You are on page 1of 3

WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX

:

SPACE MARINES
Official Update Version 1.2
Although we strive to ensure that our codexes are perfect, sometimes mistakes do creep in. In addition, we occasionally print new versions of our rules, which require amendments to be made in older versions of our army books. When such issues arise, we feel that it is important to deal with them as promptly as we can, and we therefore produce regular updates for all of our army books. When changes are made, the version number will be updated, and any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, E.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. Each update is split into three sections: Errata, Amendments, and ‘Frequently Asked Questions’. The Errata corrects any mistakes in the codex, while the Amendments bring the codex up to date with the latest version of the rules. The Frequently Asked Questions (or ‘FAQ’) section answers commonly asked questions about the rules. Although you can mark corrections directly in your codex, this is by no means necessary – just keep a copy of the update with your codex. Page 80 and 144 – Demolisher Cannon The profile of the demolisher cannon will be changed to Type “Ordnance 1, Large Blast.” Page 97 – Wargear, Chainfist Change to “See the Terminator entry on page 64. Note that a chainfist on an Ironclad Dreadnought is a Dreadnought close combat weapon that rolls 2D6 for armour penetration. Page 104 – Mighty heroes, second paragraph. The third sentence should be changed as follows: “Each also has the option for an extra HQ unit […]” Page 129-133 – Power Sword. Change all references to “Power Sword” to “Power Weapon” Page 131 – Honour Guard Squad, Options. Change “digital lasers” to “digital weapons” Page 138 – Servitors. The first line should be changed at reprint to: “You may include one unit of Servitors for every Techmarine or Master of the Forge in your army. These units do not count against your HQ or Elites allowance.” Page 138 – Legion of the Damned, Options. Change the second bullet point to: “The Damned Sergeant may replace his boltgun and/or bolt pistol with:”

ERRATA
Page 52 and 144 – Chapter Master, Orbital Bombardment Add “Large Blast” to the Type of the Orbital Bombardment. Page 57 – Quickening, second paragraph. Change the second paragraph as follows: The power is used at the beginning of the Librarian’s Shooting phase. If successful, the Librarian has the Fleet special rule and Initiative 10 until the end of the turn. Page 66, 100, 144 – Hellfire Rounds and Shells The profile of Hellfire Rounds and Hellfire Shells should be changed by replacing ‘Strength X’ with ‘Strength 1’. Page 79 and 144 – Whirlwind Multiple Missile Launcher Add “Large Blast” to the Type of both the Vengeance Missiles and Incendary Castellan Missiles.
WARHAMMER 40,000: SPACE MARINES

AMENDMENTS
None.

FAQs
Q. When you select some special characters (Shrike, Vulkan, etc.) all units in the army exchange the rule ‘Combat Tactics’ for another one (like Stubborn) thanks to the rule ‘Chapter Tactics’. However, the special characters themselves follow the rule ‘Combat Tactics’. Is this intentional? As I understand it, the rule Combat

1

At what point does a model need to be in range of Pedro Kantor in order to gain the bonuses of the Inspiring Presence special rule? (p90) A: When the model makes its close combat attacks. Q. Q. say for example that you include both Shrike and Lysander in your army. A Techmarine can only ever make one repair attempt per turn. these great heroes are flexible enough to adapt to the fighting style of their battle-brother. If I have two or more special characters that exchange the rule Combat Tactics for another one. Decide before each game starts. You will need to let your opponent know once the mission and deployment type have been decided but before any units have been deployed. Q. When a unit with the And They Shall Know No Fear special rule regroups do they get to immediately move up to 3" as well as moving as normal that turn? (p51) A. Q: Can you take a Drop Pod with a 10-man squad and then put a combat squad in it. No. attempt to use his Blessing of the Omnissiah special rule to repair a vehicle he is currently embarked upon? (p70. Q: Some Space Marine squads can take a Razorback as a dedicated transport. Shrike has ‘a pair of master-crafted lightning claws’. or leave it in reserve but not in the Drop Pod? (p69) A: No.71) A: No. (p51) A. take Wounds from the No Retreat! special rule? (p84) A. so all of the units with Combat Tactics (including Shrike) replace Combat Tactics’with Stubborn. or Master of the Forge. They are no longer the same unit and a transport vehicle can only carry a single infantry squad.. that is in base contact with multiple damaged vehicles attempt to repair them all? (p70. No. or just the one? (p92) A.71) A: Yes. Q: Can you use a Drop Pod on its own. Q: If a Razorback armed with a lascannon and twinlinked plasma gun suffers a weapon destroyed result. and any unit he has joined. these special characters never really have the Combat Tactics rule. Does he get two re-rolls for these. Q: Can a Techmarine. Q: If a Drop Pod scatters off of the board when deep striking what happens? (p69) A: They will have to roll on the Deep Strike Mishap table. Yes. Ah. Can you still choose this as a dedicated transport for a squad with more than six models? (p77) A: Yes.. A Razorback has a transport capacity of six models. with no squad inside? (p69) A: Yes you can. what happens? (p57) A: Place the template over the vehicle the Librarian is embarked in and resolve the hit against the vehicle’s rear armor value.000: SPACE MARINES 2 .Tactics is in fact the ‘Chapter trait’ of the Ultramarines and other ‘Codex’ chapters. Can a vehicle with the Power of the Machine Spirit fire a weapon on the turn the vehicle uses Smoke Launchers? (p81) A. when must I decide which to use? Does it have to be on the army list or can I decide before each game? (p51) A. can both embark into or be deployed in the same dedicated transport? (p51) A: No. Just one. In term of the story. Q: If a Librarian embarked on a vehicle attempts to use Vortex of Doom and fails his Psychic test. Q: Do Drop Pods count as immobilised the moment they touch down? Also. Yes. as they either exchange for their own Chapter Tactics or the Chapter Tactics of another such special character. does it destroy both weapons or just one? (77) A: Only one weapon – either the lascannon or the twinlinked plasma gun. So. because squads that are placed in reserve may not break down into combat squads. deploying the other combat squad on the table. Q. or Master of the Forge. if they are subordinate to another commander. Q. Q. Q: If I split a Space Marine squad into two combat squads. If Marneus Calgar chooses to pass a Morale Check using his God of War special rule does he. So. are any immobilised hits on them counted for weapon destroyed etc? (p69) A. Q: Can a Techmarine. the Combat Tactics rule is just there for when you use two different special characters and have to choose which of their Chapter Tactics rules apply. You decide that Lysander is in charge. WARHAMMER 40.

Yes. The rules for both the relic blade and the storm shield simply state that a model with one of these pieces of wargear cannot have +1 Attack for an additional close combat weapon. the confusion arises from the fact that ‘If you choose to do this. Kor'sarro's Chapter Tactics rule states ‘If you choose to do this. Isn’t such change automatic. will Moonfang still inflict Instant Death on it? (p94) A. If Kos’sarro Khan rolls a 6 To Wound a model with a Toughness so high he cannot usually wound it. 101) A. So you can have both a storm shield and a relic blade. as stated by the previous sentence? (p94) A. The rules for two-handed weapons in the rulebook and the rules for storm shields and relic blades are not in contradiction.’ refers to the choice of using the outflanking ability or not. You have no choice in regards of Kor’sarro’s Chapter Tactics replacing the normal Combat Tactics of the army (unless you also have another character with different Chapter Tactics. the ability to outflank).000: SPACE MARINES . of course). Is it therefore possible to equip a model with both a storm shield and a relic blade? (p99. […]’. Q.Q.e. which I think makes for rather cool models! Last updated 7th July 2011 3 WARHAMMER 40. Q. It seems that you can choose whether to exchange Combat Tactics with the Chapter Tactics rule (i. Ah.