2010-11NOWAll-Suburban Boys Basketball Team Go online for a closer look at the team, including a special interactive guide to the players, photo galleries and more.
GUARD Player of the Year Zak Showalter 6-2 junior Germantown Unanimous North Shore Conference Player of the Year for league champion and Super Tuesday qualifier ... scored 19 points per game on 49.2 percent shooting ... finished with 4.3 assists and 5.1 rebounds per game ... made 99 of 132 free-throw attempts ... averaged nearly two steals a game ... hit 37 3-pointers FORWARD Darrell Bowie, 6-6 junior, Wauwatosa East First-team Greater Metro Conference player produced 12.9 points and 8.3 rebounds per game ... averaged 1.6 assists, 1.8 steals and 1.3 blocks per game ... shot 53 percent from the field and attempted 186 free throws FORWARD Ron Patten, 6-5 senior, Whitefish Bay Second-team all-conference but enjoyed superb postseason for state-champion Blue Dukes ... averaged 15.1 ppg on .553 shooting with 5.1 rebounds ... hit team-leading 46 3-pointers and finished with 56 assists and 39 blocks ... hit game winning shot in sectional final overtime win against Wisconsin Lutheran FORWARD Jamie Schneck, 6-8 senior, Whitefish Bay A first-team North Shore Conference selection and All-State choice for the state-champion Blue Dukes ... averaged 15 ppg on .668 shooting ... improved his free throw shooting as the season went along, including 10 of 14 in tense regional final win over Nicolet ... averaged 7.4 rebounds and had 36 assists and 46 blocks ... tipped in game-winner in state semifinal against Seymour FAN VOTING Fans cast votes for their choices at the MyPrepSportsNOW Facebook page, with tallies accounting for one-fifth of the voting totals. Top vote-getters were: 1. Alex Olson, Brookfield Central 2. Tyler Krause, Wauwatosa West 3. J.P. Tokoto, Menomonee Falls 4. Jarvis Ashley, Wauwatosa West 5. Seth Mortag, Brookfield Central HIGH HONORABLE MENTION GUARDS: Deion Jackson-Body, 5-7, junior, Shorewood; Tyler Krause, 5-8, senior, Wauwatosa West; Matt Krueger, 6-3, senior, Franklin FORWARDS: Jarvis Ashley, 6-1, senior, Wauwatosa West; C.J. Gregg, 6-5, senior, Brookfield East; Christian Griggs-Williams, 6-5, senior, Nicolet; Seth Mortag, 6-5, junior, Brookfield Central COACHES: Tim Hogan, Franklin; Steve Showalter, Germantown HOW THEY ARE CHOSEN The NOW sports staff contacts all coaches in its coverage area and asks for nominations. That information is put on a ballot to which NOW reporters add their own first-hand impressions of players. Each staff member then votes for the 10 players he feels should be on the team, ranking them from 10 to 1. Online votes are tabulated and count for a fifth of the final tally. The player with the most points is named the Player of the Year and the next 10 players are also named to the team. Those players receiving votes who do not make the team earn high honorable mention and those who are nominated but don’t receive votes earn honorable mention. SW

FORWARD Chad Mathwig, 6-6 senior, New Berlin West Woodland Blue Division Player of the Year for second consecutive season ... scored 17.1 points per game and shot 72 percent at free-throw line ... leading scorer in school history with 1,051 points ... finished with 204 rebounds, 59 assists and 39 blocks ... honorable mention All-State by Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association FORWARD J.P. Tokoto, 6-6 junior, Menomonee Falls Last year’s NOW Player of the Year averaged 20.5 points and 10 rebounds per game ... recently committed verbally to the University of North Carolina ... improved his perimeter game and stepped into captain’s role this season under intense media scrutiny ... named Greater Metro Conference Player of the Year and an All-State choice GUARD Stephen Pelkofer, 6-2 junior, Whitnall Averaged 16.5 points for sectional qualifier, making 61 percent from two-point range and 45 percent from 3-point range. ... shot 58 percent from field overall ... shot 82 percent at free-throw line

COACH OF THE YEAR Kevin Lazovik, Whitefish Bay Led Blue Dukes to state title in second year and 20-8 overall record ... went to state with Bay twice as a player, winning during his junior year ... oversaw team that shocked top-seeded Wisconsin Lutheran in the sectional final, then won again at the buzzer against Seymour in the state semifinal GUARD Malcolm Bowers, 6-1 senior, Germantown Defensive stopper scored 11 points per game and shot 68 percent ... led team in rebounding with 6.5 per game and added 2.1 steals and 2.2 assists ... second team All-Conference in North Shore for Germantown team that won 24 games

GUARD Reed Timmer, 5-11 freshman, New Berlin Eisenhower Freshman led Eisenhower in scoring at 17.0 ppg ... shot dazzling 87 percent from freethrow line (115-132) and made 33 shots from beyond the arc ... also led team in assists

FORWARD Nick Romanowski, 6-7 senior, Franklin Two-time Southeast Conference Player of the Year and returning AllSuburban selection led Sabers to best season in years at 18-6 ... averaged 19.1 points on 60 percent shooting and 10.1 rebounds and 2.2 blocks per game ... made 73 percent of free throws with 170 attempts ... averaged 3.6 assists per game ... smart and unselfish

GUARD Alex Olson, 6-0 senior, Brookfield Central Top vote getter in MyPrepSportsNOW fan voting on Facebook ... firstteam choice in Greater Metro ... averaged 9.3 points per game ... shot 66 percent from free-throw line ... a “glue guy” for Central

GUARDS: La Monte Bearden, 5-9, freshman, Homestead; Andrew Brees, 6-3, senior, Greendale; Anthony Carroll, 6-1, sophomore, Wauwatosa East; Danny Frawley, 6-1, senior, Muskego; Donovan Freeman, 6-2, sophomore, Shorewood; Terrence Garner, 6-2, sophomore, Oak Creek; Jarvis Garrett, 5-10, sophomore, West Allis Central; Steve Kopet, 5-11, junior, West Allis Hale; Alex McRae, 6-3, senior, Eisenhower; David Mlachnik, 6-2, junior, Muskego; Josh Mongan, 5-11, junior, Germantown; Jalen Ramey, 5-8, senior, Menomonee Falls; Ricky Santiago, 5-10, sophomore, Greenfield; Derrick Waller, 6-0, sophomore, West Allis Hale; Dominic Wilder, 5-10, senior, Homestead FORWARDS: Jamon Jackson-Wilson, 6-4, junior, Brown Deer; Keith Kohfeldt, 6-6, junior, New Berlin Eisenhower; Ricky Landers, 6-7, freshman, Wauwatosa West; Max Miskowiec, 6-4, senior, Muskego; Kierre Ogbonna, 6-1, senior, Brown Deer; Trayvon Palmer, 6-3, sophomore, Brown Deer CENTERS: Luke Fischer, 6-8, sophomore, Germantown COACHES: Paul Hepp, Nicolet; Marquis Hines, Homestead; Kent Kroupa, Whitnall; Mike Landisch, Wauwatosa West

● April 7, 2011 15