You are on page 1of 1

Notation of Hindustani Classical Music

There are many ways of noting down Hindustani Classical Music. For easy typing o
n keyboards and thus for usage on Internet, a noting system (limited however) is
as given below:
In the 12 swars of Hindustani Classical Music, capital lettering is used for Shu
ddha and small lettering is used for Komal swars. In the case of Madhyam (M), si
nce there is no komal Ma, so small m is used for shuddha and capital M is used f
or teevra.
S Shadja or Shadaj,
r Komal Rishabh,
R Shuddha Rishabh,
g Komal Gandhar,
G Shuddha Gandhar,
m Shuddha Madhyam,
M Teevra Madhyam,
P Pancham,
d Komal Dhaivat,
D Shuddha Dhaivat,
n Komal Nishad,
N Shuddha Nishad
# Mandra Saptak is shown by a single quote before the Swar.
Example: S n d P, P d n d S
# Madhya Saptak is shown without any quotation marks.
Example: S r G, G (r) S, S G m d~ P, P d P m G, G m\r S
# Taar Saptak is shown by a single quote after the Swar.
Example: S r S , n S r S , n r S
\ Meend is shown by a slash.
For example in the Raag Bhairav phrase G m\r S there is a meend from Shuddha Mad
hyam to Komal Rishabh which can be notated as m\r
( ) Kan swar is shown in brackets.
For example G (r)S in this Komal Rishabh is barely touched when coming from Gand
har to Shadaj.
~ Andolan is shown by a tilde.
For example in Bhairav the andolit dhaivat may be notated as d~.