You are on page 1of 2

CODEX: TYRANIDS FAQ

Errata FAQs
Page 28 – The Hive Mind and Synapse Creatures, Q. The Tyranid Codex doesn’t designate unit types
second bullet point. for its Codex entries. How does this work?
The second sentence should be changed as A. All Tyranids are Infantry, unless otherwise
follows: specified in their special rules or Biomorphs.
Tyranids within Synapse range as described above
(including the Synapse Creature itself) are not Q. Is the Hive Tyrant an independent character?
affected by the Instant Death rule. Note that this
does not apply to Ripper Swarms. A. No, so it cannot join other units. The only
exception to this is, of course, its retinue of Tyrant
Guard. This unit follows the rules for retinues
Page 28 – Instinctive Behaviour, second paragraph. (except that the Hive Tyrant counts as an upgrade
character with this unit) until the Guards are all
The first sentence should be changed as follows: destroyed, at which point the Hive Tyrant reverts
If all models in a Tyranid brood begin their to the normal rules for monstrous creatures.
Movement phase more than 12” away from a
Synapse Creature, and that unit is not Fearless,
falling back or already in combat, it will revert to Q. Do Spore Mines cause pinning as they are
Instinctive Behaviour. resolved as barrage weapons?
A. Yes, they are barrage weapons in all respects,
except when their rules specify otherwise. After all,
Page 30 – Ranged Weapon-symbiotes, first explosive jellyfish raining from the sky is a pretty
paragraph. unsettling experience for any enemy!
The last sentence will be changed to:
A Tyranid carrying two of the same ranged weapon Q. If a Spore Mines Cluster deep strikes and lands
counts them as a single twin-linked weapon. on an enemy unit or impassable terrain, does it
suffer a deep strike mishap, or does it detonate?
A. It detonates – resolve the barrage in exactly the
Page 31, Lash Whips, second paragraph. same way as you would for a cluster fired in the
The paragraph should be changed as follows: Shooting phase (including Pinning tests).
Enemy models fight with one less attack (to a
minimum of 1), for each Tyranid equipped with a Q. If my Biovores fire a Spore Mines Cluster at an
lash whip they are in base contact with. enemy model and score a hit, the rules say that I
should resolve the explosion at the end of the
phase. How does this work?
Page 46, Carnifex, Weapon Symbiotes.
A. If the cluster lands on an enemy model it
The cost of the Barbed Strangler should be detonates immediately, as it would be awkward to
changed to 20 points instead of the current 20/25 have to hold models on top of each other. In any
points. other case, the cluster explodes at the end of the
relevant phase.

© Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2005. Permission is granted for a single copy of this PDF to be downloaded, stored temporarily on a single PC and printed once for personal, non-commercial use and
only for the purposes of playing the Warhammer 40,000 tabletop hobby wargame. All other Rights Reserved. Games Workshop, The Double-Headed/Imperial Eagle device, the Games Workshop logo, Chapter
Approved, Eye of Terror, Citadel, Citadel Device, Chaos, the Chaos factions, the Chaos faction logos, Space Marine, Space Marine chapters, Space Marine chapter logos, Codex, Eldar, Eldar symbol devices,
Ork, Ork devices, Tau, the Tau caste designations, Kroot, Necron, Tyranid, the 'In the Grim Darkness of the Far Future' tagline, Battle for Macragge, Cityfight, Warhammer, the Warhammer 40,000 device and all
associated marks, logos, names, races and race insignia, vehicles, locations, units, characters, illustrations and images from the Warhammer 40,000 universe are either ®, TM and/or © Games Workshop Ltd
2000-2005, variably registered in the UK and other countries around the world.

Detonating Spore Mines does not mean the Synapse creature has to charge any particular unit. No. As it is a creatures with Toxic Miasma. Firing a single twin-linked weapon counts as creature has Rending Claws as well? firing one weapon. if it wishes to assault in the subsequent (which is more than enough to penetrate the Assault phase. are all attacks made against the armour. Q. Q. Q. unit at -1 WS? A. so the Farseer will take psychic tests using 2D6.Warp Blast. Only if all Tyrant Guard in the unit have been killed. Yes. creature gets to add a D3 to the total for each dice that comes up with a 6. does firing a twin- linked weapon count as firing one or two weapons? Q. For the Assault phase during which it is cast. is this Strength value halved if the cumulative? hole in the centre of the template is not over A.The Runes neutralize the effect of the Shadow in the Warp for that Farseer. so a Carnifex/Tyrant so armed A. The effects are not cumulative. Q. must it assault an enemy that was thickest armour!). as these attacks are covered by their own special rules. Can a single creature take both types of Adrenal Glands at once? A. If a bio-acid Spore Mine detonates and hits a Q. Toxic Miasma has no effect on linked devourers or deathspitters (ie. as normal. If a creature has Rending Claws. 3 . weapons? In other words. the total penetration roll will be 2D6+D3+S. vehicle in question? A. How long does a target unit benefit from the Catalyst psychic power? A. hit by the Spore Mines? A. engaged. How do the Eldar Runes of Witnessing work when facing a Hive Tyrant with Shadow in the Warp? A. Otherwise. Bio-acid Spore Q. the total would be 12+2D3+S Mines. Which Tyranid psychic powers are psychic shooting attacks? A. So. or if the Hive Tyrant is the only model Q.Q. When a Hive Tyrant with Toxic Miasma has Mines always roll 2D6+3 to penetrate vehicle Tyrant Guards. No. How does a monstrous creature’s 2D6 roll for armour penetration in close combat work if the A. giving an average value of 10. After a Synapse creature detonates Spore if both were 6s. four of the attacks directed at the Hive Tyrant/Tyrant Guard same weapon). they count as separate Biomorphs. If a Carnifex or Hive Tyrant has two twin. because they do not use their basic strength and apply a special rule instead. When rolling for armour penetration. if either of the two dice is a six. Q. the gets to fire two twin-linked weapons. does it get to fire two twin-linked unit. its Strength is listed as 2D6+3. If an enemy unit is attacked by two (or more) vehicle. are the effects blast weapon. Q. do Bio- Plasma or attacks from its tail benefit from the rending ability? A.

Related Interests