You are on page 1of 6

Regional Rural Banks in India

Regional Rural Banks in India are an integral part of the rural credit structure of the country. Since the very beginning, when the Regional Rural Banks in India (RRBs) were established in October 2, 1975, these banks played a pivotal role in the economic development of the rural India. The main goal of establishing regional rural banks in India was to provide credit to the rural people who are not economically strong enough, especially the small and marginal farmers, artisans, agricultural labours, and even small entrepreneurs.







The history of regional rural banks in India dates back to the year 1975. It's the Narsimham committee that conceptualized the foundation of regional rural banks in India. The committee felt the need of 'regionally oriented rural banks' that would address the problems and requirements of the rural people with local feel, yet with the same level of professionalism of commercial banks. Five regional rural banks were set up on October 2 with a total authorized capital of ` 1 crore, which later augmented to ` 5 crore. There were five commercial banks, viz. Punjab National Bank, State Bank of India, Syndicate Bank, United Bank of India and United Commercial Bank, which sponsored the regional rural banks. The equities of rural banks were divided in a proportion of 50:35:15 among the Central Government, the Sponsor bank and the concerned State Government. The following years have not been so easy for the regional rural banks in India, as there were major concern of financial viability. A number of committees were formed to find out solution. Studies were conducted to find out the factors that influence RRBs performance. The roles played by the sponsor banks were also analyzed.








There are a number of regional rural banks in India. Following are the state-wise list of Indian regional rural banks. Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank Deccan Grameena Bank Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank Saptagiri Grameena Bank

Arunachal Pradesh


Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank

Assam Gramin Vikash Bank Langpi Dehangi Rural Bank


Madhya Bihar Gramin Bank Bihar Kshetriya Gramin Bank Uttar Bihar Kshetriya Gramin Bank Kosi Kshetriya Gramin Bank Samastipur Kshetriya Gramin Bank



Chhattisgarh Gramin Bank Surguja Kshetriya Gramin Bank Durg-Rajnandgaon Gramin Bank


Dena Gujarat Gramin Bank Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank Saurashtra Gramin Bank

Harayana Gramin Bank Gurgaon Gramin Bank

Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Gramin Bank Parvatiya Gramin Bank

Jammu & Kashmir

Jammu Rural Bank Ellaquai Dehati Bank Kamraz Rural Bank


Jharkhand Gramin Bank Vananchal Gramin Bank


Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank Pragathi Gramin Bank Cauvery Kalpatharu Grameena Bank Krishna Grameena Bank


Chimagalur-Kodagu Grameena Bank Visveshvaraya Gramin Bank

Narmada Malwa Gramin Bank North Malabar Gramin Bank

Madhya Pradesh

Narmada Malwa Gramin Bank Satpura Kshetriya Gramin Bank Madhya Bharath Gramin Bank Chambal-Gwalior Kshetriya Gramin Bank Rewa-Sidhi Gramin Bank Sharda Gramin Bank Ratlam-Mandsaur Kshetriya Gramin Bank Vidisha Bhopal Kshetriya Gramin Bank Mahakaushal Kshetriya Gramin Bank Jhabua Dhar Kshetriya Gramin Bank



Marathwada Gramin Bank Aurangabad-Jalna Gramin Bank Wainganga Kshetriya Gramin Bank Vidharbha Kshetriya Gramin Bank Solapur Gramin Bank Thane Gramin Bank Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Gramin Bank

Manipur Rural Bank


Ka Bank Nogkyndong Ri Khasi-Jaintia


Mizoram Rural Bank


Nagaland Rural Bank



Kalinga Gramya Bank Utkal Gramya Bank Baitarani Gramya Bank Neelachal Gramya Bank Rushikulya Gramya Bank

Punjab Gramin Bank Faridkot-Bhatinda Kshetriya Gramin Bank Malwa Gramin Bank


Baroda Rajasthan Gramin Bank Marwar Ganganagar Bikaner Gramin Bank Rajasthan Gramin Bank Jaipur Thar Gramin Bank Hodoti Kshetriya Gramin Bank Mewar Anchalik Gramin Bank

Tamil Nadu


Pandyan Grama Bank Pallavan Grama Bank

Tripura Gramin Bank

Uttar Pradesh

Purvanchal Gramin Bank Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank Shreyas Gramin Bank Lucknow Kshetriya Gramin Bank Ballia Kshetriya Gramin Bank Triveni Kshetriya Gramin Bank Aryavart Gramin Bank Kisan Gramin Bank Kshetriya Kisan Gramin Bank Etawah Kshetriya Gramin Bank Rani Laxmi Bai Kshetriya Gramin Bank Baroda Western Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank

Devipatan Kshetriya Gramin Bank Prathama Bank Baroda Eastern Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank


Uttaranchal Gramin Bank Nainital Almora Kshetriya Gramin Bank

West Bengal

Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank Paschim Banga Gramin Bank Uttar Banga Kshetriya Gramin Bank

Banks in India

Axis Bank Allahabad Bank American Express Bank Ltd Andhra Bank ABN AMRO Bank Bank Muscat (S A O G) Bank Of America Bank Of India Bank Of Baroda India Barclays Bank PLC Canara Bank India Centurion Bank Ltd Citibank Corporation Bank Ceylon Bank Catholic Syrian Bank DBS Bank Ltd. Dena Bank Dhanlakshmi Bank Ltd Deutsche Bank India Export-Import Bank Of India Federal Bank India Global Trust Bank Ltd HDFC Bank India Hongkong Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd ICICI Bank Ltd IDBI Bank Ltd Indian Overseas Bank IndusInd Bank Ltd Industrial Development Bank Of India Top 10 Banking Companies Nationalised Banks

Central Bank ING Vysya Bank Ltd Jammu and Kashmir Bank JP Morgan Chase Bank Karnataka Bank Karur vysya Bank Limited Kotak Mahindra Bank Lakshmi Vilas Bank Mizuho Corporate Bank Oriental Bank of Commerce Punjab and Sind Bank Punjab National Bank Reserve Bank Of India Ratnakar Bank Standard Chartered Bank State Bank Of India State Bank Of Indore State Bank of Hyderabad State Bank of Patiala State Bank of Mysore State Bank of Travancore State Bank Of Bikaner And Jaipur Syndicate Bank India SBI Commercial and International Tamilnad Mercantile Bank The Nainital Bank Ltd. Union Bank Of India United Bank of India UCO Bank Vijaya Bank YES BANK India Commercial Banks Bank of Maharashtra Arab Bangladesh Bank