You are on page 1of 2


APRIL 13, 2021

We represent Michigan’s largest companies, many of which operate on a national basis. We feel
a responsibility to add our voice as changes are proposed to voting laws in Michigan and other
states, and we are united in our support for the following principles:

• The right to vote is a sacred, inviolable right of American citizens.

• Our democracy is strongest when we have the greatest level of participation by our citizens
in a representative government.

• We are committed to encouraging our team members to exercise their right to vote and
provide accommodations to do so.

• Safe and secure options to vote are vital to ensuring voter participation.

• Government must support equitable access to the ballot to ensure that all eligible voters
can exercise their rights.

• Government must avoid actions that reduce participation in elections – particularly among
historically disenfranchised communities, persons with disabilities, older adults, racial
minorities and low-income voters.

• Government has a responsibility to continuously improve and strengthen election

administration, because public faith in the security and integrity of our elections is

• Election laws must be developed in a bipartisan fashion to preserve public confidence in

our elections and to preserve the values of democracy.

Our nation is strongest when we stand together. We call on our elected officials to adopt these
principles as they proceed in the spirit of inclusion and equality.


• Dennis W. Archer, Jr., • Jim Farley, President • Christopher Ilitch,

Esq., CEO, Ignition and CEO, Ford Motor President and CEO,
Media Group Company Ilitch Holdings, Inc.

• Mary T. Barra, • Jay Farner, CEO, • James Jacob, Chief

Chairman and CEO, Quicken Loans/Rocket Executive Officer, Ajax
General Motors Mortgage Paving

• Sandy K. Baruah, • David Foltyn, Chair and • Kenneth Kelly,

President and CEO, Chief Executive Officer, Chairman and Chief
Detroit Regional Honigman LLP Executive Officer, First
Chamber Independence Bank
• Ronald E. Hall,
• David C. Dauch, CEO, President and Chief • Swamy Kotagiri, Chief
American Axle & Executive Officer, Executive Officer,
Manufacturing Bridgewater Interiors Magna International

Page 1 of 2
• Tina Kozak, Chief • Cindy Pasky, President • Arn Tellem, Vice
Executive Officer, and CEO, Strategic Chairman, Detroit
Franco Staffing Solutions Pistons and Pistons
Sports & Entertainment
• Wright Lassiter III, • Roger S. Penske,
President and Chief Chairman, Penske • Gary Torgow,
Executive Officer, Corporation Executive Chairman,
Henry Ford Health TCF Financial
System • Peter Quigley, Corporation
President and Chief
• Frédéric B. Lissalde, Executive Officer, Kelly • Frank Venegas, Jr.,
President and Chief Services, Inc. Chairman and Chief
Executive Officer, Executive Officer, The
BorgWarner Inc. • Steven Rooney, Chief Ideal Group, Inc.
Executive Officer,
• Daniel J. Loepp, Continental Structural • Thomas Vincent,
President and CEO, Plastics and General President and Chief
Blue Cross Blue Shield Manager, Teijin Executive Officer,
of Michigan Composites Business Plunkett Cooney PC
• Ryan Maibach, • S. Evan Weiner,
President and Chief • Samir Salman, Chief President and CEO,
Executive Officer, Executive Officer, Edward C Levy Co.
Barton Malow Holdings Continental Automotive
North America • Andreas S. Weller,
• Mike Manley, Head of President and Chief
Americas, Stellantis • Ray Scott, President Executive Officer,
and CEO, Lear Aludyne
• Mike Mansuetti, Corporation
President, Bosch in • Leonard C. Wolfe,
North America • Suzanne Shank, President Chairman and Chief
and Chief Executive Officer, Executive Officer,
• Jerry Norcia, President Siebert Williams Shank & Dykema Gossett PLLC
and CEO, DTE Energy Co., LLC
• Rod Wood, President
• Megan Norris, Chief • Stephen D. Steinour, and CEO, Detroit Lions
Executive Officer, Miller Chairman, President
Canfield Paddock and and CEO, Huntington
Stone, PLC Bancshares Inc.

Page 2 of 2