You are on page 1of 3


The 8086 pins and signals are shown below. Unless otherwise indicated, all
8086 pins are TTL compatible. The 8086 can operate in two modes. These are
minimum mode (uniprocessor system – single 8086) and maximum mode
(multiprocessor system system – more than one 8086). Pin Diagram for the 8086
is given below:


Pin(s) Symbol Input/ Description

1 GND - Ground
2-16 AD14-ADO I/O-3 Output address during the first part of the
bus cycle and inputs or outputs data during
the remaining part of the bus cycle.
17 NMI I Nonmaskable interrupt request level
18 INTR I Maskable interrupt request level triggered
19 CLK I Generates clock signals that synchronize
the operation of processor.
20 GND Ground
21 RESET I Terminates activity, clears PSW, IP,
DS,SS,ES, and the instruction queue, and
CS to FFFF; IP to 0000H; SS to 0000H; DS
to 0000H; PSW to 0000H. Processing
begins at FFFFO when signal is dropped.
Signal must be 1 for at least 4 clock cycles.

22 READY I Acknowledgment from memory or I/O

interface that cpu can complete the current
bus cucle.
23 TEST I Used in conjuction with the WAIT instruction
in multiprocessing environments. A WAIT
instruction will cause the cpu to idle, except
for processing interruptsm, until a 0 is
applied to this pin see chp-11
24-31 Definition depends on mode
32 RD 0-3 Indicates a memory or I/O read is to be
33 MN/MX I Cpu is in minimum mode when strapped to
+5 v and in maximum mode when grounded
34 BHE/s7 0-3 If o during first of bus cycle this pin indicates
that at least one byte of the current transfer
is to be made on pins AD15-AD8 if 1 the
transfer is made on AD7-AD0. Status s7 is
output during the latter part of bus assigned
a meaning
35-38 A19/s6- 0-3 During the first part of the bus cycle the
A16/s3 upper 4 bits of the address are output and
during the remainder of the bus cycle status
is output. S3 and S4 indicates the segment
register being used as follows;
S4 s3 Register
0 0 ES
0 1 SS
1 0 CS or more
1 1 DS
s5 gives the current setting of IF.
S6 is always 0.
39 AD15 I/0-3 Same as AD14-AD0
40 Vcc Supply voltage - +5 v ± 10%

1. MN/MX is an input pin used to select one of these modes. When MN/MX is
HIGH, the 8086 operates in the minimum mode. When MN/MX is LOW, 8086
is configured to support multiprocessor systems. In this case, the Intel 8288
bus controller is added to the 8086 to provide bus controls.
2. Pins 2 through 16 and 39 (AD15 - AD0) are a 16-bit multiplexed address/data
bus. During the first clock cycle AD0-AD15 are the low order 16 bits of
address. The 8086 have a total of 20 address lines. The upper four lines (35
– 38)are multiplexed with the status signals for the 8086. These are the
A16/S3, A17/S4, A18/S5, and A19/S6. During the first clock period of a bus
cycle, the entire 20-bit address is available on these lines. During all other
clock cycles for memory and I/O operations, AD15-AD0 contains the 16-bit
data, and S3, S4, S5, and S6 become status lines. S3 and S4 lines are
decoded as follows:

A17/S4 A16/S3 Function

0 0 Extra segment
0 1 Stack segment
1 0 Code or no segment
1 1 Data Segment

Status bits S3 and S4 indicate the segment register that is being used to
generate the address the address and bit S5 reflects the contents of the IF
flag. S6 is always held at 0 and indicates that an 8086 is controlling the
system bus.
3. Pins 1 and 20 are grounded. Pin 17 is NMI. This is the Non Maskable
Interrupt input activated by a leading edge. Pin 18 is INTR. INTR is the
maskable interrupt input. Pin 19 is CLK is for supplying the clock signal that
synchronizes the activity within the CPU.
4. Pin 21 (RESET) is the system reset input signal. When the 8086 detects the
positive going edge of a pulse on RESET, it stops all activities until the signal
goes LOW. When the reset is low, the 8086 initializes as follows:
8086 Component Content

Falgs Clear
IP 0000H
DS 0000H
SS 0000H
ES 0000H
Queue Empty

5. Pin 22 (READY) is for inputting an acknowledge from a memory or I/O

interface that input data will be put on the data bus or output data will be
accepted from the data bus within the next clock cycle. In either case, the
CPU and its bus control logic can complete the current bus cycle after the
next clock cycle.
6. Pin 23 TEST is an input pin and is only used by the WAIT instruction. The
8086 enter a wait state after execution of the WAIT instruction until a LOW is
seen on the TEST pin.
7. Pins 24 to 31 are mode dependent and are considered later.
8. Pin 32 (RD) is LOW whenever the 8086 is reading data from memory or an
I/O location.
9. Pin 34 (BHE/S7) is used as BHE (BUS High Enable) during the first clock
cycle of an instruction execution. BHE can be used in conjunction with AD0 to
select memory banks. During all other clock cycles BHE/S7 is used as S7.

Operation BHE AD0 Data pins used

Write/Read a word at an even
Address 0 0 AD15 – AD0
Write/Read a byte at an even
Address 1 0 AD7 – AD0
Write/Read a byte at an odd
Address 0 1 AD15 – AD8
Write/Read a word at an odd
Address 0 1 AD15 – AD8
1 0 AD7 - AD0

10. Pin 40 (VCC) receives the supply voltage, which must be +5 V.