Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

JUDGE HELLERSTEIN
Andrew Baum (AB-3783) FOLEY & LARDNER LLP 90 Park Avenue

Page

1 of 12

114 F" 0
j

0

New York, New York 10016 Tel: (212) 338-3527 Fax: (212) 687-2329

Attorneys for Plaintiff,
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

D.
CO P

t^ -1 r^
01 2
Lf, Syr4Y:t.,

I

2011
It

J''

HERMES INTERNATIONAL, corporation,
Plaintiff,
v.

a

French

CIVIL ACTION NO.

THURSDAY FRIDAY

INC.,

a

California

corporation,
Defendant.

COMPLAINT Plaintiff Hermes International

("Hermes"
as

or

"Plaintiff"), for

its

Complaint against

Thursday Friday Inc. ("Defendant"),

states

follows.

INTRODUCTION
1.
enormous

Hermes created, manufactures and sells the iconic "Birkin"

handbag. Through
Bag
has become

sales, publicity and media attention, the
to

appearance of the Birkin

immediately recognizable
bear,
to be
on

millions of
a

women.

Defendant is of the the

selling

cotton tote

bags

which

each of their

surfaces,

color

photograph

corresponding surfaces
and

of what appears

a

Birkin

Bag. Defendant

is

simply riding

on

reputation

recognition

of the Birkin

NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 12

Bag
the

to sell its otherwise

generic

tote

bags.

In

so

doing,

Defendant is

creating

confusion among

public
2.

and is

putting Plaintiff s reputation at risk.
an

This is of

action under federal and state law for trademark

infringement, false injunctive

designation

origin,

unfair

competition

and dilution
an

by

tarnishment. Hermes seeks of

relief, damages, statutory
based
on

treble

damages, costs, infringement
and

accounting

profits,

and

attorneys' fees

Defendant's intentional

and related misconduct. the
common

Hermes

brings

these

claims pursuant to 15 U.S.C.
and N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law

1125(a)

1125(c),

law of the State of New

York,

360-1.

PARTIES 3. Hermes is
a

French

corporation having its principal place

of business at 24,

rue

du

Faubourg,
its

St. Honore 75008

Paris, France. Hermes does business in the United States through
Hermes of Paris,

wholly-owned subsidiary

Inc.,

a

New York

corporation having

its

principal

office at 55 East

59th Street, New York,
and

New York 10022.

4.

Upon information

belief, Thursday Friday Inc. is

a

California

corporation
California

having

its

principal place

of business at 2672 S. La
on a

Cienega Blvd.,

Los

Angeles,

90034, and is doing business

systematic

and

regular

basis within the State of New York

through its

interactive website located at www.thufri.com.

JURISDICTION AND VENUE
5.

This Court has

original jurisdiction jurisdiction pursuant

over

this action pursuant to 15 U.S.C.
1331 and

1121.

This court has

subject

matter

to 28 U.S.C.

1338,

as

questions

of federal law have been

presented

under 15 U.S.C.

1125(a).

This Court has
1367.

supplemental

jurisdiction over Plaintiff's

state law claims

pursuant
2

to 28 U.S.C.

NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

3 of 12

6.

This Court has in personam jurisdiction
and

over

Defendant pursuant to N.Y.C.P.L.R.
or

302(a)(1)

(2)

in

that,

upon information and

belief, Defendant, by itself

through

its

agents, regularly solicits, transacts, and engages in business in New York, and has committed
tortuous acts in New

York, including this jurisdiction.

7.

Venue is

appropriate
a

in this Court
over

over

Defendant pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

1391(b)

because it is

corporation
a

whom this Court has

personal jurisdiction,
in this district.

and

therefore resides

here,

and because

substantial part of the claims

arose

FACTS COMMON TO ALL COUNTS
Plaintiff and the Birkin

Bag alleged herein,
Plaintiff has
and

8.

Continuously since long prior to the
throughout

acts of Defendant

been renowned

the world and in the United States for its

high quality goods

services in the fields of leather

goods, wearing apparel, fragrances, fashion

accessories and home

furnishings.
9.

Plaintiff s

original business During

was

the

production

of

elegant,

custom

made, high

quality

harnesses for horses.
to

the nineteenth century, Plaintiff's harness business

expanded

saddlery

and other related horseback

riding equipment.

During

the twentieth

century, Plaintiff expanded its business further

to include hand made

handbags, personal
its

leather

goods,

and

wearing apparel reputation
some

of the

highest quality.

Throughout
goods
of the

history,

Plaintiff has
without

maintained its

for the manufacture of
other so-called

highest quality,

compromise.

Unlike

luxury goods manufacturers,

Plaintiff does not license

its trademarks for

use on

goods

made

by others,

and all of its leather

goods

are

made within

Plaintiff s

own

factories and workrooms.

3
NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page 4 of

12

10.

Continuously

since at least

as

early
a

as

1986, Plaintiff has manufactured and sold,
the Birkin

within the United states and in other

countries,

handbag which has become known as
singer Jane Birkin,
and
was

Bag.

The Birkin

Bag

is named after the actress and

created out of a

chance

meeting between
a

Ms. Birkin and Jean-Louis

Dumas, then chairman of Hermes.

M.

Dumas remodeled

capacious tapestry bag to

suit Ms. Birkin's needs.

11.

The Birkin

Bag

has

a

distinctive

design

that is characterized

by,

inter

alia, (a)

a

distinctive three lobed

flap design

with

keyhole shaped
a

notches to fit around the base of the

handle, (b)
with metal

a

dimpled triangular profile, (c)

closure which consists of two thin, horizontal straps
a

plates

at their end that fit over

circular turn

lock,
at

and

(e)

a

padlock,

which

sometimes is

placed

within the turn lock and is sometimes

placed

the end of a leather fob. A

photograph
12.

of a Birkin

Bag is

attached

as

Exhibit A.

The closure of the Birkin

Bag itself has

become

so

recognizable

and distinctive

that it is the

subject

of U.S. Trademark

Registration

No.

1, 806, 107 which registration is in full

force and effect and is incontestable. closure is attached
as

A copy of the Certificate of

Registration

for this Birkin

Exhibit B.

13.
or

Each Birkin
A

Bag

is handcrafted from the finest leather

by

an

experienced

artisan

artisans.

single

such

handbag requires

between sixteen and nineteen hours of labor to involved in
some

create.
are

Because of the intensive labor and

craftsmanship
$6, 000,

creating
are

Birkin
more

Bags, they expensive.

very

expensive.
a

Prices start at about

and

models
a

Nevertheless, there is

waiting list
a

to obtain such

bags. Currently,

customer must wait at least

eighteen months

to obtain

Birkin

Bag from

one

of Plaintiff s stores in the United States.

4 NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

5 of 12

14.

During

the

period

2002 to 2008

inclusive, Plaintiff sold more than thirty thousand
revenue

Birkin

Bags
15.

in the United

States, representing total

in

excess

of $200 million.

Despite

the

high price

and

exclusivity

of the Birkin

Bag,

its

design

has become due to the

enormously identifiable
considerable attention

and well

recognized

among the

general public, primarily
media.

given by Bag
from

the fashion press and

general

Indeed, photo spreads
as

incorporating

the Birkin

are a

staple

of fashion

magazines.

Attached

Exhibit C

are

samples of such publicity Vogue, Vanity Fair, Style
16.
a

publications

with nationwide circulations such
1998

as

Allure, Bazaar,

and People

ranging in date from
to
own

through
so

2009.

The Birkin element in
an

Bag, and the desire

one, became

well known that it became

key plot

episode

of the HBO series Sex and the
a

City.

Attached

as

Exhibit D is

a

synopsis

of the

episode,

in which

Birkin

Bag

is

prominently displayed.
as

The Birkin

Bag has

also been featured in

episodes

of television shows such

Gilmore Girls, Will and Grace and

Gossip

Girls.

17.

Further evidence of the
to own

widespread

fame of the Birkin

Bag,

and the urgent desire

of many

women

it,

is

a

book entitled

Bringing

Home the Birkin.

This book describes

author Michael Tonello's business venture

buying

and

selling

Plaintiff s

luxury products,
The
a

primarily Birkin Bags,

at

premium prices

in order to

satisfy customer demands.
and the outer

cover

of the of

book emulates the distinctive
the entire Birkin

flap

of the Birkin

bag

jacket

includes

rendering

Bag.

See Exhibit E. The Birkin

Bag was featured prominently in materials
a

and

events in connection with

Bringing Home

the

Birkin, including

book review in The New York

Times and

a

segment

on

CBS's The
are

Early
as

Show.

Copies

of materials related to

publicity

over

Bringing Home the Birkin

attached

Exhibit F.

5
NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

6 of 12

18.

The Birkin

Bag
a

does not bear any visible word trademark result of

on

its exterior

or on

any

hang tags
advertising

sold with it. and

As

this, and

as

a

result of the

enormous

sales, extensive
media, the

promotion

and

ubiquitous publicity

and attention in the press and
a

design

of the Birkin

Bag has acquired secondary meaning and has become
associated

famous trademark

(the "Birkin Bag Trademark"),
19.

exclusively with Plaintiff
of the Birkin
v.

Plaintiff's
cases

rights
as

in the

design

Bag have been judicially

tested and

approved by

such

Hermes International et al.
two

Lederer de Paris, Inc. and Pelle Via

Roma, Inc., 98 Civ. 2820 (SAS), in which

separate juries found that the design of the Birkin

Bag had acquired distinctiveness and was infringed by a knockoff bag.
Defendant's Acts 20.

Upon
have
no

infoimation and belief, Defendant is

a

recently

foinied

corporation

whose

principals
21.

prior experience in the handbag industry. recently began offering for sale
a

Defendant

and

selling, through its fully interactive
called the

website located at

www.thufri.com,
on

cotton canvas tote

bag

Together Bag.
sides and

The
a

Together Bag contains,

each of its five exterior surfaces of what appears to be
as a

(front, back, genuine

bottom)

photograph of the corresponding sides
of the

Birkin

Bag. Photographs

Together Bag
22.

are

attached hereto

Exhibit G.

Defendant's website includes the
the the

ability

to order

products directly from
Upon information

the and

website, and payment for belief, Defendant has sold
New

goods

may be made

through

the website.

Together Bag through

this website to persons within the State of

York, including this juridical district.

6
NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

7 of 12

23. its cotton tote

Defendant's affixation of the

photographs

of what is

apparently
create

a

Birkin

Bag

to
or

bags,

and the

advertising

and sale

thereof, is likely to
either sold

confusion,

mistake

deception,
sponsored
24.

in that persons will believe that the
or

bag is

by Plaintiff or has

been

licensed,

endorsed

by Plaintiff.
to

By its actions alleged herein, Defendant is seeking

take unfair

advantage

of the

fame and

reputation

of the Birkin of the

Bag,

and

by leading people bag

to believe that Plaintiff has

engaged

in the

licensing

image

of its

in connection with

inexpensive goods,

is

tarnishing Plaintiff s reputation for quality and
25.

commercial

integrity.
willfully
and with the purpose of

Defendant's acts alleged herein
the

were

undertaken

confusing
Birkin

public

and

unfairly exploiting

the wide fame and

reputation

of Plaintiff and the

Bag.
COUNT ONE

(False Designation
26.
Hermes repeats and

of Origin

15 U.S.C.

1125(a)(1)(A))
contained in

realleges

the

allegations

paragraphs

1-25 of its

Complaint as
27.

if set forth herein.

The Birkin
consumers as

Bag

Trademark has

acquired

a

secondary meaning
The

and has become

identified

by

associated with Hermes

exclusively.

design

of the Birkin

Bag

is

not functional.

28.

Defendant's
a

advertising
Birkin

and sale of tote

bags bearing

a

photographic production
cause

of what appears to be

genuine
to the

Bag

on

its exterior surfaces is
or

likely to

confusion,

mistake,

or

deception

as

origin, sponsorship,

approval

of Defendant's

bag. Defendant's

7 NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

8 of 12

use

of these

photographs by

is

likely to

cause consumers to

believe that Defendant's

bags originate,

and/or is licensed

or

otherwise authorized

by

Hermes. false

Defendant's actions therefore

constitute common-law trademark Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C.

infringement and

designation

of

origin

under the

1125(a)(1)(A).
has undertaken these acts with the
to the

29.

Upon information and belief, Defendant
confuse, mislead,
direct and
or

express intent to

deceive the

public as

origin

of Defendant's

products.

30.

As

a

proximate

result of Defendant's

actions, Hermes and the public

have been and will continue to be Court from

irreparably damaged

unless Defendant is

enjoined by

this

advertising and selling its infringing tote bag.
Hermes has
no

31.

adequate remedy at law.
COUNT TWO

(Federal Trademark Infringement
32.

15 U.S.C.

1114)

Hermes repeats and
as

realleges

the

allegations

contained in

paragraphs

1-31 of its

Complaint
33.

if set forth herein.

By its actions, Defendant has infringed Plaintiffs registered trademark, the Birkin

Closure,

set forth in U.S.

Reg.
to

No.

1, 806, 107, pursuant to 15 U.S.C.

1114.

34.

By affixing

its tote

bags photographs

of what appears to be

a

Birkin

Bag,

including
mislead
or

the Birkin Closure

registered trademark, Defendant expressly
to

intends to

confuse,

deceive the

public as

the

origin of Defendant's products.

8
NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

9 of 12

35.

As

a

direct and

proximate

result of Defendant's actions, Hermes and the unless Defendant is

public
this

have been and will continue to be
Court from

irreparably damaged

enjoined by

advertising

and

selling its infringing tote bag.
no

36.

Hermes has

adequate remedy at law.
COUNT THREE

(New
37. of its

York Common Law Trademark

Infringement allegations

and Unfair

Competition)
1

Hermes repeats and
as

realleges

the

contained in

paragraphs

through 36

Complaint
38.

if set forth herein.

Defendant's actions constitute trademark
law of New York.

infringement

and unfair

competition

under the

common

39.

Upon

information and belief, Defendant has undertaken these acts with the
or

express intent to

confuse, mislead,
direct and

deceive the

public as

to the

origin

of Defendant's

products.

40.

As

a

proximate

result of Defendant's

actions, Hermes and the public

have been and will continue to be
Court from

irreparably damaged
tote

unless Defendant is

enjoined by

this

advertising

and

selling its infringing
no

bag.

41.

Hermes has

adequate remedy at law.
COUNT FOUR

(Dilution
42.

15 U.S.C.

1125(c))
contained in

Hermes repeats and
as

realleges the allegations

paragraphs

1

through 41

of its

Complaint

if set forth herein.

9 NYC1 079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

10 of 12

43.

Plaintiff s Birkin

Bag Trademark is

a

famous trademark.

44. its

By affixing a photograph
tote

of what appears to be

a

genuine Plaintiff s Birkin Bag to

inexpensive

bag,

Defendant is

likely to
fine

create dilution of Plaintiff s famous trademark

by

tarnishment, by associating Plaintiff s

goods

with Defendant's

inexpensive,
in to the

lower

quality
to

products

and

by creating

the false

impression
market

that Plaintiff has

given

temptation

license its famous trademark for

mass

goods.
of Defendant's actions, Hermes has been and will

45.

As

a

direct and

proximate result

continue to be and

irreparably damaged

unless Defendant is

enjoined by

this Court from

advertising

selling its infringing tote bag.
46. Hermes has
no

adequate remedy

at law.

COUNT FIVE

(Dilution
47.

Under New York General Business Law Section

3604)
1

Hermes repeats and

realleges

the

allegations

contained in

paragraphs

through 46

of its

Complaint as
48.

if set forth herein.

By

its acts

alleged herein,

Defendant is

creating

a

likelihood of

injury

to the

business
Law

reputation

of

Hermes,

in violation of the New York Anti-dilution

Act, N.Y. Gen. Bus.

360-1.

49. continue to be

As

a

direct and

proximate result

of Defendant's

actions, Hermes has been and will
this Court from

irreparably damaged

unless Defendant is

enjoined by

advertising

and

selling its infringing tote bag.
50. Hermes has
no

adequate remedy

at

law.

10
NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

11 of 12

PRAYER FOR RELIEF

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff demands judgment that:
a.

Defendant, its officers, agents, servants, employees, attorneys, and all

persons

acting in active
and thereafter

concert with

them,

be

enjoined during the pendency

of this

action,

permanently enjoined
Birkin

and restrained from
or

using any photographs or
on or

reproductions of Plaintiff's
connection with the
of tote

Bag,

any

substantially identical bag,

in

advertising, promotion, importation, offering for
of any

sale

or

sale

bags or handbags

kind;

b.

Defendant be ordered to deliver up for destruction any and all

inventory,
prints,

packaging, labels, advertising,
mechanicals, plates,
any
or means

or

sales

promotional materials,
the labels and

and all

used to

reproduce
Bag

packaging bearing
similar

reproduction

of Plaintiff's Birkin

and/or any

designs confusingly

to Plaintiff's Birkin

Bag;
to account

c.

Defendant be sustained

required

for and pay realized

over

to Plaintiff all

damages
of its

by

Plaintiff and all

profits

by

Defendant

by

reason

unlawful acts

alleged herein;
awarded to Plaintiff under Count I be

d.

All

damages

trebled, pursuant

to 15 U.S.C.

1117;
Defendant be
and

e.

required

to pay to Plaintiff all of Plaintiff's
as

costs, disbursements,
15 U.S.C.

attorneys' fees in this action,

provided by law, including

1117;

11
NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

12 of 12

f.

Defendant be

required

to file with the Court and

serve

upon Plaintiff s counsel
a

within

thirty (30) days
setting

after entry of any

injunctive

relief herein

written report

under oath

forth in detail the

manner

and form in which Defendant has

complied with the requirements
g:

of the aforementioned orders; and

Plaintiff have such other and further relief

as

the Court may deem

just

and

equitable.

Dated: New York, New York

JanuaryTr2011
BY:

FO,

&LARD "ER LLP

Baum 90 Park Avenue New York, New York 10016 Tel: (212) 338-3527 Fax: (212) 687-2329

Andrew

Attorneys for Plaintiff
EXHIBIT LIST

Exhibit A: Exhibit B: Exhibit C: Exhibit D:

Photograph

of Plaintiff s Birkin

Bag Reg.
No.

Certificate of Registration for U.S.

1, 806, 107

Magazine photo spreads showing Synopsis
of "Sex and the

Birkin

Bag
Birkin

City" episode involving

Bag

Exhibit E: Exhibit F:

Cover of Bringing Home the Birkin

Publicity on Bringing Home

the Birkin

Exhibit G:

Photogaphs

of Defendant's

"Together Bag"

12
NYC_1079178.1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

1 of 3

EXHIBIT A

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 3
4

I. raStiri:OC)k.
I

1-

f.ditr)r Nth liPlle S,Inci•,

.4_,

--15--....s.,

W-IPIMISIVPA11117,
4,

ift1) gf(ly pa rlith.gt.441

._.'-‘7.,

When ti'e -tfit) loth In N.,I6 with%n
s million In rizAmilar I ik'TP.W.; trunnwt, thetv..ent.i.

cuhanintriininqto, NhiudiVp .040 a lintg$.
celraetritisl
.%;•rialgtilittiV:t intle

i.

r ri 40 :1.

t,
1

\SL
r
1

I

d.i rt 1

1

.4 .Nr'

di azt.W9,:ales.kiotmq velum, thaBition2. mvz, nrotiiii,v, vujithi ifil... Ffir.., Lagraira WI. la refl/NA ilIhurnhitceniniii.Wczt
'oi

r.r, iteoriLsrrtoNt 4:kinieW

sttm. t

.isrva-ociukrivedetit k:gigt Pans wl oti

hernrohfrItin_K

lit

r •OW

roteirbVAIni
r,,

mieztoudli iaLlyto.liip 42 lk cone; natIed 194 174 I.41 h1411, at yt'ai 1 p, -22' i$IbraYd iron, orrmit-..shdded

.411ine.

FLs4.4111 an II `-Witilt"..gPkiet 1511 ain't
4

1

1 r-LI
1

-F.-.

.P4

rOdirkii, thdt -gtici. 144-'41 With aiiirririnti.4
zutgls

i 1,

-1

--‘-i r
-r,,

._-14.
C"._.
:.%-z

tttiu.1111.glIC.0%, i.li

I.:.
v

'MCC,

Ail,

t%

gon-ii: ttoMhell.

st-minnngi

i.

.14 :.JA
1

•4'

i\-•

-2,

ii^,.
l

I.

l

Y

1144It%
r.

4

Li
1

1
A

r,
A

11
4i.

1

ft

1

.L.

k.
r.

r.

I

41

-...t,

1..
t.
L.

I

r-

--it;:Ph, -4
.5.,

ri•

r'

I

.1

1-(N.
1

_-4

d...-•••

i•

1

4,:, i?1,5,4,. 1•109ii-..
1

1,

t•,

1.

I..

L., ars y
4

r,

IllairfiP'

i,
I.

1 •11, 44. 1. s. i.,.,

11

r..
i
9

4

y.

1

i

.----r-",
0

I

1, s

1,

t

.41,

-16!cir. i .

T--.1,

L'''',

1
i

6

.1

A.

g

.1.

A

1

1
t

1
r

A 0

t

1

1

3
r

f,,,,1
L

Li:.

"15.1rF i .1.1.04 ..:alPlirl' '111"1111411111111,
IF I
IC

Fgt.',

:a•

L'

.n'-'-'

r

rr..;...t.

1.

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-1

Filed 01/28/11

Page

3 of 3

s

4i4...ww-

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-2

Filed 01/28/11

Page

1 of 2

EXHIBIT B

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-2

Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 2

Int. Cl.: 18
Prior U.S. Cl.: 3

United States Patent and Trademark Office
TRADEMARK
PRINCIPAL REGISTER

Reg. No. 1, 806, 107
Registered Nov. 23,
1993

•or,

1;1'.
•=c-

j•

-4z4=3:•—
1

1

.1
a

HERMES GESTION, INC.

1409 FOULK ROAD, SUITE 102 P.O. BOX 7108 WILMINGTON, DE 19803
FOR: LEATHER

PORATION)

(DELAWARE

COR-

(U.S.

CL.

3).
USE

HANDBAGS, IN CLASS 18
IN

THE MARK CONSISTS OF A RECTANGULAR DESIGN ATTACHED TO THE FLAP OF A HANDBAG AND THE DOTTED LINE APPEARING ON THE DRAWING IS NOT A PART OF THE MARK AND SERVES ONLY TO SHOW THE POSITION OF THE MARK. SEC. 2(F).
SER. NO.

FIRST 1-1-1972.

1-1-1972;

COMMERCE

74-336,038, FILED 12-2-1992.

DAVID CHO, EXAMINING ATTORNEY

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

1 of 14

EXHIBIT C

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3
'476,

Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 14

-11/

a

•-f4-

iPAA4P4..;lh

vit.ainge,,,, -Alk. •754raminmageq-

011JECTS LU DPASIRE
We have

OF

What treats and treasures deserve a place on your most-wanted list for 2008?
some

2. PRECIOUS PERFUME Douse yourself if you dare, but at
$2, 350 gn ounce, perhaps a discreet little dab of the fragrance called No.1 had better do. This exquisite floraltal oriencomposition is reminiscent of the days when Queen Victoriagranted the Enghperfumery that
1.
--th.

dandy suggestions.

1. HAUTE HANDBAG

(I 1
if'
Ir:k i

s

for the riermn. Birkin be there for a while, bag—you may Named in l984 for actress Jane Birkin, this prized =meson? (at left, in violet
now

Get in line

i•

crocodile, $27,400) has topped the fashio
th

to- -.7!
A

redefrso no cittarts inedoonugr
fo
i Vs

liS,

t

-..7...----

4

i

concept of what fashionable means. From se-

ISHOViciive Christiati
.1

.1
T

0

j

lecting the exotic skins to handcrafting the end result, each beg typically takes between six
months and two years to

the right to use her 1 c-row-Ws likeness-on. the bottle stopper. A, diamond embellis hes. the lead-crystal

...:v.

7...

make. Worth the wait?

f I"

j

think so. 800-4414488; hermes.com.
over

Stylish women the world

flacon. At Bergetoif

7

Goodman, NYC,4800558-185% clivecom.

GARDEN

3. AN ETHEREAL
i'll

Hire in-demand British landscape designer 'Prn Stuaill-SttP and Mt yuurbeds notwith traditional cottage-garden flowers but with masses of lovingly selectedartistioallyplaced

r

1.,; .ir.:. H-T-.it:., t4i :jiO'er"'.
.444

'1,041s.t !vow-

_met

:'1.t-''''
f

(11

4X, y4,
1

...--`7"%r.,
ii e..

4 :41- 4.1#1
4

planbs.Thiswinnerofseveral Chelsea Flower

Show awards, whose work has been commissinned by Karl Lagerfeld for Chanel, the Earl of March and Her Majesty the Queen, will
wow

''-it....._
•.P
LP
•b
4

I,

lir:4-

•Ir

..Li._
't
r

ti,
r

...AF-.-..41(t-`
4;:„

you. Prices

on

request. 0.11-44-207-2S3-

MOM www.toinstuartemith.comk.

1S, I,.
4-

A F...

0

:44
4.-..
c,-.4....

a.4

4

I,

4.4.,

..*:IP

11

t

"P.

•.IL

-7%
t

.1,
7...,

r

L.1

.4.:v,,,,
4

4I0
k

t__.,i,

....."..ii

..lif;
r,

w,

132

TOWN 5, COUNTRY

f

..5"

Le 4-.

9.

.^1,

14z. 1, t.,

r

-.L. f....r
4

g...N.

TOWN AND COUNTRY

JANUARY 2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Pace 3 of 14

lark

......L

1

r‘."-4
I
4.

s.,

y
-4
t•
1

1..__

R

1414;2 ---•441,414.
4".1....

.1
AL

1

....i it; 1+0"

4

4.,,
r

Jtp.,

-4.14..

t
T.

1.-

A„

.t1,
L

t...-'

i‘
4
IP
a•

11,

N '.1 -.1-- ..+1-.
4 1

te#
1

i

4.

-74.-

._..ar.

1
A-

ft_...,

j

1i

4,,

l!'

-k^

1.

T

4. ......r ar.
r

...ti_i _._._....ihr................
LS
4-

4

4

:•16.

4.

4,

14 *-1'.-

S
n

1 t:, It..,
4

r. .1
a.

a.

h.

N-.

1

^ai., r4

4..,

Ff..
.1,

1.444-.

'Arr.'

..4
s

111....
1

kt1
4.

i,,
IC
4 I.

i

Irr

1

.1
k

+.
1

S.'

1.-

7411,
11
1

i
r

L

"e"rr'"
Ir
0

mr

N
A

lip

4,.
II
o—.

s

41: 'PP
C.

4%.

J ENNIFER,

i.*
t

1

-4

.c... lk,
4

I
gi
4.-',

•P,

1

ANTZ PO ma R'

.4.•

t
'.0-

Ih-

...a-

FORBES UFE EXEC WOMAN

SPRING 2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

4 of 14

thrsonzil

4,

iFir I A

oDonlbshell
Your everyday staplerare red-hot lipstick,

the

i:oci opnisticate
Luxeclassics like a Birkin. bag, a Rolex anti bareLy there lip color define your sensibility. When in doubt, let Tory Burch be your guide

the

I

metallic stilettos and movie-star sunglasses. Even sexier is what's underneath
Roc, 614: rnat=stnet cs cart
p, rtR-sslar,

RIMS

4e1
1.4

SIIRP YOUR TYPE
Crime*

peen
Bebe

t:
I

ol

Cavallt

'p•-- I I S
r

=NW
Her rum S7850!
7, -Ake., 4711..f

FaioaricaY6tate.

•S

rrif

led de

YOU R

tftntpemesse
Dior

VictoniVe Secret
Pollickien
Move

!we:ores-

''rY(-11) Ft MUSE
atirch,
Kaln 001"1'
-fs-H-. 1 ry,
.r.

Atetateandstarwt,pol st.rfilavsez war donda Mcnee-S1,264):msatetecorr

i

i4

1-e.•'+r;,,3; ("raj A:Watel•
S27400 AixlioQ.

I
..r..

.6539 tc atof .--s

to
0,,,

1 lit vi),Ifiragr
1

-eathergurrva
Amrny Chou,

$725_ 212-119 ;-ora
.Srs) and tart461$68% Cr-ankotiit at Saks F Itn Ave

W...yevr diriv

a

F6a4-RoycePnisstoni
Otageteadecuce.

hoc:18407436a roilsnatenadtorYsczen sr clea*sr, ts

136,,,t•

r'tyl

Ili
i

ik
a"-,

V

MS ii. OCIGLITiN1141

i.
1

2"
I

NUS Vuit
.941 III
0-

1./

j'.

PJ tgr
cri 1 T

..-r.4a.

1
.1

SHOPYOUR TYPE
Croat!
Qubil

StaDdrnan
Arr.friSill. re-rick -r%
f'.W.I.
-zri,

WNW
Heinle*

koc.rs Barone

RtgnibtiC
-1 CM*,

htichief Kara

IN STYLE

JULY 2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

5 of 14

to

Grabbed Bags
From a GO'd clutch to an FPd baguette, most accessories of the moment change with

kilittET OVER
Trix main, s

flth7441 Ili

handbagslveather any storm. surviving on their own. merit Louis Vuitton's accessories pouch can hold a fultsinwallet and cell phone yet double as an evening bag. Others earn a following throuncareful planninc Prada's bowling bag was given to fashfon editors lathe spnng runway show. Some bags are simply so cool. thew appeal cannot be explained. Of her denimanateather HermIs Birkin bag, Kate Moss admits. I love ft because I love it. I love it because it's genius.-sticatu.s rosatnits
the Wind. But some 1:1

14105000
I:.

P6C.. &114.11.

ve

17N-

474\it
r.1
61&'s*.•

•.*-104
.ii

1.*1711411”.M.4.4Et

isathor

i,

bowertg balp

IWO.

'if

l•
r
r

14/1101.141-1
fibiER14194114
Oro -.:541.1'1

41131.5;

fr7 .11-fialP# ..-7.4:34
4
r;

11

i'.

A.:

4
Ili.,
irr-

..•110triltRI.94/1

M,411411iftelE P•

.:e

f•

.6i1F,,49147stit
e

ft

i
canveasedmother Wide Mg, $11, 000

19i44***11,4...*9e Ate14. Um MOAN* tifta WA: FIRIA. ye
Tbotite..*. Mogi yii.iiii*--aiiitt-94144 -43.10Alitififi*Ogini borne** the. IhIFIRMittalittiterl40101946*. 4J1l*.401t..140-17011.1,1**101114010
illOrPillalk
ffi r41IJar_04 Thu

42-1:

loathe?

*0.,,

at, bag, 22,200.

...ti-iiO43*".16t11101:110,
j teattios a4:0980499.

Nati! 4ttto:
tri

pisairr), WW1* .exa svp Iigs comio
ana• owl iTt ttallpv.,4r4ors

arniHct 4.

pout°.

.cutitird,y,00441-42.11110~I

MLTErAR111:Reitv10100179e107. 1 el F411ii,.'pharnsi.40:411f*dtht

IF,1 ,11!",
1

tink Tank
sa

di

1L

i,.

4

1,

mnisture-cdlteatirtg pads under their arms_ Stinkers test odor ntideotaa after a Week without deodorant_ Once they've athleved & suitable- level of gaMinesS, the
sauna-with

frod uceS a ne W a ry MoS t recent l A ritt-Vta..spirexit-it, reties orrwhat Might be D teed its Armpit CorpsOf Engineers. 'We'Ve never been able to replicate the htiman D9e; exiliains JUdy Rehti, clirliqi soignee Manager for Unilever. it'S the most snsitjve 415UL:him out there.' The troops„sre alladed Into srilffers. sweaters, ano-for ie-ck'pre better wom-sfinkers The sweaters tesrwetness by spending 80 minutes in a

riyJob. hut somebody's got to do ct-test deodorant. that is: So when Unilever

i

1
0 v,

i

i
a

a

g
X
e

by the SniffeM. The stinkeieltertstartwearirig deoricra,K. chechlsig.bacst tO--see hew well the orodlt.is Working. Most stInkere welcome me owd....lrant with opetrarmplts. 'You waiii. Into that room and It", .Pretty c

etirlke.sfs

have their Ott. 110,c,1 "

Stinky; -Raboacknowiedges,

'Were nappy to get them mated.'

-thorn vax ancesi

as

1

t

90

ALLURE WARW. 2000

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

6 of 14

4311,

i

mil iiiii ii p
f.,

ill

1111

I.

li
1

1111`.
ifillP

114 II
4

A

A

4
A 1

Ili
II.
1

III
Illiw4*-_.
ii !I.,
i
---.k

rt.
7

..3040.

.-••.'i

ir
t
a

pi;

Its I
1,

41„,

OP

lit 1I
mt

.9* 0 ..4 4•4111
V

it

3,

4

S.'

At.

a'..

will

..4 ji

0

1.....4.1..#‘,

or

k.._0
.4
t

4;0

0',f
.6

4
I

Chic thrills: Medicine is a retreat for me. It's my Own territory and gives me a sense of what's important. When you're wearing scrubs all day, dressing up to go out becomes sort of a thrill Paid for thought: JG Melon [where photograph was taken1 represents wOnderful memories for me: many Sundays of hamburgers and french fries. It's been a constant in my life.

dinner. It's my favorite thing to de. Wired woman: The Internet offers great possibilities. I go online for information or to order dinner from Joe s Stone Crab in Florida.

Party pass: There are a tot of party invitations cruising arotind these days. But the greatest luxury is to be invited to someone's house for

Split personality: rrn a morn by day and completely change gears at night.Thars the essence of a typical busy New Yorker. We spent two and a half weeks in Argentina's pampas, and I thought, It's pretty scary t have to go this far to get away.

Dress code: I jike to come across as someone who's confident. accomplished. and happy. If you take your style too seriously. irs a reflection of Who you are.

'Etzit-Aar 1taratze0

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3
.4';

Filed 01/28/11

Page

7 of 14

-4BHI,
I

jt

A...
I
.1

r,
rr
.1.
i.

r

.i.
I
0.'

. .r,

.•-•701610,f.
0^,

4.

1,

1.'

1. inl Ie—.....—/. -g=2:27..
•^•••hh.

11.1M:i11111q/il11.27:101: lt,
1.4.
'tf,

Chwa.kvit, groirr: top• tf.'h•ttia 12:irht II hail with SI-.;5.4

..O.F."..-

1,

•Aitti.c.V..tictitt.:1:', t1..with•porac
.'w.4,

"I•tra...11r, Ir.

r

7.* 'rA, CA:r...Elt.11111,
riii•rii.• (.1,

3.i.,

I

11111'n'S

[...L........2)-...3.
L._._.

_1

i

9lt•

I...Fri Alr.r...4.4-

I....

-Yet.00111-.
litlAtt, *alai
ililli

c.. P.,
1.

II 0:6-..,,, .i, '141:tev 44i0efion'Showellt.

§.4..•-•-•

L

with
is

the

clean, crIsu way to gO. By Richard Sinnott

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

8 of 14

VS,. eiltr,4

404, I No

'Atm to Wt-

...ii-C,
r

?"...11.00.,

j

4 omem rxfuntrus

itigistrApi.
.r. otm,. .7-...-,,,,,amt

witc.i v. grappi

5.:7

^-itt:710...SaW.Is
itl
rikune-J•

44-:.41.4.41,

1

if.
4011
I

a

vor..3.c,

Fartighbort

Bags

cforguli Attban.

A,

cosiop:_e7.
t

4.4
1
ib

Ili
it
1!

V

t:

..iglIVOIllty Mali

rpr CIBiallsvFX11.3

c-•
)L,
.I
-4-

1:-,.
)10.1-.7 .1.41,

40:

i
lEr

1
1....o
r

A.,

115!
.-e'
4..
k,
4. .4

47 .44,
1(,
I

of.0.-Ve

51..

rj
i

4\

'Olga,

ilk

411‘

i

1 lk

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

9 of 14

Oo 1111 le
i

0

•dr

S 0
4

J

j

..j

i°r

4k
1

1. 1

.1

miffir'..
r:\.

..1)111•
Ph,.

;Mil,
I

4,

tit

A

i

A-..*-.....
h.

1

i

I

11

1
1..

fii,
i

4.

-'4,.

.L,.

•Tole ..C.43 to t are
IL Istiot

7AW.ra.„7 114.01•10.41.1141.1..0:1, rarimpigirigrmouppogiw ES..11:1....11..)04-.-1Y004YR5
lap=
L,,

"rratior
LP-A

Mk

Wait

drd

gocas raciono ul) big 111.1:11E..-x Aqii."10 Kitt fICM IEmd ra` tocuesz Jane Wirt ter strew WI& wren be sal next to NOW 4I; fro ukua ru.1 d.C4.1erVI:k ol We'll] .0.s. CU.) ac.J Oltattraq tt, ze‘I., tt:oi t.114rati -rAtrrAtt.mbp,. ic trn pr.tivr:r. olocto-zitp:. few loalt.ts to littict to Ine latest
144.- 5:4 yiit

NAlt

get",

incrmalloti,

144

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

10 of 14

ELLE

FEBRUARY 2000

MODERN TIMES

r..

7.

-N.

v

1

1,,,, gs 1,
t)f
I

-7.....

r',. z

fril.tr,f-A.. . 't fiheoiii,
P,

i

t)

r

P,r

r,

iv/

41,,,,

-If

i

—1

;27:3!170; *11-4r 134: f;1;711rrti ferhijIleq4117441:1111fkkt 40444, 144,. . . . 6,
'1
F

first& the millennium—mark aNvel, tO*ophOicaliork i? oil ii::,. form.: log-ot, the ultimaiestotuLtsim• 11 i,,,,°is, adorn eYerything from 'Os to, i it I t or sex n thaarecol puPeP, AfSyrfAmis, i'yful Chariie'sAngelityleaepagate4 to, 1, wear to work and play. Silk chiffon—the fabric of theimoment—is ait into cfra-, rnatic dresses or shi Os that are paired .Q.., with knee-length sltirfs, making one of,,,,, '..c.',1, .;:bAkA the roost looks in yearn. The.,,, '..'...c diak*II,U,
come return

Spring

2000 collections—the

1: a:?-".L..

i

‘jr41.4 rik.M.

i\i'i‘‘I. litleiV\‘,
A

1

'.;Z': N11;1.i.*."4",
IN'• IL

.f. '7

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

44: .441
4,

Page

11 of 14

L.,,

*I.
.L.

it

...N.

.'k.,

.4,.
I.-,

2.•,I...
1

.1.1-- -4.1 f-jj.-,

40..,
0...

4

-..5.5.
.....0....,,,
Vr-

1
with
a cox

i..-410,01,
4

J.._ -4
7.7

4r.,

i

:i
:b...

11
Walks, DuChess.HbfWindsor,
HaulliCounoles

OW
110

i..

..4

.r., AP..."
W

411.

.171.4 .

r

it,,

i.

It
.tit.------",

Constance craVing: Harpertr Bazaareditorial featuring a leather-Vd-linen Constance bag

D'n 1-',; _.2 __1"--...Riding high:tternes' equestrierl chic In Sawa; a look Jean Paul Gaultier paid homage to with his frst affection for therheirse Realty irro deCades USW

r

IM>

sMislEM
..c.r..._......

1.11.1
4

AP.

•4511P‘'d

g

eq

1110

.11\\
IVIES
r

4

k.

5,
Hermes scarf

ti
iii,
&ma'

L..

L.

f-.
AV1,

illAs,.

ICir
.7

I\i
4-;

i

v

r"

---r

Another witty take on the in

Linda Evangelista VIM her -lean For his runway debut. Jean Paul Gatifier shortened the helgM paul Gaultier-oustomtzed Birkin of the Eiden to mate this luxe, must-have carryall.

Motherfathib
a

pint-size Kelly

1
Ii amous fans: 4 latherine Demo* Carla Sokzani., eft),

WO-duce& 1930.

he otten-copied bag. ibest paredn [ow, throw-overu oiglarm, 27-ern 0, _for a lwe skin, 4 tuiril their renewed t

lost-wanteli style:

Ilurries ale the hottest n the vintage market
I

leathet.-one coits
abotit

coveted

been $6000 and MOO.

croav191 1 1
k

Introduce& 1960.s. Famous fens: Suzanne

Introduce& 1994.

1

p1.

f
x

Saperstein (left).
a

Famous Ian= Jane Demi 8i6df1 moom pefti. Lucy Llu,

keTileft),

1

friths

Most-wanted et*: The closest thing to

1-, ..:1.25 cm, like tiloore's black tisi ir Cnillstenze that '`veision—la causing a bold hardware -i sae:; .1 frenzy. At vintage and looks ladytike berilh consignment stores, Easter hues, like pale,
7.
.1

logo bag by Herbs,

-i.,,
d,,

The smallest size--

Naomi Campbell Most-wanted style:

....r.

x

Ella& vensions hom.,
MO early days of production sre
in

i

tz

6ag's

r

7,
4.

1,

1.

.r.

i'.'t 9009 ygurtands dn aiSirkfn In the bright
t

Jt

blue denim color wotild

$2000; tne
c

demand

stoma and'

at

vintage

riF/741
i
I

4
I
k

S2000.

'Ir.S.u..._
1
i

V

be agiajor score. Often, pricireoar above retail. and bags in basic

4

-7es

.4"

leather can coat close to $8000.

lir, 1r
A 123

Ai 4
5.i

1 1

1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

12 of 14

Fri,
•!c;

„..........................___9
..amg.
.a.

v‹, ...„.f.....„..............„:„:., .A....,
:A.

...e::::::„....., :„..4.f:.........i., 40,0, 0004,01.,, ••;;i.::', -„..;.-Y.'.•!.5., V;..,;,. ?.V%:•:•7;i...9.....•k....:•

..7,

......:••••••e•.....,

il

i

..r.

i•

-^i•

.2. `I +4:2,,,. s,.,
4...

Pik

4/
..I

.i'
r•
4

3.:

4;:.., Oni, s•

0 jr....,
k
•-gii•g=icemiu.,

.L44....

;11.-11,,,, l.;,./.4,,, sit-yr.-4 7.',..

...1.-, is41.0%.,
r:'•,

r

V-

1,

'ill/

t.

AN

?AA" !....!r_

t

44 0•' ;Ld-, I

411171e .elodus.
r .trA.

:•...1.111.ir..- :eir,40!,17.-...--..```', :tik
.....z.
;0_.,
.F.,
'.e

if..
1.^.,

li

'1.''''': ..1.1.
t

.v...

'Ill

k.

p").'.•
..0*.

je

4,4.•

iii
L

.0..;,./i4* erin-ihry• OlifFil:M. Mt;

pis.
i

-r

+4.^1!.^-1,

t...-i. I.tcr

EL.,
:„..c...,,,,
..S.,1,,,

J.70.i..-47.'14'71:1' ..4.11-7%,
.I

0..,

I.1,1.1, 1..4._

'4111,
t

0 N...

*1', "44' .A,
p-,

1

Noose
i

iiKi+A...,
.i

hi i Pm!!

•V,

-7.

...v.-1.•411....A.4.
i

..1'.-•

Y'.-•••^.-.

1

-'401 k k.
...-i-•.: F

•1'.

t..,

k,.

...PP i

Z i-2z,.S;.„; S''..1K.:.tZ,,,,, ...k.

1:'
r

till' S.
F.
il

j

i.,,

e

i

r

...1,

."..s.:•:.-_,

trri•
i
1

4

.c., '"6'o 1.1:

.dir..

ii,

.Y

e07.111.

.i

4-r..

Or

lii.1.-...,
..1.•b111

I

zir.', 16--_4'. it•
i

'4.

113,: t.
-liti.

..1'. m,:s

1L

c•4.t:z..-:,

'7.4,4'.'4:••.."'w-

‘4'i., :e.`4-f.'4•*k4.
''.^:Zt...n.,
A./r,

ir. i:,
......„:„1/4„:„.,
"1::\‘`''..."
.i,
4:1J--FL.

411111114101k. 1111111iippPr
i.11.,

7--•.

.i

.r

Y

6-'

-4.....:-.11.-.0--•
e.

..4.."

11
IA.
.i.

i

7..3 1, 4•11, rim,,...7.1 HLedrilsr../, ti..4, 11/7.--•.Litt bokiti i., '-.4, •74.):'.

1

4

I.

ii

d

t.

1

n
-1.

t

a

k

„el. . ,

111

ii
I

ithiSeer0
1,

ii

strorpe _km14 initbmif

.4

0110

..izI•1 {KT misiiit ottEtaill g.low Wm.., fair

Fisun:s Unmt- 00.ftipli....iuti imik
1

4,.

ILI

1.111,

i
1

1
i

imara. . _ 1111111.
s^gioni

4.
a

ti
r

47• t.

4..
-1 x f...

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

13 of 14

---+w---

Theepsk [0 cushier,
fiastlele

frorna29, it intvrion ekt *kw. Sentirisautte
f2se cream. tr7

GurrIsin, El 2B

ude; the ilelilions scent or a S>yptique .ndI ii,chtls aetoom. The canoisseur :cd not opt for a Kelly to undersutnd the nall bukeftectivc luxuries in life_ B ut, inevitably, one graduates to the hard Ulf. Ont not bong ago. m9 bank :totint stayed black for longer then usual ohjij.teekoned, Once you have the wherea blanket to Mal.

tlit);,

le

maraca° wotild db. Theg.00 skirt was ixuruldng in the aownsairs department

wholeanterprise
in

you-develop

anythipg by Yohji

a9proach

tbrics toishame like a magnum of chamagne in ilfridge full of lemonade. I peeled the skirt frbm its hanger and ingerly held it against my chest as I headed .wthe chimp ng c ubicle. My heart sang. On rent the skirt and... Damnation take it. -he glorioustkirt, apple of my eye, label of ny dreams for a decade, was not for me it was, as it turned Out, for my friend iuzunnahl No matter. I still have a bottle if Issirnu Midnight Secret in my Fendi laguette bag _And!! have my eye ma very

rovócatively on a shiny alummilim langer. or the Firstyumei it,ras no lorigecutterly ut of hounds. 1 coUld own this skirt! It ()old be4tnine, hangittk in my wardrobe, Utting an the leperliabels and cheaper

Joscillit

Brcinipton

CvsS,

hanging

!ood-lbolas letiher jacket (softt soft, soft)
rYing mit for attention at Oilcci.

4c:titer is fulltitht editor Of the Evening Slumlord" 7oestockists, see Vogue Injimnution

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-3

Filed 01/28/11

Page

14 of 14

V.........,
FEB

Si'

„I.

;illiW

.1Clk

seism= as e mons so.

stitTOOmpoiden hum hada. OW, and now Dior. The dude are that bans will be pushed, hid, al the other Musesin the Chanel ban. S01112 woilid awe. renew °Morin nisei* Moeda, WWI stable, Michael Kers anil be Icseemit the bags tit OilvAaeo ustesruovedayy from Mid leseandumard insiogetat hug at the Spanishleather label Loewe. Nerds* Risdeiguish dm lamb* when bilataP114.1d114111913 *Ion toast& De op/hi:steam krauts Ostroti. Lupe* go being sbiltiul he* barna* Others night add Dia Lastabildhigartamodein- the Copilot, whh tfie help efRoban Put. Ibrinetliameseries he tale= eely served Co devalue iv Mt his iiiiiated forms of maestro at Cai'Wn Wen And of coursktoun Vuitton, already the ciiiiiel baa attached Wam ia of* meinorable 1991 a dude bag luiesaXvillan an extra spin when Mare lacobes show—he had, tiesewdmn to oaripuridn. Ittihad the big out or Chu 4ady to-wear colkiction anises hi stores this Mt
Res= your cash oow.,
7-,4
T -1

eessom7Anothei Aunt

(and another note tobit

Ali, buthere's the rub

What's clear is that.- i "I lagaboeteaterialdte hotthere Is no love loathe- I. and mess Dior w t (Noel. J over begs, a read that cobs'sOnt dogninierVek. *ilea De LadY,i.:. emerged 4 tin, induding Ms ntiaket Dior liegi to oat idiom!.; I., Om thi bat, oaks, they arms Chanel once doau-. bolik stake to Parbiir .1. 2natal, Laustobragen m-. Leaden. ''It robyht." rery into the arena,; *Wa.

dew:abated yosibedinks.

belliassusiertssaspad
dank snaregpl

Dior." she says, "was 4 beavity inspired by,i Quad You cely hayt to 5k look at 11 to see Ilielditv: lands. Dior deadywont.. edit, erramobir own vetr.. i.. pion dike Chanel bag. 1

belweet the bogs- "IA'

poninalopthenntiantses

Cub% ts not

averse to:

'r

"Illif

1

Eit.

0

i i i'f
Mar
UK"

in%celrl.,Ae toveme:gis:

ports* benevokm0ean-

.a.1.4

1

I.

media.* sad ppm*. antoitidgespral Winos. liemnilittnein
otoarisoresby threaded'
eigla tong
don't lattiermlit it. and'
sre

Maselanbier.veorldwide

theyere441gbi1Iahisbi. Psycholontrikainan

r'

T stmligncind a key m tbe lms podia equation is.

Another part of the

1
1

t., Waiting line Drip•Ped siodi..Thire ale dieing& cutsely Mien you combs; tattier:nous gip spelt
posed,selmemiplammet Ake* mull* Radial/ Meanwhile, the market

silty Lauded istabogni.

ditiligelgibrii. BEd*

WOntsolissideretiiiiiy setad& Eigillimid pa-

lamed Prated:And-tie. quality oflostrbliAl. pods waslminoved dra '1
even if you want one. Thin pom did=„thin
St'JNI W. NSW

suesultraes, In 1904'and MS, Dior mind tack ns

Is overhypetor ovens.

asiadverossai.Iftraudott

buy a poly^Ister-Ariot de..
a— 6—

radesilyildow you ain't

I

beidemi to 010001 441448 fa

mihyvtlesh 6 hoskLbi Monis iirdil Weil al old ciannosaisome•

Wien*"I`op—inabstissyetti UMW
chrovisidia m
MORWL111411111117M131111M

illeneellon With. if»

n

rii •isos.,, .i.

tatullittb:a1;114

ftes etini_et, wbumped
sign tau&

198ex To nathe

bminted up; =Oh des16 diaiRmai (bantboo handle:A*1*k (h9 "IN reamed, with the modern sirs of Ford's enviable de-

mot 15.000 Oneetprodita lusts wallet* offthe front wis
ofprodue&tiaalitY

k make:typo fed good bydriktiLh's ail about pripixnen, dam Mine tspleasmg.n a:04.11W*. Wide. thee dos. Ifshkeyougatti hem'it orroll die A boa, Oen thiakilitialli-ami I do.e 1 os—hss a life erre own rixisi is whewas dcebbig is nodung tutkaul &body sdnd" Add how WM, tam is label? "Yeall." shrugs Ford. It helps ryou anseeopine diat kWh:6V °femme iLdoes. Joinhe the imedocking Gs, De Lady Dior isselfing Pan oat Da hiek if t batn his Descant. neatest way to IngY into the Dior, drea m. Needful) tosay. BernardcArenab has been watehinit the booti-tmg mad= dew* end* dins

Uttriyonelmows the (ennuis fora hubs& s's Ford. His take istlai, ninon*, ibe di* will sea bag Ifabegnatiriaive,

Lew= meanwhile, bassaapped up totem Prom Mark Cum to ae the elop.and male= POI Ciaker bask:oda an actombries Him complete.** Ininded erooadilebaadbalp

mgmcfuanwbeBaetagaVCahai&iieewaestna team in Milan to Inieetiontediragsissy sato hs beg *mos Ralph

pad

bidansa.gairthet

Me

there's the Ruler* theis tm's the cravats lispbas thirs more liOrdillOndi thin tesiVes. and tbered aft bes—I !we Mtn one. Peoplesny, you need to bay only onteashinue sweater and it wilt lam for 20, rars, I ny. iho warns to wear the sew meager ter IWO dewier
245

doom Was and nisdyptids Nov& as Me. Dution (gib:SW& eonsmiy, maim rootedicien Rwsprmg.

ititerristinOst Rehm there.Onethar bonne. the Market ieme1vigawsy froRthe Oneinali bag and nontidnbroader apteed. hada has threenew *imprint bsir tbripeiniRbitud. Ingonawthbaed3àaiidsVebnGuodhiseanw ad hot new sham mummies: "When. comae:Ainoblivion,

resalbna Parkin

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-4

Filed 01/28/11

Page

1 of 3

EXHIBIT D

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH
HBO: Sex and the

Document 1-4
Season 4:

Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 3

City: Episode Guide: Summary:

Episode 59

Page 1 of 2

hew
cr
v,,
1.

r-SERIES t

I MOVIES I SPORTS I DOCUMENTARIES I HBO FILMS I SCHEDULE I
R Home
P

ON DEMAND I SHOP HBO

i

-1.L

Sling Back

VNews

anc

t
on

CatrjUnkores

on

iff_30

Demand

Episode

Guide

IThe
P

Look

6. Games
t HBO Mob

t Cast and Crew
I*

t GuideTo NY

Community

Scrapbook

It Shop Sex

111111"1"- 411011111111111111111Season
i
i

Summary

Select

a

1 Episodes

Season 2

Episodes

.i

-rvi4'c. ...tri.i.

A...1

Season 3

Episodes
Episodes

Season 4

49 TheAgony and the 'Ex'.-1
SO The Real Me
51

Defining Moments

52 What's Sex Got to Do W 53 Ghost Town 54 55

Baby, Tall< Is Cheap lime and Punishment

leirftrao
mr,
IL

(1

(2

3

4

5

6

xi

Az,

54 My Motherboard, My Sel
W' Sex and

thwCountry
Woulda, Shouldi
Yes

58 Belles be the Balls

EP ISO D
SAIM,MARV

59

"Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda"

59
60

Coulda,
JustxSay

61 The Good

Fight

62 All That Glitters... 63

Change cf a Dress
a

children

"If it's sO hard to get pregnant. how do YOU eccount for the nurnberof crying
on

64 Ring 65 A

Ding Ding

pInies?‘ Samaptha

'Vogue' Idea

Directed by: David Frankel Written by: Jenny Bicks

66 1 Heart NY Season 5 Episodes
Season 6

Synopsit
and

Miranda tells Game that she's pregnant from having unprotected sex with Steve his one ball. Miranda doesn't want the baby and don't want to tell Steve. Charlotter however, can't seem to get pregnant no Matter what bedroom techniques she 'tries. When she finds out,, thatipliranda is pregna% and rs going to have•an abortion, she's so uptet.she stermaway. CarrieFand Sarnarikha admit elat they've both had a5zirtions Carrie Afer a onelnightstan# with a waiter in the '80s. Carrie tells Aldan about Miranda and swears hlm to secrecY. Aldan is appalled that Miranda isn't going "to tell Steve. Carrie lles.to Man about having
had
an

Episodes

Inside Sex and the
Sign up for "The DiSh", theofficial Sex and the City

abortion herself.

Samantha has lunch with Limy Uu, hoping to

represent her. They

hit it Or and

email address

subm,

http://www.hbo.comicity/episode/season4/episode59.shtml

11/24/2.008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-4

Filed 01/28/11

Page

3 of 3

HBO: Sex and the City: Episode Guide: Summary: Season 4: Episode 59

Page 2 of 2

tells Samantha thatishe refuses to be lied to. Samantha also has her eye on long Lierrnas mid "13 i rki n" handbag UnfortUnately, there's al to score a bag, When Lucy' waiting list, so Samantha uses Lucy Llu's shows up at their Ca_nying the /7reen bag, Samantha tells her It'S actually for herself. Lucy is furiouS, firesSamantha and walksioff with the bagi.

Lucy

the

sdveted

nextlunch

sterpower

etecnally

sees a fertility doctor and finds out that she has a 15 percent of conceiving naturally, She bumps ihto Mirettda on the street, tells herthe news and walks ilday from the unhappily pregriant Miranda. Carrie accompa-res Miranda to have herabortion. White they're waiting Miranda worried that,she's not making the right dectsitin. She wonders if this Is her only chanceto have.a baby. She decides to leep the and the girls, including Charl-tte, gather aralind her aricriupport her deoisipn.

chance

Charlotte

only

Leather Pa

beromes'increasingly

baby,

N

Shyog

Bag

now o

Carrie returns td the restaiirant where She had met Chad, the waiter who had gotten her pregnant years ago. He's still there and tkesn't remember Carrie. She realizes she giadeltt right decision apd leaVes Carrie t1e0des t.be honesr.dnd admits to Aidan thatshe 'had an abortion when she was 22. She was wwried that he would criticize her, butAidan is non-judgealental.
Discuss this

episode in

the.Sex Ond the City Btilletin Board.

HBO INFO

305S AT HBO

CONTACT US

TAKE CONTROL

SITE INDEX

SCHEDULE PDF

REGISTER/SIGN

Privacy Policy

Terms of use

Z008 home Box Office, Inc. All Rights Reserved. This website is intended for Viewing solely in the United States This website may contain adult content.

http://www.hbo.com/city/episode/season4/episode59.shtmi

11t24/2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-5

Filed 01/28/11

Page

1 of 4

EXHMIT E

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-5

Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 4

.51`v___, ..............c--...•
ii

1''-,
I

c't

.1.

:r.---'.'71

r
1,

'Am.. 1., ,

u^r.

r,. s .71
.0
f,4

.Ipc

A.'

....ie

..41.11;i7, I. oi t, 1..-.-L,, .i.,., 01_1, P-7-74-7---4-14-77---1--..:', ......1.-__
--00,

i_. „

...:90...4).reelvir4
PI

--r.

-...e.*„L-,

-Y‘. .441:1,
1

d'e. .1 ri, 1`.• r,...
t.

'''fft.1

'•--lit, r, „il ,.
I-.
1,

.'6—.if

--o..„,
L.

1,

A, e

—.7---

..{:r,
1

7) .7.

y:V 44 ....i..
1..
.e.

AliaGi.......,,
r

e.—..

1'5..).1.;.,
3,

.7,

3

BRi NU i MG Fon E
TEE
I

A

1

1..

ii3 IRKIN

•:-1..r:.J,
4

riy-

The worIci's tnosT

tire,

it

hOT puirSuli Of

I'

cov€Teci

licnicibc9.

.i

r

rr:-

4:7

r

'A—j1S, •0414-4.'“,

e_

j

5
d

1..7-•
6

1--

1,
1.0-1

4r
I

l•

I dm

41'

11.4.

II

4

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-5

Filed 01/28/11

Page

3 of 4

4

il

7-

4

laa

-4
..0,

1
z_
4.,
4.).
r 1

i1
IL

4........./...r......._.
°dr

lint's!
iz.
'Kr
di

h.,
a

iT.

•4.

.1,

..-..1.:
J••

- -41._1____
1,
'4.-0,

it---•

fa*

Nift

10

qv

I; 0-4

a
..q.

a-

i
t
.4

vti7L.,
la

I.

1.4
co
.z^

Ntki:
r
1
i

1
P
vi
tii

4111 1

fi

it

t_,

1,

:_ii
4

)!:r
v-P

..-4.....,,,,
ID

4--

-I
1
f 1•11b-;

.0f...,

Om

t7a

-4Z1
-z

P

EL,

.7.....1. V.

ilit
P

.7,,„2

41?

1.
qi

4;0

Tell

4,

r
a
..61

A
4,

rommi

o''

7,1

.rr

1114.

E

ca

Z
t.._
.s--

.11

ii-ail

r)

..11

A

.--7L.....,

.1-`•., ri

r

D *II, I
4

-114,

.i., rft“,
I,.

i.
O.

r,

1 ficiffir-r.

.1
411
I I

I
I

I

i

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-5

Filed 01/28/11

Page

4 of 4

N.
4--

.4- 4,,r-

V

"..-.011‘

.1.

1

oir,

r

.0
f

-117.

7

r
P-

1

Al,

I

r

A

1

J.

.1"
r•-•

Pt.
rr

i

Uri
r

f.
r

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

1 of 13

EXHIBIT F

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 13

On the trail af the elusive Birkin.
BY caournNE MUSLIM

Bag Man

rri#.nd

gat familiar with the Bit-kin bag made by Hermes, the French luxury leathersgoods

ten amanwin About handbag& Nat. Jim any handbag. Far those

of the world justInched a Be neaten an easy setter Mraliit-

earlVsoltaMitirMaexecuthQsawthe
veiihtg-on-cat-ladY

compLnyfgrAftOttr Jane #itldnifictlie

chanteuse struggling wifh her vagabondstraw parse on a

By Wwhael Tondle. Mushy:dal =pa. Wawa Morrow/ 9.% liaraorCoWnaPubashers.
it doeset matter, hecause_, you plane can'agetoneanyway. Ama_other /an—cwhe

anostas atansamE allttot ultouihe Woria NFL& in Hot Most Coveted Namibia'.

°IMF

crocedfleandallamand

walks in °tithe site& and Isis fora BirMain politely thkrthere is atwo-to-threerear waiting rtsi, Dia and leather model cost about 41,501-t with a

thigary-lairei
advice for potential sellers, then barrela toward kasfateful sale,a silk Hermesscarf as well as that draws e-mail messages from desperate maimtors Imploring him to help themeomplere thelr-scarf 'with Lista" "I intimated that Ohs was 'only the tip of the icebergah he writes in kis endwastingly chatty,

°IV
a

get one.
At

These days, Americans versed In pop cUlture—*Sex and the citr ()wellbeing turned away at tai Paris Hermes etore know about Birkins.And for a woman ota certain class anywhere in theivorld, eartying one isithe.qvidtest wily to telegraph to other women, "I win." And so some of them will do or pay just absut anything to

outatiI601000.

ve.raiOn ten*

aggreMehtdding,

and soon he's spending over S1.6 minim year on handbags bougati Utrauah an internadolial network he's eatablisliazi tO feed to the market fat marked-up Birkins

.gjaVend-legirltriend never met
addicted

makeup arlastaircommert* hadecfTes
1-13,
to move to

Weary af travaljorklas Ilia/rand

Oesntilkno

Birkira" the author, MrChael Tonello, a party boy in Provincetown, Mata.„ Who
BitWhfrom Buddha Faso.

the

start

of

°Bringing

Home the

mind the calculus of cutTency conversien or the etymology oftaotic entrees.")

a clicA he didn't love, is to alliteration. Sample: 'I didn't

tone.

("Ibpello ha
md

ouraPowerSeller,"shillpingoverS25,0001n
comes a circuit of computer to

Soon OtEr plucky lian Ls an eBay"Fialipost offlee,

ata, he writes. But his lather remindshim of }Beaman:an entreptaneurial pluck, re. calling how, as a teentaaa. Michael made class trip by sellInonWWhis French ing -sandwiches., al then countjy_clithtout
the "Path time, he realateaXa not no tualiy that Cold in §pain- Haliats a Ralph Lauren e#..ay, bought aamn outlet for S9Lfitich sellsjor$1* Paieth foudd. Suddenly, everything in his apartment has *Fay appeal. Even his "friends, his and Tillman fftst-edidcm Lillian H alpine books, are puron the virtuarbitick.

wastup a particular Creek --..ea

mathrializela than vanishes: and Ibnello issue/an Spain with a fivelwiease,ao w t visa and expenst A ..tn Clasets he had builito lit his•designer elothes. He

X_ShOht in tha aka A jab magically

Barcelonaafter working On=

Hermes merchandise a month. His life be-

'his

plus buying ttipt around the con'dnent. ("1 was drowning in silk by the time I realized 1 wasin uncharted waters., Many Cd

"wtthoat a pal-

newikivetJulin,
to

form, as the.only other eentaeris whit ins
andtheir cat, Dalt When the buyer of a deck of Hermes pistils cards asks lajm If he has aanY SirIthivieigs, lbneila hifs to centact his sae

conversations are recounted

in e-mail

Fib ausinessaffoals him a gram lifestyle. ffe recaunts tales ta eapensne e meals, maties alCaampagne, citic hetelsanashopping sprees. One haYer asks (tintto drive her kr-ton Martin from Massachusetts to Piorida: gracenitheganien lends hirn her Lamar East Skleaparintent and neat never mei eimer wiimansucb wag the bond of luxeaz It also gives Taman that je rie $17as nub li I Hood feeling. He wnteta li alkmitely dug the idea of beating Hermism ilaWTI gaille Maybe it was silty, but 1 faur.d it exciting to thmk; had lammedge that had eluded even the wealthiest people hi the world' But outwitting the fiercely aruttative piapany loses its-appeml after the death alas
a

(espectally crocodile).

supPoseit sometimes dra, in the firm of Cashmere: rearranging his sweaters_ fur

of agollt4rt. Lifilning. soon strike-OTal

gentle:nut, since even whartirlawas taidng

memnr, graceofthegardentgyahon.com, ask what one is, w4cla seems Ohl:

euritY of Paottle who lailks° I" natilma but who inaged Air Mr." ts Tonatio biting dm hand thai iiiicked 'Buy u Now `i? Jam a apt nibble }le ionsblithe ingenue tit "all Sutter charcoal trousemand a dark linit geeitri caahmere turtleneck, wim a par of tat= matte crocodile &kelp venelit bregueswhiad rather germ° over a few, hiatiiiS at winaahan the* attain las own relationsinp to dusIgner goods. which leFi aru he win the Mal paw II Itho m witas bt'd tacked into what radl i. makes peapie define themselves bv their ee$ef--51-0# to Fiermes, "Briugina Hume the Bil+sf could have brought homt sonD'. pertain truths about oat limes But liati
ants. himself pa.

know 11- ray rmilaise was plats*, its. WW1, and he realises that his role was rosansivthe iancistasm and inse-

reellyer Cl gLuna

place, pre-PlackBarry, any aBay searah

acreon

awn.) Dazzled by thepotenfial profit mat-

for "Hettnes" turned up pages of Birkin auctions. Must me, I waslooktag tari I have a httlediennes "wish list- Of my

Jain
a

gin, heahonesevery boatiqueinspainand asks forlone. No dice. He drives to eveky stiligib thetioudfof France.ansi inquites:

Thnello breetes

through

patalraph of

Otrishne analkeis a deputy -editor of T: The New York Does style Magazine.
tu.L.N-nvcroNtreknikv.,—fista

vat

thici, however, he acckdentally hits intim the winning fonriula: tie pflesmp ili at ao scams, then casually aka "Oh. and

"Rails:One scarf-buyiag midsion in Mn-

moregitaga... DOyau havea;, i The $18, 1011 beg pets him aS6,000 profit 1

..'N'

i'L-.

tat aura.

;tea

Ii

0:I,

^Wri 'if

a

ault-91-

A

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

3 of 13

TP.

a

11
el/

1

n
..ty'),
l'IMMMEINIIMINIONINIIMIIIIIIONI''

li-ru'r.
i ..n

i;.
I

4 j.

4.

.r-..

1.

'lit 11,
C.'

I -4,
1
M12:
4..

MIIIN. W'
:e

M

'-;:•1-

A
I

1;s4r.-.^'''''''

C

Ir:

2_

1

.0

L-. f

l'...

IIIIII
-.7

I

1
i.
r

V
7:

1.,r..

f:

„ro:

4:_.",

-.2

Mellir25-71WiffinalMli

3

11
ex

I. 1
11'
i

'MIMI.
a

I
.4-

V.-

I

A;

031

fa

uri5
474

f:11

tAir

0

gi

.3

–or r
4

is

:LiE --4171M,
ly
1
1
a

_worm

11

1

1

Ofl

111
413

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

4 of 13

If

I

71

.1

i i nl.
C

S
V

1

N
....1. -1. 1101.11111.1111111111111.!7.
l:. r

:i.
..m.

1-..
a..

1111
1
1.'•

C

a-

a-

I.:

"4-

5. . f. ik,

iirks‘', -2:..
4

z
c

elf

Z

sr:

r.

t

AN1i11im
1
Q.

ainiI
1,
f

2 :2.,

rimm i
is

1

a

1
1

111111111r.gart:
I 0.

i

1

s F.

I,,
L

-4,,

r

.:ti.

--„1. bia ok
.i.

1.
1

4

0.1.
4%,,-4,
A

L
II

0
11
li
lis
4,

11
17'

gi

-11a

i

31
7I

I, 1...

i vii

g

441 -4:

I

i

I/ 'Yg, 10 1
a

I

ii

1

4f,.

111 i
4
.4

14
A

1'

I

11

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

5 of 13

ii^mmre

011•11mi

—41egit

2

1 i
4)

.1

g.
c=1

c.o.
rsom

PZ
1=1

<=i E•—•

4".7111
41
r

SI
c,
e

'CL\

III
t

IL!

44

C41-.
gii
t,
1

IL

1 CL ItO 1, Corm i E.C.E: CS
1

5

M
ono
a
p

1
c

Cel
ta)

11
t 1

e

1

@I

g

'-.1°I.

4164

C717
a

Tr

I
1

'8,
C2L,
JEW

ii"^•4
i

0
I

I
1,

r

igr

ill

4

1 2
AI

I

'1111111

i r: al

1

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

6 of 13

a

3

r
..._L...

halga
....a.

3
.4

:vs
rts

gigFE.bi 30

ig,,, iii gilt
c

a;..„

01 al IX Se
z

lg

cot

Kit is E

p.,...As a
4,,

202

Ate;30 V.
11=.1 g

d

31814

z

a. to

O
0

(----Lef_...-------

—7--

a

O

I
g
a

3g.tril !A=
4,

11 a d i x_.8, al /Wig Sil
v.„, E
w 0

-g4-$611

azocE

V

t

g ;E4.:62 -1211 Ise! I. Itil e51, 6 Is=, etz 1, gilt./ tE2 i 2ftwili:

ofc PI
0,

li

iNg

VE1 a. llit g•
Eigle e Rx.

6152 2t1
c

-svil mwelt.

diuca t,,
31

$S1.1.

01?
4
re 0

-.6

1
cl
i

0
0

:a

c

10

(3

E.

gi

21

g

i

2

I
5

4.-. c

i
40,

-6

TI

011

E.

6

z<

cri,

v: i,i2

.1

6
i

a

-1, 13EcoE -5Lc
1

I

-a

11
i

X

1

1

E

3

3
....7-

I

s

lE

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

7 of 13

Igi
m.f

i.-.15g 1. H .4= t 1 gi—aEo
aft2

is.t=e

ig gral EE

gal; pail it iszas-ggis ig27, ism.q. 3! 10411cm iolst 1' 1
.c

11

ltt

l'

vittaieg
s

15

I
tg -1
1
B

1514!giliiiis re lgili'eici4 it (0-=zcii 213,35.6
M
v,

1
8

1

2t2E
2

WA

F, EE4 li 32

trgri

i
1

q

1

a-gls 1811

1"22.c 4ivE,
0

IAA

mi I,

t; sA-g.

I

1=

tts

-e

Pa§ gvf
aga

lid i lE=

iiiii:SR4IXS110 iftg1101%-ti iiiglies11111 allmgaeggfiteJhp
v

216°10ELTIaill p4 =bilaISTA.
LE
m
0

c48sgim 8.3tsi f>. s.air‘q0E
loi

te

31
to
w

I

Si Eax
Pa=

ill 'II vii -t14 PHI StSd&
-.3

111121f
a

801441.2"-0

m

314

qui
b.140

1

0
1

I I

110..

Becm..-0
in 0 x .0 x tz omx=0

gez..t U-5 c>"E
-i.
..c. m

-a

-P

-11.

eemt. .3)q 1 2=1-- 111'..7, 12.,,,, 0.=

o...7 =...„-Ecg

woM

g

2-c

a.

VA<V3
mn4eL.1-

t
z
m

R

ia
g
;0

qc0 c?tgggS Igac4 J,...eaag EamomIlr 2 Er'Z=W -Tiecos
tT:E:20-5.7,
o .4

.c.D.TA5

m-mo

g-r--

=mcclioS9

ck

g.

(0

'4

i
IL

i

i

b a

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11 Win
a

Page

8 of 13

Style Maven Blog Shopping Inspiration: "Bringing

Home the Birkin"

Birkin han...

Page 1 of 2

StyleMaven Blog Shopping Inspiration
April 24, 2008

"Bringing Home the Birkin"

Wm

a

Birkin handbag!
Have you
ever

dreamed of claiming your very

/40141

r-

weft 4ifat toed.

footo, to twix4

own

Birkin? Besides the

hefty price tag, the
it's a

wait list may last at least two years. Enter to
win a Birkin of your very own

a. 1m Ibitopiaiomai riminuilAtt,

4714,

114, Now*

promotion from Harpeg Collins Publishers to
promote a new book, "Bringing Home the Birkin" by Michael Tonello.

..A.en
t•atit 10,A1 til 1,
I

NT...a-mod ud. ormilit 'Imorlorlib0"4 0 *434I

_1

A.siammik 1-4440644, 004 arS1116

%%Oil.

Ali

"-lot

hostmods

oom-empre..3..r.dassi

17/wwww4o,

'44*

ikegthrwd

Allorposio0Prrep41.44kail4
gs

'-nr441

ILI

trsLI
i4W1611.

*Ambit

rAMIEBEAKIWO/3.

phreefebit

GletSis.4tailL41141ri
14914

1140010 maul

Briri_aftliomg.thairlikjgv Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag tells of Michael's adventures as a Birldn hunter of sorts and a seller of Genuine Birkins on eBay. The pursuit of the coveted bag and
discovering the insider secret to the Hermes waiting list. We can't wait to read this title and learn more of the intrigue, humor and the secrets ofthe snagginga Birkin without the, waitlisti

Bringing Rome the Birkin Contest Site
Posted at 11:52 AM in Raga I Eamank

Technorati Tags; Eirkin, Contest Handbag, Hermes
Comments
Love this! Did you. see his interview on the

Early Show?

http://stylemaven.typepad.com/styleagenda/2008/04/bringing-home-thtml

11/2412008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11
Win
a

Page

9 of 13

Style Maven Slog Shopping Inspiration: "Bringing Home the Birkin"

Birkin han...

Page 2 of 2

http://www.cbsnews.com/sections/1 VideO/Maii1C00251.9htinVid-404442'40,
Posted bT 3'evia I April 25. 2008 at 08:2s No. 1 missed the interview. Too bad... I would LOVED have caught it though. Does he have an amazing job or what? A Birkin bunter extraordinaire!Ill checkout the video.
Posted by: Stephanie I

April us. 2008 at (124o8 PM

hnp://stylemaven.typepad.com/styleagenda/2008/04/bringing-home-thtml

11/24/2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH
The Great Search for a

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

10 of 13

Luxury Good

WSJ.com

Page 1 of 4

More

Fed* April 25, 2008

HIE WM1 STREETIOIMAL BOOKS
r

F

Todays Paper
HOME

Video

Columns

Slop

Graphics
MARKETS

Newsletters & Alerts

New!. -Journal Community

U.S.

WORLD

BUSINESS

TECH

PERSONAL

FI4ANCE

11IFE-& STYLE
SPORTS

OPINfoN
TRAVEL
2of 10

C.

ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

AUTOS

BOOKS
1 of 10

FASHION

F000 & DRINK

WS.

4 a
BOOKS
A,Pn L 25.2008

f,
i

I.,

Mugie Johnson on Succeeding in
Business

)2,
4 of

When Buildings Try
Too Hard

The Great Search for a Luxury Good
By LAUREN LIPTON
Article Comments
pFroc

http://online.wsj.comlarticl e/SB120909311799444161.html

11/2412008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH
The Great Search for a

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

11 of 13

Luxury Good

WSJ.com

Page 2

of 4

Demail
A Birkin

E Printer friendly
on

Share-

b Yahoo Buzz
it in 1984

'exVSi2er
starts at around

handbag
one.

the ultimate "it"

bag since Hermes Introduced

Say Say that you can afford one. You'll still have to cool your well-heeled heels to get one by joining Hermes's years-long waiting list Unless you're Michael Tonello and know how to talk snooty Hermes salespeople into selling to you, right this minute, that extra Birkin they just happen to have stashed In the back room.
that you want

$7, 000 and, depending

what kind of hide its made of, can cost as much as $100, 000_

it

r

7 'I,
7.7.,

:r el.,

In his sunny memoir,

__.c-_f
0.

"i F
14."

I

titi,
1

1 f: 1--.Z, j 4.. .r___.10,
v. wA,
4.,

.n.ei

"Bringing Home the
Birlcin, Mr. Tonelio.
beautician who
moved to Barcelona
a few years ago, stumbles onto a

--4.6ill

a

1

fili,

ei' et

>......t,
-pd,

...4-.4, i,.

wiri,o1 7
=/3

Nikc„,,,

lucrative career as a Hermes reseller or,
as

v

he puts

It,

a

It f..
.r4

leather liaison." His
business is simple.

1' 1

..•--4rr
li.

11

1
r

4'

i.,
i
'1

Buy

new

Bftkins at

A "ik

retail

the five-fisjure

crocodile

styles

are

I

it;

+.4

the most wanted

and then flip them
where the

on

he refers to

bags get Snapped up almost immediately despite Mr. selling a $22, 000 bag for a $5, 000 profit
French

eBay, (boxy, cumbersome) Tonello's substantial markup. At one point
sweet-talk out of

Of course, the scale of his income

Hermes,
its Birkin

a

iuxury-goods

depends

on

the number of bags he

can

maker that sells its merchandise at its own stores and controls

supply with DeBeers-like obsession, Mr. Tonello soon gets wise. "I have to laugh when I read articles that claim Hermes produces 'about 100 Birkins per year, he writes. If that were true, he adds, then in 2005 "I bought the entire annual production. and then some!" How is
regular person able to get his hands
on so

111Fthis STAY.:4
W M.
many Birkins, when the rich and famous often

can't

buy

one? It all

comes

down to Mr Tonello's

"Formula,

a

buying strategy that depends on

social

subtlety and a generous budget.

his good fortune when the Formula dawns on him. He travels but also Asia and South America, stopping at Hermes boutiques dressed. through Europe mostly, to the nines, pouring on the charm, and making sure to avoid asking for a Birkin outright, at least Video at first. Instead, he spends a couple of grand on other Hermes items (Which he also resells on aBay) and then asks, as if by the way, whether the store has a Birkin that he might buy often 0
Even Mr. Tonello can't believe

6.7.„ r.

http://online.wsj.corn/article/SB120909311799444161.html

11/24/2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH
The Great Search for a

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

12 of 13

Luxury Good Wacom

Page 3 of 4

"for my mother."

>or iesa
In
no

Book Excerpt Read artizixceipktrom "Bringing
Home the &rich

Whereas the direct approach

might well

have

elicited the usual Mr. Tonello's

waiting-list reply

adding to

the Birkin aura but

thwarting an actual sale roundabout method somehow
or

Valking to a Authors of 'Barbarians
6.1te
4.20

inspires their inventory, bags they might have otherwise held back. He refines his Formula by breaking down Hermes salespeople into types ("the Grandmother, "the Nair and so on) and tailoring his pitch accordingly.
clerks to discover a Birkin
two ih

More hi E
Ihe toad tt
The Search

rnaxing out his credit cards, buying Birkiris from place to place and shop to shop one year, he buys $1.6 million In bags and other Hermes goodies and reselling them to a seemingly insatiable Internet clientele. The only venue where the Formula fails to work Fs New York; where the price of admission is too high: To be taken seriously, it seems, requires spending far more than a couple of thousand dollars. "Bringing Home the Birkin" threatens to lose
pace when Mr. Tonello recounts his Formula

time he is

Chauceet. R
Rare illooks Into the Wi

triumphs again and again. A Hermes store in Santiago, for instance, has only two Birkin bags: The saleswoman tells him that "Paris does not really like It if we sell two bags to one individual" and then invites Mr. Tonello to buy one today with his credit card and the other tomorrow with cash. But the book offers subplots, too, including Mr. Tonello's finding true love. And there are memorable business moments. He solves his supply-chain problem by using free-fance buyers who apply the Formula, pass the bags along to Mr. Tonello and receive, in return, a share of the When he buys more bags on his travels than he can carry onto the plane back to profit. Barcelona, he starts shipping them to his beloved pafents in Florida, who become a de facto fulfillment center, eventually sending the bags on to eBay buyers.

Most Poi

Seed'

E1

2.

COM

a-.
4-

Obal
Se&

:::•1'.•
..:7".

--4

. .LI:.

1.

VI,
4

4

amusing scene at the Athens Hermes boutique, Mr. Tonello beats a group of competing resellers at their own game, buying their reserved Birkins out from underneath them. He calls the shop and claims that earlier in the day he had put the cream crocodile Birkin on hold for his wife but that, alas, she already hat a bag in that color "Would you please tell the lady who put it on
In
one

5.

Most Beat

hold for me that I don't need it?" A half-hour later he goes into the store and buys the bag himself. He even has his mother phone
F

from Florida to

remove

"her" holit from

a

second

bag,

then he

buys

it as well.
a

But the memoir reads as much ilke a breezy travelogue as
business

I

story, with descriptions of gourmet menus ("toast with woodcock and sardines") and sumptuous lodgings ("a natural hot-spring Jacuzzi tucked in a bamboo hut")• The prose is vivid, the tone lighthearted. Mr. Tonello comes off as the fantasy gay best friend immortalized in contemporary women's fiction: sassy, plucky, optimistic oh, and he can get you a Birkin.
More than once,
to make a

"Bringing

Home the Birkin" raises

a

question

at its own expense: Is this any way

living?

Mr. Tonello remarks many times that he thinks

spending major money

on a

http://online.wsj.com/artiele/SB120909311799444161.h1m1

1 I/24t2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH
The Great Search for a

Document 1-6

Filed 01/28/11

Page

13 of 13

Luxury Good WSJ.com

Page 4 of 4

handbag is ridiculous. But he

is

only too glad

for

a

while. At the end of the book, after a

exploit such folly for his own purposes At least family tragedy, he realizes that he is weary of the
to

game and decides to make his money some other way. Of course, he comes to this decision while soaking up the sun on a glamorous vacation in Greece.
Ms.

Lipton covered online shopping and luxury goods at the Journal. Her second noveL "Mating Rituals of the North American WASP, will be published next year.
MORE IN

ig Email a Pniter Friendly CI Ordei liePralts
Sponsored Links

Share

t)

113

in

ca

Stop Worldqg Home.To Make Money Jaitalffitvivl worKaaomum Ilans no
Work At

Higher approval rate on loans up Wl .-".-1.1, e4drartAistom

Keyword Is slow

to

$1, 500. Funds In

1 hour orlessl

Free Reverse Phone Search Find Anyone's Phone Number Instantly.
I ev

Ada

Subscribe Now tor Full Access to INS1com and Get

2 WEEKS FREE

Heard on the

Street 1-p-to-thet•minute news and analysis that affects thenarKeis andigdus-A'es
Newsandrnew "Managemer section

Personalized tracking of .nduslnes

Core business news: 'What

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB120909311799444161.html

11124/2008

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-7

Filed 01/28/11

Page

1 of 5

EXHIBIT G

flt 1-T Filed 01/28/11

Page

2 of 5

it

;11

Case

1:11-cv-Olipti-AKH

Document 1-7

Filed Ci1/28/11

Page

3 of 5

.1,

If111.:7

T•

4
J

II

tI., .r

I
r'T;
i

I

Ii

Case 1:11-cV

0580:AKH

Document 1-7

Page

4 of 5

1

F

L,

.1.'-

'i

l'.t.

dr

Al.

1

r

4
I
L.

_ik.--.-•C.

7.

r

k

I.

A

I.
h
1.

I.,
1,
I

1...
L..•

i l•

06

.T

'1;•

il :'41 r,
klairgalif&MOIMIONAINOT I
o

Case 1:11-cv-00580-AKH

Document 1-7

Filed 01/28/11

Page

dr

i

i 'ft.,,i'...wt,
I..

e

4 k,

....2i'
1

1
r

r.'

'4V•i,
1
01

P 1

't

i 44
k.

1

'Ild. '
P

^i

il

I.

ir

1417:'
I

'i' '....
-117

ril:.

0
I

i

1.

e

I

'7119111111e1.1141111411111111111r-':

)l'

o5, f.

5