You are on page 1of 3

 Explain the types of installations in Solaris

There are several ways to install Solaris. They are,

Solaris Installation Program
Solaris Installation Program over Network
Custom Jumpstart Installation
Solaris Flash Installation
WAN Boot
Solaris Live Upgrade
Solaris Zones

 How do you recover root password

Failsafe mode does not require password to login. After logging in, delete the
password file from /etc/shadow and reboot the system.
Now login to the root and set the password.

 What are the RAID levels in Solaris

RAID means redundant Array of Inexpensive/Independent Diska

There are Six RAID levels
RAID Level 0
RAID Level 1
RAID Level 2
RAID Level 3
RAID Level 4
RAID Level 5
RAID Level 6
Here only level 0, 1 and 5 are used extensively, only few storage systems support
level 2, 3 and 4

 List out some performance monitoring tools

Three main performance monitoring tools are


 Explain the difference between PID and PPID with example

A collection of system programs and user generated programs is called Process
Every process contains two ID’s
1. PID – Process ID
2. PPID – Parent processs ID
Example : ps –ef
Output : root 12066 12036 19:44 pts/2
Here 12066 is PID and 12036 is Parent Process ID
 What are NFS daemons


 What is the command to do interactive boot process

Boot -a is the command used to do interactive boot process

At boot prompt just type boot –a and then press enter. Now, the boot process will be

 What is sticky bit

Permission that protects the files in a directory is called sticky bit.

If a file is set with a sticky bit, then it can only be deleted or renames by the owner of
the file or directory.

 Explain how to kill a process

There are 47 kill signals in solaris

Kill command is used to kill a process using Process ID’s
Syntax : Kill [signal number] [PID]
Example : kill -9 12066
Kill -9 5703
Pkill command is used to kill a process using process name
Syntax: Pkill [signal number] [process name]
Example : Pkill -9 fdisk

 What are NIS daemons

 What is Zombie Process and how to view it

If a parent process is killed and even then the child process is running, then such
process is called zombie process.
To view a zombie process we use
Ps -el | grep Z
Here Z denotes Zombie

 How many run levels are there and what are they

There are eight run levels in solaris. They are

Run level State
0 power down
s or S single User
1 Administrative
2 Multi-User
3 Multi-use with NFS
4 Alternative Multiuser
5 Power down
6 Reboot

 What does pkgadd command do

It installs a signed or unsigned software package

Example: pkgadd -d /cdrom/cdrom0/solaris10/product SUNwaudio
The above example is to install the package from cdrom

 How do you create a new file system

New file system can be created by using newfs command

Example : newfs /dev/rdsk/c0t0d0s0
/dev/rdsk/c0t0d0so is the raw device

 Which command is used to backup and restore Solaris file system

Backup file system can be done by using ufsdump command

ufsdump [options] [arguments] [file names]
Example: ufsdump 0ucf /dev/rmt/0

Restoring files can be done by using ufsrestore command

Ufsrestore ta [archieve name] ./path/filename ./path/filename
Example: ufsrestore ta /var/tmp/root.archieve ./etc/passwd