Newsletter of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication Texas State University-San Marcos By Margot Hake
Texas State University will host the National Press Photographers Advanced Storytelling Workshop during the week of April 10 to help participants take the art of storytelling to the next level. The seminar, which draws professionals from around the world, offers experienced editing and critiquing of short documentaries that are composed during the workshop. “Most of the people who attend have been in television for years, if not decades in some cases,” said Dave Nolan, the Texas State professor who is credited for bringing the workshop to Texas. “For a lot of them, it’s a way to raise the game as far as their storytelling technique so that they can do it better.” Although the workshop is meant for veterans of the media world, Nolan offers a course that allows students in his visual storytelling class to sample the conference. “They’re getting a professional workshop for free, which is part of the class, but it’s also part of the learning process,” Nolan said about his student’s participation. Nolan’s involvement with the NPPA, which sponsors the weeklong seminar, sparked the workshop’s move from Kentucky to Texas three years ago. The goal is not only to broaden the horizons of those who partake in the symposium, but also to share the expe-

ISSUE NO. 34 April 6, 2011 masscomm.txstate.edu Chuck Kaufman, Editor

Raising storytelling standards
Third NPPA workshop at Texas State begins April 10

rience with students on campus. Fortunately for Texas State University, interest had dwindled in Kentucky, causing NPPA to look for a new host. “I said what I wanted to do was wrap a class around the workshop and teach a class that is based on the workshop’s principles,” said Nolan about his suggestion. “They liked that proposal and they’ve been here for three years, and they’ll probably be here forever.” Mass communication and journalism students are welcome to observe the workshop as long as they notify Nolan in advance. “It gives our students a really nice international perspective on things,” he said. films to show on April 7 at the Puntos de Vista Screening Exhibition in the LBJ Student Center Ballroom from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Puntos de Vista translates to ‘points of view.’ Documentary topics range from political and cultural to religious and environmental. All submissions are 20 minutes and are spoken in Spanish with English subtitles. Dr. Sindy Chapa, the associate director of the Center for the Study of Latino Media & Markets (El Centro), said last year’s event was wonderful and was excited to have more submissions this year. “We have 33 documentaries that
Continued on Page 2

By Callie Hill
Students are encouraged to go online and vote for their favorite participants of the Second Annual Puntos de Vista Film Festival, which is hosted by Texas State University. Communication students from Columbia, Chile, Peru, Mexico and Texas State have entered the contest. Their films will be judged both online and through judging at the festival. Online voting consists of 60 percent of the judging, and it ends April 1. To vote, visit the Texas State website. Both online voting and the Puntos de Vista event are open to the public. The first place student wins $2,000. Following online scoring, faculty and practitioners will choose the 15 best

Centro to show 15 documentaries


Phillips selected intern with Dow Jones Fund
Electronic Media Senior Jarod Phillips is one of 10 multimedia interns for this year’s Dow Jones News Fund internship program. Phillips will receive training at Western Kentucky University, then work for the International Center for Journalists in Washington, D.C. The Dow Jones News Fund accepted 81 undergraduate and graduate students out of 600 applications for the prestigious paid internship. Summer 2011 will be the 44th summer in which the DJNF has offered internships. The internship program began in 1962 and lasts 10 weeks during the summer. Interns work as news and sports copy editors, business reporters and in multimedia.

were submitted, but unfortunately we can only support 15 of them,” Chapa said. “I already picked my two favorites.” Dr. Chapa said El Centro is also planning a new event this year, immediately after the film festival. It will allow the participating students from all countries to spend time together for discussion and music.

2nd International Spanish Documentary Festival April 7, LBJ Student Center
9:30 to 11 a.m., Room 3-3.1
“Timeless,” Universidad Autonoma de Coahuila, Mexico “Equally Different,” Universidad de Lima, Peru “Indigenous Cemetery,” Universidad Autonoma de Bucaramanga, Colombia

9:30 to 11 a.m., Room 3-5.1

“The Religion of Another,” Universidad Cristobal Colon, Veracruz, Mexico “Bread and River,” Politecnico Colombiano Jaime Isava, Medellin, Colombia “The Customized Saint,” Universidad de Lima, Peru

9:30 to 11 a.m., Room3-3.1

TAPME award winner
TYLER, Texas — Tina Phan, a Buster Haas news intern last summer for the Abilene ReporterNews, won a second place award at the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors convention here for a video she produced as part of her news coverage. Dr. Judy Oskam is the first faculty member at Texas State to have completed the Sloan Consortium Online Teaching Certificate, which includes a 9-week foundation course and a series of electives.

“Foreigners In Their Own Land,” Universidad del Desarrollo, Chile “Voice and Vote,” Universidad de Lima, Peru “Digging Further,” Universidad de Lima, Peru

11:15 a.m. to 12:45 p.m., Room 3-13

Documentary workshop developed for the Puntos de Vista participants. Presented by Susan Mason

2:30 to 4 p.m., Room 3-3.1

Sloan Certified

“Relentless Search,” Universidad Autonoma de Coahuila, Mexico “Meikiniando,” Politecnico Colombiano Jaime Isava, Medellin, Colombia “Archangel,” Politecnico Combiano Jaime Isaza, Medellin, Colombia “Empanadas King,” Politecnico Colombiano Jaime Isaza, Medillin, Colombia “The Women of The Ward,” Universidad Autonoma de Bucaramanga, Colombia “The Veteran,” Politecnico Colombiano Jaime Isaza, Medillin, Colombia

2:30 to 4 p.m., Room 3-5.1

The Scholarship Committee of The School of Journalism and Mass Communication announces the following recipients for 2011-2012 endowed scholarships.

HEARST SCHOLARSHIPS • Catherine Arriaza-Ortiz • Anyssa Bohanan • Claudia Giertz • Taylor Wood • Sarah Cobb • Abel Valencia • Christopher Eudaily • Kirsten Hettinger • Karen Garza • Jose Lopez JIM & ADELE MOSS SCHOLARSHIP • Jordan Gass-Poore THE SHRADER FAMILY SCHOLARSHIPS • Alisha Grieme • Anyssa Bohanan THE DON ANDERS SCHOLARSHIP • Courtney Pedersen MIKE NICKLESS SCHOLARSHIP • Dalida Umuhire

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful