier
Dorf Luepso, which is now in the Province of Szce -
Peter-Esther Dewitt
cin, Poland. He came to America with his brothers
Juliette-Clarence DeBaker
in 1868. The farm which Carl and Amelia operated
Ferdinand-+infant (twn of Juliette)
is located in Section 11. The homestead was passed
Ferdinand-Estella Paul
down to his son William. The other son, Ben moved
Blanche-Sylvester Kuipers
to Manitowoc.
Martin operated the homestead and managed the
Tonet Cheese Factory, was a member of the school
board for 25 years, a trustee of St. Martin's church
and an officer of the Farmer's Trading Company.
The land today is owned by Clarence and Juliette HAFEMAN
1880-1969 1884-1963
HAFEMAN Married 1907
1841-1916 1841-1918 Verna-Anton e Seid l
Married Lorraine-Alva Schmidt
Albert- Wilhelmina Schultz William operated the home farm after the death
Anna Marie-August Sell of his fa ther Carl. Later his daughter and son-in-
Minnie- Charles Gustavus law, Lorraine and Alva Schmidt were the own ers.
Emilie- 1878-98 The farm is presently operated by their son, Leroy
William-Vienie Beyer Schmidt and his wife. The farm is located in Sec-
Leona ? tion 11 and contains 140 acres.
Bertha- Christ Genal
Charles Koehn
Wm. Schere

HALLO IN 1869-1942 1875-1920
Married June 1895
1869-1956 1889- Anna-Leon VanAntwerp
Marri ed 1905 Lillian-Lester Schn eider
Louie- Henry-Lorette Kudick
Fran k- Florence Giese Mabel-Adolph Doell
Laura- Harold Knospe 2nd wife BERTHA RADUE
Sidney-Eunice Hoslet 1870-1960
Grace-Anthony DeFrances Louis Rad ue-Esther Witte
Sam-Isabelle Mastrocola Seate Radue- William Kono
The Hanaeman family came from Germany and
Louis was raised in the Lincoln area and attended first settled in Cascade before coming to the Town
th e Un iversity of Illin ois School of Medicine. He of Luxemburg two years later. They purchased land
began his practice in the town of Lincoln in 1900. in Section 2, which was passed down to the ir son
The fa mily moved to Luxemburg in 1924 where H enry.
he se t up his practic e . H e spo ke Belgian and William's second wife was married to a Radue.
French, which was to his advan tage because many Bertha had two children from the first marriage.
of h is patients only spoke Belgian. He was often in-
vited to share meals with his pa tients, and many
times stayed over night. H e had an unusual answer-
ing service, a lighted lantern hanging outside tavern HANAMANN
doors. T he lan tern was the signal to come in and HENRY LORETTA KUDICK
get his calls. 1903-1967 1907-1979
The six Halloin children were the guinea pigs Married
when shots were to be administered. They had to Murie1- Marvin Gruetzmacher
roll up their sleeves and brave ly accept the shots, Bernice-Harold Reckelberg
proving that it wouldn't hurt. Henry was born in the Town of Luxemburg and
Several rooms in their home were reserved for was a farmer all his life. The farm is now in the
surgical patients, with Laura doing the nursing. Pa- third generation of Hanamann's and under the own-
tients had their gall b ladders removed and several ership of Harold and Bernice Reckelberg.
days of room, board and nursing care for five dol-
lars. When Louis had his own gall bladder removed
by Dr. Bellin, he insisted on a local anesthetic and
rigged up a mirror so he could watch the surgery. HAPPEL
A team of horses was a lways hitched to the buggy EDWIN P ANNA BAIERL
or cutter. If he came in with a patient the boys 1882-1944 1891-1975
would rub down and feed the horses and hitch up Married May 1921
another team in case he was ca lled out again. He Emery-Laverne Rass
made house calls 30 miles away with horse, buggy Doctor Happel was born in Ki el. the so n of
or cutt er, resorting to sn owshoes in inaccessi ble George Happel's and a graduate of Marquette Den-
areas. There were times when he was paid with ta1 School in 1912. H e purchased Dr. George Ander-
"Th ank you," a cord of wood, chickens and produce son's dental equipment in 1913 and served Luxem-
when there was no money. burg for 30 years. He was active in civic and
The doctors of his era we re truly dedicated to community affairs performing the duties of treasurer
their profession and kept the early pioneer's going. of the vi11age for 20 years. Doctor Happel was also
Their homes were hospitals and they had their own director and president of School District No. 1 for
pharmacies. They were trusted and respected as ove r 20 years, and d ir ector, tr eas urer of th e
doctor, friend and news carrier. Kewaunee County Agricultura l Association since its
The Halloin children all moved from the Luxem- organization (1918-1944).
burg area . The house they lived in was sold to Bert During 1917 he purchased two lots in Miller Ad-
Paider and is owned by Mrs. Joseph Suess tod ay. d ition, owned by P. Peot and moved a house from
Sam lives in Green Bay and is the mayor at the the Village Park to his lots in 1935. Today the house
present time. is owned by Joseph Baierl.

1840-1927 1846-1915 1856-1923 1850-1938
Married Married
Peter J-1 878-1896 Louis-Desire Delongville
Henry-Maria Daul Stannie-Adelphine Charles
Maria- Eli Smeester William-Julia Charles
Anna- Jacob Spitzer Kath erine-Charles Hoebreckx
John- John was a mason, 5'5", of slight build with
Jacob- 1877-1938 brown hair and blue eyes. He came to America
Joseph owned land in Section 16 which he pur- from Ottenbourg, Belgium in 1886 and purchased a
chased in 1872. Son H enry was a well driller in farm in Section 9, which was handed down to his
partnership with Albert Lohf. and a farmer. In 1913 son Stannie.
Joseph purchased the Ramesh house in the village
and sold a farm to Peter P. Arendt. Henry moved /ohn 1-le ndricks Family L tu R. bock row Stanley unJ Kuthe rinP..
his family to Green Bay in 1924 after selling his Seated. Louis, Muther Kathe rine. Willie f'uthe .r John uncl Kather-
equipment to Julius Retzlaff. ine's husbund Chor/cs I locbrec ks

I /ortinger Well Drilling Rig. The men in the picture urc nut

John ond 1\/exandra /-/endric ks. /-lome.

1872-1958 1879-1963
Married June 1905
Agnes-Ted Havel
Fred was the son of Martin and Helen (Grassel)
Heim. In 1932 he purchased the former residence of
Anna Maria Rank in South Luxemburg (today Ro-
land Baierl home). Fred worked for the manufactur-
ing company and lost two fingers on his right hand
while working on cheese boxes when his hand was
caught in a saw.

HENDRICKS Henry purchased a farm in Section 16 which was
later sold to Felix Marsell and Fred Meintz. Today
LOUIS DESIRE DELONGVILLE the land is farmed by Harvey Mueller. Son William
1883-1940 1887-1947 worked for Liebman Packing company for 13 years
Married November 1906 and for " Bl a h " Barb iaux before going into th e
Wilfred- Beatrice Corey plumbing business for himself.
Lorrain e- Alvin Wilquet
Regina- Joseph We ininger
Eva- Harold Tasquin HERMANS
Irene- Michael Rank
Myrtle- Quentin Veeser GEORGE ADELE NELLIS
Marie- Ju le Dequain e Married
Mabel- Norval Barley Goldie-Libby Hannon
Louis married Desire at St. Odiles and settled on Laverne Rentmeester
th e home farm in Section 9, where he worked the
land until his death . He was assisting in taking George was the son of Joseph Hermans, of Bel-
down a barn in Scarboro when a timber fell on gian descent and owned land in Section 6. Afte r
him. He d ied a few months later. Today the farm is farm ing the land for many years he turned the op-
owned by Wallace Guillette. eration over to h is son Goldie.

1885-1967 1892- 1895-1980 1894-1972
Married 1925 Married
Viola-Charles Adams No Children
Mildred - Alvin Everard
Harvey- Ruby Nellis Louis and Eva operated a tavern and dance hall
Richard - Rosabelle Englebert in Wa lhain for many years. They sold the busin ess
Elmer- Anna Gory! to the Nicholai family.
Alice- Peter Estel
Walter- Agatha Nicholai
Bernice- Harold Kelnhofer HINNENDAEL
Stannie operated his father's farm until his retire-
ment when he purchased the August Sell home in FRANK LAURA DUCHATEAU
the village. The fa rm was next owned by Elmer and 1888-1945 1890-1965
Anna until ·1931 when the house burned. They re- Married 1916
tired and purchased a new house in Luxemburg. Emma-George L. Leischow
Son Walter lives in Dyckesville an d works at the Sarah-Raymond Rasmussen
Bank of Luxemburg. Francis-Gertrude H early
Henry-Emerita Vandenbush
john - Patrica Lison
HERMANS Frank was the son of Henry and Sara Hinnen-
dael. born at Sti les, and farmed before becoming a
DESIRE MARY LAURENT rural mail carrier for over a quarter of a century.
1871-1956 1877-1924 He was first em ployed at F DuChateau Liquor Store
Married in G reen Bay and in 1918 entered the postal service.
Fran k- Philomine Van ess In 1928 he purchased land in the village and 2
H enry- Emily Catour years later planted a ch erry orchard. His wife Laura
Elsie-Louis DuBois was born a t Green Bay, graduate d from Door-
Fred-+ 13 yr Kewaunee Normal School and attended Oshkosh
Agnes-H arvey Luedtke State Teachers College before teaching in Kewaunee
Joseph- Rose Wery County schools. The orchard was sold to John Chris-
William-Evelyn Bodart tofferson who runs the business today. Son Francis
Josie- Art Adams became a doctor and moved away.

1851-1921 1852-1924 1863-1947 1867-1948
Married Married May 1892
Abigale-Seymour Pontious Peter-
Charles was a grain buyer at the Luxemburg George-Lena
Grain Company and later purchased a variety store John-
on Main Street which he operated un til 1920 when Adolph-Claudia Arendt
he sold the business to Felix Vandrisse. (we were Joseph [T)-Josephine Melera
not able to obtain much information on this family.) Frank (T)-1906+

The Peter Hoffman family settled in Section 14 of

the township where they operated a farm. His son
Peter, jr remained single and helped on the home
Charles HobrecJ1 family: L lo H. Kate. Cy. Abbie, Lorroine. farm. He was also a pain ter and d id roofing work.
Homer and Chor/es. Cen ter fronl, Kalherine ond Marie.
Son Joseph operated the home farm for a number of
years before managing Hoffman's Ballroom in South
Luxemburg. He was later employed by Kewaunee,
Green Bay and Western Railroad. Peter later sold
his farm to Dan Arendt and purchased the Louis
Windel farm in Section 23, of 120 acres. This farm
was passed down to son Adolph who operated it
until he sold the land to Marvin and Marie DeJar-
din. Today the fa rm is in the ownership of Michael
J Peat.

1873-1931 1895-
Married 1916
Earl- Betty Mielke
Evelyn- Anton Daul
HOFFMAN Anna-Wilbur Bellin

JACOB ANNA HYNEK Wencil, or "Jim" as he was ca11ed was born in

1826- 1833-1890 Bohemia the son of Jacob and Anna Hoffman . He
Married operated the home farm in Section 11 for a few
Peter-Anna Nendel years and later moved to Luxemburg where he was
Jacob- the care-taker of the village hall and fire depart-
Barbara-John Dworak ment. The farm was sold to Otto Doell. The family
Wencil/Jim-Ida Gellin lived in a small house by the railroad tracks.
Annie-Fabian Junion
Theresia-John Junion
Mary- Peter Sticka
Jacob and Anna came to America about 1876 and 1865-1930 1864-1928
purchased land in Section 11, 80 acres, where they Married November 1883
cleared the land and cultivated it for many years Emil-Johanna Fenske
before turning the farm over to their sons. Peter op- Frank-Flora Hillman
erated a farm in Section 23. Jacob was single and Paul- Ruth Perlewitz
helped on the home farm . Wencil was in charge of Frieda- Ben Drier, Phillip Haevers
the homestead and son John moved to Green Bay. Hilda - Roy Kaye

Alma-Emil Dettman Flora also worked in the store and was a faithfu l
Gertrude-Lawrence Yauger member of the Legion Auxiliary, rarely missing a
William-Alma Haucke meeting. She was honored with a 50-year pin in
Esther-Otto Kaye. Lee Metzner 1976.
A M Hoppe purchased the Sell-Liebl store in 1912
after operating a farm and cheese factory in Rio
Creek. Albert, beside conducting a successful busi-
ness, was president of Luxemburg Manufacturing
Company for several years. After his death the store
The band was headed by Albert Hoppe and its
was operated by his family. Paul was in WW I and
members were: Frank Wawirka, a cousin, William,
lived in the apartm ent above the business. He later
Frank, Emil and Paul Hoppe, Mrs. Esther Metzner,
moved to Algoma. William came from Forestville to
Walter Friex, Mrs. Gertrude Yauger, Mrs. Hilda
help run the store a nd a few years later moved to
Kaye, Mrs. Flora Ledvina, Mrs. Frieda H aevers. and
Casco. Eight of Albert's sons and daughters played
Otto Kaye.
in the Hoppe Ba nd.
In 1920 the Hoppe Band, consisting of father a nd
eight children, was featured at the Kewaun ee Coun-
ty Fair. The band was organized in 1917. Professor
W E Wheelock of Green Bay conducted rehea rsa ls
HOPPE of the Hoppe Band in 1921. He was a graduate of
Mozart Conservatory of Music in Philadelphia.
THE HOPPI:: BAND Lefr to right: Fronk \A/uwrika. William
1885-1971 1888-1978 Huppe. Waller Fricx. Vuleria Evenson. Fronk ll oppe, Gertrude
Married June 1909 Hoppe, 0 110 Kaye. Flo ru Hoppe, Esther Hoppe. llilrlu lloppc.
Alice-Leonard Schneider Williurn / onet. Emil I l oppc. A. M. Hoppe, Charles Seidl. 1-'rcc/o
Maynard-Ruth Frank I lnppc. Puu/ 1-loppe
Marvin-Dorothy Pautz
Elroy- Jean Peters

Emil was born near Rio Creek and came to Lux-

emburg when his father purchased Sell-Liebl Store.
He operated the store until his sons took over the
business.The store is no longer in the Hoppe family,
it belongs to McMahon Furniture Company.

1892-1940 1893-1981
Married October 1919
No Children HOSLET
Frank was born and raised at Rio Creek and
helped his father in the gen eral store. H e served his JOSEPH EMMA VANDEVELD
country in WW I where he saw considerable action 1872-1938 1876-1966
during the final months of the war. He returned to Married June 1897
the states with the regimen t of General Pershing
and took part in the famous victory parades in Paris, Joe was village assessor 8 years and treasurer for
London, New York and Washington DC. 4 years. He lived on First Street, where Dan and
He served the American Legion Post 262 as Com- Jean Retzlaff live. During 1911 when he worked at
mander four times and was a member of the post the Cargill Elevator he slipped on the icy sidewalk
for 21 years.Frank was manager of Hoppe's store for near the elevator and fra ctured a bone in his foot.
18 years and took an active roll in the Town and In 1930 he was appointed census enumerator. The
Country Club. He served 21 years on the Village Hoslet's are buried in St. Mary's Cemetery a t Lux-
Board and 19 years as clerk of his school district. emburg.

HRABIK The business was passed down to son Clarence in
1924. H e built the Rendezvous in 1932 on property
JOHN THERESA STICKA purchased from Joseph Dorner. A fire in 1935 de-
1874-1932 stroyed part of the living quarters, store and tavern.
Married June 1894 While building a new store in 1936 Clarence was
Otto-Mamie Arendt injured when he lost his balance working on the
Ben- first floor and fell into the basement causing torn
William- ligaments. He also owned a farm in the township of
Roy- Montpe li er. Carl Glaser leased the Rendezvous in
Edna- (T) 1944 and ran it until 1951 when Clifford Shilbauer
Alice- (T) Ed Oke became the proprietor. July of 1970 the Hruska and
Mattie- Julius Blaha jandrain fam ilies took over and added eight new
bowling lanes, also operating the store and milling
John was born in Manitowoc and purchased a company. The fami ly today operat es the former
farm and the Scarboro Valley Cheese Factory in Wunsch farm and another in the town of Montpe-
1915. Two years later he installed a whey separator lier.
at the factory. Sons Otto and Roy h elped their fa-
ther in the cheesemaking business. In 1920 Roy be- JACQUES
came the owner of the factory and store. He was
award ed fi rst pr ize in the American Cheddar DESIRE JOSEPHINE JADIN
Cheese Class, scoring 96.5 points. a t the state fair. 1871-1946 1879-1968
Roy traded the factory for a farm in Door County to Married 1899
Oscar Peronto, who was the cheesemaker at Alaska Edward- Emma DeBaker
for 14 years. Otto left in 1918 for Tisch Mills, Ben Mabel-Edward Metzler
and William also moved away, the farm which their Fred-
father owned was sold to Wencil Swoboda. Elmer-Pearl Mathu
Stella-Walter )auquet

Desire was of French d escent and his wife of Bel-

gian descent. They purchased land in Section 17
HRUSKA where they spent their lives working the farm. To-
day the farm is own ed by Hub jauquet.
1870-1950 1880-1911
Married October 1897 at Rankin JACQUES
Clarence-Mary Glaser
Vince Vanderperron 1900- 1901-1965
Elsie-Frank Helebrant Ma rried August 1922
Esther-+ infant Edward Jr-
Lillian-George Glaser james-
Alvin-Kathleen Madke Edward came to Luxemburg in 1922, worked for
Viola-Clarence Lohrey the Farmers Trading Company, and was the man-
Irene-Clarence Vandertie ager for 4 years. In 1931 h e became the owner of a
2nd wife ANNA (SCHAETZ) grocery store on Main Street purchased from Clem
KREIDLEKAMP DePas. He was previously employed by Cash-Way
Marr: Ian 1915 1875-1926 Stores. Ed also worked for the implement dealer as
3rd wife LEONIE CHARLIER bookkeeper. He has served the fire department for
1876-1961 35 years, many of them as assistant chief.
Emma died young and the children were raised
by relatives. John bought the st.ore and saloon at JADIN
Sharp Corners from Anton Grasse] on November 17,
1911 with his partner Edward Ouradnik. The pur- JU LIAN EMERENCE LEGOISE
chase included two wagons, one horse and all the 1853-1 932 1858-1926
fixtures for $5,800. In 1928 John sought the nomina- Married
tion fo r Sheriff of Kewaunee County but didn't suc- Len a-August Dart
ceed. Adele- Ben Vandenhouten

Louise- John Dart Joseph- Minnie Delarwell
Catherine-Charles Dart Philomine-Krohnmiller
Josephine-Desire Jacq ues Victoria-Archie Sinclair
Mary- Mike Eland Julia-Henry Gigot
Margaret-William Dart Constant and Pauline purchased land in Section
18 and farmed until their sun Gustav took over. To-
Julian was of Belgian descent and owned farm day the land is owned by Earl DeVillers.
land in Section 17, where he farmed all his life.
Four of Julian's daughters married brothers. the sons
of Eugene Dart.
Today the land is owned by Albert Aurie.
1868-1949 1872-1939
fudin Family. s lunding L la H, l.om1 Adele. l.011 is1:. Cu!lierine. Jo-
se p hine. and Murr. Seated /uliun. Mc1rga ret um/ 1-:mcrence.
Married October 1894
Richard-Madeline Kenney
Arthur-Alice Delfosse
Dora-Jule Moreau
Lucille- Raymond Fonder
Robert- Genevieve Heim
Felix acquired the Ma1froid homestead in Brown
County. Son Richard was born in Walhain and
graduated from East High School. H e worked in the
New Franken Bank until he entered service in WW
I. Richard then entered Marquette University Medi-
cal School, graduating in 1927. After completing his
internship he practiced at Abbotsford before moving
to Luxemburg. He purchased the Hector Boncher
house and lived there until his death.

JADIN 1.852-1907 1859-1883
Married November 1878
1877-1959 1881-1957 Maria- 1881+
Married Peter-Elizabeth Merens
Charles- Louise Gauthier
2nd wife ANNA KOSNAR
Phoebe-Henry DuBois
Albert- Libby Mercier
Mathilda- Bernard Haen
Orville-Alice Everard Katherine-Charles Linzmeier
Mary-Gerald Aurie Louise-Charles R Seidl
Eunice-George Romuald Anna- Edward Jordan
Evelyn-Roman Loberger John-Elizabeth Babcock
The Jadin family purchased land in Section 17 be- Dan-1895-1904
fore 1860. The farm was passed down to Joseph Laura- Frank Novak
who operated the farm until Gerald and Mary Aurie
Charles-+ infant
took over. The farm was honored as a century farm
Henry was the son of Anton and Monica (Daul]
in 1961.
Joerger. They were married in Buffalo, New York
after getting off the boat from Baden, Germany in
Henry's father purchased land in the town of
CONSTANT PAULINE Montpelier where they farmed many years. Henry
1822-1904 1827-1909 purchased a house near Luxemburg where he spent
Married his retirement years. The house was sold to Ben Es-
Gustave-Tillie VanCaster tel in 1929. The Gene Vandermause family occupies
Felix- Katherine Malfroid the house today.

Marr 1926
1883-1946 1887- Joseph farmed the homestead, was a member of
Married 1908 the board of directors, Bank of Luxemburg, for 28
Bernice- Donald Campbell years, town chairman of the board of supervisors for
Peter and Elizabeth were married at St. Mary's 13 years and served as school clerk for Lowell
Catholic Church, Luxemburg. She is the daughter of School. Sons Ed and Elmer operated a tavern (now
Peter and Anna Merens. They purchased a meat Burdicks) for a few years. Elmer then went to work
market from John Peot on Main Street in 1912 and for Sell Garage and Ed moved to Green Bay. The
operated the market until 1925 when it was sold to farm is now owned by Gerald Vandenhouten.
Elmer Barbiaux. There were three rooms in the
back of the market that were used for living quar- JUNION
ters, plus the upstairs. Peter and Elizabeth moved to
Milwaukee where they resided until Peter died. XAVIER JOSEPHINE
Elizabeth moved to Green Bay and is presently in a 1844-1916 1850-1920
nursing home. Married
When she went to school there were no grades Theophile-
just, first, second, and third rooms. She attended Louise-John Joniaux
school at St. Mary's. Mary-Joseph )oniaux
Clementine-Fred Moreau
Josephine-John DeBaker
JO NET Adele-Henry Wery
PETER Joseph- Julia Everard
Fabian-Anna Hoffman
1834-1899 1846-1920
Norris- Louise Vickman
Married 1857
Charles- Ida Dupont
Felix- Delphine Wilquet
Theresa- Charles Tillard
Xavier purchased land in Section 2 of the town
before 1876 where he built a successful farm. The
land was passed down to his sons with Joseph re-
Adele-Peter Adams
maining on the homestead.
Joseph-Julia Bredael
Alice Degrave JUNION
Peter was a farmer in Section 5 a ll his life, the
son of Frank and Frances Jon et. They came lo JOSEPH JULIA EVERARD
America when Peter was very young, arriving at the 1876-1934 1880-1948
port of New York. The family came directly to Married November 1903
Kewaunee County taking up residence on an 80- Colette-Ben Koss
acre tract of land. Peter sold 20 acres and bought Lawrence-Magdalene Deprey
another tract of 40 acres, making in all a 100 acre
farm. By trade he was a mason. but in this country The land was originally purchased by Lambert
he devoted his energies to agriculture. The farm was )union and passed down through the generations to
turned over to his son Joseph. the present owner Lawrence and Magdalene. Law-
rence and his wife still operate the homestead.
1886-1950 1881-1924 JOHANN KATHERINE
Married September 1906 1815-1890 1814-1890
Elmer-Pearl Bournoville Married
Esther- Albert Theys Nick- Katherine Stahl
Edwin- Arleen Amenson Katherine-Wenzel Seidl
Richard-Blossom Williams Frederick Behring

The Kaut family was one of the first four famili es KAYE
to settle in Luxemburg. They came from the Duchy
of Luxembourg in 1848, lived one year in Milwau- VICTOR ADELINA KUEHN
kee and seven in Granville before coming to Lux- 1865- 1890-1937
emburg, where johann purchased 120 acres of land Married
in Section 21. It took two days to make the trip from joseph-1892+
Green Bay for it was necessary to clear the path so Otto- Esther Hoppe
they migh t proceed with their team. Clayton-Valery Duerschm idt
The farm was passed down to his son Nick. The Carl-
house and barn built by the Kaut fa mily still stand Milton-
today on the hill overlooking Luxemburg. Clarence-
Roy- Hilda Hoppe
KAUT Victor was the son of Anton and An na Kaye, na-
tives of Belgium. They came to America in 1854 and
NICK KATHERINE STAHL resided in Green Bay for a few months after which
1847-1921 1849-1901 his father purchased 30 acres of pine land in Brown
Married June 1876 County.
Juliana- 1880-1897 Victor became a blacksmith and carpenter who
Cath erina- John Miller entered the employ of the Cargi ll Elevator and Lux-
Joseph-Anna Dax emburg Grain Company as grain buyer.
John-1887-1895 Otto first worked for the printing office of Luxem-
Mary-1882-1895 burg News until he entered service in 1918. After
Margaret-Joseph Brady-twin his return he worked in A M Hoppe store for four
Franciscus II-1893-1895-twin years. Hoppe's opened a bran ch store in Casco a nd
Nick owned the homestead and purchased 50 Otto moved there to manage that store.
acres more, which he farmed. He was the first man
in the vicinity to own a reaper in 1872. He was one
of the builders of the Luxemburg Milling Company KELNHOFER
in 1903. Nick spent a few years in Judd. North Da-
kota about 1906 where he purchased a farm which LEOPOLD/PA UL ANNA RUBAL
was taken over by his son Joseph. H is daughter 1835-1895 1843-1933
Margaret married Joe Brady in North Dakota and Married in Bohemia
moved to San Francisco. Franciska-George Georgenson
It was a dream of Nick to start a village here and Anna-George Linzmeier
he assisted in clearing the land, selling it at reasona- Paul. jr- 1874-1958
ble rates and in some instances gave land away to Joseph- Margaret Weinfurter
introduce new industries. He platted the west side Catherine-Theophile Bertrand
of the village in 1902, and that same year built the John-Helen (Oeterville] Friex
American H ouse. Margaret-Englebert Treml
There is one descendant of the Kaut family living
in Luxemburg today, his grandaughter, Stella (Mill- The Kelnhofer family came from Eisenstrass, Bo-
er] Arpin. hemia in 1872. They purchased land in Section 29,
80 acres. The fa rm was passed down to son Paul
N ick Kau!
who never married and he sold the land to his
neph ew, Robert Bertrand in 1942. Paul purchased
.22 acre of land from Englebert Behring to build a
28'x 38' home where he spent his retirement years.

1838-1923 1843-1906
Anna- Wessly Sigl
Katherine-Joseph Dorner

Maria- After the death of Eva's first husband she married
Nicholas-1884-1932 Wencil Seidl. Ralph was killed in action in the Bat-
Margaret(T)-Jos Aschenbrenner tle of Argonne Forest October 17, 1918. He was
Barbara(T)- Jos Burkart born in Hubbel, Michigan and spent the greater
part of his life in Luxemburg. In 1917 he answered
The Joseph Kelnhofer's lived in Section 19 across the call to service with 23 others in the third contin-
the road from Paul. It is not known if these two gent of Kewaunee county. He was assigned to Camp
families were related. Joseph fa rmed the land and Custer, Ill, where he trained until December 17th
sold the farm to Charles Treml. Today the land is when he was transferred to Camp Meritt and left
owned by George Stahl. for overseas January of 1918. After several months
of training he entered active duty on the fighting
KINNARD line. He served until July 14 when he was wounded
in the Battle of Chateas Thierry. He was sent to a
JOHN JULIA STAHL hospital and later recovered to again go into battle
-1977 1886- serving in a number of the hardest fought battles of
Married 1905 the war. Ralph was connected with the 168th Inf
Aloysuis- Reg of the 42nd Division, commonly known as the
Clifton-Odelia Burkart Rainbow Division.
Irma-Clayton Shinnek

John was a mail carrier on Route 2 and disposed

of his horse, buggy, cutter, harness and other acces- KLINE
sories in 1912. The family moved away from Luxem-
burg. Julia is still living, she resides in a nursing ALBERT ROSE HOREN
home. The house they lived in in Luxemburg was 1900-1972 1898-
sold to Jack Peot. Married December 1920
Ralph-Mary Shadewald
Michael-LaVerne Jerovetz
KIRSCHNER Albert rented a farm near Scarboro for many
years before building a restaurant on the outskirts of
JOSEF ELIZABETH the village in 1959. He operated the restaurant for
1826-1878 1831-1915 about ten years turning the business over to his
Married sons. Today the building is operated by James Tla-
Joseph-Barbara Moleck chac family.
Anton- Ralph and Mike operate a gas station on the cor-
Elizabeth-John Schroeder ner of Hwy 54 and 163.
Joseph Kirschner (Kirscher) came from Bohe-
mia/Austria in 1872. They lived in Section 28 the
farm where Clarence Baierl lives today. Wenzel
lived in Luxemburg, born in 1871 and died in 1912, KOENIG
a single man. It is not known how he was related to
KLINE Mabel- Wally Kraynik
Harold-Bonnie Jandrain
HENRY EVA WEIFS Elmer-Sandy Jelenski
1856- 1859- 1948 Margaret-Greg Virlee
Married Frank Jr-
Eva-Theodore Strebel
Bertha-Otto Schauer Frank Sr was born and raised near Bolt. Wiscon-
Ralph-1896-1918 WW I sin. He married Valeria, the daughter of Frank and
Albert-Rose Horen Mabel Christoff.
WENCIL SEIDL 2nd Husband The house they live in at one time belonged to
1851-1940 John Seidl who had interest in the milling company.

KOHLBECK George had red hair, grey eyes and was 5'7",
came from Hammern, Austria in 1882 and was a
LORENZ BARBARA (ST AHL) LIEBL butcher. He purchased land in Section 27 where he
1834-1913 1833-1886 ran a small farm and built a meat market in 1896. A
Married 1864 Mr. Sabbot taught George the art of butchering and
Barbara- Brings cutting meat. He had a small ice pond on his farm
Anna- Matheys which was used to supply ice for his business and
George- Albertina Stahl the taverns in the area.
Step son The farm and butcher shop were passed down to
Joseph Leibl-Elizabeth Colle his son George who operated the business until he
Lorenz's fathe r was a farmer and at age 20 he left retired in 1968. Most of the children lived in the
the farm for military service for eight years, return- Luxemburg area.
ing to the occupation of farming for three more
He came to America with Anton Grasse], arriving KOLLROSS
in the port of New York and set out for Green Bay.
He rented ten acres of land in New Franken and WENZEL ANNA ASHBECK
farmed. His step-son Joe acquired a farm in the 1860-1941 1870-1954
town of Luxemburg and Lawrence moved to help Married May 1889
clear the land. His son George worked for Nick Joseph-
Kaut and Lorenz went to work for Filz Company. Wenzel-Mary Lobner
He also worked at other jobs at Sturgeon Bay and Anna-Edward Rueck]
Kewaunee returning to Luxemburg to accept a job Louis-Marie Helwig
carrying mail bel\.veen the depot and the post office Nicholas-Alice Mahlik
for the next three years. He used his dog to pull the Mary-William Tilot
cart to carry the mail. Lorenz also took care of re- Caroline (T)-Harry Johnson
pairs for the church and rectory. At weddings Lor- Catherine (T)-+young
enz led the band with the "wedding stick", which Eliza beth-1898-1925
was decorated with flowers and ribbons. Swinging John (T)-+young
like a tambour major, he conducted the bridal cou- Theresia (T)-+young
ple from church to the place where the festivities Wenzel and Anna were married at St. Mary's
were held. Catholic Church and celebrated their 50th wedding
annive rsary in 1939 . Wenzel was a na t ive of
Petrowicz. Bohemia. Anna was the daughter of John
Ashbeck of Eisenstein, Bohemia.
When Wenzel crossed the sea in 1882 he was ac-
companied by his brother. They came to make their
home with a sister and brother-in- law, the Charles
l.owrcnce Koh/beck
Trem ls. Anna arrived at Green Bay with her parents
in 1873 and a year later the Ashbecks purchased the
land which is now the George Stahl farm. Anna's
fa ther served as supervisor of the town in 1890.
After Wenzel and Anna married they moved to a
40-acre farm which they increased in size to 92
acres. The farm was passed down to their son Nick
KOHLBECK when Wenzel and Anna retired, purchasing the J B
Weinfurter home at 1025 Main Street.
1871-1957 1881-1928
Married June 1898 KOLLROSS
Philomene-John Salmon
Mildred- 1902-1968 1862-1934 1866-1927
Julia-Raymond Rueck] Married May 1888
Edward-1907-1978 George-
Helen- Andrew Steffel Joseph-Mary Tauschek
Margaret I-1910-1915 Wencil-Angeline Kollross
Margaret- George Wilcox Peter-Octavia Theys

Joseph came to America about 1880 and settled in KOSNAR
Section 19. When he retired the farm was turned
over to sons, Wencil (Jim) and Peter. Part of the MARTIN CATHERINE YUNGER
land is today owned by Leroy Schfchik and the rest 1829-1913 1836-1904
by Octavia Kollross. Married
Mary-John Novak, Sr
KOLLROSS Rudolph-Fannie Hrabik
Frank-Anna Spitzer
1865-1915 1873-1957 Anna-Henry Joerger
Married April 1893 Josephine-Frank Bruemmer
Charles-Angeline Linzmeier Fannie-Charles Vorpahl
Anton-Caroline Linzmeier Martin purchased 40 acres of land in 1846 in Sec-
Michael-Elsie Vandrisse tion 22 where he farmed all his life. The land was
Rose-Felix Bunker passed down to his children and later sold to
Catherine-+infant George Arendt. At the present time the land is
Fabian-Mary O'Brien owned by Warren Miesler.
Regina- John Loose
Edward-Eunice Burns
Joseph-Irene Forman KOSNAR
Henry-Viola Coppens
George-Charlotte Nowak FRANK ANNA SPITZER
Gertrude-John McNamee Married
Anton purchased land in Section 21 which at one Leo-Rose Reynolds
time belonged to Dan Daul. He operated a 148-acre Arthur-Marie Bertrand
farm for many years before the land was turned Mildred-
over to his son Henry. Anton and Mary purchased a Clara-Alfred Biemert
house in the village. Sons Michael, Anton and Hen- Leona-
ry were farmers in this area, with the exception of Marie-Edgar Liebl
Charles, he operated a blacksmith shop until his
death. The Kosnar's, Frank and Anna, lived on the home
Anton Jr. had a strange experience happen in his farm for a few years and later moved to Green Bay.
barn. It sounds like a tall story, but fire burned all
of the hay out of the mow in his barn and did not
spread to the barn itself. The hay crop had been KRATZ
field cured, but the flames evidently were of sponta-
neous combustion origin. The hay had been put HENRY HENRETTA JACKMAN
through a chopper and while some of the timbers 1853-1939 1861.-1905
were scorched a check up revealed none of them Married
had actually caught fire. Edward-Bertha Quade
Herman-Ida Schley
Charles Kollross. Generul Blocksmilhing Albert-Margaret Treptow
Wi1Jiam-Wilhimina Duescher
Clara-Herman Gruetzmacher

The Kratz family is of German origin and came to

Kewaunee County many years ago. They purchased
land in Section 34 and settled down to make a liv-
ing farming.
Sons Edward and Herman each operated a farm
next to their father's. with William staying on the
home farm. Today the homestead is owned by
grandson Robert. The Herman Kratz farm is under
the ownership of James Schley while the Edward
Kratz farm is owned by Raymond and Gary Kratz.

KRATZ Ben married Minnie at Pound, Wisconsin and was
employed by Plumb and Nelson Company of Man-
HERMAN IDA SCHLEY itowoc for 20 years before coming to Luxemburg. He
1886-1959 1893-1974 operated the former Miesler Garage for 19 years, un-
Married 1912 der the name of Krueger Ford Garage. After his
Sylvia -Frank Slatky death the business was owned by several people
over the last few years.
Herman purchased the Transit House saloon on
Main Street in 1914 and operated the business for
many years. When he retired his daughter and son- KUESTER
in-law ran the tavern. The building has been remo-
dled and is known as the Village Inn. Herman FRANK EMMA MIESLER
served for a number of years on the village board. 1871-1938 1878-1942
Married May 1898
Viola-Louis Sell
KRATZ Emma was the daugh ter of Frank and Ulrika
Meisler. born in Luxemburg township and married
WILLIAM WILHELMINA DUESCHER Fran k at St. John's Church. They operated a 120
1894-1976 1896- acre farm until their retirement in 1930 when they
Married moved to the village.
Gerhardt- Carrie Wessely Frank was a farm e r, carpenter and worked for the
Laverne-Gilbert Schley telephone company.

William operated a farm in Section 34 which was

later run by his nephew Orville. Today the land is
own ed by Raymond and Gary Kratz. KUMBERA
1856-1909 1855-1915
1862-1937 1864-1942 Theresa-John Martin
Married January, 1884 Christiana-Daniel Webster
Lucy- Tom Newton
Victor-Emily Meyer Mary-Charles Schimek
Edward-Emily Roidt Anna-H enry Veeser
Ignace- Marie Wright Frances-Madsen, Verstoppen, Hester
Ludwig- Lucille Heiman George-Ethel Bishop
Agnes- 1885-91 Christine Newitt
Maria- 1890+ Emily-1891-1897
Wenzel was born in Bohemia and at the age of Martin was the son of John and Teresie Kumbera
seven in 1870, he accompanied his parents to the who originated from Bohemia and came to America
United States and settled in Scarboro. He married in 1869. His father was a cigar maker in New York
Ludmilla and followed the occupation of fa rming City for a few years before moving the family to the
until 1926 when his son Victor acquired the home- Algoma area. Martin followed in his fathers foot-
stead and Wenzel moved to the Village of Casco. steps and also operated a store and tavern.
They belonged to the little French church near After his marriage to Rose they moved to Lincoln
Scarboro. where they farmed. He later moved to Casco Junc-
The farm is now owned by Bernard Haen . tion where he operated a tavern with an outdoor
dance fl oor (this is where Theresa met John Martin).
Martin sold the tavern to Luebeck's and moved to
KRUEGER Scarboro where he purchased a building which he
converted into a tavern and store. He also built the
BEN MINNIE GARBRIGHT cheese factory that Tom Kinjerski converted into a
1904-1973 tavern. In 1972 Irma Drew purchased the building
Married and is operating it with the help of her son. The
Dolores- Paniuski tavern-store was purchased by John Novak and he

added a dance hall which was later destroyed by The Lacourt's are of Belgian heritage and Sylvan
fire. Two of their children died of dipthe ria seven and Margaret operated a farm for many years in
days apart. Theresa is the only chi1d to remain in Section 18. She is the daughter of Louis Friex. To-
the Luxemburg area. day the land is under the ownership of Elmer
/ohn Mortin, Theresa Kumberu wedding, Anno Kumberu Vees(~ r.
Williom Marlin, Gilbert Bregge r ond Annu Murlin Lohf
1889-1973 1898-
Married 1915
Aaron-Loretta Geurts
Delores- Louis Davister
Marie-Ben Hock

Amand was the son of Joseph Lacourt and operat-

ed part of the farm which his father owned in Sec-
tion 17. The land is today owned by Glenn LeRoy.

1848-1935 1857-1931
Married November 1876
Margaret-John Novak
Nicholaus- 1877-1969
LACOURT Mary-William Herrick
JOSEPH Jacob- 1882 +
Married Peter-1885-1947
Jule-1874-1935 The Lanser family came to America in 1869 and
Simon- settled in Section 29. Dominic was the son of Nicho-
Mary-Charles Beirl las and Margaretha, a mason. He was a carpenter
Jeannie- Louis Ettienne and farmer who, at the age of 21, settled at Port
Tillie- Victor Cravillion Washington and later went to Chicago to work as a
William Van Caster carpenter after the fire of 1871. Dominic had a
Desire-Jennie Abts brother Michael and a sister Anna who married Jo-
Edmund-Ida Beaudot seph Filz. When his brother in law Joseph came to
Felix- Luxemburg he accompanied him and purchased a
Sylvan-Margaret Friex farm. He spent his retirement years in South Lux-
Amand-Laura Monfort embmg.
Lillian-+1913 At the present time Norbert Dorner owns the
Joseph came to the township of Luxemburg before
1876 where he purchased land in Sections 17 and 18 LARKIN
which he farmed all his life. The land was divided
Jule and Simon were not married and lived to- 1835-1892 -1892
gether on a 10 acre farm acquired in 1919. They Married
raised race horses in their retirement years. James-Celestin VanRoy
LACOURT Richard-
John -
1888-1959 1897- Edward-
Married June 1919 Joseph-
No Children Charles-+ infant

The Larkin family came from Ireland and settled LAVRENZ
in Canada before coming to the Scarboro area. We
were not able to obtain more information on this HERMAN WILHELMINE HAFEMAN
family, other than they lived in a little house in 1873-1946 1878-1952
Scarboro valley. Nicholas owned land in Section 34. Married October 1902
Edwin-Irene Garbright
William- Henrietta Fox
LARKIN Emil- 1907-1910

JAMES CELESTIN VAN ROY Herman and Minnie were farmers in Section 27
1800- 1801- for many years. The fa rm was later purchased by
Married March 1914 Ed Ullman. Son William owned a farm in Section 1
Thomas- which at the present time is owned by Vern DePas.
Elizabeth-Alex Trudell
Elizabeth's mother died when she was young and
her father remarried a girl about Elizabeth's age. It JOHN R LUCY BAYE
is believed that James worked in saw mill at Scar- 1873-1943 1879-1964
boro. He lived in a house across from the present Married October 1899
Leroy Haen farm. Henry- Louise Cravillion
Louise- Alex Dalebroux
Mabel- Albert Pollard
George-Mary Gauthier
LAURENT William-Anna Dart
Louis- Hazel Guillette
VICTOR MARY DART Fabian-+21 years
1885-1960 1888-1964 Andrew-Tee Servais
Married 1906
Laura- Pat Cayemberg John and Lucy wer e married at St. Martin's
Anna- Goldie Malcore church, Tonet. The first farm they purchased was
Libby- +infant sold and they purchased the farm which today be-
Norman- Mae Romuald longs to Hazel Lemens [Louis deceased).
Son George moved to Luxemburg w h ere he
Victor operated a farm in the town of Luxemburg, worked for the Farmer's Trading Company and later
Section 7. After farming for several years the farm built the Gamble Store. Henry operated a farm in
was turned over to son Norman. Today Victor's Section 8.
grandson Lee runs the farm.
1851-1933 1854-1932
VICTOR ANNA Married October 1879
1882-1959 1886-1968 Mary-Joseph Gotstein
Married June 1906 Anna-Nick Spitzer
Viola- Alois/Louis-Rosina Gotstein
Madeline- George J.-
Joan- Odelia-Max Mehnke
Ralph- Theresa-Leo Varsho
Marvin- Rosa- Fred Schindhelm
Leon- Michael- +infant
Doctor Laurent was Luxemburg's veterinary from Michael was the son of Joseph and Maria Ley
1913 until he retired about 40 years later. He built a and of German descent. At age 15 he worked at a
house near the fair grounds and a clinic building at farm in Oshkosh area for $10 a month. In the fall of
the end of the block. The house is owned at the 1866 he worked in the forests near Wolf River for
present time by Louis Johnson. four years at $30 a month. He learned the blacks-

mith trade, serving his apprenticeship under George Raymond works for McMahon's Furniture and
Weiland and engaged in blacksmithing in DePere, served as village clerk 13 years. Ray also served in
Appleton and Fond du Lac, coming to Luxemburg in WW II.
the employ of A. Gosin for three years. He then
purchased 40 acres of land in 1895 where a home LIEBL
and smithy were built. He shoed many a horse and
fixed a multitude of wagons before the shop burned ALBERT ANNA WEINFURTER
and he sold the 40 acres to Miller Brothers. (Today 1876-1952 1878-1919
Kohler's tavern occupies the site). Married January 1889
Michael served as Chairman of the Town Board Josephine- Hubert Ritenour
three years, five years as town clerk, was notary Florella-Clarence Welker
public and justice of the peace for 12 years. Madonna-William Sedor
He joined the partnership of Filz and Dendoven Marie-Ray Drury
when they operated a store, saloon and postoffice in Albert}-
South Luxemburg. The family moved to Marshfield Lorna-
in the early 1900's. George lived in the village for a Rose-1902-1950
short time where he purchased Dr. Bender's resi- Albert was the first postmaster in the village 1903
dence in 1916. Today the farm is owned by Clifford to 1935. [Before 1903 the post office was in South
Ullman. Luxemburg with Jos Filz as postmaster). Albert
served as supervisor of the village and was on the
LIBAL Kewaunee County Board for many years. He also
served as notary public and was a drawer of deeds
STEVE ROSE BENISHEK and mortgages.
1873-1931 1878-1957
Married LIEBL
Gerhardt-Audrey Resler
Maurice-Bernice Rapson 1859-1946 1864-1948
Lillian-Earl Kuehl Married May 1883
Mildred-Jake Gashe Peter- Mary Rueck!
Blanche-Lester Lokker Anna-Ben Sieg
Esther-Edmund Leanna Barbara-Melchoir Peot
Elaine- Elizabeth- Joseph Suess
George-Margaret Grasse!
Steve operated a blacksmith shop in Luxemburg Nick-Kathlene Kohlbeck
for many years. The business was eventually taken Marie-Edward Reuther
over by his son Jerry (Gerhardt). Son Leon operated Clara-Joe Macco
a tavern at Pilson. Jerry Libal also worked for the Andrew-1903+
post office for a number of years. Richard- Mable Boncher
Simon Leo- Peal Boncher
LIEBL Mildred-Frank Schwanke
Rudolph-Ruth Wiener
LOUIS MARY ARENDT Joseph was the son of Joseph Liebl and Barbara
1874-1949 1880-1962 Stahl, and a half brother to George Kohlbeck. Jo-
Married October 1901 seph had a farm 1 mile west of Luxemburg on
Ethel- Highway 54.
Edgar-Marie Kosnar Son Peter owned a foundry and machine shop on
John- Ash Street in 1912. He manufactured iron and brass
Raymond-Eldora Kerst castings, and was a dealer in thresher supplies. oil,
grease, rubber and leather Gandy Belting. In 1920
Louis was the son of Jacob Liebl of Austria. He Peter began work in a new roaching shop on Ash
was one earliest cheesemakers in Kewaunee County Street. the structure was 40x40 feet. For many years
and operated other cheese factories in Sherry and he was connected with Liebl and Retzlaff machine
Neuren until his retirement. In 1920 he was in shop on main until he disposed of same to Edward
charge of the South Luxemburg Creamery. Ethel Sroka.
was a telephone operator for many years. John did The Joseph Liebl family eventually moved to Mil-
not marry, he served in WWII for three years. Son waukee.

1876-1950 1885-1972 Married
Married June 1906 Barbara-Joseph Seidl
William- Evelyn Hoffman John- Katherine Grasse!
Edward- Eileen Fenske Charles-Margaret Simonar
Richard- Vivian Schratte Joseph- Esther Dorner
George- Emma Hinnendael The Carl Linzmeier's owned a farm in Section 34
Leonard Jr-Marilyn Lea the land had previously been owned by Nick Lar~
Grace- kin. After many years of hard work the farm was
passed down to his son Joseph. Today the farm is
Leonard was the son of Frederick and Caroline owned by Gerhardt Kratz.
Leischow and was of German descent.
During 1902 he took a telegraph course and
worked at depots in Kewaunee, Scandavia, Sey- LINZMEIER
mour, Pulcifer, New Franken and Luxemburg. He
also worked as a cheese maker for a few years. CHARLES FRANCES DORNER
Leonard Sr. started at the Luxemburg depot in 1923 1861-1937 1874-1958
and stayed until 1941 when he retired. Sons Bill and Married April 1896
Lenoard Jr, also entered the railroad business. Angeline-Charles Kollross
Bill loved airplanes as noted from an article in Wencil [Jim) Kollross
the Luxemburg News dated 1929. "Bi1l Leischow is Caroline-Anton Kollross
building an airplane at Luxemburg-Should you Alfred-1900-1983-Fritz
happen to see someone soaring over your housetop Fabian-Dora Christman
one of these days, perhaps it will be Bill Leischow Joseph-1896-1961
with his model airplane which is now under con- Charles was born in Hammern, Austria and came
struction. Bill already has a chevrolet motor and to America in 1881. The family lived in Menominee
home made prop mounted on a chasis, which he Michigan where Charles worked in pinneries and
has been demonstrating this past week as to its on boats. He came to Luxemburg in 1896 where he
power. His next move is the construction of the purchased land, 160 acres from Michael Freiman
wings and then you will see him." and ran the farm, saloon, store, cheese factory and
Bill also operated a gas station while in Luxem- dance hall. Fritz still owns the farm but the saloon
burg and headed the Hunting and Fishing Club in is no longer in operation.
1940. The tavern had many proprietors over the years.
Mrs. Linzmeier used to bake the most delicious
bread in her outdoor oven. Traces of that oven are
still visible.
1841-1890 1844-1922
Married Charles Linzmeier
Engelbert- +
Maria- Joseph Weinfurter LINZMEIER
Charles- Katherine Joerger 1884-1957 1891-1966
Married November 1914
The Alois Linzmeier family Jived near Luxemburg Vivian-Louis Piegon
where they farmed. All the children have since Marion-Frank Resch
moved away. Alvin-Esther Schott

Buddy- Leo-1914-1976
Rosemarie- Hildegarde-Garth Heurth
Valeria-Lindy LeCloux Agnes (Tl-Joe Delvis
Vernelda- Robert Rott Delores (T)-Joe Delvis
The George Linzmeier's owned a farm in Section Norman-
30, 80 acres. After the barn burned in the 1940's the
family moved to Green Bay. Most of these Linz- Andrew and Frances were married at St. Mary's
meier families are not directly related. No informa- Church, Luxemburg. They farmed the homestead for
tion has been found to tie them together. many years before turning the farm over to his son
George Linzmeier wed 1v lury /Jcwrvillc
Roman. The land is today owned by Hub Jauquet.

1848-1932 1847-1914
Married April 1870
Mrs. Louis Rebitz
Mrs. John Mattison
Caroline- Herman Retzlaff

Fred was born in Germany and came to America

when he was 18 years old. The family resided in
Milwaukee for 1 year before coming to Luxemburg
where he purchased the farm now owned by North-
LOBERG ER brook Golf Course.
In 1906 he retired and purchased the Joseph Del-
GEORGE/JOHN? THERESA fosse house in the village. The family moved to
1829-1914 1845-1933 Michigan a few years later.
Married 1874 From an article in the Luxemburg News- "A
Andrew- Francis Aschenbrenner team of horses driven by Fred Lohf started to run
John- away on his trip to Casco. After a wild ride for over
George- Gerondale a mile, and trying to get the horses under control,
Joseph- Josephine Cravillion he jumped and received cuts about his head and
Theresia- Daniel Arendt face."
Mary- John Hartel
Casper- Minnie Estel
George and Theresa owned a farm on Highway
54, in Section 16. The pony express cha nged horses LOHREY
here on the way to Algoma when the stage line ran
Casper ran a store on Main Street where he sold 1859-1943 1872-1948
pumps and cisterns and windmills in 1912. He also Married May 1901
operated a cider press. He moved his family to Freida- Arthur Kudick
Oconto in 1913. Hilda- William Malvitz
Emil- Rose Depas
Herman was born in Milwaukee, moved to Lux-
LOBERG ER emburg and operated a farm in Section 24 of 120
acres until 1923. The homestead is now owned and
ANDREW FRANCES ASCHENBRENNER operated by George Siegmund.
1881-1958 1887-1952 Emil and Rose lived in the village in the former
Married July 1911 Lohf house where he was employed by Meisler and
Roman-Evelyn Jadin Sell garage.

LUEBECK Luxemburg and liked what he saw. He sent his wife
to look the town over and in 1935 moved here
JOHANN CAROLINE SCHNEIDER buying the furniture store from Oliver DeBauch
1843-1890 1843-1936 when he moved to Green Bay. At the present time
Ida- Murcille lives at Rochester, Minn since turning the
Charles/Carl- business over to her employees.
John came from Germany in 1854. Caroline was
born in Schreibendorf, Schleszwig, Germany and
they resided in New York and Manitowoc before MALCORE
settling near Scarboro where they remained for 45
years. Their farm was located just before you cross VICTOR ADELE CRA VILLI ON
the railroad tracks at Casco Junction. When Ida was 1889-1968 1892-1978
fourteen she d id all the plowing. Her fa ther had Married
passed away and her brother was only 8 years old. Laura-Gus Thiry
In later years Caroline and Ida raised cats, rabbits, Annie-Goldie
bees and apples. Finding it d ifficult to run the farm Goldie-Anna Laurent
alone the y sold the pro per ty and moved to Victor purchased land in Sections 7 and 8 and
Kewaunee . George Martin lived here a few years farmed until his son Goldi e took over the farm. The
unti1 the buildings burned. Today the property is Malcore (or Malcorps) fa mily came from Belgium.
owned by Kenneth Peot. The land is owned by Anna Malcore but the farm
is operated by Leslie Malcore.
1882-1964 1882-1946
Married September 1904 FELIX ADELE CRA VILLI ON
Mabel-Albert Sconzert 1843-1920 1849-1922
Harvey-Agnes Hermans Married
William was the son of Charles a nd Amelia Anton-1879-1941
Luedtke who came from Prussia in 1856, settling in Katherine-Gus Lefevre
Rio Creek, where they purchased land. William and Julia-Emil Simon
Minnie were married at St. John's Lutheran Church. Juliana-Nick Lisle!
They acquired the Radue farm which William oper- Mary-Paul Romuald
ated until his retirement when he purchased land Genieve-Joseph Oalebroux
from Mrs. H en ry Jadin in village and built a 24 x 30 Eugene-Anna M Zellner
foot house in 1928. Son Harvey took over the farm Henry-1876-1930
in Section 10. Being an energetic person William Felix purchased land in Section 20 where he
spent his retirement years working for Murcille farmed most of his life. The property was sold later
McMahon until the late 1950's. to Victor Malcorp. The homestead is today owned
by Bernard and Glenn LeRoy.
Son Eugene purchased a farm in Section 19.
1898-1942 1902-
Married September 1929 EUGENE ANNA M ZELLNER
No Children 1878-1951 1884-1954
Edward, or "Mac" as he was called, was born at Married October 1904
LaCrosse and left at the age of 22 for Detroit, Mil- Albertina-Louis Boehm
waukee and Little Chute before coming to Luxem- Irene-Carl Glaser
burg. He married at Milwaukee and served his Charles-1908-1944
country d uring WWI where he was a Sergent in the Lorraine-Albert Zellner
15th Company, 4th Mechanics Regiment of the Air Wilbert-Marcella Nejedlo
Service and served overseas, being d ischarged in Roman-Rose Grancha lek
1919. Doris-Joseph Paul
He loved to hunt and fish and was considered a Eugene ran an 80 acre farm fo r many years. The
good sportsman who loved to travel "up north" to farm was then operated by son Roman and even-
hunt. It was on one of these trips that he stopped in tually sold to Dennis Zelln er.

1836-1891 1844-1934
Married October 1901
Married January 1864 Irene-John Simonar
August-1 865-1924 Edward-Sylvia Melera
George-1868-1951 Raymond- 1904-1981
John-Theresa Kumbera George- Alice Greatens
Mary-Andrew Tanvas Marcella Guillette
John Spitzer Mildred Crouse
Joseph Spitzer Anna-Arthur Dworak
Magdalena-Robert Wall Agnes-Sylvester Dworak
William-Josephine Roggenbauer Peter-Anna Vandenbush
Anna-Albert Lohf Helen-August Zimmer
Barbara-1878 + Margaret-Elmer Guillette
Baden, Germany was the place in Europe Au- Frances- Howard Kaster
gust's father came from in the late 1840's. They set- Leonard Guillette
tled in Addison township near West Bend. August John farmed the homestead and increased his
and two of his brothers were born in Germany the acreage to 440 acres which he divided among his
sons of August and Helen Martin. August and Anna sons. Edward, Raymond and Peter stayed in the
traveled to New Franken and walked to Luxemburg area. George moved to Brown County and pur-
to stake his claim in Section 23. They raised a fam - chased a farm there.
ily of seven children and worked very hard to make Theresa and John were married at Holy Trinity
a good life for their family in those hard pioneer Church, Casco and reared a family of four sons and
days. six daughters. Today the farm is owned by grand-
After the death of daughter Mary's first husband sons Joe and John. Son Peter built a new home on
she married John Spitzer and after he died she mar- the farm.
ried his brother. John and William were the only In 1918 John 's team of horses ran away on the
children to remain in the Luxemburg area. way home from his other farm. He and his . son
Son George did not marry, he worked as a blacks- were thrown from the wagon before the bridge
mith in Peat's shop at South Luxemburg. In 1916 he when the horses fell into a hole washed out by the
injured his hand. the left palm was severly cut spring thaw. The hole was 15' deep and could not
while working on a planner. H e lived in Luebeck's be seen until almost to the bridge. The horses were
house near Scarboro after they moved to Kewaunee traveling at a mad pace and could not stop, both
but had to move when the house burned. It was horses plunged to the rocky bottom, one horse was
said that he made the best dill pickels in the town- killed the other badly bruised .-paragraph from
ship. Luxemburg News.
1876-1941 1881-1960
Married 1904
Laura- Harold Peters
Mabel-Silas Kaeser
William was born and raised on a farm. He
moved to the village after his marriage where they
1\ugusl and Anno Mortin. lived above the news office. He painted buildings
and fences, was a fireman for 20 years, police of-
Years ago before one went to the hospital to have ficer for the village and kept the village park in ex-
a baby a few of the pioneer women acted as mid- cellent condition. He built cages for the animals
wives. They went to their neighbors lo help deliver kept in the park and in 1931 tried to caphtre the
the babies because sometimes the doctor could not large white owl that perched in a tree in his back
be reached in time. Annie Martin was one of those yard.
ladies who lent a helping hand. She was a kind, Laura and her husband live in the village. today
thoughtful. person, one who was always willing to while Mabel moved to Green Bay after her mar-
help her friends in need. riage.

Married 1877 1824-1905 1825-1902
Albert- Ida Sell Married in Luxembourg
August, Jr- Margaret Daul Peter-Anna Haen
Mary-John Van Anna- Dominic Lanser
Gust Schmidt Mary-1859-1895
Bertha-Emil Schley Nicholas-1861-1884
Albertina-Fred Luedtke Michael-
Caroline-Em il Luedtke John-J essie Noe l
Elizabeth-Frank Paal The Merens came from Maeschdorf. Luxembourg
Amelia-Harvey Quast in 1854 and settled in Section 22, purchasing 80
acres of land from the government in 1855 for the
The Meintz family settled near Luxemburg in the sum of $7. They built a two-room log cabin that
early 1870's. They originally cam e from Germany. served as their home for the next 19 years. Here six
August and Elizabeth ran the farm until 1913 when children were born, Peter being the first child to be
Eli Fenendae l purchased the property. They pur- born in Luxemburg.
chased a h ouse in the village. Today the land is Their simple meth ods of living make a never to
owned by Northbrook Country Club . be forgotten impression on us all. No implements
for light, not even the dim flicker of candlelight.
Child ren o( Eliwbcth and /\ugusl Mc inrz and their spouses. Emil
The on ly light they knew was the flam e of a brush
Luedtke. 1larvey Quasi, Fred Luedtke, Frunk Paul. Gus Schmidt,
William Meinri. A lbert Meintz. /\ugusr Mcinrz. Seated. Cu roline fire. They retired and rose with the sun and ate
Ltwdrke. Ameliu Quasi. Albertina Luedtke. Elizuberh Pool, Lauro good hardy food. They didn't know what a doctor's
1\leintz. i\lory Schmidt. Bertha i\leintz. Mabel 1\leintz and Mog- office looked like and seldom took medicine, except
gie 1\leintz. Caroline Luedtke lives at Healthcun: c;ente r- oge 93 their own patent.
umJ Mabel Mc:intz li1' es in Milwaukee age R5. The onlr t1Vo liv-
The friendliness of the Indians made it possible
ing members o( this family toda}'.
for trad ing to exist. In exchange for money, flour
and other foods. the Ind ians gave them wild animal
meat and furs. The Indians could not understand
the language of the white man so the only method
of communication was sign language.
Travel was don e on foot, for the re were no wag-
ons or horses to carry flour and food from Green
Bay. It was all carried on their shoulders during the
two day trip.
Looking over fi elds of fertile land it is difficult to
visualize that at one time it was a complete mass of
woods and swamp. Clearing the land was a long
and tedious job, and th ey worked with the simplest
of tools. Only sma ll patches were cleared each year.
The huge trees were chopped into logs and dragged
Win/ding of Emil Luedtke and Corolini; Meinri- 1907
to a dam on th e Merens farm. The dam was an out-
let to the Kewaunee River by which these logs were
quickly carried to the lumber mill there.
T he crops they raised were few, the principal
grain was wheat which was cut with a cradle and
threshed with a fla il. A flail was a simple device
made of an eight-foot board. at the end of which
was attached a small piece of rope, to this another
board was fastened. The grain was beat out and the
straw removed leaving grain and chaf. A screen was
used to sift the chaf out, leaving the grain which
was next pressed between two large stones and later
used in making bread. There was rare ly any extra
grain to sell.

The first tax paid on the farm was the sum of built a new home on Main Street in 1919. William,
$6.19. Today the Merens farm is part of St. Mary's or Bill as he was called, was the proud owner of a
Church and school, plus many new homes. - from red Ford Roadster in 1928. He and his wife Emma
Victo ry Celebration book- Delores Daul had no children.

Mies/er family: Back: Emma Kueste r, Frank fr .. Gustave. Wil-

ME RENS liam. Malvina Zuege. Front: Br. rtho Mulquee n. Frank Mies/e r
Sr .. Ulricko Radue Mies/er, Minnie /\rendt.
1856-1927 1863-1921
Married January 1887
Eliza beth-Peter Joerger
John - Josie Noel
Michael-Mae Warne
Edwin-Anna Kaslowski
Peter farmed the homestead after his father re-
tired. The Merens family donated the land for the
church and rectory at St. Mary's.
Elizabeth is the last survivor living in a nursing
home in Green Bay. Michael was in service in WWI
and moved to Monroe, Wisconsin. John worked for Hill M il~slet und frie nd.
the Farmers Trading and farmed until he sold the
homestead to Edward Rueck! in 1938. Edwin moved
to Green Bay and became an accountant, moving to
Appl eton rece ntly. At the present time Norbert
Rueckl owns the property.

1844-1928 1848-1933
Married April, 1869
Bertha-John Mulqueen
Malvina- Charles Zuege
Frank, Jr.- Ida Hafeman
Emma- Frank Kuester
William-Emma Sell MIESLER
Gustave-Ada Haedtke
Minnie-Ben Arendt FRANK. JR. IDA HAFEMAN
Three children + infants 1876-1956 1884-1981
Married September, 1905
Frank was born in Bahn , Germany and came to Lucille- Elmer Froehlich
America in 1853, traveling by ox-cart to Kewaunee Leona- Walter Garbe
to be married. H e purchased land in Sections 25 Ruby-Elmer Zastrow
and 22. Velda-Theodore Seidl
William was born in the town of Luxemburg and
learned the blacksmith trade in the Boncher shop, Frank purchased a farm in Section 23 where he
town of Humboldt. He was later employed as a farmed all his !ife. Today it is operated by Ray and
blacksmith at Casco. In 1905 he came to Luxemburg Neoma (Seidl) Michalski. Frank was a pathmaster 15
where he owned a livery stable and blacksmith years, school treasurer 23 years, director of South
shop. He died at the age of 49 of a heart attack, on Luxemburg Creamery 9 yea rs, president of the
his way home from a basketball game at the O'K- creamery and its manager for 2 years. Frank was
rush hall. He was assistant fire chief in 1913 and no t an idle man - h e also w as director of th e

Kewaunee County Fair Association for 14 years,
town treasurer for 5 years, and secretary-treasurer of
Luxemburg-Casco Telephone Company for 14 years. MILLER
He served St. John's Lutheran Church as treasurer
for 9 years and was president of St. John's Cemetery *JOHN L KA THERINE KA UT
Association 14 years. Besides these jobs he was a 1876-1949 1878-1949
carpenter and mason and built many barns in the Married October 1899
area. He built houses for Louis Sell and Peter Colle. Stella-Alvah Aprin
Frank and Ida celebrated their golden wedding in Verna-Edmund Rueck)
1955. They were married at St. fohn's Lutheran Milton Gazette
Church and made their home in th e village for 21 Rosamond-Wayne Greeno
years, after retirement. In 1920.. he purchased. the Deloris-Amand Laurent
Charles Oishmaker house, and m 1935 he bmlt a Leroy-Ethel
new home on Colle Street. Harvey-Doris Heise

John was born at Random Lake the son. of _Jac~b

MIESLER and Margaret Miller and spent most of his hfe m
Luxemburg. He was a school teacher and the first
GUSTAVE ADA HAEOTKE rural mail carrier (1904), and served in this capacity
1885-1980 1896- for 25 years. He was instrumental in starting the
Married 1920 Kewaunee County Fair, and was one of the original
Warren-Mildred Plautz school board mem bers when Luxemburg Hi gh
Lorna- LeRoy Jaeger School was started in 1915. He served as director
Ardis- Fred Hanamann and vice president of the Kewaunee County Fair
Association for more than 30 years. John and Kath-
Gus was born in the town of Luxemburg and at- erine built a new house on the corner of Main and
tended school through the third grade. He walked to Ash streets in 1920 with Adolph Salseider the car-
school in Ellisville 5 miles away each day. His penter.
brother operated a livery stable and Gus recalls that He was also a charter member of St. Mary's
he was often asked to take a salesman to another Court 1065, Catholic Order of Foresters and re-
city. One winter day the temperature was 40 below ceived his 50 year pin at the courts golden jubilee.
when Gus was asked to meet the train in Forestville Katherine was the daughter of Nick Kaut one of
and take a salesman to Sturgeon Bay. "I'm not going the early pioneers in this area. She devoted 31 years
to go'' he said to his father. "A dollar earned is a of service to the Kewaunee County Fair. It is a re-
dollar saved," his dad replied, and at 5:30 A.M. Gus cord of community service to the organization. She
hitch ed up the h orses a nd began the trip . He was the only superintendent that the culinary d e-
stopped at a few stores that were open to warm up partmen t ever had. There was no material remu-
before venturing out again. At 8:00 in the evening n eration for services, except the realization of an
he returned home with $2.50, his fee for the trip. ideal for her community. Under h er direction the
In 1939, Gus was named outstanding farmer and department grew until the space available was ina-
received his award at the State Fair. The citation dequate for the entries.
was for recognition of outstanding achievements in Her daughter Stella (Miller) Arpin has succeeded
farming and unselfish service in the promotion of her mother and has served the fair for more than 30
education for farm you th. Gus was also road fore- years, ·with the same effort and dedication as her
man in the district for 15 years. served on the mother.
school board 15 years, and was secretary of St. A fire believed started from sparks carried from
John's Lutheran Church. After his retirement, he did fire works at the fa ir grounds during the display in
mason work, at one lime cementing a whole base- 1929, ca used dam age to Miller's woods located
ment for $16.00. He still drove his car at age 90 and northwest of th e high school. It started near the
kept his yard immaculate in the summer and shov- fence that divides the Kollross-Miller property.
eled snow off the sidewalks at the New Office in The Miller farm and orchard has gradually been
winter. absorbed by the expanding village, and today is co-
At the present time, Gustave's son Warren and his vered with new homes. Some of the trees they
sons operate the farm. planted are still bearing fruit in the back yard of the
new property owners.

Dr. Moreoux with children Vivion and Harvey-1907. In the
MILLER background is l-1 Boncher-Arendt groin office and Cargill Eleva-
tor to the left.
1896-1963 1886-1962
Married February 1908
Elvira- Richard Seidl
Margaret- Elmer Mornard
James- Marie Rass

Nick Miller and his brother John were born at

Random Lake, Wisconsin. The Miller brothers first
owned a farm in partnership with Nick later pur-
chasing a farm in Section 15. That property is now
owned by Jim Miller.

MOEDE Dr. Morr:oux ond son Hurvey. I-l e wus on ovid

sporrsmun ond loved to hunt one/ fish .
Laura-Andrew Nelson
Clara-Harry Strebling
Minnie-Charles Mitchell
Marr 1892-1982
Gustave Jr- Audrey Maas

Gus sold his farm in Section 12 and purchased

the telephone company in Luxemburg. The office
was in a building owned by Anton Grasse!, next to
the News office. He managed the company for
many years. Gustave Jr moved to Green Bay and MORNARD
became President of Bell Telephone Company, retir-
1878-1969 1877-1937
Married May 1901
MOREAUX No Children
1876-1946 Desire was born in the town of Red River and
ran a 120 acre farm before coming to Luxemburg in
1916. He purchased a house on the corner of Main
Vivian-Leander Rock
and Maple Streets after he retired from farming.
(Occupied at the present time by Blah Barbiaux.)
Doctor Moreaux served the Luxemburg area for
32 years before moving to Green Bay. The family
lived at 425 Main Street. Daughter Vivian at one MORNARD
time held the distinction of being one of two ladies
to take out a hunting license in the county. Her fa- *XAVIER EUGENIE GOSIN
ther was an avid sportsman and loved the outdoors. 1880-1959 1886-1955
He was an active member of the community and Married November 1909
lent a helping hand when needed. In 1916 Dr. Mor- Marie-Tom Sterling
eaux purchased a Buick Touring Car to help when John-Gloria Zemilka
making house calls. Francis-Merle Schubert

Xavier owned a fa rm on Hwy 54 in Sections 17 Cha rl es p urchased a far m i n Section 24 and
and 20, of 150 acres. He married the daughter of farmed until his son Edward took over. Edward,
John and Melanie Gosin who previously owned the Angeline and their daughters ran the farm until
land in Section 17. George Martin purchased it. He lived there a few
Xavier built a house in 1916 which was later sold years a nd sold the land to August Zimmer. Today
to John DuChateau. Xavier was also a village trustee Leon Zimmer and his wife own the property.
for 6 years. The children have all moved away. Ed and Angeline are spending their retirement
years in a house on the road to Scarboro. A Mr.
Diring used to live here, he had a long red beard
MORNARD and spent his winters in Green Bay.


1885-1963 1882-1959
Elmer-Margaret Miller -1938 1883-1943
Joseph-Jane Kosna r Married October 1903
Peter was born al Thiry Dames and married Emi- Wendel-Delores Lardinois
ly, the daughter of Zacharie and Louise Vandeveld. Millie-Elmer Ha nnon
He owned land in Section 3 which h e sold, moving Arlene-Ozzie Goerlinger
to the vill age about 1916. Ruby-Harvey Hendricks
He worked for A M Hoppe store, Farmer's Trad- Grace-Ken Yost
ing Company and the Luxemburg Manufacturing Fern-Donald Nelson
until his retirement. He was village assessor for 4 Marion- Red Campshure
years and trustee for 16 years. The house that h e Jane-Robert M urray
built in 1916 today b elongs to Bob Heim family. Joseph and Ade le operated a farm purc h ased
from Joseph Liebl in Section 21 just outside of Lux-
e mburg. Today the farm is own e d by Mi chae l
MUELLER Zellner.
1884-1940 1890-1978
Married Novem be r 1916 JOHN MAYME STAGE
Clarence-Viola Barrett -1948 1883-1958
Harold-Sylvia Sharping Ma rried
Henry-LaVern e Dahlke Joseph -Josie Paul
Elsie-Sylvester Fahs Syril-Martha
Mildred - Harvey Neuzil Bern ice- Wencil Gasche
Harvey-LaVerne Meyer John was the local agent for the Rahr Brewing
Hen ry w as th e so n of Albert a nd Johann a Company of Green Bay. During 1912 he moved to
Mueller and owned a farm in Section 9 of 80 acres. Luxemburg.
The farm has been in the fami ly for about 110 years While John worked for the brewery h e had an ac-
and is operated by Harvey and LaVerne. Over the cident. H e was on his way home from Dyckesville
years the acreage has been increased with the pur- when the pole of the wagon came loose from the
chase of neighboring property. neck yolk causing the wagon to run off a culvert
and down a 4-foot embankment, completely over-
turning. John was thrown from the seat and knocked
MUELLER unconscientious.
Son Joseph ran the business and later Sy took
CHARLES/CARL AMELIA WINDORF over the distributorship until his retirement.
1838-1913 1838-1904
Married NENDEL
Louis-+17 yea rs
William-Victoria Karl GEORG E, SR. BARBARA
And rew-Alvina Luedtke 1828-1909 1827-1920
Edward-Angeline Melera Ma rried
Adela-Willia m Springstube John-
Harvey-Arlene Denis George-
Herbert-Mary Seiner August-

Anna-Peter Hoffman Theresa-Joseph Ray
Gerhardt- Anton-Adele Doden
George came to America in 1854, first settling Agnes-William Bunda
near Milwaukee, and in 1857 moved to Luxemburg, Fred-Jean Blaha
in Sec. 14. They were of German descent. George-Florence Gauthier
George was a big heavy set man who wore red Joseph-Lillian Gautheir
mittens in winter, that his mother knitted for him. August-Anita Winter
Irt:ne Simonar remembers "you could tell he was Andrew-Frances Wierer
coming down the road in winter by the red mittens Matthew-
he wore." Nick-Amanda Aschauer
John operated the homestead of 120 acres and
married Anna at St. Mary's Church. After 20 years
NEY he sold the land to Fred Ullman and moved to
Alaska, Wisconsin where he resided until his death.
JOHANN MARIA WAGNER Anna was the daughter of John and Theresa
1818-1888 1825-1893 (Schneider) Salentine and after the death of her
Married husband lived with her daughter Anna Schultz.
John-Anna Salentine
Elizabeth-Michael Altmeyer,
George Rueck!, Sr.
Katherine- NICHOLAI
Anna-J Uedes
}oseph-1858-1977 -1936 1878-1914
Johann or John was one of the first settlers in Married
Luxemburg area. They came on the ship Antartic Edward-Josie Macco
from Molstroff, Luxembourg in 1854. He purchased Arthur-Rose DeBauche
land in Section 22 next to the Merens property, a Lou
fellow countryman. The farm was passed down to Ella-Joseph Ropson
his sons, but Michael left the farm and sought em- 2nd wife LAURA (GELLIN] MOENS
Marr. 1916 1892-1975
ployment elsewhere.
Virginia-Peter Pennison
/ohn N e y Fomily Geraldine- Berg

John was raised in Champion and of Belgian heri-

tage. They operated the "Half-Way House" at Wal-
hain for many years. The tavern was later operated
by Clayton and Doris Friex. (Doris is the daughter
of Laura (Moens) Nicholai.)

Married 1896
Mrs. Carl Trzynka
NEY Orville-

JOHN ANNA SALENTINE Herman was a carpenter and owner of the furni-
1860-1932 1870-1951 ture store. When Luxemburg was first incorporated
Married November 1888 he held a trustee post for several years. In 1914 he
Anna-Loddie Schultz sold the business to Oliver DeBauch and moved to
John-Stella Meyer Marion, Wisconsin

NOVAK Michael-Lucille Wade
HERMAN BACH 2nd Husband
MARY KOSNAR Married September 1911
1856-1924 Harold-Charlotte Krumery
Dorothy- Gordon Hazelbauer
Manied 1875
Barbara was born in the town of Luxemburg the
Mary-Jos Paral
Mrs. Edward Hauck (Fannie) daughter of John and Theresa Salentine. She mar-
Mrs. Roy Dewalt (Antonia) ried Albert [Vojita) who was a harness maker.
Mrs. Wm Jaeschke (Agnes)
John-Margaret Lanser OBERHOFER
Frank-Ella Paradise
Mrs. Seth Moore (Anna) 1838-1918 1839-1.916
Joseph-+24 yr Married
Ma1y Kosnar was one of the towns pioneer citi- Charles-Catherine Linzmeier
zens, the daughter of Martin Kosnar. She was born Katherine-Andrew Dax
in Milwaukee and at the age of 3 accompanied her Theresia-Frank Christoph
parents to Luxemburg. Following her marriage to Anna-John Pribek
John they farmed at Scarboro until their retirement. Mary-Charles Linzmeier
Son John took over the farm and ran it for many Herman-Clara Rank
years. The farm is now owned by Herman Heur- Caroline- Charles Rank
kens. George- 1870-1944
The Oberhofer family came to America in 1872
NOVAK and purchased a farm where they cleared and culti-
vated the land. After many hard years of work they
FRANK SR MARY DWORAK turned the farm over to their son Charles.
1852-1931 1865-1942
Married 1881 OBERHOFER
Anna-Charles Houdek
Frank Jr- Catherine Seidl 1863-1934 1860-1923
Laura Joerger Married May 1890
John- Drossart Francis- Henry Seidl
Elizabeth-john Schroeder Catherine-Louis Zellner
Charles- Clara Christoff Herman-Clara Rank
Rudolph - Edna Hansen Caroline-Carl Rank
Antonia-Ed Sticka Joseph-
Adolph-Emerence Younk Carl came to America in 1872 with his parents
Edward- Wolfgang Oberhofer's and settled on an 80 acre
Helen-Frank Doucha farm in Section 31. His son Joseph moved and the
Frank came to America at the age of two with his land was sold to Jacob Stahl.
parents. They settled near Scarboro. The family
Chor/es oncl Ka therine Ober/1ofer one/ children. Frances. Kather-
came from Bohemia in the 1850's. ine and /oe.
In 1917 Frank, Sr had an accident-a passenger
train struck the rear of his buggy as he crossed the
tracks near Kewaunee. The locomotive struck the
rear wheel of the buggy, the horse ran off and
dumped what was left against a fence and threw
Frank to the ground .

1873-1905 1875-1956
Married June 1898
Albert-Lena Degreef

Frunk one/ Elizabeth Pool wedding
Married October 1901 [Divorced]
Catherin e-Ed Larscheid
Regina-Orbie Delfosse
Viola - Ray Vandenack
Herman - + infant
Clara- + infant
Herman operated a fa rm near Scarboro. Clara
and the children went to live with her parents Carl
and Mary Rank. Roland Baierl lives in the house to-

1870-1945 1866-1944 PAIDER
Married 1899
Adel was born at Neenah and came to Luxem- 1880-1962 1885-1967
burg with her parents the Oscar Schwedler's and Married Septembe r 1911
settled on a farm in Luxemburg township. Reinhold Kenneth-Jane Jerabek
was a man of medium build 5'8" tall, born in Olau, Charlotte- Russell Frank
Germa ny and came to Am erica in 1892. After his Agatha-Ed Sheffy
marriage to Adele they were in the hotel business at Mark- Elaine Velicer
Milwaukee where he worked for a few months be- Bert was born in the town of Franklin, Kewaun ee
fore returning to Luxemburg to operate the Ameri- County. He moved to Luxemburg in 191.7 and be-
can House. came manager o f the Luxemburg Ma nufacturing
H e purchased the park hall in 1917 and moved it Company. He built many homes in the village. Berl
to Main Street (see H wy. 163 Club]. Reinhold pur- resided in South Luxemburg in a home he pur-
chased the Albert Lohf house southeast of the depot chased from Nick Peot. Today the home is owned
and lived there until he added living quarters onto by Mark and Elain e Paider.
the dance hall.
1850-1929 1848-1916
FRANK BERTHA RADUE Married February 1877
1878-1961 1881-1916 Fra nces-Frank Spitzer
Married 1901 Michael-Lena Peot
No Children Theresa -Joseph Thibaudeau
2nd wife ELIZABETH MEINTZ Mary-Joseph Monahan
Marr Oct 1917 1894-1960 Margaret- 1883-1969
Bernice- Joseph, Jr.- +1881
Ruth-Robert Shumacher Eisenstein, Bava ria/ Austria is wh ere Joseph was
Delores- Arnold Macco born. He came to America on the shi p Kellen at the
Joyce- Ronald Hinkhouse port of Maryland, in 1881. The famil y resided for
Milton - Betty Casgranda two months at Oshkosh before coming to Luxemburg
Frank was of German descent and worked for township. The first fa rm owned by Joseph was pur-
Bach-K ieweg Company as a clerk. He also worked chased by Edward Martin. H e then bought land in
for the Rahr Brewing Company. The fa mily moved Section 27 where he erected his Willow Basket fac-
to Green Bay in 1918. tory and home about 1912.

1885-1952 1885-1961 1894- 1896-1966
Married February 1910 Ma rriecl 1927
Magdalen a-Fred Joniaux Estella-Ferdinand Haevers
Ceil-Clarence Kuhn Madeline- Norman Adams
Sibylla-Norman Bultman Darwin-Ione Daul
Mary-Tom Quinn Mary Jane-George Wachal
Margaret- 1917-1975 Joseph-Doris Marcelle
Helen-Lawrence Bournoville
Rita-Norbert Burkart Constant and Ida farmed the homestead until
Kenneth- Jane Tesar their son Joseph was able to take over the farm. Jo-
Dean - Vernetta Vogal seph, Doris and their family operate the farm today.
Michael was born in Luxemburg and was a life- The Paul family is of Belgian heritage.
long resident of the commu nity. He served as town
Chairman and was a member of the Kewaunee PAULI
County Highway Committee for nin e years. He also
operated a tavern and did mason work. JOSEPH CAROLINE FLEISHMAN
The Willow Basket shop was between Michael's 1841-1901 1850-1933
house and his father's red brick house. They had a Married in Austria
boiler to heat water to peel the willows to make the Joseph-Eleanor Schaefer
baskets, which operated day and nigh t. The boiler Ma1y-Benedict Estel
was lined with stainless steel and raised off the Clara-Louis Schaetz
floor so a rire could be built under to heat the wa- Caroline-Peter Estel
Peter Lanser, William and Peter Zellner, Joseph The Pauli fam ily owned a farm in Section 31
Benz, Michael Pankratz, plus two of his daughters which was later sold to Joseph Weininger. Mary and
worked in the shop. One night the fire apparently Caroline married brothers, the sons of John Este l.
got out or control and the bu ilding burned to the
ground in 1933. He then purchased the Peot store
from Mike Burke, which had been vacant and used PEOT
to store ca bbage by Dauls. M ike r e modled the
building into a tavern he called "The Wi llow Basket NICHOLAS KATHERINA MAAS
Tavern ". In 1938 the building burned and was re- 1813-1891 1810-1891
built by Michael this time he called it "The Elders". Married 1833
Michae l's house was built with lumber from the Michael- Gertrude Schaul
Little French Church when it was torn down. At the Katha rina- Peter Schmidt
present ti me the Gerald Kulis family occupies home. Angelina-Daniel Daul
foseph's house is under the ownership of Tavie Margaretha-1842 +
Kollross. Johan n- Catherine Nendel
Regina Shire
PAUL Nicholas- Sibylla Schneid er
Peter- Anna Schaut
fOSEPH ROSE BOUCHER Nicholas grew to maturity in Hostenbach, Saar.
-1932 1866-1937 Germany and married the re . He conti nued in his
Married October 1886 fath er's footsteps as coa l miner. Food was extremely
fohn- scarce and the winters cold and hard. After the
Anna-Milton Arendt birth of Nicholas they decided to leave their home-
Margaret- Harry Daul la nd and find a better life in America.
William- Margaret Kreilkamp It took them nine months to save enough money
Constant- Ida Waulet to bring the family to America. They left in 1847 on
a voyage that lasted 49 perilous days. After landing
Joseph purchased land in Section 14, 155 acres. in the port of New York they traveled to Buffalo
He farm ed the land until his son Constant pur- and boarded a boat to Milwau kee. They settled near
chased the farm. Joseph and Rose spent their retire- Schlesingerville for 13 years where their fourth son
ment years in Casco. and seven th child Peter was born.

The trip to Green Bay was made by ox team with PEOT
their domestic a nima ls. They rested three days at
the Old Green Bay House, crossed the East River on JOHANN/JOHN CATHERINE NENDEL
a chain suspension bridge and started for New 1842-1911 1850-1880
Franken, hewing out their road as they went. The Married
family stayed in settlers shacks at New Franken for Angelina-
two days until a road was opened to Luxemburg. John-
Nicholas purchased 160 acres of land in Section George-
26 and again set about the tedious task of clearing Nicholas-
the land to make it fi t for farming. As the years Lena-
passed more acreage was acquired until the estate fohn was the son of Nicholas and Katherine Peot
totaled 500 acres. During those early years bears [Spelled Piot in Germany]. We were not able to find
and wolves roamed the forests. The farm was divid- any information, other than the names of their chil-
ed between his sons each getting 80 acres of land. dren, on this fam ily.

1835-1901 1847-1935
Married May 1867
1846-1925 1854-1920
John P.-Cordelia Thibaudeau
Married November 1872
Joseph-Albin a Thibaudeau
Katherine-Nick Wahl
Gertrude-Louis Simons
Barbara- Martin Burke
Michael, Jr.-Josephine Sinkler
Agnes-John Sinkler
Catherine- Michael Salentine
Angeline-Matt Marek
Mary-William Simons
Peter-Christine Kreischer
Anna-Michael Wahl Nicholas-Elsie
Elizabeth- Sister Concepta Lena-Michael Pankratz
William-Frances Schroeder Sibylla-Edward Dulik
Melchoir- Barbara Liebl
Nicholas- 1880-1902
Edward- Mayme Mack
Gertrude was born in Hackenbach, Germany and
at the age of two accompanied her parents, John
John-Anna Schweiner
Schaut's to Am erica and settled in New Franken.
Nicholas marri ed Sibylla Schneider, the daughter
Michael received 80 acres of land from his father
of Mathias and Agnes Schneider, who was born in
and farm ed all his life. Today grandson Michael H.
the town of Scott, Brown County. For a year after
ownes the farm. their marriage the Peots resided with his parents.
Son john owned a blacksmith shop in South Lux-
He then built a home on a farm received from his
emburg for a few years which he sold to Charles father. The children did not stay in this area.
Kollross, and another son Nicholas operated a gen-
eral store [today occupied by a tavern, The Empty
Glass). Most of the children moved out of the area.
Peot home. Michcml ond Gertrude and family. The occasion wos
one of their doughte r's First Communion.
1850-1929 1853-1902
Married 1872
Katherine- Peter Drury
Peter-Lydia Schimmick
Gertrude-Sister Juliana
Elizabeth-K 0 Kleve
Anna-Pa trick Kubasiak
Henry-Agn es Opicka
Dehila-Martin H essel
Joseph-Katherine Konop
George- 1894-1902

Anton-Emily Mau fort fohn Pcol MeCJt Morknl. t1l>out '191 2 L to R: /ohn (fock) Peot.
Leo-Katherine Harder \l\li/liom P001. J::vo Peat. I·:swllu P11ot. /olin Peal.
Peter was born in Washington County, Wisconsin
the youngest of the fa mi ly of Niclolas and Catherin e
Peot. He married Anna, the daughter of Peter and
Gertrude Schaul of New Franken. (Ann's sister mar-
ried Michael Peot). They began their married life on
80 acres of land received from his fa ther. Son Jo-
seph ran the farm until he retired and turned the
operation over to his son Kenneth who owns the
land today.
Anton had a blacksmith shop on Main Street
close to the Farmer's Trading Compa ny. In 1930 he
moved to Green Bay and the shop was demolished.

Anton /'()ol 11/CJcksrnith Shop

Son Jack worked in the Bohman Meat Market in
Casco after his marringe. He was a charter member
of the fire depa rtment which was organized in 1911
and fo r 42 years served as Fire Chief. Jack was
treasurer of St. John's Luth era n Church. He was
employed at Meisler Garage for many years and lat-
er at th e Farmer's Trading Company for 22 years,
where he remained until he retired. He was named
Man of the Year by the Chamber of Commerce in

1896- 1902-1983
PEOT Married 1926
Mickey-Ray Meyer
1861-1921 1864-1891 Harvey-Darlene Benz
Married December 1885 Alvin-Joanne Kollross
Mathilda - Ebert
Anna-1890-19'16 Oscar is of French descent and Nellie's parents
Mary M.-1886-1893 came from Ireland. They operated a farm at Clay
2nd wife BERTHA TOEBE Banks until about 1940 when they traded their farm
1873-1961 for the cheese factory and store at Scarboro. Oscar
Married 1897 and Nellie retired in 1963 but continued to live in
Eva-1897-1973 the back of the store.
John/Jack-Clara Sell
Estelle- 1903 PETERS
John was the son of Nicholas and Maria (Rupp)
Peot of Germany. He conducted a meat market in CHARLES L JEANETTE DISHMAKER
Luxemburg which he sold to Peter Joerger in 1912. 1873-1949 1868-1936
In 1909 h e purchased a gas engine from Joe Got- Married April 1895
stein to run his sausage mach ine. Lorna-Frances Ka rel

lone-Charles Meyer
Vida-Raymond Kasten
Loyal-+ infant
1831-1895 1829-1903
2nd wife HORTENSE READ Joseph-
1875-1942 Felix-EJizabeth H aevers
Marr. Oct 1939
Josephine- Jule Moreau
Jean ette was born in Kewaunee. They came to
Luxemburg when her husband began working in
Mary was born in Beauvechain, Belgium. Joseph
Kieweg-Peters Company. For many years she served
was also from Belgium. The family purchased a
as superindent of the floral and fine arts department
farm in Section 7 where they cleared the land a nd
at the Kewaunee County Fair. She was known to be
farmed for many years. (We were n ot able to obtain
particularly fond of flowers, taking great pride in
any more information on this family.]
the many beautiful varities raised about her home.
Charles was also born near Kewaunee and spent
his youth in Carlton w here as a young man he
worked in the merchantil e busin ess which later ex- PRAVECHEK
panded to Kewaunee and Lux e mbu rg . He was
named manager of the store when it opened and h e JOHN VIRGINIA
operated the business until it went out of existence. Married
Charles then joined the store in Kewaunee until the Frank-Francis Jisa
sale to Butle r Brothers. He joined the staff of the Mayme-
Bank o f Luxemburg as Vice President after having Hattie-George Forest
served as director for many years. Evelyn-Louis Gallenberger
His tenure as Village President was unique in that Gerald-
from the time he was e lected to office 37 years ago Eileen -Ed Haucke
h e had been relected eve ry year since with no op-
position. Ch arles was one of the strong backers of John and Virginia came from Bohemia in the mid
the Kewaunee County Fair and was elected presi- 1800's. They purchased land in Section 36 where
dent of the Town and Country Club. they spent their time and energy in the pursuit of
farming. When they retired the land was passed
down to their son Frank. At the present time Frank
resides in a house in South Luxemburg and his son
Larry and wife Germaine run the farm .
Clwrlie Peters.

PETERS 1873-1952
1897- 1904- Clayton -
Married 1924 Stella-
Jean-Elroy Hoppe Roma- John Greb
Harold is the son of Louis Peters and was born at Elmer-
Krok. He was in the Navy during WW I, from 1918 Oris-
to 1919. He came to Luxemburg at age 16 to work Frank and Lydia were married in Evangelica l
for Kiewig-Peters Company, went into service and Church at Morrison. They resided all their lives on
returned to the store where he worked until the the farm where Frank was born, in Section 35. He
company went out of business. In later years he was the first in the community to win a prize for
worked for McMahon furniture . pure bred Holstein-Friesan cattle. Frank became d i-
Laura worked at Algoma Plywood during WW II rector of Kewaunee County Fair and was connected
and was clerk in the post office for 27 years. She with many farm organizations. He was a minister as
began in 1943 when Jerry Libal was acting postmas- well as a farmer. Elmer and Oris died quite young
te r and served 24 years under the leadership of and a daughter married and moved to Oshkosh.
Austin Allard. Stella and Roma wen t to Africa as missionaries.

Frank had some very advanced ideas of utilizing RADUE
a form of gas light before electricity was heard of.
The farm was called "Evergreen Tree Farm" and CARL WILHELMINE (BLOEOOW] GOSE
was purchased by Frank Ciha who remodeled the 1831-1919 1833-1907
house and built a pole shed plus other buildings. Married
August- Mathilda Gauger
QUADE Edward-Bertha Gauger
Frank-Bertha (Gauge r) Radue
1851-1924 1849-1928 Carl's family came from Pommern. Germany and
Married 1924 arrived in America on the ship Astronom. H e was a
Emma-W illiam Belter Justice of the Peace and a farm er. The farm today is
Bertha-Ed Kratz owned by Bob Jacobs.
William was b orn in Pommern Germany and
came to America at the age of 7. The fami ly lived
in West Bend before settling in the town of Montpe- RADUE
lier. William was a member of the village board for
4 years, and lived on the corner of Colle and Oak AUGU ST WILHELMINE LOHF
1840-1916 1845-1897
Streets. after retiring fro m farmi ng.
Married 1864
Ulricka- Carl Sell
RADUE Mary-Heinrich Plinke
Ida- Jasper Dickey
1804- 1804-1874 Gustave-1874-79
Ma rri ed 1831 Fred-Ella Tuy Is
Carl - Wilhelmine (Bloedow) Gose Wilhelm-1878-91
Friederike-Frederick Sell Wilhelmine- Charles Kalhoefer
Ernestine-Carl Retzlaff Anna- John Hannon
August-Wilhelmine Lohf Emil Parmenittier
Wilhelm-Mathilde Lohf Libby-Frank H annon
Ulricka-Frank Miesler, Sr. Victor Moestedt
Julius-Bertha Lohl
Friederich's family came to America in 1869 from Frank Miesler. Sr., bought the farm from August.
Platikow, Pommern, now Blad kowo, Poland, P rov- Then it was opera ted by Frank Miesler, Jr.. until his
ince of Szczecin, through the port of Baltimore. He son-in-law and daughter, Ted and Velda Seid l took
purchased land in Section 10 where he farmed until over the management. At the present time, Ted's
his son Wilhelm took over the business. He then son-in-law and daughter, Ray and Neoma Michalski
purchased the J. B. Puissant farm, enlarging his have possession of the farm.
operatio ns. Today the farm is owned by Roge r
Rutlm? fu mily: Stonding L to fl : /u/ius. Ulricka Mies/er. /\ugusl
Silting: Fredricka Sell. Carl. Ernestine Hel:doff
1844-1893 1854-1914
Married March. 1873
John-Augusta H elwig
Ida Kuester
Ida- William Trinkner
Mary-James Rae
Nick Dietrick
Anna-William Waldo
Bertha- Frank Paa l
Minnie-William Luedtke
Wilhelm and Mathilde ran the homestead until
his death when the farm was handed down to Wil-

liam and Minnie Luedtke. He was Supervisor for RANK
the Town of Luxemburg and also served as Clerk.
Son John was about twenty when his father died JACOB FRANCIS PSCHIED
and he became the man of the house. He was 1857-1935 1856-1912
known as the "apple of his mother's and sisters' eye," Married January 1883
and genuinely spoiled by all, as the story goes. Catherine-Louis Treml
John, at one time, had a Carter Car dealership in Anna-John Augustine
town. During 1911, while coming down the hill from Jacob-1888-1971
South Luxemburg, John, accompanied by Gerhardt Frances-Jacob Dorner
Nendl, ran into the elevator of a stone crusher near George J-Clara Grimm
the foundry and came within an ace of completely Francis Linhart
demolishing his machine. He also owned trotting Barbara-Henry Se idl
horses and above all, he liked a good lime. The Thomas-Mary Pribyl
family horses were known to bring John home many Rose-Joseph Sconzert
a time with no help from their master after he had Joseph Koss
taken the farm goods to town to sell. John was also
a carpenter and after the death of his first wife he The Jacob Rank family came to America on the
remarried and moved to Milwaukee. ship Liverpool from Hammern, Austria in 1882. Ja-
cob first worked as a farm hand for I F Jahnke,
RANK town of Montpelier. He purchased an 80 acre farm
in the town of Luxemburg in Section 30. Jacob and
CARL ANNA M RANK Frances retired and turned the farm over to son Ja -
1839-1915 1844-1931 cob about 1917. Part of the farm was sold to Iacob
Married Dorner, 80 acres, which he farmed and passed
Carl-Caroline Oberhofer down to his son Robert, who is the owner today.
Louis-Katherine Seidl
Englebert-Jennie Finendael
Mary-Anton Kollross
Katie-Jos Arendt
Clara-Herman Oberhofer RANK
Regina-John Arendt
The Rank family came from Hammern, Austria in JOSEPH BARBARA (WENZEL} SEIDL
1869. They settled in Section 10. After the death of 1861-1932 1857-1937
Carl the land was cultivated by his sons. Englebert Married August 1893
and Fabian ran the homestead. Today Mike Rank John-
owns part of the original farm. Katie and Regina Mrs. racob Oberley
married brothers, the sons of Peter a nd Catherine Anton-
Arendt. Carl and Clara married into the fam ily of Child from Barbara's first marriage
Carl Oberhofer. Catherine-John DeMuth
Joseph Seidl-
Joseph owned a farm in the Southwestern part of
*LOUIS KATHERINE SEIDL Luxemburg township, which he sold to Peter Estel
1872-1950 1875-1936 and purchased another farm in the Southeastern
Married part of the township. The family came to America
Raymond-Adeline O'Konski in 1882.
Felix-Ann Junion Barbara's first husband, Joseph Seidl died in 1891
Michael-Irene Hendricks and she came to America with friends. When Joe
Fabian-Pauline Novetski and Barbara retired they purchased a house in
Louis owned land next to his fathers farm, which South Luxemburg. The house today is occupied by
was later sold to Earl Martin in Sections 3 and 10. the Jim Johnson fami ly.
Louis married the daughter of Jacob and Anna
(Kollross) Seidl. The only son to remain in the area
was Michael. His farm is located in Section 10. Fe-
lix sold land that h e owned to Edward Martin and
Stannie Hendricks in 1937.

RANK their lives.
Caroline was the daughter of Wolfgang and Ther-
GEORGE T BARBARA BEIRL esia Oberhofer of Luxemburg. She married Carl at
1863-1943 1871-1949 St. Mary's Church. The farm was later sold to Wal-
Married April 1888 ter Christoff.
Elizabeth-Joseph Jossart
jacob-Rosala Altman
Mamie Kelly RASS
Frances (T)- 1893+ 1892-1972 1895-
Anna-William Deterville Married July 1915
Mary-George Hegdahl Clem, Jr-Madge Ripp)
Edward-Anna Lilly Herbert-Lillian Ledvina
Peter-Agnes Dorner Robert-Evelyn Mleziva
Frances-Cha rles B Linzmeier Marie-Ji m Miller
Killian --1903+ LaVerne-Emery Happel
Barbara- Iohn Demoulin Betty-Don Weier
George was the son of Thomas and Anna Rank Lois-Anthony Dorner
and a brother to Jacob (B 1857). The family came to James-Alice Kollross
America when George was 18 years old from Aus- Clem was born in Namur, Wisconsin and moved
tria. He married Barbara at St. Mary's Catholic to Luxemburg in 1913 after graduating from Val-
Church, Luxemburg. pariso University. He was employed by the Bank of
Barbara was lhe daughter of Peter and Barbara Luxemburg for 50 years, being promoted to Vice-
Beirl of Eisenstrass, Bohemia. Her parents came to President in 1931 and later President. He was hon-
America when she was two years old. ored as "Man of the Year" in 1963. Clem served as
She was blind for about 30 years. Her death oc- secretary-treasurer for the fire department and was
cured one morning while starting a fire in her stove. village clerk for 34 years. Robert and Marie are the
Some live ashes ignited her scarf and she was un - only children still in Luxemburg area.
able to put the fire out. Beside maintaining her
house she was able to sew and knit. She was a very
independent lady and often said "I don 't want any- RETZLAFF
body to bother about me."
George and Ba rbara farmed 80 acres of land in CARL ERNESTINE RADUE
Section 31. Upon their retirement they purchased a 1837-1918 1838-1914
house in South Luxemburg. Marri ed 1862
After George retired the farm was turned over to Bertha -Albert Giese
his son Peter who ran it for several years. He sold Amelia-Charles Kroen ing
the property to Robert Dorner, the present owner. Gustave-Angeline Daul
Augustine-Joseph S Lhost
Julius-Gladys Seidl
RANK Lydia-John Kroening
They first settled in Granville, Milwaukee County
*CHARLES/CARL CAROLINE OBERHOFER in 1868 after coming from Germany. After arriving
1870-1932 1880-1965 in this area Carl purchased land in Section 20. The
Married 1901 land was later sold to Ferdinand Zellner and today
josephine-1902-1970 is owned by Michael Zellner.
Anton-Laura Spitzer
Ann Kartz
Margaret-Felix Glime
Madonna-Elmer Da lebroux GUSTAVE ANGELINE DAUL
Regina-1904+ 1869-1932 1871-1955
The Rank family came from Hammern, Austria Married 1894
when Carl was 9 years old. Ca rl and Caroline Albert-
owned land in Section 10 where they farmed all Alma-Birtus Blenner

Edmund-Mary Ronsman
Alvin-Jean 1863-1947 1876-1956
Harold- 1907-08 Married November 1898
Mable-Robert Kellner Katherine-Henry DeVillers
Lena-Howard Frazer Johanna-Carl Ranier
George-Lillian Maccaux Caroline-Leo H aen
Daniel- Jean Westein Robert-Clara H aen
Angeline was born in Luxemburg the daughter of Francis-1905+
Danie l Daul's. Gustave worked for the village and
cared for county roads. Sons Albert, Richard, and Frances was the daughter of George and Anna
Raymond did not marry. Dorner. Frank's family came from Germany in 1869,
In 1919 while walking in his sleep. Alvin fell out and settled in Section 33, Town of Luxemburg.
of the upstairs bedroom window into some bushes When Frank and his wife retired they purchased a
below. He received wounds about the face and home in South Luxemburg where they spent the ir
body. The commotion awakened his uncle Julius remaining years.
who found him he was still in a deep sleep. The farm was turned over to their son Robert
Ed Retzlaff in 1918, formerly employed in Ohio who operated it until retirement, selling the property
returned and leased the barber shop formerly run to David Barrett.
by John Salmon. Ed's nick name was "Abbie." Frank was manager of the Luxemburg Creamery
Gustave secured a contract for the big cistern for in 1920 and Town Clerk for 7 years.
fire protection in 1909.

GLADYS SEIDL 1823-1910 1818-1893
1875-1965 1892-1961 Married in Vienna Austria
Married 1916 Barbara-Jacob Liebl
Mildred-Joseph Stodola Anna-Michael Ley
Alois[T)Catherine Meshka Alois/Louis-Ann Schauer
Amos(T)Phyllis Rollin George-Mary Schauer
Betty-Allan Naze Franziska- 1858-1889
Audrey- Rose-died at sea
Julius owned a saloon on Main Street in 1919. He
also was a well driller and purchased the equip- George and Anna were born in Hammern, Aus-
ment of Henry Hartinger when he retired from the tria and came to America in 1873. He attended the
well drilling business. Sons Alois and Amos, twins, Conservatory of Music in Vienna and was an ac-
carried on the business after their father retired. complished violinist and a shoe maker. They had
friends in Texas and Manitowoc and Luxemburg. It
was reported the Texas water was not good so they
started out for Manitowoc to start a shoe factory but
RETZLAFF the water was fr oze and they had to land at
Kewaunee. George purchased land in Section 20
HERMAN CAROLINE LOHF and farme d beside making shoes.
1883-1938 1888- The Rueckls had a band in Austria consisting of
Married 1906 George Sr, Louis, George Jr, Alfred and members of
Fairy-Walter Doell the Stahl fa mi ly. When they came to America Alois
Erna-Ed H annaman Stahl reorganized the band and it was known as the
Clifford-Marie Everard Stahl Band.
John- Ada Frisque After George's sons were old enough to take over
Wilfred-Golderine Frisque the farm, he purchased the Am erican House and
Laverne- Hubert Sacotte ran the saloon-hotel for years, eventually turning it
Herman and Carolin e operated a farm in Section over to his son George Jr.
12 where they spent most of their lives farming.
Robert Jacobs is the present owner oJ the property.

George married Mary Schauer the daughter of Lor-
RUECKL enz Schauer's of New Franken a rea. George attend-
ed the Conservatory of Music like his father but d id
not finish for the family left their homeland to come
1853-1840 1859-1886
to America. He was raised on a farm outside of
Married November 1880
Luxemburg and later took over the American H ouse
Lawrence-Mary Servais
that his father had purchased. George ran the saloon
Michael-Laura Stage
and hotel until he retired and turned the establish-
ment over to Alfred and w ife Margaret Rueckl.
Edwa rd-Anna Kollross
Although George did not finish the course at the
He rbert- Caroline Christoff
c onse rvatory he was an a ccomplished flut e a nd
Mary T- 1892-1911
clarinet player. In 1952, at age 97 he was beli eved
Raymond-Emily Simonar
Magdalena- Nick Miller the oldest citizen in Kewaunee County.
Anna- George Weinfurter
Eleanore-Anton Colle Hucckl family. huck row. George. /r .. /uliu, Alf red. Mory, and
Rose-Sister Wilburgis Eli7.0beth. Seniad. Mury. Richa rd. Doris. P.dmund one/ GcorgloJ Sr.
Paula -Frank Ripp]
Clothilda- John Treml

Louis received land from his fathe r and in the

years following increased the size of the farm locat-
ed in Section 29. The first 80 acre fa rm was pur-
chased from Lamb Lumber Compa ny. In spring of
1883, he acquired another 80 acres from Joseph Filz
in 1900, the next 80 acres was purchased from Jo-
seph Kraemer and in 1914 a fourth 80 acre farm
was purchased from George Rank. The fa rms were
handed down to sons Albert, H erbert, and Ray-
mond .
In 1903 he purchased interest in Kaut-Boucher
Milling Company and a year later purchased the
company farm of 140 acres and controlling interest
in the Milling Company and served as its president.
Six years later he purchased the entire holdings in
the company. SALENTINE
1812-1904 1815-1891
Married in Luxembourg
John-Theresa Schneider
RUECKL Katherine- Peter Arendt
Magdalina-Casper Schauer
GEORGE, SR MARY SCHAUER Katrina-Lawrence Daul
1855-1952 1861-1912 Mary-Lorenz Dau l
Married N ovember 1880 Anna-Frank Allen
Melchoir- 1881-1883 Nickolas- Magdalene Wunsch
Julia-George Seidl. Sr
Alfred -Margaret Miller Gregory was born in Eschdorf, Luxembourg (un -
George, Jr- Alice DeBauch der Holland rule in 1812). Ann a was born in Nie-
Elizabeth-Peter Arendt derf eulen . Lux e mbourg. Th ey ca me to Am e rica
Mary-Peter Liebl through the port of New York in August of 1857 and
Richard-Margaret Arendt settled on a farm in Section 23, town of Luxem-
Doris-Art Hochuli bourg. The farm was eventually turned over to son
2nd wife ELIZABTH (NEY) ALTMEYER Nickolaus and is now operated by Gregory's great
Mar. 1917 1862-1929 grandson Donald Salentine.

Gregory and A nno Wah l Salenline Nicholas Salentine family: Standing, fohn, Theodore. Sitting.
Mugdaline Wunsch Salentine, Nicholas, Caroline Pron!, Bern-
1~· lwrd

1838-1921 1850-1936 AUGUST MATHILDA MAES
Ma rried November 1867 1861-1909 1865-1949
Anna-John Ney Married 1886
Agnes- August Heim. Jr Frank-Flore nce Dart
Michael-Catherine Peat Walter- Helen Doyle
Barbara-Albert Nuhlicek Anna- Minor C Dickoff
Herman Bach Alvin-Cleo Fabry
Nickolaus- Magdalene Daul fohn-Philomene Kohlbeck
Mary- Fred H eim Mary-William Ferron
John G-1885-1933 A Dahnke
George-Margaret Daul Leona-J ohn Pullman
George Plant
John came to America at the age of 19 and mar- Emma-Arnold Denke
ri ed Theresa Schne id er th e daught e r Matt
Schneiders', of Brown County. Son John G was a Mathilda was born i n Belgium and came to
single man and operated the Sa lentine homestead America at the age of 16. August was 8 years old
after the death of his father. Part of the original when his parents came to America from Belgium
homestead is today operated by Donald Salen tine. and settled in Brown Counly . The fam ily moved to
Cavour, South Dakota, where August and Mathilda
were married, and in 1899 moved to Luxemburg.
For five years August was the local grain buyer
SALENTINE for the Cargill Company, after which he took charge
of the Luxemburg Grain Company. In 1.909 he was
NICHOLAUS MAGDALENE WUNSCH editor of the Luxemburg News and instrumental in
1855-1920 1858-1926 building up circulation . H e was village treasurer for
Married 1879 2 terms.
Caroline-John J Seidl Son Frank worked for the Luxemburg News and
Theodore -Mary Stahl la ter moved away. Daughter Mary at one time oper-
John I- Anna Oberhofer ated a millinary shop.
Bernard-Marie Haen
Nicholas and Magdalene farmed in Section 26
purchasing the land from Edward Decker. When WALTER HELEN DOYLE
they retired son John took ove r the farm. The other 1890-1944 1889-1919
son Theodore ran the farm across the road. and Married January 1914
Bernard purchased the old Frank Spitzer property. Cathleen- Sister Mary Ellenita
Bern ard served his country in WW I. 1918-1919. Jane-George Baenen

Walter was a well known rural mail carrier for Frank became a carpenter at age 16 and stayed
many years. He worked for the shipyards in Stur- on after the company was sold as head mechanic.
geon Bay as a mechanic and later moved to Green The Santroch brothers built many houses in Luxem-
Bay. burg village.
After the death of Frank, Anton married his
SALMON brother's wife and moved to Kewaunee.
It is not known who James was married to but in
JOHN B PHILOMENE KOHLBECK 1912 his 3 year old daughter Doris d ied of Sca rlet
1896-1968 1899- Fever and is buried in St. John's Cemetery.
Married 1919
Wenze l ond 1\llagdaleno Sontroc h frunily. L to R Fronk, 1\nton.
Leo-Marian Salentine fames ond Mary
Edward-Marcella Salentine
George-Mary Lafevre
Marjorie-Carl Slaby
Geraldine-Dona ld Garot
Audrey-Kenneth Rebitz
Robert-Sandy VanLanen
Mary-Kenneth Tomcheck
Theresa-Richard McCarville
Rita-James Oudenhoven
Thomas-Joan Trimberger
Richard-Nancy Chalkline

john was born in Cavour, South Dakota. He mar-

ried Philomene at St. Mary's Church, Luxemburg.
She is the daughter of George and Albertine Kohl-
beck. In 1918 he took possession of the barber shop
next to the Hafeman Saloon on Main Street, which
had been conducted by Ed Retzlaff. He was a fre- SCHMIDT
quent visitor at the Linzmeier lunch room a few
doors down the street. It seems a lovely lady by the WILLIAM IDA HINTZ
name of Philomene was a waitress there and John 1865-1958 1875-1938
couldn't resist the good food they served. Married
In 1920 they moved to Casco and later to Green Louis-Anna Husnik
Bay. Philomene still resides in her house in Green Hattie-
Son Leo operates a meat market in Luxemburg The Schmidt family owned land in Section 2
while the other sons have all moved from this area. where he farmed for many years. Son Louis moved
to Manitowoc and the land is owned today by Har-
SANTROCH old Reckelberg.
William was not a wasteful man, during the 1940's
WENZEL MAGDALENA he would drive his Model T to town, park it and
1839-1918 1839-1922 cover the tires with burlap bags to protect them
Married 1864 from the sun, for in those days tires were a scarce
Mary-Joseph Zika commodity.
Anna-Joseph O' Konski
Frank-Libby Wessely SCHNEIDER
Anton-Libby (Wessely) Santroch AUGUST EMMA STUEBS
1876- 1881-1962
The family came to America, Port of New York in Married November 1897
1868 and lived near Frances Creek where they Lester-Lillian Hanaman
owned a farm. In 1904 the family moved to Luxem- Alvin-Adeline Hardtke
burg where Fran k, James and Anton engaged in the Leonard- Alice Hoppe
lumber business, which was sold to Luxemburg Alma-
Manufacturing Company in 1919. Lillian- Eclward Zeitler

The Schneider family was of German heritage. John's father was a self employed weaver and
rhe farm was located at Casco Junction on the left John tried tailoring briefly but it d idn 't "catch on!"
;ide before the railroad tracks, across from the Lue- For some years he worked in different shops mak-
Jeck farm. August and Emma farmed for many ing shoes in Vienna. John spent three years in the
rears before retiring. They celebrated their Silver army under Franz-Jos eph, Emperor of Austria,
Nedding Anniversary in 1922. Emma was th e where he was a sharpshooter. His travels enabled
laughter of William and Louise Stuebs. him to pick up three languages.
Their son Leonard was ordained a minister on john and Rosalia decided that their prospects for
uly 26, 1931. Today the land is owned by Nick Sa- a bright future in their homeland was limited and
entine. plans were made to go to America where his future
wife had an uncle. John Estel, living at Luxemburg.
In 1962 john was honored as Man of the Year by
SCHROEDER the Luxemburg Chamber of Commerce at age 89
and at the age of 92 he enjoyed his first airplane
v1ICHAEL MARY trip to the west coast to visit his grandson.
l862-1953 1.860-1919 Today the business is carried on by his son john
vlarried May 1888 and wife June plus his two sisters, Martha and Olga.
oseph-1887-1972 Martha has taught many a youngster the art of
vlichael-1897-1973 playing the piano and plays at church for weddings,
ohn- funerals and Sunday Mass. Olga spent many years
?rances-William Peot working for the Luxemburg News, while the other
vlarie-Cornelius Snelten two daughters moved away from Luxemburg area.
::lizabeth-Peter Karius Daughter Anastasia is a recognized artist in oil. wa-
4.nna-Dr W G Riopell ter colors and does etchings.
Represe ntativ e Lary Swoboda presented the
Michael was the son of Reinhard Schroeder and Schwab Shoe Store [on August 12, 1982), a citation
)Wned land in Section 22, town of Luxemburg. from the State of Wisconsin Assembly in recognition
His son Michael was in WW I and helped on the of the Schwab family's long years of service to the
!arm. He was also employed at the Luxemburg Mo- community.
:or Company for many years.
Today the land is under the ownership of Joseph /ohn ond Rosalia Schwab

1873-1973 1874-1953
Married June 1903
Hilda -
Anastasia-Herbert Flath
fohn Jr-Jun e Blahnik

John was born in Malacky Austria/Hungray and

came to America in 1903. "I worked everywhere I
could and then opened my shop on Main Street. I
bought an old machine on credit, and by golly the
next week the man came and wanted his money. I
didn 't have nothing to give him and he came every
week and every week, so I decided that was the last SCHWEDLER
thing I'd ever buy on credit. I worked part of the
time in a store and part time in my shop, and no- LOUIS LOUISE MEISEL
body came to my shop and then one day a fellow 1.818-1897 1824-1900
came in and bought a pair of shoes and I jumped to Married
the ceiling I was so glad." Mary-

Oscar-1847-1926 departed from their homeland about 1860. Their first
Adelaide-Julius Miesler five children were born in Tourinees-La-Grosse,
Ewald-Elizabeth Braasch Belgium and the other five in America. The fam ily
Herman-1852-37 lived in the township of West Kewaunee for some
Louis-Mary Elizabeth Rooney 20 years before moving to Luxemburg, Section 32
Albert-1854-1884 where Peter purchased land in December of 1881
Rudolph-1859-1918 and sold a parcel to each son for $400.
Robert-1861-1884 Son Felix lived in a small house on his farm. The
Ida- John O'Neil house burned and after Felix died in 1926 his fam-
Adelia-Reinhold Okrush ily moved to Oconto. Victor sold his property to his
brother David, who became the next owner of the
Louis was born in Germany, the son of John and homestead.
Julia Schwedler, a minister. At the age of 5 he could
read and write, and at the age of 16 completed a
high school education, having been taught by his fa- The David Scanze rt Farm in the early 1900's.
ther who was a well-educated man. H e spoke 7 lan-
guages and wrote German magazin es and new-
spapers in this country.
After his marriage in Germany, he secured a posi-
tion as manager over a large estate of 2,000 acres.
He also served in the German army for three years
doing duty in the Cavalry Service. Louis set sail for
America in 1848, landed in New Orleans, and start-
ed his journey north to Washington County, Wiscon-
sin, where he purchased 40 acres of land. In 1856,
he came to Luxemburg township and purchased 160
acres for which he paid $80.00. In 1865 he went to
work in a Neenah fou ndry for two years and then
returned to Luxemburg and the occupation of farm-
His sons took over the farm after he retired and
eventually sold it to Thomas Christoph in 1915. P DAVID CATHERINE BAIERL
Herman, Oscar and Rudolph purchased land in 1853-1.926 1863-1947
the village and spent their retirement years there. Married 1893
Agnes was a school teache r and taught in Peter-Caroline Finendael
Kewaunee County schools. Ann-Edward Pirlot
Joseph-Rose Rank
Henry-Gladys Godshoul
SCONZERT William-Louise Monfi ls
Albert-Mabel Luedtke
1820-1900 1826- Catherine came to America about 1881 with rela-
Married in Belgium tives, Wenzel and Maria Stueber. After working for
Clemen tine-1850-55 three years and saving her money Catherine brought
Louis-1852+ her mother Anna, half-sister Barbara, half-brother
P David-Catherine Baierl Louis and her step-fa ther Lucas Hoffman to Amer-
Alexa ndre-1854-55 ica.
Cleme ntine- Marshall Lhost David was born in Belgium and came to America
Virginia -Emil Ferry with his parents. After the death of his fa ther David
Felix-Josephine Vandenack took over the running of the farm. William pur-
Julia-John B Mathu chased the farm from his mother in 1940, and ran
Victor-1868-1924 the business until his son Mark took over.
Eliza beth/Tavi e-1872-1917 Sons Peter and Joseph were in WW I, 1918-1919.
Hen ry and Joseph moved to Casco area and Peter to
Peter (Pierre Isaac) and Petemia were born in the New Fran ken area, while Albert moved to Sturgeon
towns of Nodebais and Beauvechain, Belgium. They Bay.

The Dovid Sconzert Fomily. Left ro right standing in the back
are Pc!tcr, Ann and Joseph. Second row, Louis, Car herini~ holding JOHN P ANNA DORNER
Albe fl. David. William and Henry seated in frant. 1877-1963 1885-1961
Married February 1904
Margaret-Joseph Ledvina
Wa lter Weas
Mathilda-Francis Rohrer
Laura- Jack Christman
George- 1908-23

John was the son o f Peter and Barbara Seidl and

lived in the Luxemburg area all his life. H e and
Anna lived in South Luxemburg where he repaired
shoes and did mason work. Son Raymond remained
single and operated the Linzmeier tavern at one
time. Peter moved from the Luxemburg area.

1885-1966 1889-1967
1849-1939 1851-1933 Madonna-Ernest Thibaudeau
Married Dorothy- Alfred Gallagher
Peter- Theresa Dorner
John P-Anna Dorner Henry and Barbara were married at St. Leo's
Lena-Nick Arendt Church, Pound , Wisconsin. They celebrated their
Helena-1880+ 50th Wedding Anniversary in 1965. Henry was born
Henry P-Barbara Donovan and raised in the town of Luxemburg. They operat-
Catheri ne-Fran k Nova k. Jr ed a farm in Section 16. Today Michael Zellner
Barbara (T) 1890-1896 owns most of the property.
Ann (T)-1890+ Barbara was born in Kewaunee and taught school
Joseph- in the Luxemburg area for many years.

Peter was one of our pion eer residents of the

town of Luxemburg. He was born in Pisek, Bohemia SEIDL
and grew to manhood there. He married Barbara in
Bohemia and they departed for America in 1876. WENZEL SR VERONIKA WENDEL
Arriving in September they came directly to the 1851-1940 1854-1899
Luxemburg a rea. Peter was a miller by trade and Married August 1877
followed that trade for 5 years in Bohemia. Here in Wenzel, Jr-
America he took up farming and purchased land Peter- Katherine Seidl
just west of the village. He served as the town trea- Aloysius- 1886+
surer for 10 years, assessor 14 years and supervisor john-
3 years. He also helped organize the South Luxem- Mary- Sister Cortilia
burg Creamery of which organization he was the Katherine-Sister Roberta
treasurer for 20 years. Peter was a member of Veronica-Sister Plantilla
Catholic Knights since its beginning and acted as Ann-Sister Bonita
secretary for 22 years. Peter and Barbara celebrated Barbara- Sister Evellia
their 60th Wedding Anniversary. 2nd wife EVA KLINE
Son Peter moved to Casco and john lived in 1849-1945
South Luxemburg. The homestead was turned over Albert Kline-Rose Horen
to Henry and Barbara who operated the farm until Bertha Klin e-Otto Schauer
they retired. Ralph Kline-WWI

In his youth, Wenzel served with the guard of the The family came to America in 1876 with Joseph's
Emperor Franz-Joseph of Austria . He was born and father john (his mother died in Bohemia). Clara was
grew to manhood in Austria. H e was a fine soldier the daughter of Casper and Anna Fleishman and
and h e was promoted to the Imperial Guard al the was also born in Austria where she helped her par-
Hapsburg Palace in Vienn a. At the age of 27 he ents operate an inn before she married Joseph in
came to America and settled in Luxemburg. Wenzel 1873.
operated a farm northeast of the village for many Alois Seidl, Jr now resides on the property.
years. The fa rm was later sold to Nick Miller. He
was treasurer of the township for almost 20 years foseph Sr. and C lara (Fleishman] Seidl
and spent his retirement years in a house in South
Luxemburg, now owned by Fabian Tebon. His fiv e
daughters from his first marriage all became nuns.

The Seidl siste rs. duughters of Wcncil S r. ond Vt?ronico (Wendel]

Seidl. Standing I. to R. Sr. Plonti/lo (Veronicu}. Sr. Corti/lo
{J\lory). Sr. Robe rto /Ka therine). Sealed L lo R. Sr. Evellia (Bor-
boru/ und Sr. Boniru (Ann). O rde r of S1. Francis.

1875-1935 1880-1967
Married 1904
Edward-Caroline Ashen brenner
Richard - Elvira Miller
Theodore-Velda Miesler
Lauretta-Donald Simons
Werner-Ethel Petrick
Clarence-Margaret Griese
Erma Nys
SEIDL Cletus- Alice Daul
Francis- Carol Skornicka
1849-1938 1847-1916 john married Carolin e the daughter of Nick and
Married 1873 Magdalene Salentine of rural Luxemburg. In 1924
john J- Carolin e Salentin e John sold his in terests in the Luxemburg Milling
Mary-Frank Treml Company, which he was associated with for 20
Joseph Tr-Barbara Linzmeier years, and purchased th e 160 acre farm from Louis
Andrew-Frances Steinhorst Daul. He also was a carpenter. After his death his
Anna-Peter Feil wife Caroline and so ns continued to operate the
Cla ra - Jacob Dorner farm. Caroline was awarded the Outstand ing Farm er
Karolina- Award in 1942.
Sons Edward. Theodore, Wern er and Clarence
Joseph was born in Dorrstadt, State of Pilsen, Bo- operated farms in Luxemburg Township. Richard
hemia/ Austria. Oorrstadt is now Mestiste in the worked 50 years for the Bank of Luxemburg. Cletus
county of Pilzen, Czechoslovakia. He was a cobbler, is engaged in carpenter work and built many homes
accountant, musician (organ, piano, violin), carpen- in Luxemburg area . Francis operates an electrica l
ter, insurance ma n, clockfixer and farmer . He used contracting business.
to walk to Tisch Mills to sell insurance. Joseph was The homestead is today operated by Clarence
also town supe rvisor in 1892. Seidl and his sons.

1.880-'l953 1892-1974 1851-1893 1851.-1928
Married June 1915 Married 1874
Alois-Betty Janet Charles R-Louise Joerger
Sylvester-Viola Paplham Katherine-Louis Rank
Norbert-Judith Worachek Joseph R-Theresa Spitzer
Charles-Mabel Fictum Henry-Barbara Rank
George Sr-Julia Rueck!
Joseph married Barbara the daughter of Carl and Mary-
Mary Linzmeier. They operated one half of the
homestead owned by Joseph's father. After retiring The Seidl family came from Austria in 1873. They
they turned their farm over to son Alois. A grandson pu rch ased land near Luxemburg in Section 21
Alo is and wife Lois live on that property now. where they ran a farm. The farm was later sold to
Desire Theys. Sons Joseph and Henry moved from

1882-1950 1888-1969
1878-1951 1889-1967
Married June 1916
Married 1916
Eleanor-Ernest Blahnik
Fritz-Margaret Rueck!
And rew-+infan t
Charles, Sr. was born in the town of Luxemburg
Andrew was born in the town of Luxemburg and
the son of Jacob and Anna Seidl. He became a ru-
married Frances at Kewaunee. He operated one half
ral mail carrier in 1904 and retired in 1935. He was
of the homestead which his father owned. The farm
also a cheesemaker in Luxemburg, Angelica and
was sold to his daughter and son-in-law, the present
Sherry. Charles also played with the Stahl band and
viJlage bands for many years.
Charles and Louise purchased the John Fameree
home at 512 Colle St., where they lived for many
SEIDL years.


1850-1913 1856-1922
Manied May 1882
Charles R. Seidl. Sr.
Peter F-
Katherine-Peter W Seidl
Henry F-Frances Oberhofer

The Seidl family came to America about 1866 and

settled in Section 32. Frank and Mary were married
at St. Mary's Catholic Church. Over the years the SEIDL
size of the fa rm increased, and when he retired the
land was divided among his sons. Peter owned a GEORGE SR JULIA RUECKL
farm across the road which he sold to Joe Treml. 1882-1957 1882-1979
Charles moved to Sherwood, Frank to Milwaukee Married 1907
and Joseph moved to Medford. The youngest son Eleanore- Emmett Phillips
Henry operated the homestead. The farm is operat- Leo-Ann Dorner
ed at the present time by Harold Seidl and wife Ann-George Meert
Muriel. Henry Vanderlooµ

George-Geraldine Marchant SELL
Leonard-Dorothy Krause
Marion-Edwin Hewitt HENRY ANNA HAFEMAN
George was born and raised on a farm near Lux- 1888-1975 1886-1954
emburg. He married Julia the daughter of George Sr Married 1909
and Mary Rueck! also of Luxemburg. George and Roy-Madeline LeCloux
Julia lived in Green Bay for a short time before he Elmer-Mayme Hruska
started work at the Luxemburg Implement Com- Lester-Leora Mueller
pany, where he worked until he retired. Sons Leo Elmyra-Elmer Baumann
and George were associated with the business. Myrtle-Kenneth Euers
George Jr also operated a gas station on the corner William-Corinne Prokash
of Main and Maple Streets. Leonard is owner of Edward-Caroline Bates
Len Seidl Really, Inc of Green Bay. Jo Ann-jay Painter
Marvin-Marion Guth
Henry was the son of Charles and Ricky (Radue)
FRIEDRICH FRIDERIKA RADUE Sell and was born in Rio Creek. He farmed in Rio
1826-1896 1834-1919 Creek and then purchased a tavern in Section 3
Married 1885 from Henry Demeuse called "Frog Station." He op-
Julius-Emilie Hafeman erated the business for many years eventually sell-
john-Wilhemina Kroening ing it to Eli Cravillion. The Sell boys were avid
Mary-Ferdinand Duescher baseball players.
Charles-Anna Zuege
Alvina-William Sell
The Sell family came from Germany in 1860 and
settled in Section 24 where they purchased 40 acres SELL
of land. Another 40 acres was bought in Section 13.
The farm was turned over to son Charles who ran it LOUIS VIOLA KUESTER
for a few years, selling it to the Colle family when 1900-1969 1899-1973
he moved to Green Valley in 1915. Married November 1925
Betty-John Christofferson
Anita-Joe Duchateau
Donald-Mary Eisenman
Louis was the son of August and Anna Sell and
*CHARLES RICKY RADUE was raised in this area. Viola was born al Casco,
1860-1941 1865-1919 taught Sunday school at St. John's for 25 years and
Married 1885 was a member of the Ladies Aid .
Ida-Albert Meintz Louis worked for the Meisler garage for many
Heniy-Anna Hafeman years before purchasing a garage from a Mr. Ander-
Walter-Mary Bank son on Main Street. Louis ran that garage until his
Arthur- Emma Gaulke son Donald took over. The business was later sold
Viola-William Kirchman to john Christofferson.
Anna Louise-1890-1903
Charles was born at Gross-Benz, Germany and
came to America at the age of 12. Charles and SELL
Ricky farmed for a few years and later bought a
general store which was operated by Charles and *AUGUST ANNA MARIE HAFEMAN
friend Albert Liebl. They sold groceries, gent's fur- 1867-1941 1870-1933
nishings, shoes, dress goods, hardware, furnaces, oils Married September 1889
and paints, under the name of Sell-Liebl Store. Emma-William Miesler
Charles was elected President of the village in Peter Alsteen
1911 and resigned in fall of 1912 when he sold the Meta-1893-1917
store and moved to Rio Creek. He was a director of Clara-John J Peot
the Kewaunee County Fair for many years. Louis-Viola Kuester

August was born at Pommern, Germany and at john was the son of Martin and Christine (Pre-
the age of six came with his parents to America vost) Simonar, natives of Ceroux-Mousty, Belgium.
where the family settled on a farm in the town of They came to America with their parents Pierre and
Casco [now Luxemburg). He married Anna at St. Marie Simonart in 1855 on the ship Henry Reed
Paul's Lutheran Church in the town of Montpelier. and settled near Bay Settlement. [The "T" was
They operated a farm for many years and moved to dropped after they came to America.)
the village in 1909. August was a lso a carpenter. John and Ursulla were married at Holy Cross
The farm is today owned by Verne DePas. Church. She is of the seventh generation of the
Pierre Maufort family of Belgium. and the daughter of
Gabriel and Mary. After their marriage they lived in
SIEGMUND Green Bay before buying one ac re of land at
Neuren to build a blacksmith shop for the price of
JOHN LYDIA HAFEMAN $300. Here is where their four children were raised.
1865-1900 1872-1948 In 1931 John Jr purchased land in Section 28 of
Married 1.893 the town of Luxemburg, and proceeded to follow in
Walter-Alma Hanamann his father's footsteps. The building on the property
George-Elsie Hanamann had been built by Charlie Kollross and operated by
Clara-George Sell him until his death. A new building was erected in
Margaret-Henry Kudick 1937.
John was the son of Albert Siegmund and of Ger- The garage was run by John until his death in
man descent. They operated a farm in Section 24 1955, when his sons Gerald and Richard took over.
which was turned over to their son George. After Today the business has expanded and is operated
the death of John, Lydia married Herman Lohrey. with the help of a younger brother, Leroy.
Son Walter served in WWI, was wounded at Ar- Ursullu uncl /ohn Simonar
gonne Forest and discharged at Camp Dodge Jan-
uary of 1919. Walter later moved away from Luxem-

1896- 1897-
Married October 1920
Harriet-Arnold Malvitz
Pearl-Art Friex
Earl-Dolores Haasch
Donalcl- Lavern DuBois
Dorothy-Ervine DeGrave 1859-1939 1861-1931
June-Gordon Prahl Married August 1881
George is the son of John and Lydia Siegmund. Eli- Mary Hartinger
He operates the farm in Section 24 which his grand- Lena- Eli Bouchonville
father purchased many years ago, with the help of Louis-Joanne Dupont
his daughter Harriet and son Willard. Alex-Elizabeth DeMuth
Ann Dantinne
Rose- W H Willman
SIMONAR Raymond-
Anna- John Bodart
JOHN G URSULLA MAUFORT Lucille-Henry Henquint
1870-1948 1870-1939 Louise-)os Bertrand
Married 1894 Henry-Rose Routhieux
John G-Irene Martin
Lawrence- Leah Hannon Hector and son Alex ran a tavern in 1909 on
Emily-Raymond Rueck! Main Street that today is owned by Len Burdick.
Harry J-Hazel Beaurain The family moved back to Dyckesville in 1913.

About 1927 Alex moved back to Luxemburg and SPITZER
operated the saloon which had been owned by
Theodore Loose. (Today Outsiders Inn). After a few FRANK FRANCES PANKRATZ
years Alex again left Luxemburg to. pursue other 1866-1950 1874-1963
busin ess interests. Married October 1892
About 1948 he returned to operate the old Spitze r Frances-John Reinke
saloon . He and his wife ran the establishment for Marie Kosnar-Edgar Liebl
about 12 years. They then moved to Green Bay to
spend their retirement years in leisure. Frances was born in Eisenstein, Bavaria and came
to Luxemburg with her parents when she was only
7 years old. After their marriage Frank and Frances
farmed the Spitzer homestead in Section 27. They
celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary in
SMETANA 1942. Frank's parents were among the first settlers
in this area. The homestead today is under the own-
FRANK AL VARINA ership of Jim Salentine.
1819-1885 Frank and Frances raised Marie, the daughter of
Wenzel- Frank and Anna Kosna r, whose parents were de-
Charles-Mary Znenahlik ceased.
Mary-Frank Neuzel
Frank-Antonia Jopirala
The family came from Bohemia and settled in
Scarboro area in 1866. They lived on the hill next to AUGUST JANE GASSNER
Pravachek's, some of the buildings are still standing. 1872-1953 1872-1933
The property was later sold to Joe Hrabik. Married May 1895
No Children

August was one of the original signers of the

charter of Luxemburg Bank and one of the organ-
SPITZER izers and promoters of the Kewaunee County Fair.
He also served as president of the fair association
JOHANN MARIE PLECHINGER and was president of Luxemburg Manu facturing for
1828-1911 1831-1918 25 years. He started an apple orchard in South Lu.x-
Married emburg, owned today by Jim and Jean Theys. Au-
John - Mary Martin gust and Jane raised a neice, Laura Spitzer after
Joseph- Mary [Martin) Spitzer parents died. He was an insurance man. cattle buy-
Peter- Katherine Steuber er and real estate man.
Frank- Frances Pankratz
Lena- john Kramer
August-Jane Gassner
William- 1882-1929 1885-1936
Married November 1904
Johann was an immigrant from Germany and set- Melinda-Frank Mazanatz
tled in Section 27 where he purchased 80 acres of Magdalena-John Kremer
land. Sons John and Joseph moved to Michigan, Pe- Englebert-+1855
ter to Casco and Frank purchased land on the other Joseph-Bertha Lavrenz
end of Section 27 where he farmed. August had a
small parcel of land across from his father's farm Jacob was employed by the local soft drink manu-
where he started an apple orchard. August and his facturing plant and peddled its product throughout
wife had no children . After he d ied the estate was the area. The fam ily departed for Green Bay in the
sold to James and Jean Theys. early 1900's.

1839-1895 1848-1911 1846-1896 1859-1929
Married 1862 Married
Anna-1875-1892 Camille-Alice Nellis
Nick-Anna Ley Mayme- John Nellis
Mary- Laura-Michael Rueck)
Lena- ANTON HENQUINET 2nd Husband
Barbara- Gus Daniels Married 1900
Jacob and Maria farm ed near Luxemburg. From a
period of 1879 to 1884 approximately seven of their The Stage family c a m e to Luxemburg from
children died. They are buried in St. Mary's Ceme- Dyckesville. Victoria lived with her son Camille
tery in Luxemburg. when he ran the Wisconsin House.
Son Nick ran the Spitzer saloon, hotel, dance hall
and livery stable in South Luxemburg. He was also
the local real estate agent.
NICK J ANNA LEY 1881-193'1 1872-1959
-1945 1882-1933 Married 1901
Married October 1901 Joseph-Adeline Dumke
Arvilla-Norman Bateman
Don Fleming Camille was about 24 years old when he moved
Rose-Paul Heinz to Luxemburg to run the Wisconsin House. He oper-
Coletta-John Bance! ated the business until 1917 when he sold the hotel-
Mabel-Harry Barnhart tavern to Felix Bonjean of Walhain. A year later he
Cletus-Margaret Berger started work in the Bank of Luxemburg and was as-
Clarence-LaVerne Gagnon sistant cashier in 1920.
Anna was born and raised in Luxemburg, the Camille purchased a house on the corner of Main
daughter of Michael and An na Ley. Nick was also and Maple Streets which is owned by Mrs. E I
born in Luxemburg and operated a tavern, hotel Dewane at the present time.
dance hall and livery stable. It was his custom to
meet all incoming trains Lo see if anyone was in
need of a warm meal or a place to stay. He was
also the local real estate agent.

Nie Spitzer fa mily: Wife. Annie Ley. children: Arvilla, Collella.

Hose. Mabel, Clarence and Cle tus.
Comille Srage

1845-1893 1853-1901
Jacob-Rosina (Linzmeier) Oberhofer
Rudolph-Margaret Schaetz

Catherine-Paul Arendt township and one of the h igh est taxpayers.
Albertina-George Kohlbeck Sons Michael and George today share parts of the
Francis- +youth origina l farm. Mike and his son Glen own most of
Francis- Ole Evenson their land in Section 31, wh ile George's farm is lo-
Julian a- John Kinnard cated in Section 30 and 19.
Joseph- +1889
Aloysuis- 1890-93
Anna- '1892-94 STAHL BAND
Bernard/Ben-Ruth Yates
In Germany the band was known as the Rueck)
The Stahl family came from Austria and settled in Band and was organized in America by Alois who
Section 30. After years of hard work clearing and wrote the music for all the instruments. Some of the
cultivating the land Alois turned the farm over to original band members were George Rueck!, Louis
his son Jacob. Rueckl, and Frank Rueckl.
Alois. or Louis as h e was ca lled, was an accom- As early as age eight, Ben, Jake and Rudolph
plished musician and played in the Stahl Band. His Stahl bega n to play in the band. Joseph and Edward
sons Rudolph, Jacob and Ben were also membe rs Linzmeier, two of Alois' grandsons, played at such
and Lawrence Kohlbeck was the band leader. an early age people doubted that any sound was
really coming forth from their instruments. Alois
was a strict teacher and n ever a llowed a mistake to
go undetected and not corrected.
Daughter Julia married John Kinnard who p layed
with the Rosiere band and later joined the Stahl or-
ganization. The band played for many occasions un-
Alois S1ohl Dond leader til Alois died in 1915.

S1ahl Bross Bond Bock L lo fl Hudo/ph Stohl. Alfred Rueck /.

George Rueck/ ,..ron r. Joe Linzmeie r. Frnnk Ricki. Alois Sroh /.
Cho r/cs Seidl und P.d Linzmeier

187 -1943 1872-1946
Joseph- 1896-72
j acob- '1898-48
Mary- Theodore Balentin e
Raymond - Irene Streb el
Clara - 1903
Michael - Mayme Wavrun ek
Dorothy- George Beirl
Mildred - Joseph Gisler
George-Francis Nejedlo
Libori a- 1914+
Edmund - 1916+
Rozin a's child of first marriage STUEBS
Anna - John Balentine
Jacob was the son of Alois and Catherine Stahl. 1883-1950
born in Hammern Austria and at the age o f 6 Married December 1922
months ca me to America with his paren ts. He mar- Leona- Robert Schunke
ried Rosina and operated the home farm. At on e Mildred-Ed Dod en
time he was one of the largest land owners in the Arno- Phyllis Bero

Louis lived in a house located on the curve before In 1936 Desire purchased the 40-acre farm of Jo-
Scarboro. He worked for Or. Minahan in the maple seph Kelnhofer, located 1/4 mile west of St. Mary's
syrup camp for 39 years. The house is occupied by church. He then sold the land to Harold Johnson in
the Eddie Muellers today. Their son Arno ran a tav - 1942.
ern in Luxemburg ca lled the "Lucky 13" until his
death in 1962.
1908-1980 1909-
Married May 1938 James-Jean Allard
Lary-Janice Hendricks Jeanne-Mark Lerner

Joseph was born in the town of Lincoln to John Albert was the son of Desire Theys, he married
and Mary Svoboda and married Catherine at St. Esther the daughter )oseph and Julia Janet. He pur-
Mary's Catholic Church, Luxemburg. chased the Miller Brothers orchard located just
H e was a graduate of the University of Wisconsin, north of the village limits before Luxemburg started
a teacher and principal for 30 years. The schools he growing. When conditions became too crowded he
served were Pilsen graded. Abrams Elementary, purchased land on Highway 54 from Loberger's and
Pleasant Valley, Cedarburg, and St. Mary's School. planted an apple orchard. Shortly after Jim marl'ied
He worked in the shipyards in Sturgeon Bay during he purchased the old August Spitzer orchard in
WW II. He was better known to his friends as South Luxemburg. The two orchards were combined
"Bud.'' His son Lary is now serving this area in Ma- into one operation. Since the death of Bert, Jim and
dison as our representative from the 8th district. his family run both orchards.
In 1971 the farm they lived on was honored as a
century farm. The land was first purchased from
Lorenz Daul in 1867. Maximilian Daul took title THEYS
from his cousin Lorenz. After Max died his son Wil-
liam (Catherine's father) acquired the farm. Wil- *FELIX FANNIE GERARD
li am's son Lawrence followed ownership and 1876-1923 1882-1957
farmed until 1969. Joe Svoboda purchased the land Married
in 1971. Abraham- Adela Vandervest
Mary-Emil Vandervest
John-Laura Jadin
THEYS Julia-john Vaness
Martin- Laura Vincent
1873-1944 1876-1949 Emma-Peter Zellner
Married October 1896 Anna- Emmanuel Wery
Jennie-Ed Bourgiugon Octavia- Peter Kollross
Albert-Esther Jonet )enn ie-+youth
Felix Theys owned land in Section 18 and added
Theresa was born at Duvall and raised on a farm to the acreage by purchasing the Monj ean farm in
near Luxemburg. Desire and Theresa farmed in Sec- 1916. He farmed here for many years eventually
tion 18 until 1920 when he retired and sold the selling the property to Clarence Zellner who owns
property to Louis Friex. H e purchased a house in the land today.
the village that Frank Santroch had built on the cor-
ner of Maple and First Streets.
In 1916 Desire had an accident, he had an acety- THEYS
lene plant on his premises and the tank connected
with the lighting system had become frozen. When ABRAHAM ADELA VANDERVEST
he started to thaw out the pipe with a red hot iron, 1902-1962 1806-
the heated iron got through the tank and the gas Married 1922
that had formed exploded. As a result he suffered Dora-Edwin Wery
several broken ribs, and his right arm had to be am- Marie- Raymond Jeanquart
putated. Laura-

Agn es- Lawrence Berger Simon was born in Three Rivers District, Province
Edward- Ethereda Leroy of Quebec, Canada, the son of Alexander Thibau-
Raymond-Jean Derenne deau. Simon received a very limited education, as in
Clem- MaryAnn Tebon that part of the country there were no regular
Angeline- Alden Leroy schools. The farmers would get together and rent a
Joseph - Sylvia Paye room in some commodius house, hire a teacher, and
Ceci lia- Willard Naze in such a way Simon received 8 months tuition.
Haro'ld - Shirley Bouche Aft er his father's death h e conducted the farm and
Francis- Patricia Vlies lea rned the trade of shoemaking. He followed that
Dawn Poet trade for 11 years, until 1851, when he emigrated to
Abraha m Jr-Katherine Cartwright America, residing for a time in Chicago before com-
ing to Two Rivers, and found a livelihood fish ing.
Abraham Sr was the son of Felix and Fannie In 1856 he came to Kewaun ee County and pur-
Theys and was born near Walhain. He purchased chased 160 acres of p rimeva I for est i n which
land in Section 11 where h e ran a small farm and roamed bears and wolves. Simon had many en-
butchering business. Today his son Edward and counters with fierc e and hungry animals. At one
fami ly operate the slaughter h ouse and meat cutting time he was chased three miles by five ravenous
busin ess. wolves, who would have made short work of him
had they succeeded in running him down. In the
course of time he established a lumber camp, erect-
THEYS ed a log building and gave employment to about 30
MARTIN LAU RA VINCENT From time to time he added to his original pur-
Married chase until he owned 320 acres. 200 of which were
Rose- Ronald Ropson cleared and under cultivation.
Verna - Glen Hallet T he farm was passed down to his sons with Jo-
Cathy- John Jacobs seph remain ing on the homestead, in Section 24-25.
Lucy- Ken Greening The land was sold by Joseph to George Treml who
Rita- Rona ld Moens operates the farm today.

Martin is the son of Felix and Fannie Theys and Simon und A dele Thibaudeau
was raised in the Luxemburg area. They own land
in Section 7 wh ere they operate a farm with the
help of the family .

1829-1895 1842-1916
Married 1857
Ralph- Adele Trudell
Simon - An na VanRite
Mary-Richard Schinnick
Oswald-Anna Porkorny THIBAUDEAU
Joseph- 1867+
Emi'l- Minnie Leaps 1876-1949 1881-1969
Theophile-1872-95 Married October 1901
Joseph R.-Theresa Pankratz Gerlad-Evelyn Stepan ek
Albina-Joseph Peat Clara Heinman
Nick H eiser Milton-Margaret Dorner
Ella-1878+ Ernest-Madonna Seidl
Albert- 1881-92 Claud e-Mary Ann Defn et
Angeline- Octive Ringer Verna-Herbert Heim
Leo- Marie Leaps Viola-Ralph Hanrahan

Joseph was born, raised, and died on the home- John-Clothilda Rueckl
stead purchased by his father. H e was known as a Mary-George Huber
breeder of fin e Holstein cattle and received special Michael- 1902-09
recognition in 1943 from Luxemburg Future Farmers 2nd wife VERONICA HORN
of America. He was a charter member of St. Mary's Marr 1911 1875-1946
Court, Catholic Ord er of Foresters. Theresa was Frank was born in Neuren, Bohemia/Austria and
born in the town of Luxemburg, the daughter of Jo- came to Am erica in the 1870's. Franks son and
seph Pankratz's. daughter worked for Bach-Kieweg store. Son John
Son Gerald worked for Meisler-Krueger Garage as had a son that became a priest, Fr Jerome Trem l, at
a mechanic and lived most of his life in the Scar- St. Norberts College, DePere. He later served as
boro a rea . Milton purchased Dr. Minaha n's Maple Abbott of the Norbertine Order.
Syrup Camp and sold insurance. Ernest helped out
on the farm and worked at the Farmers Trading
Company for many years.
/oseph H. Thibaudeau wed Theresa Pankral;(
Married May 1912
Aloysius- Rita Cravillion
Marie- Matt Wachal
Mar. Nov 1921 1894-1976
Joseph W-
Joseph was the son of Charles Treml who came
from Austria in 1869. Joseph and Mary owned land
in Section 29, which had belonged to his fathe r. The
land had been split between Joseph's father Charles
and his uncle Joseph, each getting 40 acres. In 1927
Joseph purchased the Englebert Treml farm. Today
his son Joseph W owns the farm, a single man.

1850-1931 1848-1911
Maria- Charles Linzmeier 1881-1948 -1959
Rosina-Joseph Karl Married July '1911
Alois/Louis-Catherine Rank George-Mary Shefchik
Joseph-Maria Sperry Anna-Frank Stodola
Englebert-Margaret Kelnhofer Gertrude-Dan Arendt
Joseph was born in Austria and came to America Dorothy-Joseph F Stodola
at age 19, settling in Pittsburgh area for two years. Martha-Harold Karnopp
When he came to Luxemburg township he pur- Leo- Regina Fiala
chased a farm in section 20, where he farmed until Edmund-Virginia Kaskabar
he retired. The property was passed down to his son Leonard- Beatrice Ratajczak
Englebert. Margaret- Louis Theys
Son Louis moved to Casco and Joseph to the state Anton-June Eckstien
of Alaska . Robert-Jun e Kaye
Englebert was the son of Joseph and Veronica
Treml and was born in the town of Luxemburg,
TREML where he lived all his life. He sold the homestead
and purchased the Herman Dax farm. He later
FRANK MARY SEIDL bought the Bunker, Novak, Marsicek and Koskubar
1870-1941 1878-1903 farms for his sons. (Marsicek and Kosku bar farms in
Married 1897 Casco township).

George owns the old Thibaudeau homestead in One year later, when sh e was pregnant, Alex left
Sections 24 and 25. Leo operates a farm n ear Scar- h er and en listed for 3 years service. She lived a lone
boro which was own ed by Phillip Bunker. Edmund in the woods and trapped or shot th e foxes that
moved to Casco town s hip. Leon a rd w orks for were killing her chickens. While Alex was at war
Kewaun ee Engineering and lives in South Luxem- her first child was born and d ied .
burg. Son Anton operates the former Dax home- When he came back, it was not as a conquering
stead, and Robert is th e owner of a farm in West h ero but as a sick disabl ed veteran of crowded
Kewaun ee. army camps and poisoned food. She took him in
and nursed him back to hea lth . For the next forty
years they worked together operating lumber and
TRUDELL grist mills, including boarding wood and mill crews.
During this time they raised an d educated a fa mily
FRANK ADELE of four and accumulated substan tial wealth for that
1817- 1817-1877 day.
Ma rried Family legend states that Alexander was almost a
Francis- mathematical genius with respect to figuring lumber.
Alexander- Elizabeth Larkin H e could walk through a woods and tell you within
Joseph- 1844-1894 a very small margin of error how many board feet
Mary- of lumber could be cut from that stand of timber.
Louis- H e h ad no formal educati on and could neither read
William- or write. Elizabeth must h ave kept the business re-
Charles- cords and managed that end of the business.
Wilson- In the early years of their marriage she pierced a
Adelin e- vein in her left ankle while walking across a field.
The Trudell family came from Manitowoc Rapids It became infected and never healed, so that she
in 1850 a nd from Quebec. Canad a. The Trudells ori- became lame and walked with a cane for the rest of
ginated in Canada in 1645. Family legend states that h er life. In her later years Elizabeth became quite a
there were 9 boys and 2 girls. Adele is buried in the scold.
Algoma cemetery and Frank in the Little French During the late 1800's or ea rly 1900's their old est
Cemetery. son Frank lost his wife leaving him with a 9 month
The T rudell home in Scarboro was a fin e home old d a ughte r. Alexa nder a nd Eliza beth took th e
with a stone w all fronting the property. (Herman child to raise. About that time Alexander converted
Heurkens owns the property today). all his assets to cash, set up his sons in business,
and his sons-in-law on farms, built Elizabeth a new
house in Casco and left for parts unknow n. Being
TRUDELL unable to write the family did not hear from him
until fin ally they checked with the pension bureau
ALEXANDER ELIZABETH LARKIN and found he had died in Medford, Oregon in 1922.
Married August 1861
Adela ide- Ralph Thibodeau
f ran k-Lena Peot
Albertina Daul
George-Delia Bunker ULLMAN
Eli zabeth's mother died when she was young and F ERDINAND JOHANNA SPREEMAN
she had a step-mother only a few years older than 1816-1899 1823-1915
herse lf. She was limited to either an Irishman or a Married
Frenchm an if she wanted to marry in her Catholic Fred-Mathilda Hardke
religion. She met a good-looking young frenchman Gustave-Marie Spreeman
who was making his living as a shingle maker, and
he talked her in to eloping, or maybe sh e talked him T he Ullman came from Germany about 1870 and
into it. It seems the Trudell fa mily d id not favor the settled in the town of Mon tpelier before purchasing
marriage for the young cou ple walked to Green Bay the Ney fa rm in Section 22. The land was turned
to be married when there were priests in the area over to son Fred. Gustave the other son purchased
that could marry them . land in Montpelier township.

ULLMAN Elmer and wife Ruth. George Salentine sold 97
acres to Elmer in 1967 which brought the total
FRED MATHILDA HARDKE acreage to 217 acres. The house, which is well over
1846-1925 1858-1937 100 years old is still in use today. The Ullman fam-
Married August 1875 ily had a fire in 1952 which destroyed the barn, it
Herman- has since been rebuilt.
Louise-Fred Jaubert
Mathilda-Louis Gruetzmacher V ANDEN HOUTEN
Minnie- 1841-1922 1845-1925
Louis Pilgrim Married
Huilda-Art Jerovetz Joseph-Annie
Edward-Jeanette Pitner Eli-
Minnie, Christiana and Frank-
Mathilda + youths Eugene-Odile Dart
Fred was 23 when his parents came to America. Louis-Desire Dart
In 1906 they purchased the Ney farm which was Benjamin-Adele Jadin
passed down to Fred and Mathilda, who worked George-
and cultivated the land until they retired. The next John was the son of William VandenHouten who
owner of the farm was his son Edward and wife came from Brabant province of Belgium. Victorine
Jeanette. Ed later purchased the Lavrenz farm was born at Namur, Belgium. They settled in Sec-
across the road. He has since retired and turned the tion 5 where John purchased 180 acres of land. The
property over to his son Clifford. farm was later divided amoung his sons.
Son Louis was town trnasurer for 9 years and 20
years as assessor. For 35 years he was director of
ULLMAN Tonet Cheese Factory and also ran a farm. Sons, Jo-
seph, Eli, Ben and Frank all operated farms in Sec-
1848-1929 1852-1931
August-Emma Radtke
Lena-Albert Pavlik 1890-1953 1890-1983
Otto-Ida Pilgrim Married 1913
Henry-Emma Vivian-Elmer Vandrisse
Minnie-Albert Grundenus Felix was the son of Zacharie and Louise Vande-
Wilhelm/William owned 40 acres of land in Sec- veld, he was born in the town of Red River, and
tion 26 purchased from Alex Trudell in 1877. After operated the tavern now owned by Len Burdick. He
spending many years cultivating the land William worked for the Luxemburg Manufacturing Company
turned the operation over to his son Otto. for 18 years and also ran the American house for a
few years. Louise lives in a house in the village and
still manages to do her own housework.
1886-1956 1890-1958 FRANK CEIL FRIEX
Married June 1912 Married 1926
Arlene- Gordon Huff No Children
Elmer-Ruth Dahlke Frank was the son of Felix and Mary (Bredael)
Renata-Orville Luedtke Vandeveld of the town of Red River. He purchased
Arvilla-Maynard Jensen a tavern in Walhain and operated the business for
Otto was a lifelong resident of this area and many years. After Frank died his wife ran the tav-
farmed the homestead after his marriage to Ida. He ern a few years selling it to Carol Conard. She ran
took title to the land in 1917 and added 40 acres in the business before the tavern and dance hall
1937. The farm was then passed down to their son burned in 1980.

Vandrisse Family L ro R. buck row-Eli. Zelia. Sylvan. Frozie.
VANDRISSE Jule. A nn, George. Seat ed-William. Ida, Mory, Edward. Joseph.
Sr.. Felix. Margaret und Joseph
1885-1935 1891-1967
Married September 1909
No Children

Sylvan was the son of Joseph and Mary Vandrisse

of Lincoln Township. He came to Luxemburg in
1905 and was associated in busin ess with Fameree &
Vandrisse. He was alone in business for the next 12
years (1907-1919) and sold the lumber yard to the
Luxemburg Manufacturing Company. He remained
an employee of the company until his death.
Sylvan owned a house on Elm Street near the fair
grounds, which is occupied today by Lloyd Wink.

1892- 1893-1963
Ma rried 1877 VANOUSE
Elmer- Vivian Vandeveld
Vivian -Clarence Bultman FRANK MARGRETTA RENIER
Norman- Beverly Brice 1825- 1830-
Mariella-1927-1941 Married
George was the son of Joseph and Mary Van- Mathilda-
d risse who came from Germany in 1869. In 1933 Peter-Alfozine Bastian
George purchased the Jacob J Dorner farm in Sec- Anna-
tion 32 where he and Elizabeth farmed for many Margaret-Henry Brager
years before retiring to a home in South Luxemburg.
The land is today under the ownership of Roman Peter came from Canada and lived in Scarboro
Dorner. where he was a prosperous farmer. He married Al-
fonzine at St. Mary's Ca tholic Church, Luxemburg
in 1892. Besides farming, Peter also worked in a
VANDRISSE saw mill at Scarboro for 15 years. They had no chil-
dren but brought up their nephew, Elmer Bastian.
*FELIX SR ROSE DAX In 1917, they celebrated their 25th wedding anniver-
'1894-1959 sary.
Married August 1913
Grace-) Hruska Peter Vunouse hom e iusr outside of Scarboro.
Fe lix Sr. began work with the old Luxemburg
Grain Company in 1919 and 7 years later entered
the employ of the Luxemburg Manufacturing Com-
pany, where he became assistant manager for 22
years. and general man ager for a year. He also
served on the board of directors for a quarter of a
His son Felix received his Batchelor of Arts De-
gree in St. Norberts in 1935 and then entered the
Seminary. Rev VanDrisse w as ordained June 9,
1939. He was the first young man from St. Mary's to
enter the priesthood.

VEESER Evelyn-George Tucker
Leo Lizott
1872-1949 1888-1918 Florence-Antone Smits
Married Cain Buell
Quentin-Myrtle Hendricks
Leo-Harriet Roznoski Charles operated the home farm after his father
Donna Lahner retired, until 1922 when he moved to Green Bay.
Gerald-1916+ Charles Zuege purchased the property containing
114 acres.
Henry was born at Slovan and married Anna the Ellsworrh und Leo Vorpohl
daughter of Martin and Rose Kumbera. He managed
the tavern fo r his father in law and later purchased
100 acres of land in Section 31, Town of Luxem-
In 1940 Henry purchased a concrete block ma-
chine. set up at the Casco Gravel Company at Casco
Junction. He made rock face and plain building
blocks. The farm is owned today by Mike and
Glenn Stahl.

1828-1916 1849-1934 FRANK MARY ROUTHIEUX
Married April 1858 1869-1954 1875-:1951
Malvina-James Gregory Married 1895
Fred-Laura Wiener Roy-Linda Belisle
Bertha-1866-76 Walter-
Charles- Frances Kosnar james-Bernice Couvillion
Frank-Mary Routhieux Viola-John Kostrova
Louise-George Schwedler Francis Harley
Julius- Augusta- Carl Behringer
John-Nellie Ripley
Augusta-John Lubenski Frank owned a farm in Section 10, 40 acres. He
worked the land for a few years and sold the fa rm
Fred purchased 160 acres of land in Section 15, in in 1913. At the present time Michael Balza owns the
1856, from the government. He cleared the land and land.
cultivated the fi elds for many years before his son
Charles became the owner. Son Frank own ed land WAHL
in the next section.
VORPAHL 1791- 1788-
Married 1815
1867-1962 1873-1939 Michael-1821-99
Married 1891 Bernhardt-Anna Haen
Arthur-1892-1937 Magdalena-George Schauer
Elsworth-Aure lia Mueller Otilla-Nicholaus Zenz
Hattie- Earl Ross Nickolaus-1823
Ed Mazearz Catherine-1825+
Leo-Rose Daul
Esther-William Prue The Wahl family came from Niederfeulen, Lux-
Edna-James Johnson embourg on the ship Fanny. They purchased 160
Earl-[T) 1906+ acres of land from the government in 1855. The
Hortense-(T) 1906+ land was later divided between Michael and Bern-

hardt. The buildings on Bernhardt's farm can no Frieda- Matt Meier
longer be seen and the farm is now owned by Bern- Regina- Robert Voissem
hard Haen. George-Sophie VanLaanen
Hilaria-Joseph Kadletz
WAHL Verona-John Dupont, Sr
Hildegarde- Melvin Denis
1828-191:1 1838-1913 Donald-Lois VanLaanen
Married Cletus- Mary Yatso
Michael-Anna Peot
After their marriage they settled on the Wein-
Helena-Frank Gallenberger furter homestead and farmed until their retirement
in 1941 when their son George, Jr took over the
Bernard-1870-71 land.
Nicholas- Katherine Peot George and Anna were lifelong residents of the
Barbara- town of Luxemburg and observed their Golden
Bernhard - Augusta Griese Wedding Anniversary in 1954.
When George Jr retired he sold the land to Joseph
Anna-Jacob Heilman
Bernhardt married Anna the daughter of Michael
and Mary [Wenner) Haen, who originally came WEINFURTER
from Prussia and lived in Pennsylvania for 10 years
before she and her husband came to this area. They JOSEPH B MARY LINZMEIER
cleared the land and tilled it until their sons were 1880-1932 1884-1952
able to take over. The farm was eventually passed Married 1906
down to son Nicholas who operated the farm for a Florence-
few years turning ownership over to William Belter. Rose-
(Today Milton Salentine farm.) Helen-Sister Helena
Joseph-Betty Stanton
Joseph became a mailman in Luxemburg and
JOSEPH CAROLINE STAHL served route 6 for many years. Mary served as post-
1845-1924 1847-1936 mistress in 1914. When Joe retired he purchased the
Married April 1874 Kaut house and lived there for a few years before
George F- Anna Rueck] moving to Milwaukee in 1930. He was auditor of
Anna-Albert Liebl the town for 42 years and served as treasurer and
Caroline-Charles Schauer town supervisor.
Joseph- Mary Linzmeier
Regina- William Carmody WEININGER
Frances-+3 years 1874-1958 '1873-1932
Married February 1898
Joseph and Caroline were born in Hammern, Joseph-Regina Hendricks
Austria. They were married at St. Mary's Catholic Alfred-
Church. Joseph purchased land in Section 29 where Mary-Melchoir Heim
he cleared a few acres at a time for planting crops. Albertina- 1900+
When Jose ph and Caroline retired the farm was Regina-1903+
passed down to their son George. Albert J-1905 +

WEINFURTER The Weininger's came from Austria and pur-

chased a farm in Section 31. Joseph married Ther-
GEORGE ANNA RUECKL esa, daughter of Martin Cherneys who lived on the
1876-1958 1882-1959 next farm. Joseph Jr was the next owner of the
Married February 1904 homestead and Alfred had a farm which formerly
Adeline-William I-Iockstock was owned by Joseph Pauli.

At one time the barn on Alfred's farm burned Mary-Chris Bower
causing $9,000 of damage (1937] The barn was 40' x Bernard-Clara Hayes
124' with 65 tons of hay and straw inside. A stave
silo, adjoin ing feed shed, and large gra in separater Theodore was born in Obernd orf. Germany, the
and farm machinery were lost in the blaze. Alfred Parish of Kuppenheim. The family lived in West
(Fritz] ran the farm until ill health forced him to re- Bend a few years before coming to Luxemburg
tire and sell the land to Harold Seidl. where they purchased 240 acres of land in 1856
The homestead which Joseph Jr ran was sold to from the government.
Peter Hauterbrook, when Joe moved to Green Bay. When Theodore retired h e divided his land
between Jacob a nd Andrew in Section 33. Sons
/oseph Weininger. Mory Heim, Thereso ond in front. /osephine
Frank, Henry and Bernard moved away from Lux-
Theodore ond Caroline (Doul) Wunsch

./OSEPll WEIN INGER SR. PARM (1906} Ji:ft to right foseph

We ininge r /r .. Theresa We ininger, Mary We ininge r. foseph
Weininger Sr.. and Alfred Weininger

/lock row I. 10 R. Oerno rd Wunsch. Mugdcline Wunsch Salen-

rine. Mury Wunsch Bower, Louise Cuc rw1on W unsch. Pauline
Rothllldcr Wunsch. Theresa Daul Wunsch. Fronk Wunsch. Mid-
dle row. Nicolous Solentine, C hris Bower. /ucob W unsch. An-
drew Wunsch. Henry Wunsch, Freel Wunscl1 Front row, Theo-
dore Sulentine. Freddie Wunsch, /Jernurd SultJnfine

1833-1915 1835-1891
Married June 1858
Magdeline-Nicholaus Salentine
Jacob-Louise Gaetzman WUNSCH
Frank- Mary Emich
Andrew-Pauline Rothleder 1861-1921 1868-1958
Henry- Theresa Daul Married May 1889
Fred-Kate Bower Fred-Regina Schaetz
Albert-1872-1903 Anna Zellner

Jacob married Louise the daughter of Peter and Child of Albertina's
Regina Gaetzman. T hey farmed 80 acres of the first marriage
original homestead and turned over the property to Lena Liebl-
their son Fred. Today the land is owned by Hruska
and Company. Paul came to America at the age of 2 with his
parents and settled on a farm n ear Luxemburg. The
property was later passed down to his son Charles
WUNSCH and wife Anna.


1865-1942 1880-1930
Married 1898
No Child ren
1859-1943 1859-1931
Married November 1882
Andrew and Pauline were married at St. Mary's
Charles B-Anna Dax
Catholic Chu rc h, Lux emburg. He and his wife
Frank-Anna Reich
farmed the oth er half of the original homestead.
Henry- Margaret Heim
Having no children to pass the farm down to they
rented the farm to their nephew Fred.
Mary-Frank Neumeyer
Andrew and Pauline moved to the village where
they purchased the Fred Meintz house.
Frances-William Strebel
WUNSCH Albert-Lorraine Marcelle
Peter-Emma Theys
FRED KATE BOWER Felix-Gladys Larson
1869-1935 1871-1943 Irene VanRemortel
Married H392 Anton- Verna Dorner
Clarice- Ed Bloom Rose-Nick Glaser
William - Laura Oldenburg
Edwin-Louise Luedtke The Carl Zellner family came to America in 1887.
Elsa-Ted Henderson The family settled in Section 21 where they farmed
Vi rgil Keith for many years. The homestead was handed dow n
Rose-James Spain to son Peter and wife Emma. Today the farm is
Arnold-Hazel Holt owned by Michael Zellner.
Kathryn-Ea rl Mularky
Marie-William Grogan Wedding of Charles /J 7.cllrwr und i\nnu Dox
Ca rl Foy
Leon e-Ve rnon Nowak
Dani el McMillan

Fred operated the farm own ed by his uncle An-

d rew until 1928 when fire destroyed the house. An-
d rew then sold the land to Joseph Asch enbrenner.
Merle Ran k is the present owner of the property.
Farming was not Fred's only accomplishment he
also played violin. The family later moved away.

1853-1930 1849-1915
Charles F- Anna Friex
Mary-Eugene Marcelle

ZELLNER Louis owned land in Section 28, 40 acres. which
he purchased about 1890. He later purchased the
CHARLES F ANNA FRIEX George Rank farm increasing his acreage to 160
1887-1951 1895-1978 acres. The land was passed down to his son Louis,
Married October 1914 Jr and wife Catherine. The present owner is Louis
Elmer-Dora Romuald Sr's grandson Norman and wife Jean. Mary died a
Elsie-August Haen few years after marrying Joseph, he then married
Albertine-Raymond Paye her sister Rosalia (Rose].
Alvin - Eleanore Ferron
Clarence-Germaine Frisque
Loretta-Bernard LeRoy
Richard - Rosalia Wery ZELLNER
Leonard-Delores Rollins
Betty-Raymond VandenPlas 1863-1939 1863-
Russe ll-Dorothy Burkart Married
Katherine- Tom Dorner
Charles and Anna took over the home farm and Anna-
operated it until the death of Charles. The home- Barbara-Julian Friex
stead is now owned by Cy and wife Donna. Sons Peter-Anna Blanker
Elmer and Clarence also operate farms in the Lux- Louise-
emburg township. Mary-Peter Daul
William-Catherine VanDenBush
Regina-Ed Grasse!
Warren Jones
ZELLNER I ulian-+youth

PETER EMMA THEYS Peter came from Eisenstrass, Bohemia with his
1899-1965 1912- parents in 1881. He spent the next 7 yea rs working
Married in various localities and bought a farm in Luxem-
Michael-Cecelia Degrand burg Township, located south of the village. The
Franklin - Arlene Koss farm was later owned by son William and wife
Bernard- Nancy Purchase Catherine. Son Peter moved to Green Bay. At the
Alby- JoAnn Mathu present time the land is owned by the Schley fam -
Ralph- Betty Svoboda ily.
Kenneth-Lois Maples
Marina-Robert Harrison
Bonnie-Robert McMahon
Joyce-Paul Janowsky ZUEGE
Karen [T)-Leon Heim
1868-1957 1874-1952
Peter and Emma operated a farm in Section 21 Married 1899
for many years. After the death of Peter the farm Walter-1902+
was operated by Emma and sons. Today the home- Mabel-1905-06
stead is owned by son Michael. Clarence-Emma Hardtke
Melbourne-Florence Poehls

The Zuege family came from Germany. Charles

ZELLNER purchased the Charles Vorpahl farm in 1915, and
operated the farm until his son Clarence took over
LOUIS ROSALIA ZELLNER the property. A new house was built in 1918 on the
1858-1941 -1913 farm.
Married May 1883 Charles and Malvina purchased a house in the
Mary-Joseph Treml village in 1930 from Charles Linzmeier.
Rosalia-Joseph Treml The farm is under the present ownership of David
Louis, Jr-Catherine Oberhofer and Gary Arendt.



1878-1958 1855-1928
Married 1908
Hi lmer-
Rose-David Schaut

Albert was born in the Town of Montpelie r, son

of John and Amelia Zuege. He purchased 80 acres
in Section 26 which form erly belonged to P Thill.
The land is now own ed by Lloyd Salentine.

The (;illis fu mily was fo rgo rt1m in lhe fam ily sec tion. / ohn was
born in Ta ne t in 1903. h is w if1) Ethe l Laurent was bo rn in 1908.
T he Gillis family moved to /.uxc mhurg about 1938 whe re / ohn
wo rke d fa r Ande rso n Gorngc, Sc /ls Garage and (o r Norman
\/undrisse 7 y1.:1urs before ht: rt:tired. {ohn and Ethe l raised a
fomily of -1 c hildre n, Leo n municd ro Morie Lipsky, Darrel ma r -
rie d lo l·:vdyn He im. Ro na /ti rnorrie d to Alice Glinski and Sho r-
o n married to A lvin Swugr. l. /1Jhn se rved man~' years in the fire
d1: purrme nt. Ar the p rese nt tim e he is th e treasure r.

Luxemburg 1983



Engraved in the hearts and memory of all Amer-
T he building was built by Nick Kaut in 1902. Th e ~ca is th.e heroism of our fallen dead. Their courage
present owners are Mr. and Mrs. Dona ld Kollross is the highest example of the spirit of this compara-
who purchased the building in July of 1981 from tively new people. We are Free! And our honored
Evelyn Guerts who had opera ted the business for dead have h elped make us so. Our freedom shall be
many years. It is being operated under the name an eterna l monument to their memory.
"Doc a nd jean 's". The Kollross's made many im- The post was organized a bout 1920. Two years lat-
provements to the in teri or, parking lot and sur- er they purchased movie equipment at the local
rounding a rea . They serve lunch es and beverages. theatre and leased the building until 1930. Th ey ran
The list of previous proprietors is numerous, First silent movies for a few years un til the talkies came
among them was George Elfner, who came from into the picture. The members d ecid ed it would be
Can ada in 1866. W.A. Cowell an attorney, had an too costly to purchase the n ew equipment and d id
office on the upper level. not show a ny more movies.
In early n ineteen hundred George Rueck! Sr. took During 1925, at th e 4th of Ju ly celebration, a Ford
over the tavern and opera ted it un til his retirement. Touring car was given as the main prize. The orga-
H e was succeeded by his son, George Jr. wh o con- nization sponsored checker tournam e nts in the
ducted the place until 1916 when he sold it to 1930's. In 1943 the softball tournaments were started
Schwedler Brothers. Reinhold Okrusch leased the with Marvin Bins doing the organizing. Charlie Bar-
tavern and ran it for several years. biaux was the official score keeper at both tourna-
Alfred Rueck] became the own er of the American ment and regular games for many years.
House Hotel and Soft Drin k Parlor in 1932. Oth er In 1954 a n ew building was built on Elm Street
proprietors included Louis Saams, William Drossart, after having leased the old "Opera House" for many
Lawrence Rankin, Richard Sorley, George Conard, years.
Hilary Boncher, Roger Janda, Ambrose (Sonny) Van- Thr oughout th e years the post helped veterans
Laanen. T he Felix Vandevelds operated the tavern and fam ilies from the commun ity when the need
eventually selling it to john Blahnik. Ed LeCloux arose. Aid was given to two young men who went
and Evelyn Guerts also operated the tavern for a through h eart operations, Danny Liebl and Mark
few years. Thibaudeau.
In 1958 the Legion h elped with the village's 50-
The Lu xemburg Guard in fro nt of !Ile American House with year celebration an d in 1959 they h eld a discharge
Luxe mburg Implemenr Compa ny ta rhe Jefr.
dance. All members were to wear th e uniform th ey
w ere dicharged in. The dance was held at the
"Lucky 13" Club, Arno Stuebs proprietor, also a
member of the Legion post. It was rumored Arnie
was sweeping up buttons fo r a week after.
Also duri ng the 50's the post sponsored stock car
races, steam engine rodeos, baseball and softball
tournam e n ts, a n d erected b leachers on the ball
For Memorial day the Legioners put flags on all
the veterans graves in the cemeteries in Luxemburg,
Pilsen, Montpelier, Champion, Tone!, Walhain,
AMERICAN LEGION POST 262 Dyckesville, Th iry Dames, Duvall, Sugarbush, Ro-
binsonville and New Franken .
T he American Legion Post 262, Luxemburg, Wis- Commanders for the American Legion Post 262
consin was named in honor of Ra lph Klin e. Private were:
Kline was a member of Co. F 168th Infantry. He
was killed in the Argon ne Forest near the little v il -
lage of Laudres, St. George, and buried where he

1922-23 Frank Hopp(! 1954 Bea Rueckl
'1924 Otto Kaye 19 55 Flora Ledvina [Hoppe)
Hl25 Paul Hoppe '1956 Bess Cmeyla
1926 Richard Rucckl '1057 Midge Peo1
'l927 Theodore B;1dc~ r 1958 Marc1illa Brust
'192!l-29 Peter Colle 1959 Dorothy Hardi ng
1930 Harold Peters '1960 Eldora Liebl
19:!1 -32 Frank Hoppe 1961 Ge rry Seidl
HJ:l3 -35 George V Gregor '1962 Alice Depas
'1936 Alvah Arp in 1963 Bercl ina Lemens
1937-39 Edward McMahon 1964 Doroth y Hoppe
'Hl40 Frank Hoppe 1965 Lo rra ine De wa ne
1941·42 George Lohrey HJ66 Mart ha Ne llis
Hl43 Paul Hoppe '19!i7 Marce lln Ni mmer
·19 44.45 Andrew Brngge r HJGB Stella Arpi n
1946 Andrew Brngger and Anton Flegel 1969 fea n Kollross
HH 7 Elroy l·loppf) 'Hl70 Dorolhv Seid l
·19.1[) Earl Peol 197'1 · 72 Eleanoi· Wesselv
Hl49 Sam Halloin 1973 Elai ne Estel ·
'1950 Pat Seidl '1974 Lavern e Gillis
1951 Sv Nellis 1975 Jean Theys
1952 l\ilarv in I loppe 19 i 6 Carol Simonar
195:1 Art Peot '1977 Ethel Seidl
1954 Leonc11·d Seidl '1978-79 Pearl Hrus ka
1955 Earl Peot 1980-83 julaine Mueller
Hl56 E J Dewa ne
'1057 Harold Kollross
rnso-59 ferry Simonnr
1!)60 Harold Lemens
1961 Harold Behnke
Hl62 Gus Yanda
1963 Richnrd Stoclol<1
191l4 Jack Arpin
1965-66 Robert Daul
19117-GB Harold Ko ll ross
"l!l6!)-i0 Frankie Seidl
·1!l7"l Ben Esh1I
'1972· i3 Jnr. v\lesse ly
'19i4 -iG Werner Seidl !Pat]
'19 77-i9 Earl Peot
1\180-63 fos F Stodoln

The Auxiliary of Post 262 was organized with the

fo ll owing members s igning th e charter-Flora
Hoppe, Ruth Hoppe, Stella Arpin, Rose Prokash,
Helen Colle, Gladys Bergen, Laura Peters, Hilda 1\mer ican Leg io n 1\ux i/io ry - 1940 Boc k row L lo ll. lvlorie So/en-
line . Doro More uu. I lu/du Lohrey. Huth H oppe. Floro H oppe.
Kaye, M rs. Buchanan and Kate Aprin . During 1977 Je nnie Grosse/. Mobe / Flegel. How 2- Hose / e rovelz. Std/a 1\r·
50-year pins were presented to Stella Arpin, Mabel pin. Hildegarde 1\re ndt. ivlinnie /\ren dt, l.uuro Peters, Rose W ill-
Flegel, Flora Ledvina and Marie Sale ntine . mon. Alvino De/wic;h, Leno Pankratz. Front Row. /ulio Se id /.
Over the years various members have served as Curo/ine Rueck/, lvlurci/le McMahon. Cold Siar ,'\/!othe r. F.vo
president. Seidl. Ursula U//spe rger. Helen Colle, Ida /onet.

'19 26-2i Laura Peters AUGIE'S LOOKOUT

l921J Gladys Bergen
'192!J Stella Arpin
'1930 Ruth Hoppe Lee and Lois Derenne are the owners of "Augie's
l931 Florn Htippe
'1932 Frieda Dri e r Lookout", the tavern located n ea r the Fairgrounds.
·193:1 Ursula U llsperger They purchased the building in 1976. Two years ago
1934 Mabel Flege l
193 5-3i Stella i\rpin they completely renovated the building with new
1938 Julia Seidl rooms added to the upper level, and it is gene ra lly
1939-40 Hulda Lohrev
·104 ·1-42 Ruth Hoppe· new in appeara nce.
1943-44 Flora Hoppe The previous owner was Jim Wells of Green Bay,
·1945 Hulda Lohrny
'1946 Murcille McMahon who operated it for a few years.
'1!)47 Dolorns Sand~ The first busin ess conducted in this location began
·1943 Ryle Zemil k<J (rnsigned) Lorrai n e~ Oewa ne
1!149 Stella Arp in in 1909 as a soft drink plant operated by Frank
1950 Jane Green Garot, formerly of Green Bay. It was a thriving
195 1 Dorothy Harding
1952 Martha Nellis business in 1911 operating overtime to fill orders for
l!l53 Pear l Hruska soft drinks and Weiss Beer. The firm installed a

new automatic bottle washer which washed 40 cases Miesler, and Nick Spitzer. The men chosen to in-
of bottles an hour. He purchased a Empire Touring spect and buy the machinery were Joseph Seidl, Sr,
Car from Spitzer-Ley Implement Co., and also a Louis Rueck! and Charles Linzmeier. Joseph Friex
truck to deliver his products. Misfortunes also visit- of Walhain ran a milk route to South Luxemburg for
ed upon the owner of the plant, a fire which started a few years.
in the dry sawdust caused only slight damage to the In 1911 Henry Grab was plant buttermaker and
building, and while working Mr. Garot sustained in- moved his family into the new home next to the
juries to his face and head, and had several teeth creamery. His sons John, Rudolph, and Robert Grab
knocked out when a barrel of syrup exploded, were employed in the factory until 1915 when they
knocking off the top. Mr. Garot also was interested resigned.
in horses, having owned several race horses while During 1912 the factory was run by Anton Koll-
here. His horse ''Forest Sheldon" won a second ross, president; Joe Seidl. vice president; Peter Seidl
prize at a July 4th celebration in Sun Prairie. In Sr., treasurer; John Daul. secretary; and Directors:
1918 he returned to Green Bay, and in 1920 sold the Michael Arendt, Louis Rueckl, and Frank Miesler
business to Joseph Weinfurter and his brother-in- Jr. That year a 20x50 addition was added to the
law, Charles Linzmeier. west side of the building.
In 1928 John B. Kaye took over the place and ran The plant increased business steadily with 20,000
it as a tavern, calling it the "Stock Yard Inn". For pounds of milk being received in the plant daily,
his opening he served chicken boo-yah and adver- employing four men in 1915.
tised good music and singing. William Bennin became cheesemaker in 1919, but
John Delwiche then rented the business stand in left the same year. He was replaced by Fred Sen-
1935 after the death of Mr. Kaye. derling.
After standing idle for some time, George Yanda In 1935 John Koss purchased the creamery and
bought the tavern in 1940, and ran it for many the name was changed to Badger State Cheese with
years. He was succeeded by his son Leonard. who 46 stockholders. After his d eath the business was
with his wife, Mercedes, conducted the place until conducted by his son Don. At that time the factory
his retirement when they moved to Green Bay. took care of 40,000 pounds of milk daily.
The cheesemaking operation was moved to Forest-
ville in 1966. with only the refrigeration left in
South Luxemburg. In 1976 the plant in Luxemburg
was closed. and today the building is vacant.
South Luxemburg C reame r11


The building was constructed on 1.53 acres of
lan d by Anton Gassner and called the Luxemburg BANK OF LUXEMBURG
Creamery. It was a one story building and con -
trolled by stockholders. The bank was incorporated in 1902 and located in
The cheese factory owned by Nie Peat was pur- the south part of the Wisconsin House. It was estab-
chased by the stockholders and razed. Charles Linz- lished by a group of pioneers, Edward Decker Sr,
meier was the first cheesemaker. Edward Decker Jr, Nathan Decker. Victor Bonjean,
The first officers were. George Dorner, President; Jul es Petry, Joseph Roth , Albert Liebl, August
Nicholas Gengler, vice President; John Daul, Secre- Spitzer. Oliver DeBauche. and August J Salmon.
tary; Peter Seidl Sr, Treasurer; Board of Oirectors- These men petitioned the state for a charter on Au-
Fred Jahnke. Louis Rueck!, Anton Kollross, Frank gust 27. 1903. On October 6. the bank was ready to

go into operation with Edward Decker, Jr as presi- mann, Sharon Kubale, Rosie Dorner, Mary Jo
dent. Duescher, Kay Derenne, Janice Schmiling, Betty Ra-
After a few years the bank moved across the mesh, Art Bazlen, Carl Andre, Camille Stage, and
street until 1916 when a new building was con- Jean Daul.
structed, a 40x60 foot brick structure was built on The firsl bank in Luxemburg wos incorporated in 1902 ond occu-
land where Desire Colle h ad an apple orchard. pied the southeast corner of the Wisconsin I-louse for o couple
In 1912 Albert Karel was president with Art C years before being moved almost directly across the street. Thus
Bazlen and Ed Trudell as cashiers. Albert served as the fine brick structure occupied by the present bank is its third
president for the next 12 years. During 1919 an Ish-
peming-Mosler Quadruple Monaganese safe was in-
stalled. It weighed 10,000 pounds, 3x5 feet with solid
steel door. Camille Stage became assistant cashier in
1926. During 1917 the directors of the bank agreed
to sell the old bank bui ld ing to the telephone com-
The year 1932 saw a new clock installed near the
entrance to the bank. Stella Arpin became the first
stenographer in the bank fo llowed by Lorna Karel
and Vid a Peters. Also in 1932 the banks in the
county closed at Saturday noon.
In 1953 the bank observed its 50th anniversary.
Many outstanding lead ers served the bank during its
50 years of progress. The directors of that period flank of Luxemburg Built 1!Jl6.
were Albert Karel, Clem Rass, Victor McCormick,
Lawrence Ruecl<l, Joseph Mleziva and Leo Seidl.
The bank was completely remodled in 1958, new
windows. lights, ceiling and new teller windows. In
1967 a new front was added and three years later
drive-in banking and a new bookkeeping room were
constructed to modernize the bank.
Duane W Pike serves as president since the retir-
ement of Richard Seidl. Richard served the bank for
50 years, he started in 1924 and became the presi-
dent after Clem Rass retired. Clem also served the
bank for 50 years. He started in 1913 after graduat-
ing from Valpariso Un iversity. Clem was a native of
the Brussels area.
Todays emp loyees a re: Duane Pike, Rich a rd BARBIAUX BUTCHER SHOP
Cmeyla, Walter Hendricks, Steve Cornette, Elaine
Wery, Darice Bunker, MaryAn n LeRoy, Donna Her- John Peol operated the butcher shop at 631 Main
mans, Denise Dorn er , Debra Heling, Michelle street until '1912 when h e sold out to Peter Joerger.
Zellner, Ronda Salentine. Mary Bins, Marl ene Peter ran the business until he left for Milwaukee
Trem l, Carol Baierl, RuthAnn Fierst and Peggy Sa- and sold the market to Elmer Barbiaux during 1925.
lentine. Elmer had been previously employed by the Rahr
Past and present Directors are: L Albert Karel, Brewing Company in Green Bay and also worked
Charles L Peters, August Spitzer, Oliver DeBauch, for Peter.
Gust Moede. Lawrence Rueck !, Michael Aren dt, Elmer remodeled the market by removing the old
Henry Jadin, Hector Boncher, Joseph Mleziva, Ar- ice box and replacing it with a modern cooling sys-
nold Prahl, Joseph Jonet, Louis Ledvina, Victor tem. He also decorated the interior in White and
McCormick, Clem Barbiaux. Leo Seidl, Irvin Vin- added a n ew front enhancing the appearance of the
cent, George Paider and Willard Marchant. Some of building. He operated the shop until his death in
the directors were also employees of the bank. 1939. His son Charles ran an appliance store for a
Past employees over the years were, Donna Fle- few years and today the building is used for a resi-
gel. Stella Miller, Joan Albrecht, Verna (Miller) dence by Charles and Tony. For several years Tony
Rueck!, Berdina Sconzert, Bonnie Dorner, Mary Ann worked for Harry Williams. an architect, and today
Baie.rl, Joan Ouradnik, Julie Siedl, Judy Karas, Bon- does the same kind of work from his home in Lux-
nie Willems. Wanda Schley, jean Gillis, Mary Daile- emburg.

Al Batten and his family moved to Luxemburg in
What is today known as Al's Barber Shop was 1973, when he leased th e former Ford Garage build-
built by Casper Loberger about 75 years ago. Casper ing on Main street from Bank of Luxemburg. Mr.
operated a 5 and 10¢ store and ran a cider press. Batten came from Rockford, Illinois, where he had a
H e also sold pumps, cisterns and windmills. The refrigeration business.
store was sold to Charles Hoebreckx in 1915 and he In 1978 The Battens constructed a new building, a
ran the store for 5 years adding a new floor and re- larger size, on highway 54. They sell hardware and
modeling the inside. During 1920 the building was equipment for farming. Mr. Batten is owner, and
sold to Felix Vandrisse who operated the business employees include his wife Adeline, son Ken Bat-
for a few years. Clem Depas took over the property ten, daughter Kathy Villers. Colleen Batten, Connie
and he also ran the store a few years before Ed Jac- Kadletz, Marlene Doell, and Judy Libal.
ques became the next owner. Ed had previously
worked for the Cash Way Store.
Alvah and Stella Arpin bought the building and
made their living operating the grocery store until BAUMGARTNER FLORAL
Jim Tlachac purchased it 12 years later turning the
building into a plumbing business. Two years later Baumgartner Floral, formerly known as joAnn's
the store changed hands again with Al Tlachac be- Floral and owned by JoAnn Halbrook, began busi-
coming the owner. He remodled the store into a ness in the Bio Chemical Products' building in 1977
barber shop with an old rej uvinated barber pole in and in 1979 moved to 108 Colle Street, a building
working condition outside. formerly occupied by Ed. Jacques Appliance Store,
The first barber shop in Luxemburg was in the and later by Forest Construction.
Wisconsin H ouse with Fred Radue as barber in The business which was managed by Linda
1908. During 1914 Otto Boness opened his shop in Baumgartner, was turned over to her in 1981 when
the north side Wisconsin House. Chester Bentzler JoAnn returned to Green Bay to operate her main
worked for Otto until 1923. Otto then moved to the floral shop.
Louis Liebl building where he cut hair and em- Linda sells cut flow ers and plants, as well as silk
ployed Ray Colle for 6 years. Peter Colle served his and artificial flower arrangements with the help of
apprenticeship under the direction of Otto in 1914. part-time employees, Jane Weier, Vicky Haen, her
Olio moved again, this time he purchased a house daughter Wendy Baumgartner, and her mother Gar-
next to Hafeman's Saloon and opened his barber net Pagel.
shop there. After Otto died the house was purchased
by Eugene "Curly" Cravillion. He ran a barber shop
for 37 years. Jos Rueck! took over Otto's old shop in
the Wisconsin House and Frank Wawrika took over BEAUTY SHOPS
Otto's shop which was located in the Liebl Building.
In 1917 Edward "Abbie" Retzlaff open ed a barber Laura (] eanquart) Perry opened a beauty shop in
shop in Hafeman's saloon where he proceeded to the American House and two years later in Febru-
cut hair for a year. After he vacated the premises ary of 1940, moved into the building formerly occu-
John Salmon took over for 2 years and then moved pied by the Luxemburg News. In 1942 she moved to
to Casco. Peter Colle served in WWI and came back Sturgeon Bay. John Duchateau purchased the build-
from service to occupy the shop which John Salmon ing and his daughter Marie ran the beauty shop for
had. He ran the shop until the building was sold to many years before moving to a smaller building be-
Harvey Bredael. A small addition was built on the hind her father's house at the corner of Main and
north side of the building for Pete's barber shop. Peter Streets. She operated this shop for 2 years be-
Pete employed Jake Brust after he came out of ser- fore she passed away.
vice in WW II.-1951. After Pete died Jake became Felix Vandrisse owned a tavern at 525 Main
the proprietor for the next few years. In 1979 Jake Street and his daughter Vivian ran a beauty shop in
decided to retire. The building today is vacant. An- a small addition on the north side of the building in
drew Breggar also worked for Pete Colle from 1928 the 1940's. (Hugo Zeitler used to sell radios here)
to 1932. Pete was not only a barber but could tell After Vivian married they purchased a house and
the most interesting tales. she moved her beauty shop there. She ran the shop
Today we have only Al's Barber shop as such, for in her home from 1943 to 1959 when she quit being
beauty salons now cut hair for both men and wom- a beauty operator and worked in her husbands in-
en. surance office.

Althea Krueger opened a shop in her home on pasttime of throwing ston es through the large front
Maple Street about ·1950. She operated her shop for window of Elfner's saloon." Mr. Elfner also ordered
20 years before moving to Mishicot. During 1962 new pins and balls for both three-pin and ten-pin
Rose Gillis started a beauty shop in her home at games.
1330 Main Street. The shop is still in operation to- In 1916 Julius Retzlaff sold the building to William
day with her daughter Barbara helping out. Hafeman of Oshkosh, who conducted the business
In the 1970's three more beauty shops opened until 1920, when he sold it to Peter and Ray Colle.
their doors. In 1974 Marjorie Kitzinger began her The Colle's operated the business until 1929, with
shop at her home on Colle Street. The Village Styl- Pete in charge of the barber shop. The barber shop
ists started in 1976 in the former Duchateau shop had been leased previously by John Salmon and Ed
with Betz Reynen as the owner and operator. She Retzlaff. Pete Colle continued conducting the barber
died in 1980 and the shop now belongs to Ed and shop for many years, and in later years his son-in-
Terry Alsteen. Kay Hannaman, Terry Peot and Nan- law, Jake Brust joined him in the business.
cy Mathias are today's beauty operators. During 1979 In 1928 Harvey Bredael rented the business, which
Country Hair Designs began, it is owned and oper- he later bought and made many improvements. He
ated by Darlene Dorner located south of the village. lengthened the building, laid a concrete floor, put on
a new front, and remodeled the barber shop.
In 1949 Harvey's son, Lloyd, took over the busi-
BEIRL VARIETY STORE ness and conducted it for 28 years. Then Lloyd's
son-in-law and daughter, Hank and Julie Deprey,
Frank Hannon, pharmacist from Green Bay, was joined the buisness and now take care of the alleys
Luxemburg's first druggist, having begun business in and tavern.
1909, and conducted it here for 13 years. He adver-
tised sale of wall paper, patent medicin e and pre-
scriptions, and after several years also added a soda
fountain . Joseph Filz built and ran the store which is now
In 1912 Mrs. Hannon sold ladies Fall hats, having owned by the Bredael Family. The building, owned
run an advertisement in the newspaper that any hat by John Daul, was originally operated as a general
in stock can be copied and made up with customers store with Ted Diestelhorst as manager in 1911. Ted
own material at Hannon's Millinery. and his wife lived across the street and had no chil-
In 1922 Mr. Hannon sold the business to J. Minor dren. They operated the store for quite a few years
Bergen, also a licensed pharmacist from Iola, Wis- and employed Mary Liebl as clerk and Florence
consin. The Bergen family remained here for twelve Mohr as milliner. After they sold the store Ted went
years, then moved back to Iola. While Mr. Bergen to work for the Luxemburg Motor Company.
operated the store here, he had booths installed for George Dax purchased the business from John
serving cold drinks. At one time thieves made off Daul in 1920 and ran it for one year after which he
with a barrel containing 30 gallons of whiskey, mak- sold to Gerhardt Falk, who stayed for the next ten
ing their entry through a rear window. years.
In 1934 Gordon Zemlika, a licensed pharmacist of During 1931 the store was sold to Frank Blahnik.
Merrill purchased the drug store and operated it un- It was remodeled that year and George Conard pur-
til 1965 when they moved to Lake Geneva, to be chased the building and ran it as a furniture store,
near their daughter. The store was changed from a and later a tavern. In 1937 George applied for a li-
drug store to sundries, when the Zemlikas sold it to quor license and in July of that year Raymond Seidl
George N. Rueck! of Luxemburg. leased the Conard tavern for a short time. Two
Today the store is owned by Roger Beirl and wife years later Frank Bredael, cheesemaker at the Lux-
Rose. They purchased the building in October of emburg Creamery, purchased the tavern and ran the
1978 and continue to operate as a sundry store. business until he died. His sons Wilfred and Robert
took over tavern and they still conduct the business
BREDAEL'S BOWL They recall an incident in the early days, ~vhen
two hold-up men pulled a gun on Frank Bredael
Records show that George Elfner operated the and took two nickel slot machines. The robbers beat
tavern on Main street, in 1911, now known as Bre- a hasty retreat when a window screen was tossed
dael's Bar. The building was owned by Julius Retz- on their car from an upstairs window. Otto Bredael,
laff. That year Mr. Elfner installed a bar and dou- Frank's son, was awakened by the noise, saw the
ble-swing doors. hold-up men and threw the first object he could
In 1912 "some miscreant indulged in the amiable find to frighten them.

In 1922 George met with a painful accident when
Dieslt:lhorst Store. I to r Mory Sc hroeder. unknown. Louro
he caught his fingers in the meat grinder. H e later
/oerge r, Molly and Tec.J Diesre llwrst.
leased the meat market to Camille Boulanger. Ju le
Malcore purchased the soft d rink parlor owned by
George and ran it for a year before moving back to
his farm and selling the building to Henry Boulan-
Rube Gerondale purchased the tavern in 1938 and
he also operated the tavern for a year, selling it lo
Felix Vanderveld. Felix's daughter Vivian opened a
beauty shop on the side of the tavern where pre-
viously Hugo Zeitler had run a radio shop and
George Bredael a meat market.
Elmer and Ed Jone! were the n ext owners selling
the establishm ent to Ray Brusky who only owned it
for 6 months before he sold to Ray Kubale of
Reedsville. There was a building that caskets were
stored in just to the south of the tavern and it was
moved aga inst the main building and used as an
electric shop by Homer De Bak er. After Hom er
moved to Green Bay, Ray Kubale remodled it into a
restaurant. The small building on the north side was
rented to Ors Klobocar and Majeski in 1950. Doctor
Nick F ilz Store whic h is today /ln:dae/'s Uptollin Cla r. The wind·
mill pumped wate r from the toll't:r rhroughoul the building.
Klobocar stayed only a short time and left H enry
Majeski as Luxemburg's only doctor.
During the next 25 years Ray and his wife Edna
ran the tavern and restaurant with the part to the
north re nted to Richard Han naman for a meat mar-
ket, in 1958. After a few yea rs the meat market was
sold to Linus Hermans, wh o later moved the market
to another building.
Ray and Edna sold the tavern-restaurant to Len
Burdick and his wife Pat of Green Bay in 1974. The
building was again remodeled with the addition to
the north becoming a part of the main building in-
creasing the area to serve food.

Albe r! 1.ohf Saloon Mrs. /\nno Marlin, Anna Loh(. Albe r! l.ohf


Albert Lohf was one of the first own ers lo operate
the saloon. The next owner was Hector and Alex
Smeester in 1912. They ran the business as the
White Front Saloon. For a lime they had a red fox
and a number of squirrels on d isplay in the saloon,
that had been captured by William Martin. The
building was then sold to George and Louis Bredael,
in 1913. Three years later George remod led the sa-
loon and open ed a meat market on the side of the
tavern .

one years. After several years, Louis turned the
CALDWELL-DUFECK business over to his son Donald. Donald later sold
OPTOMETRISTS the property to John Christofferson, and Rick An-
derle operated the Chevrolet dealership for two
)on Caldwell and David Dufeck opened their of- years, until 1981. Today the building stands vacant
fice in Luxemburg, duri ng 1981, at 212 Main Street. waiting for the next occupant.
David and Jon are both graduates of Illinois College
of Optometry. Along with eye examinations they of-
fer vision therapy.
Frank Hinnendael started the cherry orchard in
CALOR AGRICULTURAL 1931. John Christofferson, a Luxemburg High School
WHEY PLANT teacher for thirteen years, left the teaching profes-
sion and purchased the several acres of cherry or-
The plant was built in 1978 and was first known chard.
as Packerland Whey. The Calor Company took over
in 1979 with the main office in Michigan . The par- CLUB 163-
ent company is in England with offices in United
It is a pilot agricultural plant with research being
Reinhold Okrusch was own er of the first theatre
done constantly on agriculture and energy related
products. which the village boasted as early as 1917, and was
The build ing is located in the industrial park on known by the names Unique Theatre and Opera
the north side of Luxemburg. House and in later years different names according
to wishes of the various owners.
Mr. Okrusch had purchased an 80'x80' strip of
land from Peter Merens. and on it he moved the
CARLSON HEATING Park Hall from the Village Park. The village had
sold the Park Hall to the highest bidder. In 1924
Steve Libal was born at Cooperstown, and lived Mr. Okrusch erected a residence and ice cream par-
in Seymour and Lena before coming to Luxemburg. lor on the south side of the theatre. Vaudeville acts
He was a tinsmith in Luxemburg for 23 years until and movies were shown, with admission of 10¢ for
his son Jerry took over the business. adults and 5¢ for children. The theatre had a seat-
Steve built a house and tin shop on Colle St. in ing capacity of 152 people.
1911, and later built a warehouse 24x34 in back of For a time many changes of management took
his shop and residence. place. In 1920 Frank Wawirka leased the theatre for
Some of the employees were Ed Goetsch, Hen ry one year, and later that same year 0. M. Evenson
Karnopp and Clarence Kaye. and Anton Grassel Jr.. purchased the equipment and
Earl Wagner moved to Luxem burg in 1953 and leased the theatre from Mr. Wawirka. Emil U ll-
purchased the sheet metal business. After operating sperger also leased the theatre for a short time.
the company for about 10 years the Wagners moved In 1930 The American Legion Post leased the
and sold the business to Bill Carlson. For the next 5 building to run silent movies, and continued until
Bill worked at installing heating systems and other attendance fell off due to the advent of "talkies".
sheet metal work. The family eventually moved to The Legion members felt they could not afford to
Phillips, Wisconsin. The house is now owned by finance new "talkie" equipment. The American Le-
Teel Stodola and the sheet metal busin ess is no gion continued using the building for its meetings,
longer in operation. social gatherings until they built their own club-
CHEVROLET GARAGE In 1933 during the management of Eugene Her-
ing, it was again decided to show talking movies,
In October, 1937, George Anderson of Dalebroux comedies and other features.
and Anderson, Casco, Wisconsin purchased land Willard Guillette and his wife Marjorie operated
across from the Luxemburg Furniture Company the club for several years.
from Sy. Malcore. (This was originally the site of a Arno Stuebs took over the establishment in 1960
monument business operated by Nie Drexler). Here and operated it for two years under the name
Anderson erected a 50' x 60' garage which he oper- "Lucky 13 Club". He d id extensive remodeling to
ated until 1941 and then sold to Louis Sell who had the interior.
been employed at the Meisler Garage for twenty- In 1965 Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Mathu acquired the

property and also did considerable remodeling. Al- office above the Hannon Drug Store and was Lux-
most a year later, on Jan. 25, 1966, fire burned the emburg's d en tist for 31 years. H e was also active in
property to the ground and their son Thomas, 6, civic and community a ffairs.
perished in the fire. Dr. Chandler was also a visiting d entist in the
Ope ra I-louse befo re it wos moved to lvluin Street ea rly years and had an office in the American
In 1935 Dr. E J Dewane started h is dental practice
and wh en WW II came he entered the Navy. Wh en
he arrived home h e purchased Mrs. Cam ille Stage's
house and added an office. Dr. Dewane served Lux-
emburg until 1980 when he retired because of a
heart condition. His practice was taken over by Dr.
R.C. Barbiaux of New Franken.
Or. Wm Iwen came to Luxemburg in 1976, pur-
chasing the former King Sacker Motel. Dr. Iwen
worked in Chicago and Milwaukee before locating
The Jorge building in the cen ter hod been moved lo this site in th is area. He attended th e University of Wiscon-
from tlw v illage pork whe m it hod been the Ope ro I louse used sin and Marquette De ntal school.
for muny activiUe s, includinH rolle r skating one/ dancing. The At the present time Luxemburg is served by both
building had many names, '/'hp, Leg ion Hall. '/'hf: OpP. ro I-louse, Dr. Iwen and Dr. Barbiaux.
Rodeo /Jur. Lucky 13 and 163 Club. Its proprietors were also nu-
merous. An addition was put on the building and used as living
quorlurs and on ice cream parlor. The house an rhc left was Ole DON'S BAKERY
Evenson·s house. which was lute r occupied by Julio Algers. an d
todoy owned by Gerald Morcelle fom ily. Donald, son of Joseph and Julia Ledvina, began
business a t 118 Ma in Street with the purchase of
land from Sy N ellis in 1960. Ground was broken
January 7, 1961 and the building completed April 1,
Donald, who started baking for the Red Owl
Company in Green Bay, in 1956. sometimes starts
his day of baking bread and rolls at 4:00 in the
morning when most people are still dreaming. His
wife, Betty, helps with the selling of the delicious

T he ga rage was built by Harold Johnson in 1942 The business started by Jim a nd Denn is Stahl,
where h e operated a car repair business and later w ith Russell Veeser joining the firm in 1973, was
sold Ford Cars when Krueger Garage went out of known as Stahl and Veeser, Inc. They specialize in
busin ess. After Harold died in 1973 th e garage was municipal sewer and water mains. Russell later left
run by Roger Whipp. Dale Ihlenfeld purch ased and the fi rm and Mr. Stahl passed away in 1978. Jim
operated the garage until 1980, then he rented to previously worked for the Knaus Construction be-
Dayton Amenson who managed the busin ess under fore establishing the Stah l Construction.
the name of Dayton Ford . In 1982 the fi rm moved to In 1981 Dan Dorner joined the firm, and is now
a building on High way 54. Simonar Service is the kn own as Dorner-Stahl Construction. They presently
present owner of the building. employ 20 people. In 1981 they also constructed a
n ew building at th e corner of Gasche and Luxem-
burg Roads.
Dr. E P H appel was the first resident dentist in
1913. He purchased the equipment of Or. George In 1901, Martin Kumbera built a cheese fac tory
An derson w h o h ad h is office in the Wisconsin across the road from h is saloon. When h e moved to
house. Or. Anderson came from Algoma a few d ays Oconto, about 1906, Roy H rabik purchased the prop-
a week to serve his customers. Dr. Happel had his erty.

Years later, Tom Kinj erski acquired the factory On rhe righ t side of this street scene is John Peot's blacksmith
shop. He sold it to Charles Kollross and when ii burned in 1920.
and remodeled it into a tavern . He operated the tav- Kollross moved to o new location. To the left of the muddy
ern for a number of years and then his son took street is Nick Peat's store and warehouse. Today the Nowak tav-
over the operation before selling it to Mrs. Irma ern occupies this spot. The white building beyond the Peot Store
Drew. is the Luxemburg Creamery shown in tlw lower picture. Todoy ii
The yearly Scarboro kermiss and parade are cele- is used fu r sloruge by lhe Badger S1ut11 Compony.
brated the third Sunday in August.

Sr;urboro Valley Duiry one/ Srure, Roy f. 1-/rabik, Prop.

The Co-op was started about 1933 with H enry Ih-
lenfeld as !he manager. The orga nization was firs!
known as Progressive Farmers and located along the
railroad tracks. Alvin Dahlke became the next man-
ager in 1938 and worked here fo r 39 years. During
this time a new station wns build at 413 Cedar
Street. After Alvin retired Leonard Fager became
the manager for the next 2/1/2 years. At the present
time Roger Beirl is the manager, an d the busin ess is
now known as Ellisville-Luxemburg Co-op. They
THE EMPTY GLASS sell gas and oil products along with the sale of feed
In 1932 Michael Pankratz purchased an old store
building from a Mr. Burke and remodeled it into a
tavern. T he store has previously been run as a gen - FARMERS SUPPLY
eral store by Nie Peot. When he left the area the
building was used as a warehouse by a few of the In January of 1938 Mike Koll ross of New Franken
loca l busin ess men. Michael opened his doors to and Wilfred Dorner of Green Bay opened a busi-
business under the name of the Willow Basket Inn. ness under the name of Farm e rs Supply. Th ey
During 1938 a fire started in a shed attached to leased the brick building, owned by Herman Kratz.
the store. Michael's daughter was trying to heat located betw een the tavern and Commonwe alth
some water and the build ing caught fire destroying Telephone Company. They remodeled the building
the whole structure. Within 20 minutes the building for the display of Case farm machinery and equi p-
collapsed. The neighboring homes were ignited, ment. [n later years Fred Schuch built farm wagons
Harry Ohlrogge, George T Rank, Mrs. Hen ry Brag- until h e moved to a small building in back of the
ger, and j os Rank. The tavern had been built 46 Luxemburg Motor Company.
years before by Anton Gassner.
A new tavern built of concrete blocks was erected
and Michael called it "The Elders.'' The n ext own- FARMERS TRADING COMPANY
e rs were, Woody Ski l lin g, George Deprey, Pau l
M ahlik, Louie and Lorraine ("T oots") Nowak from Th e Farmers Trading Company was one of the
M ilwaukee. After Mrs. Nowak d ied her daughter bu ildings built by Anton Grasse l in 1915, a two story
M icheline Johnson ran the tavern for a few years. 44x66' structure. Anton sold the build ing to Equity
At the present time the business is managed by Mi- Milk Exchange in 1921 and they ran it as the Co-op
cheline's nephew Scott May. store with Hugo Zeitler as manager. During 1922

Hugo resigned to return to his farm in Montpelier Farmers Trading Compon}' . Ed facques . manager: Mabel
and Urban H. Vandewall became manager. He and (Lued tke) Sconzerl. uncJ /l ose (Zuege) Schou!.
his family occupied the living quarters above the
In 1924 the Co-op Store formed a new organiza-
tion, the Farmers Trading Company with the follow-
ing stockholders as incorporators: Joseph Mleziva,
President, Gustave Graunke, Joseph Dalebroux, Fred
Ullman Jr, and Edward Kratz. Two years later the
corporation purchased the building with Ed Jacques
serving as manager. In 1926 Ed resigned to work for
the implement dealer next door. Mabel Luedtke be-
cam e the nex t manager, she was sucee ded by
George Hebelacker, and Peter J Mornard.
Edward Dalebroux began working at the Farmers
Trading in 1928 and beca me the manager in 1936.
Jack Peot started in 1940. he was in charge of the
grocery department for 22 yea rs. until he retired.
The firm purchased two lots from Anton Peot and
The Farm Building Supply originated in 1958 and
his blacksmith shop, which was later torn down to
was operated by Glenn Nimmer. They constructed
enlarge the parking lot.
various types of pole buildings.
In 1937, $1200 in clothing and other valuables
In 1977 Forest Constructioh took over the business
were stolen. Thieves again made off with $2600 in
with Bill and Jan Nimmer, Ted, john. Bob and Gary
cash, bonds and checks during 1954.
Nimmer owning the stock. In 1982 Bill and Jan left
Ernest Thibaudeau, a 20-year employee of the
the business.
firm took over the management post in 1967 upon
Employees in clude: Lona Gregorich. John Gron-
the resignation of Ed Dalebroux who served the
n ert, Richard Parsons. Mary Ann Wery. Diane
firm for 40 years. Ern est resigned after a short time
Zingler, Richard Arend ts, Pat Bins, William Johnson,
and Art Wanless was hired as manager. In the next
Bruce Kortbein, Gary McClure, Dennis Mertens,
few yea rs there were four more managers, Don
Greg Nimmer, Duane RoJlin, Peter Schmelter, Ni-
Hamschie ld, Larry Feurstein, John Paider and today
chael Schultz, Russell Zellner, Scott Nimmer.
Mike VanStraten is the manager.
Some of the loyal, long time employees were,
Clara Peot, Josephine Rank, Rose VanDrisse, Rose FOUR SEASONS MAPLE SYRUP
Zuege. George Lemens, Florence Dalebroux, Verna
Dalebroux, Helen Peot, Ruth Mueller, Josie Nellis, Dr. R. E. Minahan owned the property 3 miles
Millie Cisler, Mrs. Harvey Doescher, and Deloris east of South Luxemburg from 1910 lo 1935, which
Miller, bookkeeper. he ran for 28 years as a hobby, now known as the
Today's employees includ e Verna Heim, book- Four Seasons Maple Syrup camp.
keeper, Ethel, Seidl, Mary Jane Pavlik, Sophie The first year he built the camp and log house
Weinfurter, LaVerne Gillis, Joan Lipsky, and Connie and the following year started maple syrup opera-
Peot. tions. The log home was rustic, built of completely
hand hewn logs. A huge fireplace was built on the
A Crnssel Store, presently the Farmers Trading Co. first floor, of stone and large enough to burn a six-
f oot log. The screened porch had a ston e foundation
and a concrete fl oor. Upstairs there are seven bed-
rooms which were occupied by friends and relatives
who helped make syrup each spring.
In 1918 a fire with an estimated $2,000 loss, de-
stroyed the cabin on the Minahan property at Casco
jct. in which the maple sap was boi led. The cabin
was equipped with a ll modern machinery. Lost were
100 gallons of syrup which were in the process of
being boiled down.
In 1937 the 68 acres, 40 of which were wood co-
vered of all natural growth, some 150 years old,
were purchased by Milton Thibaudeau. The interior

was extensively remodelled by Milton. It is the only ern. The crash happened about 11 o'clock when
all log house in Kewaunee County still being occu- Henry was alone in the tavern . The front door was
pied. In 1938 Roy J. Hrabik won "name the maple knocked down along with a 12-foot section of the
syrup" contest with his entry of "Pioneer Brand Syr- wall. A juke box, several chairs and barstools were
up." He received a gallon of syrup from Mr. Thi- demolished. Damage was estimated at $4,500.
baudeau. At the present time Pat Michaels is the proprietor.
Milton sold his two homes and business in 1968 to Frog Station lovern Myr rle. Joan. He nry and Ed Sell
two teachers who did not plan to operate the sy rup
camp, however in 1969 they decided to make sy rup
on a trial basis. With the help of Milton they pro-
duced 140 gallons of syrup and have been making
the "sweet stuff" ever since. The business is owned
today by the Michael Schanhofer family. In 1968
William Ehren was in partnership with Schanhofers
but sold his interest in the business.
The corrugated iron building which houses the
evaporating room, contains a large furnace and the
canning room. Tanks on the left side of the building
a re for storage of raw sap. The sap is stored in 70
barrel tanks high on wooded slopes, and piped to
the refinery by gravity when needed. Steam issues
from the vent in the roof from evaporator pans of
boiling sap. The building also stores a small evapor-
ator for washing equipment. Years ago the fire to
boil the syrup was a wood burning fire, but today Frog Station during the Spri ng flood
gas is used to do the job.
There usually are 1800 trees tapped on which
hang 2400 13-quart pails to collect sap. Today tap-
ping is done by machine but years ago it was all
done by a brace and bit.
Four Seuso n Maple Syrup Cump

The first telephone company was kn own as the
Farmers Telephone. Ed Bohman served as manager
in 1909.
FROG STATION Sam Walters became manager in 1912 and the
name of the firm was changed to Luxemburg Tele-
It is not known who built the building. Henry De· phone Company. In 1915 Mr. Walters bought a
meuse sold it to He nry Sell in the early 1930's. He 66'x80' strip of land on Elm street from Steve Libal,
ran the tavern for about 25 years before selling to the local tin-smith, with plans to erect an office and
Eli Cravillion. residence on the site. In 1920, Mr. Walters and his
While Henry was at Frog Station a car rearranged family moved to their former home in Ohio, and
the front entrance. Wencil Bosdech and James Orde sold the telephon e exchange to Gus Moede. Lola
of Algoma lost control of their car at the intersection Charles was chief operator and Elsie Hartinger, op-
of Highways "A" and "K" and skidded into the tav- erator.

The name was changed to Consolidated Tele- The buildings were mad e of wood with fancy
phone Company of Wisconsin, in 1928 and in 1930 handcarved trim along the roof's edge. Pillars beau-
was changed to Commonwealth Telephone Com- tified the porch that ran along the front of the din-
pany. ing room. The windows were large with no curtains,
When Mr. Moede took over in 1920, after pur- only paper shades. The upstairs was divided into
chasing the firm from Sam Walters, the Moede fam - rooms for boarders, such as traveling salesmen. The
ily moved into the former Walters home and tavern was used mostly by men who got thirsty. and
members of the Moede family assisted as operators salesmen sometimes sold their wares here to anyone
and conducting the business. Mr. Moede resigned interested. The dance hall was used for weddings,
his position as president of the Equity Company. to kerm isses and holiday dances. It was sold to John
devote his entire time to the telephone company. Nicholai who later sold to Clayton Friex. Louis Hi-
The following operators worked for the telephone get was the next owner when the buildings were
compa ny: Laura N ovak, Delores Arendt, Jeann e destroyed by fire.
Baye, Vivian Navarre, Millie Novak. Elsie Fameree,
Carol Charlier. Arleen Martin, Joan Kollross, Marie I lu/fwuy I louse
Gillis, Audrey Arendt, Marie Hoffman, Donna Mar-
tin, jean Martin, Sharon Gillis, Hilda Dorner, Clara
Moede, Minnie Moed e, Clara Arendt. Hildegarde
Arendt, Ethel Liebl. Leona Miesler, Mabel Arendt,
and Laura Theys.
The firm, now under the name General Tele-
phone Company, converted to dial system in 1963.
Harold Behnke, install er-repair, has been in the em-
ploy of the firm thirty-five years.


The gas station on the corner of Main and Maple
streets was built by Ed Metzler in 1932 on land
leased from Edward Jacques. The 22 x 24 foot
building is of brick construction.
After Ed Metzler sold the station it was owned
and leased by various operators including Tony Fle- HANK'S APPLIANCE
gel. Fritz Seidl in 1941, Bill Leischow. Rube Geron-
dale, Mike and Ralph Kline for five years, Hank The store was built in 1933 by Clem "Blah" Bar-
Feller, Red Gillis and Art Dart until it was sold to biaux and he operated it for 37 years. Hank Kollross
George L. Seidl. who had been employed by Blah since 1947 pur-
George conducted the business as a Cities Service chased the business in 1970. They sell and deliver
Station until November 1955. At that time the station gas, and kitchen appliances. Joanne, his wife, assists
was rented by Walter Hanmann, Jr who still occu- Hank in the shop and with the bookkeeping, and
pies the space for his trucking concern. son-in-law, Gary Romuald helps deliver gas and ap-
plian ces.


The Halfway House included a two story hotel, Harmann Studios. located in the Luxemburg Clin -
tavern, diner, dance hall and a blacksmith shop. ic Building on Main Street was opened in 1963 by
The dance hall and tavern were built in 1875. Dur- Cliff and Wayne Harmann of Algoma. They specia-
ing the early 1900's the dining room and hotel lize in portrait photography, weddings, graduations,
rooms were adjoin ed to the first building. Th e family portraits and pictures for other special occa-
blacksmith shop was built across the road and later sions. The Luxemburg store is managed by Marcella
a larger shop was built. Brust.

john Balza lived here and sold cigars before Gre- In 1911 Anton Grasse! sold the store and saloon to
gary Bodart pu rchased the house in 1933. About Ed Ouradnik an d his partner John Hruska. Along
1940 it was remode led into a s tore. w ith the buildings were two acres of land, two wag-
Anton Flegel operated the Red Owl Store in the ons. o ne horse and all the store and saloon fi xtures
Liebl building, and later move d next door into the for the consideration of $5800. The new company
former Bodart building. Anton a nd Mabel retired opened on May 1st of 1912.
a fter 29 years of service for R ed Owl. The store was In 1932 the community bu ilding was constructed
then operated by Mr. Crabbe for a few yea rs. by Cla re nce Hruska on the corner west of his pre-
Linus Hermans and wife Beatr ice purchased the sent place of business. The basement will be used
building and ran the store unti l his death in 1975. for recreation purposes, while the upper floor is to
Today Beatrice a nd her family run the business. be used for a dance ha ll. The build ing w as con-
struc ted of concrete and brick 52x92 fee t. Bowling
/louse in foreground now H ermans Store. lo the right wos the alleys and pool tables will be installed in the base-
<:umblc Store ond Cash Woy Store. ment in the future.
A barber shop open ed in the basement with Mike
M a thys in charge.
In 1934 a fire burned between the walls of the
residence and tavern, owned by Clarence Hruska,
threatening the entire structure a nd a djoining gen -
era l store. The fire is believed to have been caused
by defective wiring, possibly as a result of severe
electrical storm the previous night. The entire loss
was confined to the living q ua rte rs and tavern.
A corporation was formed in 1943 with Clarence,
Clare nce Jr. and w ife Pearl, Bob and Donna Jan-
d rain .
The cheese fac tory which was located across the
street, in Montpelier Township, is n o longer in use.
Eight bolwing lanes were added to the Rendez-
vous in 1970 .

In 1928 the o ld Brandle Cheese factory. which
was vacant for 15 years, was torn down to make
way for a soft drink parlor and dance hall. George
Fett purchased an acre of land wher e the o ld fac-
tory stood and dismantled the structure. The proper-
ty was purchased from Arthur Daul. Jacob Hallada
constructed the building which was two stores high,
22x36' for the dance hall and a one-story part 90x40'
fo r living q uarte rs above the soft drink pa rlor. The
da nce h all contained a crystal ball and was operat-
ed by several proprie tors after George left. Some of
the operators were, Howard Laurent, Frank Fa-
meree. Bill Wilhote. Sarah and Ed Wale tchka, Jule INLAND KNITTING
Borlee, Tony Bultman, Sr. Lloyd Drossart, Ted
Landwehr and Lloyd Hearly who is the present H erman Bach started the In land Knitting factory
owner. on 3rd Street in 1908. He began the operation, mak-
The old cheese factory w as built by Al Krause ing golf jackets and various other knitted a r ticles,
and operated by a number of people. one being the with two employees and a year later he had 25 peo-
Brandle family. ple employed. The employees were Lizzie Liebl,

Jule Moreau, Louis Bellin, w ith Peter Boucher as chopping wood to start fire in his stove. He was at
manager. In 1911 the firm closed, and Manager work in the back yard near a clothes line when the
Boucher announced plans were made to open a fac- ax caught on the line and sprang back striking him
tory in Green Bay. just above the left eye inflicting a d eep gash. A year
A year later Peter Boucher of the Inland Knitting later William moved leaving Luxemburg without a
works of Green Bay stated that the company leased watch maker.
their 3-story building in the village to the American Steve Tesar of Sawyer opened a jewelry store in
Cheese Company of Sheboyga n. The building has a room he rented from Elfner's saloon in 1915. He
been vacant since the proprietor of the knitting con- was considered an expert watch repair man and en-
cern moved to Green Bay. graver, however he only stayed a few years.
In 1940 the Kewaunee County Agricultural Associ- Jule Charlier came to Luxemburg in 1923 from
ation acquired the building and in 1946 sold it to Denmark where he learned the trade a t his brothers
Mike Pankratz. He conv erted the building into shop. He occupied the building that Elmer Fiedler
apartments and the family there for several years. had recently vacated n ext to Barbiaux's hotel. Elmer
Mr. an d Mrs. Joseph Linzmeier purch ased the was the jeweler from 1920 to 1923 and sold his
building in 1957 and conducted a nursing home un- stock and equipment to Jule Charlier. The store was
til 1970, then it was operated as a board ing house under Jule's management for over 50 years until he
until 1981 when they remode led the building into died.
two apartments. In the fa ll of 1970 Don and Janice Aude opened a
jewelry shop in their h ome on Main Street. They
Thi: Inland Knilling \\fork stood 01 rhe corner of 1vho1 is now came from Alaska Lake. Wisconsin. Don worked for
Elm and Third Simer, ocross from the mo in e nl roncc 10 1he fair Katch's in Algoma and in Clintonville before coming
grounds. It is 1/1ought IC.1 lrnve been l;uilt by Pete r /Jouc/ier and to Luxemburg. Today the Aude's are Luxemburg's
N id~ Ku ut in the eu r/y WOO's. Tocfoy I/ii) srructure is used for a
morning house und dwe lling for the /·;d Ne:wmes family.
only jewelry store .

/r.111elry stare in 1933, fule Chorlicr proprietor. locoted along side

rhe Wisconsin I louse.

Dan Daul purchased the property for a beer de-
pot. which he operated until 1950, at 424 Cedar St.
George Rueck] then purchased the property and ran }IMS 54 CAFE
the beer depot until 1967, when Harry Jandrain pur-
chased the land and converted it into a repair shop. The building was built by Albert Klin e in 1960
and he operated the restaurant until 1969. The es-
tablishment was then run by his family for two
years when they sold it to a realtor who rented the
JEWELRY STORES restaurant to Mr. & Mrs. Marcien LeLou. In 1975
Ron and Lois Vandertie operated the restaurant un-
In 1909 William Sinkler of Beloit ren ted part of til 1982. Jim and Myra Tlachac purchased the res-
the Fameree- Vandri sse building an d ope ned a taurant and employ two full time employees and 3
jewelry store. During 1911 he had an acciden t while part time, with the help of their 3 children.

T he first Fairs featured foot races and bike races.
JIM'S PLUMBING Today most of the beautiful trees which dotted the
midway have given way to disease or to make way
Jim T1achac started in the plumbing business in
for more buildings.
July 1963 when h e purchased Arpin' Grocery store
The first fair paid out less than $3000 in premi-
in the village. He sold the building to his brother
ums and the exhibits were gathered largely by Au-
Alle n in Septe mber of 1970 and relocated his busi-
gust Spitzer, who went out that morning o[ the fair
n ess on Highway 54. Carl Mathu and nephe w Tim
and gathered up anything that could possibly be
Mathu worked for Jim for a few years.
shown. Tents were used and one free act engaged.
That was the hayrack stunt which consisted of a
KEWAUNEE COUNTY FAIR rack with springs that threw the performers. People
talked about that act for years.
The first Kewaunee County Fair in Luxemburg T he second year a cattle exhibit was arranged. In
was held in 1918. It was originally organized in 1860 1921 the county board appropriated $7500 for build-
in Kewaunee and held there until 1902. Then was ings and erected the m the same year.
discontinued a nd held jointly with Door and Thursday is usually entry day, with a horse show
Ke waunee counties for several years. or tractor pull in the evening. Friday is judging day
In 1918 John L. Miller was instrumental in bring- with special prices for kids on Friday and Saturday.
ing the Fair to Luxemburg. In that year it was held Evening shows usually feature demolition derbies,
on September 3, 4, 5, and held on the Labor Day car races, stock car races or a show. Sundays usual-
weekend continually for 42 years. In 1960 the Labor ly feature truck or tractor pulls, with rock and roll
Day weekend date was changed to July. bands.
August Spitzer was responsible for starting horse Horse races have taken a back seat for today's
racing. A.M . Hoppe was on the original board of di- stock car races and demolition derbies.
rectors, and served many years. August Fenske, El- Building improvements continued in 1935 with a
roy Hoppe's grandfather on maternal side, was also new addition to the education exhibit building, in
on the board of directors for several years. 1939 platform was enlarged, a new bandstand erect-
Julius Cahn was secretary from 1918 to 1948 when ed, and in 1962 construction proceeded for a t/ 4
Elroy Hoppe took over after being Julius' assistant mile track for midget and stock car races, built in-
for two years. Julius and Elroy were the only two side the 1-mile track.
secretaries in the 64 year history of the Fair. In 1970 a windstorm ripped the roof off the
John DuChateau Sr. was named to the board of 40'x220' grandstand, scattering boards over the fair-
d irectors after the second Fair in 1920, and was lat- grounds. Two light poles were uprooted, but the
er president, a post he relinquished because of ill judges' stand in front of the grandstand was not
health. He stayed on the board of directors until his touched by the storm.
death in 1964. A quonset hut was added, and in 1980 two new
In 1959 John Schwab Jr. became president and cattle barns were added making for a more comfort-
served for many years in that capacity. He was suc- able environment for the animals.
ceeded as preside nt by George V. Gregor, and later
by John Duchateau Jr. who became preside nt seven
years ago.
In 1917 the Racing Association rented a 15 acre
tract of land from Anton Kollross to make a race
track. In 1914 carpenters erected a fence surround-
ing the Fairgrounds, and in 1921 the building project
included a n ew cattle barn 46'x81' , ho rse barn
34'x86', poultry shed 26'x50', farm produce 30'x60',
hog pens, band stand, secretary's office, and a 100'
extension to the grandstand. In 1918 the race track
was torn up to give it a better foundation. A grand-
stand was build in 1928 under the direction of
President Spitze r. In 1931 a stable 84'x38' was de-
stroyed by fire caused by defective wiring near the
chimney. Nine valuable race horses per ished in the
fire. Loss was estimated at between $8,000 and $10,
000. One horse was saved, "Scott McKinley" owned
by the Luxemburg Trotting Association.

KEWAUNEE IMPLEMENT CO. In 1945 his son Edward took over his father busi-
ness and operated the market until 1966 when ill
jerry Wierer Sr. of Kewaunee came to Luxemburg health caused his retirement, at which time the
in :1955 to conduct his business under the name of place was closed.
Kewaunee Implement Co. A new building was con- The two apartments in the building are now occu-
structed. selling John Deere equipment. pied by Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Mary Wilcox] Bins
Employees include Jerry Wierer Jr.. John Wierer, their two children, with Guy Wilcox and Peter De-
Marge Wierer and Francis Mincheski. tain in the upper fl at.

Georg«J Koh /bt;Jck Sr., Kohlbec l1 Meot Mar.k1;1t

King Socker Motel was constructed in 1966 by
Cletus Seidl. The un it consisted of 6 units with dou-
ble beds. Bob and Georgia Maleski owned and
managed the motel fo r 10 years. They came from
Warren, Michigan whe re Bob worked for the re-
creation and forestry department. They named the
business after their poodle, King Socker.
The motel was sold to Dr. William Iwen, who
converted it into a denta l office in 1976.

George Kohlbeck started the first butcher shop in
South Luxemburg in 1895. He came from Germany
with his parents, the Lawrence Kohlbecks, when he
Kohlbeck Meal Murket. George Kohlbeck fomily in front. The
was 11 years ago. After being employed by a Mr. two customers arn not identified.
Saboth in Kewaunee, where he learned the trade,
he returned here.
H e purchased a half-acre of land from Jacob
Spitzer, and having acquired the equipment upon
retirement of his form er employer, began the busi-
ness which he conducted for 70 years.
Since there was no refrigeration in 1895 the ice
he need ed was brought from Scarboro mill pond.
He bought 40 acres of land in 1905 from Jacob
Spitzer and dug a pond which was spring fed. This
spring water was idea l for clear pure ice, and sup-
plied George with more than he needed. Being a
generous man he supplied the neighboring hotel and
taverns with ice.
In order to establish a strong business he began a
meat route to New Franken, Bay Settlement and
Casco. As his business increased he was unable to
continue his meat route.
Improvements were made, the sausage kitchen KOLLERS KORNERS
was enlarged and a second fire proof smoke house
was constructed. The old ice box was made with a In 1931 Anthony Dhuey erected a service station
heavy wooden door a nd on top there was space for on the corner of highway 54 a nd 163. Joh n Hallet
ice to keep the meat cold. The ice was stored in joined the busin ess and the two operated the station
straw in the barn . for a few years before turning iL into a tavern. The
Some people still remember when George would part of the stati on formerly used for washing and
go to Spitzer's saloon after church with a pan of hot greasing cars was converted into a bar room. In
sausage and a loaf of rye bread selling them for 5¢ connection to running the tavern Anthony and Joh n
and an extra nickel bought a tall beer. also operated the gas pumps.

The business was sold to Alvin Krause and The first business place e rected after the railroad went through
George Joniaux of Casco in '1927. During February was the' Hoilroucl I-louse. built by /ules Petry and Peter Boucher
for Hector Bone her the owner and ptoprielOr for many years.
of the following year burglars looted the Commo- The nurn<' was fote r changed to Wisconsin /-/oust~ . and sold to Tos
dore Bar taking a large quantity of whiskey, cigar- Linunoye r (Linzmeier}. J\t t irlH~S it housed o store. jeweler, har-
ettes and cash. They took the most expensive brand ness shop. shoe store, bonk, one/ on attorney's office. People on
of whiskey and in a previous robbery broke into the picture hu ve not been ide ntified.
vending machines. The next month burglers again
tried to enter the tavern but were frightened away
by the alarm.
It was about this time Alvin decided to get out of
the tavern business and sold the establishment to
john Delwich. john and his wife Alvina operated
the tavern and gas pumps until 1953 when john
died. His wife and daughter Pearl ran the business.
Pearl married and Alvina carried on alone until she
retired and sold the property to Julius Lipsky in
1971. The Lipsky's ran the tavern a few years even-
tually selling to the present owners, the Koller fam -

The profession never quite found a permanent
home in Luxemburg. The first known lawyer was a
W. A. Cowell who had an office in the American
house. In later years the village was served by
lawyers from neighboring communities who had of-
The Wisconsin House was built by Peter Boncher
fice hours in the Bank.
as a saloon and store. It was the first business place
In 1958 Harold Fager and Alvin Kloett stayed for
built down town. It was operated in 1892 by Hector
about 2 years. During 1955 Robert Petitjean held of-
Boncher. and in the 1897-1907 period by Oliver De-
fice hours a few days a week in a section of the old
Wisconsin House. In the 1970's Mark Converse held
Camille Stage ran the business during 1909, and
a n office in Mrs. Stella Cravillion's house. The of-
two years later his Mother, Victoria, purchased the
fice used to be Curley's barber shop. At the present
building from Joseph Linzmeier. At this time it was
time Luxemburg is again served by attorney's from
called the Luxemburg Buffet. Camille installed a 16-
the surrounding towns.
foot bar of oak wood, a 4' x 4' plate glass mirror, an
ice box, and a new Sublima Piano. In 1912 burglars
LEMENS HARDWARE INC. entered and carried out the cash register containing
$22.00. The bar which Camille installed is now in
The store was built in 1950 by George Lemens, use in the lower level of Northbrook Golf Course.
who operated it as a Gamble Store. He previously In 1917 Felix Bonj ean purchased the bui lding and
worked for Farmers Trading. He was born in Tone! ran it until 1921 when Camille Barbiaux purchased
and started work in Luxemburg in 1930. He pur- the establishment from Mr. Bonjean for $12,000. He
chased the land from Gerhardt Libal. In 1970 his also made improvements. His pet proj ect was the
two sons Harold and Leonard took over the busi- construction of three concrete steps, with the follow-
n ess. In 1977 the Gamble Franch"ise was dropped in ing included in the work force.
favor of Hardware Hank Franchise. The store con- "Tiger" Barbiaux, head contractor; j oe Romuald,
sists of 4200 feet of floor space containing hardware. head carpenter; john Kelnhofer, mason: Blah Bar-
television and appliances. biaux, concrete mixer; john DuChateau, inspector;
Present employees are Harold, his wife Berdina, John Nellis, refreshment committee chairman; Gus
and son Jerome; Leonard, his wife Janice, son Paul, Moede, director of tool procurment; John Schwab
and daughter Patti; sister Lucille Barbiaux, and Bri- Sr., shovel borrower; Dr. Happel, chie f consultant
an Berg, television repairman. and advisor; also loitering in the background was
The first hardware store in Luxemburg was run "Beige" VanDrisse, who had the gang insured and
by Herbert Cepek in 1938, where the old post office was standing by for the insurance company in case
was located. of accident; materials used on the job; 1 barrel of

concrete, 112 yard of gravel. 1 barrel of water, 60' of
lumber, 11z lb. nails, 2 wheel barrows, 1 case of
beer, 1 qt. whiskey, and 2 cuts chewing tobacco.
William Miesler came to Luxemburg and built a
Later Mr. Barbiaux sold the tave rn to F red Dollar,
blacksmith shop and livery stable in 1905. During
who in turn sold it to Gerhardt A. Libal. The next
1928 the old building was dismantled and replaced
owner was Art Adams, and upon his death the busi-
with a modern brick building housing a garage.
ness again reverted to Gerhardt Libal. The tavern show room and stock room.
then was operated by Harold and Bernice Beilke.
In 1909 a concrete sidewalk was laid in front of
The property was recently sold to Harold Lemens,
the garage by William Martin, and in 1913 the plank
who is presently re modelling it for the display of
floor in garage was replaced by one of concrete.
applia nces.
That same yea r Wm Miesle r and Ed Kelliher were
Wisconsin House with proprietor ComiJle Stoge behind the bar. agents for the Hupmobile cars.
Patron not identified. The bur is today in use at Northbrook In 1921 the firm changed their name to Luxem -
Countrr Cluh on the lower level. burg Garage. They acquired the agency for Ford
cars. Harry Everard of Tone! and Harry Dennison
were employees. A fireproof addition was added to
the rear of the building. David Hunt who had been
an employee, resigned. During '1924 the snowmobile
which has been placed in use by the garage, since
the roads were impassable by automobile, created
much interest wherever it was seen. The Standard
Oil Agency held by Wm Miesler the past 13 years,
changed h ands, with Joseph Linzmeier taking over
the agency. Mr. Linzmeier previously worked for
Hagemeister Food Products Company.
After William Miesler's untimely death in 1931,
the garage was operated periodically by John Peot.
Louis Sell, and Peter Alsteen.
Ben Krueger and Mr. Blazei purchased the ga-
rage. The latter stayed only a short time, but Ben
conducted the Krueger Ford Garage for 19 years, as
owner and manager.
Emil Lohrey was a longtime employee of the firm.
The building was leased to Orville Gillis who ran
it as a hardware store for a short time, and in 1973
Al Batten conducted business at this location until
LEROY'S GENERAL STORE he built a larger building on high way 54.
The building remained vacant for several yea rs
T he Gosin fa mily bu ilt and operated the store for
and in 1981 Libert's leased the building and are op-
many years before Frank Bredael purchased the
erating as a parts store for cars and trucks.
business. The next owners were Mr. and Mrs. E J
Messier in 1925. They ran the store until 1932 when
C. M. Duchaine purchased the business. One year
Seot11d beside Wlllium is his wife. Pusst1ngers not identificnl.
later Fred Borley purchased the stock a nd building
and ran the store for a few years. Rudolph Reoh of
Amberg was the next proprietor. Tony Virlee and
family then purchased the store. The Virlee's stayed
in the business for 7 years passing the establishment
on to Walter Derenne. Walter and his wife were in
the store l 1/2 years before Clarence Blahnik pur-
chased the business in 1950. From January of that
year until . September of 1969 the store was under
their ownership. Bernard Leroy's bought the store
and adjoining property. They run the business today
with the help of their family.

Louis built a general store in 1903 and operated it
for a few years before he moved to Sherry to work
as a cheesemaker. The post office was located in Joseph Pilz built the tavern and a ch eese factory
on his farm in 1882 and ran the establishment, as
th e south section of the building.
Charles B Zelln er began his harness shop in the well as a store next door, in partnership wi th Dan-
Liebl Building, moving to h is new shop in 1913. The doven & Ley. Three yea rs later he bought out his
next business to occupy the establishmen t was the partners and continued alone in the retail business.
Unique Theatre run by Frank Wawrika. During 1914 He was th e first postmaster while th e post office
a fire broke out in the engine room of the theatre was in South Luxemburg. The property was operat-
and treatened to destroy it along with the post office ed by the Michael Freeman family for a few years
next door. After 1917 the lease was up and the and later sold to Charles Linzmeier. It was convert-
theatre looked for another place to locate. ed into a hotel, saloon and dance hall. After Charles
During 1918 Mrs. Barbara Linzmeier opened a di ed many proprietors have managed the tavern in -
lunch room and h ired Philomene Kohlbeck as wait- cluding Ray Seidl, Woody Skilling who converted
ress. After two years she departed and Mr. & Mrs. the dance hall into living qua rters, H elen Albrecht,
Leonard LaPlan t leased the lunch room from Louis Eel LeCloux, Peter Kollross, Dennis Cherney, and
Liebl. Tom Karas to name a few. Today th e building is
In the mean time the post office relocated across empty except for Fritz Linzmeier who occupies the
the street and that part of th e building was operated living quarters. He is the last surviving member liv-
as a feed store during 1929. Next it was turned into ing under the roof that his father purchased many
a Gamble Store operated by Herbert Cepek, fol- years ago.
lowed by the next proprietor Elmer Mornard. There was a cider press housed in a frame build-
About 1930 the Cash Way Store opened its d oors ing behind th e smoke house on the Linzmeier farm .
with Anton Fl egel as manager and Ma ble as clerk. It was used only during th e fall of th e year wh en
Red Owl stores later bought out the Cash way line apple h arvest season arrived. People like john L.
and ran the store under the same manager eventual- Miller, Joseph Baierl and August Spitzer who had
ly moving next door to larger quarters. Since that la rge orchard s a t the ti me, plus m a n y oth e r s,
time the building has been vacant except for Ethel brought their bagged apples to be "pressed." They
and John Lie bl who occupied the apartment on the unloaded the bags and raised them to the second
second floor. floor with a rope and pulley. dumped them in to the
hopper which ground the apples and poured them
onto a conveyor like blanket which was filled and
l.1:(1 to righ t, Albert Liebl, Postmaster, 1\llrs. Liebl. unknown. £d-
folded from four sides to cover the apples. After se-
gw- Lit:b l. Mury Liebl ho/ding Ethe/ one/ Louis Ueb/. Louis ran
tlw :;lore. vera l of these blankets were fille d the platfo rm
which was on wheels, was moved to the other end
of the machine and a large press squeezed th e juice
out of the apples and dra in ed into a large tan k, with
a hose on the bottom, to fill the containers for
th irsty customers.
In the first years a gas engine was used, main -
tained on wheels with a saw rig as their source of
power. In later years they used a McCormick-Deer-
ing 10-20 tractor. - Cider Press described by Hank
In 1909 baseba ll games were played in the back
of the Lin zmeier saloon . Two of the teams partici-
pating were the South Side Giants and the North
Side Cubs. Joe Goldstein, a junk dealer used the
tavern as a site for junk pickup. Cha rlie Bower had
his photograph studio located just to the south of the
Many people have p assed through the tavern
doors making it a popular pl<1ce in its day. Today it
quietly awaits for another enterprising manager to
take over.

Mrs. Frances Linzme ier behind the bar with son foe in the fo r They have helped the community grow by bring-
corne r. The other person wos no t idcnlif ied. ·1910 or 1919.
ing new industries to the area. In 1942 they ar-
ranged for a uniform set of business hours for all
business places, they all agreed to open on Friday
night and close earlier on Saturday. The club assist-
ed active organization during the war years. Recrea-
tion programs were set up for the children, toys
were co llected for the armed forces and paper
drives were organized. In 1949 they helped put up
the tennis court and the street decorations at Christ-
mas time. The bookmobile was brought into Luxem-
burg for a few years. The club also sponsors the
The Presidents over the years have been:

1925 Clm rl es Pe ters 19B4 Rav Lieb l

1941 C;1rl Andre 1965 Lloyd Wink
1943 Ric hard Seidl 19()7 John Christo ffe rson
1948 E J Ocwa n e 1966 H aro ld Le me ns
1949 George N Ruec k! 1969 Louis Johnson
1950 Rny Dau l 1970 Elroy H oppe
1951 Elroy Hoppe 1971 Ray Mich a ls ki
1952 Leo na rd Leisch ow HJ72 Roger Lee
1953 Lo ui s Sell '1!173 Leo nard Le me ns
1954 Cletus Seidl 1974 Irvin Vin ce nt
1956 John Schwab 1975 James Miller
Stahl Band ploying for <1 wedding at Linzmeier's Hall. 1957 Gltm Nimmer '1976 Tom Rueck!
1958 Clem Barbiaux 1977 Walter Christoff
1959 George Dep rey 1978 Llovd Vin cen t
1960 Normnn VanDrisse 1979 Dr "!wen
1961 Gerald Simonar 19110 Garv Dalebroux
1962 Donald Sell 1961 Roger Beirl
1963 John Christofferson 1!182 Jim Tlnchnc
1963 Harold Behnke

Each year a dinner is held where the wives are

invited. During the first years a Thanksgiving dinner
was sponsored in November, but in recent years a
Christmas banquet is held the first Saturday in De-
cember. At this time awa rds are given out to the
outstanding citizens. The first Man of the Year
award was given out in 1963.
The following people have received such awards.

1963 John Sc:hwab. Sr

1964 John J Peot
Peter Coll e
Murci le McMcihon
1967 Louis Sell
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE 1968 Frank Kovalski. wi th Richard Seidl as Outstanding Citi-
1969 Dr E J Dewane
The first meeting of the Town and Country Club 1970 Leona rd Seidl
(n a me was changed to Luxemburg Cham ber of 1971 Blah Bnrbiaux-
Norman Vandrisse- Dusiness Award
Commerce) was held April 26, 1925 with Charlie Pe- 1972 George Lemens-
ters as President. Julius Cahn was Secretary and J Harold & Laura Peters- Community Service Award
1974 Dr II E f\fajcski-
M Bergen, Treasurer. john Gillis-Community Service Award
The purpose of this organization is to advance the 1975 Edward Goetsch-
Andy Anderson - Comnrnnily Award
commercial mercantile and manufacturing interests 1976 Elmer Vandrisse-
of the community. Also to improve civic and indus- Berl nnJ her Th1~ys-Community /\ward
1977 George N Rueckl -
tria l conditions. jonns nnd Lucille Bnrbinux- Communi ty Awn rd
Meetings are held at various places, bank base- '1 978 1-lnrold Lemens-
Gern ld & Carol SimMnr- Communi lv Aw;1rd
ment, church basements, local school halls, Legion 1979 Leo Seid l- •
building and taverns. Marvi n & Dorolhy Hoppe - Community /\ward

HJBO Cletus Se idl- In the late 1940's Dr. Brusky and Dr. Klobukar
Jim Marcks- Communi1 y Awa rd
198'1 Marvin Bins- practiced medicine in the offices above the Ameri-
Kay Vanclrisse-Community Award can House. Doctor Brusky left and Dr. Klobukar
'1982 Richard Crnevla-
Luxe mburg Fire Dept- Comrnu nily Award rented space next to Kubale's tavern. He joined in
partnership with Dr. Henry Majeski and they
opened their door to business on Main Street with
Elona Arendt as receptionist in 1950. Dr. Klobukar
left the following year.
LUXEMBURG CLEANERS A new clinic was built in 1958 by Clem Barbiaux
& TAYLORS and Elmer VanDrisse, on land purchased from Peter
Colle at 206 Main Street. The building was later
The land was purchased from the government in purchased by Dr. Majeski.
1885 by Johann Kaut and passed on to his son Ni- During 1960 Dr. Henry Rahr joined Dr. Majeski
cholas in '1876. Peter Boncher, A1ois Rueck1, Frank in the medical practice at the clinic. In 1981. Ber-
Treml, John J. Seidl. and August Martin purchased nard Kaimen joined as physician's assistant.
the land in 1904, and sold it to Joseph Roth two Some of th e long-tim e e mployees are, Elona
months later. (Arendt] Deprey. 31 years; Dodo Liebl, 28; Jean
Hector Bencher bought it in 1919 and sold to Wil- Hoppe 26; Marj Abts and Shirley Vandrisse 24; El-
liam Miesler, A.M. Hoppe and Hector Boncher. The len Baierl. 23; Lois Koss, 22; Linda Hoffman, 15;
Kewaunee County Agricultural Association bought it Linda Olson, 13; Ann Alsteen 1.2; and Shirley Nell,
later in March of 1919. 10. Recent employees include Ruth Arpin, Joan Da-
Victor Laurent purchased the land in Jun e of 1919 lebroux, Mary Jane Kinnard (she left 2 years ago]
and erected the first building, which he used to and Cathy Black. Irene Dalebroux has been taking
house his race horse and a veterinary office. In 1957 care of the cleaning duties for over 30 years.
A.P. Montie rented the building for a d ry cleaning
plant, and purchased the property in 1959.
During 1963 son Robert Montie and wife Natalie
purchased the business, remodeling and adding an
addition for living quarters and continued in the
business of dry cleaning and tailoring. LUXEMBURG
The Implement Company is today owned by Leo
LUXEMBURG CLINIC Seidl and sons Tom and Larry . In 1928 Leo's fa ther,
George Seidl, Sr joined the firm of Alfred Rueckl,
Luxemburg's first reside nt doctor was Dr. Felix George Rueck! and Edmund Rueckl, they sold and
Moreaux who practiced here from 1898 until 1930. repaired farm equipment.
He built a home at 425 Main Street where he also The property dates back to 1855 when Johann
had an office. Kaut owned the land. In 1910 Anton Grasse! pur-
Dr. Jessie L Bender served this community for a chased the property and erected a building. Owner-
short time, around 1912. He had his office at 1013 ship was transferred to Nick Spitzer, Michael Ley
Main Street in the home now owned by Tom Seidl. and Joseph Gotstein who operated the company un-
In 1919 Dr. M M DeCo1bert, a physician and sur- der the name of Spitzer-Ley Implement Company.
geon came to the area. His office was above the In 1916 Alfred and George Rueck] entered the firm
OKrush Hotel. He moved his office above the Han- and two years a fter Joseph Gotstein moved to Casco.
non Drug Store and later departed to Ellisville In 1928 the Luxemburg Implement and Luxem-
where he practiced for many months. bmg Motor companies merged with the Implement
During 1900 Dr. L J Halloin, a native of Lincoln, firm selling equipment and the Motor company selJ-
began his practice in that area and in 1924 moved ing cars. During 1950 Ray Daul purchased the Motor
his office to Luxemburg where he practiced for Company and the two companies again were run as
many years. independent business'.
Doctor Richard Jandrain, a native of Walhain, had
an office above the Jacques cash Market in 1933.
He bought the former Hector Boncher residence on
Main Street and practiced there until his death at
age 56.

Luxe mburg Implement Compun y tvith the Srnkc1 foundry located In 1924 Louis Rueckl purchased the controlling in-
lo the lt:{I. The founclry tvus torn down and the I mplemcnt Com- terest, and later he and his sons Lawrence, Michael,
pany 1!11/argvd.
Louis Jr., and Edward, purchased the entire build-
ings in th e company. After the death of Louis
Rueckl, son Lawrence Rueck! ran the mill for many
years. Lawrence was succeeded after his death, by
his son Arthur in running the firm .
The mill covered an area nearly one city block in
length in 1953 and its produce of flour and other
commodities reached a radius of 200 miles from the
Fire struck a second time in 1972, and completely
gutted the brick building which has been leased to
Richard Charles at the time. A huge grain elevator
connected to the mill was saved.
A group of five men, Dr. Majeski, Clem Barbiaux,
Len Seidl, john Christofferson and Dr. Scheible,
formed a corporation and continued operation under
the same name under the management of John
Christofferson, a former Luxe mburg-C asco high
school instructor from 1951 to 1963. They operated
LUXEMBURG until 1975 when the Patel brothers purchased the
Present employees besides Walter Christoff and
Mr. and Mrs. Walter Christoff and sons Dennis .;:m Robert, are Alois Zellner. Gaylord Flavion, Joe
and Robert are the new owners of the Luxemburg Zellner, David LeGrave, and Marian Dahlke, book-
Milling Co. They purchased the firm in December keeper.
1982 from the brothers Pravin and Sudhir Patel.
Excavation for IJouchcr and Kaut Mill. Sce ne faces southeast.
The Patel Brothers, originally from Kenya, Africa, Koul farm an<) St. Mury's Church steepfo in background.
operated the firm from 1975 until December 1982.
Mr. Christoff had been employed with the firm for '
eighteen years.
The original building which housed the equipment
necessary to grind flour and serve as a rolling mill
dated back to 1903 when Dan Rhode and Jos. Bur-
mesiter of Kewaunee put up the building at a cost
of $725. It was known as the Bouche-Kaut Milling
Co. The office area during the early yea rs of the
mill consisted of a 12 x 8' wooden structure.
Dur in g 1903 a group of men namely, Peter
Boucher, Nick Kaut. john J Seidl, August Martin, Jo-
seph Baierl and Frank Treml, pooled their resources
and formed a stock company. J. W. Mohr supervised
the work of installing machinery while the mill was Luxembu rg Grain Co. Elevator /uly 3. rn12 Formers were th e
under construction . H e remained with the firm until stockholders
1917 with Charles Hoebrecks as grain buyer. In 1904
the firm purchased from Naegle Engine and Boiler
Works 10x12 automatic engine for the price of $920.
July of 1912 fire destroyed the mill and by Sep-
tember 12th it was rebuilt.
While the war was waging in Europe in 1917 and
the demand for grains al a peak, the Milling Com-
pany expanded by selling more stock and with the
added capital purchased the Cargill Grain Company.
August Salmon was local grain buyer for Cargill for
5 years. and Felix VanDrisse worked for the Luxem-
burg Grain Company until 1926.

I nside Luxemburg Motor Company . L. to fl. George Ruec k/. Ed
Luxemburg Groin Co. Elevator Sept. 3. 11112 Rueck/ ond Richard Ruec k!.

Wilfred and Virgil Massart with sons Dennis and
Alan are the present owners of the Luxemburg Mo- On the afternoon of February 26, 1909 the first re-
tor Company. They purchased the business on De- gular edition of the Luxemburg News was prin ted,
cember 31, 1960 from Ray Daul. They deal in the with Friday as publication day.
sale and repair of fa rm machinery. Other employees In 1908 G. I. McDonald of Algoma came at irreg-
of the firm are Martin Dejardin, Alvin Doell, Bill ular intervals to print an issue, but soon sold his in-
Simon, Randy Jorgenson, and Gladys Ciha, as book- terest to John Fameree. August Salmon was editor
keeper. for a short time with John Bonche r as assistant edi-
The Motor Company dates back to 1855 when the tor, and H. E. Rothe as manager.
land was owned by Johann Kaut who sold the prop- john Fam eree continued as manager until Albert
erty to Joseph Gotstein and Joseph Roth in June of Karel of Kewaunee purchased the newspaper. Al-
1901. Gotstein and Roth operated a foundry and ma- bert's son, John, managed the firm until 1912 then
chine shop which was sold to Peter Liebl and Mel - Otto Kaye of Luxemburg took over as editor until
choir Peot. After a short time Melchoir left the busi- 1917 when he en listed in the Army. The Luxemburg
n ess and Juliu s Retzlaff joined the firm . The News was moved into the Vandrisse building on
business was then sold to Edward Srnka who ran it Main Street in 1912, the form er Sinkler Jewelry
as the Luxemburg Garage and Iron Works. The store. Earl Balza then took over the duties of editor
building was again sold and dismantled in 1921. and served until the fall of 1937 when C. F. Temby
The Luxemburg Motor Company was organized of Kewaunee purchased the paper. November 26,
with August Spitzer as President and Ted Diestel- 1937 the first issue was printed with Mr. Tem by as
horst as secretary during April of 1921. The concern ed itor. Later his wife, Mabel joined the staff as ed i-
was formed to carry on a garage, auto repair and torial writer.
machine shop. Michael Schroeder was a longtime In 1939 Mr. Temby purchased a warehouse from
employee, others included Lawrence Krumpos , Kieweg Peters Co. and remodeled it into a business
Frank Sucharski, and Walter Bragger. place with the Luxemburg Manufacturing doing the
During 1928 A Grasse! and Company, with George n ecessary repairs. The first 1inotype machine was
Rueck!, Jr joined into partnership. They sold Chev- installed. This type of machine set type mechanical-
rolet and Nash cars and farm machinery. ly. previously it was all don e by hand. Also the
In February of 1934 interest in the company was News was printed on an old cylinder press driven
so ld to William Be lter, who along with George by a gasoline engine and when the engine went out
Rueckl. Jr and son operated the car dealership until of commission, the press had to be turned by hand.
1950 when William Belter sold his interest to Ray The newspaper went from letterpress printing to
Daul. Ray and his son Harold sold Pontiac cars and offset in 1977 and was printed in the Door County
operated the business until Ray died. Advocate office at Sturgeon Bay.

Natalie Montie served as reporter of village board Eugene Kiley
and school board proceedings fo r several years. She Stella Miller
was succeeded by Kenneth Paider, who, upon retir- Glen Mohr
eme nt from the Luxemburg Manufacturing Co ., Evelyn Nimmer
joined the news in that capacity. Selma Nimmer
Irene Schultz served the Luxemburg News for 38 Albert Nuhlicek
years, many of them as editor of the paper. Olga Clarence Nimmer
Schwab served the paper as office manager and Edward Nuhlicek
then edit or until 1980 when she left to join Mildred O'Neil
Schwab's Shoe Store. Jeanne Bruenning took over Eva Peot
the duties as office manager in 1980. William Peot
Ione Peters
Lorna Peters
HEATING, INC. Edward Radue
Lawrence Radue
William Hermans began the business in January Annie Salmon
1963 from the 406 Oak location, with his son Larry Frank Salmon
Hermans working for him. Another son, Wayne Mary Salmon
Hermans began working for them in 1968. Albert Schunke
A building was put up on Center Drive, Highway Delia Schunke
54, and in December 1979, they moved to the new Fred Schunke
location. Wayne H ermans took over the business Amanda Toebe
September 1980, and Donna Hermans is in charge Ellen Toebe
of the office. Selma Toebe
Viola Toebe
Edna Trudell
Effie Vandenhouten
The first school in the village was held in the Joe Vandenhouten (48)
front part of the Fameree Building, and known as
District 8. (Today the home of Ronald Kollross, on Thomas Klemich was principal of the local grade
Main Street] The district was created out of districts school in 1913. The first school board of the Public
3, 5 and 7 in 1906. A new building was erected of 2 School consisted of Charles L Peters, Clerk who
rooms in 1908 on Maple Street. A second floor was filled that office from 1907 to 1919. Dr. Felix Mor-
added in 1915 for the high school classes. eaux was Treasurer from 1907 to 1911 and again
In 1906-07, District 8, Public School of Luxemburg from 1914 to 1931. John L Miller was director, 1907-
had the following students. 1924.
First school in 1he v illage with Ed Kelliher as the teacher.
Arthur Alsteen
John Alsteen
Rose Arpin
Mike Bencher
Wilbur Boncher
Anton Colle
Joseph Colle
Mike Colle
Raymond Colle
Minnie Dalebroux
Alice DeBauch
Laura DeBauch
Joe DeBauch
Lester Dishmaker
Laura Elf ner
Mathilda Elfner
Dan Gengler
Nora Fameree

George Zellner was the first High School Princi- been won many times in this athletic adventure. In
pal with a class of 9 students. He was followed by 1974-75 Cross Country won first and in :1982 they
Bernard Madden, Frank Woodworth and Ruth were state champions.
Yates. From 1917 to 1937 Charles F Teske was prin- In the 1950's there was talk of consolidation of
cipal. George V Gregor took over in fall of 1937 un- Luxemburg and Casco High Schools, and this was
til 1966 when he retired after serving 29 years as finally achieved in 1968 with the building of a Sen-
principal and 47 years as a teacher. He started ior High School. A new school had been built in
teaching at Luxemburg in 1924. Luxemburg in 1962 which became the Senior High
In the beginning the course of study included his- and Casco High is the Junior High School. With the
tory, civics, algebra, arithmetic, geometry, grammar, enlarged enrollment the school was placed in a new
physics, botany, physiolgy, penmanship, bookkeeping football conference called Packerland Conference.
and manual training. In 1970 Men's Golf started under the direction of
Luxemburg, being a rural school prided itself in Wm Ehren and it didn't take long for the girls to get
the fact that its curriculum is planned to meet rural in on the action and form their own team.
needs. with courses in animal husbandry, farm shop There have been no great disasters at the school,
work and farm management. It was one of the first but during a thunderstorm in 1919 a bolt of lighten-
schools in this area to introduce the training of on- ing struck the school and broke three windows. For-
the-farm veterans. This work started in March of tunately this happened after school had b een dis-
1946 on a part-time basis under the direction of missed. Before 1935 there were no indoor toilet
George Gregor with a maximum of four veterans, facilities. They were added that year along with the
namely Sylvester Reuter, Donald Bellin, Leo Dorner showers at a cost of $10,000, (this included leveling
and John Mornard. the grounds also.]
By 1930 the enrol1ment was 104 students and by Most classes have their own class reunions, but in
1942 it grew to 136. Today in 1982 there is an en- 1956 a committee of Ray Liebl, E J Dewane, Elroy
rollment of 551 pupils in Senior High. Hoppe. Len Seidl, Art Peot and George Gregor put
The first graduating class consisted of 5 students, together a grand class reunion of al1 the classes,
Mike Boncher, Vida Peters, Melvin Dishmaker, Stel- starting with the fi rst one, up to 1956.
la Miller, and Sylvester Peat. Following is a list of teachers from 1907 to 1982.
The school's athletic program has made the school
known through out the state. Championships in the Ed j Kelliher 1907
early years in foo tball were won in 1944-45-46-47- Charles F Teske 1908-1937, Gmtry, Hist, Agr
50-51, most of them under the direction of Anton 17 years Principal (1920-1937)
Anderson, assisted by Frank Chalupa. De lilah Mericle 1909
Basketball as a sport was inaugurated in 1919 with Martyn Bacon 1909-11
the first squad composed of Hector Boncher, Joseph (Principal 1 year
Stage, LeRoy Miller, Roy Hrabik. Quentin Arpin, grade School)
Harvey Schakett, LeRoy Miller, Frank Mazanetz Alice Gerhart 1910
and Andrew Suehs. In 1925-26 season the team lost Madeline Meyer 19'11
only two games in regular play. Luxemburg had an- Hedwig Lineau 1911-12
other championship team in 1927-28 when they won Harry Lampman 1913
16 games losing only 6. During 1932 season the Rose Shestock 1915-16
basketball team ended a successful season with 206 George Zellner 191.5-principal
points. High scorers were, Barbiaux 63, Leischow 58,
Liebl 56, Peot 24, Zellner 3 and Moede 2.
Wrestling started in 1925 under George Gregor's 1916
direction and developed further under the leader- Bernard Madden (*3) Alg, Engl,
ship of Frank Chalupa. Championships were earned Principal 1916
many times.
In 1947 the Home Ee program was introduced 1918
with Dorothy Kelm as the first teacher. The music Florence D Tomkiewica (3) Engl, Sc
course has expanded with the need for two teachers F G Woodworth (2) Civ, Engl
instead of only one. Principal 1917-18
As the years marched along more courses and ac- Ruth Yates (2) Hist, Alg, Phy
tivities were added, girls basketball, forensics, Dra- Principal 1919
ma, baseball, volleyball, so ftball. In 1953 track start- Esther Long (4) Hist, Engl
ed with the use of the race track on the fairgrounds Irene Harling (3) H ist, Engl
in the first competition meets. Championships have Irma Barkhousen (5) Arith, Geo, Bkpg

142 • - number nf ye;irs at Luxemburg High.

1919 1949
Ruth Johnson (1) Pnms hp, Engl Leila Boerschel (2) H om e Ee
Emma Laars (4) Blgy, Engl, Gmtry Earl Sherman (2) Engl, Drama, Lbr
1920 1950
Leone Masse (9) Engl Irene Bosman (2) Engl, Lbr
Ann a Nowak (9) Typ, Stngr Dorothy Flom (1) Comm
1924 Andrew Kashn ig (2) Band. Chorus
George V Gregor (42) Phy, Blgy, Agr. Sc Willis Mittlesteadt (2) Vet Tr
Sister M Constance, Alg, Engl, Sc, Civ Jean Napiecenski (1 ) H ome Ee
1925 Sara Steinberg (1) H ist, Engl
Marion Boedecker (5) Frank Blhowiak (4) Agr
Nellie Ra mstead (5) Comm, Typ 1951
1926 John Christofferson (12) Voe Vet
Emma Naser (1) Ag, Civ, Engl, Sc Cletus Maccoux (1 ) Vet Tr
1927 Mary Pischke (2) Engl, Speh, Lbr
Edith Applebee (5) Cvs, Engl Mary Shadewald [2) Phy Ed. Blgy
Wm C Gronwig [7) Typ, Comm 1952
1930 Anthony Greco [4) Band
Mildred Claridge [5) Div, Engl John Wierman (2) Engl
Louis Welk (7) Music Joan Christman (2) Comm
1931 Eugene Waterstreet (4) Ma th, Phy Ed, Phys
Bernice Emmert (4) Typ, Bkkp, Stngr Charmaine Lee (1) Engl, Chorus
Ruth Loomis (4) Civ, Engl, Hist Patricia Pie r (1) Home Ee
Eugen e Jentges (7) Comm 1953
1932 Barbara Berendt (2) Ch orus. Engl
E Dietlein (7) Engl, Civ, Hist Jennie Neuman (2) Comm, Lbr
1934 N Miller (1) Phy Ed, Blgy
Lester Arnold (9) M ath, Phy, Blgy. Athl Jennie Roberts (4) Comm
1937 Shirley Scheerer (2) Home Ee
Eunice Hannon [38) H ist Edythe Siegel (1) Engl, Lbr
Marjoire Patterson (2) Music Edna Brown (15) Bkkp
Nora Culver (4) Engl. Speh Marilyn Krieser [18) Comm
Marielian Mette] (1). Engl Warren Adamson [3) Che m, Phy, Blgy
Ruth Wawrika [5) Stngr 1954
1945 Donald Schimm els [28) Libr
Vivian Heidman (2) Comm Patricia Potter (1) Engl
Ruth Strehlow (2) Engl, Math, Speh, Lbr Lucille Kotas (3) Engl
Amydee Carr (2) Band, Chorus Eugene Schlichting (4) Voe Music
Anton Anderson (37) Geog, Sc, Atlh Frank Fentres [1) Agr
Juanita Current (1) Engl, Drama 1955
1946 Dorothy Seidl (12) Chorus. Engl
Melville Sands (2) Engl, Drama Barbara Gallagher (1) Comm, Engl
1947 Barbara Berendt (2) Engl
Dorothy Kelm (1) Home Ee Jean Neuman (2) Comm
Frank Chalu pa (25) Sc. Alg, Ch em, Geom, Athl Betty Rose (2) Engl
E Red ing (2) Engl, Lbr, Speh Janet (Sch eckel) M arcks (3) Home Ee
Arthur Kelm (2) Agr James Marcks (27) Agr
1948 1956
Ad ele Sund berg (1) Comm David Bau mgartn er (27) Comm
Harlan Wunsch (2) Ag Vet Arline Mayer (1 ) Comm
Isabelle (Mastrocola) Halloin (2) Chorus. Band Russell Fam eree (26) Phy Ed, Geo, Athl
1948 Gerald Abitz (4) Agr
Marion Thielke (2) Engl. Lbr James Uyed a (1) Ban d
Dorothy Braun (3) H ist, Engl, Drama Robert Mayer (l ) Math
Leonard Green (3) Comm Thomas McDonald [1) Hist

1957 1968 Consolidation of Luxemburg-Casco
Tom Barthel (8) Simulator Donna Zastrow (1) Home Ee
Robert Pitcher (1) Blgy Dian e Glass (1) Phy Ed
Rodney Paulsen (2) Hist Steve Kander [7) Gmtry
J Wonoski (2) Home Ee Mary Goenrich (1) Home Ee
Effie Doering (1) Engl Helen Wolf [1) Engl
Robert Nej edlo (3) Engl Nancy Ymk [3) Art
Richard C I-Ienckel (12) Band Ken Viste (3) Supervisor
Chester Meissner, Administra tor to 1977
Leonard Klappau r (5) Math
Michael Lover (13) Ind Arts
Joseph Fierst (24) Engl
Gerald Krause (1) Hist, Exchange Teacher
1960 1969
Mark H uibregtse (2) Blgy, Ch em Gerald G illispie (1) Ind Art. Blgy, A thl
Roger Lee (14) Agr. Mech Robert Kirk (2) Athl
1961 Priscilla Koenigs (3) Phy Ed
Julie McNaughton (1) Home Ee john Caylor (2) Speh
David McNaughton (2) Incl Arts Roger Bader (1) Music
George Shefdore (3) Blgy, Chm Judith Cheslock [1] Engl. Art
Janet Magnin (2) Home Ee David Ehren (13) Ban d
Alyce VanRoy (1) Engl Sandra Ehren (13) Comm
Glenn Koehler (21) Hist j Cavy (1) Home Ee
Lyle Noell (8) Hist, Engl 1970
Zin ta Liepens (2) Grmn, Engl
1962-New High School
Florence Kasten (8) Latin, Engl Kathy Miller (5) Spnsh, Hist
Rich ard Barberg (20) Ind Art, Dr Ed Sue Hyndman (12) Chorus
David DeWan (1) Hist David Miller (5) Math, Hist
Irving Gabrilska (3) Ind Art 1971
Nancy (Roberts) Erickson (4) Engl Armaine Vandenack (2) Art
Max Falkowski (11) Ag, Mech
1963 Linda Miller (9) Drama, Engl, Speh
Fred Yagod inski (19) Guid Cl 1972
Michael Schanhofer (19) Engl. Athl Mrs. Weaseman (1) Engl. Hist, Blgy
Alphin Erickson (6) Math Richard Felt (1) Dr Ed
1964 Randy Jilot (10) Hist, Athl Engl
Zi Hyung Sa (1) Voe Music Kay Grega th [1) DECA, Type
Gene Stroobants (1) Math Linda Moudry (7) Sports, Phy Ed
Frank Dakins (18) Blgy, Dr Ed Mark Annoye (9) Art
Ruth Schmitz (1) Home Ee Annual Advisor 1978
1965 1973
Robert H erlach e (2) Ind Arts Bonnie Schanhofer (4) Engl, Spnsh
Barbara Nowak (2) Phy Ed Frank Steffen (1) DECA
john Werner (17) Athl Mr. Sweeney (3) Dr Ed
1966 Monica H elmenstien (3) Grmn, Math
Beverly Hunsberger (16) Engl Donald Robertson (4) Ind Art
Anthony Polich (3) Guiel Coun Pat Staege [8) DECA. T yp
Richard Vanderbloemen (l) Music Dennis Iverson (3) Spec Ed
Carol Kloes (2) Home Ee 1975
Rose Marie Kriese (2) Home Ee Ms Beatty, (1) Drama,
Wm Gaecke (3) Ind Arts, Ma th Nancy Woelful (4] Hist, Athl
Chester Popke (2) Administrator Nancy Frank (7) Hist, Sc
1967 1976
Kristi Zellmer (2) Grmn, Speh Dan Bouch e (6) Athl
Alice Schmidt (1) Phy Ed Mrs. Rabeler (2) Math, Alg
William Ehren (15) Sc, Che m, Phy Michael Baehman (5). Geom. M ath
Robert Shepherd (13) B1gy jean Tice (5) Engl, Spnsh

1978 Carol Zimmer-5th
JoAnn Jensen (4] Home Ee Judd Francken-6th
Emil Kuhn (4) Athl Robert Garfinkel-6th
Ray Tillman (3] Administrator Tom Werner-6th
1979 Jon Wienke-6th
Miss Babcock (3) Math, Geom
Colleen Flavion (2] Phy Ed THE CARE TAKERS
1980 A thank you. to a ll those early rising, patient,
Jeff Oalleman (2) Blgy, Consv brave, long suffering bus drivers. Without their help
Karen Heslink (1) Music the students would have to walk to school. The fleet
1981 started with 3 buses in 1946 and grew to a fleet of
Barry Tushkowski (1) Math over 40 in 1982, with Don Dax as the head mechan-
Ms Zastrow (8) Libr ic.
Debbie Marcelle (1) Drama The office work a t the Senior High is taken care
Madeline Dhuey (27) Home Ee of by Charlotte Jera beck, and Lynn Vandervest. At
She taught as Casco High before coming to Jun ior high Doris Stoller takes care of the secretarial
Luxemburg-Casco in 1968 (1951-1978) duties. The elementa ry school is served by Myra
The 1982 year began with a new principal at Senior Schimmels with Edna Hannaman and Evie Rass as
High, Wayne Carroll. the district secreta ries.
In 1976 a new grade school was built on land When the new school was built a lunch room was
next to the Senior High School in Luxemburg. All included to provide hot lunches for the hungry stu-
the grade schools in the district now bus their stu- dents. Both the elementary and junior high also
dents one grade school. The following teachers are serve hot lunch. Each school has custodians to clean
at the grade school, 1982. and make repairs where necessary. Back in the be-
Steve Pearson, Elementary Principal ginning of high school Bert and Esther Theys did all
Thomas Henrich, Guide Counselor the necessary work for many years.
Lee Clasen-Music Following is a brief story of some of the grade
Carol Bourgeois-Title I schools that closed when the new elementary school
Mary Hussey-Rem Read was built.
Patricia johansen-L D
Bonnie Last- Sp Ed Crnchl School built about 1908.
Kathy LeClair-Libr
Monica Schleis- EMR
Christine Steinhagen- Art
Renee Tushkowski-EC, Speh
Joan Fameree-Kdgn
Renee Werner-Kdgn
Cheryl Dequaine-1st
Tana Lineau-1st
Diane Olson-1st
Ellen Schneider- 1st
Julie Baierl. 2nd
Dorothy Dahlke-2nd
Jane Schneider-2nd
Photo shows the mldition built in 1915. 'flw gl'ode and Jiigh
Cheryl DeNamur-3rd school were in onr;: building.
Michelle DuChateau- 3rd
Linda Jerabek- 3rd
Ellen Mathu-3rd
Jacquelin Yon-3rd
Mary LaRoche-4th
Helen Neville-4th l
- ·' ·
...... ..

Lila Schlorf-4th
Mary West-4th
Linda Jonet-5th
Don na Morrow- 5th
Elizabeth Seidl-5th

Flora Hoppe, 1941-43
Marvin Kinnard, 1976-82
School board members from 1911 to 1982
Ardeal Ledvina 1958-82 (25)
Gerald Abitz, 1968-82
Fred Lohf, 1911-14
Bernard Allen, 1965-67
Chester Majeski, 1968-72
Clem Barbiaux, 1950-55
Joseph Mathu, 1970-78
Art C Bazlen, 1919-21
Killian Metzler, 1975-61
Phyllis Benz, 1977-82
Frank Michiels, 1970
Robert Bertrand, 1957-64
Harvey Mueller, 1969-75
Ioseph Boulanger, 1968-69 George Paider, Jr, 1957
La rry Bray, '1976
john J Peot, 1931-56 (25)
Vincent Delain, 1971-75
William Reckelberg, 1980-82
Donald Delebreau, 1977-81
julian Romauld, 1970-82
Ea rl DeMoulin, 1957-67
Donald Rueck], 1953-65
Arn old Dequaine 1977-82
George N Rueck!, 1943-50
Lloyd Drossart, 1968-69
Charles F Siedl, 1950-53
Orville Duescher, 1956
Ken Thiry, 1973-75
Anthony Du]ardin, 1962-69
Mark VanDonsel, 1976
Pearl Fletcher, 1968
Gordon Zemilka, 1944-51
E P Happel, 1924-44
Dale ]andrain 1982

Luxe mburg Graded School 1909- Top row I. to fl. G lenn Moore. V iola '/'oebe, Rose i\prin, l·:vo r eot. 1\urelio lvlille r. Lornu Pe!ers, Leno
Elfner, Arlene Rudue, Louro Del3auc:he, Selma 'l'oebe. Lester Dishmache r. Row 5-Pe te r Colle. Annie Salm on . .E nid Pc !ers. Cla re nce
Nimrn r: r, Edward Hodue, Pe ter /union, / ohn Salmo n, Ol!o Kaye. Eddil~ Arendt, Wilbur Houc lic~ r. /ulio n Frisk crnd Principal Morrin E Ba-
con. Flow 4-Mi/lo n Kuy(~. Nimme r, Ue bl, Annie /unio n. F:ddie /V!erens. Teocher. A lice Gerhart. How :J-A lvin OeCrame r,
Louis Sell. Albe rt Re !:daff. Abbie H oebrec kx. £sr.e lle Peot, Edith Alge rs. Vivia n Moreou x. Colle, Emmu Solman. Morlho Schwab.
Verna M.i/ler. Lorraine I loebreckx. Schun ke. Ce il C orot. Flo rella Liebl, Schu nke. Eleono r Toe be. Vida Pete rs. Row 2-
He1;duff, unknown, C lare nce Kaye. William Pea t. Joseph Stage. Eddie /V!ornurd, un know n, Melvin Nimmer. 1\lberl Schunke. un k-
nown. How 1- unknown. Q ue nlin Arpin, unkn ow n. Retzlaff. unknown, Balza, lien ry Vam.lenHour en. Hoy Kaye, Harvey
Moreoux. OeBouc;lw . Retzlaff. Me lvin Dishmake r, Edward Toebe. I loebrec ks, Fro nk Legois.

class hod 5 members L lo R. Michael Boncher, Vida Pelers. 1\llelvin Dishmaker,



Luxemburg lligh Schoo/ Bond 1935-36 The members-Bock row- //erbe rt Ross, Suru/1 /-linnendc1el, /Job Russ, Doh Pm1f;1,, Vincent No-
vurm. Sixth row- Leonord. Leischow, Mcirvi n Lourent, Rose Suc:ss. Hessie DuC hol.rmu. fohnny DuC/mtcuLl. Rolph Kline, Mory Ann Peot,
Bil/ ltipley. F ifth row- Elroy Hoppe. Wi11frnd Poque, Cleo Laure nt. Donald Hut~r:ld, George Dorner, Alice Seidl, Mory Ann 1-!aen.
Fourlh row- foe Mornord. Leonard Seidl. Victor Poque. Erwin Seihl, Lo rraine Dolnbroux, Donuld Weinfurter, Warren Meisler. No rbert
Ledvinu. Morie Rueck/. No rman VanDrissc. Third row- Sam //olloin, Eldora Kerst. llarvey Duesc her, C hol'loue Paider. Minervo Sofon-
line. i\fudonno Ronk , Haro/cl Mueller, Dorothy Colle. Second row -Director Louis Welk. Louis De/urdin. Milton Oernoulin. Lillian Paul.
,\ forcdlo Colle. Eddie Suess. Dono/d Barbioux. Edward Sell. Pruncis Hinnendoel. Morie De/ongville. lie/en Solenline. Pirst row-fake
Oornt!r, Ed DeMulh. Ari Poutz. Joe Arendt, Ari Peot. Phyllis Rueck/. Katherine Zellner, Delores J\rendl, Rosemary Andrews. Mojorelle
Delor1:s Dou/.

1873-1961 1909-1977
Charles was married and had fi ve children , Mon- Eunice Hannon received her teaching degree at
roe, M rs. B.W. Burke, Allen, M rs. Clarence Below the University of Wisconsin in 1935. She bega n
and Mrs. Ralph Zanzow. H e came to the Luxem- teaching at Champion Graded and a fter two years
burg area in '1908 and became the principal and a came to Luxemburg High School. She was the first
teacher at the high school. H e remained in charge teacher hired by George Gregor, Principal. Eunice
until 1936 wh en he retired. Charles also served as contracted Polio in h er early years and was forced
school superintendent of Kewaunee schools for 4 to use crutch es the rest of her life. A handicap that
years. While at the high sch ool he taught Geometry, she did not let interfere with her dedication to her
History and Agriculture. He was known to be a profession. There were many students, after leaving
conscientious and dedicated teacher. high school, to echo the statement "If there was one
teacher 1 learned something fro m it was Miss H an-
non, sh e was a strict teach er wh o didn 't let you get
away wi th misbehaving." Students felt she was in-
terested in their problems a nd welfare.
Sh e taught History, French and a few other sub-
jects when the need arose. Eunice served as class
advisor to the annual "Memories in Blue" for 20
years and for the new annual "Spartan" for 9 years.
She retired in 1975 after 38 years educating our

George was born in Kewaunee County, went to
college at Un iversity of Wisconsin, served in WWI
as Sergeant First Class with one year of overseas
duty. He was a member of the American Legion
and its Commander for 5 years. George was also ac-
tive in the Fair Association .
He came to Luxemburg in 1924 a fter 4 years at
Gregor school and one year at Li berty. After Charles
Teske left in 1937 George became the principal from
1937 to 1966 wh en he retired . He taught classes in HAWTHORNE SCHOOL
Science, Physics. Biology, and Agriculture. It was
under his direction that \l\lrestling and a sound agri- The school was built between 1849 and 1859. The
cultural program were formed al Luxemburg High land for the school was donated by John Novak.
School. Later the school board was notified that the state
d id not allow a dona tion of land for this pur pose, so
Mr. Novak sold the land for $1 .00. Mrs. Wheatley
was on e of the first teachers.
T he first school was a red frame building. Saw-
dust was placed around the building for the chil-
dren to keep warm. There were many mice in the
cracks in the walls that frequen tly would appea r
while the childr en were working.
In 1897 a brick building replaced th e old red
frame school. John Miller of Luxemburg was the
first teacher. Disaster struck in the w inter of 1939.
Fire destroyed the build ing, the cause of th e fire is
not exactly known.

It was decided to rebuild the school and a com- Holmes Sc hool District 5 Borboro (Donovan/ Seidl teacher Bock
mittee was selected, consisting of Frank Pravachek, ro w I. to fl, Coroline Asc henbrenner, Adeline Wein{urter. Mor-
William Ouradnik, and William Fischer. From Jan- tha Dorner. Frieda Weinfurter, Eleonor Beirl, Alfred Weininger.
uary until May school was held in Victor Krcma's William Sconze rl, Joseph Weininge r. George Beirl. A lbe rt Scon-
ze rl 2nd row. Miss Donovon. Elsie Hmmr, Lillion Hruska. A rt Le-
old house. Elmer VanDrisse was the teacher. In fall. Lou. Puter Aschenbrenne r. Rober! Ricld, Williom Aschenbre nner,
classes were held in the new white building. The Pete r Hunk Peter Daul Front row, /onny Asc henbrenner. Curo-
fo llowing teachers taught here: Mrs. Wheatly, Josie line Hidd, Loret!u Beir'/. /Jorboro Honk, i'vlarthu Bauer, V erna
Rogers, Bridget Lynch, Rebecca Schneid erman, Dan Oornnr. Hngina We infurter, George Woinfurter
Schinnick, Anna Prokorny, Albert Adams, Edmund
Schinnick, Fabian Gosin , Virginia Seeman, Nell
Smithwick, Winifred Welnick, Mr. Walecka, Kate
Pistor, Irma Lemke, Julia Sullivan, Kate Drury, Kate
Trudell, John Miller, Mary Drury, Mary Bohman,
Albert Dworak, Eugene Nemetz, Anna Shimek,
Clara Melera, Esther Kl emish, Thomas Dewane,
Barn ey Cunningham , Mr. McGowan, Maurice
Marthy, Stella Prochnow, 1924, $87.50; Evelyn Ste-
panek, 1925, Edna Opicka. 1926: Madeline Peot,
1929; Elmer Va nD r iss e. 1934, $75.00; Adrian
O'Konski, 1938; Alice Sibilsk')', 1940; Ruth Cowell,
1942, $98.00; Corina Urban (Nemetz] 1943; Dorothy
Se id l, 1948. (this article was written by D ean
Fischer, Vicky Krcma, Viola Krcma, Sandra Thibau-
deau. with Dorothy Seidl, teacher) I lo/mes School

I /owthorn Sc hool in 1900 wirh /ohn L Milfr~ r us teacher

The exact date the school was founded is not
known, but fire destroyed the first building in 1871.
HOLMES SCHOOL The land was donated by Adolph Jadin with the un-
d erstanding that he would receive the land and
The school was located in Section 28 and was building when the school was d iscontinued, located
bu ilt about 1910. Miss Barbara Donovan was the in the eastern part of Section 7, Town of Luxem-
first teacher who stayed for 5 years. Other teachers burg.
were Verna Miller, Orville Sullivan. Elbert Schmi- Work on the second school which was a lso locat-
miling, and Donna Thibaudeau. (Her mother was ed in the northeast corner of Section 7 was begun
the first teacher and Donna the last to teach when in November, 1872. In 1920, the school was discon-
the school closed in 1946.) The bui lding was con- tinued and the building sold to Mrs. Robert Zahn to
verted into a residence. be used as a granary on the Zahn farm.

The third school was built in 1921, and was situat- U S GRANT SCHOOL
ed in the southeast corner of Section 6, Town of
Luxemburg. Th e fi rst classes held in this school The first school was near the Warren Meisler
were in September, 1922, with James Smithwick as property in Section 22. The second school was built
teacher. half a mile north. In 1875 school was in session only
Other teachers are as follows: Rachael Degiot, eight months. The children had to bring their own
1869-70; Eli Martin, 1870-71; Josephine Degiot; Mary water to school. Later Joe Arendt agreed to furnish
Rubens, 1871-72; F. Haevers, 1872-76; Cecelia Bri- water for $5.00 per term. In 1903 a new floor was
quette, 1877-78: Adele Petin iot, 1879-80; Cesulian installed and a n ew porch built. William Martin
Hermans, 1880 -81; Albine Petiniot, 1881-82; Kate purchased a stove for the school for 25$. During
McCa b , 1883-87; Kate Donovan 1888-89; Victoria 1905 a wood shed was built by Herman Sohric for
)andrain , 1889-90: Mary Haevers, 1890-92; Kate Hef- $112 to store the wood for wi nter. In 1914 a tin roof
ferman, 1893-95; Rosa Tewles, 1896-97; M ary Poffer, was put o n t he schoo I a nd two yea rs lat e r a
1897: Patrick Culliga n 1898; Jule Frisque, 1899; Mag- sidewalk was made from the school h ouse to the
gie Kelley, 1900-02: Agnes Alberts 1903-08; Mayme road. A school term of 9 months was voted. In 1948
Mack, 1909; Anna Mach 1910-12; Mame Smithwick, the sch ool was closed and today it is a home.
1913-14; Ella Naser, 19'14-15; Willie Bertrand, 1915; The followin g teach ers taught school, Clara Kemp,
Lillian Schultz, 1916; Clara Kemp, 1916-17; John Flora Rock, Winefred Welnick, Rose Simon, Adella
Delwiche, 1917-'.LB; Anna M ach, 1918-19; Irene Le- [Wessel) C hristoff, M adeline (Reinhart) Jacobosky,
Captaine. 1919-20: James Smithw ick, 1920-22; Harold Selma Belter. Florella (Liebl) Welker, Sara Hinnen -
Delain, 1923-24: Mabel Albrecht, 1924-25; Walter dael. Mrs. ()andrain) Laurent, and Betty Peot was
Wessely, 1925-30; Ethel Pflughoeft, 1931-32; Clarence the last teacher.
DeChamps. 1933-34; Myrtle Va ndenHouten, 1934-37;
Wallace Guill ette, 1937-41; Mrs. M elvin Petin iot, II S Gran! Schoo/ leac he r. Ac/ellu (Wessel) Chrisloff Back row L
1941 -42; Carina Urban, 1942-43; Mrs. Amy Leonard, to /l. H e/en 1\lurlin Zimmer. Emily Srnko lle rluche, Anno
1943-44; Mrs. Ben OeBaker. 1944-46; Mrs. Carl Li- Arend! O"Brit>n. Philomena 1\rendt Crovillion. Ve/do Mies/er
Seid/. /ohn Srnko. i\le/bournc Zuege. Clarence ,\Juel/er. Clifford
dral, 1946-47; Mrs. Ernest Thibaudreau, 1947-48.
Finnendae/. Fronk Srnka. Front row. C/orisso A rendt Ho/zo.
There have been other teachers who taught since Louella Colle /)1:moulin. Harrie! Colle F'obry. 1-:s!ellu Poul Ho-
1948, Mrs. Kenneth O'Hearn , Mrs. Maynard Felt, evers. Mudelinr: Pou/ Adams. l.11ci//e Paul Sise/. Morgarel Marlin
Mrs. Ray Bero, M r. Kenneth Viste, but it is not Guil/elle. Violu Geng/er Smet. £/sie Mueller Fahs. 1-/orold
known what the exact dates are. ,\lueller. Wilbur Srnka
Today the school building is used as a granery by
Orville Jadin.

Lowell school is located in the town of Luxem-
burg on CTH '' K". The d is trict was organ ized in
1901. Previous to that time the children of the vicin-
ity went to either Garfield. Martinville, Washington
or McKinley. The school was a brick bui lding built
in 1922. The original school was a frame structure
built in 1901 on the same site. Th e following teach-
ers taught at Lowell: Loela Haevers, Clara Gosin,
Marie Thiard, Mabel Arpin, Sadie Ruf. Helen Ha-
gerty, Florence Murphy and Maude Kott. Some of
the first settlers of the district were Charles H oe- WALHAIN SCHOOL
breckx, Gustave Bertrand, Peter )onet. Zachary Van-
develd. Isador Frisque and Jacob Alsteen. (Written This school was built about 70 years ago and is
by Nancy Frisque when in Grade school) located on Highway 54 one and a half miles outsid e
of Luxemburg in Section 17. The first teacher was
Victoria )anclrain and her salary was $8.00 a month.
Another teach er was Minnie E Clark. 1891-92 and
she had 40 pupils to teach.

Other teachers were Marion Schleis, Eunice Lin- president and Clem Rass Secretary. There have
hart, Fannie Vand enhouten, Lou Demoulin , Alvin been many years since that the club h as h elped
Bader, Myrtle Lindeske, Lorrain e Erdmann , Norris raise pheasants. During 1932 the state fish hatchery
LeCaptain, Agnes H aevers, Myrtle Kolmorgen, Rose refurb ish ed the trout stream where CTH "A" crosses
Barta, Mild red Sh aw, Mary Loh rey, Adeli ne Orines, th e river.
Selma Belter, Adelyn Weln ick, Betty Peot, Anna T he club was reorganized unde r th e n ame of Lux-
Brozek, and Myrtle Petiniot. Today the building e mbu rg Spo rtsman Clu b. Land was r ented ne ar
stands empty and is owned by a private party. Sca rboro for a short time and in 1959 the club pur-
chased land on High way 54 between Casco and
When students are through the 6th grade they go Luxemburg, through the efforts of Jerry Simonar and
to th e Junior High at Casco. The Jun ior High has an Jim Tlachac. Boulanger Construction did the lan d-
enrollment of 426 students, with the follow ing teach- scaping and the club constructed a trap shooting
ers in 1982-83 year. range and trap house. A few years later pheasant
Raymond A Thillman, District Supt. pens were constructed and a club house. As the
Chuck Hastert, S E Crd membership grew an addition was constructed in
Jill Zirk, Guid Cn 1979 for pistol and archery shoots. A second trap
Ronald Bartel, Sc range was also constructed for the league which
Theresa Bartel, Art meets every T uesday n igh t.
Dan Bouch e, H ealth Trap shooting is n ot new to this area, back in
Marvin Bourgeois, Music 1938 Roy Hrabik's super marksman won the trap
Gerald Dashnier, Math shoot sponsored by the Luxemburg Hunting and
Max Falkowski, Ag, Mech Fishing Club at Tony Worachek's tavern in Slovan.
Elizabeth Francois, Engl H rabik's team scored 47 points with Frank H oppe's
Ron Gillis, Engl team at 46 points and Rudolph Hannaman 's sharp-
Robert Haen, Math shooters 1 point behind with a 45.
Janis Tread eau, Sp Ed
Dana Krejcarek, Sc
Edward Langin, Ind Art
Joh n LeClair, Soc St
Margaret Lychwick. Phy Ed
David Plamann, Soc St
Sh eila Postel, Home Ee
Alvin Prokash, Math
Diane Ran elli , Speh
Jan e Ries, Lbr
Lee Sch miling, Sc
Marilyn Secor, Engl
Henry Severin, Sc
Lois Staege, Music
Paul Ste ffek. Soc St
Wendy Stoller. Engl. Sp
Burning th e mortgage. L to fl. Fron Me tz/e r, /im Tlachac one/
John Werner, Phy Ed /1:rry S imonor.

The club was fo rmed about 1925 unde r th e name
of Hunting and Fishing Club. During 1929 they
jo ined wi th Kewa un ee County to re pl enish th e
Chinese ring n eck pheasants, with 12,000 eggs being
shipped to ind ividuals to hatch and raise throughout
the state.
In 1932 it was known as Luxemburg Rifle Club
with Alvah Arpin, Ed Rueck!. Richa rd Seidl. Frank
H oppe and Dr. E P Happel as officers. During 1935
Rev john Huhn was presiden t, Frank Hoppe vice

LUXEMBURG VOLUNTEER David Paque, Dennis Nellis, Ann Alsteen, Pat Si-
monar, Ellen Baierl, Mary Jacques, Roger and Doris
FIRE DEPARTMENT Tekulve, Lee Zingler, Lee Peot, Linda and David
Olson, Emil Kuhn , Steve Vincent and Joan Walczyk.
The area of service includes towns of Luxemburg.
The Fire Department was formed in 1911. with Casco, Lincoln, Montpelier, and Red River. The
the first meeting on record, July 15, 1911. The fire 1961 van was used as the rescue unit until the first
house was at the old Village Hall which was demo- ambulance, a 1974 Dodge, was purchased from Izzy
lished in 1971. AP1bulance in June of 1977. A new Ambulance was
The department started with a hand pumper tha t !> :·chased in September 1978.
was purchased from the Algoma Fire Department,
and has since been returned to them. It was pur· List of firemen:
chased at a price of $155. 1911
As time went on n ew equipment was added to William M eisler (July]
the department. In addition to the Fairbanks-Morse Walter Salmon
gas engine, which performed very well at many john Fameree
fires, the board purchased a motorized fire truck in Frank Paal
1927. This equipment and the addition of cisterns john Balza
lent to an efficient volunteer fire department of that Hector Boncher, Sr
day. It proved a valuable asset not only to the vil- Nie Drexler
lage, but also the surrounding territory. Because of Peter Joerger
the large extent of calls from every section in the Casper Loberger
township and outside the townships, the village Julius Cahn
called a joint meeting in April of 1931 of the Town Eugene Kiley [Sept]
Boards of Luxemburg, Casco, Montpelier and Red William Hendricks
River, who met with the Board of the Village to dis- James Cherney
cuss the advisability of purchasing another motor- Art C Bazlen
ized truck to be used for fire protection in these John Mohr
towns and village. The truck was to be managed Charles Sell
and serviced by the village firemen and the ex- Lawrence Rueck]
penses divided . The purchase of an additional Victor Kaye
pumper, 300 gallons in capacity, was made. john Radue
Other trucks purchased over the years were an Camille Stage
International in 1948, an International tanker and Oliver Debauch
pumper in 1955, a Chevrolet van in 1961 (the first Dan J Boncher
rescue unit), and in 1966 another International tank- Charles L Peters
er and pumper was purchased. In 1970 a Ford Frank Salmon
pumper was obtained and in May of 1982 a Diesel John J Peot, Jr
truck was ordered, fully equipped. Dr. George Anderson
A new municipal building was constructed in 1971 Frank Treml
which houses 4 fire trucks, 1 van, 2 ambulances and Alvah Arpin
the village street equipment, which takes up three Charles Hobrecks
stalls. The building also contains a large room for Joseph Gotstein (Dec)
meetings and a lunch-recreation room . Otto Kaye
A 7,000 gallon tanker is used at large fires, donat- 1912
ed by Irvin Vincent, President of Northeastern Wis- Frank Hoppe
consin Plastics. The tanker and tractor are housed at 1915
the plant, and when needed one of the drivers is on Clayton Kaye
his way in minutes. Roy Elfner
Emergency Medical Technicians [EMT's) program John Salmon
started in 1976 with Ralph Kline and Edward G Jac- Harold Peters
ques the first to be certified. A course of weeks of Paul Hoppe
in tensive training is required and a test must be 1915
passed before the State of Wisconsin will certify Albert Retzlaff
these people as ready to help the injured. Allen jos 8 Weinfurte r [Feb)
Tlachac was n ext, followed by Norbert Rueck], Den- William Hoppe
nis Thiry, John Paider, William Siedl, Leon Gillis, Chester Balza

Ed Weisner 1924
Peter Liebl Emil Lohrey (May)
C Nimmer George Conard
Clem Rass 1925
John Schne id er Roy Ch a ppel (May)
Earl Balza [April] H arry Leischow
1916 Alvin Salmon
Peter J Colle (Jan] John Merens
Lester Bazle n J Minor Bergen
George Zellner 1926
1917 William Leischow (May)
Ed Retzlaff (Nov) Allen Buch anen
Ralph Colle Joseph Buch anen
George Lohrey 1927
1918 Steve Rezachek [May)
Anton G rasse!, Jr (Aug) 1928
George Rueck!. Jr Elm er Barbiaux (May)
Julius Retzla ff David Cravillion
William Pettys Walter Friex
Ray Coll e Sy Conard
Florian Ferris 1929
Dr Victor Laurent Joseph H Linzmeier (May)
Xavier M ornard Jule Ch arlier
Mike Rueck! A rt Rueck!
Henry Ka rnopp 1930
Felix Bonj ean E W Ullsperger (May)
William I-Ia fferman George Seidl, Sr
Jule Andre 1931
Anton Peol Adolph Hoffman (May)
Sylvester Vandrisse Fritz Seidl
Peter M orna rd 1932
Sa m Wa lters John Delwiche (May)
Ed Kelliher Ed Goetsch
Emil Legois Joh n Hallet
George Bredael 1933
Herman Kratz Herman Kratz (May)
1918 (Aug] Ed Dalebroux
William Ma rtin 1943
John L Miller Eugen e Herring (May)
Louis Sell Eugen e Cravillion
1919 1935
Frank Hinnendael (July) Clem Barbiaux (May)
1920 Ed Jacqu es
Felix Yandeveld (Aug) 1936
Joseph Stage John Duchateau [May)
J B H end ricks 1937
1921 Ralph La urent (July]
Edmund Rueck! (May) Ed McMahon
Constant Dela in 1938
Jim Hoffman G eorge Retzlaff (May)
1922 1939
Henry Hartinger (May) Leon Libal (April)
Anton Flegel George Lemens (May)
1923 1940
N Ropson [M ay) Elmer Vandrisse (Jun e]
Richard Rueck! Mike Frisque (July)
Ed H oppe

1941 1959
George Seidl, Jr [July] Mark jonet (April)
Rube Gerondale (Aug] 1961
George Pavlik (Dec) Ed Tlachac (Aug)
Algernon Deprez Roland Ducat (Sept)
1942 1962
Alvah Peo1· (July) Francis Seidl (Oct)
Freel Schuch 1963
John Halle t (Aug) Gerald Marcelle [June)
Art Ruec k! (Oct) 1964
George N Rueck] (Dec) Walter Hannaman (Feb)
1944 Roger Beirl (March]
Martin Theys (Dec) Alvin Peronto
1945 1967
John Gillis (Oct] Ken Tebon (Feb)
1946 1968
Otlo L Boretsky (Feb] Jim Metzler (April)
William Drossart Edward G Jacques, Jr
Albert Theys Richard Charles (Dec]
Norman Vandrisse (May) Roger Lee
George Seidl, Jr [June) 1969
1947 Russell Fameree (Jan]
Elroy Hoppe (Jan) Allen Gilson (Aug)
Elmer )onet (April) Myron Rabas (Sept)
John A Duchateau, Jr (May] 1970
Arnold Mueller (Oct) Lyle Zellner (Jan]
Leonard Seidl (Nov] Dennis Th iry (Aug)
1949 David Olson
Sy Nellis (April) 1972
Ed )onet (May] Ronald Kollross [Oct)
1950 John Paider
Leon Gillis (May) Al Tlachac
Fritz Seidl 1974
1951 David Paque (Aug)
Hank Kollross 1976
Marvin Hoppe William I Seidl (Sept)
1952 1977
Art Peot Rodney P Tlachac (Jan)
Robert Rass Lee Derenne [Feb)
Leonard Yanda (July] Hen ry Deprey
Arnold Ja ndrain (Dec) Dennis Nellis (Oct)
1953 1979
Norbert Rueck! (June) Roger TeKulve (Jan)
Marvin Bins (Sept) 1981
1954 Kelly VandenBush (Feb)
john Rueck! (April]
Richard Stodola (May)
1955 This completes the list of fire fighte rs who give of
William Hermans (April] their tim e away from their regular jobs to protect
1956 your homes a nd business places.
Gerald Tilot (Feb] Five cisterns have been built to help the firemen
1957 when there are fires located in the village and on
Earl Peot (July) the outskirts. One was built in 1937 on the corner of
1958 Charles Linzmeier property. A parcel of land 35' x
Ralph Klin e (Feb] 75' was purchased by the town to provide fire pro-
Jim T lachac (Aug) tection for Catholic School, Church a nd other prop-
erty owners in the area. The school cistern is of 15.

000 gallon capacity, which was termed "inadequate" LUXEMBU RG
by fire inspectors. The committee consisted of Bert
Paider, Chairman, George Conard and George Kol- WELD AND REP AIR
beck. This cistern will hold 60,000 of water.
Other ciste rns are located near Gerald Mathu's Old records reveal that "Excavation for the new
house, in the village park. behind the grade school business block to be erected by Anton Grassel in
and near No. 1 well. the village was started this week" That was in Nov.
19'15, on land bought by Johann and Catherine Kaut
in '1855 and passed to son Nicholas by Bond of Sup-
port in 1901. Nicholas had the property surveyed
and divided into lots. In '1904 Nicholas sold property
to stock holders of Luxemburg Milling Co. Anton
Grasse! purchased land and built the first building
where Chevrolet cars and farm implements were
After the death of Anton. his wife and son ac-
quired the property which was sold to the Luxem-
burg Motor Company in '1921. Prior to 1920 part of
the building was rented to Peter Liebl who had a
machine shop in the west part. During 1920 Peter
built a new shop 40' x 40' on Ash Street, and later
moved to Milwaukee.
In 1950 a portion was rented to Fred Schuch .
Fred and Joe Baierl formed a partnership as Luxem -
burg Repair for about three years. After the partne r-
Luxe mlmrg Fire D1~pt. 1942- le(I to right, front row, Eel /ocqt11:1:; ship was dissolved Joe Baierl continued the shop
uritl fohn f 1'1w r. Second row. Ed Doliilmrux. Louis Sell, /ohn under the name Luxemburg Weld & Repair. Mr.
TJ1~lwichH. (;; ~nrge Seidl, Sr. Chc1rles "Friri-:· Su id I. George Seidl. Baierl then built a 40x45' add ition to the shop, and
fr. und Gvrlf'gl! Le mens. Third row. F nrnk 11 innendoel, Rube continues to operate the business at the 406 Ash
Ge ro ndu/i:. /o hn DuChoteou, fr .. /ock /lo/le t. fulcs C hurlier and Street location.
Felix Vunc/evP.ld. Fou rth row, Peter Colle. Cfom " Rluh" Bar-
biaux. llulph /.ourent, Algie Deprez. Clem Ross. Elmer Von -
Drisse. lJIJsperger, Elmer Mornard and George Pavlat. Fire
Chief:; over rhc years were, /ohn Bolzo. Fronk Hoppe, fohn / MCMAHON'S
Peor. 44 >'cars: /ohn Gillis, 9 ycurs: /ohn IJ11Cho1cou. 1977 lo rhe
present linw. J'()ICr Co lle served as Secrnlury-Trcosurer for 29
)'eors with Murvin Hins laking over tlw position in 1!16:l McMahon's Furniture and Funeral Home, now in
its 47th year at Luxemburg, have been housed in
buildings which date back to Luxemburg's early his-
tory. The furniture store now occupies the former
Kieweg-Peters general store on Main Street. The
Annex, the former A.M. Hoppe & Sons Company
Store, is located across th e street. The Fun e ral
Home in the original location one block north.
In 1972 Murcille Giffen sold the business to h er
employees, Tom Rueckl, mortician, Robert Heim,
and Gerald Cravillion.
Employees include Ray Liebl, Marilyn Rank, Lyle
Zelln e r, Dennis Cravillion, Mary Neinas. Todd
Arendt, and Jeff Rueckl.
Ed and Murcille McMahon came to Luxemburg
in 1935, from Milwaukee, to purchase the furniture
store and funeral home from Joseph Buchanan, a 24'
x 30' building built by H erman Nimmer, a carpenter
and furnitu re maker.
Oliver DeBauche was the first funeral director. In
1897 he purchased the Wisconsin House. a hotel
and tavern. He extended his business opportunities
by selling caskets. They were wooden boxes with

another inside wood box. Mrs. DeBauche trimmed 1928. They ran the store and funeral home for · 6
the inte riors of the caskets with various fabrics for a years and departed for Kewaunee.
personal touch. In 1907 Oliver purchased Herman In 1928, w hile h eating a car during the winter, the
Nimmer's building and the two men ra n the busi- radiator exploded a nd set the bui lding on fire. It
ness in partnership with Herman building furniture spread rapidly but the employees were able to put
and caskets, wh ile Oliver took care of the selling. out the fire with an extinguisher.
The caskets were stored across the stree t. The buildings had been vacant for about a year
During 1912 Herman left the business a nd Oliver before the McMahon's purchased the establishment.
became inte rested in Morturay Science a nd became Ed McMahon did e xte nsive remodeling, he cut out
a licensed e mbalmer. Nie Drexler join ed Oliver in a portion of the building for an embalming room.
business tha t same year, he was a carver of tomb- The building was badly deteriorated and the display
stones. floor high above street level. When furniture was
In 1916 Nie went into business for himself, known displayed only the bottom could be seen from the
as the Luxe mburg Marble and Granite Works. A street. By the end of 5 years, after a lot of hard
year later he sold the business to Manthey a nd sons. work McMahon's seemed to have "caught on" a nd
Nie had previous ly been injured when moving one did a good busin ess.
of his tombston es. the dolly under the stone tipped In February of 1942 Ed McMahon passed away.
a nd the stone hit Nick in the face . Two years later Murcille became a licensed e m-
Oliver co ntinued in business alone until 1921 balmer and funeral director. During 1948 she pur-
whe n Anton Swoboda purchased the furniture store chased the old Kie w eg-Peters Company store and
and fun e ral home. Over the course of yea rs, as the remodled the display windows so they were street
automobile came into use, Oliver sold his horse level for good display of furniture. Utilizing the
drawn h earse a nd purchased an auto hearse at Osh- "model room" idea furniture was set up in room
kosh. groupings as they w ould appear in the home.
The ne xt owners of the business w e re Allen and
Joseph Buchanan who purchased the building in

Store was built 1903 on /ond purchased from Desire Colle. The store had its grand opening on S1ipte mbe r 4, 1903. After the store closed
l/1e Forme r's Trading Company purchased it ond late r it was sold to Murci//e McMahon.

KIEWEG-PETERS COMPANY The new owners, Anton and Jo h n Ki eweg,
Charles Peters. A W Arpin, Mrs. fohn Dishmaker.
The Kieweg-Peters Company store was built in with Charles Peters as manager, changed the name
1903 and was operated as a general store until 1939 to Kieweg-Peters Company (The New Store.) The
when they went out of business. store was en larged and remodled. At this time Har-
Kieweg-Poser closed their store at Carlton and old Peters took over as manager of the grocery de-
opened the store in Luxemburg, known as Bach- partment, with Clayton Kaye in charge of clothing
Kieweg Company. Early employees were Mayme and hardware. Other employees in the 1920s were
Ruttner, bookkeeper, Edward Nejedlo, Mrs. Lloyd Mary (Treml) Huber, Julia Algers, Alvah Arpin, and
LaPlant, and Viola Kuester, and Walter Marquardt. Leslie Arpin, Eleanora Damas, and Frank Paal.
In 1912 Alfred Arpin joined the staff, plus Stanley In 1935 the C. A. Straube! warehouse purchased
Kassne r, Charles Duerschmid t and Clem DePas. by Frank Bredael was sold to Kieweg-Peters Co. It
John Treml started as bookkeeper in 1919, replacing was used for the storage of cheese, located along the
Mayme Ruttner, and worked there until 1935 when right of way of Green Bay & Western tracks. It will
he resigned and purchased the Babier Grocery Store be used for receiving and storing of potatoes and
a t Green Bay. Charles Dishmaker managed the store carload shipments to the Kieweg-Peters company
until 1920 when it was sold and he moved to Al- store.

Some Employees of Kieweg-Peters Company: foe Dock. Alex \tillers. Libbie Pocun, Ed Dulik. Sibylla Pcot. /ohn Treml, Mory Treml.
Clayton Koye. Edward Nejedlo, Margaret Arendt, Alvoh Aprin. Enid Peters. Emily Monfort, Esther Doeh/, Rolph Laurent, Anion Colle,
Moyme Rutlner. Gene Kiley. Adel Dusch, Custo Dishmoker, fuck Peot, Corl Ducrschmidt, fim Seiner, Chor/es W<?ry, Clem Barbioux.
Frank Decelle. /lose Daul, Sarah Gosin, and Vio/11 Kuester.

A Mr. Paterson owned and operated the store in The station at the corner of H ighways 54 & 163
1893 selling it to Louis Liebl and Charles Sell who was built in 1955 by Ralph a nd Mike Kline. They
operated the general store for several yea rs. Frebe rt repair autos, sell gas and have two trucks on the
Toebe ran the store next and traded the business for road for bulk service.
the A M Hoppe farm near Rio Creek in 1912. Before the new station was built Ralph and Mike
During 1916 Albert built a 42' x 20' addition to the operated a gas station at the corner of Main and
store, put on a new front and had a sidewalk con- Maple Streets from 1950 to 1955.
structed on the north side of the building. Otto Kaye Today's employees include Mike, Ralph, Mike Jr,
married Albe rt's daughter and went to work for his BilI and Robert Kline.
father-in-law until 1925, when Hoppe's opened a
branch store in Casco and Otto became the man-
Son Emil worked 40 years in the business as did
Jim first did carpenter work and also vvorked for
Frank's wife l:;'"lora. Frank, Paul and William also
Northwest Engineering Company. He was raised on
worked the re. Outside helpers were Marie Theys,
a farm just outside of Luxemburg and started in the
who worked there 13 years, Peter Mornard and
real estate business in 1961. His son- in-law works
Clothilda Rueck!, and others whose names we were
for him, Tom Baierl.
not able to obtain.
In Octobe r of 1933 thieves entered the Hoppe
Store and stole 3 shot guns, 2 rifles, 1 case of shells, MUCHENHOF SETTLEMENT
a nd a casting rod, valued at $120. The store served
as a dry cleaner pick up station in the early 1940's. The Muchenhof settlement existed about 1860-
After Albert's death the family continued to run 1890, it was situated on the SW 1/4 of Section 30. It
the store for a few years selling it to Nicolet Enter- covered 10 acres and the main industry was a saw-
prises. Today the stor:e is operated by McMahon's as mill built by the Germans settling he re. In 1890 the
an annex store, located directly across the street mill and the settlement burned to the ground. The
from the main furniture store. sawmill was owned by Wi'l1ard Lamb. Mr. Lamb
also owned sawmills at New Franke n and Suamico.
In funuury of H!liO the Iloppe Store on the west side of Muin The Dorner family rem embers that when they
S tree t. closed afte r 47 ye<IrS in I.he merclwntile business. /\.M. plowed the fields they found mortar from the foun-
I l oppc purchused th e store in 1912 ofte r opernting a farm und dations of buildings, pieces of broke n earthen ware
cheese fac tory at ftio C reek. After his death the business contin-
ued os o fo mily e nterprise. Today the building is used by McMo-
and pottery. In one area, next to the creek where
hon's furniture store . the old sawmill used to stand, the fi eld was covered
with a thick layer of sawdust, which used to be in
huge piles. In some places the sawdust was three
feet deep. East of the cree k was a dug well lined
with pine planks. The well was about 30 feet deep
and the water was used for steam power.

For 20 years Willard Lamb continued expanding
his operations by buying sections of timber adjoining
his initial purchase, and at the same time relin-
quishing title to cutover stump in fested la nd to local
inhabitants for agricultural purposes, becoming the
shingle tycoon of the area.
Realizing the "glory days" of the shingle industry
were near an end, w ith the supply of raw material
exhausted, many mills were dism a ntled or simply
burned. Willard and his wife Caroline transferred
their holdings in 1874, together with sawmill, other
buildings. tools and all property, moving to more
fruitful fields both west and north.

The firm began business in July of 1968, produc- Luxemburg acquired a new industry in 1965, op-
ing only plastic bottles, with four persons on the erating under the n a me Bio-Chemica l Corporation.
payroll. By 1973 the company had expanded consid- The company had its origin in Manitowoc, known
erably with 70 people in their employ and two addi- as Gardner Products, producers of Hazels Grease-
tions to the original structure. off.
In the last two years a new building was con- The operation was moved into a ne w location in
structed and another addition completed for the 100 the Ind ustr ial Park, immediately west of the
employees which work on a 24-hour shift basis. A Kewaunee Implement Company off of High way 54.
fle et of four trucks carry their products to the Eas- The building, 120 x 60' was erected by the Luxem-
tern States, Florida and out to the Dakotas. The burg Development Corp.
plant now manufactures hospital supplies. gas ta n ks In August of 1977 N.E.W. Plastics purchased the
for garden tractors, containers for food, and toys of building and three years later acquired the business
various kinds. Ervin invented plastic boards for his with Vernal Vince nt purchasing agent and assistant
trailer floors, picnic tables, park benches and a few manager. They continue to produce Hazel's Grease-
things he hasn't thought of yet. off and GP-101, a stronger industrial degreaser.
Ervin Vincent is manager of the firm and the of-
fice duties are taken care of by his wife, Nancy
along with Janice Alsteen and Beverly Zellner. His
son Ve rn is in charge of sales and manages the Bio
Products division which they purchased in 1980.

Picture wkcn in 1977. Buildings to the left ol'e 1. Bio C/1cmicol Co. 2. NEW Plos!iC$ {on ucldirion wos built on the gornge in 1979) 3.
Salmori Meal Ma rket, ..J Cu/or Whey Plont.

NORTHBROOK COUNTRY CLUB is a mecca for cross country skiers.
The clubhouse, which is a Bavarian-type structure,
The addition of NorthBrook Country Club to Lux- acids to the relaxing atmosphere for the serving of
emburg again demonstrated the progressiveness of fin e food, on both upper a nd lower levels.
residents to support their home town. This scenic area dates back to the early history of
In 1970 after many months of negotiating enough Luxemburg when it was farmland owned by the late
stockholders made it possible to construct what is August Meintz, later sold to Eli Fenendael and
now on e of the most beautiful 18-hole golf courses, passed down to his son Clifford.
and club house in the area. Alan Hoppe presently serves as manager of the
The course, which encompasses a natural setting club, with Dave Peot as golf professional.
of trees and a creek, is always groomed to the ut- Donations and a lol of work by residents and
most and proves an interesting ch allenge to hosts of members of the club have added many touches of
golfers fo r many miles around . In the wintertime it beauty to the facility.

Northbro ok Country Club

NORTHBROOK LUMBER & FEED the farmers, and resold it to seed houses in Milwau-
kee, Madison and Chicago.
They expanded the elevator operations, contracted
with Schroeder of Kewaunee to put in a hammer
The lumber busin ess in the village dates back to mill, legs and bins and to expand the building up-
1902 when Jules Petry conducted the first lumber ward . For the first time the company was able to
yard and shingle mill. grind the customers grain and hay. Later the grind-
During 1904 the San troch brothers, James. Frank, ing of corn became very popular.
and Anton, conducted a lumber yard. Previous to this time the planning mill had been
In 1912 Sylvan Vand risse ran a lumber yard in completely electrified. Electric motors ran the ma-
partnership with Joe Fa rneree. chin ery and the boiler was used fo r heat and for
The Luxemburg Manufacturing Company was or- the drykilns, also a vacuum system had been in-
ganized in 1920 and incorporated that same year, by stalled to take the sawdust and shavings to the cy-
a group of investors headed by August Sitzer. The clone and bin where they were readily accessible to
purpose of establishing a new company was to pur- the fireman.
chase the planning mill owned and operated by Norman DePas was probably the best known em-
Santroch Brothers. Included in the purchase was the ployee since he delivered most of the building ma-
mill. a small frame office and the huge lumber terial. He spent his entire working years with the
shed. company.
The first manager was John Fischer of Maple- After Bert Paider retired, Glenn Nimmer was se-
wood, and the first bookkeeper was Felix Bonjean. lected as manager. He inauguarated a pole barn di-
After one year Fischer resigned. the board of direc- vision whereby a strong storage building could be
tors then selected Bert Paider as manager. Paider erected with poles, lumber and sheet metal. At the
was a carpenter contractor and had erected many time Lloyd Vincent was bookkeeper a nd after he
build ings in Oconto County and also in the southern le ft the job was taken over by Kenn eth Paider. Wal-
portion of Brown County. He had moved to Luxem- ter Plautz was foreman of the Pole barn crew, and
burg in 1917 and operated a building crew in the later the job went to John Rueckl. After Glenn Nim-
Luxembu rg area. Th e firm operated a planning mill mer left fohn Rueckl and Kenneth Paider were ap-
and cheese box factory, giving employment to vil- pointed as co-managers.
lage people. Bolts and heading were stacked up in fohn Rueckl and Jerry Marcelle left to start their
the "swamp" in what is now the ball field. own Pole building business, and the directors select-
An agreement was reached with Sylvan Vandrisse ed Roger TeKulve to operate the busin ess as man-
for the acquisition of his lumber yard on the proper- ager. A group of investors headed by Attorney Rob-
ty d irectly across from the present Norman Van- ert Petitjean obtained control of the stock of the
Drisse gas station. One of the original buildings is Luxemburg Manufacturing Company and operated
still on the site. Sylvan Vand risse later became an from the same location. They changed the name to
employee of the firm. NorthBrook Lumber and Feed.
A big improvement was the erection of a new After some time they disposed of the feed division
fireproof boiler room. Drykilns to dry hardwood to the Kewaunee Cooperative, which still operates
lumber for trim and also custom drying were built. from the same location.
Cabinet makers employed by the firm included Fe- The lumber yard d ivision has been moved to a
lix Vandeveld , Roy Kaye, Frank Konop, Edward site in the town of Bellevue.
Bosdech and Darrel Schultz.
Under the management of Bert Paider, the firm Sontror.:h ilrot he rs Mi/I
prospered, coming through the great depression in
good shape .
Agreement was reached with the stockholders of
the Luxemburg Grain Company and the companies
merged. Felix VanOrisse was in charge of all eleva-
tor operations. Under this setup they purchased and
sold coal to people in the area. At first coal was d e-
livered by horse and wagon, many remembering
H enry Bertrand d elivering coal with "Tom" pulling
the wagon. In those years the company purchased
grain on the open market and shipped to Milwau-
kee, and barley was in good demand which brought
high prices. They also purchased alfalfa seed from

Luxemburg Freezer and Locker was built and op- The business was started by Julius. in company
erated by Ray Daul in 1940 in the day before fre ez- with Joseph Seidl when they purchased a drilling
ers became popular. It was dismantled in 1974. machine from Henry Hartinger and Albert Lohf.
Many a delicious steak, pork chop and even ice (wells also had been drilled by Charles Seifert and
cream were s tored for the family table by this estab- George Oberhofer).
lishmenl. Julius then built another machine in Kollross'
In 1953 a slaughter house was built with custom blacksm ith shop in South Luxemburg. After many
slaughtering. A son, Robert, bought the business in years of providing water for the farmers a nd village
1954 and two years later enlarged the slaughter people he retired and turned the business over to
house, and added modern meat cutting machines, his sons Alois and Amos.
hamburger p ress, stuffing m achine and a round Alois bought a cable machine in 1947 and Amos
steak tenderizer. purchased the old one in 1952. They each ran their
Otto Knopke. a native of Germany, purchased the own rig and drilJed many wells in the coun ty and
busin ess in '1980. Beside custom meat cutting, he neighboring counties.
also makes bra ts with season ing directly from Ger- Cable machines drill about 50-60 wells per year.
many. In 1972 Alois purchased a rotary machine which
He h as two employees, Dan Theys a nd P at drills 20 feet per hour, compared with a cable ma-
Dorner. chin e's 2 feet per hour. The cable machine used a
tempered steel bit whereas a rotary machine re-
quires a carbide bit.
Son Jerry joined the business in 1967. The deepest
OUTSIDERS INN well ever drilled was near Bay Settlement to a
depth of 500 feet.
Peter Bouche built the tavern in 1893. It was later Back in 1916 Albert Lohf and Henry Hartinger
operated by john Fameree and Sylvan Vandrisse in went to the farm of Joseph Pauli to resume d rilling
1912 who then sold the busin ess to Frank Christoph. operations. they were amazed to see the well over-
Frank opera ted the saloon until 1928 when James rlowing. A depth of 30 feet h ad been reached when
Janda became the proprietor. In those d ays you they quit drilling. There was sufficient pressure to
could get a free fish fry and sometimes the Bohe- force the water through the residence and barns o f
mian Brass Band provided the entertainment. In Mr. Pauli.
1928 thieves entered James Janda saloon and stole 8 Alois once stated they nearly always manage to
cartons of cigarettes and 4 boxes of candy. rind water-but never oil!
Anton Grasse!, Jr and wife Jennie purchased the
business next. They operated the tavern for about 25
years before ill hea lth forced him to retire. Joe N el-
lis operated lavern about 3 years returning the man-
agement back to Anton Grassel. Anton died and the
property was sold.
Harley and Mary Ann Greatens purchased the
building and remodled the interior. After a few
years of running the tavern it was sold to Ronald
and Kat ie Ko llross. Today the establishm ent is & REPAIRING SERVICE
owned by Kathy Deprey.
john Rodrain operated a welding and repairing
shop on Main Street for about nine yea rs, in the
brick building owned by Herman Kratz, which was
RENARD CHEESE locntecl between the Kratz tavern an d the Common-
wealth Telephone Company. The building was dis-
Ron Renard manages the store in the old Nellis mnntled in 1979. While at work on a gas drum, he
beer warehouse. The building was purch ased in lost one eye in a resulting explosion. Wallace Gui-
1968 by Norman VanDrisse and remodeled into a lette was employed by him during this period.
laundra-mat, car wash and store. The Renard family John purchased land on highway 54 from Roman
came from the Brussels area with Ron's wife Mari- Loberger and transferred his business there. His son
lyn doing most of the selling with help from the Russel and Wallace Guillette help with the repair
younger members of the family. work.

Before Leo established his sausage company at
Audrey and Gordon Rozinsky, formerly of Men- 107 4th Street, just off Hwy. 54, on October 1, 1966,
chelville, own and operate the restaurant. They pur- h e a lready had been following a family tradition.
chased the business from Glen and LaVonne Nim- The tradition in meats had started in 1915 when
mer in 1968. George Kohlbeck, Leo's grandfather, started his meat
The building was built by Dr. Dow, a nd he and market in Luxemburg. In 1936, at the tender age of
Dr Fletcher operated a veterinary clinic for a few 16, Leo started working for his grandfa ther. As the
years before selling to the Nimmers. oldest of the grandchildren and as it was in the
depression, h e had little choice about his occupation
at that time.
The market remained a family type operation,
RUECKL POLE BUILDINGS with Leo working with his uncle, Ed Kohlbeck,
starting in 1942, just before he went into service.
John Rueckl started the business in April 1969 on On Dec. 1, 1950, Leo joined in partnership with
land leased from Lloyd Haen. He previously worked Don Barbiaux to form a custom slaughtering and
for Luxemburg Milling Company, Badger S tate, sausage business west of Kewaunee, under th e
Charmin Paper Mills, VanDrisse Oil Co. and Lux- name of Salmon & Barbiaux. The company stopped
emburg Mfg. from 1952 to 1969. He builds pole slaughtering in 1960 and sold mostly wholesale to
buildings for farm and business use and employs stores in Luxemburg, Algoma, and Kewaunee.
nine people. Some of the long time employees are In 1966, when Leo established the present com-
Harold Treml. Leonard Treml, Jerry Treml, Dennis pany in Luxemburg, he made weiners and bologna,
Dufek, and Steve Gregorich. selling only wholesale to supermarkets in this area,
along with his small retail outlet in the front part of
his building.
Today, besides selling to supermarkets, Salmon's
also sell their products to restaurants, and have ex-
NORBERT RUECKL panded the line to include hamburger and brat pat-
CONSTRUCTION ties, beef loins, breakfast sausage, etc.
Their market now extends west of Green Bay,
Rueck] Construction began in 1969, on what used south to DePere, and north to Sturgeon Bay.
to be the Merens Farm. Norbert and his son Glen Salmon's is still a family-type operation, as the
run the business of building and remodeling homes. three full time workers are Leo and his sons, Gary
Norbert worked for Van's Lumber before 1969, and and Glen. There are also three part-time workers,
for Jonas Barbiaux and Meacham Realty. one is Leo's wife, Marion.
In 1970 a trailer park was started. There are now From carcass, slaughtered the day before, to weiners
31 units in the park. or bologn a, the process takes about three days. The
first two the meat is cured in salts, then is reground,
seasoned, stuffed into sausage casings, put in the
smokehouse (maple sawdust is used) for three to
S. A. S. four hours, cooked to 160 degrees, then chilled over-
night and boxed for the consumer. - newspaper article
Elmer Secker of Kewaunee and Lee Anderson of
Luxemburg became co-owners of the S A S fi rm
which began operation in '.1977. It is a large salvage
yard, specializing in small American and foreign
In 1980 Mr. Secker became sole owner of the op-
eration. He then moved to Highway 54, and built a Schwab's Shoe Store is the only original business
large addition in 1981. still in operation by the original family members.
Employees at present are David Deprey, Danny John Schwab, Sr. fou nded the business when Lux-
Konop. Mike Lemke, Paul Safranski , Bruce Quis- emburg was in its infancy, boasting 25 buildings. He
torff. and Marilyn Jossart, is part-time office h elp. was active in the business working continuously
through his 98th year, when h e retired. Alert and
active, John would have observed his 100th birthday
within four months of his passing, August 5, 1973.

He was a skilled craftsman, having specialized in SEIDL CONSTRUCTION
hand-made shoes. Afler serving a four year appren-
ticeship he contin ued this lin e of work until called Cletus Seidl started in the building trade in 1941
to serve compu lsory military training. After return- as an apprentice of Joseph Daul and Desire Thayse.
ing to civilian life, Mr. Schwab set up a shoe mak- In 1950 he purchased a lot from August Spitzer and
ing business in Vienna, the home of his future wife. built his first home that he sold to Mr. & Mrs. Rob-
During his first years in Luxemburg, John did any ert Daul.
kind of work he could find, since there was no de- During the ensuing years, in addition to the se-
mand for hand-crafted shoes. He was employed as a veral hundred h omes built and remodeled in the
section hand on the railroad. a farm hand, hauled Luxemburg and surroundi ng areas. Seidl Construc-
mail from the post office to the depot. cleaned and tion also did commercial build ing and remodeling,
pressed clothes, a nd evenings repaired shoes until such as the Phillips 66 Station, St. Mary's Convent-
he saved enough money to purchase stock for the new addition, Luxemburg Clinic Building, Bay Ridge
shoe business. Specialities, Don's Bakery, Luxemburg Motel and
His first shop was across the street in the old the Tisch Mills Parish Hall.
Transit House. In 1911 he moved h is shoe and re- In 1964, farm land was purchased from Ralph
pair equipment to the Wisconsin House which had Colle for the intent of developing a subdivision of
been occupied by the Luxemburg Marble and Gra- new homes.
nite Works. In 1913 he built the present structure At present, two sons, Jack and Joe Seidl are carry-
which still houses the business now operated by son ing on the carpenter trade.
John, who learned the craft from his father. John
also learned to build specia l orthopedic shoes, and
when Robinsonvill e Ch apel cared for handicapped SEIDL ELECTRIC
children he made the special foot wear required. A
grandson, also named John, learn ed the shoe repair In 1929 Emil Ullsperger was Luxemburg's ffrst
trade. electrician. His shop was in the Liebl Building (part
Today the business is still a family affair with used for post office]. In 1937 he built a new shop (22
John repairing shoes and his wife June and sister x 36') at 412 Elm St.
Martha in charge of sales. Francis Seidl worked for Bloeborn Electric in 1947
John Schwob. Sr. and for DeBaker Electric from 1948 to 1953, he then
purchased Emil's building and started in business
for himself. In 1972 son Bill joined his father in the
electrician business.

The first blacksmith sh op was at Sharp Corners
where John rented land for a year from Fred
Wunsch's father while building his shop for the
price of $300 on an acre of land purchased from the
Kreilkamp family. John Sr was born at Bay Settle-
ment and went to Green Bay at the age of 16 where
he learned the blacksmith trade. His son John Jr fol-
lowed in his father's footsteps purchasing the former
Charlie Kollross blacksmith sho p fro m Angeline
Kollross in 1932 and land from Charles Linzmeier to
build a h ouse. The b lacksmith shop had been leased
from Mrs. Kollross by Frank Pies of Suamico d uring
1924, however Mr. Pies d id not stay and the build-
ing was vacant about a year before John Simonar
purchased it.
Improvements h ave been made over the years to
the building and property. Horseshoing has given
way to tire ch anging since the automobile came into
use. Texaco was the first brand of gas used, with
Shell Oil later supplying the gas and oil needs.

After the death of John his sons jerry and Richard Simonor Service Wrecke rs, 1930 and 1950 models.
took over the business. In 1962 they expanded into
the snowmobile business and put up a new building
two doors up the street, with the purchase of john
Seidl property. Dominic Lanser's house and land
was acquired for the parking lot. At this time the
younger brothel' Leroy was helping in the business
and took over as manager of the snowmobile de-
partment. Today that firm also sells boats and go
carts. During 1963-64 snowmobile maintenance
classes were held to help acquaint the new owners
with problems that might arise. The snowmobile
shop employs Roy Ihlenfelt, Paul Simon ar and Ler-
oy's sons David and Dean.
The garage is run by Jerry and Richard w ith help
from their sons, Rick, Jon, Brice ). Lee, Robbie,
Gary, Jim, and Dale. They also employ Dale Detam-
pel. During 1982 the garage was given a face lift,
the front was redecorated with an insulating materi-
al accen ted by cedar boards.
Jean Streyckman came to Walhain in 1856 with
his family. He was an architect and furniture maker
Simonar Service bcfore 1937. by trade. He purchased a farm but never worked
his own land. Jean engaged in building homes and
furn iture for the pioneer families in the area. He
also built the first church. His son Felix married
Flora Gauthier at the first mass to be said in the
church. The structure later burned and was replaced
by a new church in 1912 at a cost of $9000, while
the parish was under the guidance of Rev. Milo P
Smits. On October 13, 1913 the first mass was cele-
brated with the church being dedicated on Novem-
ber 19, 1912. The parish had about 20 families in
the congregation.
The following priests served the parish. Father B I
P Scheevers, 1898-1908; Rev Milo P Smiths, 1908-
1922; Rev L A Dobblesteen, 1922-1947; Rev H E
McDonn ell, 1947-1956; Rev T L Werner, 1956-1959;
Rev J A Mailhot, 1959-1962. At the present time Fa-
Simonor's firs! wrecker and snow plow. ther Christian O'Brien serves St. Amands parish.
While Father Smits was at Walhain parish he
started out to say mass on Sunday morning with his
horse and buggy along CTH " H " when a car came
along and fr ightened his horse. The animal jumped
over the bridge and fell into the water with the
priest and buggy. Services had to be postponed that

It was on the 29th of October. 1874 when a num-
ber of Lutherans in and around Luxemburg and
Casco. Wisconsin, assembled for the purpose of or-
ganizing a congregation.

The first president elected was John Bauer; secre- ing and financing of the new entra nce. He was
tary, Carl Radue. The Board of Trustees consisted of looking forwa rd to help celebrate the 100th anniver-
the following; Carl Radue, August Radue, and J. sary of the congregation h e served for eleven years.
Vorpahl. but those hopes were not to be realized, for on July
The name chosen for the newly organized congre- 13, 1974, he passed away.
gation was The German Evangelical Lutheran, St. Rev. Roland H. Roehrs was installed on Novem-
John's Congregation in Casco township, Kewaun ee ber 25, 1973. Under his direction a Ladies' Guild,
County. the newest society of the congregation was orga-
The first church, at the site of St. John's Cemetery nized. H e left in December of 1976 and St. John 's
was a log building built in 1898. was left without a pastor. For the next 1112 years the
In 1913 Santroch Bros. built an addition to St. parish was served by a vacancy pastor. In 1978 Rev-
John's Church, to be used as a parochial school. erend Carl Bornmann answered the call and is to-
St. John's Lutheran Church organized the Lad ies' day St. John's Pastor.
Aid Society in 1916 with the first meeting held at During the history of the congregation, two of the
Mrs. He rman Lohrey's house. member's sons have become pastors: Rev. Leonard
O n Ascension Day in 1918 lightning struck the Schneider, son of August Schneider, was ordain ed
church and it burned to the ground. Divine services July 26, 1931 and Rev. Ste phe n Anderson, son of
were held in the basement of the Bank of Luxem- Anton Anderson, who was ord ained into the minis-
burg until the present building was constructed in try at St. John's on June 23, 1974.
1921. The following pastors have fa ithfully served St.
Fra nk Miesler, a member of the congregation. John's Lutheran Church during the past cen tury:
drew plans for the new church. He and John Fisher Rev. A. P. Aulich, 1874-1888; Rev. H. Diehl, 1888-
were the main carpenters on the building while 1905; Rev. G. S. Mundinger, 1905-1912; Rev. H . A.
members of the congregation provided the labor. Hand rich, 1912-1925; Rev. Martin Hasz, 1925-1929;
They were paid for their work, yet were able to Rev. R. F. W. Pautz, 1929-1942; Rev. J. H . Nau.
build the church at a cost of $12,700. The congrega- 1942-1953: Rev. D. C. Schulz, 1953-1961; Rev. T. H .
tion raised the money, and with the help of some Hilgendorf, 1962-1973; Rev. Roland H. Roehrs, 1973-
insmance, had the church pa id for before the encl 1978.
of 1922. Un til 1914, the children of the congregation went
In 1925, St. John's Cemetery was beautified by to St. Paul's, Montpelier, for christian instructions
having the old sheds, which sheltered horses when and Confirmation. After the present church was
the c h u rch stood on the premises, torn down. buil t. Chr istian day school was held in the church
Grounds were leveled off and a new fence was basement every other week.
erected. A few years later Gus and Clara Moede, Theodore Brachman. Otto Mueller, John Braem,
Gus Meisler, and Louis Sell planted trees to beauti- Walter Shaefer and Richard Hasz were instructors
fy th e cemetery. for the day school. But it was difficult to get a
The new church entrance, constructed in 1973 teach er for alternate years, so in '1930 Sunday and
was built by A. J. Despins & Sons, Inc., at a cost of Saturday School was begun for christian education.
$42,000. The Sunday School, in :1974, had an enrollment of
For ma ny years St. john's was served by Pastors 75 students. Each summe r there is a Vacation Bible
of her sister congregation at Montpelier. Following School for the children taught by volunteers from
the advice of Pastor ) . H . Nau, then serving the con- the congrega tion.
gregation. a parsonage was built in 1952 by Alva
Schmidt an d several other church members. The
first resident pastor was ca lied and Pastor Dona Id
Schulz accepted the challenge to put St. John's on
its own. He was installed in February of 1953.
Through his efforts, membership and church atten-
danc e in creased. After se rving the congregation
faithfull y for almost nine years, Pastor Schulz ac-
cepted a ca ll to Bethlehem Lutheran Church in She-
boygan. Wisconsin.
In April of 1962, Pastor T heodore Hilgendorf was
installed. Pastor Hilgendorf was a faith ful servant of
the congregation until his retirement on Jun e 17,
1973. Pastor Hilgendorf guided h is parishon e rs
through many meetings during the planning, build-

St. /ohn·s Lurheron Church

The nwdoms; Minnie Lavrenz. t\melio Hafeman. Minnie Luedrke. ivlinnie Veeser. Emma Kuesror, Clo ra Peol, Emmu Miesler, t\ls1.een.
/du Mic:sler, Vinu Zuege, Aug. Schneider.

ST MARTINS OF TONET 1947 Rev Edward Zelinske came as an assistant as
Father Dobblesteen was not in good health, and
St. Martin's was founded in 1876. The land was died on November 18, 1947. Rev Hugh McDonnell
donated by Henry Servaes and Michael Bredael. was appointed in December of 1947 and served un -
Th e cemetery prope rty was donated by Peter Janet. til May of 1956. New pews were installed and in
Construction began Easter monday 1876. Th e 1949 a communion railing was added.
church, furniture, pews, alters. and communion rail- Rev Timothy Lawrence Werner became the next
ing were all made by church members. pastor and served until December 17, 1959. The rec-
Rev Martin Smits sa id the first mass in 1877 and tory kitchen was then remodled. Rev Gregory Feller
was appointed pastor. He built a parish house and was administrator from December 1959 to January of
sacristy at his own expense. Father Joseph J Fox 1960. Rev Albert M ailhot served 1 year and during
took care of the congregation from 1879 to 1880. his stay the new electric organ was purchased. Fa-
Reverend A Musschelein was appointed the n ext ther Mailhot d ied February 12, 1962 and the parish
pastor and stayed until 1885. was served by an assistant from the abbey.
In 1880 a bell was purchased. Father P. J. Cauter- March of 1962 to July Rev Gregor Feller was
eels of Bay Settlement and Father N Hens of New again adm inistrator and did much to beautify the
Franken took care of the parish from May 1885 to church and grounds.
August 1886. Six priests served the parish until Rev A. J. Schinkter was the next administrator.
March of 1891. Rev J B Martin, Father F Rocagel, From June to September Rev Maurice Windt held
Father Louis Martin, Father Joseph Darche, Father the position of pastor, with Rev Geoffrey Claridge
john Kotzbire and Father A LeBras. taking over until August of 1965. Rev Robert L Hyd e
March of 1891 Father A. J. Drees of Luxemburg was the next priest. In September of 1975 Rev ·Se-
served as pastor. He was succeeded by Rev P. J. bastia n Sch alk was pastor and a lso serv ed St.
Van Heyster who stayed until 1984. Since then St. Ama n ds. Th e present pastor is Rev Christian
Martins has been served by Norbertine Fathers. In O'Brien.
May of that year Father L Broens became pastor The first baptism was Em ma Vandeveld d aughter
until July 1898. Father B. J. Schevers was his succes- of Zacharie and Louis Vandeveld. The first marriage
sor and during this time the new parsonage was was Gustave Bertrand to Mathilda Pirlot in 1880.
e rected. Rev Mil o P Smi ts ca m e in 1908 . Th e One son and two daughters of St. Martins joined
church and rectory were redecorated and stain ed the religious ord er, Sister Cecelia, Mary Frisque,
glass windows installed. daughter of Peter and Catherine Frisque. sister Bar-
The Rev Lambert Dobblesteen, a talented musi- bara, Louise Alsteen, daughter of Rose and William
cia n and composer of church hymns a nd chants was Alsteen. Rev Ronald P Guillette, son of Margaret
the next pastor at St. Martins. He also served the and Elmer Guillette.
mission church at Walhain, St. Amands. During the Agnes Haevers (Mrs. Victor Hanman n) was one of
year the parish celebrated its 50th an niversarv Fa- the first organists preceeded by her sister Virginia
ther Dobblesteen celebrated the silver jubilee ~f his [Mrs. Massey). Before Virgi n ia was organist the
ord in ation . nuns of the Chapel played for mass. Libbie Vanden-
St. Therese Society and St. Ann Society were or- houten was organist for 50 years and has been suc-
ganized as was the Holy Name Society. August of ceeded by Vernal Vincent.

ST. MARY'S CHURCH tor of St. Mary's. Three years later he celebrated his
25th anniversary as a priest and established the
Holy Rosary Society.
In 1896, the Rev Michae l Schoell came to the
St. Mary Catholic parish of Luxemburg began as a Luxemburg parish. St. Mary's then boasted a parish
mission post in 1862. of 128 families with 130 scholars.
The first Catholic settlers in this locality included: Next came Rev Christopher Kreiger, during whose
Nick Merens, Peter Colle, John Kaut. Nick Peot, time a new brick school was bu ilt a nd staffed by
Theodore Wunsch, Frank Wunsch, Lawrence Daul, the Sisters of St. Francis of Milwaukee. Rev John A
Michael Arendt, Anton Spitzer, John Spitzer, An- Holzknecht was assigned to St. Mary's July 23, 1902
drew Schroeder, Jacob Spitzer, Gregory Salentine, and left in Novem ber. The parish was then cared
Andre Wahl, Michael Haen, Peter Arendt, Joseph for by the Fathers from St. Nazianz. January 1903
H artinger, August Martin, and Daniel Daul. Father Ulrich return ed to serve the parish until June
These early settlers were first visited by Father of 1905, when once again the Fathers from St. Na-
Albers. Jn 1862 the Rev. F.X. Pfaller, pastor of the zianz served the parish.
German congregation at Green Bay said mass once On November 23, 1905 Rev Henry Hunck was in-
a month in a small schoolhouse not far from the site stalled as pastor. He e ngaged the Sisters of St. Jo-
of the present church. In 1864 a log church was seph, Milwaukee to teach. The church was enlarged
construc ted. to its present cruciform style at a cost of $6,609. The
Father Daems visited Luxemburg occasionally. He church was reconsecrated by Bishop Joseph J Fox
said mass in the hom e of Simon Thibaudeau and on October 16, 1906. The rel ics of the Holy Martyrs
encouraged the settlers of Canadian birth to build a St. Celestine and St. Modestus remain in the conse-
church of their own, for which, as administrator of crated altar. Rev Hunck served St. Mary's for 21
the diocese he provid ed the means. In 1875 he years, leaving in 1927 for Chilton.
blessed the little church in honor of the Sacred During 1912 a concrete floor was laid in the
Heart of Jesus. church basement and the foundation was laid for
For some time following Luxemburg was attended the large cross in the cemetery. In 1916 a garage
as a mission from New Franken . The first to assume was built. During 1925 fire threatened to d estroy St.
charge was Rev. Father Camencind, who came in M ary's school. Fire started near a defective chimney
1869. Then Rev. Boden and Leitner in 1870; Rev. with only minor damages.
Welbes from 1870 to 1875-he bought a bell for the March of 1925 a new pipe organ was installed at
church at a cost of $329; Father Guenterscheid St. Mary's Church and was dedicated on the first
stayed for about 3 months. Sunday in April. A new fence was placed around
When the parsonage was built in 1876, the Rev. the entire cemetery in 1938.
Videnka became the first resident pastor. He also On May 13, 1927 Rev John Huhn was named pas-
attended the neighboring German and Bohemian tor. serving the parish for 30 years. During 1951 a
missions. In Dec. 1881 Rev. Hugo Praesser took new six-room school was erected at a cost of $143,
charge. He established the school and engaged Miss 000. It was dedica ted and blessed April 1, 1951 by
Weiss as the first teacher. Rev Stanislaus V Bona, Bishop. T he school also con-
In 1883 the cornerstone of the new church was tained a library, office and a full basement for serv-
laid, and on Jan. 1, 1884 the first services were held. ing meals or parish social activities.
The old church was remodelled for a school, which Rev John Huhn was elevated to Monsignor in
was given in charge of the Franciscan Sisters of 1949. H e also celebrated h is golden a nniversary of
Milwaukee. A sister house was built in 1889. h is ordin ation while a priest at St. Mary's. He died
On April 28, 1884 the Rev. Praesser of Luxemburg January 25, 1958 and was buried in St. Rose Ceme-
went to Europe, Rev. John A. Drees was appointed tery.
as successor. Consecration of the church by Bishop The Rev William Hema uer a rrived at St. Mary's
Krautbauer was performed on the feast of St. Mi- on March 1, 1958. Since thal lim e two more rooms
chael the Archangel, Sept. 29, 1885. The church was were added to the school a nd the interior of the
furnished with two new side altars and a commu- church redecorated. There were 215 famil ies in the
nion rail. parish with a total of 290 students attending St.
April 1892 the parish was blessed with two new Mary's school. The old school was razed in 1958. It
bells, the larger 1,200 pounds, costing $237 and the had been in use since 1901.
other 358 pounds, at a cost of $74. The larger bell St. Mary's marked the 100th year in 1962 with the
was blessed in honor of the Mother of God and the celebration of mass by Rev William H emauer, fol-
latter in honor of St. Joseph. lowed by a dinner for the sons and daughters who
March of 1893 Rev. C. Ulrich was appointed pas- entered the religious life.

About 1967 the ?.th and 8th grades were elimina t- Mar ie, Lauratella. UrsulaAnn, Angerine. Ma ryMag-
ed from the school. Tran sfer of the students was dalene, M aryJustus, Louise M arie, and Cecilia.
made to the Junior High School at Casco . There were 23 daughters and sons who e ntered
The first class to graduate from St. Mary's School the religious life from the parish .
included, Hilary Peot, Andrew Peol, Laura Joerger.
Clothilda Rueckl and Mary Schroede r. Sister M Roberta, ·1901
The Catholic Order of Foresters celebrated their Sister M Cortilia, 1903
Golden Jubilee on January 8, 1950. At th e time the Siste r M Plantilla. 1907
court w as orga nized twenty mem bers were in the Sister M Bonita, 1909
order, namely; John Leiterman, Vojta Nuhlicek. Al- Sister M Evellia. 1912-daughters of Ve ronica and
b er t Liebl. John P P e ot, Nick Spitzer, John Wenzel Seidl
Schneider. Joseph Linzmeie r, Joseph Glaser, Joseph Siste r M Concepta, 1902- daught er of John and
Thibaudeau, W illi am Wu n sch. Melchoir P eo t , Theresa Schaul, raised by Mike Peots after the
George Elfner. John Novak. Jr., Mi chael Salentin e, death of her parents.
Thomas Halada. John Mille r. Jacob Baierl, Nicholas Sister Mary Edwin . 1921- daughter of Pete r and
Lanser. Adolph Linzmeier, and Andrew Kreilkamp. Bertha Arendt
St. Joseph Society was started a bout 1885, and is Siste r M Wilburgis, 1923 - daughte r of Louis a nd
still active today with Pe te r M artin as the head of Anna Rueckl
the organization. Th e Holy N ame Society was Sister M. Liza nia. 1946-daugh te r of Andrew a nd
formed about 1925, with John Treml as President; Frances Loberger
Andrew Seidl. Vice Pres; Anton Aschenbrenn er, Sister M Julie, 1948
Sec; Clem Rass. Treas; and Charles B Zellner as Sister Donald Ann. 1958
Marshall. Catholic Knights was organized May 1, Bon n ie, 1959- daughte rs of Peter and Emma Zelln er
1966 with 116 members. Dr. Henry Majeski is a Sister M Alexa. 1951-daughter of Elmer a nd Dor-
charter Grand Knight with Father Wm Hemauer as othy Barbiaux
charter Chaplin. Siste r M Rolanda, 1951-daughte r of George a nd
The Christian Mothers Society was formed in Mary Treml
1958. It h ad been known as St. Ann's Society which Rita Jadin , 1959-da ughte r o f Peter Jad ins
was organized about 1936. Siste r Ma ry Louis, 1931-daughler of Katherin e a nd
The Rev Benedict Marx was appointed pastor in Theodore Bertrand
1968. The Sisters of St. Francis no longer supplied Sister M Julia na. 1920-daughter of Pe te r and Anna
teachers or an organist. There are only lay teachers Peot
serving the school at the present time. It was at this Sister M Henricka, 1921- daughter of Thomas and
time that Martha Schwab began as organist for St. Anna Christoff
Marys. Sis te r Mary Ellenta-daughter of Walter and H ele n
In 1979 the church was aga in redecorated. the job Sa lmon
being completed in time for Easte r of 1980. The Sis te r Carol. 1970-daughte r of Clarence a nd Erma
large crucifix is illumina ted a nd beautifully set off Seidl
by blue a nd amber lights, giving the illusion of sun- Siste r Marie Gore tti, 1955- daughte r of Wilbert and
rise. Clarion bells were donated to the c hurch, along Marcella Marcelle
with tapes providing pleasant music at noon and be- Revere nd Felix VanDrisse- son of Felix a nd Rose
fore mass. The Rev Marx submitted to heart surgery VanDrisse
and decided to retire. He was succeeded by Rev Reverend William Aschenbrenner- son of Peter As-
Milton Suess on July 1, 1980. Father Suess ·was or- c hen brenners
dained by Bishop Bona in 1963 and came here from
St. Anne's parish. New H olstein . He serves the par-
ish of 1497 members, 347 famili es. first church of St. Mary's built in 186~ .
The parish is now being served by four organists,
Martha Schwab, Kathy Deja rdin , Lynn Seidl and
Donald Ledvina.
The nuns who taught at St. M arys were: Sisters,
Zita, Christovel, Clementine, M Elto, M Petronelle.
Henrica, Thersia. Blondia, Hilaria, Munda. Artolous.
Quinto, Anastasia, Concordia, Aquinas. Waldaberta.
Erna, Lansicia. Glarus, Regina, Leivina, Vermotta,
Hermeita, Rolanda, Angelin e, Wilhelma, Austonia.
Mary - Ell a, Cobella, Canisuis, G raschiana, Rose -

Sr. ,\Jory·s Calholic Church Befor~ l!I05.

/oseph Gn1s1ein 111ec/ i\larr Le}' 1900 at Sr. 1\lury"s Church. Stahl bonrl escorling 1h1: pcirtr. Prom left. lfoclOr}•. pump oncl woodshecl.
church ond school.

First Co mmunion, St. Mary's-L lo R. front row. Andrew Wohl, Toseph Treml. Chor/es Zellner. Tacob Ronk, and Louis Ze llner. Back
Ro1V - Fronk Seidl. George Kelnhofer. Mike Are ndt ond Ben Solen!ine.

STANDARD OIL COMPANY day, the modern and successful IGA Grocery and
Ben Franklin store employs 32 people. There are 21
Orville Gillis operated a gas truck for the Stan- part time employees and the full time employees
dard Oil Company from 1955 to 1980. He delivered are: Marie Gillis, Madeline Tebon, Bill Heisen, Ja-
gas to farmers so they could keep their machinery nice Parkos, Don Fameree, Lee LeLou, Sharon
running in the busy planting and harvesting seasons. McCosky, Janet Zehren and Bonnie Massart.
In 1980 he sold his route to Tilot Oil Company of
Green Bay who now serves Orville's customers.
Frank Kowaleski of Bay Settlement established
The station was built on Merens property by John the Bay Ridge Specialties in 1960. He had a build-
Merens and operated by him for a few years. In ing put up on the corner of Colle Street and high-
1938 it was purchased by Fritz Seidl who sold Stan- way 54, where he conducted the business of packag-
dard oil products and Atlas tires. During 1941 Fritz ing candy, nuts, pork hocks, Polish Sausage, and
moved into another station down the street and the selling the packaged goods to retail establishments.
place was closed. They also packaged candy for Santa Claus. In the
peak season he employed 22 people. He was chosen
Man of the Year in 1968. After his retirement he
STODOLA'S IGA was succeeded in the business by his son Don, who
continued the business for 2 1/2 years, then moved
A grocery story built and operated by Francis the operation to his home in Bay Settlement.
Metzler since 1966, was purchased by Richard and The building has become part of the !GA oper-
Theodore Stodola in 1971. The Stodola brothers also ation.
purchased the former Bay Ridge Specialities build- Some or the employees were Evelyn Hermans,
ing and converted it into a Ben Franklin department Joanne Kollross, Karen Braun, Evelyn Ropson, Betty
in 1973. A 5,400 square foot area was added in 1980 Boucher, Dorothy Strubers, Lois Sladky, and Agnes
making a combined total of 15,000 square feet. To- Seidl.

TEKULVE CONSTRUCTION in the front door. Mrs. Hoffman was awakened by
the noise and called Joe. He went to the front win-
Roger came to Luxemburg in 1968 to manage the dow on the second floor and caught the burglars in
Luxemburg Manufacturing Company from Richard- the act of taking a quarter slot machine. Joe blazed
son Bros, of Menominee, Mich. After three years he away with a double barrel shotgun, the second shot
went into business for himself. jammed and while Joe was slid ing in more amo the
Today his son Cory helps h im in repairing roofs, 2 burglars jumped into their car, after firing a shot
screens and doors, installing siding and remodeling at the window. The car sped north thru the village
buildings. leaving the slot machin e behind."-from Luxemburg
News Article.
At one time Joe held a dance for everyone with
the first name of JOE. The dance was well attended.
THEYS ORCHARDS The next owner of the tavern was Alex Smeester
who purchased the building in 1948. He made
The orchard in the village was started by John apartments on the second floor and added a be-
Miller and then purchased by Albert and Esther droom on the lower level. Twelve years later Alex
Theys. As the village grew the orchard shrunk in and his wife retired, leaving the business to his son
size and Bert purchased land along Hwy. 54 in who only ran the tavern a short time.
1946, and trees were p lan ted in 1948. Next the Baeten family operated the tavern fo r
August Spitzer planted trees 100 years ago and about a year before moving to Rio Creek. LeRoy
had the largest orchard in the area in his day. Jim Ullman purchased the tavern and he is the present
Theys purchased the property in 1957 from the owner. About 1970 Bob Daul purchased land where
Spitzer estate. the dance hall stood and demolished the structure to
Today Jim operates both orchards with the help of make room for his new house.
his wife Jean, and his family. When apple picking During 1916 a large number of Luxemburg resi-
time comes more h elp is needed. Some of the em- dents were attracted to Thill's hall to witness "The
ployees were Stella Cravillion, Rose Lohrey, Irene Life of our Savior." The electric current needed to
Dalebroux, Loretta Jonet. Matt Wessely, Anton Shef- operate the picture machine was furnished by an
chek and his wife. outfit stationed on a sleigh in front of the hall. After
6 reels had been shown the sleigh suddenly slipped
down the incline and d id not stop until it had gone
a distance of some 20 feet. This caused the wires
ULLMAN TAVERN leading into the hall to pull over the picture ma-
chine causing the lights to go out. The noise caused
In 1893 Nick Spitzer bui lt a hotel-boarding house, by snapping wires prompted someone to yell "Fire"
dance hall, livery stable a nd saloon. He conducted and a panic fo llowed. Practically every window in
the only hotel in Luxemburg for years and it was the place was broken and seve ral persons were
his custom to meet all trains. He later installed badly injured.- from LuxAmburg Nf:lws article.
equipm ent for showing movies and a stage for Vau-
deville shows. One could see a show in 1913 for
15G:-adults and 10¢ for children.
After 20 years Nick sold the business to Peter
Thill and moved to Oconto Falls. Four years later
Peter and Elizabeth Colle purchased the establish-
ment. In August of 1937 Pete had a crew of men
tear down the section between the tavern and dance
hall. The large barn east of the dance hall will be
torn down later. It has been standing empty about
20 years. During April of 1938 Pete sold the tavern
to Joseph Hoffman.
June 23, 1939 "Two burglars had nothing to show
but a bad case of jitters in their attempt to rob the
Joe Hoffman Tavern, South Luxemburg, unless the
last shot from Joe's trusty gun went where he
thought it did. The two men drove a black sedan
with no license plate visible, backed the ca r up to
the front door of the tavern at three AM and broke

When South Luxcmhurg was o 1hriving little sett/emenl, Nick Sritzer opercited a tave rn on the corner of what is now Hwy 163 and CT
A It was u popular gothering pluce. This gathering is fo r the 1Vedding of Wessely Sig/ and Anna Kehlnofe r about 1900. The Stahl Brass
Hand at th e left fu rnished th<! music. '/'he smoll building deco roted w ith garlands was the Elfner Shoe Shop.

, ,~

~ ...
Nick Spitzer's hotel, saloon, dance hall and livery swble. The o nly building standing today is the saloon on the for righ t. People in the
picture have not been identified.

U S POST OFFICE the railroad tracks. Part of the Liebl building was
The Post Office was established as Luxembourg At one time Luxemburg had six rural routes. The
on January 15, 1883, and was changed to Luxem- carriers used horse and buggy in season and horse
burg, October 1, 1924. From 1883 to 1910 it was a and sleigh during the winter months. The first rural
4th class post office. The postmasters of 1st, 2nd and mail carrier was John L Miller. His brother Nick
3rd class post offices are appointed by the President was next when they added another route. As more
with th e consent of the Senate. The Luxemburg post routes developed additional h e l p w as needed.
office was a presidential class office from January 1, Charles Seidl. Walter Salmon, Pete Alsteen and Jo-
1910 to September 30, 1911. seph Weinfurter were hired. Others to serve as mail
Presently postmasters positions are filled by trans- carriers were Frank Hinnendael, John Kinnard, John
fer, promotion, or appointment in rare cases. Duchateau, Sr, William Drossart, Roy Chapelle, Ray-
On November 30, 1904 post offices in the small mond Drury, Herbert Heim, and Felix Vandrisse.
communities of Darbellay, Duvall, Dyckesville, Ellis- As the post office needed more room it was
ville, Neuren, Pilsen, Thiry Dames, Ton e!, and Wal- moved across the street to the former Desire Colle
hain were discontinued and absorbed by the Lux- house until 1962 when a n ew building was con -
emburg office. structed.
Post masters at Luxemburg and the dates of their Presently there are 4 rural routes out of Luxem -
appointments are: burg. Mail arrives and is picked up by truck. It is
sorted by zip code and all air-mail is dispatched to
Joseph Filz, January 15, 1883 North Central Airlines in Green Bay.
Hector Bencher, December 28, 1892 Laura Peters served as clerk for 27 years, having
Joseph Filz, Janua ry 17, 1895 started in 1943, she served until Jan uary of 1970.
Michael Ley, December 7, 1896 Jane Paider started work as a part time clerk in
Albert Liebl, February 18, 1903 1954 and was named Officer in Charge September
John Duchateau, August 21, 1935 1976. She became postmistress in August of 1977.
Gerhardt Libal, November 1, 1943 (Acting Postmas- Stella (Miller) Arpin remembers that her fath er,
ter) John Miller once traveled the entire mail route to
Austin Allard, October 29, 1945 deliver only one post card. Quite a difference from
Donald Walters, June 1976 today when each carrier delivers over 1000 pieces of
Jane Paider, August 1977 mail daily.
Gary Richtig, July 1982 (Officer in charge) Todays mail carriers are: Lloyd Breclael, Route 1
Eugene Loberger, December 10, 1982 with Ron Stahl as sub; Marvin Bins, Route 2, with
Tom Baierl. sub; Ben Estel, Route 3, with Mark
In the early days mail arrived by train or bv Zellner, sub; Jerry Ledvina, Route 4, with Chris
stage. The first post office was in South Luxemburg Bouche, sub. Joseph DuChateau, Jr worked for the
located in Jos Filz store. In 1903 the government de- post office from 1949 to 1979 and Joseph Vandervest
cided a better location would be below the hill near from 1961 to 1982. The current office employees are
Elain e Paider and Robert Weidner.

Pos1 Office. Liebl buildin g Aforie We in-

furter. Albert Liebl. Charles Seidl. /ohn Kin-
nurcl. \Voller Salmon. Nie Miller. /ohn ivlill-
er. /os. Wein furter

L 10 H Charles Se idl. Pele r 1\lsleen, Woller Solmon. Albe rt Liebl. i\fory Weinfurter, Nick Mille r. John i\lliller. Joseph Wein furle r-1906.
Note th e moil carrie r rig behind Peter l\ /steen. The Liebl building was the firsl home for the posl office when ii relocoled in the village.


Elmer began the insurance business in July of Norman VanDrisse started working as a commis-
1938 on a part-time basis while teaching school. He sion agent for Wadhams Oil Company out of Casco
started writing insurance full time in 1945 when he in September of 1941. He later built a bulk plant in
purchased a number of small agencies and handled Luxemburg, working as a jobber for Mobil Oil Com-
all lines of insurance. pany. He purchased the bulk plant at New Franken
During 1965 son John joined the firm and the of- in 1955 and added it to his Luxemburg operation .
fic e was enlarged. The agency was incorporated in During 1968 Norman purchased the Rahr Beer
1970 and now represents fifteen companies in writ- house on Main Street and converted it into a car
ing life, accident and health insurance within a 50- wash and laundry.
mile radius. He purchased land from Henry Kollross on High-
Elmer's wife Vivian served as secretary for many way 54 during 1970 and built a service and sales
years and today works only part-time with Karen building used for snowmobile and boat-motor outlet.
Bosdeck in charge of the office. Another son, Rob- This building was sold to Elmer Secker in 1977.
ert. joined the family business in 1974. Today Norman's employees are Fran Kahr and
his wife Jane as office employe, Rodney Mincheski,
Merlin Nighorn, David Rueck}. with Linda Rueck!
employed in the office.

VETERINARY CLIN IC tered digits of his right hand will bear evidence.
Herman was merry-making with some guests in his
Dr. Christiansen was the first known vet in the tavern when h e cha nced to be reminded of a mon-
area, his office was in the Wisconsin House in 1909. ster fire cracker le ft over from last 4th of July which
Dr. jorgensen filled the vacancy for the next few he had cached on his back bar. Herman lit the in-
years. Doctor Victor Laurent came to Luxemburg in fernal thing but before he could make up his mind
1913 and served the area for many years. He built just where to toss it the blamed thing went off with
an office and a barn for use in his business. The of- a reverberating BOOM. It is rumored that at the
fice is today the Luxemburg Cleaners and Tailor very n ext meeting of the village board trustee Kratz
shop. Dr. Laurent also raised mink. will introduce a resolution to ban all fireworks in
Dr. Raymond Dow was the next and presen t ve- the village in the futme, with strict penalties at-
terinary. He built a clinic on Highway 54 and later tached thereto.
built a house in the village setting up an office Herman remodeled the tavern adding a marble
there. The clinic build ing was remodled into a res- floor. He used to advertise free lunches for Saturday
taurant. nights, serving Hungarian Goulash. making for a po-
pular outing.
In 1946 Herman's daughter Sylvia and her hus-
VILLAGE INN band Frank Sladky took over th e tave rn. In recent
Desire Colle built the tavern in 1894 nea r the rail- years son Donald also h elped in the business, and it
road tracks, known as "The Transit House." Other was remodeled to include the serving of food.
buildings were built. an ice house, a beer ware- From 1967 to 1969 Ken and Karen Tebon operat-
h ouse built by Dan Daul and a barn to house the ed the tavern.
h orses and wagons used to haul beer and ice. Len Burdick purchased the building and Lee Shil-
john Aschenbrenner purchased the tavern in 1911, bauer operated it for nine months. Dan and Joan
operating it for several years, selling it in 'J914 to Her- Wa lczyk ran the tavern and restaurant for 4 years,
man Kratz of Montpelier. john Schwab rented part of selling the business to Kelly Vandenbush and Bob
the building where he began his shoe business. Seidl.
June 23, 1939 H erman Kratz was the first fire Kelly is now the sole owner and serves dinners to
cracker casualty of the year. Herman was a jovial the Golden Agers on Wednesdays, a nd on weekends
fell ow and always ready to pull a dandy on e on any ror the general public. The upper level is available
of his pals. One of his pranks backfired as the blis- for large banquets and other special occasions.

The in rcrior of The Transit I l ouse operated by I /c rmon ond Ida Krorz. Lefr ro right. fo e Asc henbre nner, unknown. C rundpa Hartinger.
foe Baierl. Englebert Behring. unknown, Peter / ocrger, ond Hermon Duescher the customers, with /-l ermon tending bar.

The first harness maker was Vojta (Albe rt) Nuhli-
cek. He d ied and Charlie B. Zellner began the trade
from the Liebl building. He built his own shop at
the corner of Main and Oak Street and ran the
shop for over 40 years. He was still working a full
d ay at the age of 77. T he building was vacant for a
few years and has since been razed.

From rhe days of rh e first serrlements lo the first clecucle of 1900 the hurness shop was as importu nl c1s !oduy's garoge or ouro purls s ro re.
Cha rles Zellner shop stood on the east side of Muin Street, Luxe mburg. where a used car lot now is locuted. The boy bes ide 1\/fr.
Zellne r is his son.


Dr. J\.B. Jorgensen, vet.

Mr. fr Mrs. Peter Bouchr. r

Peal boys: L to R, Sylvesle r. Hilary, Fronk. Roymond Front.

\•Verner a nd Robert
The Kaul ho use as ii looks today

- ----
First cheese foctory in Kewuunee Co. loculed where the chevro-
lel garage now Lo uis Liebl w as a cheesemoker here al
one limn 1-' ril ~ Lin zmeie r

~ ':.of''
An no Martin's IJ4th birthday to H. Top fosephine Gengle r. Anno Hoff man, Morgo-
Mr. & Mrs. H e nry Hoen rf!t onrl lleie n Mortin. Lorna and Ado Miesler Front. Mrs. Mike Colle. IV!rs. Bill
Mortin. Anno Martin. Theresa Mortin, Sylvia Mortin. Minnie Arendt, Ida Mies/er

fire trucks owne d by the deportment in 1.'142

/ohn Peot and wife. /Jcrtha at the Peat Meat Market. Notice case of rolls on right of table. The Bohemian Bakery of Green Boy would
send them our on tl1c doily train and one of the Peat children would fetch rhe fresh bakery fo r sole each day. Son. Williom used o
slnigh and his S!. 13ernurd dog for this rusk.

/os. Linzmeir. Hermon Kroti. /do Krotr.. Kruti Tavern presently Vi/loge Inn.

/oh n P. Seidl H ome & Oreducls Uptown Bor

floymond DuuJ and sons

operu1ed u silver fox fur
furm in south Luxemburg.

Duul Silver Fox for m

Kewaunee Co. Fuir 1918

On the left 1vas Charlie Bower's photograph studio. In the back-
,\ lil:sler Garage about 1910. owned ond operated b}' v\li/liom ground is Charlie Linzmeier's tavern. The gentlemen in the car
Mies/er until his death. is Churlr.:s Seidl und the o ther driving rhe wagon is unk nown.

Nic/1 um! Mary Fi/1. Mr. ond Mrs. Michael P P~1o t

/nseph Are n dt !Ull0-


Karl and Katrina (i\schenbrenner} Linzmeier

Karl l'r Kotrina Linzmeier built the house, later owned br nor fr Wedding n{ Albert I.o h( ond Anno Marlin. Attendants: Anno
Clara Daul. Locker & cold storage built on back of house. Salmon. Gilbert Bragger. t\nno Kumbero ond George i\fortin.

Luxemburg oboul H/10

Vimv o( Mclin Streer fm:ing :;oulh. St. Mory 's Churc h steeple can /J1.1 8een in 1hc bockgrouncl. The Tronsir /l ouse (llotel Delge] wus uppur-
1mtly ope roted by fos /I Duquoine. No one con 1~xuctly reme mho r whe n.



1921 basketball teum with Charles Teske. coach

Englebert lkhring and Tony Aschenbrenner

/-/ igh Basketbull ll:um 1927-28 L to n. Wendel/ De-

L UXtJl'nhurg
Huker. Curly Cravillion. /01: Nellis, Goldie I lcrmuns. 1\lbert
Theys. Cooch Charles Teske. foe Kollross. /\Ian Teske. Wencel
Gosche l.1: (1 ID right. i\llike fluec kl. standing /oe Treml. ond Peter Liebl.

L to fl. lie/en Doyle Salmon. Mary Jacobson. i\nno Doyle. Del Hunnon. Ceil Arpin Bonch<Jr. 1\lildred O"Neil Buzfon. Mory Salomon.
/\mundu Loose, Mory Weinfurter. Bertha Kline Schuu<Jr

Wedding of Po re r Mcrens and /\nno Hoen

St. 1'"1ur}''S rector>'· C/iurc;h. School ond sister house in 1930's Interior of Liebl Foundry

On rhe left is l\nron Pi:ot's fJlocksrnirh Shop. on unidentified building. Liebl Poundry. Luxem-
burg Imµlernenr Co mrmn y wirh Sontroch Planning Mill in !he background and I nlcinrl K nilling
to thi: for· right.

Caroline /M oinrz) Luec.J tke -

50Lh \'\ledding Anniversor}' of £mi/ and Caroline Luedtke P1?11:r Seidl Pamilr

Michad 1\rendt one of Luxem- '--'li.:...~----­

burg·s first seulers. J\ilory Dieskies. 1\rendt

YeslHryl)or Parm Chores

Hock: Mor>' T r eml /si~tc1· to Frank) fohn Seidl. fohn Tre ml.
/ohn and /\/vino Delwiche in rheir lm'ern. abour HJ:J7. 3R which Mor}' Lee (Mrs. fos. Gorsrein/. Front: Fra.nk Treml, Morr Seidl
is presenrly Burdicks Bar. Treml


,., -.-.-
In 1Vi11tcr. when the ice harvest to supply creameries. taverns.
The Scarbom race track owned by Frank Novak was located
east of Scarboro to the left of CT 1\ where the road dips down
into the valley. Racing events were f rant page news. attruc ting
ond mcut markets 1Vas not in progress. horse racing on Scarboro over 10UO spectato rs. The track ope1·ated until one opened at
Lok~? c1t t roe ted crowds. Luxemburg.



Scarboro cheese fuc; fMy llrobik's general store one/ Frank Novo /; ta ve rn ond da nce boll

Luxe mburg Guards with N ick Orexeler as Com munder, about 1910
The citizens of Luxemburg township hov<~ co nlributed their shore to the wurs. As neor os con be computed the county furnished 408
nmn to the Civil Wor. In the 1863 druft. Co mpony "A" enrolled the following, /ohn P Arendt, Fred Breggor, fulius Miesler, Henry
Schroede r, Frederick Vorpahl, and /oseph Spit ze r.
The 13th Wis In fan try included Danie l Daul. the 14th. Gustuve LaCourt and the 18th Infantry. Fred Sell. Two me n from rhis area who
died were fohn Spitzer and foseph Trude ll.
During the First World W ar the first con tingent of inducted men left for co m p on September 4. 1917 and from then on there wos a
steady flow of men from Kewaunee Count y. Many people helped the Red Cross, wo rked on the d rnft board ond assisted the 1\me ricon
Legion in its work toward the war effort.


Joseph Arendt, son of. Michael und

An nu. After the dea th of his father
he helped raise his younge r broth-
1£. ers and sisters. I le died at the uge
Pe te r P, Daniel, Michael and fohn A rendt. the sons of Michael and A nna Mu ria Dieskies.
of 27.
The ir eldest son Peter 1859-1869 wos th e second child born to the new settle rs in Luxemburg
area. A fter he died a seco nd son was nam ed after him, Pete r P A rendt. (The first Pe ter was
not. listed in the family record when the article was written.}
There were two Peler Arendt's in Luxemburg yeors ago and to distinguisJ1 which one you
were talking about, Peter P was called Town /-loll Pete because his farm was next to the town
/-/all ond the other was referred to as Gravel Pete because he hod a large grove l pit on his

The \Ii/loge Bond leading the Memorial Day Pornde. The vil/oge hod mon ir bands over the years. The members in this picture ure: 1
Olla Kaye: 2 Jim Sont roc/1: Jim Cherney: 3 /ohn Fameree: 4 Fronk Salmon: 5 Charles Seidl: 6 Ole Evenson: 7 Ben Stohl: 8 / ohn Kin-
nurd: 9 13i/I Srnka: 10 Frunk Sunrrocli. In rhe background we see Miesler's livery and Olive r DeBuuch house und funernl pu rlor with
storoge shed in back of the house.

Adolph Blohnik's band Top. J to r: Ole Ewmson. Croig. I lector 13ancher. /oe Friex. M ike Colle. Fronk So/man. Middle: Jule Pe-
trie. /oe Ramesh. /ahn Kinnurd, Adolph 13/ohnik. Anion Sont roch. Frank Sontroch Hollarn: Bill Mies/er. Ernest Bouche

Cforn /Jaier/ Daul. H.uymond Stahl. /oh11 So lentine, Annie Ober- fluy111011d Dou/, Pere r Aschenbrenner. l.oono Dou/ Asc/1enbren-
hofer Balentine, Den Bale ntine, Morie I l<wn. ner. C /uro Boie.rl Dau/

Wedding of I lenry und Frances Seid/. Atte ndan ts L to 11, Colh- /OS(~ph Seidl. fr., Rose Dorner /frucge r, fc1cob Do.mer. Clora
erinc Oberhofer. Louis Zellner, Katherine S eidl. foe Obed1 ofer. Se id/ Dorne r. Chas. Lim.meir, Mory 'l'rcm/.

fos. /Jciierl. Mory Christoff Baierl. Geo rge Christoff, Frances C/aru Seidl Dorner, Nic/i Sulentine, Tillie Sc hauer. Jose ph Seid/.
Baierl Fitigeralcl, Louis Zellner, Anno JJuie!'I I loppel. /\nno Sr~ idl Feil. Theodore SuJentine, Coraline Sa)entine Seidl,
/ o hn St!id l.

l.11xu r11/Jurg BosebuJ/ team 1910 Bocli row L to R, Eugene Kiley, 1-'rnnt L lo R. George Lobe rge r, Art /Jcizlan, Glenn Mohr. bot
Fnm/I / /u nnon. Dr. Mo reoux. Ole Eve nson. Earl /-/e nr}' Front boy. Ed Dulek. Gene Kile)' 2nd r ow. Indian Ghorlie. john L.
ro1v. /l i// Gauger. /Jen Fowele r. Pe rry. Wally 1\llarquardt. Mi/fo r. Geo rge Seidl. O le Evenson. Frunk Curot Bock r ow. l.ouis
A ri /Ja;den, George Li:r Ur.hi. Charles Seidl. /os. Loberge r, Cumille Stage

.:14 i f fr: 1 .8 r o.-:

.P. c., /Lo

. ~ .~

cn .,,,~ rr

Sea le - .JOO rt. .- 1 in cft.

P e ter .Y.'e rens



~~ A~'J· Sp1Cur
Xa? o a?.


'• I',;;;.

! ~


Scale: l inches tott>e Mi l'e

1912 Map

This book is being published in an e ffort to pre-
serve our heritage for future generations. We are not
experts. just amateures who have a love of history
and our grandparents. We hope through our efforts
you can understand and appreciate the hardships
the early pioneers endured to give their child ren a
better world to live in.
We have included the first, and when available,
the second generation of the pioneer fa milies who
first settl ed the township.
The information was obtained from fa mily trees,
books, county and state records, newspapers, tele-
phon e conversations and personal interviews. We
apologize for any and all errors and hope we have
not given you a whole new family.
We trust this book will be enjoyed by the readers.

Title Page 1 Deterville 44 Kosnar 67
Map of Luxemburg 2 Dishmaker 45 Kratz 67-68
Duchy of Luxembourg 3 Dorner 45-46 Krcma 68
Achieving Statehood 3-4 DuBois 46-47 Krueger 68
Formation of Counties 4 Duchateau 47 Kuester 68
Luxemburg Township 4-9 Du erschmidt 47 Kumbera 68-69
Luxemburg Village 10-16 Elfner 47 La Court 69
Neuren, Scarboro, Estel 47-48 Lanser 69
Ton et and Walhain 17-22 Evenson 48 Larkin 69-70
Railroad 22-23 Fameree 48-49 Laurent 70
Prayer 24 Fenendael 49 Laurenz 70
Pilz 49 Lem ens 70
FAMILY SECTION Fischer 49 Ley 70-71
Adams 25 Flegel 50 Libal 71
Alsteen 25 Fri ex 50 Liebl 71
Andre 25 Frisque 50-51 Liesch ow 72
Arendt 25-27 Gengler 51 Linzmeier 72-73
Arpin 28 Gerondale 51 Lo berger 73
Aschenbrenner 28 Glaser 51 Lo hf 73
Aurie 29 Godshoul 51 Lohrey 73
Bach 29 Goetsch 51-52 Luebeck 74
Baierl 29-30 Gosin 52 Luedtke 74
Balza 30 Grasse I 52-53 McMahon 74
Barbiaux 30-31 Gotstein 53 Malcore 74
Bastian 31 Haen 53-54 Marcelle 74
Baye 31 Haevers 54-55 Martin 75
Bazlen 31 Hafeman 55 Meintz 76
Behring 32 Halloin 56 Merens 76-77
Beirl 32 Han aman n 56 Miesler 77-78
Belter 32 Happel 56 Miller 78-79
Benz 32-33 Har tinger 57 Moede 79
Bertrand 33 Heim 57 Moreaux 79
Bohman 33-34 Hendricks 57-58 Morna rd 79-80
Boncher 34 Hermans 58 Mueller 80
Boness 34 Higet 58 Nellis 80
Bon jean 34 Hinendael 58 Nendel 80-81
Bower 34-35 Hoebreckx 59 Ney 81
Bragger 35 Hoffman 59 Nicholai 81
Bredael 35-36 Hoppe 59-60 Nimmer 81
Bunker 36 Hoslet 60 Novak 82
Cahn 36 Hrabik 61 Nuhlicek 82
Chapelle 37 Hruska 61 Oberhofer 82-83
Charlier 37 Jacques 61 Okrush 83
Cherney 37 Jad in 61-62 Paa! 83
Christoff 37 Jand rain 62 Paider 83
Christoph 38 Joerger 62-63 Pankratz 83-84
Colle 38-39 Janet 63 Paul 84
Cravillion 39-40 Jun ion 63 Pauli 84
Dalebroux 40 Kaut 63-64 Peot 84-86
Dart 40 Kaye 64 Peron to 86
Daul 40-43 Kelnhofer 64-65 Peters 86-87
Dax 43 Kinnard 65 Petitjean 87
De Bauch 43 Kirschner 65 Pravachek 87
Delco re 44 Kline 65 Prochnow 87-88
Delwich 44 Koenig 65 Quade 88
De pas 44 Kohl beck 66 Radue 88-89
Deprez 44 Kollross 66-67 Rank 89-90

Rass 90 Bredael's Uptown Bar 122-123 Luxemburg News 140-141
Retzlaff 90-91 Burdick's Bar & Restaurant 123 Luxemburg Plumbing & Heat 141
Ricki 91 Caldwell-Dufek 124 Luxemburg Schools 141-148
Rueck! 91-92 Calor Agricultural Whey 124 Hawthorne 148-149
Salen tine 92-93 Carlson Heating 124 Holmes 149
Salmon 93-94 Chevrolet Garage 124 Garfield 149-150
Santroch 94 Christofferson Orchard 124 Lowell 150
Schmidt 94 Club 163/Lucky 13 124-125 US Grant 150
Schneider 94-95 Dayton Ford 125 Walhain 150-151
Schroeder 95 Dentists 125 Luxemburg Sportsman Club 151
Schwab 95 Don's Bakery 125 Luxemburg Fire Dept 152-155
Schwedler 95-96 Dorner-Stahl Construction 125 Luxemburg Weld & Repair 155
Sconzert 96 Drew's Tavern 125-126 McMahon's
Seidl 97-100 Empty Glass, The 126 of Luxemburg 155-156
Sell 100-101 Ellisville-Luxemburg Co-op 126 Bach-Kieweg Store 157
Siegmund 101 Farmer's Supply 126 A M Hoppe Store 158
Simonar 101 Farmer's Mike's Service 158
Smeester 101 -102 Trading Company 126-127 Jim Miller Real Estate 158
Smetana 102 Forest Construction 127 Muchenhof Mill/Lamb Mill 158
Spitzer 102-103 Four Seasons N E W Plastics 159
Stage 103 Maple Syrup 127-128 Bio Chemical Corp 159
Stahl 103-104 Frog Station 128 Northbrook Country Club 160
Stuebs 104-105 General Telephone 128-129 Northbrook Lumber & Feed 161
Svoboda 105 George's Cities Service 129 Otto's Meats 162
Theys 105-106 Halfway House 129 Outsider's Inn 162
Thibaudeau 106-107 Hank's Appliance 129 Renard Cheese 162
Treml 107-108 Harmann Studios 129 Retzlaff Well Drilling 162
Trudell 108 Herman's Grocery 130 Rodrain's Welding 162
Ullman 108-109 Hillside Palace 130 Rosy's Cosy Corner 163
Vandenhouten 109 Hruska/Rendezvous 130 Rueck! Pole Building 163
Vandeveld 109 Inland Knitting 130-131 Norbert Rueckl Constr 163
Vandrisse 110 Jandrain Repair 131 SAS 163
Vanouse 110 Jewelry Stores 131 Salmon's Meats 163
Veeser 111 Jim's 54 Cafe 131 Schwab Shoes 163-16 Seidl Con-
Vorpahl 111 Jim's Plumbing 132 struction 164
Wahl 111-112 Kewaunee County Fair 132 Seidl Electric 16 Simonar Service
Weinfurter 112 Kewaunee 164-165
Weininger 112-113 Implement Company 133 St. Amand's-Walhain 165
Wunsch 113-114 King Socker Motel 133 St. John's
Zellner 114-115 Kohlbeck Meats 133 Lutheran Church 165-167
Zuege 115-116 Koller's Korner 133-134 St. Martin's- Tonet 168
Gillis 116 Lawyers 134 St. Mary's
Lemens Hardware 134 Catholic Church 169-172
BUSINESS SECTION Wisconsin House 134-135 Standard Oil Company 172
American House 117 Leroy's General Store 135 Stodola IGA 172
American Libert's 135 Bay Ridge Specialties 172
Legion Post 262 117-118 Liebl Building 136 TeKulve Construction 173
Augies Lookout 118-119 Linzmeier's Tavern 136-137 Theys Orchards 173
Badger State Cheese 119 Luxemburg Ullman's Tavern 173-174
Bank of Luxemburg 119-120 Chamber of Comm 137-138 U S Post Office 175-176
Barbiaux Butcher Shop 120 Luxemburg Cleaners 138 Vandrisse Insurance 176
Barber Shops 121 Luxemburg Clinic 138 Vandrisse Oil Company 176
Batten's 121 Luxemburg Veterinary Clinic 177
Baumgartner Floral 121 Implement Company 138-139 Village Inn 177
Beauty Shops 121-122 Luxemburg Zellner Harness Shop 178
Beirl Variety 122 Milling Company 139-1 PICTURE GALLERY 179
Bredael's Bowl 122 Luxemburg Motor Company 140 Maps 193

References Family Tree Contributors

History of Brown County, Wisconsin Neoma Michalski Olga Carlson

Past and Present-by Deborah B Martin Alice Seidl Map of Luxemburg
Vol 1-1913 Lynn Stahl
Lloyd Haen
Commemorative Biographica l Record of Brown , Mike Peot
Kewaunee and Door, Wisconsin Adeline Aschenbrenner
by J H Beer & Company-Chicago 1895 Donna Thibaudeau
Verna Heim
Birthplace of a Commonwealth
A short History of Brown County, Wisconsin Photo contributions
by Jack Rudolph-1976
Gary Arendt Mrs. Peter Mathu
The World Book Encyclopedia Paul Arendt Neoma Michalski
Field Enterprises Educational Corporation Stella Arpin Kate Ouradnik
Chicago- Vol 12 Mrs. Elmer Baumann Mrs. Raymond Paye
Anna Benz Earl Peot
A Century of God's Grace Marvin Bins Estella Peot
History of St. John's Church-Sept 8 1974 Jim DuBois Leo Salmon
Richard Cmeyla Gail Santroch
Nick Thimmesch Newspaper article dated Aug 8, Alice Estel Bertha Kline Schauer
1971 Irene Oalebroux Olga Schwab
Ed Goetsch Alice Seidl
Halloin article from Green Bay Press Gazette Verna Heim Len Seidl
Pearl Hruska Velda Seidl
Official Directory, Kewaunee County Margaret Johnson Irene Simonar
Edna Kubale Ervin Stahl
American Legion Records, Joseph F Stodola Harold Lemens Madonna Thibaudeau
Luxemburg Ch amber of Commerce Records, Ted Ray Liebl Esther Theys
Stodola Alfred Linzmeier Norman VanOrisse
Luxemburg High School Records, Charlotte Jerabek Peter Martin Millie Panosh
Luxemburg Fire Department Records, Marvin Bins
Special thanks to Bernadine and Terry Mathu for
Muchenhof Mill article, Diane Dorner keeping the records and for a ll the help others gave
Scarboro. Verna Heim, Jerry Thibaudeau, Viola and in the mailing, proof reading and getting the book
Kay Hanrahan ready for publication.
Walhain, Mrs. Ray Paye
St. Martins, Hazel Lemens We also wish to thank the following offices for their
U S Post Office, Austin Allard cooperation
Luxemburg News. Olga Schwab Register of Deeds
Coun ty Clerk
We appreciate and gratefully acknowledge the assis- University of Wisconsin Area Research Library
tance given by the following people: Luxemburg News Office
State Historical Society- Maps 1876 and 1895
Typists- Carol Simonar, Berdin a Lemens, Alice Secretary of State
Seidl and Olga Schwab Lary Swoboda

Research ers-Neoma Michalski. Pearl Hruska, Stella A special thank you to the Kewaunee County His-
Arpin and Irene Simonar (Verna Heim for use of torical Society for lending us the use of their pic-
her scrap books] tures.

Cover design by Lee Anderson To anyone we forgot to mention, Thank You.