You are on page 1of 1

The Arakan Mountains (Burmese: ???????????

), also known as the Rakhine Mountains,

are a mountain range in western Myanmar, between the coast of Rakhine State and the
Central Myanmar Basin, in which flows the Irrawaddy River. It is the most prominent
of a series of parallel ridges that arc through Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram
and Myanmar.

The Arakan Mountains run from Cape Negrais in the south in to Manipur, India in the
north. They include the Naga Hills, the Chin Hills, and the Patkai range which
includes the Lushai Hills.[1] These mountains are submerged in the Bay of Bengal
for a sufficiently long stretch and emerges again in the form of the Andaman and
Nicobar Islands.