You are on page 1of 1


2004 EN Official Journal of the European Union C 43 E/67

Wednesday 12 February 2003

(2004/C 43 E/03) MINUTES




1. Opening of sitting

The sitting opened at 09.05.

2. Official welcome

On behalf of Parliament, the President welcomed the chairman, Mr Lukin, and the vice-chairmen of the
delegation from the Russian National Assembly to the EU-Russia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee,
who had taken their seats in the official gallery.

3. Documents received

The President had received the following text from the Council:
 Proposal for a Council regulation amending, as regards the exemptions to the freezing of funds and
economic resources and for the tenth time, Regulation (EC) No 881/2002 imposing certain specific
restrictive measures directed against certain persons and entities associated with Usama bin Laden, the
Al-Qaida network and the Taliban (COM(2003) 41  C5-0048/2003  2003/0015(CNS))
referred to responsible: LIBE
opinion: AFET, ECON
legal basis: Article 308 EC

4. Preparation for the 2003 Spring European Council (Brussels, 21/22 March
2003) (statements followed by debate)

Mr Giannitsis, President-in-Office of the Council, and Mr Prodi, President of the Commission, made state-
ments on the preparation for the 2003 Spring European Council (Brussels, 21/22 March 2003).

The following spoke: Van Velzen, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Goebbels, on behalf of the PSE Group,
Watson, on behalf of the ELDR Group, Figueiredo, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Bouwman, on behalf
of the Verts/ALE Group, Collins, on behalf of the UEN Group, Bonde, on behalf of the EDD Group, and
Dell’Alba, Non-attached Member.

The President gave the floor under the ‘catch the eye’ procedure to the following Members who put brief
and concise questions pursuant to Rule 37: Bushill-Matthews, De Rossa, Matikainen-Kallström, Caudron,
Maaten, Lambert, Sudre, Randzio-Plath, Harbour, Flautre, Sacconi, Pronk, Procacci, Zorba, De Roo, Moreira
da Silva, McNally, Korakas, Brunetta, Iivari, Fatuzzo, Andersson, Isler Béguin, Grönfeldt Bergman, Lange,
Katiforis, Karas and Van den Burg.



The following spoke: Trakatellis (PPE-DE Group), Bullman (PSE Group), Gasòliba i Böhm (ELDR Group),
Papayannakis (GUE/NGL Group), Maes (Verts/ALE Group), Abitbol (EDD Group), Berthu, Non-attached
Member, Giannitsis and Prodi, who also answered the questions put to them.