Viceroys of India

1. Lord Canning (1858 - 1862) :- Lord Canning was the first viceroy of India. He abolished The
Doctrine of Lapse and also established three major Indian universities at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras.

2. Lord Litton (1876 - 1880) :- Lord Litton Introduced The Vernacular Press Act, to curb the freedom
of Indian Press.

3. Lord Rippan (1880 - 1884) :- Lord Rippan was known as the father of local Self Government. He
started census for the fisrt time in India in 1881. He abolished The Vernacular Press Act and introduced Illbert Bill.

4. Lord Curzon (1899 - 1904) :- Lord Curzon was responsible for the partition of Bengal and Bengal
was divided into East and West bengal in 1905. He passed Indian University Act in 1904 and also passed The Indian Monuments Act.

5. Lord Minto (1905- 1910) :- During his tenure there was great unrest in India because of the Indian
Council Act or the Minto Morley reforms passed in 1909.

6. Lord Hardinge (1910 - 1916) :- During his tenure a Durbar was held at Delhi in 1911 to greet the
King of England, George V. Bengal was unified and Delhi was made the capital in place of Calcutta in 1911. Gate-way of India was constructed to greet him.

7. Lord Chelmsford (1916 - 1921) :- Under Lord Chelmsford, The Government of India Act of 1919,
popularly known as Montague-Chelmsford reform was passed. The Jallianwala Bagh massacre took place on 13th april 1919. Rowlatt Act, also called the black Bill, was passed in 1919. The Non Cooperation movement started in this year 1920.

8. Lord Reading (1921 - 1925) :- The visit of the Duke of cannaught and the Prince of Wales to
India was boycotted under Lord Reading. Gandhi called off Non-cooperation Movement in 1922 due to the Chauri Chaura event.

9. Lord Irwin (1926 - 1931) :- During Lord Irwin's reign, the Simon Commission visited India in 1928.
Civil Disobedience movement was started in India by Gandhi. Gandhi - Irwin pact was signed in 1931. The First Round Table Conferencewas held in London. Indian National Congress boycotted it.

10. Lord Willingdon (1931 - 1936) :- Under Lord Willingdon, the second and third round table
conferences were held at London. The Poona pact was signed between Dr. B R Ambedkar and M K Gandhi. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar participated in all three round table conferences.

11. Lord Linlithgow (1936 - 1943) :- Under him elections were held for the first time in 11 Indian
states in 1939. Congress ministers were formed in eight out of 11 provisions but subsequently resigned because India was being dragged into the Second World War.

12. Lord Wavell (1943 - 1947) :- Under him the cabinet Mission came to India from London. The
first meeting of the Constituent Assembly was held on 9th December 1946.

13. Lord Mountbatten (March 13 1947 - 14 August 1947) :- Under him an act for Indian
independence was passed by British Parliament. He was the last British Governer General of Independent India

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful