You are on page 1of 4

FAMILY

I come from a small family. Unfortunately, I’m an only child and I haven’t got any brothers or sisters. I
live with my parents and my grandma, who is a pensioner. There are four people in our family: my
grandma, my mother, my father and me. My father is 46 years old, he is an IT specialist. My mother is
55 and she is a manager. My ma is a short, average woman. She is very careful of her appearance. My
father is tall and stout. I get on quite well with my parents. They trust me and let me do what I want,
thus they give me a lot of freedom. They treat me like an adult and I can always turn to them for any
help or advice. At the weekends, we go and visit those members of the family who don’t live with us.
My grandfather died seven years ago but my grandma is still alive. She is eighty years old and lives
with us. We all love her cooking, especially her cakes. I quite often see my grandparents. My father
has got a sister and my mum too. This means that I have got two aunts and they both have children.
They are my cousins.

Hobbies

I’m a 19 year old girl, so I like doing everything I can. In summer in holiday, me and my friends always
go to lake Balaton to swim, to have a party, to be happy and to make some friends. I like water very
much. I like sailing. The another hobby is handball. I like sports and playin gin a team.

In my spare time I like listening to music. When the weather is nice, I like going on trips. I especially
like walking in the mountains. Some people like for example: Gardening, Travelling, Visiting friends,
Doing cross-word, Writing poetry, Playing card games, Do some sport, Collecting stamps

Daily routine

1. On weekdays I get up at six.

2. I arrange my bad and have breakfast.

3. At home I don’t eat so mouch

4. After waking up I do excercises.

5. I have a shower.

6. Sometimes I am late for school..

7. In school I can meet my friends.

8. I have lunch at school and I also eat at home.

9. After lessons I go to the libary with friends.

10. After it ,I meet my girlfriend.

11. We usually talk about school.


12. I like spending my time with her.

13. Later I go home and do my homework.

14. I pack my bag and have dinner.

15. I listen to music during doing my homework.

16. I rarerly watch TV.

17. At nine I go to bed.

18. At the weekend I can relax.

19. After a long day I like going home to relax.

20. I like talking to my sister about our days in the evening.

School

Firstly the kindergarten where the child learns how to be together with other children. When the
children are 6 years old, they go to primary school. In the first class they learn counting, reading and
writing.

After that they have a lot of other subject, for example history, geography, biology, maths, chemistry,
Hungarian language, literature and a foreign language After primary school children must choose a
secondary school. They can go to a grammar school or a vocational grammar school. The secondary
school is more difficult than the primary school. There are lot of requirements and curriculums. At
the end of the fourth year the students take the final exam. It takes 6 subjects: maths, history,
Hungarian language, literature, a foreign language and an optional subject. After secondary school
students can go a university or a collage.

Housing

I live in a two-storey detached house. There are some trees in front of our house. There is a small
garden with a wooden fence behind the house. We have got a loft, a garage and a cellar too.

In the house we have got central heating. On the first storey there are two bedrooms, a sitting room,
a bathroom, a toilet and a big kitchen with a larder. In my room I have got a single bed, a desk, a wall
unit and a bookcase. My mother’s room is similar. We have got a parquet everywhere except the
kitchen and the bathroom. In the kitchen there is a cooker, a fridge, a sink, a cupboard and a
microwave oven. The washing machine is in the bathroom, where we have a washbasin, a bath and a
bathtub. The second storey is the same. The attic is not habitable, but we are planning to buld it up.

Weather
Hungary has a continental climate. This means that the weather is quite easily predictable
(megjósolható) and there are big differences between the weather in the four seasons: spring,
summer, autumn, and winter. Hungary is protected from the extremes weather by the mountain
ranges encompassing (bekerít) her from almost all sides.. Temperatures above 30 degree Celsius may
occur in July and August but generally do not last long. January and February are the coldest months,
but even then the average temperature does not fall below minus 5 degree Celsius.

Health

What you eat is very important for your health. Many people today have an unhealthy diet. They eat
too much fast food and processed food. A healthy, balanced diet should include proteins,
carbohydrates, fats, and fresh fruit and vegetables. You should control the amount of fat and
carbohydrates you eat if you don’t want to put on weight. If you are overweight you can go on a diet
to lose weight, for example avoiding food with too many calories. Many people today are vegetarians
and don’t eat any meat. This is a healthy diet if you make sure eat enough protein from pulses eggs,
and cheese.

Sports

I like sports, especially handball, tennis and Formula 1. I used to go to fitness centres and play
handball for years but nowadays I only watch handball games on TV. I like this sport because of the
hardness and team playing. We won several awards, for example, silver medal in the competition of
Budapest. Nowadays I take exercises at home with a step machine because I can’t go out from my
daughter. My employer pays the season tickets of a fitness centre so the managing director help us
to keep our fit.

Travelling

Every day hundreds of people travel from one place to another. They travel to work, to school, or on
business. Many people travel for pleasure and traveling has recently become one of the most
popular hobbies. Traveling is also an interesting way of spending holidays. In every season of the year
the airports, railway stations, seaports, and bus stops are full of people traveling for long or short
distances.

When people travel a long distance they usually travel by air. Traveling by air is exciting, fast
comfortable, relatively safe but rather expensive.

Traveling by train is the most common form of travelling. In our country trains are used daily by many
people to and from work or school. They are cheap, less polluting, safe but not very clean and
comfortable. Fast trains are

Clothing

Clothing is very important in people lives. We have to wear different clothes in different seasons. In
winter we must wear hats, gloves, scarves, warm sweaters and trousers, thick overcoat and winter
boots. But in summer it is enough to put on a light dress or a T-shirt with shorts or skirt. On the beach
women wear a bathing suit or a bikini.

Men wear swimming trunks.If you have to go to an official place – for example an entrance
examination (felvételi vizsga) – you must wear holiday attire (ünneplő ruha) Men wear shirt, a pair of
trousers, a tie, a suit. Women wear white blouses, black skirts or dresses and a pair of nylon tights.
On an average day I wear fashionable clothes. Jeans never go out of fashion. They are very popular
with young people in all colours.

Shopping

I do my every-day shopping in the nearest shop. I am a regular customer there. The assistants know
me, and they are very politely with me. I often do the shopping on my way home from work. Every
day I buy bred, milk, some cold cuts and basic food for supper and breakfast.

When I do my shopping there I walk from shelf to shelf. I fill my basket with the things I need. After I
finishing shopping I go to the cash desk. There is often a long queue. When it is my turn, the cashier
adds up the bill on the cash register and gives me the receipt. I pay. I pack the things and leave the
shop.

Eating habits

A day I have 3 meal times. At morning after 8 or 9 o’clock I have breakfast. Around 2 o’clock I have
lunch at home because I don’t like canteen food. Sometimes it’s with family but sometimes I eat
alone. And after 4 o’clock I have dinner. Usually I have a sandwich and mineral water for breakfast.
Usually I eat meat-soup and the second meal is chicken in breadcrumbs with rice or with roast
potatoes. For dinner I eat different things every day. Every day my mom cooks the meals. Sometimes
I help her. I can cook, too but usually I make fast food like fried eggs or boiled sausages. At weekend
I usually eat lunch with my family.