November 14, 2007

Before a statewide audience of local school board members, The Association of Alaska School Boards welcomed Scott McAdams of Sitka as its new president during the 54th annual conference Nov. 8-11 in Anchorage. McAdams is the first Sitkan to ever hold the office. “I am a true believer in local governance, and understand that students are best served when they are equipped with a results oriented school board willing and able to provide the vision, structure, accountability and advocacy needed to deliver a comprehensive school program that successfully meets the challenges of external policy mandates and local expectations,” McAdams said. “As we continue in an era of standards based accountability, I believe that we are making great progress here in Alaska, and I am confident that with the help of our communities and state, locally governed schools will continue to deliver on the challenges of the 21st century.” McAdams succeeds Beth Betts of the Copper River School Board as AASB President. Sammy Crawford of the Kenai Peninsula Borough School Board is President-elect, and Tammy Fowler Pound of the Unalaska City School Board is Secretary-Treasurer. McAdams will lead AASB’s 15-member board until November, 2008. “Scott McAdams brings a lot of energy to our board of directors on behalf of Alaska’s school children. His election as president of AASB is recognition by his colleagues of his leadership abilities,” said Carl Rose, executive director. The four-day conference was highlighted by a wide variety of training opportunities for school board members; debate over education issues before Congress and the Alaska Legislature; the 17th annual Youth Leadership Institute attended by 80 high school students from across Alaska; and an auction that raised about $9,000 for the June Nelson Memorial Scholarship Program. A special tribute was held for Sharon Young, the associate executive director of AASB who is retiring after 24 years with the organization. Founded in 1954, the AASB is a non-profit organization that serves 53 school districts with a wide variety of services, from legislative lobbying and research to training for new board members. Since passage of the No Child Left Behind Act, the organization has also launched the Alaska Initiative for Community Engagement (Alaska ICE) to bolster public involvement in the lives of children. AASB also founded the Consortium for Digital Learning to bring laptop computer technology to Alaska classrooms.
For more information, contact: Carl Rose, Executive Director 586-1083 or

1111 West 9th Street, Juneau, AK 99801