You are on page 1of 1


2002 EN Official Journal of the European Communities C 65 E/65

Wednesday 4 July 2001

The President had received a motion for a resolution pursuant to Rule 42(5) from the following Member:
 Jackson, on behalf of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Consumer Policy, on the
European Union’s strategy for the Bonn Conference on Climate Change (COP−6, part 2) (B5-0473/

The President closed the debate.

Vote: Minutes of 5.7.2001, Item 40.

24. Question Time (questions to the Council)

Parliament considered a number of questions to the Council (B5-0329/2001).

Pursuant to Rule 19(1), the President informed Parliament that, as they were behind schedule, he would
limit the time allowed for supplementary questions.

The following spoke in response to the President’s remarks: MacCormick and Nogueira Román.

Question 1 by Mrs Maes: The Laeken Declaration

Question 2 by Mr Esteve: The Laeken Declaration
Question 3 by Mr Knörr Borràs: The Laeken Declaration
Question 4 by Mr Staes: The Laeken Declaration
Question 5 by Mr MacCormick: The Laeken Declaration
Question 6 by Mrs Jillian Evans: The Laeken Declaration
Question 7 by Mr Eurig Wyn: The Laeken Declaration
Question 8 by Mr Bautista Ojeda: The Laeken Declaration
Question 9 by Mr Ortuondo Larrea: Declaration No 54 attached to the Treaty of Amsterdam on sub-
Question 10 by Mr Nogueira Román: Recognition of the political and legislative competence of constitu-
tional regions and nationalities

Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck, President-in-Office of the Council, answered the questions and supplementaries by
Mr Staes (deputising for Mrs Maes), Nogueira Román (on his own behalf and deputising for Mr Esteve and
Mr Bautista Ojeda), Mayol i Raynal (deputising for Mr Knörr Borràs), MacCormick, Jillian Evans, Eurig
Wyn, Ortuondo Larrea, Fatuzzo and Nogueira Román.

Question 11 by Mr Newton Dunn: Public access to Council documents

Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck answered the question and a supplementary by Mr Newton Dunn.

Question 12 by Mr Sacrédeus: Equal treatment of Turkey in regard to accession aid

Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck answered the question and a supplementary by Mr Sacrédeus.

Question 13 by Mrs Izquierdo Rojo: Belgian presidency and Afghan women

Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck answered the question and a supplementary by Mrs Izquierdo Rojo.

Question 14 by Mr Crowley: Including the competent authorities in discussions on the regulation of


Mrs Neyts-Uyttebroeck answered the question and a supplementary by Mr Crowley.

The President announced that questions 15 to 26 would receive written answers due to lack of time.

He closed Question Time.

(The sitting was suspended at 19.40 and resumed at 21.00.)