ISSUE 5 / JULY-AUGUST 2011

Video Games

CONTENTS
ISSUE 5 / JULY-AUGUST 2011

08 10 God of War 3 22
On The Front
Assassins Creed Brotherhood

23

38 54 Uncharted 2 68 Mass Effect 2
Gears of War 3
ceiga.co.uk

74 58

5

EDITORS LETTER:

T
ceiga.co.uk

“Press Any Button”

he topic of video games is one that I’ve wanted to cover ever since this magazine was started. It is an industry I am very interested in and have a great passion for. Games provide a highly interactive form of entertainment, and tend to immerse the player in a completely different world giving them the ability to do things they would not otherwise do in reality, such as; leaping off high buildings, tacking on a barrage of enemies, or even driving recklessly alerting to law enforcement. This issue will focus on five popular games and show some of the hard work that artists have put into them which many players may have overlooked. Although only the artist of the image is credited, the whole team behind these games deserve as much credit. Finally, there are those who question whether video games can be categorised as art, I hope this issue can change their mind.

Richard Bray Editor

R.Bray
7

On The Front
S
8
tarkiller is now the first male to grace cover of the Ceiga, partly because it was nearly impossible to find a strong female game character on an artist’s website, but also because I believe it was about time for a change. Even though this character was in the likeness of the actor Sam Witwer, Manny Llamas has done a great job of modelling the whole character and all the accessories that go with him. Starkiller is one of the many characters that were created exclusively for a video game from a major franchise, in this case ‘Star Wars’.

Manny Llamas
www.artbymanny.com

.

© LucasArts. All Rights Reserved

9

Katon Callaway
www.cobracaptain.com © Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

.

Katon Callaway
www.cobracaptain.com © Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

.

Katon Callaway
www.cobracaptain.com © Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

.

Ty l e r B r e o n
www.tylerbreon.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Ty l e r B r e o n
www.tylerbreon.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Ty l e r B r e o n
www.tylerbreon.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Ty l e r B r e o n
www.tylerbreon.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Ty l e r B r e o n
www.tylerbreon.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Kevin Anderson
www.kevinanderson3d.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Kevin Anderson
www.kevinanderson3d.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Erik San Juan
www.eriksanjuanart.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Erik San Juan
www.eriksanjuanart.com

.

© Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved

Nicolas Collings
nicolascollings.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Nicolas Collings
nicolascollings.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Nicolas Collings
nicolascollings.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Nicolas Collings
nicolascollings.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Nicolas Collings
nicolascollings.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Marc Antoine Senecal
senecal3d.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Marc Antoine Senecal
senecal3d.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Marc Antoine Senecal
senecal3d.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Michel Thibault
miketibo.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Michel Thibault
miketibo.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Michel Thibault
miketibo.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Michel Thibault
miketibo.com © Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Lanning
www.epicgames.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Lanning
www.epicgames.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Lanning
www.epicgames.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Lanning
www.epicgames.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Lanning
www.epicgames.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Michael Buck
michaelbucksart.blogspot.com

.

© Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

Michael Buck
michaelbucksart.blogspot.com

.

© Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

Michael Buck
michaelbucksart.blogspot.com

.

© Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

Michael Spano
www.mikeyspano.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Michael Spano
www.mikeyspano.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Johnstone
kevinjohnstone.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Johnstone
kevinjohnstone.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Johnstone
kevinjohnstone.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

Kevin Johnstone
kevinjohnstone.com © Epic Games. All Rights Reserved

.

R ich Diamant
www.rd3d.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

R ich Diamant
www.rd3d.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

R ich Diamant
www.rd3d.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

R ich Diamant
www.rd3d.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

Darcy Korch
www.dkorch.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

Darcy Korch
www.dkorch.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

Darcy Korch
www.dkorch.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

Hanno Hagedorn
www.hannohagedorn.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

Hanno Hagedorn
www.hannohagedorn.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

Hanno Hagedorn
www.hannohagedorn.com © Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

.

Mike Murrill
www.mikemurrill.com

.

© Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

Mike Murrill
www.mikemurrill.com

.

© Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch
www.jwurzbach.com © Bioware. All Rights Reserved

.

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch
www.jwurzbach.com © Bioware. All Rights Reserved

.

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch
www.jwurzbach.com © Bioware. All Rights Reserved

.

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch
www.jwurzbach.com © Bioware. All Rights Reserved

.

Ken Finlayson
www.kenfinlayson-art.com

.

© Bioware. All Rights Reserved

Kolby Jukes
www.kolbyjukes.com

.

© Bioware. All Rights Reserved

Kolby Jukes
www.kolbyjukes.com

.

© Bioware. All Rights Reserved

Kolby Jukes
www.kolbyjukes.com

.

© Bioware. All Rights Reserved

Kolby Jukes
www.kolbyjukes.com

.

© Bioware. All Rights Reserved

Rion swanson
rion-art.com © Bioware. All Rights Reserved

.

twitter.com/ceiga

ceiga.co.uk/blog

STUDIO LIST
Aardman www.aardman.com Absolute Post www.absolutepost.com Absolutely Cuckoo www.absolutelycuckoo.com Air CGI www.air-cgi.com AKQA www.akqa.com Animatic Media animaticmedia.com Annix Studios www.annix.com Artillery www.artillery.tv Atticus Digital www.atticusdigital.com Atticus Finch www.atticusfinch.tv Axis Animation www.axisanimation.com Barefoot VFX barefootvfx.com Base Black baseblack.com BE Animation beanimation.com Black Rock Studios www.disney.co.uk Blink Productions www.blinkprods.com Blitz Game Studios www.blitzgamesstudios.com Blue Bolt www.blue-bolt.com Blue Zoo www.blue-zoo.co.uk Brandt Animation www.brandtanim.co.uk Bravo Games bravogames.com BreakThru Films www.breakthrufilms.co.uk Burrows Nvisage www.burrows.info Busty Kelp www.bustykelp.com Cinesite www.cinesite.com Climax Group www.climaxgroup.com Codemasters www.facebook.com/codemasters Colonel Blimp www.colonelblimp.com Criterion Games blog.criteriongames.com Darkhorse VFX www.darkhorsefx.com Darkside Animation www.dsanim.com Dinamo Productions www.dinamo.co.uk Distant Future Animation Studios www.distantfuture.co.uk Double G Studios www.doublegstudios.com Double Negative www.dneg.com Drive CGI www.drivecgi.co.uk Eggbox Studios www.eggboxstudios.co.uk Envy www.envypost.co.uk

(UK only)

Eurocom www.eurocom.co.uk Fluid Pictures www.fluid-pictures.com Foundation CGI www.foundationcgi.com Framestore www.framestore.com Full Moon Studios fullmoongamestudios.com Gameloft www.gameloft.co.uk Glassworks www.glassworks.co.uk Glowfrog Studios glowfrog.com Golden Square www.goldensq.com Hot Knife Digital Media www.hotknife.co.uk ICube www.icube3d.co.uk Ignition Entertainment www.utvignition.com I love Dust www.ilovedust.com Image Metrics www.image-metrics.com Infinite Realitites www.ir-ltd.net Ink Digital www.inkdigital.co.uk Jagex www.jagex.com Jellyfish Pictures www.jellyfishpictures.co.uk Jump Design www.jumpdesign.co.uk

Kazoo Creative www.kazoo-creative.com Kettle Studios www.kettlestudio.co.uk Keframe Studios keyframestudios.co.uk Kuro Dragon www.kurodragon.com Lab 10 Studios www.lab10.com Lionhead Studios lionhead.com LipSync Post www.lipsyncpost.co.uk Locomotion locomotionpost.wordpress.com Lola www.lola-post.co.uk Loose Moose www.loosemoose.net Mainframe www.mainframe.co.uk Man Vs Machine www.manvsmachine.co.uk Masquerade Digital www.masquerade-digital.com Matinai www.matinai.com MDI Digital www.mdi-digital.com Method Studios www.methodstudios.com Molinare www.molinare.co.uk Motion Imaging wearemi.com Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com MPC www.moving-picture.com Munky www.munky.uk.com

Neon www.neon.tv Neoscape www.neoscape.com Nexus Productions www.nexusproductions.com Ninja Theory www.ninjatheory.com Not to Scale www.nottoscale.tv NSC Creative www.nsccreative.com Nvisible nvizible.com OG International www.og-international.net Passion Pictures www.passion-pictures.com Peanut FX www.peanutfx.com Peerless www.peerless.co.uk Pitbull Studio www.pitbullstudio.co.uk Plowman Craven www.plowmancraven.co.uk Prime Focus www.primefocusworld.com Quay Studios www.quaystudios.com Qurios www.qurios.com Realtime UK www.realtimeuk.com Realise www.realisestudio.com Relentless Software www.relentless.co.uk Rockstar North www.rockstarnorth.com Realtime Technology www.realtime-technology.com

Rumble Studios www.rumblestudios.com Rushes www.rushes.co.uk Saddington Baynes www.saddingtonbaynes.com Slide slidelondon.com Smoke & Mirrors www.smoke-mirrors.com Speed Shape www.speedshape.com/ Studio AKA www.studioaka.co.uk Sumo Digital www.sumo-digital.com Superglue www.wearesuperglue.com Taylor James www.taylorjames.com Ten 24 www.ten24.info Territory Studio www.territorystudio.com The Creative Assembly creative-assembly.com The Foundry www.thefoundry.co.uk The Mill www.themill.com The Senate www.senatevfx.com The Works www.worksltd.co.uk Tigrex www.tigerx.co.uk TT Games www.ttgames.com We Are Seventeen www.weareseventeen.com Zoo zoovfx.com

Search for Ceiga on